DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ruffini et al., (US 20110190846; hereinafter Ruffini) in view of Ghaffari et al., (US 20100298895; hereinafter Ghaffari), Jacobs et al., (“High temporal resolution measurements of dopamine with carbon nanotube yarn microelectrodes.” 2014. Analytical chemistry vol. 86,12: 5721-7; hereinafter Jacobs), Roukes et al., (US 20160150963; hereinafter Roukes), Flaherty et al., (US 20050273890; hereinafter Flaherty), Llinas (US 20040133118), and Rom (US 20120016435).
Regarding claim 1, Ruffini (Figure 1) discloses a system to provide self-guided, self-directed diagnostics and treatment of neural conditions ([0024], [0049]) comprising: a processor (PDPU+SR), memory (storage of the processor) accessible by the processor (PDPU+SR), and program instructions and data (stimulation/monitoring application) stored in the memory; a plurality of stimulation devices (E1-En) comprising electrical stimulation devices connected to signal output circuitry (communications module) interfacing the processor (PDPU+SR) with the plurality of stimulation devices (E1-En), wherein the program instructions and data stored in the memory are configured so that the processor (PDPU+SR) generates and transmits stimulation signals to the plurality of stimulation devices (E1-En); and a plurality of sensing devices (S1-Sn) comprising electrical sensing devices connected to signal input circuitry (communications module) interfacing the processor (PDPU+SR) with the plurality of sensing devices (S1-Sn), the electrical sensing devices (S1-Sn) comprising electrical terminals ([0031]: the sensing devices may be the electrophysiological sensors described in patent application ES2289948, which include electrical terminals capable of sensing voltage and current between the electrical terminals), wherein the program instructions and data stored in the memory are further configured so that the processor (PDPU+SR) receives sensed signals from the plurality of sensing devices (S1-Sn), the sensed signals comprising voltage and current between the electrical terminals so as to determine flow of electrons and positive ions through the brain ([0031]: as explained above, the electrophysiological sensors described in patent application ES2289948 include electrical terminals capable of sensing voltage and current between the electrical terminals so as to determine flow of electrons and positive ions through the brain); wherein the program instructions and data stored in the memory are further configured so that the processor (PDPU+SR) performs real-time dynamic closed loop feedback of the stimulation signals comprising adjusting stimulation signal intensity, frequency, and location, based on the received sensed signals to provide self-guided, self-directed diagnostics and treatment of neural conditions using at least one recipe for a treatment strategy ([0034]-[0037], [0074]-[0085]).
Ruffini fails to disclose that the plurality of stimulation devices comprises chemical and optical stimulation devices in addition to the electrical stimulation devices; and the plurality of sensing devices comprise chemical and optical sensing devices in addition to the electrical sensing devices, wherein the chemical sensing devices comprise carbon nanotubes. However, Ghaffari (Figures 1 and 7A) teaches a plurality of multifunction pixels (1010B) which may comprise stimulation devices and sensing devices. Each multifunction pixel (1010B) is a unit comprising electrical sensing devices (respective electrical sensors), chemical sensing devices (respective chemical sensors), optical sensing devices (respective optical sensors), electrical stimulation devices (respective electrical actuators), chemical stimulation devices (respective chemical actuators), and optical stimulation devices (respective optical actuators), ([0114], [0119]-[0128], [0131]-[0134]), wherein the chemical sensing devices comprise carbon nanotubes ([0107], [0233]: sensing devices may be based on semiconductor technology, which may include carbon nanotubes). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ruffini to include the plurality of stimulation devices comprising chemical and optical stimulation devices in addition to the electrical stimulation devices, and the plurality of sensing devices comprising chemical and optical sensing devices in addition to the electrical sensing devices, as taught by Ghaffari, because the modification would provide a dynamically configurable system ([0012], [0043]) with multiple sensing and stimulation modalities for enhanced performance.
Ruffini/Ghaffari fails to teach wherein the chemical sensing devices comprise a carbon nanotube yarn disk microelectrode operable to utilize fast-scan cyclic voltammetry. However, Jacobs teaches a chemical sensing device comprising a carbon nanotube yarn disk microelectrode (page 5722, Experimental Section, see “Carbon Nanotube Yarn Microelectrode Preparation”) operable to utilize fast-scan cyclic voltammetry (page 5121, Abstract; page 5722, Experimental Section, see “Electrochemistry”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ruffini/Ghaffari to include the chemical sensing devices comprising a carbon nanotube yarn disk microelectrode operable to utilize fast-scan cyclic voltammetry, as taught by Jacobs, because the modification would provide high sensitivity, high sampling frequency, and high temporal resolution simultaneously (page 5721, see Abstract section; page 5726, see Conclusions section).
Ruffini/Ghaffari/Jacobs fails to teach wherein the optical sensing devices are small enough to identify neurons involved in specific chemical interactions. However, Roukes teaches a sensing system in which the optical sensing devices (optical detectors) are small enough to identify neurons involved in specific chemical interactions ([0006], [0055], [0061]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ruffini/Ghaffari/Jacobs to include the optical sensing devices small enough to identify neurons involved in specific chemical interactions, as taught by Roukes, because the modification would permit simultaneous recording from millions of neurons, at arbitrary positions and depths in the brain, to unveil dynamics of complete neural networks—with single-cell resolution and cell-type specificity (Roukes; [0006]).
Ruffini/Ghaffari/Jacobs/Roukes fails to teach wherein the plurality of stimulation devices utilize optic fibers coated with single wall carbon nanotubes to deliver at least one electrical signal and at least one optical signal to living brain tissue; wherein the plurality of sensing devices include the optic fibers coated with single wall carbon nanotubes to receive at least one second electrical signal and at least one second optical signal from the living brain tissue. However, Flaherty teaches an apparatus for interacting with brain tissue, comprising a plurality of optically conductive fibers comprising optic fibers as active elements ([0031], [0048], [0092]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ruffini/Ghaffari/Jacobs/Roukes to include a plurality of optic fibers, as taught by Flaherty, because the modification would provide other means of transmitting data and/or power, which may be used in combination with other active elements to transmit information between different components of the apparatus (Flaherty; [0048]). Furthermore, Llinas teaches an implant device adapted to be implanted within a body of a person for interacting with brain tissue comprising a plurality of fibers coated with carbon nanotubes as active elements ([0037]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a carbon nanotube coating, as taught by Llinas, because the modification would allow the interface to be removed without violating the integrity of the brain (Llinas; [0019]). Accordingly, in the modified device, the plurality of stimulation devices utilize optic fibers would be coated with single wall carbon nanotubes to deliver at least one electrical signal and at least one optical signal to living brain tissue; wherein the plurality of sensing devices would include the optic fibers coated with single wall carbon nanotubes to receive at least one second electrical signal and at least one second optical signal from the living brain tissue.
Ruffini/Ghaffari/Jacobs/Roukes/Flaherty/Llinas fails to teach that the treatment strategy is guided by at least one artificial intelligence neural network. However, Rom teaches a system to provide self-guided, self-directed diagnostics and treatment of neural conditions, wherein a treatment strategy is guided by at least one artificial intelligence neural network ([0041], [0056]-[0057], [0067], [0072], [0074]: spiking neural network of adaptive control system 15). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ruffini/Ghaffari/Jacobs/Roukes/Flaherty/Llinas to include the treatment strategy guided by at least one artificial intelligence neural network, as taught by Rom, because the modification would provide dynamic optimization of stimulation parameters (treatment strategy) using a closed loop machine learning technique (Rom; [0036]).
Regarding claim 2, Ruffini (Figure 1) further discloses that the plurality of stimulation devices (E1-En) comprises at least one of a Transcranial Direct Current Stimulation (tDCS) device, a Transcranial Alternating Current Stimulation (tACS), a Transcranial Photobiomodulation (tPBM), an implanted device providing electrical stimulation, an implanted device providing optical stimulation, and an implanted device providing both electrical and optical stimulation ([0026]).
Regarding claim 3, Ruffini (Figure 1) further discloses that the plurality of sensing devices (S1-Sn) comprises at least one of an Electro Encephalogram (EEG) device, an implanted device providing electrical sensing, an implanted device providing optical sensing, and an implanted device providing both electrical and optical sensing ([0031], [0047]).
Regarding claim 4, Ruffini (Figure 1) further discloses that the program instructions and data stored in the memory are configured so that the processor performs: applying stimulation based on a first version of stimulation parameters ([0036]); sensing results of the applied stimulation to form patient treatment results data; modifying the first version of stimulation parameters using the patient treatment results data to form a second version of stimulation parameters; and applying stimulation based on the second version of stimulation parameters ([0024], [0037], [0049]).
Regarding claim 5, Ruffini (Figure 1) further discloses that the program instructions and data stored in the memory are configured so that the processor performs: applying stimulation based on a version of stimulation parameters ([0036]); sensing results of the applied stimulation to form patient treatment results data; modifying the version of stimulation parameters using the patient treatment results data to form a modified version of stimulation parameters; and repeating the applying, sensing, and modifying using each modified version of stimulation parameters ([0024], [0037], [0049]).
Regarding claim 6, Ruffini (Figure 1) discloses a method of providing self-guided, self-directed diagnostics and treatment of neural conditions ([0024], [0049]) comprising: applying stimulation using a plurality of stimulation devices (E1-En) comprising electrical stimulation devices connected to signal output circuitry (communications module) interfacing a processor (PDPU+SR) with the plurality of stimulation devices (E1-En), wherein the processor (PDPU+SR), is communicably connected to accessible memory (storage of the processor), and the memory stores program instructions and data (stimulation/monitoring application), and wherein the program instructions and data stored in the memory are configured so that the processor (PDPU+SR) generates and transmits stimulation signals to the stimulation devices (E1-En); sensing results of the applied stimulation using a plurality of sensing devices (S1-Sn) comprising electrical sensing devices, the electrical sensing devices (S1-Sn) comprising electrical terminals ([0031]: the sensing devices may be the electrophysiological sensors described in patent application ES2289948, which include electrical terminals capable of sensing voltage and current between the electrical terminals) connected to signal input circuitry (communications module) interfacing the processor (PDPU+SR) with the sensing devices (S1-Sn) wherein the program instructions and data stored in the memory are further configured so that the processor (PDPU+SR) receives sensed signals from the sensing devices (S1-Sn) and uses the sensed signals, the sensed signals comprising voltage and current between the electrical terminals so as to determine flow of electrons and positive ions through the brain ([0031]: as explained above, the electrophysiological sensors described in patent application ES2289948 include electrical terminals capable of sensing voltage and current between the electrical terminals so as to determine flow of electrons and positive ions through the brain), to form patient treatment results data; and performing real-time dynamic closed loop feedback of the stimulation signals comprising adjusting stimulation signal intensity, frequency, and location, based on the received sensed signals to provide self-guided, self-directed diagnostics and treatment of neural conditions using at least one recipe for a treatment strategy ([0011]-[0015], [0028], [0103]-[0107], [0132]-[0133]).
Ruffini fails to disclose that the plurality of stimulation devices comprise chemical and optical stimulation devices in addition to the electrical stimulation devices; and the plurality of sensing devices comprise chemical and optical sensing devices in addition to the electrical sensing devices, wherein the chemical sensing devices comprise carbon nanotubes. However, Ghaffari (Figures 1 and 7A) teaches a plurality of multifunction pixels (1010B) which may comprise stimulation devices and sensing devices. Each multifunction pixel (1010B) is a unit comprising electrical sensing devices (respective electrical sensors), chemical sensing devices (respective chemical sensors), optical sensing devices (respective optical sensors), electrical stimulation devices (respective electrical actuators), chemical stimulation devices (respective chemical actuators), and optical stimulation devices (respective optical actuators), ([0114], [0119]-[0128], [0131]-[0134]), wherein the chemical sensing devices comprise carbon nanotubes ([0107], [0233]: sensing devices may be based on semiconductor technology, which may include carbon nanotubes). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ruffini to include the plurality of stimulation devices comprising chemical and optical stimulation devices in addition to the electrical stimulation devices, and the plurality of sensing devices comprising chemical and optical sensing devices in addition to the electrical sensing devices, as taught by Ghaffari, because the modification would provide a dynamically configurable system ([0012], [0043]) with multiple sensing and stimulation modalities for enhanced performance.
Ruffini/Ghaffari fails to teach wherein the chemical sensing devices comprise a carbon nanotube yarn disk microelectrode operable to utilize fast-scan cyclic voltammetry. However, Jacobs teaches a chemical sensing device comprising a carbon nanotube yarn disk microelectrode (page 5722, Experimental Section, see “Carbon Nanotube Yarn Microelectrode Preparation”) operable to utilize fast-scan cyclic voltammetry (page 5121, Abstract; page 5722, Experimental Section, see “Electrochemistry”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ruffini/Ghaffari to include the chemical sensing devices comprising a carbon nanotube yarn disk microelectrode operable to utilize fast-scan cyclic voltammetry, as taught by Jacobs, because the modification would provide high sensitivity, high sampling frequency, and high temporal resolution simultaneously (page 5721, see Abstract section; page 5726, see Conclusions section).
Ruffini/Ghaffari/Jacobs fails to teach wherein the optical sensing devices are small enough to identify neurons involved in specific chemical interactions. However, Roukes teaches a sensing system in which the optical sensing devices (optical detectors) are small enough to identify neurons involved in specific chemical interactions ([0006], [0055], [0061]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ruffini/Ghaffari/Jacobs to include the optical sensing devices small enough to identify neurons involved in specific chemical interactions, as taught by Roukes, because the modification would permit simultaneous recording from millions of neurons, at arbitrary positions and depths in the brain, to unveil dynamics of complete neural networks—with single-cell resolution and cell-type specificity (Roukes; [0006]).
Ruffini/Ghaffari/Jacobs/Roukes fails to teach wherein the plurality of stimulation devices utilize optic fibers coated with single wall carbon nanotubes to deliver at least one electrical signal and at least one optical signal to living brain tissue; wherein the plurality of sensing devices include the optic fibers coated with single wall carbon nanotubes to receive at least one second electrical signal and at least one second optical signal from the living brain tissue. However, Flaherty teaches an apparatus for interacting with brain tissue, comprising a plurality of optically conductive fibers comprising optic fibers as active elements ([0031], [0048], [0092]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ruffini/Ghaffari/Jacobs/Roukes to include a plurality of optic fibers, as taught by Flaherty, because the modification would provide other means of transmitting data and/or power, which may be used in combination with other active elements to transmit information between different components of the apparatus (Flaherty; [0048]). Furthermore, Llinas teaches an implant device adapted to be implanted within a body of a person for interacting with brain tissue comprising a plurality of fibers coated with carbon nanotubes as active elements ([0037]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a carbon nanotube coating, as taught by Llinas, because the modification would allow the interface to be removed without violating the integrity of the brain (Llinas; [0019]). Accordingly, in the modified device, the plurality of stimulation devices utilize optic fibers would be coated with single wall carbon nanotubes to deliver at least one electrical signal and at least one optical signal to living brain tissue; wherein the plurality of sensing devices would include the optic fibers coated with single wall carbon nanotubes to receive at least one second electrical signal and at least one second optical signal from the living brain tissue.
Ruffini/Ghaffari/Jacobs/Roukes/Flaherty/Llinas fails to teach that the treatment strategy is guided by at least one artificial intelligence neural network. However, Rom teaches a method of providing self-guided, self-directed diagnostics and treatment of neural conditions, wherein a treatment strategy is guided by at least one artificial intelligence neural network ([0041], [0056]-[0057], [0067], [0072], [0074]: spiking neural network of adaptive control system 15). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ruffini/Ghaffari/Jacobs/Roukes/Flaherty/Llinas to include the treatment strategy guided by at least one artificial intelligence neural network, as taught by Rom, because the modification would provide dynamic optimization of stimulation parameters (treatment strategy) using a closed loop machine learning technique (Rom; [0036]).
Regarding claim 7, Ruffini (Figure 1) further discloses that the plurality of stimulation devices (effectors) comprises at least one of a Transcranial Direct Current Stimulation (tDCS) device, a Transcranial Alternating Current Stimulation (tACS), a Transcranial Photobiomodulation (tPBM), an implanted device providing electrical stimulation, an implanted device providing optical stimulation, and an implanted device providing both electrical and optical stimulation ([0026]).
Regarding claim 8, Ruffini (Figure 1) further discloses that the plurality of sensing devices (sensors) comprises at least one of an Electro Encephalogram (EEG) device, an implanted device providing electrical sensing, an implanted device providing optical sensing, and an implanted device providing both electrical and optical sensing ([0031]-[0047]).
Regarding claim 9, Ruffini (Figure 1) further discloses applying stimulation based on a first version of stimulation parameters ([0036]); sensing results of the applied stimulation to form patient treatment results data; modifying the first version of stimulation parameters using the patient treatment results data to form a second version of stimulation parameters; and applying stimulation based on the second version of stimulation parameters ([0024], [0037], [0049]).
Regarding claim 10, Ruffini (Figure 1) further discloses applying stimulation based on a version of stimulation parameters ([0036]); sensing results of the applied stimulation to form patient treatment results data; modifying the version of stimulation parameters using the patient treatment results data to form a modified version of stimulation parameters; and repeating the applying, sensing, and modifying using each modified version of stimulation parameters ([0024], [0037], [0049]).
Claim(s) 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ruffini/Ghaffari/Jacobs/Roukes/Flaherty/Llinas/Rom, as applied to claims 1 and 6, and further in view of Lin (US 20140282142).
Regarding claim 11, Ruffini/Ghaffari/Jacobs/Roukes/Flaherty/Llinas/Rom teaches the system of claim 1, and Rom further teaches wherein the at least one artificial intelligence neural network comprises a Deep Cognitive Neural Network (DCNN) or a Spiking Neural Network (SNN), ([0041], [0056]-[0057], [0067], [0072], [0074]: spiking neural network of adaptive control system 15). Ruffini/Ghaffari/Jacobs/Roukes/Flaherty/Llinas/Rom fails to teach wherein the system includes a no-code drag-and-drop user interface. However, Lin teaches a no-code drag-and-drop user interface ([0075]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ruffini/Ghaffari/Jacobs/Roukes/Flaherty/Llinas/Rom to include a no-code drag-and-drop user interface, as taught by Lin, because the modification would provide a configurable user interface suitable for controlling, designing or reconfiguring a user interface layout (Lin; [0075]).
Regarding claim 12, Ruffini/Ghaffari/Jacobs/Roukes/Flaherty/Llinas/Rom teaches the system of claim 1, and Rom further teaches wherein the at least one artificial intelligence neural network comprises a Deep Cognitive Neural Network (DCNN) or a Spiking Neural Network (SNN), ([0041], [0056]-[0057], [0067], [0072], [0074]: spiking neural network of adaptive control system 15). Ruffini/Ghaffari/Jacobs/Roukes/Flaherty/Llinas/Rom fails to teach wherein the method includes a no-code drag-and-drop user interface. However, Lin teaches a no-code drag-and-drop user interface ([0075]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ruffini/Ghaffari/Jacobs/Roukes/Flaherty/Llinas/Rom to include a no-code drag-and-drop user interface, as taught by Lin, because the modification would provide a configurable user interface suitable for controlling, designing or reconfiguring a user interface layout (Lin; [0075]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 07/01/2026, with regard to the newly filed claim amendments, have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of newly found prior art references Jacobs, which teaches the chemical sensing devices comprising a carbon nanotube yarn disk microelectrode operable to utilize fast-scan cyclic voltammetry, and Rom, which teaches the treatment strategy guided by at least one artificial intelligence neural network. Therefore, the Ruffini/Ghaffari/Jacobs/Roukes/Flaherty/Llinas/Rom combination teaches the invention as recited in the newly amended set of claims.
Conclusion
/C.C.P./Examiner, Art Unit 3794
/EUN HWA KIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3794