DETAILED ACTION
CLEANING MODULE AND AUTONOMOUS CLEANING DEVICE
Response to Amendment
The amendments filed 08-18-2025 has been entered. Claims 1-10,13-14 are currently pending and have been examined. The previous rejection has been updated due to applicant’s amendments.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments see pages 15, filed 11/29/2025, with respect to the
rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 and their dependent claims under 35 U.S.C.102 have been fully
considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection (as necessitated by
amendment) relies on a different combination of prior art references, not applied in the
prior rejection of record.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2,13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hong (US20230146907A1) in view Kim (GB2404139A).
Regarding claim 1,Hong teaches a first mounting frame (104, figure 4), provided with a first dust-passing opening (figures 1-4; para 0113-0120);
a second mounting frame (112, figure 4), provided with a second dust-passing opening (para 0118, 0125,0138) wherein the second mounting frame is connected to the first mounting frame (figures 4-5); the first mounting frame is configured to be connected to a machine body(para 0100-0103);, and the second mounting frame is connected to a roller brush (para 0106-0108) and
an air duct (136, figure 4), a first end of the air duct being in a sealed connection with the first dust- passing opening, and a second end of the air duct being in a detachable and sealed connection with the second dust-passing opening (figures 3 and 6; para 0038-0056)
wherein the air duct (136, figure 4) is arranged between the first mounting frame and the second mounting frame (figure 6); and the second mounting frame (112, figure 8) is arranged between the roller brush (123, figures 1-8; para 0106-0112) and the first mounting frame wherein the second mounting frame is provided with a boss (114, figure 6), and the second dust- passing opening (121, figure 6) is arranged on the boss;
the cleaning module further comprises a connection frame (116, figure 4-5, and the connection frame is detachably connected to the boss (para 0123);
wherein a dust box (127, figures 1-2) is provided inside the machine body, and the first dust-passing opening is configured to be in communication with the dust box.
Hong fails to teach the second end of the air duct is provided with an elastic gasket, and the elastic gasket is sealingly arranged between the boss and the connection frame to form a sealed connection between the second end of the air duct and the second dust-passing opening; wherein the second end of the air duct extends in a direction away from a center of the air duct to form the elastic gasket.
Kim teaches a dust receptacle for a robotic vacuum cleaner that includes a gasket that provides air-tight seal between dust receptacle and ports (pages 5-7), wherein the gasket is made from a resilient material to create a seal.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hong to have second end of the air duct is provided with an elastic gasket, and the elastic gasket is sealingly arranged between the boss and the connection frame to form a sealed connection between the second end of the air duct and the second dust-passing opening; wherein the second end of the air duct extends in a direction away from a center of the air duct to form the elastic gasket based on teachings of Kim. This modification would help create an air-tight seal. (see pages 2-5 of Kim)
Regarding claim 2, modified Hong teaches all limitations stated above, but fails to teach wherein the air duct is an elastic air duct.
However, Hong does disclose in a different embodiment the air duct can be made from elastic material. (see para 0240-0242)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Hong to the air duct be an elastic air duct based on teachings of second embodiment of Hong. This modification would help create a flexible air duct (see para 0240-0242 of Hong).
Regarding claim 13, modified Hong teaches wherein one of the boss (114, figure 6) and the connection frame is provided with a protrusion portion (figure 7), the other of the boss and the connection frame is provided with a through hole (figure 7), and the protrusion portion and the through hole cooperate with each other, such that the connection frame and the boss are detachably connected (para 0123; figure 7).
Regarding claim 14,Hong teaches a cleaning module (110, figure 5), and the cleaning module being arranged on a machine body (100, figures 1-2), wherein the cleaning module comprises:
a first mounting frame (104, figure 4), proving with a first dust-passing opening;
a second mounting frame (112, figure 4), proving with a second dust-passing opening (para 0118,0125,0138), wherein the second mounting frame is connected to the first mounting frame; the first mounting frame is configured to be connected to the machine body, and the second mounting frame is connected to a roller brush (para 0106-0108); and
an air duct (136, figure 4), a first end of the air duct being in a sealed connection with the first dust- passing opening, and a second end of the air duct being in a detachable and sealed connection with the second dust-passing opening (figures 3 and 6; para 0038-0056);
wherein the air duct (136, figure 4) is arranged between the first mounting frame and the second mounting frame (figure 6); and the second mounting frame (112, figure 8) is arranged between the roller brush (123, figures 1-8; para 0106-0112) and the first mounting frame wherein the second mounting frame is provided with a boss (114, figure 6), and the second dust- passing opening (121, figure 6) is arranged on the boss;
the cleaning module further comprises a connection frame (116, figure 4-5, and the connection frame is detachably connected to the boss (para 0123);
wherein a dust box (127, figures 1-2) is provided inside the machine body, and the first dust-passing opening is configured to be in communication with the dust box.
Hong fails to teach the second end of the air duct is provided with an elastic gasket, and the elastic gasket is sealingly arranged between the boss and the connection frame to form a sealed connection between the second end of the air duct and the second dust-passing opening;
wherein the second end of the air duct extends in a direction away from a center of the air duct to form the elastic gasket.
Kim teaches a dust receptacle for a robotic vacuum cleaner that includes a gasket that provides air-tight seal between dust receptacle and ports (pages 5-7), wherein the gasket is made from a resilient material to create a seal.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hong the second end of the air duct is provided with an elastic gasket, and the elastic gasket is sealingly arranged between the boss and the connection frame to form a sealed connection between the second end of the air duct and the second dust-passing opening;wherein the second end of the air duct extends in a direction away from a center of the air duct to form the elastic gasket based on teachings of Kim. This modification would help create an air-tight seal. (see pages 2-5 of Kim).
Claim(s) 3-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hong (US20230146907A1) in view Kim (GB2404139A) further in view of Li (CN205885370U).
Regarding claim 3, Hong as modified in claim 2 teaches all the limitations stated above ,but fails to teach wherein the first mounting frame is further provided with:
a connection plate, the first dust-passing opening is arranged on the connection plate;
and a frame body, provided with an opening for receiving the first end, and the connection plate is detachably connected with the frame body.
Li teaches the cleaning module that includes a first mounting frame (131, figure 20) is further provided with: a connection plate (1312, figure 20), the first dust-passing opening is arranged on the connection plate; and a frame body (1313, figure 20), provided with an opening for receiving the first end, and the connection plate is detachably (see connections of 1313a and 1312; Li discloses “1312 is provided with two mounting holes 1312A on the left and right direction, and the floating bracket 1313 is provided with two mounting shafts 1313A on the left and right direction, with the corresponding mounting hole 1312A between the limiting and rotating through each mounting shaft 1313A”) connected with the frame body.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hong to have wherein the first mounting frame is further provided with: a connection plate, the first dust-passing opening is arranged on the connection plate; and a frame body, provided with an opening for receiving the first end, and the connection plate is detachably connected with the frame body based on teachings of Li. This modification would help improve efficiency of replacing the cleaning module and maintenance of cleaning module (Li abstract)
Regarding claim 4, Hong as modified by Li teaches all limitations stated above
wherein the first end of the air duct is connected to the connection plate (see Li 1312 )at the first dust-passing opening to form a sealed connection between the first end and the first dust-passing opening (see Kim pages 2-5).
However, the recitation “the first end of the air duct is hot-melted to the connection plate at the first dust-passing opening” this is considered a product by process limitation; the claimed limitation does not define a structure that is distinguished from the end product of the invention disclosed modified Hong Therefore, the claim is anticipated by the teachings of modified Hong.
Regarding claim 5, modified Hong teaches one of the connection plate (see Li 1312, figure 20) and the frame body (see Li 1313, figure 20) is provided with a first connection portion (see Li 1312a, figure 20), and another one of the connection plate and the frame body is provided with a second connection portion (see Li 1313a, figure 20) and the first connection portion and the second connection portion cooperate with each other, such that the connection plate is detachably connected to the frame body (see Li connections of 1313a and 1312; Li discloses “1312 is provided with two mounting holes 1312A on the left and right direction, and the floating bracket 1313 is provided with two mounting shafts 1313A on the left and right direction, with the corresponding mounting hole 1312A between the limiting and rotating through each mounting shaft 1313A”)
Regarding claim 6, modified Hong teaches the first connection portion (see Li 1312a, figure 20) is configured to be a protrusion, the second connection (see Li 1313a, figure 20) portion is configured to be a groove adapted to the protrusion, and the protrusion is inserted into the groove to form a detachable connection between the connection plate and the frame body. (see Li connections of 1313a and 1312; Li discloses “1312 is provided with two mounting holes 1312A on the left and right direction, and the floating bracket 1313 is provided with two mounting shafts 1313A on the left and right direction, with the corresponding mounting hole 1312A between the limiting and rotating through each mounting shaft 1313A”)
Regarding claim 7, modified Hong teaches
the opening (see Li figure 20) is configured to be a stepped opening, the connection plate is fitted with the opening, and an opening direction of the groove is the same as an opening direction of the opening, such that the connection plate is able to slide along the opening direction of the opening until the groove is inserted into the protrusion. (see Li connections of 1313a and 1312; Li discloses “1312 is provided with two mounting holes 1312A on the left and right direction, and the floating bracket 1313 is provided with two mounting shafts 1313A on the left and right direction, with the corresponding mounting hole 1312A between the limiting and rotating through each mounting shaft 1313A”)
Regarding claim 8, modified Hong teaches at least one side of the opening is provided with the first connection portion (see Li 1312a, figure 20; ), and at least one side of the connection plate corresponding to the opening is provided with the second connection portion (see Li 1313a, figure 20).
Regarding claim 9, Hong as modified teaches all limitations stated above ,but fails to teach wherein an opening length of the second end of the air duct is smaller than an opening length of the first end of the air duct, such that an airflow path with a gradual opening length is formed.
Hong does disclose the air duct is flexible (see para 0240-0242 of Hong).
Li teaches cleaning module where the air duct shape can be formed in various different shapes. (Yu discloses “a primary air duct 4 close to the brush 11 of entrance end 41 having a larger sectional area, away from brush 11 of the outlet end 42 has a smaller cross-sectional area. wherein, based on the entrance end 41 of the "incremental" feature, section of the entrance end 41 can be a trapezoid, and second narrow edge 412 is the upper bottom of the trapezoid, the first edge 411 is the lower bottom of the trapezoid, of course, only if it accords with the "increase" profile, an entrance end 41 section also can be other shapes, such as corresponding to the two waists of the trapezoid can be arc”)
Because Li discloses it is known to make adjustments to the air duct including their shape, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to a person ordinary skill in the art to make the air duct of Hong based on the teachings of Li to have opening length of the second end of the air duct is smaller than an opening length of the first end of the air duct, such that an airflow path with a gradual opening length is formed, would have been a mere design consideration based on the characteristics the air duct needed for the airflow path. Such a modification would have involved only routine skill in the art to accommodate the air duct requirements based on intended use. It has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result-effective involves only routine skill in the art.
Regarding claim 10, modified Hong teaches all limitations stated above, but fails to explicitly disclose a second dust- passing opening is in a strip shape, and the second dust-passing opening extends from one end to an other end of the second mounting frame in a length direction of the second mounting frame, and the second end of the air duct is adapted to the second dust-passing opening.
wherein the second dust- passing opening is in a strip shape, and the second dust-passing opening extends from one end to an other end of the second mounting frame in a length direction of the second mounting frame, and the second end of the air duct is adapted to the second dust-passing opening.
Hong does disclose the air duct is flexible (see para 0240-0242 of Hong).
Li teaches a cleaning module that includes where the air duct shape which correspond to first and second dust passing opening can be formed in various different shapes. (Yu discloses “a primary air duct 4 close to the brush 11 of entrance end 41 having a larger sectional area, away from brush 11 of the outlet end 42 has a smaller cross-sectional area. wherein, based on the entrance end 41 of the "incremental" feature, section of the entrance end 41 can be a trapezoid, and second narrow edge 412 is the upper bottom of the trapezoid, the first edge 411 is the lower bottom of the trapezoid, of course, only if it accords with the "increase" profile, an entrance end 41 section also can be other shapes, such as corresponding to the two waists of the trapezoid can be arc”)
Because Li discloses it is known to make adjustments to the air duct including their shape, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to a person ordinary skill in the art to make the second dust- passing opening of Hong in a strip shape, and the second dust-passing opening extends from one end to an other end of the second mounting frame in a length direction of the second mounting frame, and the second end of the air duct is adapted to the second dust-passing opening based on the teachings, it would have been a mere design consideration based on the characteristics the air duct needed for the airflow path. Such a modification would have involved only routine skill in the art to accommodate the air duct requirements based on intended use. It has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result-effective involves only routine skill in the art.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SARAH AKYAA FORDJOUR/ Examiner, Art Unit 3723
/MONICA S CARTER/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3723