DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Claims
The amendments and remarks filed on 15MAY2026 have been entered and considered.
Claims 1-2, 4, 8, 12-13, 15, & 19 have been amended.
Claims 23-32 have been added.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's amendments filed 15MAY2026 regarding the rejections under 35 U.S.C 112(a) have been fully considered and have been found to obviate the rejections. Therefore, the rejections have been withdrawn.
Applicant's amendments filed 15MAY2026 regarding the rejections under 35 U.S.C 112(b) have been fully considered and have been found to obviate the rejections. Therefore, the rejections have been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed 15MAY2026 regarding the rejections under 35 U.S.C 101 have been fully considered but are not persuasive. Parts deemed not persuasive discussed below:
Regarding Step 2A Prong 1, Applicant argues (Pages 10-13 of the Remarks):
Applicant states (Page 11 of the Remarks)
A "window of interest" (WOI) can be a temporal window over which a processor executes an LAT estimation algorithm to search for a digitized electrogram waveform for the activation. See Specification at I [0017]. Adjusting the WOI on an electrogram and recomputing the LAT from the electrogram within the adjusted WOI is a signal-processing operation performed on a sampled electrical waveform. It is not an observation, evaluation, judgment, or opinion that a clinician can perform in the head or with pen and paper. See MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2)(III)(C).
The argument is not persuasive because the selection of a window of interest is a manual task that any clinician can do by marking on paper or with a computer input the targeted area to further perform data processing steps in that targeted area such as recomputing values. The claim limitations are written such that it only requires an automatic recalculation of values, which is an undefined calculation in a vague time period; and an adjustment to a window of interest following the undefined calculations. Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, any clinician or person may be able to perform these tasks by hand such that they receive data, evaluate the data, and adjust a region of interest based on the evaluations. Therefore, the claim is not patent eligible.
Applicant further states (Pages 11-12 of the Remarks)
Applicant's amended claims are analogous to eligible Claim 2 of Example 37 of the USPTO's 2019 Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance ("2019 Guidance"). That claim was found not to recite a judicial exception at Prong 1 because "determining the amount of use of each icon using a processor that tracks how much memory has been allocated to each application" was a specific technical process that "could not be practically performed in the human mind." Just as tracking memory allocation to a running application is not a pen-and-paper task, adjusting a window of interest on a digitized electrogram waveform and re-deriving the LAT annotation from the waveform within the adjusted window is not a pen-and-paper task. Both are operations performed on data structures internal to a computer that cannot practically be replicated in the human mind.
The Office Action characterizes the recalculation step as something a clinician can do by hand or "using tools such as excel." See Office Action at 5. That characterization evaluates the claim at too high a level of generality, contrary to the precedential guidance in Ex parte Desjardins. The claimed recalculation is not arithmetic on a spreadsheet. It is a signal-processing operation on an electrogram waveform: the temporal search window is adjusted in time, and the activation detection algorithm is re-run within the adjusted window to extract a new annotation from the digitized signal. A clinician cannot mentally adjust a temporal window on a sampled waveform and re-extract a digital annotation from the signal within that adjusted window.
However, the argument is not persuasive because the task of tracking memory usage per application is a more complex task than adjusting a target area on a program and recalculating values based on a new target area as claimed in the instant application. The instant claims do not provide sufficient information to show how values are being recalculated outside of vague commands of recalculation, or a timeframe for recalculation that prevents it from being performed by a human by hand in a reasonable amount of time, and are claimed in such a way that any calculation may be performed after the adjustments of a window of interest is made, which therefore can be performed by a human when no limitation to data manipulation or timeframe is applied. The application fails to further define what “re-annotation of electrograms using a path- constrained WOI” constitutes, and instead just states the general task of the reselection and recalculation. Therefore, the instant claims are not analogous, to example 37 Claim 2 and are not patent eligible.
The claimed recalculation is not a spreadsheet calculation; it is re-annotation of electrograms using a path- constrained WOI. The amended claims do not recite any mathematical formula or equation. They recite specific operations on electrogram waveforms (adjusting a window of interest, recomputing an LAT from the electrogram within the adjusted window). The presence of computation in a claim does not convert it to a "mathematical concept" within the meaning of MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2)(I). See Example 37, Claim 2 Analysis (claim involves computation but does not recite a mathematical concept). To the extent the Office Action implicitly characterizes the claims as organizing human activity by virtue of the clinical setting, Applicant respectfully disagrees. The amended claims recite specific signal-processing operations performed by a processor on digitized electrogram data. The fact that the claimed system operates in a clinical domain does not make the claims directed to organizing human activity. See Example 42, Claim 1 Analysis (claim eligible despite operating in the healthcare domain, because the claim recited specific technical improvements to medical record interoperability). The amended claims similarly recite specific technical improvements to electrophysiological mapping, not the organization of clinical workflow.
However, the arguments are not persuasive because the use of a mathematical equation in the claims is not necessary for a limitation to fall under the mathematical concepts portion of the abstract determinations. The description of a calculation or data filtering algorithm is still considered math. Taking existing data, adjusting the window of interest and recomputing LAT values is just an automation of mathematical concepts. The Tasks recited are already tasks performed by a clinician when reviewing an ECG diagram and does not require the claimed invention to arrive at the same results or goal. Therefore, the claims amount to the automation of tasks without necessary details to integrate the claims into more than abstract steps to manipulate data.
Regarding Step 2A Prong 2, Applicant argues (Pages 13-15 of the Remarks):
Applicant states(Pages 13-14 of the Remarks)
Even if the amended claims were considered to recite a judicial exception, the additional elements integrate any such exception into a practical application by providing a technological improvement to the field of cardiac electrophysiological mapping. The Specification identifies the technological problem solved by the claimed invention. Applicant's amended claims provide the technological solution disclosed in the Specification. Rather than requiring point-by-point manual correction, the claimed method receives a high-level clinical hint in the form of a freehand-drawn directional activation path, and uses that hint as an algorithmic constraint to adjust the WOI on each affected electrogram. The LAT annotation is then recomputed from the electrogram within the adjusted WOI, and the updated EP map is displayed. The Specification explains that the disclosed technique improves "map quality of multi-electrode catheter systems that acquire a vast number of data points in a short period of time," see id. at I [0023], and "expedite[s] and improve[s] the quality of complicated diagnostic tasks, such as those required in diagnostic catheterizations." See id. at II [0025].
However, the argument is not persuasive because the claim limitations relate to the general automation of manual tasks as admitted to by the above arguments. The automation of tasks previously performed by hand is not a patent eligible improvement to technology. The instant application does not provide sufficient details to show how this automation of value recalculation is an improvement to the data processing tasks at hand or ho the invention may be an improvement to treatments, device function, or data processing and therefore, the claims are not patent eligible.
Applicant states(Pages 14-15 of the Remarks)
The amended claims are analogous to eligible Claim 2 of Example 48 of the USPTO's 2024 Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance Update on Artificial Intelligence ("2024 Guidance"), and distinguishable from ineligible Claim 1 of that same Example. The USPTO found Claim 2 eligible because these additional steps "reflect the improvement in speech separation technology described in the specification." Applicant's claims follow the same eligible pattern. The amended claims do not stop at a generic "recalculating" step. They continue through specific signal-processing operations on the electrogram: adjusting the WOI on the electrogram based on the freehand-drawn directional activation path, recomputing the LAT from the electrogram within the adjusted WOI, and displaying an updated EP map. Each of these added steps reflects the improvement in EP mapping technology described in the Specification at paragraphs [0017], [0021]-[0022], and [0048]-[0049]. The amended claims are also analogous to the eligible claim in McRO, Inc. V. Bandai Namco Games Am. Inc., 837 F.3d 1299 (Fed. Cir. 2016). In McRO, the claims used specific algorithmic rules to automate lip-synchronization animation that was previously performed manually by skilled animators. See McRO, 837 F.3d at 1313-15. The Federal Circuit found the claims eligible because they "focused on a specific means or method that improves the relevant technology." Id. at 1314. Applicant's amended claims follow the same pattern. Applicant's claims use a specific algorithmic mechanism (WOI adjustment on the electrogram driven by a clinician-drawn directional activation path, followed by electrogram re-annotation within the adjusted WOI) to automate corrections to EP maps that were previously performed point-by-point by physicians. See Specification at II [0018]-[0019].. The amended claims recite operations on electrogram waveforms (adjusting the WOI on the respective electrogram and recomputing the LAT from the electrogram within the adjusted WOI). These operations are not generic data processing. They are the specific signal-processing actions through which Applicant's disclosed system improves EP map accuracy. The processor in the amended claims has a specific functional role: it adjusts a temporal window on a digitized electrogram waveform based on a clinician-drawn propagation hint and re-extracts the activation annotation from the waveform within the adjusted window. That role cannot be dismissed as generic.
However, the argument is not persuasive because the recited examples provide significantly more details regarding the data processing steps necessary to achieve the claimed result such that it is clear what is occurring during the data manipulation. The instant claims merely receiving data, such that the user may be collecting data from a sensor. The limitation reads such that the EP map is already generated and is being shared to a person for manipulation. The collection of data does not make the claims patent eligible as it is generically recited without any improvements to the task, function of the sensors, etc. The limitation of receiving is merely awaiting a user input on this collected EP map and is not requiring the invention to perform any of its own inputs or data analysis. Automatically recalculating one or more values based on the input is not a function that is necessitated by only the claimed invention as this task is commonplace for any computer program that manipulates data. The effecting of viewable regions or new calculation values based on user selection is not a novel concept alone, especially when recited generically such as in the claim limitations. This in combination with the previous limitations fails to arrive at an inventive concept that is patent eligible such as the tasks are related to automation of existing clinical evaluations using the abstract concept of data manipulations based on user input, using further generically recited structures. The displaying of the results further does not integrate the claims into a patent eligible invention for similar reasons stated above since the limitation does not further disclose any true improvement to the data processing, the technology, or any applicable treatments and is related to displaying results only. As stated previously, the automation of tasks already being performed by clinicians by hand is not a patent eligible invention and is not equitable to the stated examples such as example 48 and McRo. Therefore, the instant claims are not patent eligible.
Regarding Step 2B, Applicant argues (Page 16 of the Remarks):
Applicant's amended claims also provide significantly more than any alleged abstract idea. Considered as an ordered combination, the amended claims recite: receiving an EP map with multiple data points, each comprising a LAT value derived from an electrogram; receiving a freehand-drawn directional activation path indicating a clinically observed direction of wave propagation; adjusting a WOI on each affected electrogram based on the path; recomputing the LAT from the electrogram within the adjusted WOI; and displaying an updated EP map comprising the recalculated LAT values. Nothing of record establishes that this ordered combination is well-understood, routine, and conventional. See Berkheimer V. HP Inc., 881 F.3d 1360, 1368 (Fed. Cir. 2018) (whether a claim element is well-understood, routine, and conventional is a question of fact that must be supported by evidence). The Office Action provides no such evidence.
However, the argument is not persuasive because the instant claims do not show any technology or hardware that is new or non-conventional or having an improved function. The current claims recite standard computer tasks such as loading data, using an input such as a touchscreen, and displaying an EP map; and combining these with abstract mathematical concepts which remain undefined. The Federal circuit has made it clear that you cannot derive an inventive concept just by claiming a series of data gathering, analysis, and display steps on a generic computer even if the data you are analyzing is highly specific. Because the hardware components are just doing their normal and expected functions, the only thing new is the abstract algorithm itself, and the combination fails to add an inventive concept.
Applicant's arguments (See Pages 16-21 of the Remarks) filed 15MAY2026 regarding the rejections under 35 U.S.C 103(a) have been fully considered but are not persuasive. Parts deemed not persuasive discussed below:
The applicant argues that Stewart's freeform shape is a selection tool, not a propagation constraint. (See Pages 17-19 of the Remarks).
Applicant further states (Pages 17-18 of the Remarks):
The user-drawn freeform shape in Stewart is used to select a region of the map. Once the region is selected, Stewart's processing unit displays the activation waveform and activation histogram corresponding to that selected region in a separate portion of the GUI. Unlike Applicant's system, Stewart does not feed the user-drawn shape back into the LAT computation. Applicant argues that Stewart does not "adjust[], based at least on the freehand-drawn directional activation path, a window of interest (WOI) on the respective electrogram," or "recomput[e] the LAT value from the respective electrogram within the adjusted WOI," as recited in Applicant's claims. The shape in Stewart is a region- selection tool whose output is a region-specific display. The shape in Applicant's claims, by contrast, drives "displaying an updated EP map comprising the recalculated LAT values." Stewart at paragraph [0092] describes propagation of a manual annotation correction made by the user at a single EGM outward to similar neighboring EGMs. It does not describe adjusting a WOI on any electrogram based on a clinician-drawn directional path, and it does not describe re- annotating an electrogram within an adjusted WOI. The propagation step in Stewart is not the WOI-adjustment-and-re-annotation feature recited in the amended claims. The Office Action further cites Stewart at paragraph [0166] for the recalculation feature. That paragraph describes adjusting the radius of the virtual probe's selection region to "expand or contract the size of the selected region." See Stewart at I [0166]. Adjusting the radius of the virtual probe is not adjusting a WOI on an electrogram, and is not recomputing an LAT from an electrogram within an adjusted WOI.
However, the arguments are not persuasive because while the applicant argues that Stewart only teaches a passive region selection tool or a simple radius adjustment, the disclosure of Stewart shows an invention that provides an interactive system that can dynamically process user action to repopulate EP maps based on the selections. Specifically, regarding the argument of the examiner’s citation of par 120 of Stewart, the applicant argues this is merely passive region selection. However, Stewart explicitly teaches that the selection actively displays activation waveforms and histograms therefore establishing that user defines inputs would directly drive the processing unit’s data display and visualization. Specifically, regarding paragraph 0092 of Stewart, the applicant argues the citation only discloses adjusting the window of interest on a single EGM. This argument points out a formal distinction of Stewart versus the claim, limitations rather than a patentable difference. The applicant’s focus on the specific mechanical tool used by Stewart overlooks the underlying functional teaching of Stewart. Finally, regarding paragraph 166 of Stewart, the argument that the citation is merely describing altering a virtual probes radius is not equitable to the claim limitations. The examiner maintains that the changing of this radius changes the scope of data populations and therefore modifies the underlying data selection used by the computer system for calculations. The examiner therefore maintains that when combined with Macadam’s teaching of using user inputs as a direct map input, the modification of Stewart’s responsive calculations to accept and compute data based on Macadam’s directional tracking interface would account for the claimed limitations and arrive at the claimed invention.
Applicant argues MacAdam does not cure the shortcomings of Stewart. (Pages 19-20 of the Remarks):
MacAdam was cited for the proposition that a user draws an input independent of the EP values, indicating a direction of wave propagation. See Office Action at 12 (citing MacAdam at ЯСЯ [0030], [0054]). The cited passages do not teach the WOI-adjustment and re-annotation feature. MacAdam describes a click-and-drag operation in which the user paints tissue as "scar." See MacAdam at I [0030] ("the operator can paint that location of low voltage reading as a 'scar' and thereby preclude any further measurements at that electrode position. The scar is added to the model by a click-and-drag operation in which tissue on the model at the locations of the input device are assigned a color outside of the color scale that indicates local activation or any other parameter of interest, such as grey, black or brown."). MacAdam's scar painting excludes tissue from measurement. It does not adjust a WOI on an electrogram, and it does not recompute the LAT from the electrogram within an adjusted WOI. MacAdam also describes drawing a "boundary zone" to exclude tissue (for example, the arch of the aorta) from data interpolation. See MacAdam at I [0054]. The boundary zone is, again, an exclusion feature. It removes tissue from the interpolation calculation. It does not adjust a WOI on an electrogram, and it does not recompute the LAT from the electrogram within an adjusted WOI. MacAdam describes neither (i) a clinician-drawn directional activation path used as an algorithmic constraint, nor (ii) an adjustment of a temporal window on an electrogram based on such a path, nor (iii) re-annotation of the electrogram within an adjusted window. The Office Action does not point to any portion of MacAdam that teaches these features, because no such portion exists in MacAdam.
However, the arguments are not persuasive because MacAdam is used in combination with Stewart to arrive at the claimed invention and does not need to contain all portions of the claims to be an applicable reference. The applicant argues that Macadam’s scar painting and boundary zone references are merely tissue exclusion features. The examiner, however, does not rely on MacAdam independently to teach window of interest adjustments, electrogram reannotations, or re-computations, and is rather relied on as a teaching of direct user input-based feedback responses. The argued limitations can be found in the primary reference Stewart as previously discussed. MacAdam is cited for its structural user interface teaching of allowing a clinician to input manual freehand suggestions to the system independent of existing ep mapping values to guide software computations. Therefiore, Macadam satisfies the user interface capabilities of capturing a manual path while Stewart provides processing to adjust the WOI and reannotate electrocardiograms based on the paths.
Applicant argues No motivation to combine exists without hindsight reconstruction (Pages 20-21 of the Remarks):
No proper motivation exists to modify Stewart's region-selection-and-histogram-display tool to incorporate MacAdam's tissue-exclusion paint feature in a way that would yield Applicant's claimed WOI-adjustment-and- re-annotation mechanism. Stewart's purpose is to provide a regional review tool that displays activation waveforms and histograms for selected regions. MacAdam's purpose is to associate EP channels with template-based anatomical models and exclude non-tissue regions from interpolation. Neither reference is concerned with adjusting LAT computation windows on individual electrograms in response to a clinician-drawn propagation hint. A person of ordinary skill in the art reading Stewart and MacAdam together would not be led to the claimed WOI- adjustment-and-re-annotation mechanism without using the present application as a roadmap. Cf. In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 1395 (C.C.P.A. 1971) (hindsight reconstruction is improper). Even if Stewart's selection region were combined with MacAdam's boundary/scar drawing, the result would be a user-drawn region used to select, exclude, or display map data. It would not yield a temporal WOI adjustment on an underlying electrogram, because neither reference uses a drawn propagation path to constrain the time-domain search window for LAT annotation.
However, the applicant’s argument that the combination of reference relies on hindsight is unpersuasive because it depends on an overly narrow view of what the references teach. The applicant claims that neither reference considers adjusting local activation time windows on electrograms based on a user drawn path, and that the combination would only create a passive tool that excludes tissue data. This argument does not consider the capabilities of both systems. Stewart is not just a static review tool, it discloses dynamic processing built to adjust WOIs, change parameters, and automatically update or propagate annotations across a map based on what the user does. Macadam teaches a distinct user input ability allowing a clinician to draw manual freehand paths directly onto a map to guide software calculations. A person of ordinary skill in art wouldn’t need the applicant disclosure as a roadmap to put the two concepts together to create a dynamic system like the claimed invention. It is within the skill of someone to take Macadams freehand path drawing tool and feed it into Stewarts responsive calculation system using the user’s manual inputs as the trigger to drive Stewart’s window adjustments and re-annotations. This is a predictable combination of known user interface and data processing elements performing their expected functions. Therefore, the combination is ma9intained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8 & 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding Claims 8 & 19:
The claims recite “LAT consistency algorithm”. This term is not supported in the specification. The LAT consistency algorithm is recited in the Specification by name only with no supporting description, explanation, or formula representing the algorithm for which one could reproduce the invention with. The term “LAT consistency algorithm could therefore relate to several various calculations and/or relationships and therefore the written description is not supported. Therefore, the claims lack a written description.
Claims 8 & 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claims 8 & 19:
The claims recite “LAT consistency algorithm”. This term is not supported in the specification. The LAT consistency algorithm is recited in the Specification by name only with no supporting description, explanation, or formula representing the algorithm for which one could reproduce the invention with. The term “LAT consistency algorithm could therefore relate to several various calculations and/or relationships and therefore is unclear as what determination is being calculated when processing the consistency algorithm. For the purpose of examination, the examiner is interpreting this as a threshold adjustment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1, 2, 4, 8, 11-13, 15, 19, & 22-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a mental process and a mathematical function without significantly more. MPEP 2106(III) outlines steps for determining whether a claim is directed to statutory subject matter. The stepwise analysis for the instant claim is provided here.
Step 1: Statutory Categories
Claims 1 & 12 are directed to a method (i.e., process) and a apparatus (i.e., machine) respectively, and thus meets the step 1 requirements.
Step 2A: Prong 1; Judicial Exception
Regarding claims 1 & 12 the following claim limitations are an abstract idea:
“automatically recalculating one or more of the LAT values to be consistent with the freehand-drawn directional activation path by, for each of the one or more LAT values, adjusting, based at least on the freehand-drawn directional activation path, a window of interest (WOI) on the respective electrogram from which the LAT value is derived” and “and recomputing the LAT value from the respective electrogram within the adjusted WOI” which is a mental process in addition to mathematical when given its broadest reasonable interpretation. As discussed in MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(II), the mental process grouping includes observations, evaluations, judgements, and opinions; and mathematical concepts are considered laws of nature per MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(II). In this case, a human could recalculate (i.e., evaluate) the EP values in response to an input using the technology listed, or by a pen and paper with the human mind.
Step 2A: Prong 2; Additional Elements to Integrate J.E. Into A Practical Application
Regarding claims 1 & 12, the abstract idea is not integrated into a practical application.
The following claim elements do not add any meaningful limitation to the abstract idea:
“a memory configured to store an electrophysiological (EP) map of at least a portion of a surface of a cardiac chamber, the EP map comprising multiple data points overlaved at respective positions on the surface, each data point comprising a local activation time (LAT) value derived from a respective electrogram”; and “a processor”, which are additional elements that amount to generic computer implementation of the abstract idea.
“receiving an electrophysiological (EP) map of at least a portion of a surface of a cardiac chamber, the EP map comprising multiple data points overlaved at respective positions on the surface, each data point comprising a local activation time (LAT) value derived from a respective electrogram”, which is insignificant extra-solution activity, which amounts to data gathering;
“receiving, via a user interface, a freehand-drawn directional activation path input marked on the EP map by a user and indicating a clinically observed direction of wave propagation”, which also amounts to data gathering;
“displaying an updated EP map comprising the recalculated LAT values”, insignificant post-solution activity, which amounts to data display and data reporting.
Step 2B: Significantly More/Inventive Concept
The additional elements of claims 1 & 12, when considered separately and in
combination, do not add significantly more (i.e. an inventive concept) to the abstract idea. As discussed above with respect to the integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the claim recites limitations:
“a memory configured to store an electrophysiological (EP) map of at least a portion of a surface of a cardiac chamber, the EP map comprising multiple data points overlaved at respective positions on the surface, each data point comprising a local activation time (LAT) value derived from a respective electrogram”; and “a processor”, which are additional elements that amount to generic computer implementation of the abstract idea
“receiving an electrophysiological (EP) map of at least a portion of a surface of a cardiac chamber, the EP map comprising multiple data points overlaved at respective positions on the surface, each data point comprising a local activation time (LAT) value derived from a respective electrogram”, which is insignificant extra-solution activity, which amounts to data gathering;
“receiving, via a user interface, a freehand-drawn directional activation path input marked on the EP map by a user and indicating a clinically observed direction of wave propagation”, which also amounts to data gathering;
“displaying an updated EP map comprising the recalculated LAT values”, insignificant post-solution activity, which amounts to data display and data reporting.
The limitations are recited at a high level of generality and simply amount to data gathering, data display, and data reporting. The additional elements are insignificant extra-solution activity and do not amount to more than what is well- understood, routine, and conventional.
Dependent claims 2, 4, 8, 11, & 23-27 do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application and do not add significantly more to the abstract idea of claim 1. The dependent claim limitations are directed to user inputs (Claim 4) and data manipulation (Claims 2, 8, 11, & 23-27), which are insignificant extra-solution activity and do not amount to more than what is well understood, routine, and conventional.
Dependent claims 13, 15, 19, 22, & 28-32 do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application and do not add significantly more to the abstract idea of claim 12. The dependent claim limitations are directed to user inputs (Claim 15) and data manipulation (Claims 13, 19, 22 & 28-32), which are insignificant extra-solution activity and do not amount to more than what is well understood, routine, and conventional.
In summary, claims 1, 2, 4, 8, 11-13, 15, 19, & 22-32 are directed to an abstract idea without significantly more and, therefore, are patent ineligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4, 8, 11-13, 15, 19, 22-26, & 28-31 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103 as being anticipated by Stewart et al. (US Publication Number 20180296108; Previously Cited) in view of MacAdam et al. (US Publication Number 20120035488; Previously Cited).
Regarding claim 1, Stewart discloses a computer implemented method for electrophysiological mapping, comprising (Stewart Abstract “Systems and methods for facilitating processing of cardiac information based on sensed electrical signals include a processing unit configured to receive a set of electrical signals;…and generate, based on at least one of an annotation waveform corresponding to each electrical signal of the set of electrical signals and a set of annotation mapping values, an annotation histogram.): receiving an electrophysiological (EP) map of at least a portion of a surface of a cardiac chamber (Stewart ¶0007 “wherein the processing unit is further configured to: generate, based on the set of electrical signals and corresponding locations, an electroanatomical cardiac map of a cardiac structure”; ¶0036; ¶0120), the EP map comprising multiple data points overlaved at respective positions on the surface(Stewart ¶0065 “Consequently, reconstructing and presenting to a user (such as a doctor and/or technician) physiological data pertaining to the heart's electrical activity may be based on information acquired at multiple locations, thereby providing a more accurate and faithful reconstruction of physiological behavior of the endocardium surface. The acquisition of signals at multiple catheter locations in the heart chamber enables the catheter to effectively act as a “mega-catheter” whose effective number of electrodes and electrode span is proportional to the product of the number of locations in which signal acquisition is performed and the number of electrodes the catheter has.”; ¶0126; ¶0096 “According to embodiments, cardiac electric signal features may be extracted from the cardiac electrical signals (e.g., EGMs). Each of the respective points at which a cardiac electrical signal is sensed may have a corresponding set of three-dimensional position coordinates.”), each data point comprising a local activation time (LAT) value derived from a respective electrogram (Stewart ¶0120 “For example, embodiments may include displaying annotations on the cardiac map that represent features, extracted from the cardiac electrical signals and/or derived from other features, such as, for example, activation times, minimum voltage values, maximum voltages values, maximum negative time-derivatives of voltages, instantaneous potentials, voltage amplitudes, dominant frequencies, peak-to-peak voltages, and/or the like.”) automatically recalculating one or more of the LAT values to be consistent with the freehand-drawn directional activation path by, for each of the one or more LAT values, (Stewart ¶0150 “To do so, the processing unit may be configured to position the virtual probe 682 at one or more different positions on the cardiac map, in response to receiving a user input. Examples of user input that may be indicative of positioning the virtual probe 682 at a position include, but are not limited to, a single or double mouse click, a touch on a touchscreen, hovering a cursor over the selection location, and/or the like. After the virtual probe 682 is at a position, the processing unit may be configured to reposition the virtual probe 682 to a different position on the cardiac map and/or the surface map, in response to receiving a user input.”; ¶0163; ¶0166; ¶0105) adjusting, based at least on the freehand-drawn directional activation path, a window of interest (WOI) on the respective electrogram from which the LAT value is derived, and recomputing the LAT value from the respective electrogram within the adjusted WOI (Stewart ¶0092 “However, human input can be a valuable addition to the data, and so when user input is provided it is necessary for the computer system to automatically propagate and apply it to more than one data point at a time.”; ¶0166 “In embodiments, the GUI may facilitate receiving user input to define, adjust, select, and/or otherwise manipulate one or more selection parameters. For example, embodiments may allow a user to change the radius of the flashlight beam incidence, to expand or contract the size of the selected region.”) and displaying an updated EP map comprising the recalculated LAT values (Stewart ¶0120 “For example, embodiments may include displaying annotations on the cardiac map that represent features, extracted from the cardiac electrical signals and/or derived from other features, such as, for example, activation times, minimum voltage values, maximum voltages values, maximum negative time-derivatives of voltages, instantaneous potentials, voltage amplitudes, dominant frequencies, peak-to-peak voltages, and/or the like.”; ¶0167 “the processing unit may automatically generate an activation waveform and/or activation histogram corresponding to the selected region, the representation 906 of which may be automatically presented in the second portion 902 of the GUI. In response to further user input, the processing unit may be configured to reposition the virtual probe 908 to a different position on the cardiac map. The processing unit may be configured to cause the display device to represent the portion of the activation waveform and/or activation histogram corresponding to the selection location. In embodiments, the processing unit may be configured to update the display of the representation 906 of the activation waveform and/or histogram continuously, continually, or on demand.”).
Stewart does not disclose to: receive, via a user interface a freehand drawn directional activation path marked on the EP map by a user and indicating a clinically observed direction of wave propagation. MacAdam in a similar field of EP mapping teaches to: receive, via a user interface a freehand drawn directional activation path marked on the EP map by a user and indicating a clinically observed direction of wave propagation (MacAdam ¶0030 “The scar is added to the model by a click-and-drag operation in which tissue on the model at the locations of the input device are assigned a color outside of the color scale that indicates local activation or any other parameter of interest, such as grey, black or brown.”; ¶0054 “The interpolation process results in a continuously changing color pattern across the surface of the anatomical model which provides insight to the clinician as to the location of the earliest activation time, locations of necrosed or diseased tissue, indications of an aberrant cycle length, and the like.”); Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system, as disclosed by Stewart, so as to include to: receive, via a user interface a freehand drawn directional activation path marked on the EP map by a user and indicating a clinically observed direction of wave propagation, as taught by MacAdam, because it allows the system to monitor and adjust the mapping system to reduce procedure time and mapping data inaccuracies (MacAdam ¶0005-¶0006; ¶0054).
Regarding claim 2, claim 1 is obvious over Stewart in view of MacAdam. Stewart further discloses recalculated LAT values are consistent with the freehand-drawn directional activation path by monotonically increasing along the freehand-drawn directional activation path (Stewart ¶0150 “To do so, the processing unit may be configured to position the virtual probe 682 at one or more different positions on the cardiac map, in response to receiving a user input. Examples of user input that may be indicative of positioning the virtual probe 682 at a position include, but are not limited to, a single or double mouse click, a touch on a touchscreen, hovering a cursor over the selection location, and/or the like. After the virtual probe 682 is at a position, the processing unit may be configured to reposition the virtual probe 682 to a different position on the cardiac map and/or the surface map, in response to receiving a user input.”; ¶0163; ¶0166; ¶0105).
Regarding claim 4, claims 1-2 are obvious over Stewart in view of MacAdam. Stewart further discloses wherein the freehand- drawn directional activation path is electronically drawn on the EP map using a touchscreen displaying the EP map. (Stewart ¶0123 “Activation histogram waveforms may be presented on a display device, and may be associated with a cardiac map. Activation histogram waveforms may facilitate identifying and focusing on certain cardiac events, small tissue regions with activation times satisfying a certain set of criteria, and/or the like.” ; ¶0137 “The GUI may be configured to highlight regions of an electroanatomical map in response to user selection of a portion of a representation of an activation histogram. In this manner, embodiments of the histogram waveform may represent the relative contributions of activations from certain regions or time periods on activation propagation. According to embodiments, the activation histograms may be used to facilitate highlighting regions of interest on a map”; ¶0151-¶0152; ¶0149 “In embodiments, individual activation locations may be indicated using representations 680 such as “Xs,” raised bumps, and/or the like.”; ¶0150 “Examples of user input that may be indicative of positioning the virtual probe 682 at a position include, but are not limited to, a single or double mouse click, a touch on a touchscreen”; ¶0148; ¶0152).
Regarding claim 8, claim 1 is obvious over Stewart in view of MacAdam. Stewart further discloses wherein the user interface further receives a freehand- drawn closed curve marking a region of the EP map (Stewart ¶0152 “Selecting a region of the map may include, for example, circling the region of the map using a mouse or touchscreen device to manipulate a cursor, brushing over the region of the map using an input device to manipulate a brush, and/or the like.”), and wherein the method further comprises adjusting a sensitivity of an LAT consistency algorithm such that data points inside the region are excluded from being classified as outliers (Stewart ¶0110 “In embodiments, an activation waveform value may be determined and/or further adjusted based on further analysis such as, for example, results of a consistency evaluation, as described below with reference to block 410. Any number of other types of information and/or analyses may be incorporated to refine determination of activation waveform values for each sample point of an electrical signal. “).
Regarding claim 11, claim 1 is obvious over Stewart in view of MacAdam. Stewart further discloses wherein the user interface is one of a touchscreen, a computer mouse, and a trackball (Stewart ¶0148 “644 and select the portion of the histogram waveform 644 to which the cursor points, for example, by pressing a mouse button, tapping a touchscreen, and/or the like”; ¶0152 “Selecting a region of the map may include, for example, circling the region of the map using a mouse or touchscreen device to manipulate a cursor, brushing over the region of the map using an input device to manipulate a brush, and/or the like.”).
Regarding claim 12, Stewart discloses a system for electrophysiological mapping (Stewart Abstract “Systems and methods for facilitating processing of cardiac information based on sensed electrical signals include a processing unit configured to receive a set of electrical signals;…and generate, based on at least one of an annotation waveform corresponding to each electrical signal of the set of electrical signals and a set of annotation mapping values, an annotation histogram.), comprising: a memory (Stewart ¶0075 “As shown in FIG. 2, the processing unit 200 may be implemented on a computing device that includes a processor 202 and a memory 204.”; ¶0082; ¶0156) configured to store an electrophysiological (EP) map of at least a portion of a surface of a cardiac chamber (Stewart ¶0007 “wherein the processing unit is further configured to: generate, based on the set of electrical signals and corresponding locations, an electroanatomical cardiac map of a cardiac structure”; ¶0036; ¶0120), the EP map comprising multiple data points overlaved at respective positions on the surface, (Stewart ¶0065 “Consequently, reconstructing and presenting to a user (such as a doctor and/or technician) physiological data pertaining to the heart's electrical activity may be based on information acquired at multiple locations, thereby providing a more accurate and faithful reconstruction of physiological behavior of the endocardium surface. The acquisition of signals at multiple catheter locations in the heart chamber enables the catheter to effectively act as a “mega-catheter” whose effective number of electrodes and electrode span is proportional to the product of the number of locations in which signal acquisition is performed and the number of electrodes the catheter has.”; ¶0126; ¶0096 “According to embodiments, cardiac electric signal features may be extracted from the cardiac electrical signals (e.g., EGMs). Each of the respective points at which a cardiac electrical signal is sensed may have a corresponding set of three-dimensional position coordinates.”) each data point comprising a local activation time (LAT) value derived from a respective electrogram (Stewart ¶0120 “For example, embodiments may include displaying annotations on the cardiac map that represent features, extracted from the cardiac electrical signals and/or derived from other features, such as, for example, activation times, minimum voltage values, maximum voltages values, maximum negative time-derivatives of voltages, instantaneous potentials, voltage amplitudes, dominant frequencies, peak-to-peak voltages, and/or the like.”); and a processor, (Stewart ¶0075 “As shown in FIG. 2, the processing unit 200 may be implemented on a computing device that includes a processor 202 and a memory 204.”; ¶0082; ¶0156) and automatically recalculate one or more of the LAT values to be consistent with the freehand-drawn directional activation path by, for each of the one or more LAT values, (Stewart ¶0150 “To do so, the processing unit may be configured to position the virtual probe 682 at one or more different positions on the cardiac map, in response to receiving a user input. Examples of user input that may be indicative of positioning the virtual probe 682 at a position include, but are not limited to, a single or double mouse click, a touch on a touchscreen, hovering a cursor over the selection location, and/or the like. After the virtual probe 682 is at a position, the processing unit may be configured to reposition the virtual probe 682 to a different position on the cardiac map and/or the surface map, in response to receiving a user input.”; ¶0163; ¶0166; ¶0105) adjusting, based at least on the freehand-drawn directional activation path, a window of interest (WOI) on the respective electrogram from which the LAT value is derived, and recomputing the LAT value from the respective electrogram within the adjusted WOI (Stewart ¶0092 “However, human input can be a valuable addition to the data, and so when user input is provided it is necessary for the computer system to automatically propagate and apply it to more than one data point at a time.”; ¶0166 “In embodiments, the GUI may facilitate receiving user input to define, adjust, select, and/or otherwise manipulate one or more selection parameters. For example, embodiments may allow a user to change the radius of the flashlight beam incidence, to expand or contract the size of the selected region.”); and cause display of an updated EP map comprising the recalculated LAT values (Stewart ¶0120 “For example, embodiments may include displaying annotations on the cardiac map that represent features, extracted from the cardiac electrical signals and/or derived from other features, such as, for example, activation times, minimum voltage values, maximum voltages values, maximum negative time-derivatives of voltages, instantaneous potentials, voltage amplitudes, dominant frequencies, peak-to-peak voltages, and/or the like.”; ¶0167 “the processing unit may automatically generate an activation waveform and/or activation histogram corresponding to the selected region, the representation 906 of which may be automatically presented in the second portion 902 of the GUI. In response to further user input, the processing unit may be configured to reposition the virtual probe 908 to a different position on the cardiac map. The processing unit may be configured to cause the display device to represent the portion of the activation waveform and/or activation histogram corresponding to the selection location. In embodiments, the processing unit may be configured to update the display of the representation 906 of the activation waveform and/or histogram continuously, continually, or on demand.”).
Stewart does not disclose to: receive, via a user interface a freehand drawn directional activation path marked on the EP map by a user and indicating a clinically observed direction of wave propagation. MacAdam in a similar field of EP mapping teaches to: receive, via a user interface a freehand drawn directional activation path marked on the EP map by a user and indicating a clinically observed direction of wave propagation (MacAdam ¶0030 “The scar is added to the model by a click-and-drag operation in which tissue on the model at the locations of the input device are assigned a color outside of the color scale that indicates local activation or any other parameter of interest, such as grey, black or brown.”; ¶0054 “The interpolation process results in a continuously changing color pattern across the surface of the anatomical model which provides insight to the clinician as to the location of the earliest activation time, locations of necrosed or diseased tissue, indications of an aberrant cycle length, and the like.”); Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system, as disclosed by Stewart, so as to include to: receive, via a user interface a freehand drawn directional activation path marked on the EP map by a user and indicating a clinically observed direction of wave propagation, as taught by MacAdam, because it allows the system to monitor and adjust the mapping system to reduce procedure time and mapping data inaccuracies (MacAdam ¶0005-¶0006; ¶0054).
Regarding claim 13, claim 12 is obvious over Stewart in view of MacAdam. Stewart further discloses recalculated LAT values are consistent with the freehand-drawn directional activation path by monotonically increasing along the freehand-drawn directional activation path (Stewart ¶0150 “To do so, the processing unit may be configured to position the virtual probe 682 at one or more different positions on the cardiac map, in response to receiving a user input. Examples of user input that may be indicative of positioning the virtual probe 682 at a position include, but are not limited to, a single or double mouse click, a touch on a touchscreen, hovering a cursor over the selection location, and/or the like. After the virtual probe 682 is at a position, the processing unit may be configured to reposition the virtual probe 682 to a different position on the cardiac map and/or the surface map, in response to receiving a user input.”; ¶0163; ¶0166; ¶0105)
Regarding claim 15, claim 12 is obvious over Stewart in view of MacAdam. Stewart further discloses wherein the freehand-drawn directional activation path is electronically drawn on the EP map using a touchscreen displaying the EP map. (Stewart ¶0123 “Activation histogram waveforms may be presented on a display device, and may be associated with a cardiac map. Activation histogram waveforms may facilitate identifying and focusing on certain cardiac events, small tissue regions with activation times satisfying a certain set of criteria, and/or the like.” ; ¶0137 “The GUI may be configured to highlight regions of an electroanatomical map in response to user selection of a portion of a representation of an activation histogram. In this manner, embodiments of the histogram waveform may represent the relative contributions of activations from certain regions or time periods on activation propagation. According to embodiments, the activation histograms may be used to facilitate highlighting regions of interest on a map”; ¶0151-¶0152; ¶0149 “In embodiments, individual activation locations may be indicated using representations 680 such as “Xs,” raised bumps, and/or the like.”; ¶0150 “Examples of user input that may be indicative of positioning the virtual probe 682 at a position include, but are not limited to, a single or double mouse click, a touch on a touchscreen”; ¶0148; ¶0152).
Regarding claim 19, claim 12 is obvious over Stewart in view of MacAdam. Stewart further discloses wherein the user interface is further configured to receive a freehand-drawn closed curve marking a region of the EP map (Stewart ¶0152 “Selecting a region of the map may include, for example, circling the region of the map using a mouse or touchscreen device to manipulate a cursor, brushing over the region of the map using an input device to manipulate a brush, and/or the like.”), and wherein the processor is further configured to adjust a sensitivity of an LAT consistency algorithm such that data points inside the region are excluded from being classified as outliers (Stewart ¶0110 “In embodiments, an activation waveform value may be determined and/or further adjusted based on further analysis such as, for example, results of a consistency evaluation, as described below with reference to block 410. Any number of other types of information and/or analyses may be incorporated to refine determination of activation waveform values for each sample point of an electrical signal. “).
Regarding claim 22, claim 12 is obvious over Stewart in view of MacAdam. Stewart further discloses wherein the user interface is one of a touchscreen, a computer mouse, and a trackball. (Stewart ¶0148 “644 and select the portion of the histogram waveform 644 to which the cursor points, for example, by pressing a mouse button, tapping a touchscreen, and/or the like”; ¶0152 “Selecting a region of the map may include, for example, circling the region of the map using a mouse or touchscreen device to manipulate a cursor, brushing over the region of the map using an input device to manipulate a brush, and/or the like.”).
Regarding claim 23, claim 1 is obvious over Stewart in view of MacAdam. Stewart further discloses wherein adjusting the WOI comprises defining a shorter WOI than a default WOI used for determining the LAT value (Stewart ¶0166 “In embodiments, the GUI may facilitate receiving user input to define, adjust, select, and/or otherwise manipulate one or more selection parameters. For example, embodiments may allow a user to change the radius of the flashlight beam incidence, to expand or contract the size of the selected region.”).
Regarding claim 24, claim 1 is obvious over Stewart in view of MacAdam. Stewart further discloses wherein the adjusted WOI is determined based at least on a direction of the freehand-drawn directional activation path and one or more neighboring LAT values (Stewart ¶0104 “In embodiments, the specified region may be predetermined and/or fixed. In embodiments, the specified region may be determined by calculating a maximum distance between two adjacent points on a grid or graph used for aggregating acquired electrical signals, and/or may be configured to optimize the relevance of aggregate values from the grid and/or graph that may be interpolated onto an anatomical mesh, aggregate activation information associated with activation waveforms, and/or the like. The specified region may be defined using any number of different measurements of distance (e.g., a rectilinear distance, L1, a Euclidean distance, L2, etc.), time, relevance (e.g., confidence levels, weightings, etc.).”).
Regarding claim 25, claim 1 is obvious over Stewart in view of MacAdam. Stewart further discloses wherein the recalculating comprises selecting a subset of the data points whose respective distances from the freehand-drawn directional activation path satisfy a threshold distance criterion, and wherein the recalculated LAT values are LAT values for the selected subset (Stewart ¶0105 “The specified region may be adaptive and may be dynamically adjusted based on any number of different factors such as, for example, user input, mapping quality metrics (e.g., a surface projection distance (SPD), which is the maximum distance that an electrode can fall from a mesh surface and still be projected into the map, which may be set and/or adjusted to facilitate control over the accuracy of the map), environmental parameters, physiological parameters, and/or the like.”).
Regarding claim 28, claim 12 is obvious over Stewart in view of MacAdam. Stewart further discloses wherein the processor is configured to adjust the WOI by defining a shorter WOI than a default WOI used for determining the LAT value. (Stewart ¶0166 “In embodiments, the GUI may facilitate receiving user input to define, adjust, select, and/or otherwise manipulate one or more selection parameters. For example, embodiments may allow a user to change the radius of the flashlight beam incidence, to expand or contract the size of the selected region.”).
Regarding claim 29, claim 12 is obvious over Stewart in view of MacAdam. Stewart further discloses wherein the processor is configured to determine the adjusted WOI based at least on a direction of the freehand-drawn directional activation path and one or more neighboring LAT values. (Stewart ¶0104 “In embodiments, the specified region may be predetermined and/or fixed. In embodiments, the specified region may be determined by calculating a maximum distance between two adjacent points on a grid or graph used for aggregating acquired electrical signals, and/or may be configured to optimize the relevance of aggregate values from the grid and/or graph that may be interpolated onto an anatomical mesh, aggregate activation information associated with activation waveforms, and/or the like. The specified region may be defined using any number of different measurements of distance (e.g., a rectilinear distance, L1, a Euclidean distance, L2, etc.), time, relevance (e.g., confidence levels, weightings, etc.).”).
Regarding claim 30, claim 12 is obvious over Stewart in view of MacAdam. Stewart further discloses wherein the processor is configured to recalculate the LAT values by selecting a subset of the data points whose respective distances from the freehand-drawn directional activation path satisfy a threshold distance criterion, and wherein the recalculated LAT values are LAT values for the selected subset (Stewart ¶0105 “The specified region may be adaptive and may be dynamically adjusted based on any number of different factors such as, for example, user input, mapping quality metrics (e.g., a surface projection distance (SPD), which is the maximum distance that an electrode can fall from a mesh surface and still be projected into the map, which may be set and/or adjusted to facilitate control over the accuracy of the map), environmental parameters, physiological parameters, and/or the like.”).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 26-27 & 31-32 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 101 set forth in this Office action.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
None of the prior art of record explicitly discloses or teaches all the claimed elements of dependent Claims 27 & 32, particularly as currently written. After further search and consideration, it has been determined that the prior art and possible combination of relevant references fail to arrive at the claimed invention, particularly the “wherein the regression model comprises a piecewise regression model applied to the selected subset along the freehand-drawn directional activation path” and “sort the projected data points according to respective positions along the freehand-drawn directional activation path, and generate, using a regression model applied to the selected subset, an adjusted activation path while statistically neglecting one or more outlier values”. The prior art does not provide the use of a regression model for EP mapping as taught in the instant application. Conclusion
/MEGAN T FEDORKY/Examiner, Art Unit 3796
/ALLEN PORTER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796