DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Objections
Claim 4 is objected to because of the following informalities: “an acceleration measuring device that measures an acceleration of the hard hat and generates a signal to the monitoring unit indicating a measurement of the acceleration,” should be revised to recite the function of the acceleration measuring device as follows “an acceleration measuring device configured to measure an acceleration of the hard hat and generate a signal to the monitoring unit indicating a measurement of the acceleration”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are biometric measuring device and environmental measuring device, acceleration measuring device and monitoring unit in claims 1, 3-7, 21, and 22.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3, 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. For claim 3, it’s not clear how there is an atmospheric condition of the first biometric characteristic or atmospheric condition and/or the second biometric characteristic or atmospheric condition as an atmospheric condition is distinct from a biometric characteristic. For claims 5 and 6, it’s unclear how the measurement of the first atmospheric condition or second atmospheric condition comprises a galvanic skin response measurement as this measurement is a biometric characteristic as set forth in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 4, 6, 7, and 22, as best understood, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Appelt et al. (Appelt, U.S. 8,085,144) in view of Sengupta et al. (U.S. 10,667,571). Appelt discloses the invention substantially as claimed. Appelt teaches a helmet comprising an outer shell (Official Notice is taken that helmets include an outer shell. Alternatively, see Sengupta), an outer surface of the outer shell, an inner surface of the outer shell, the inner surface defining a cavity configured to receive a head of a person wearing the helmet, a biometric measuring device 23 supported by the outer shell (disclosed as embedded in the protective equipment) and configured to measure a biometric characteristic (e.g. heart rate, respiration rate, core body temperature) of the person wearing the helmet; an environmental measuring device 22 supported by the outer shell (disclosed as embedded in the protective equipment) and configured to measure an atmospheric condition (e.g. ambient temperature, barometric pressure, wind conditions); and a monitoring unit 12 configured to generate an alarm as a result of a first measurement of a first biometric characteristic or atmospheric condition being above a first predetermined threshold (set point) and of a second measurement of a second biometric characteristic or atmospheric condition being above a second predetermined threshold (set point), wherein the second biometric or atmospheric condition is different than the first biometric characteristic or atmospheric condition, wherein each of the first measurement and the second measurement are received from one of the biometric measuring device 23 and the environmental measuring device 22. Appelt outlines the details of the monitoring system in col.8, lines 14-67 and continuing to col.9: “For some applications equipment sensors 21, environmental sensors 22 and physiological sensors 23 may include digital potentiometers (not expressly shown) which may be used to provide adjustable set points to indicate the presence of one or more hazardous or potentially hazardous conditions and one or more critical conditions.” Comparator circuit 24 provides a signal to the microprocessor 12 in response to a comparison between respective set points and respective outputs from equipment sensors 21, environmental sensors 22 and physiological sensors 23. Microprocessor 12 may then provide signals to drive or actuate one or more visible indicators 28a through 28n. For one embodiment, visible indicators 28a through 28n may indicate ambient temperatures of 300 degrees Fahrenheit and 600 degrees Fahrenheit and heart rates of 120 beats per minute and 150 beats per minute. However, these set points are preferably variable and may have other values. Microprocessor 12 may provide signals to an optional alarm 30 (may be audible or a vibration alarm). Early signaling will afford personnel wearing system 10 with ample time to react to the corresponding critical conditions and make informed decisions as to whether to proceed or withdraw. However, Appelt doesn’t teach the protective headwear is a hard hat. Sengupta teaches a hard hat 44 comprising an outer shell, the hard hat comprising a biometric measuring device 56 and an environmental measuring device 58 for measuring biometric and environmental parameters of the hard hat and hard hat wearer as part of a condition responsive indication assembly for monitoring and analyzing data to improve health and safety outcomes. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Appelt’s helmet to form as a hard hat, as a simple substitution of one type of protective headwear for another, with such substitution not affecting the function of the monitoring system.
For claim 3, the modified Appelt teaches the hard hat of claim 1, wherein the atmospheric condition, of the first biometric characteristic or atmospheric condition and/or the second biometric characteristic or atmospheric condition, is selected from the group consisting of a temperature of ambient air around the hard hat and a humidity of ambient air around the hard hat (col.5, lines 48-52 disclose sensor 58 is an ambient temperature sensor).
For claim 4, the modified Appelt teaches the hard hat of claim 1, but doesn’t teach the hard hat further comprising an acceleration measuring device that measures an acceleration of the hard hat and generates a signal to the monitoring unit indicating a measurement of the acceleration, the monitoring unit is configured to generate an alarm as a result of analyzing the measurement of the acceleration. Sengupta teaches an accelerometer as an example of an environmental sensor and accelerometers measure acceleration of an object and changes in acceleration, with the associated data received by the processing unit 12 to generate notifications and/or alarms upon analysis of the measurement of acceleration. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Appel’s hard hat to comprise an acceleration measuring device that measures an acceleration of the hard hat and generates a signal to the monitoring unit indicating a measurement of the acceleration, the monitoring unit is configured to generate an alarm as a result of analyzing the measurement of the acceleration, as Sengupta teaches the accelerometer is known in the art as part of a condition responsive indication assembly.
For claim 6, the modified Appelt teaches the hard hat of claim 1, wherein the biometric characteristic, of the first biometric characteristic or atmospheric condition and/or the second biometric characteristic or atmospheric condition is a heart rate of the person wearing the hard hat as discussed above in the rejection of claim 1.
For claim 7, the modified Appelt’s outer shell comprises a plurality of locations each configured to couple with a measuring device and the biometric measuring device is coupled to a first location of the plurality of locations and the environmental measuring device is coupled to a second location of the plurality of locations as Appelt teaches the sensors are embedded in the helmet.
For claim 22, Appelt teaches the first measurement is one of the biometric characteristic (heart rate) or the atmospheric condition and the second measurement is of the other of the biometric characteristic or the atmospheric condition (ambient temperature) as discussed above in the rejection of claim 1.
Claim 5, as best understood, is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Appelt ‘144 in view of Sengupta ‘571 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Morgan ‘808. Appelt discloses the invention substantially as claimed. However, Appelt doesn’t teach the hard hat of claim 1, wherein the measurement of the biometric characteristic, of the first biometric characteristic or atmospheric condition and/or the second biometric characteristic or atmospheric condition, comprises a galvanic skin response measurement. Morgan teaches a wearable device in the form of a helmet 10 including a biometric measuring device for measuring a biometric characteristic comprising a galvanic skin response measurement (col.10, lines 52-57). Thus, Morgan serves as a teaching that such biometric measuring devices are known in the art and provide useful data regarding the wearer’s bodily functions during athletics or other endeavors of the helmet wearer. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Appelt to provide the biometric characteristic comprising a galvanic skin response measurement as Morgan discloses that the galvanic skin response measurement is useful for monitoring a wearer’s health.
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Appelt ‘144 in view of Sengupta ‘571 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ogushi ‘407. Appelt discloses the invention substantially as claimed including the first measurement is of the biometric characteristic and is a heart rate, and the second measurement is of the atmospheric condition, but doesn’t teach the atmospheric condition is a humidity of ambient air. Ogushi teaches that it’s known in the art to provide a helmet with a sensor module 200 including a humidity sensor that provides a measurement of the humidity of ambient air. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Appelt to provide the measurement of a humidity of ambient air as taught by Ogushi as Ogushi teaches that monitoring the humidity of ambient air can keep the helmet wearer safe and comfortable.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s remarks have been reviewed. The rejections are revised in view of the claim amendments.
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications should be directed to Primary Examiner Katherine Moran at (571) 272-4990 (phone). Please note that any internet communication directed to katherine.moran@uspto.gov requires prior submission of an Authorization for Internet Communications form (PTO/SB/439). The examiner can be reached on Monday-Thursday from 9:00 am to 6:00 pm, and alternating Fridays.If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner's supervisor, Khoa Huynh, may be reached at (571) 272-4888. The official and after final fax number for the organization where this application is assigned is (571) 273-8300. General information regarding this application and
questions directed to matters of form and procedures may be directed to the PTO Contact
Center/Inventors Assistance Center at (800) 786-9199/571-272-1000. Information regarding the status
of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system.
Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR.
Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For questions on
access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-
free).
/KATHERINE M MORAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3732