DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 1-2, 4-11, 13-19, and 21-24 are pending and under examination.
Claims 3, 12, and 20 are canceled.
Claims 1-2, 4-11, 13-19, and 21-24 are rejected.
Claims 1, 9, 13, and 18-19 are amended.
Claims 1 and 13 are independent.
Claims 21-24 are new.
Claim 10 is objected to.
Office Action Outline
Rejections applied
Abbreviations
X
112/b Indefiniteness
PHOSITA
"a Person Having Ordinary Skill In The Art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention"
112/b "Means for"
BRI
Broadest Reasonable Interpretation
112/a Enablement,
Written description
CRM
"Computer-Readable Media" and equivalent language
112 Other
IDS
Information Disclosure Statement
X
102, 103
JE
Judicial Exception
101 JE(s)
112/a
35 USC 112(a) and similarly for 112/b, etc.
101 Other
N:N
page:line
Double Patenting
MM/DD/YYYY
date format
Overview of Withdrawal/Revision of Objections/Rejections
In view of the amendment and remarks received 10/18/2025:
• The objections to the Specification and Drawings are withdrawn.
• The objection to claim 10 is maintained.
• A 112(b) rejection is applied.
• The 103 rejections are withdrawn and new 103 rejection are applied.
Priority
As detailed in the 01/04/2022 filing receipt, this application claims benefit of priority to U.S. Provisional Application 63/131,626, filed on 12/29/2020.
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 7-11, 13-19, 21, and 23 are being examined with an effective filing date of 12/29/2020.
Claim 6 recites “the registrant certifying” and “a third party certifying”. The limitations regarding “certifying” in regards to sample collection are not supported by the disclosure of U.S. Provisional Application No. 63/131,626, filed on 12/29/2020. The Provisional Specification paragraph [0033] discusses sample collection by the registrant (or the registrant's custodian or authorized agent), however, certifying is not disclosed. Therefore, pending claim 6 will be examined with an effective filing date of 12/20/2021.
Claims 22 and 24 recite "wherein said personal information comprises at least one item of immutable data selected from names of birth parents of the registrant, date of birth of the registrant, biological sex of the registrant, birth name of the registrant, multiple birth status of the registrant, and place of birth of the registrant." The immutable data and types of immutable data are not supported nor are they disclosed by the disclosure of U.S. Provisional Application No. 63/131,626, filed on 12/29/2020. Therefore, pending claims 22 and 24 will be examined with an effective filing date of 12/20/2021.
Claim Objections
Claim 10 line 3 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 10 line 3 recites “wherein third electronic communication device” which is missing an article and should be corrected to “wherein the third electronic communication device”. This objection is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 10 line 2 recites "a third electronic communication device." Claim 10 depends from claim 1, which also recites "a third electronic communication device." It is not clear if these are intended to be the same device. Possibly amending claim 10 line 2 to recite "[[a]]the third electronic device" might help overcome the rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-7, 9-11, and 21-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shvartsman, (U.S. Pub. No. US 2019/0180850 A1, published 06/13/2019; cited on the 08/11/2025 form PTO-892); in view of Lidsky (US 10,673,847 B2, published 06/02/2020; cited on the attached form PTO-892), in view of Kushch, (Sensors, vol. 20(13):3621, pages 1-17 (June 2020); cited on the attached form PTO-892); in view of Orig3n, "No spit. No mess. Just swab and send", (and read the instructions under Collect your DNA sample), 09/25/2018, total 7 pages; retrieved 07/29/2025 at <URL: https://web.archive.org/web/20180925023814/https://orig3n.com/how-it-works/> (p.1-6 of 7) and <URL: https://web.archive.org/web/20180925023814/https://orig3n.com/how-it-works/#instructions> (p.7 of 7); cited on the 08/11/2025 form PTO-892).
Independent claim 1 recites a method of obtaining and controlling genetic identification information, comprising: a) providing a registrant’s personal information to a secure website using a first electronic communication device; b) taking a sample from a registrant; c) providing the sample to a genetic analysis facility; d) analyzing short tandem repeat (STR) regions to produce the registrant’s genetic identify; e) encrypting the personal information and genetic identity; f) recording the encrypted personal information and the encrypted genetic identity in a blockchain ledger; g) enabling the registrant to display a code, on a second electronic communication device, corresponding to the encrypted genetic identity, where the first and second devices are the same or different; h) authenticating the personal information or an identity of the registrant on a third electronic communication device wherein the third device is configured to access the code from the blockchain ledger.
Dependent claim 2 further recites personal information includes at least two of a name, an address, a government-issued identification number, and a photograph of the registrant..
Dependent claim 4 further recites registering the registrant for a service comprising the STR region analysis, the personal information/genetic identity recordation, and genetic identity code display enablement.
Dependent claim 5 further recites the first and second devices are selected from a smart phone, a personal computer, a tablet computer, and a work station.
Dependent claim 6 further recites collecting the registrant's saliva in the vial or tube, swabbing an inner surface of the registrant's mouth or nose, or pricking/puncturing the registrant's skin and collecting one or more drops of the registrant's blood on a swab or piece of absorbent paper, and (i) the registrant certifying or confirming that the registrant collected the DNA sample or (ii) a third party certifying or confirming that the third party has authority to collect the DNA sample of the registrant.
Dependent claim 7 further recites shipping the genetic material-containing sample to the genetic material analysis facility in an envelope, sleeve, tube or box.
Dependent claim 9 further recites allowing the registrant to access entries in the blockchain ledger containing the encrypted personal information and the encrypted genetic identity.
Dependent claim 10 further recites enabling the registrant to authorize third parties to access the code on a third device, wherein third device is identical to, same as, or different from one or both of the first and second devices.
Dependent claim 11 further recites accessing the code using one of the first and second devices.
Dependent claim 12 further recites authenticating an identity or personal information of the registrant using the registrant's genetic identity.
Dependent claim 21 further recites only the registrant and an authorized user can decrypt he encrypted genetic identity.
Dependent claim 22 and 24 further recite personal information comprises an item of immutable data, which includes sex of the registrant.
Dependent claim 23 recites the third electronic communication device is different from the first and second.
Shvartsman discloses a system and method for authenticated exchange of biosamples, which includes identification and authentication of biological samples such as human tissue using the generation and association of a trusted and unique genetic code which is based on genetic analysis of short-tandem repeats (STRs) of the sample (including 20 ST loci) [abstract, 0002-0004, 0007].
Shvartsman discloses: " a unique genetic code ( UGC ) is provided and used to identify and authenticate a biosample, for example a sample of human tissue" [0036]. Shvartsman shows information associated with the sample accompanies the sample to identify and authenticate the same; the present system and method provide for the use of secure and trusted unique genetic coding (UGC) [0041].
Shvartsman shows the “donor” (i.e., the registrant) provides a biosample at a collection facility, and the donor is in turn provided with a consent form (i.e., a confirmation of authority to collect the DNA sample of claim 6) to be completed indicating that the donor agrees to provide the biosample; personal identifying information (PII), clinical data, demographic information, etc., may also be collected and associated with the collected biosample [0043].
Shvartsman at [Shvartsman, claim 1] teaches: obtaining information regarding a biosample from a provider of the biosample; encoding the information regarding the biosample into a corresponding sample data set; interrogating the biosample using a sequencing machine to generate a short tandem repeat (STR) code (i.e., a genetic identity) corresponding to the biosample; generating a digital asset uniquely corresponding to a physical asset comprising a unique genetic code (UGC) (i.e., code corresponding to the genetic identity) based at least on the STR and the sample data set; generating a UGC-codified hash using a public-private key method; encoding the digital asset into a first block of a blockchain; (i.e., recording the genetic identity and personal information into a blockchain ledger) [Shvartsman, claim 1].
Shvartsman teaches at [Shvartsman, claim 5] and [0048-0049] encrypting the digital asset. Shvartsman shows a secure network of servers, configured and arranged to exchange encoded data in signals passed along one or more communication pathways coupling the servers; one or more servers (i.e., second and third devices) coupled to network being configured and arranged to register the sample data set and STR code into a data store coupled to a first server, and process said STR code and said sample data set to generate a digital asset comprising a unique genetic code ( UGC ) corresponding to said biosample; and a wide area network interface coupled to said network configured and arranged to provide access to at least a first and second user (i.e., allow access) [0014] and [Shvartsman, claim 7].
Customers, members, clients or generally users 190 of the system 200 access the system by way of a client device of their own, suitably equipped and communicating through edge router 270. CA services, other blockchain nodes, and other parties can likewise exchange data and blockchain blocks [0088].
(This shows providing personal information, a genetic material sample, an analysis facility, analyzing STR regions, recording in blockchain ledger, a code corresponding to genetic identity, encrypting genetic identity of claim 1; personal information of claim 2; the STR analysis, information and genetic identity recordation and code display of claim 4; confirmation of authority to collect the DNA sample of claim 6; allow access to the code to registrant of claim 9, authorizing access of the code to third parties of claim 10, and accessing the code on a device of claim 11.)
Shvartsman teaches a secure network of servers, configured and arranged to exchange encoded data in signals passed along one or more communication pathways coupling the servers ([0044], and claim 7) showing a "third" electronic device of claim 23.
Shvartsman does not specifically teach providing information to a secure website of claim 1 step (a); encrypting personal information of claim 1 step (e), authenticating an identity or personal information using the code of claim 1 step (h), registering a registrant of claim 4; the smart phone of claim 5; swabbing mouth of claim 6; an envelope or box of claim 7; an authorized user of claim 21; and personal data of claims 22 and 24.
Lidsky shows obtaining a digital representation of a hashed genetic sequence of a user and an associated wallet address (Lidsky, 1:46-47). The identity unique token (IUT) identifier is an outcome of hashing a subset of the hashed digital representation and a unique password (Lidsky, 1:50-52). Lidsky further shows storing the IUT in a genetic sequence record stored in a block of a blockchain (Lidsky, 1:52-53), wherein the genetic sequence record is associated with an IUT, the IUT is associated to the wallet address, wherein the user is authenticated by a match between a computed value (i.e., an encrypted value) of a password and the wallet address provided by the user, and the IUT identifier stored on the blockchain (Lidsky, 1:54-59). As such, Lidsky shows authentication of an individual as in claim 1 step (h).
Kushch shows storing on an ID card, personal information of an individual including full name, gender, national identification number, fingerprints, cryptographic keys, and certificates (p.1, ¶ 3 under Introduction); and that the data is encrypted (top of p.2). Kushch further shows storing the data from the card in Blockchain (p.5, ¶ 4, and Fig.2). Kushch shows using Blockchain technology can... increase control over the use of such information by authorized users (p.2, ¶ 3). As such, Kushch shows encryption and storage in Blockchain of personal information of claim 1 step (e); authorized user of claim 21; and immutable data of claims 22 and 24.
Orig3n shows registering a genetic cheek swab sample and creating an account by typing in information (i.e., name, email address) online (i.e., the secure Orig3n website) or on their mobile app (p.2, step 3, under “Don’t forget to register- Register Online”). Orig3n teaches steps to collecting a DNA sample, by swabbing the inside of cheek with a swab in a tube with a cap, inserting the capped tube with swab inside into a collection bag, closing the zipper seal, and shipping it in a prepaid envelope or box (p.7, steps 4-8). Orig3n shows delivery of DNA test results directly as soon as they become available, on phone or computer, under “Get your personalized results” (p.4), discloses. (This shows providing information on a first electronic communication device to a secure website of claim 1; taking genetic sample, providing sample to genetic facility, and a second device of claim 1; the information of claim 2; registering a registrant of claim 4; smart phone of claim 5; swabbing mouth of claim 6; an envelope or box of claim 7.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the methods for analyzing STR of a genetic material containing sample, to generate a unique genetic code (UGC) used in blockchain technology for identification and control of information based on the STR, of Shvartsman, with the method of authentication of an individual using an encrypted genetic identity sored in blockchain of Lidsky, with the encryption of personal data stored in blockchain genetic of Kushch, with the sample collection and registration of samples of Orig3n. This is because one of ordinary skill would understand, by general knowledge, that Orig3n provides a readily available kit and method for straightforward specimen collection and registration, that would provide for organized and efficient sample collection to Shvartsman, while Lidsky provides an avenue for authentication of an individual, and Kushch for encrypting personal information, and as such one would have had a reasonable expectation of success in combining Shvartsman, Lidsky, Kushch, and Orig3n, and as such, the combination would have been obvious.
103-2:
Claims 8 and 13-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shvartsman, in view of Lidsky, in view of Kushch, in view of Orig3n, as applied to claims 1-7 and 9-12 above, and further in view of Butler, (Biotechniques, vol. 43(4), pp.ii-v (2007), cited in the 12/20/2021 IDS; the Examiner previously attached a copy for clarity which was cited on the 08/11/2025 form PTO-892).
Dependent claim 8 further recites extracting DNA, amplifying the DNA at multiple STR loci, separating and sizing amplified STR alleles, and interpreting a profile of the separated and sized STR alleles.
Independent claim 13 recites a system for obtaining and controlling genetic identification information, comprising: a) a genetic material sampling kit comprising: i) a sealable container to contain a registrant’s sample, ii) written instructions, iii) a pre-addressed envelope or box; b) an STR analysis kit comprising: i) primers for copying STR regions, ii) mixture to amplify the STR regions, compare the regions and produce a genetic identity for the registrant; c), d), and e) are respectively a first electronic device (to enter the registrant’s personal information to a secure website), a second electronic device to record the personal information and genetic identity in a blockchain ledger), and a third electronic device to display a code corresponding with the genetic identity; where the second device is different from the first and third, and the first and third can be the same or different devices; the personal information and the genetic identity are encrypted prior to recording in the blockchain ledger, and the code authenticates the personal information or an identity of the registrant.
Dependent claim 14 further recites a sealable plastic bag or a vial or tube with a cap or lid configured to seal an opening in the vial or tube. Dependent claim 15 further recites a gel electrophoresis cassette or tray and a gel, or a capillary electrophoresis capillary, configured to separate the amplified STR regions by size. Dependent claim 16 further recites primers include a fluorescent or luminescent label. Dependent claim 17 further recites a genetic analyzer. Dependent claim 18 further recites the first device is a personal computer or a smart phone. Dependent claim 19 further recites the second device is a personal computer, a workstation, or a server.
Shvartsman in view of Orig3n as applied to claims 1-7 and 9-12 above teaches the following:
Shvartsman shows generating a digital asset uniquely corresponding to a physical asset comprising a unique genetic code (UGC) (i.e., code corresponding to the genetic identity) based at least on the STR and the sample data set; generating a UGC-codified hash using a public-private key method; encoding the digital asset into a first block of a blockchain; (i.e., recording the genetic identity and personal information into a blockchain ledger) (Shvartsman, [claim 1] and [0014].) Shvartsman shows a secure network of servers, configured and arranged to exchange encoded data in signals passed along one or more communication pathways coupling the servers; one or more servers (i.e., second and third devices) coupled to network being configured and arranged to register the sample data set and STR code into a data store coupled to a first server, and process said STR code and said sample data set to generate a digital asset comprising a unique genetic code ( UGC ) corresponding to said biosample ; and a wide area network interface coupled to said network configured and arranged to provide access to at least a first and second user [0014]. (This shows recording genetic identity into a blockchain ledger, and a code corresponding to the genetic identity, a second device, and third device to access code from blockchain ledger of claim 13, and a server as a second device of claim 19.)
Orig3n teaches a genetic sampling kit including the sealable container/tube, written instructions, and a pre-addressed envelope of claim 13 step a) and claim 14 (p.7); a first and third electronic communication device of claim 13 (p.4), and the smart phone of claim 18 (p.4).
Shvartsman in view of Orig3n does not teach extracting and amplifying DNA, separating and sizing ST alleles, and an STR profile of claim 8; primers and master mix for performing STR analysis of claim 13 step b); capillary electrophoresis and fluorescent primers, and genetic analyzer of claims 15, 16, and 17.
Butler presents a review on technologies used in STR analysis, and teaches STR analysis by DNA extraction, DNA quantitation, PCR amplification of multiple STR loci, STR allele separation/sizing, STR typing and profile interpretation (p.ii, col.3). Butler teaches kits which provide premixed primers and a standard master mixture containing polymerase, enzyme buffers, and dNTPs. Butler shows using capillary electrophoresis to separate STR amplicons which have been labelled using primers containing fluorescent dyes, and use of ABI PRISM 310 and ABI PRISM 3100 genetic analyzers (p.iii, col.1 (right side)). (Showing extracting and amplifying DNA, separating and sizing ST alleles, and an STR profile of claim 8; STR analysis kit with primers, master mix for performing STR analysis of claim 13 step b); capillary electrophoresis and fluorescent primers, and genetic analyzer of claims 15, 16, and 17.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method and systems of Shvartsman, in view of Lidsky, in view of Kushch, in view of Orig3n, as applied to claims 1-2, 4-7, 9-11, and 21-24 above, with the STR analysis kit of Butler that provides for fluorescent primers, mixtures, and analyzers needed to accomplish extracting, amplifying, capillary electrophoresis, and STR profile interpretation, because Butler provides motivation to combine by stating commercially available kits, providing premixed primers and a standard master mixture, simplify generation of STR profiles and provide results on a uniform set of core STR loci (p.ii, col.2). One would have had a reasonable expectation of success in combining because Shvartsman, Lidsky, Kushch, Orig3n, and Butler each are drawn, at least in part, to related teachings, involving genetic sample collection and/or human identification (as in Orig3n), STR analysis (Butler), use of STR profiles (Shvartsman and Lidsky), or personal information for identification (Kushch), such that one of ordinary skill in the art would have understood how to and would have been motivated to combine Shvartsman, Lidsky, Kushch, Orig3n, and Butler, and as such, the combination would have been obvious.
Response to Applicant Arguments - 35 USC § 103
Applicant's arguments, filed 10/18/2025, have been fully considered, and they are not yet persuasive. Revised 103 rejections have been applied relying on Shvartsman, Lidsky, Kushch, Orig3n, and Butler.
Applicant asserts (underline emphasis added):
Shvartsman focuses exclusively on biomaterials and biosamples... Shvartsman is not only unconcerned with authenticating the registrant's personal information or identity, Shvartsman teaches away from it, and doing so would defeat essential purposes of the system and method of Shvartsman. (p.17, ¶3)
The transfer of certain information in accordance with Shvartsman...would defeat the purpose of a system and method compliant with and/or conforming to rules such as HIPAA and or other international or national requirements. (p.18, ¶2)
Shvartsman overwhelmingly favors either not collecting the personal information of a registrant, or if collected, anonymizing it so that that it cannot be used to authenticate the personal information or identify the registrant who provided it. Accordingly, Shvartsman teaches away from the method recited in the present Claim 1. (p.19, ¶2)
Shvartsman's anonymization and authentication of only biomaterials and biosamples to collect, encrypt and store a registrant's personal information in a blockchain ledger, then authenticating the registrant's personal information or identity using a code corresponding to an encrypted genetic identity of the registrant would destroy Shvartsman's entire premise. (p.20, ¶1)
Claim 1 and all claims dependent therefrom are not obvious in view of the
combination of Shvartsman and Orig3n. (p.21, ¶2)
Butler fails to cure the deficiencies of the combination of Shvartsman and Orig3n with regard to Claims 8 and 13... Butler discloses short tandem repeat typing technologies used in human identity testing...Butler is silent with regard to personal information, encryption, and blockchain ledgers. (p.22, ¶¶3-4)
The above arguments are not persuasive. Instant claim 1 recites "taking a genetic material-containing sample from the registrant", which reads on biosamples and biomaterials of Shvartsman. While Shvartsman discloses: "a unique genetic code ( UGC ) is provided and used to identify and authenticate a biosample, for example a sample of human tissue" (Shvartsman [0036]), it is understood that Shvartsman only authenticates the genetic identity of the biosample, and not the identity of the person or personal information in claim 1 step (h).
However, Lidsky shows obtaining a digital representation of a hashed genetic sequence of a user and an associated wallet address (Lidsky, 1:46-47). The IUT identifier is an outcome of hashing a subset of the hashed digital representation and a unique password (Lidsky, 1:50-52). Lidsky further shows storing the IUT in a genetic sequence record stored in a block of a blockchain (Lidsky, 1:52-53) ...wherein the genetic sequence record is associated with an identity unique token (IUT), the IUT is associated to the wallet address, wherein the user is authenticated by a match between a computed value (i.e., an encrypted value) of a password and the wallet address provided by the user, and the IUT identifier stored on the blockchain (Lidsky, 1:54-59). As such, Lidsky shows authentication of an individual as in claim 1 step (h).
Kushch shows storing on an ID card, personal information of an individual including full name, gender, national identification number, fingerprints, cryptographic keys, and certificates (p.1, ¶ 3 under Introduction); and that the data is encrypted (top of p.2). Kushch further shows storing the data from the card in Blockchain (p.5, ¶4, and Fig.2). As such, Kushch shows encryption and storage in Blockchain of personal information of claim 1 step (e).
Regarding Butler, Butler was not relied upon for teaching personal information, encryption, and blockchain ledgers.
Note about "Self-sovereign identity"
Regarding "self-sovereign identification (SSI)", Applicant's remarks at p.12, ¶2 are acknowledged, and Specification paragraphs [0050, 0082] were considered. It is not clear that a BRI of the claims is limited by the concept of SSI, since for example the term is not recited. Additional claim language may help to highlight the aspect of SSI and make it more prominent. Although claims are interpreted in light of the specification, examples from the specification are not imported into the claims as limitations absent a clearly limiting definition in the specification. (MPEP 2145.VI pertains.)
Applicant is encouraged to request an interview as it may be helpful to advance prosecution; instructions to submit an automated interview request (AIR) appear below.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/M.A.V./Examiner, Art Unit 1687
/G. STEVEN VANNI/
Primary patents examiner, Art Unit 1686