DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 21 and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Escamilla et al. (20040059407).
Escamilla discloses the following claimed limitations:
Claim 21: A middle member (see figure below) of an endovascular delivery system, the middle member comprising: a proximal member ( see figure below) having a proximal member diameter (diameter of part 32, [0041]) (Fig. 2), the proximal member has a first surface portion (32, see figure below) formed of a first material (polymeric material as stated in [0041]) and a second surface portion (part of 26, see figure below) formed of a second material (Nitinol as stated in [0040]) different than the first material ([0040-41]); a distal member (34, see figure below) having a proximal and distal ends (see figure below) and a distal member diameter (diameter of part 34 as stated in [0041]) (Fig. 2) extending between the proximal and distal ends (see figure below), and a medial member (30, see figure below) having a medial member diameter (diameter of 30 as stated in [0040]) (Fig. 2) extending between the proximal member and the distal member (see figure below), the medial member diameter is less than the proximal member diameter and the distal member diameter to form a notch (see figure below) configured to retain a proximal most end of a stent graft (Fig. 1), the distal member diameter less than the proximal member diameter ([0041]), the proximal member and the medial member form a shoulder therebetween (see figure below), the shoulder having a radially extending face (see figure below) configured to contact the proximal most end of the stent graft (Fig. 5 where it abuts as the cover is being retracted), and the radially extending face of the shoulder has an outer radially extending shoulder face diameter (diameter of 32) (Fig. 2) greater than the distal member diameter ([0041]).
Claim 22: wherein the radially extending face of the shoulder extends perpendicular to a surface of the medial member (see figure below where the surface is the edge as seen in the figure below which is perpendicular to the surface of the medial member where the stent seats on as seen in Fig. 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Escamilla et al. (20040059407) in view of Gunderson (2004/0204749).
Claim 1:
Escamilla discloses an endovascular delivery system comprising: a stent (10) (Fig. 1 and [0039]) including a first end (48) and a second end (50) (Fig. 1 and [0043]), the first end including an engagement member (52) (Fig. 1 and [0043]), the stent configured to change between a radially compressed configuration and a radially deployed configuration (Fig. 4-6); a guide member (26) (Fig. 1) carrying the stent and including a proximal end portion (28) (Fig. 1 and [0040]) and a distal end portion (30) (Fig. 1 and [0040]); and a graft cover (14) (Fig. 1 and [0039]) radially covering at least a portion of the stent (Fig. 1) and configured to retract to uncover the stent graft so that the stent graft changes from the radially compressed configuration to the radially deployed configuration (Fig. 4-6), the first end of the stent is arranged closer to the proximal end portion of the guide member than the second end of the stent (Fig. 1), the guide member securing the first end of the stent in a first position (Fig. 1 and 4) where the engagement member is held between the graft cover and the guide member to hold the first end of the stent in the first position as the graft cover is retracted to deploy the stent (Fig. 4-6), the engagement member is axially spaced apart from a proximal most stent (see figure below) of the stent (Fig. 1 and [0043]), the distal end portion of the guide member includes a proximal member (see figure below), a distal member (see figure below), and a medial member (see figure below) extending between the proximal member and the distal member (see figure below), the proximal member and the medial member form a shoulder (see figure below) therebetween (see figure below), the first end of the stent abuts a radially extending face of the shoulder (see figure below and Fig. 1) and the radially extending face of the shoulder terminates at the graft cover (see figure below) and wherein the proximal most end of the stent is in contact with the graft cover (Fig. 1), the guide member terminates at a distalmost end (see figure below) of the distal member of the guide member (see figure below).
Escamilla teaches all the limitations discussed above, however Escamilla is silent with regards to the stent being a stent graft.
Gunderson discloses another well-known stent delivery device where it states that the delivery device can be used to deliver a stent or a stent graft ([0003 and [0032]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the stent of Parker to be a stent graft, as taught by Gunderson, since it has been held that a simple substitution of one known element for another will yield predictable results. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82, USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted the stent in Escamilla for a stent graft in view of Gunderson since these mechanisms perform the same function of supporting an endovascular lumen. Simply substituting one stent for another would yield the predicable result of supporting a larger lumen. See MPEP 2143.
Claim 2: Escamilla discloses that the radially extending face of the shoulder extends perpendicular to a surface of the medial member (see figure above where the surface is the edge as seen in the figure below which is perpendicular to the surface of the medial member where the stent seats on as seen in Fig. 1).
Claim 3: Escamilla discloses that the proximal end portion, the medial member, and the distal member define a notch (see figure above) (note that the notch is the same as the notch defined by applicant in the original disclosure as 124) extending in a circumferential direction and receiving the engagement member (see figure above and Fig. 1).
Claim 4: Escamilla discloses that a length of the notch is less than a length of the proximal most stent (see figure above where the notch is the size of the engagement member which is smaller than the length of the proximal most stent as defined by the examiner).
Claim 5: Escamilla discloses that the proximal member is connected to a flared member (see figure above) tapered in a proximal direction (see figure above).
Claim 6: Escamilla discloses that the medial member terminates at the proximal member and the distal member (see figure above).
Claim 7: Escamilla discloses that the medial member and the proximal member form a radiused portion therebetween (see figure above).
Claim 8: Escamilla discloses that the engagement member is a radiopaque marker ([0044]).
Claim 9: Escamilla discloses wherein the engagement member has a first thickness (Fig. 6) and the proximal most stent has a second thickness less than the first thickness (see figure above and Fig. 6 where the coil of the engagement member is thicker than the stent wall)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10-17 and 19 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: the art of record when considered alone or in combination neither renders obvious nor anticipates an endovascular delivery system comprising: a stent graft including stent rings and a graft wall; a graft cover, and a guide member includes a distal end portion which has a proximal member, a distal member, and a medial member extending between the proximal member and the distal member, and the engagement member contacts the medial member and is spaced apart from the graft cover by the stent graft including the stent rings and the graft wall, the stent graft which is radially situated between the graft cover and the engagement member; in conjunction with the rest of the claimed limitations.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 12/11/25 have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The cited prior art appears to teach some of the claimed limitations.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DIANNE DORNBUSCH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771