Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group 1, claims 1-14, in the reply filed on March 4, 2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 15-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 and 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Bhat et al. (US 2022/0152908).
Claim 1: Bhat et al. discloses a method of manufacturing a forming tool (abstract). The method includes making a first die (105) by manufacturing a first profile panel (300) with an additive manufacturing process (fig. 3; ¶ 57); providing a first base (700) that has a first perimeter wall (fig. 4); positioning the first profile panel on the first perimeter wall (figs. 1-4); and securing the first profile panel to the first perimeter wall (figs. 1-4); making a second die (110) by manufacturing a second profile panel (mirror image of 300; ¶ 54) with an additive manufacturing process (¶ 57); providing a second base (mirror image of 700; ¶ 54) that has a second perimeter wall (figs. 1-4); positioning the second profile panel on the second perimeter wall (figs. 1-4); and securing the second profile panel to the second perimeter wall (figs. 1-4).
Claim 2: Bhat et al. discloses the first base includes a first baseplate (310), the first perimeter wall extends from the first baseplate toward the first profile panel, and the first baseplate, the first perimeter wall, and the first profile panel cooperate to define a first cavity that receives a fluid (fig. 4).
Claim 3: Bhat et al. discloses a baffle (310) extends from the first baseplate to the first profile panel to the first profile panel and has a first end that extends from the first perimeter wall and a second end that is spaced apart from the first perimeter wall, and the baffle directs the fluid around the second end figs. 1-4).
Claim 4: Bhat et al. discloses the first perimeter wall has a first locator feature that is disposed on a column that is disposed opposite the first cavity (figs. 1-5).
Claim 8: Bhat et al. discloses a second baseplate, the second perimeter wall extends from the second baseplate toward the second profile panel, and the second baseplate, the second perimeter wall, and the second profile panel cooperate to define a second cavity (mirror image of first half of the tool; figs. 1-5; ¶ 54).
Claim 9: Bhat et al. discloses the second perimeter wall has a second locator feature that is disposed on a column that is disposed opposite the second cavity (mirror image of the first half of the tool; figs. 1-5; ¶ 54).
Claim 10: Bhat et al. discloses positioning a ventilation tube in the second cavity before securing the second profile panel to the second perimeter wall, wherein the ventilation tube extends between a vent hole (1000) in the second profile panel and an exhaust hole in the second baseplate (figs. 1-2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-7 and 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bhat et al. (US 2022/0152908), as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Goss (US 2006/0255513).
Claim 5: Bhat et al. is silent as to positioning a first seal between the first perimeter wall and the first profile panel before securing the first profile panel to the first perimeter wall. However, Goss discloses a forming tool including positioning a first seal between a first perimeter wall and a first profile panel (¶¶ 28-29). As taught by Goss, positioning a first seal between a first perimeter wall and a first profile panel prevents or reduces the amount of blow air that is introduced into a gap or cavity in the mold (¶¶ 28-29). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to have included seals between mating portions of the blow mold of Bhat et al. in order to prevent or reduce blow air loss.
Claim 6: Bhat et al. discloses securing the securing the first profile panel to the first perimeter wall includes positioning a first mounting panel into engagement with the first profile panel and the first perimeter wall such that the first profile panel extends from the first seal to the first mounting panel and fastening the first mounting panel to the first perimeter wall (figs. 1-5).
Claim 7: Bhat et al. discloses the first perimeter wall defines a first seal groove that partially receives the first seal and a first ring wall that encircles the first seal groove and the first mounting panel, wherein the first profile panel is fastened to the first ring wall (figs. 1-5).
Claim 11: Goss discloses positioning a second seal between the second perimeter wall and the second profile panel before securing the second profile panel to the second perimeter wall (¶¶ 28-29).
Claim 12: Bhat et al. discloses securing the second profile panel to the second perimeter wall includes positioning a second mounting panel into engagement with the second profile panel and the second perimeter wall such that the second profile panel extends from the second seal to the second mounting panel and fastening the second mounting panel to the second perimeter wall (figs. 1-5).
Claim 13: Goss discloses the second perimeter wall defines a second seal groove that partially receives the second seal and a second ring wall that encircles the second seal groove and the second mounting panel, wherein the second profile panel is fastened to the second ring wall (¶¶ 28-29).
Claim 14: Bhat et al. discloses a first mounting panel secures the first profile panel to the first perimeter wall and the method further includes aligning the first die and the second die and positioning the first mounting panel into engagement with the second mounting panel (figs. 1-5).
Conclusion
/LARRY W THROWER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1754