DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 3/2/2026 has been entered
Claims 1-2, 5-8, 10-17, 19-20, 22-23, and 26-29 are rejected.
Claims 3-4, 9, 18, 21 24-25, and 30 are canceled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 10, 13, 16-17, 19-20, and 22-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Park (US 2021/0051653) in view of Guo (US 2022/0286255).
Regarding Claim 1, Park teaches a method for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising:
receiving, at the UE and via a sidelink control channel, configuration information for communications between the UE and a wireless device over one or more reserved resources (Park, Fig 25, paragraph 289, first base station 2504 may determine configuration parameters 2528 indicating sidelink CSI report configurations for the second wireless device 2516, the sidelink CSI report configurations may indicate periodic CSI reporting configuration such as periodicity, hence considered control information, paragraph 293, the first base station 2504 may send the configuration parameters 2528 for sidelink communication to the first wireless device 2512, the resources that the base station uses to send the sidelink configuration information to the UE are considered reserved resources, paragraph 280, the first wireless device may send/transmit data/signals/transport blocks (e.g., control signal, sidelink control information, SCI, PSCCH transmissions, PSSCH transmission, etc.) to the second wireless device 2516);
identifying, from the configuration information, an indication of a sidelink-based channel state information report periodicity (Park, Fig 25, paragraph 289, first base station 2504 may determine configuration parameters 2528 indicating sidelink CSI report configurations for the second wireless device 2516, the sidelink CSI report configurations may indicate periodic CSI reporting configuration such as periodicity);
applying the sidelink-based channel state information report periodicity upon an occurrence of a trigger (Park, Fig 25, paragraph 289, first base station 2504 may determine sidelink CSI report configurations for the second wireless device 2516 which may indicate periodic CSI reporting configuration such as periodicity, paragraph 293, the first base station 2504 may send the configuration parameters 2528 for sidelink communication to the first wireless device 2512, paragraph 280, the first wireless device may send/transmit sidelink control information (SCI) to the second wireless device 2516, paragraph 145, the wireless device may send/transmit the CSI report to the base station based on periodic CSI reporting, hence the sidelink CSI report configurations including periodic CSI reporting configuration have been applied, furthermore as per paragraph 123 of the pre-grant publication of the current invention the trigger may include the first UE 115-c receiving a configured grant, therefore it is interpreted that when the UE receives the sidelink configuration in Park that the configuration, including periodicity, is applied at the time the configuration is received); and
transmitting a channel state information report in accordance with the sidelink-based channel state information report periodicity (Park, Fig 25, paragraph 289, first base station 2504 may determine configuration parameters 2528 indicating sidelink CSI report configurations for the second wireless device 2516, the sidelink CSI report configurations may indicate periodic CSI reporting configuration such as periodicity, paragraph 145, the wireless device may send/transmit the CSI report to the base station (e.g., based on periodic CSI reporting, semi-persistent CSI reporting, and/or aperiodic CSI reporting)).
Park does not explicitly teach the below limitation:
(transmitting a channel state information report) based at least in part on one or more data packet transmissions over a sidelink data channel (in accordance with the sidelink-based channel state information report periodicity);
However Guo teaches the below limitation:
(transmitting a channel state information report) based at least in part on one or more data packet transmissions over a sidelink data channel (in accordance with the sidelink-based channel state information report periodicity) (Guo, Fig 4, paragraph 93, in step 404 the TX UE triggers the SL CSI measurement reporting of the RX UE, paragraph 96, in step 406 the TX UE transmits the SL CSI-RS to the RX UE, paragraph 101, in step 408 the RX UE reports the measurement results to the TX UE);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Park by adding a CSI report based on sidelink transmission as taught by Guo. Because Park and Guo teach CSI report sidelink, and specifically Guo teaches a CSI report based on sidelink transmission for the benefit of the analogous art of methods of Channel Status Information (CSI) acquisition on sidelink (Guo, abstract).
Regarding Claim 2, Park and Guo further teach wherein the indication of the sidelink-based channel state information report periodicity is in terms of sidelink shared channel occasions (Park, paragraph 289, first base station 2512 may determine configuration parameters 2528 indicating sidelink CSI report configurations for the second wireless device 2516, the sidelink CSI report configurations may indicate periodic CSI reporting configuration such as periodicity, any time period of periodicity would comprise some number (0 or more) of sidelink shared channel occasions).
Regarding Claim 10, Park and Guo further teach wherein the trigger comprises receiving a configured grant or a start of a time slot reservation (Park, paragraph 289, first base station 2512 may determine sidelink CSI report configurations for the second wireless device 2516 which may indicate periodic CSI reporting configuration such as periodicity, paragraph 293, the first base station 2504 may send the configuration parameters 2528 for sidelink communication to the first wireless device 2512, paragraph 280, the first wireless device may send/transmit sidelink control information (SCI) to the second wireless device 2516, paragraph 145, the wireless device may send/transmit the CSI report to the base station based on periodic CSI reporting, hence the sidelink CSI report configurations including periodic CSI reporting configuration has been applied, furthermore as per paragraph 123 of the pre-grant publication of the current invention the trigger may include the first UE 115-c receiving a configured grant, therefore it is interpreted that when the UE receives the sidelink configuration in Park that the configuration, including periodicity, is applied at the time the configuration is received).
Regarding Claim 13, Park and Guo further teach wherein identifying the indication of the sidelink-based channel state information report periodicity further comprises:
receiving the indication of the sidelink-based channel state information report periodicity in a sidelink control information message (Park, paragraph 289, first base station 2512 may determine configuration parameters 2528 indicating sidelink CSI report configurations for the second wireless device 2516, the sidelink CSI report configurations may indicate periodic CSI reporting configuration such as periodicity, paragraph 280, the first wireless device may send/transmit data/signals/transport blocks (e.g., control signal, sidelink control information, SCI, PSCCH transmissions, PSSCH transmission, etc.) to the second wireless device 2516, for example based on the configuration parameters 2528 received from the first base station 2504).
Regarding Claim 16, Park teaches a method for wireless communication at a first wireless device, comprising:
generating a sidelink control information message (Park, Fig 25, paragraph 280, the first wireless device may send/transmit data/signals/transport blocks (e.g., control signal, sidelink control information, SCI, PSCCH transmissions, PSSCH transmission, etc.) to the second wireless device 2516, for example based on the configuration parameters 2528 received from the first base station 2504); and
transmitting the sidelink control information message to the second wireless device (Park, Fig 25, paragraph 289, configuration parameters 2528 may indicate sidelink CSI report configurations for the second wireless device 2516, sidelink CSI report configurations may indicate CSI-RS transmission configuration of the first wireless device 2512, the configuration information of CSI-RS would indicate presence of CSI-RS, paragraph 280, the first wireless device may send/transmit data/signals/transport blocks (e.g., control signal, sidelink control information, SCI, PSCCH transmissions, PSSCH transmission, etc.) to the second wireless device 2516, for example based on the configuration parameters 2528 received from the first base station 2504).
Park does not explicitly teach the below limitation:
(generating a sidelink control information message) including an indication indicating whether a channel state information reference signal is present in a sidelink channel message;
Setting, based at least in part on a physical sidelink control channel occasion, a channel state information request indicator in the sidelink control information message that indicates to a second wireless device to send a channel state information report in a next available physical sidelink control channel resource;
However Guo teaches the below limitation:
(generating a sidelink control information message) including an indication indicating whether a channel state information reference signal is present in a sidelink channel message (Guo, Fig 4, paragraph 93, one bit within the SCI, which indicates the presence of sidelink CSI-RS in a PSSCH transmission);
Setting, based at least in part on a physical sidelink control channel occasion, a channel state information request indicator in the sidelink control information message that indicates to a second wireless device to send a channel state information report in a next available physical sidelink control channel resource (Guo, Fig 4, paragraph 93, in step 404 the TX UE triggers the SL CSI measurement reporting of the RX UE, paragraph 96, in step 406 the TX UE transmits the SL CSI-RS to the RX UE, paragraph 101, in step 408, SCI signaling is used to indicate the presence of a CSI report, and then the CSI report is sent on a PSSCH transmission, hence since the transmission process involves both announcing the CSI report on SCI and then transmitting the report on PSSCH, control signaling (SCI) is therefore involved in the process of transmitting/sending the CSI report);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Park by adding CSI report generation based on sidelink transmission as taught by Guo. Because Park and Guo teach CSI report sidelink, and specifically Guo teaches CSI report generation based on sidelink transmission for the benefit of the analogous art of methods of Channel Status Information (CSI) acquisition on sidelink (Guo, abstract).
Regarding Claim 17, Park and Guo further teach wherein:
the indication comprises a one-bit flag, and a first value of the one-bit flag indicates that the channel state information reference signal is present in the sidelink channel message and a second value of the one-bit flag indicates that the channel state information reference signal is absent from the sidelink channel message (Guo, paragraph 93, one bit within the SCI, which indicates the presence of sidelink CSI-RS in a PSSCH transmission).
Regarding Claim 19, Park teaches a method for wireless communication at a first wireless device, comprising:
receiving, from a second wireless device, a sidelink control information message (Park, Fig 25, paragraph 280, the first wireless device may send/transmit data/signals/transport blocks (e.g., control signal, sidelink control information, SCI, PSCCH transmissions, PSSCH transmission, etc.) to the second wireless device 2516, for example based on the configuration parameters 2528 received from the first base station 2504);
generating the channel state information report for a data channel (Park, Fig 25, paragraph 289, configuration parameters 2528 may indicate sidelink CSI report configurations for the second wireless device 2516, sidelink CSI report configurations may indicate CSI-RS transmission configuration of the first wireless device 2512, the configuration information of CSI-RS would indicate presence of CSI-RS, paragraph 280, the first wireless device may send/transmit data/signals/transport blocks (e.g., control signal, sidelink control information, SCI, PSCCH transmissions, PSSCH transmission, etc.) to the second wireless device 2516, for example based on the configuration parameters 2528 received from the first base station 2504, paragraph 145, the wireless device may send/transmit the CSI report to the base station (e.g., based on periodic CSI reporting, semi-persistent CSI reporting, and/or aperiodic CSI reporting)); and
transmitting the channel state information report to the second wireless device (Park, paragraph 145, the wireless device may send/transmit the CSI report to the base station (e.g., based on periodic CSI reporting, semi-persistent CSI reporting, and/or aperiodic CSI reporting)).
Park does not explicitly teach the below limitation:
(receiving, from a second wireless device, a sidelink control information message) including an indication indicating whether a channel state information reference signal is present in a sidelink channel message and a channel state information request indicator that indicates to the first wireless device to send a channel state information report in a next available physical sidelink control channel resource;
(generating the channel state information report for a data channel) based at least in part on the indication and the channel state information request indicator;
However Guo teaches the below limitation:
(receiving, from a second wireless device, a sidelink control information message) including an indication indicating whether a channel state information reference signal is present in a sidelink channel message and a channel state information request indicator that indicates to the first wireless device to send a channel state information report in a next available physical sidelink control channel resource (Guo, Fig 4, paragraph 93, in step 404 the TX UE triggers the SL CSI measurement reporting of the RX UE, the trigger may be done by means of an additional field of one bit within the SCI which indicates the presence of sidelink CSI-RS in a PSSCH transmission, paragraph 96, in step 406 the TX UE transmits the SL CSI-RS to the RX UE, paragraph 101, in step 408, SCI signaling is used to indicate the presence of a CSI report, and then the CSI report is sent on a PSSCH transmission, hence since the transmission process involves both announcing the CSI report on SCI and then transmitting the report on PSSCH, control signaling (SCI) is therefore involved in the process of transmitting/sending the CSI report);
(generating the channel state information report for a data channel) based at least in part on the indication and the channel state information request indicator (Guo, Fig 4, paragraph 93, in step 404 the TX UE triggers the SL CSI measurement reporting of the RX UE, the trigger may be done by means of an additional field of one bit within the SCI which indicates the presence of sidelink CSI-RS in a PSSCH transmission, paragraph 96, in step 406 the TX UE transmits the SL CSI-RS to the RX UE, paragraph 101, in step 408, SCI signaling is used to indicate the presence of a CSI report, and then the CSI report is sent on a PSSCH transmission);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Park by adding CSI report generation based on sidelink transmission as taught by Guo. Because Park and Guo teach CSI report sidelink, and specifically Guo teaches CSI report generation based on sidelink transmission for the benefit of the analogous art of methods of Channel Status Information (CSI) acquisition on sidelink (Guo, abstract).
Regarding Claim 20, Park and Guo further teach wherein:
the indication comprises a one-bit flag, and a first value of the one-bit flag indicates that the channel state information reference signal is present in the sidelink channel message and a second value of the one-bit flag indicates that the channel state information reference signal is absent from the sidelink channel message (Guo, paragraph 93, one bit within the SCI, which indicates the presence of sidelink CSI-RS in a PSSCH transmission).
Regarding Claim 22, Park teaches an apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising (Park, Fig 15A, wireless device 1502):
at least one processor (Park, Fig 15A, processing system 1518 of wireless device 1502); and
memory coupled to the at least one processor, the memory storing instructions executable by the at least one processor to cause the UE to (Park, Fig 15A, processing system 1518 and memory 1524 of wireless device 1502):
receive, at the UE and via a sidelink control channel, configuration information for communications between the UE and a wireless device over one or more reserved resources (Park, Fig 25, paragraph 289, first base station 2504 may determine configuration parameters 2528 indicating sidelink CSI report configurations for the second wireless device 2516, the sidelink CSI report configurations may indicate periodic CSI reporting configuration such as periodicity, hence considered control information, paragraph 293, the first base station 2504 may send the configuration parameters 2528 for sidelink communication to the first wireless device 2512, the resources that the base station uses to send the sidelink configuration information to the UE are considered reserved resources, paragraph 280, the first wireless device may send/transmit data/signals/transport blocks (e.g., control signal, sidelink control information, SCI, PSCCH transmissions, PSSCH transmission, etc.) to the second wireless device 2516);
identify, from the configuration information, an indication of a sidelink-based channel state information report periodicity (Park, Fig 25, paragraph 289, first base station 2504 may determine configuration parameters 2528 indicating sidelink CSI report configurations for the second wireless device 2516, the sidelink CSI report configurations may indicate periodic CSI reporting configuration such as periodicity);
apply the sidelink-based channel state information report periodicity upon an occurrence of a trigger (Park, Fig 25, paragraph 289, first base station 2504 may determine sidelink CSI report configurations for the second wireless device 2516 which may indicate periodic CSI reporting configuration such as periodicity, paragraph 293, the first base station 2504 may send the configuration parameters 2528 for sidelink communication to the first wireless device 2512, paragraph 280, the first wireless device may send/transmit sidelink control information (SCI) to the second wireless device 2516, paragraph 145, the wireless device may send/transmit the CSI report to the base station based on periodic CSI reporting, hence the sidelink CSI report configurations including periodic CSI reporting configuration have been applied, furthermore as per paragraph 123 of the pre-grant publication of the current invention the trigger may include the first UE 115-c receiving a configured grant, therefore it is interpreted that when the UE receives the sidelink configuration in Park that the configuration, including periodicity, is applied at the time the configuration is received); and
transmit a channel state information report in accordance with the sidelink-based channel state information report periodicity (Park, Fig 25, paragraph 289, first base station 2504 may determine configuration parameters 2528 indicating sidelink CSI report configurations for the second wireless device 2516, the sidelink CSI report configurations may indicate periodic CSI reporting configuration such as periodicity, paragraph 145, the wireless device may send/transmit the CSI report to the base station (e.g., based on periodic CSI reporting, semi-persistent CSI reporting, and/or aperiodic CSI reporting).
Park does not explicitly teach the below limitation:
(transmit a channel state information report) based at least in part on one or more data packet transmissions over a sidelink data channel (in accordance with the sidelink-based channel state information report periodicity);
However Guo teaches the below limitation:
(transmit a channel state information report) based at least in part on one or more data packet transmissions over a sidelink data channel (in accordance with the sidelink-based channel state information report periodicity) (Guo, Fig 4, paragraph 93, in step 404 the TX UE triggers the SL CSI measurement reporting of the RX UE, paragraph 96, in step 406 the TX UE transmits the SL CSI-RS to the RX UE, paragraph 101, in step 408 the RX UE reports the measurement results to the TX UE);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Park by adding a CSI report based on sidelink transmission as taught by Guo. Because Park and Guo teach CSI report sidelink, and specifically Guo teaches a CSI report based on sidelink transmission for the benefit of the analogous art of methods of Channel Status Information (CSI) acquisition on sidelink (Guo, abstract).
Regarding Claim 23, Park and Guo further teach wherein the indication of the sidelink-based channel state information report periodicity is in terms of sidelink shared channel occasions (Park, paragraph 289, first base station 2512 may determine configuration parameters 2528 indicating sidelink CSI report configurations for the second wireless device 2516, the sidelink CSI report configurations may indicate periodic CSI reporting configuration such as periodicity, any time period of periodicity would comprise some number (0 or more) of sidelink shared channel occasions).
Claims 5-8, 11-12, 14, and 26-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Park (US 2021/0051653) and Guo (US 2022/0286255, and further in view of Li (US 2019/0253964).
Regarding Claim 5, Park and Guo teach all the limitations of parent claim 1, but does not explicitly teach further comprising:
updating the sidelink-based channel state information report periodicity according to traffic statistics over the sidelink data channel, a change in a data channel characteristic, a rate of change of data channel characteristics of the sidelink data channel, a sequence of negative acknowledgement events, a sequence of acknowledgement events, or a function based at least in part on a number of negative acknowledgements.
However Li teaches further comprising:
updating the sidelink-based channel state information report periodicity according to traffic statistics over the sidelink data channel, a change in a data channel characteristic, a rate of change of data channel characteristics of the sidelink data channel, a sequence of negative acknowledgement events, a sequence of acknowledgement events, or a function based at least in part on a number of negative acknowledgements (Li, Fig 7, paragraph 64, UE 704 may monitor a change rate in RSRP or SNR on the channel 708, when the UE determines that the current period duration (P1) does not match the change rate, the UE may determine an adjusted period duration (e.g. P2) that matches the change rate, hence it is interpreted that Li would update the sidelink-based CSI report periodicity of Park).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Park and Guo by adding adjusting the CSI report periodicity as taught by Li. Because Park, Guo, and Li teach CSI report periodicity, and specifically Li teaches adjusting the CSI report periodicity for the benefit of the analogous art of reducing transmission of CSI reports at a UE (Li, paragraph 2).
Regarding Claim 6, Park, Guo, and Li further teach further comprising:
receiving, from the wireless device, an indication of an updated sidelink-based channel state information report periodicity via the sidelink control channel, wherein updating the sidelink-based channel state information report periodicity is based at least in part on the indication of the updated sidelink-based channel state information report periodicity, and wherein the wireless device is a base station (Li, Fig 7, paragraph 67, after receiving the UE-assisted information 742, base station 702 may , based on the UE assisted information, determine an updated CSI reporting schedule, changing from period P1 to P2, at the time point t2, the base station 702 transmits an updated CSI reporting configuration 752 to the UE 704, The UE 704 then adjusts the existing CSI reporting schedule based on the updated CSI reporting configuration 752 received from the base station 702, Park, paragraph 289, first base station 2512 may determine configuration parameters 2528 indicating sidelink CSI report configurations for the second wireless device 2516, the sidelink CSI report configurations may indicate periodic CSI reporting configuration such as periodicity, hence considered control information, paragraph 293, the first base station 2504 may send the configuration parameters 2528 for sidelink communication to the first wireless device 2512, the resources that the base station uses to send the sidelink configuration information to the UE are considered reserved resources, paragraph 280, the first wireless device may send/transmit data/signals/transport blocks (e.g., control signal, sidelink control information, SCI, PSCCH transmissions, PSSCH transmission, etc.) to the second wireless device 2516).
Regarding Claim 7, Park, Guo, and Li further teach further comprising:
receiving a reactivation downlink control information message, wherein updating the sidelink-based channel state information report periodicity is based at least in part on the reactivation downlink control information message (Park, paragraph 147, For semi-persistent CSI reporting, the base station may configure the wireless device to send/transmit periodically, and selectively activate or deactivate the periodic reporting (e.g., via one or more activation/deactivation MAC CEs and/or one or more DCIs), therefore if the periodic reporting had been deactivated, then upon reactivation the periodicity of the CSI reports is changed from 0 (no periodic CSI reporting) to the periodicity of CSI reporting that existed before deactivation).
Regarding Claim 8, Park, Guo, and Li further teach further comprising:
receiving a configured grant message that identifies resources for sidelink transmissions, wherein the indication of the sidelink-based channel state information report periodicity is indicated in the configured grant message (Park, paragraph 289, first base station 2512 may determine configuration parameters 2528 indicating sidelink CSI report configurations for the second wireless device 2516, the sidelink CSI report configurations may indicate periodic CSI reporting configuration such as periodicity, paragraph 282, the configuration parameters 2528 may incidate/assign/configure first sidelink radio resources of a first carrier and second sidelink radio resources of a second carrier for sidelink communication between wireless devices 2512 and 2516).
Regarding Claim 11, Park and Guo teach all the limitations of parent claim 1, but does not explicitly teach wherein identifying the indication of the sidelink-based channel state information report periodicity further comprises:
receiving indications of a plurality of channel state information report periodicities via the sidelink control channel; and
selecting the sidelink-based channel state information report periodicity from the plurality of channel state information report periodicities based at least in part on one or more parameters.
However Li teaches wherein identifying the indication of the sidelink-based channel state information report periodicity further comprises:
receiving indications of a plurality of channel state information report periodicities via the sidelink control channel (Li, Fig 7, paragraph 64, UE 704 may be configured with different period durations corresponding to different change rates of SNR or RSRP, when the UE 704 determines that the current period duration (e.g., P1) does not match the change rate, the UE 704 may determine an adjusted period duration (e.g., P2) that matches the change rate, note that Park teaches a sidelink CSI reporting periodicity and it would also be a matter of design choice to have multiple periodicities); and
selecting the sidelink-based channel state information report periodicity from the plurality of channel state information report periodicities based at least in part on one or more parameters (Li, Fig 7, paragraph 64, UE 704 may be configured with different period durations corresponding to different change rates of SNR or RSRP, when the UE 704 determines that the current period duration (e.g., P1) does not match the change rate, the UE 704 may determine an adjusted period duration (e.g., P2) that matches the change rate).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Park and Guo by adding selecting a report periodicity based on parameters as taught by Li. Because Park, Guo, and Li teach CSI report periodicity, and specifically Li teaches selecting a report periodicity based on parameters for the benefit of the analogous art of reducing transmission of CSI reports at a UE (Li, paragraph 2).
Regarding Claim 12, Park, Guo, and Li further teach wherein the one or more parameters include a number of negative acknowledgement events, a number of acknowledgement events, a change in a data channel characteristic, and a processing load of the UE (Li, Fig 7, paragraph 64, UE 704 may be configured with different period durations corresponding to different change rates of SNR or RSRP, when the UE 704 determines that the current period duration (e.g., P1) does not match the change rate, the UE 704 may determine an adjusted period duration (e.g., P2) that matches the change rate).
Regarding Claim 14, Park and Guo teach all the limitations of parent claim 1, but does not explicitly teach wherein the sidelink-based channel state information report periodicity is based at least in part on one or more of an application priority level or a quality of service value of the sidelink data channel.
However Li teaches wherein the sidelink-based channel state information report periodicity is based at least in part on one or more of an application priority level or a quality of service value of the sidelink data channel (Li, Fig 7, paragraph 64, UE 704 may be configured with different period durations corresponding to different change rates of SNR or RSRP, when the UE 704 determines that the current period duration (e.g., P1) does not match the change rate, the UE 704 may determine an adjusted period duration (e.g., P2) that matches the change rate, note that Park teaches a sidelink CSI reporting periodicity).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Park and Guo by adding CSI report periodicity based on quality of service of data channel as taught by Li. Because Park, Guo, and Li teach CSI report periodicity, and specifically Li teaches adding CSI report periodicity based on quality of service of data channel for the benefit of the analogous art of reducing transmission of CSI reports at a UE (Li, paragraph 2).
Regarding Claim 26, Park and Guo teach all the limitations of parent claim 22, but does not explicitly teach wherein the instructions are further executable by the at least one processor to cause the UE to:
update the sidelink-based channel state information report periodicity according to traffic statistics over the sidelink data channel, a change in a data channel characteristic, a rate of change of data channel characteristics of the sidelink data channel, a sequence of negative acknowledgement events, a sequence of acknowledgement events, or a function based at least in part on a number of negative acknowledgements.
However Li teaches wherein the instructions are further executable by the at least one processor to cause the UE to:
update the sidelink-based channel state information report periodicity according to traffic statistics over the data channel, a change in a data channel characteristic, a rate of change of data channel characteristics of the data channel, a sequence of negative acknowledgement events, a sequence of acknowledgement events, or a function based at least in part on a number of negative acknowledgements (Li, Fig 7, paragraph 64, UE 704 may monitor a change rate in RSRP or SNR on the channel 708, when the UE determines that the current period duration (P1) does not match the change rate, the UE may determine an adjusted period duration (e.g. P2) that matches the change rate, hence it is interpreted that Li would update the sidelink-based CSI report periodicity of Park).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Park and Guo by adding adjusting the CSI report periodicity as taught by Li. Because Park, Guo, and Li teach CSI report periodicity, and specifically Li teaches adjusting the CSI report periodicity for the benefit of the analogous art of reducing transmission of CSI reports at a UE (Li, paragraph 2).
Regarding Claim 27, Park, Guo, and Li further teach wherein the instructions are further executable by the at least one processor to cause the UE to:
receive, from the wireless device, an indication of an updated sidelink-based channel state information report periodicity via the sidelink control channel, wherein updating the sidelink-based channel state information report periodicity is based at least in part on the indication of the updated sidelink-based channel state information report periodicity, and wherein the wireless device is a base station (Li, Fig 7, paragraph 67, after receiving the UE-assisted information 742, base station 702 may , based on the UE assisted information, determine an updated CSI reporting schedule, changing from period P1 to P2, at the time point t2, the base station 702 transmits an updated CSI reporting configuration 752 to the UE 704, The UE 704 then adjusts the existing CSI reporting schedule based on the updated CSI reporting configuration 752 received from the base station 702, Park, paragraph 289, first base station 2512 may determine configuration parameters 2528 indicating sidelink CSI report configurations for the second wireless device 2516, the sidelink CSI report configurations may indicate periodic CSI reporting configuration such as periodicity, hence considered control information, paragraph 293, the first base station 2504 may send the configuration parameters 2528 for sidelink communication to the first wireless device 2512, the resources that the base station uses to send the sidelink configuration information to the UE are considered reserved resources, paragraph 280, the first wireless device may send/transmit data/signals/transport blocks (e.g., control signal, sidelink control information, SCI, PSCCH transmissions, PSSCH transmission, etc.) to the second wireless device 2516).
Regarding Claim 28, Park, Guo, and Li further teach wherein the instructions are further executable by the at least one processor to cause the UE to:
receive a reactivation downlink control information message, wherein updating the sidelink-based channel state information report periodicity is based at least in part on the reactivation downlink control information message (Park, paragraph 147, For semi-persistent CSI reporting, the base station may configure the wireless device to send/transmit periodically, and selectively activate or deactivate the periodic reporting (e.g., via one or more activation/deactivation MAC CEs and/or one or more DCIs), therefore if the periodic reporting had been deactivated, then upon reactivation the periodicity of the CSI reports is changed from 0 (no periodic CSI reporting) to the periodicity of CSI reporting that existed before deactivation).
Regarding Claim 29, Park, Guo, and Li further teach wherein the instructions are further executable by the at least one processor to cause the UE to:
receive a configured grant message that identifies resources for sidelink transmissions, wherein the indication of the sidelink-based channel state information report periodicity is indicated in the configured grant message (Park, paragraph 289, first base station 2512 may determine configuration parameters 2528 indicating sidelink CSI report configurations for the second wireless device 2516, the sidelink CSI report configurations may indicate periodic CSI reporting configuration such as periodicity, paragraph 282, the configuration parameters 2528 may incidate/assign/configure first sidelink radio resources of a first carrier and second sidelink radio resources of a second carrier for sidelink communication between wireless devices 2512 and 2516).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Park (US 2021/0051653) and Li (US 2019/0253964), and further in view of Ren (US 2012/0040622).
Regarding Claim 15, Park, Guo, and Li teach all the limitations of parent claim 14, but do not explicitly teach further comprising:
receiving a configuration of an application priority level associated with the sidelink-based channel state information report periodicity in a radio resource configuration message or a downlink control information message.
However Ren teaches further comprising:
receiving a configuration of an application priority level associated with the sidelink-based channel state information report periodicity in a radio resource configuration message or a downlink control information message (Ren, paragraph 91, a fast CSI feedback cycle may be used for objects with high importance, and a slow CSI feedback cycle is used for objects with low importance, note that Park teaches a sidelink CSI reporting periodicity).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Park, Guo, and Li by adding application priority associated with CSI report periodicity as taught by Ren. Because Park, Guo, Li, and Ren teach CSI report periodicity, and specifically Ren teaches application priority associated with CSI report periodicity for the benefit of the analogous art of a method for reporting channel state information (Ren, abstract)
Response to Arguments
Regarding independent claims 1 and 22, Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered, but are respectfully moot as new grounds of rejection are used. Please see updated rejection.
Regarding independent claims 16 and 19, Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered, but are respectfully not persuasive.
Regarding independent claims 16 and 19, please see updated rejection as the rejection is now in reference to Fig 4 of Guo instead of Fig 6, hence Applicant’s arguments in respect to Fig 6 are moot. Regarding Applicant’s argument that Guo that the CSI measurement results report is transmitted in PSSCH instead of PSCCH, Fig 4 and paragraph 101 of Guo is now used to reject the CSI measurement results report transmission being on PSCCH. In step 408 (Fig 4, paragraph 101 of Guo), SCI signaling is used to indicate the presence of a CSI report, and then the CSI report is sent on a PSSCH transmission. The transmission process involves both announcing the CSI report on SCI and then transmitting the report on PSSCH, hence control signaling (SCI) is involved in the process of transmitting/sending the CSI report. Therefore Applicant’s arguments are respectfully not persuasive.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/T.N.D/ Examiner, Art Unit 2412 /CHARLES C JIANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2412