DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-5, 10-11, 21, 24, 28-29, 38, 43, 47, 57, 63, 65, 71, 79, 84-85, 94, 109, 122, 125, 142-143, 149 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abudayyeh et al (US 20180340219) in view of Andreyev et al (US 20160186240).
Regarding claim 1, Abudayyeh et al teach a microfluidic cartridge for detecting a target nucleic acid (Para. 0155: microfluidic) comprising: valves, channels, and chambers (Para. 0284) for amplification (Para. 0248: amplification of target nucleic acids prior to CRISPR) and detecting using CRISPR using a programmable nuclease (Para. 0181: RuvC catalytic CRISPR effector Cas9 enzyme), a guide nucleic acid (Claim 1: guide RNA to bind to target molecules), and a labeled detector nucleic acid; , wherein the labeled detector nucleic acid is capable of being cleaved upon binding of the guide nucleic acid to a segment of a target nucleic acid. (Claim 1: masking construct deactivated by cleaving the masking construct so the detectable positive signal is unmasked).
Abudayyeh is silent to the detection chamber fluidically connected to the valve, wherein the valve is connected to a sample metering channel; the detection reagent chamber fluidically connected to the detection chamber via a resistance channel.
Andreyev et al teach a molecular diagnostic fluidic device where the detection chamber fluidically connected to the valve (Fig. 9: detection module 6800 connected to rotary valve 6340), wherein the valve is connected to a sample metering channel (Fig. 9: rotary valve 6340 connected to sample prep module 6200 connected by fluidic path to meter the sample into the detection module); the detection reagent chamber fluidically connected to the detection chamber via a resistance channel (Fig. 9: reagent storage module 6700 with chambers 6701-6704 connected to the detection chamber 6821-6825 by channel from reagent module to the channel 6812, it is noted that the resistance channel has an angular path before the detection channel 6821. The detection module 6800 in Fig. 9 is the also the detection module 6800 in Figs 46-49 (Para. 0271). The angular channel 6812 is depicted in Fig. 9 as having an angle of entry to the detection chamber/channel 6812 (Para. 0272-0273), is shown in greater detail in Fig. 46 having multiple angular portions (Fig. 46: 6812) having first inlet portion 6813 and second inlet portion 6817 (Para. 0273)). It is advantageous to provide the above arrangement in a fluidic detection device because the rotary valve allows for the different sample, reagent, amplification product to mix in the detection module to provide sequentially the needed components for the detection on a chip. Simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results is held to be obvious. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute the Andreyev fluidic device arrangement for the valve, channel and chambers of Abudayyeh to provide the above advantage of providing sequentially the needed components for the detection on a chip.
Regarding claim 2, Abudayyeh/Andreyev teach the sample metering channel (i) controls volumes of liquids dispensed in a channel or chamber, and (ii) is fluidically connected to the detection chamber (Andreyev: Fig. 9, Para. 0176: desired sample volume delivered to device).
Regarding claim 4, Abudayyeh/Andreyev teach the resistance channel (i) has a serpentine path, an angular path, or a circuitous path, and (ii) is fluidically connected with the valve. (Andreyev: Fig. 9: angular path and connected to the rotary valve)
Regarding claim 5, Abudayyeh/Andreyev teach the valve is a rotary valve (Andreyev: Fig. 9: rotary valve 6340).
Regarding claim 10, Abudayyeh/Andreyev teach the valve is a rotary valve that fluidically connects at least 3, at least 4, or at least 5 chambers. (Andreyev: Fig. 9: rotary valve 6340 connects at least three chamber: mixing chamber, reagent chambers, and detection chamber)
Regarding claim 11, Abudayyeh/Andreyev teach a sample chamber fluidically connected to the amplification reagent chamber (Andreyev: Fig. 9: 6200 connected to amplification module 6600).
Regarding claim 21, Abudayyeh/Andreyev teach the sample chamber is fluidically connected to the amplification chamber through the amplification reagent chamber (Andreyev: Fig. 9, para. 0224: 6200 connected to amplification module 6600 through mixing chamber 6500 having PCR reagents)
Regarding claim 24, Abudayyeh/Andreyev teach the microfluidic cartridge further comprises a reagent port above the detection chamber configured to deliver fluid from the detection reagent chamber to the detection chamber (Andreyev: Fig. 9:6700 reagent module with reagent port above 6800 detection chamber to deliver reagents to the detection module)
Regarding claim 28, Abudayyeh/Andreyev teach the resistance channel is configured to reduce backflow into the detection chamber and the detection reagent chamber. (Fig. 9: angled channels to the detection module would inherently reduce backflow by being angled)
Regarding claim 29, Abudayyeh/Andreyev teach wherein the sample metering channel is configured to direct a predetermined volume of fluid from the detection reagent chamber to the detection chamber (Para. 0306)
Regarding claim 38, Abudayyeh/Andreyev teach the microfluidic cartridge is configured to connect to a first pump to pump fluid from the amplification chamber to the detection chamber (Fig. 9: fluidic drive module 6400)
Regarding claim 43, Abudayyeh/Andreyev teach the amplification reagent chamber is connected to a second port configured to receive pneumatic pressure (Fig. 9, Para. 0241: 6500 mixing chamber receives positive or negative pressure from the plunger 6410)
Regarding claim 47, Abudayyeh/Andreyev teach the detection reagent chamber is connected to a port configured to receive pneumatic pressure (Fig. 9, Para. 0241: 6500 mixing chamber receives positive or negative pressure from the plunger 6410)
Regarding claim 57, Abudayyeh/Andreyev teach a region of the resistance channel is molded to direct flow in a direction perpendicular to the net flow direction (Fig. 9: channel from reagent module perpendicular to flow to detecting module).
Regarding claim 63, Abudayyeh/Andreyev teach the detection chamber an optically transparent surface (Andreyev Para. 0280: viewing lid colored piece of plastic).
Regarding claim 65, Abudayyeh/Andreyev teach the amplification chamber is configured to hold from 10 μL to 500 μL of fluid (Para. 0261: 160 μL volume of the flow channel).
Regarding claim 71, Abudayyeh/Andreyev teach comprising 2 detection chambers (Para. 0168; Fig. 49: 6821-6825)
Regarding claim 79, Abudayyeh/Andreyev teach further comprising a sliding valve (Para. 0198: sliding valve);
Regarding claim 84, Abudayyeh/Andreyev teach a manifold configured to accept the microfluidic cartridge of claim 1, the manifold comprising a pump configured to pump fluid into the detection chamber (Andreyev Fig. 9: Fluidic drive module), an illumination source configured to illuminate the detection chamber, a detector configured to detect a detectable signal produced by the labeled detector nucleic acid (Abudayyeh Para. 0499: biotek Neo fluorescence plate reader) , and a heater configured to heat the amplification chamber (Andreyev Para. 0257; Fig. 9: heater 6630).
Regarding claim 85, Abudayyeh/Andreyev teach the manifold further comprises a second heater configured to heat the detection chamber (Para. 0273: heater assembly 6840 of the detector module 6600)
Regarding claim 94, Abudayyeh/Andreyev teach wherein the amplification chamber comprises amplification reagents and/or lysis buffer.
Regarding claim 109, Abudayyeh/Andreyev teach the programmable nuclease comprises an RuvC catalytic domain (Para. 0181)
Regarding claim 122, Abudayyeh/Andreyev teach the microfluidic cartridge further comprising (i) one or more chambers for in vitro transcribing amplified coronavirus target nucleic acid, and (ii) reagents for in vitro transcription. (Abudayyeh: Para 0362 coronavirus; Para. 0263: in vitro transcription)
Regarding claim 125, Abudayyeh/Andreyev teach the programmable nuclease type VI CRISPR/Cas effector protein (Abudayyeh: Para. 0173: Type VI CRISPR/Cas C2c2 enzyme)
Regarding claim 142, Abudayyeh/Andreyev teach the microfluidic cartridge comprises a control nucleic acid (Para. 0096: negative control).
Regarding claim 143, Abudayyeh/Andreyev teach the control nucleic acid is in the detection chamber ((Para. 0096: negative control in the detection reaction).
Regarding claim 149, Abudayyeh/Andreyev teach the guide nucleic acid targets a plurality of target sequences (Para. 0258: guide RNA with different target nucleic acid in a single assay)
Response to Arguments
Regarding Claim Objections of claim 10 and Claim rejections under 112b for claims 85 and 149, the amendments overcome the above objections and rejections filed in the Non-final rejection on 10/1/2025.
Applicant's arguments filed 12/30/2025 regarding the Claim rejection under 35 USC 103 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues Andreyev et al fails to teach the resistant channel. The detection module 6800 in Fig. 9 is the also the detection module 6800 in Figs 46-49 (Para. 0271). The angular channel 6812 is depicted in Fig. 9 as having an angle of entry to the detection chamber/channel 6812 (Para. 0272-0273), is shown in greater detail in Fig. 46 having multiple angular portions (Fig. 46: 6812) having first inlet portion 6813 and second inlet portion 6817 (Para. 0273). Andreyev et al therefore teaches the resistant channel as required for the claim.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Dennis White/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1758