DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Special Definitions
Consistent with the well-established axiom in patent law that a patentee or applicant is free to be his or her own lexicographer, a patentee or applicant may use terms in a manner contrary to or inconsistent with one or more of their ordinary meanings if the written description clearly redefines the terms. See MPEP 2173.05(a).III
Applicant has defined “thermal model” as refers to data that reflects assumed or measured thermal parameters and/or behavior associated with a device, component, assembly and/or system in paragraph [0023].
Response to Arguments
Claims 1-31 are pending, independent claims 1, 11, and 21, and dependent claims 2-8, 10, and 15 are amended, claims 9, 19, and 29 are cancelled, claims 30 and 31 are new.
In light of the amendments, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of U.S.C. 112(a) for claims 30 and 31.
Applicant’s arguments on page 10, filed 01/07/2026 with respect to U.S.C. 103 rejection of claims 1-31 have been fully considered but they are not considered persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. In claim 30, the use of terminology “cooling the SOC package to a first degree” and “cooling the SOC package to a second degree” is used, however there is no reference to clock speed in the specification.
Claim 31 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Merrikh et al. (US 10309838 B2) hereinafter Merrikh in view of Kim et al. (US 12123789 B2) hereinafter Kim.
Regarding Claim 1, Merrikh teaches interface circuitry to communicate via a network (col 13, line 42-44, “FIG. 9 is a block diagram showing an exemplary wireless communication system 900 in which an aspect of the disclosure may be advantageously employed.”), machine readable instructions (“a machine-readable medium tangibly embodying instructions” col. 14 line 9-10); and at least one programmable circuit to be programmed by the instructions to (col 14 line 19-23, “If implemented in firmware and/or software the functions 20 may be stored as one or more instructions or code on a computer-readable medium. Examples include computer readable media encoded with a data structure and computer readable media encoded with a computer program.”, where col 14 line 26-28 “By way of example, and not limitation, such computer-readable media can include RAM, ROM, EEPROM, CD-ROM or other optical disk storage (i.e., programmable circuitry)”): determine that a system on chip (SOC) package has been deployed (“The die (i.e., device/chip) may be implanted (i.e., deployed) within the SoC (i.e., system on chip)” col.3 line 58-59), with a first thermal model (“reference thermal model (i.e., default first thermal model) parameters of an electronic device (e.g., SoC) under analysis,” col. 9 line 10-11), via a communication from the network (col 13, line 42-44, “FIG. 9 is a block diagram showing an exemplary wireless communication system 900 in which an aspect of the disclosure may be advantageously employed.”), the SOC package in a second device different than the first device (col 13 line 46-50 “It will be recognized that wireless communication systems may have many more remote units (i.e., first device at a first location) and base stations (i.e., a second device at a second locations from the first). Remote units 920, 930, and 950 include IC devices 925A, 925B, and 925C that may include the disclosed SoC with temperature correction. It will be recognized that other devices may also include the disclosed SoC, such as the base stations, switching devices, and network equipment. (i.e., any one of the devices can have the SoC package and be different from another device)”), the first thermal model to control the SOC package (col 9 line 33-38 “For example, the reference thermal model parameters may be used as a reference for matching current application activities in various regions of a SoC to the reference thermal model parameters in a temporal temperature sensor position offset error correction system or framework. For example, a current temperature difference value or absolute temperature of a region of a currently operating SoC may be estimated based on the matching. The current estimate of the temperature difference value or absolute temperature may be used to correct the error measurements of the temperature sensors.” Where the temperature sensors (i.e., part of the SOC) being corrected is controlling the SOC), the first device at a first location of the network, the second device at a second location of the network different from the first location (col 13 line 46-50 “It will be recognized that wireless communication systems may have many more remote units (i.e., first device at a first location) and base stations (i.e., a second device at a second locations from the first). Remote units 920, 930, and 950 include IC devices 925A, 925B, and 925C that may include the disclosed SoC with temperature correction. It will be recognized that other devices may also include the disclosed SoC, such as the base stations, switching devices, and network equipment. FIG. 9 shows forward link signals 980 from the base station 940 to the remote units 920, 930, and 950, and reverse link signals 990 from the remote units 920, 930, and 950 to base stations 940.”), access data representative of at least one temperature of the SOC package and power usage of the SOC package from at least one sensor (“the SoC receives (i.e., monitors) a temperature measurement of a region of the SoC from the sensor, estimates power consumed by the region and adjusts the temperature measurement based on the estimated power (i.e., access data representative)” col. 4 line 7-10) via the network (col 13, line 42-44, “FIG. 9 is a block diagram showing an exemplary wireless communication system 900 in which an aspect of the disclosure may be advantageously employed.”), from at least one sensor (col 9 line 38 “measurements of the temperature sensors (i.e., at least one).”) the data associated with operation of the second device (col 12 line 63- col 13 line 1, “FIG. 8 is a process flow diagram 800 illustrating a method of correcting thermal sensor measurements on a die, according to an aspect of the present disclosure. In block 802, a SoC device, including the die or a controller/processor of the computing device including the die, receives a temperature measurement of a region from a sensor (i.e., data).”; col 13 line 60-66 “a remote unit may be a mobile phone, a hand-held personal communication systems (PCS) unit, a portable data unit such as a personal data assistant, a GPS-enabled device, a navigation device, a set top box, a music player, a video player, an entertainment unit, a fixed location data unit such as meter-reading equipment, or other devices that store or retrieve data or computer instructions, or combinations thereof.”; where col 13 line 46-50 “It will be recognized that wireless communication systems may have many more remote units (i.e., first device) and base stations (i.e., a second device). Remote units 920, 930, and 950 include IC devices 925A, 925B, and 925C that may include the disclosed SoC with temperature correction. It will be recognized that other devices may also include the disclosed SoC, such as the base stations, switching devices, and network equipment. FIG. 9 shows forward link signals 980 from the base station 940 to the remote units 920, 930, and 950, and reverse link signals 990 from the remote units 920, 930, and 950 to base stations 940.”), calibrate a second thermal model based on the data representative of the at least one temperature and the power usage of the second device (“exemplary thermal model (i.e., second thermal model) for temporal temperature sensor position offset error correction, according to aspects of the present disclosure. The thermal model may be a pre-silicon thermal model (i.e., second thermal model) that introduces reference thermal model parameters of an electronic device (e.g., SoC) under analysis reference thermal model parameters may correspond to estimated power (i.e., power usage) at different regions of the SoC. The estimated power may be associated with a temperature difference value or an absolute temperature value (i.e., at least one temperature).” col. 9 line 6-15; col 13 line 46-50 “It will be recognized that wireless communication systems may have many more remote units (i.e., first device at a first location) and base stations (i.e., a second device at a second locations from the first). Remote units 920, 930, and 950 include IC devices 925A, 925B, and 925C that may include the disclosed SoC with temperature correction. It will be recognized that other devices may also include the disclosed SoC, such as the base stations, switching devices, and network equipment. FIG. 9 shows forward link signals 980 from the base station 940 to the remote units 920, 930, and 950, and reverse link signals 990 from the remote units 920, 930, and 950 to base stations 940.”).
Merrikh does not explicitly teach cause the interface circuitry to provide the calibrated second thermal model from the first device to the second device via the network.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before filing the invention to arrive at “cause the interface circuitry to provide the calibrated second thermal model from the first device to the second device via the network” based on the teachings of Merrikh. Merrikh explicitly teaches cause the interface circuitry to provide the calibrated thermal model to at least one SOC package or device associated with the SOC package in col. 3 line 47-56, “The compact thermal model may be a pre-silicon thermal model (I.e., calibrated second thermal model) that defines parameters stored in the computing device and used for correcting temperature measurements from sensors. For example, the power monitors measure activity of active regions of the SoC that remain undetected by the temperature sensors. Thus, the proposed framework converts activity to power, and computes temperature offsets in accordance with a simplified compact thermal model using real-time power information fed into the framework (i.e., network).” Merrikh also explicitly teaches multiple devices and communication through the network of those devices in col 13 line 46-50 “It will be recognized that wireless communication systems may have many more remote units and base stations. Remote units 920, 930, and 950 include IC devices 925A, 925B, and 925C that may include the disclosed SoC with temperature correction. It will be recognized that other devices may also include the disclosed SoC, such as the base stations, switching devices, and network equipment. FIG. 9 shows forward link signals 980 from the base station 940 to the remote units 920, 930, and 950, and reverse link signals 990 from the remote units 920, 930, and 950 to base stations 940.” Combining these two sections it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have one remote device sending information, such as a calibrated second thermal model from one SOC device over to a secondary devices for the purpose of updating the second devices thermal model to include the temperature correction provided with the second thermal model. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would see that based on the teachings of Merrikh that it would have been obvious to arrive at the limitation “cause the interface circuitry to provide the calibrated second thermal model from the first device to the second device via the network.”
Merrikh does not teach estimating power to be consumed at a frequency point and throttling the SOC package based on an estimated temperature corresponding to the frequency point.
Kim teaches estimating power to be consumed at a frequency point (col 6 line 44-47 “Controlling a temperature and/or power consumption by adjusting the magnitude of a supply voltage and the clock frequency as described above may be referred to as dynamic voltage frequency scaling (DVFS).” Where the power consumption changing with the change in frequency, indicates power consumption is consumed at a frequency point), and throttling the SOC package based on an estimated temperature corresponding to the frequency point (col 6 line 44-47 “Controlling a temperature and/or power consumption by adjusting the magnitude of a supply voltage and the clock frequency as described above may be referred to as dynamic voltage frequency scaling (DVFS).”, where in the pending application throttling the SOC package is show in Fig. 2 in the run-time frequency management stage 204).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the use of estimating power consumption to frequency as discussed in Kim to the thermal model circuitry discussed in Merrikh for the purpose of controlling the amount of power consumption used at a certain frequency. This is advantageous because the temperature of the SOC can be controlled based on the amount of power consumed, allowing for temperature regulation of important circuits (e.g., Kim, col 6 paragraph 3).
Regarding Claim 11, Merrikh teaches a non-transitory computer readable medium comprising instructions (“a machine-readable medium tangibly embodying instructions” col. 14 line 9-10) to cause at least one programmable circuitry (“a controller/processor” col. 13 line 2) of a first device at a first location of a network (col 13 line 46-50 “It will be recognized that wireless communication systems may have many more remote units (i.e., first device at a first location) and base stations (i.e., a second device at a second locations from the first). Remote units 920, 930, and 950 include IC devices 925A, 925B, and 925C that may include the disclosed SoC with temperature correction. It will be recognized that other devices may also include the disclosed SoC, such as the base stations, switching devices, and network equipment. FIG. 9 shows forward link signals 980 from the base station 940 to the remote units 920, 930, and 950, and reverse link signals 990 from the remote units 920, 930, and 950 to base stations 940 (i.e., network).”) to: determine that a system on chip (SOC) package is deployed based on information from a network (“The die (i.e., device/chip) may be implanted (i.e., deployed) within the SoC (i.e., system on chip)” col.3 line 58-59 where col 13, line 42-44, “FIG. 9 is a block diagram showing an exemplary wireless communication system 900 in which an aspect of the disclosure may be advantageously employed.”), the SOC package deployed (“The die (i.e., device/chip) may be implanted (i.e., deployed) within the SoC (i.e., system on chip)” col.3 line 58-59) with a first thermal model (col 9 line 33-38 “For example, the reference thermal model parameters may be used as a reference for matching current application activities in various regions of a SoC to the reference thermal model parameters in a temporal temperature sensor position offset error correction system or framework. For example, a current temperature difference value or absolute temperature of a region of a currently operating SoC may be estimated based on the matching. The current estimate of the temperature difference value or absolute temperature may be used to correct the error measurements of the temperature sensors.” Where the temperature sensors (i.e., part of the SOC) being corrected is controlling the SOC); the SOC package at a second device at a second location of the network different from the first location (col 13 line 46-50 “It will be recognized that wireless communication systems may have many more remote units (i.e., first device at a first location) and base stations (i.e., a second device at a second locations from the first). Remote units 920, 930, and 950 include IC devices 925A, 925B, and 925C that may include the disclosed SoC with temperature correction. It will be recognized that other devices may also include the disclosed SoC, such as the base stations, switching devices, and network equipment. (i.e., any one of the devices can have the SoC package and be different from another device)”), access data representative of at least one temperature of the SOC package (“the SoC receives (i.e., monitors) a temperature measurement of a region of the SoC from the sensor, estimates power consumed by the region and adjusts the temperature measurement based on the estimated power (i.e., access data representative)” col. 4 line 7-10) and power usage of the SOC package based on the operation of the SOC package with the first thermal model (“the SoC receives (i.e., monitors) a temperature measurement of a region of the SoC from the sensor, estimates power consumed by the region and adjusts the temperature measurement based on the estimated power” col. 4 line 7-10); calibrate a second thermal model based on the data representative of the at least one temperature and the power usage of the second device (“exemplary thermal model (i.e., second thermal model) for temporal temperature sensor position offset error correction, according to aspects of the present disclosure. The thermal model may be a pre-silicon thermal model (i.e., second thermal model) that introduces reference thermal model parameters of an electronic device (e.g., SoC) under analysis reference thermal model parameters may correspond to estimated power (i.e., power usage) at different regions of the SoC. The estimated power may be associated with a temperature difference value or an absolute temperature value (i.e., at least one temperature).” col. 9 line 6-15; col 13 line 46-50 “It will be recognized that wireless communication systems may have many more remote units (i.e., first device at a first location) and base stations (i.e., a second device at a second locations from the first). Remote units 920, 930, and 950 include IC devices 925A, 925B, and 925C that may include the disclosed SoC with temperature correction. It will be recognized that other devices may also include the disclosed SoC, such as the base stations, switching devices, and network equipment. FIG. 9 shows forward link signals 980 from the base station 940 to the remote units 920, 930, and 950, and reverse link signals 990 from the remote units 920, 930, and 950 to base stations 940.”).
Merrikh does not explicitly teach cause the interface circuitry to provide the calibrated second thermal model from the first device to the second device via the network.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before filing the invention to arrive at “cause the interface circuitry to provide the calibrated second thermal model from the first device to the second device via the network” based on the teachings of Merrikh. Merrikh explicitly teaches cause the interface circuitry to provide the calibrated thermal model to at least one SOC package or device associated with the SOC package in col. 3 line 47-56, “The compact thermal model may be a pre-silicon thermal model (I.e., calibrated second thermal model) that defines parameters stored in the computing device and used for correcting temperature measurements from sensors. For example, the power monitors measure activity of active regions of the SoC that remain undetected by the temperature sensors. Thus, the proposed framework converts activity to power, and computes temperature offsets in accordance with a simplified compact thermal model using real-time power information fed into the framework (i.e., network).” Merrikh also explicitly teaches multiple devices and communication through the network of those devices in col 13 line 46-50 “It will be recognized that wireless communication systems may have many more remote units and base stations. Remote units 920, 930, and 950 include IC devices 925A, 925B, and 925C that may include the disclosed SoC with temperature correction. It will be recognized that other devices may also include the disclosed SoC, such as the base stations, switching devices, and network equipment. FIG. 9 shows forward link signals 980 from the base station 940 to the remote units 920, 930, and 950, and reverse link signals 990 from the remote units 920, 930, and 950 to base stations 940.” Combining these two sections it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have one remote device sending information, such as a calibrated second thermal model from one SOC device over to a secondary devices for the purpose of updating the second devices thermal model to include the temperature correction provided with the second thermal model. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would see that based on the teachings of Merrikh that it would have been obvious to arrive at the limitation “cause the interface circuitry to provide the calibrated second thermal model from the first device to the second device via the network.”
Merrikh does not teach estimating power to be consumed at a frequency point and throttling the SOC package based on an estimated temperature corresponding to the frequency point.
Kim teaches estimating power to be consumed at a frequency point (col 6 line 44-47 “Controlling a temperature and/or power consumption by adjusting the magnitude of a supply voltage and the clock frequency as described above may be referred to as dynamic voltage frequency scaling (DVFS).” Where the power consumption changing with the change in frequency, indicates power consumption is consumed at a frequency point), and throttling the SOC package based on an estimated temperature corresponding to the frequency point (col 6 line 44-47 “Controlling a temperature and/or power consumption by adjusting the magnitude of a supply voltage and the clock frequency as described above may be referred to as dynamic voltage frequency scaling (DVFS).”, where in the pending application throttling the SOC package is show in Fig. 2 in the run-time frequency management stage 204).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the use of estimating power consumption to frequency as discussed in Kim to the thermal model circuitry discussed in Merrikh for the purpose of controlling the amount of power consumption used at a certain frequency. This is advantageous because the temperature of the SOC can be controlled based on the amount of power consumed, allowing for temperature regulation of important circuits (e.g., Kim, col 6 paragraph 3).
Regarding Claim 21, Merrikh teaches, executing instructions with at least one programmable circuitry (“software codes may be stored in a memory and executed by a processor unit” col. 14 line 11-13) of a first device at a first location of a network (col 13 line 46-50 “It will be recognized that wireless communication systems may have many more remote units (i.e., first device at a first location) and base stations (i.e., a second device at a second locations from the first). Remote units 920, 930, and 950 include IC devices 925A, 925B, and 925C that may include the disclosed SoC with temperature correction. It will be recognized that other devices may also include the disclosed SoC, such as the base stations, switching devices, and network equipment. (i.e., any one of the devices can have the SoC package and be different from another device)”): determining that a system on chip (SOC) package has been deployed based on communication received (“The die (i.e., device/chip) may be implanted (i.e., deployed) within the SoC (i.e., system on chip)” col.3 line 58-59) from the network (col 13, line 42-44, “FIG. 9 is a block diagram showing an exemplary wireless communication system 900 in which an aspect of the disclosure may be advantageously employed.”) the SOC package deployed with a first thermal model (“reference thermal model (i.e., default first thermal model) parameters of an electronic device (e.g., SoC) under analysis,” col. 9 line 10-11), the first thermal model to control the SOC package (col 9 line 33-38 “For example, the reference thermal model parameters may be used as a reference for matching current application activities in various regions of a SoC to the reference thermal model parameters in a temporal temperature sensor position offset error correction system or framework. For example, a current temperature difference value or absolute temperature of a region of a currently operating SoC may be estimated based on the matching. The current estimate of the temperature difference value or absolute temperature may be used to correct the error measurements of the temperature sensors.” Where the temperature sensors (i.e., part of the SOC) being corrected is controlling the SOC); the SOC package at a second device at a second location of the network different from the first location (col 13 line 46-50 “It will be recognized that wireless communication systems may have many more remote units (i.e., first device at a first location) and base stations (i.e., a second device at a second locations from the first). Remote units 920, 930, and 950 include IC devices 925A, 925B, and 925C that may include the disclosed SoC with temperature correction. It will be recognized that other devices may also include the disclosed SoC, such as the base stations, switching devices, and network equipment. FIG. 9 shows forward link signals 980 from the base station 940 to the remote units 920, 930, and 950, and reverse link signals 990 from the remote units 920, 930, and 950 to base stations 940.”), accessing data representative of at least one temperature of the SOC package and power usage of the SOC package (“the SoC receives (i.e., monitors) a temperature measurement of a region of the SoC from the sensor, estimates power consumed by the region and adjusts the temperature measurement based on the estimated power (i.e., access data representative)” col. 4 line 7-10) via the network (col 13, line 42-44, “FIG. 9 is a block diagram showing an exemplary wireless communication system 900 in which an aspect of the disclosure may be advantageously employed.”); the data associated with operation of the SOC package (col 12 line 63- col 13 line 1, “FIG. 8 is a process flow diagram 800 illustrating a method of correcting thermal sensor measurements on a die, according to an aspect of the present disclosure. In block 802, a SoC device, including the die or a controller/processor of the computing device including the die, receives a temperature measurement of a region from a sensor (i.e., data).”; col 13 line 60-66 “a remote unit may be a mobile phone, a hand-held personal communication systems (PCS) unit, a portable data unit such as a personal data assistant, a GPS-enabled device, a navigation device, a set top box, a music player, a video player, an entertainment unit, a fixed location data unit such as meter-reading equipment, or other devices that store or retrieve data or computer instructions, or combinations thereof.”; where col 13 line 46-50 “It will be recognized that wireless communication systems may have many more remote units (i.e., first device) and base stations (i.e., a second device). Remote units 920, 930, and 950 include IC devices 925A, 925B, and 925C that may include the disclosed SoC with temperature correction. It will be recognized that other devices may also include the disclosed SoC, such as the base stations, switching devices, and network equipment. FIG. 9 shows forward link signals 980 from the base station 940 to the remote units 920, 930, and 950, and reverse link signals 990 from the remote units 920, 930, and 950 to base stations 940.”),
calibrating a second thermal model based on the at least programmable circuitry, a second thermal model based on the data representative of the at least one temperature and the power usage of the second device (“exemplary thermal model (i.e., second thermal model) for temporal temperature sensor position offset error correction, according to aspects of the present disclosure. The thermal model may be a pre-silicon thermal model (i.e., second thermal model) that introduces reference thermal model parameters of an electronic device (e.g., SoC) under analysis reference thermal model parameters may correspond to estimated power (i.e., power usage) at different regions of the SoC. The estimated power may be associated with a temperature difference value or an absolute temperature value (i.e., at least one temperature).” col. 9 line 6-15; col 13 line 46-50 “It will be recognized that wireless communication systems may have many more remote units (i.e., first device at a first location) and base stations (i.e., a second device at a second locations from the first). Remote units 920, 930, and 950 include IC devices 925A, 925B, and 925C that may include the disclosed SoC with temperature correction. It will be recognized that other devices may also include the disclosed SoC, such as the base stations, switching devices, and network equipment. FIG. 9 shows forward link signals 980 from the base station 940 to the remote units 920, 930, and 950, and reverse link signals 990 from the remote units 920, 930, and 950 to base stations 940.”); replace the first thermal model with the second thermal model (“FIG. 8 is a process flow diagram 800 illustrating a method of correcting thermal sensor measurements on a die according to an aspect of the present disclosure. In block 802, a SoC device, including the die or a controller/processor of the computing device including the die, receives a temperature measurement of a region from a sensor. (i.e., first thermal model). For example, the SoC device may include a controller/processor to perform the steps of the method. In block 804, the SoC device, including the die or a controller of the computing device including the die, estimates power consumed by the region. At block 806 the SoC device, including the die or a controller of the computing device including the die, adjusts the temperature measurement based on the estimated power (i.e., second thermal model is an updated version of the first thermal model and replaces the first thermal model).” Col 12 line 63- col 13 line 8), the calibrated second thermal model to control the SOC package (col 12 line 3-4 “For example, the pre-silicon thermal modeling implementation” where col 12 line 20-22 “a correction is added to a raw reading of the temperature sensor to provide a more accurate temperature reading of the SoC,” and col 12 line 63- col 13 line 8 “a method of correcting thermal sensor measurements on a die, according to an aspect of the present disclosure. In block 802, a SoC device, including the die or a controller/processor of the computing device including the die, receives a temperature measurement of a region from a sensor. For example, the SoC device may include a controller/processor to perform the steps of the method. In block 804, the SoC device, including the die or a controller of the computing device including the die, estimates power consumed by the region. At block 806 the SoC device, including the die or a controller of the computing device including the die, adjusts the temperature measurement based on the estimated power.”).
Merrikh does not explicitly teach causing the interface circuitry to provide the calibrated second thermal model from the first device to the second device via the network.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before filing the invention to arrive at “cause the interface circuitry to provide the calibrated second thermal model from the first device to the second device via the network” based on the teachings of Merrikh. Merrikh explicitly teaches cause the interface circuitry to provide the calibrated thermal model to at least one SOC package or device associated with the SOC package in col. 3 line 47-56, “The compact thermal model may be a pre-silicon thermal model (I.e., calibrated second thermal model) that defines parameters stored in the computing device and used for correcting temperature measurements from sensors. For example, the power monitors measure activity of active regions of the SoC that remain undetected by the temperature sensors. Thus, the proposed framework converts activity to power, and computes temperature offsets in accordance with a simplified compact thermal model using real-time power information fed into the framework (i.e., network).” Merrikh also explicitly teaches multiple devices and communication through the network of those devices in col 13 line 46-50 “It will be recognized that wireless communication systems may have many more remote units and base stations. Remote units 920, 930, and 950 include IC devices 925A, 925B, and 925C that may include the disclosed SoC with temperature correction. It will be recognized that other devices may also include the disclosed SoC, such as the base stations, switching devices, and network equipment. FIG. 9 shows forward link signals 980 from the base station 940 to the remote units 920, 930, and 950, and reverse link signals 990 from the remote units 920, 930, and 950 to base stations 940.” Combining these two sections it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have one remote device sending information, such as a calibrated second thermal model from one SOC device over to a secondary devices for the purpose of updating the second devices thermal model to include the temperature correction provided with the second thermal model. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would see that based on the teachings of Merrikh that it would have been obvious to arrive at the limitation “cause the interface circuitry to provide the calibrated second thermal model from the first device to the second device via the network.”
Merrikh does not teach estimating power to be consumed at a frequency point and throttling the SOC package based on an estimated temperature corresponding to the frequency point.
Kim teaches estimating power to be consumed at a frequency point (col 6 line 44-47 “Controlling a temperature and/or power consumption by adjusting the magnitude of a supply voltage and the clock frequency as described above may be referred to as dynamic voltage frequency scaling (DVFS).” Where the power consumption changing with the change in frequency, indicates power consumption is consumed at a frequency point), and throttling the SOC package based on an estimated temperature corresponding to the frequency point (col 6 line 44-47 “Controlling a temperature and/or power consumption by adjusting the magnitude of a supply voltage and the clock frequency as described above may be referred to as dynamic voltage frequency scaling (DVFS).”, where in the pending application throttling the SOC package is show in Fig. 2 in the run-time frequency management stage 204).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the use of estimating power consumption to frequency as discussed in Kim to the thermal model circuitry discussed in Merrikh for the purpose of controlling the amount of power consumption used at a certain frequency. This is advantageous because the temperature of the SOC can be controlled based on the amount of power consumed, allowing for temperature regulation of important circuits (e.g., Kim, col 6 paragraph 3).
Regarding Claim 2, and 22, Merrikh and Kim teach the limitations of claim 1, and 21.
Merrikh further teaches wherein the calibrated second thermal model is an updated version of the first thermal model (“FIG. 8 is a process flow diagram 800 illustrating a method of correcting thermal sensor measurements on a die according to an aspect of the present disclosure. In block 802, a SoC device, including the die or a controller/processor of the computing device including the die, receives a temperature measurement of a region from a sensor. (i.e., first thermal model). For example, the SoC device may include a controller/processor to perform the steps of the method. In block 804, the SoC device, including the die or a controller of the computing device including the die, estimates power consumed by the region. At block 806 the SoC device, including the die or a controller of the computing device including the die, adjusts the temperature measurement based on the estimated power (i.e., calibrated second thermal model is an updated version of the first thermal model).” Col 12 line 63- col 13 line 8).
Regarding Claim 3, 13 and 23, Merrikh and Kim teaches the limitations of 2, 12 and 22.
Merrikh further teaches wherein one or more of the at least one programmable circuit is to calibrate the second thermal model by replacing data points associated with the first thermal model with data points based on the at least one temperature and the power usage (“FIG. 8 is a process flow diagram 800 illustrating a method of correcting thermal sensor measurements on a die according to an aspect of the present disclosure. In block 802, a SoC device, including the die or a controller/processor of the computing device including the die, receives a temperature measurement of a region from a sensor. (i.e., first thermal model) For example, the SoC device may include a controller/processor to perform the steps of the method. In block 804, the SoC device, including the die or a controller of the computing device including the die, estimates power consumed by the region. At block 806 the SoC device, including the die or a controller of the computing device including the die, adjusts the temperature measurement based on the estimated power (i.e., the second thermal model is calibrated).” Col 12 line 63- col 13 line 8).
Regarding Claim 4 and 14, Merrick and Kim teaches the limitations of 1 and 11.
Merrikh does not teach wherein one or more of the programmable circuit is to calibrate a third thermal model after of the SOC package has been deployed for a time duration.
Kim teaches wherein one or more of the programmable circuit is to calibrate a third thermal model after of the SOC package has been deployed for a time duration (“a first temperature (i.e., thermal model) of the first circuit according to the first period (i.e., time duration), receive a second temperature (i.e., thermal model; the examiner notes that thermal model refers to data that reflects assumed or measured thermal parameters and/or behavior associated with a device, component, assembly and/or system as defined by the applicant in paragraph [0023] of the instant application.) from the temperature sensor according to the second period (i.e., time duration), calculate a third temperature based on (e.g., by correcting) the first temperature and the second temperature (i.e., calibrate a third thermal model) col.2 line 6-11.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the third thermal model discussed in Kim to the thermal apparatus and method discussed in Merrikh for the purpose of recalibrating the thermal model sometime period after the thermal apparatus has been running. It gives the advantage of allowing for dynamic power monitoring techniques to be implemented and be used to determine power levels periodically, over time, and allow for the timing of the monitoring may be adjusted based on a user's preferences or device needs (e.g., col. 1 line 46-49, Kim).
2
Regarding Claim 6, Merrikh and Kim teaches the limitation of claim 1.
Merrikh further teaches, wherein the sensor includes an on- die temperature sensor of the SOC package (“in the example of FIG. 4, temperature sensor 245 is disposed within the package such that it is on top of the substrate (i.e., on-die) portion and below plastic molding 410.” Col 7 line 54-56).
Regarding Claims 7, 16 and 26, Merrikh and Kim teaches the limitations of Claims 1, 11, and 21.
Merrikh teaches to initiate provision of an instruction over the network ( “to storage on computer-readable medium, instructions and/or data may be provided as signals on transmission media included in a communication apparatus. For example, a communication apparatus may include a transceiver having signals indicative of instructions and data. The instructions and data are configured to cause one or more processors to implement the functions outlined in the claims (i.e., initiate provisions over the network).” Col 14 line 39-26).
Merrikh does not explicitly teach wherein one or more of the programmable circuits is to cause at least one core of the SOC package to execute a pre-defined workload to calibrate the second thermal model.
However, Merrikh teaches a digital power monitor reading is acquired and provided to other devices for further processing to determine the correction
Δ
Tcorr (i.e., calibrate) and subsequently the accurate temperature reading (i.e., the results of the second model).” (Col. 12 line 32-35). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that values provided for further processing can be considered a predefined workload provided to the processor. Additionally, it is inherent that a processor cause at least one core to be used since a processor is made of at least one, and often multiple, cores. This is advantageous because the calibration of the second thermal model via at least one core of the SOC package allows for the avoidance of errors and inaccuracies that generate risks to device operation, performance, and device reliability (e.g., col 3, line 20-25, Merrikh).
Regarding Claim 8, 17, and 27, Merrikh and Kim teaches the limitation of 1, 11, and 21.
Merrikh further teaches wherein one or more of the programmable circuit is to cause the SOC package to operate based on the first thermal model until the second thermal model is calibrated (“FIG. 8 is a process flow diagram 800 illustrating a method of correcting thermal sensor measurements on a die according to an aspect of the present disclosure. In block 802, a SoC device, including the die or a controller/processor of the computing device including the die, receives a temperature measurement of a region from a sensor. (i.e., first thermal model) For example, the SoC device may include a controller/processor to perform the steps of the method. In block 804, the SoC device, including the die or a controller of the computing device including the die, estimates power consumed by the region. At block 806 the SoC device, including the die or a controller of the computing device including the die, adjusts the temperature measurement based on the estimated power (i.e., the second thermal model is calibrated).” Col 12 line 63- col 13 line 8).
Regarding Claims 10 and 20, Merrikh and Kim teaches the limitation of Claim 1 and 11.
Merrikh further teaches wherein one or more of the programmable circuit is to calibrate the second thermal model while the SOC package is operated with pre-defined workload (“FIG. 8 is a process flow diagram 800 illustrating a method of correcting thermal sensor measurements on a die according to an aspect of the present disclosure. In block 802, a SoC device, including the die or a controller/processor of the computing device including the die, receives a temperature measurement of a region from a sensor. (i.e., operated with a predefined work load) For example, the SoC device may include a controller/processor to perform the steps of the method. In block 804, the SoC device, including the die or a controller of the computing device including the die, estimates power consumed by the region. At block 806 the SoC device, including the die or a controller of the computing device including the die, adjusts the temperature measurement based on the estimated power (i.e., calibrate the second thermal model).” Col 12 line 63- col 13 line 8).
Regarding Claim 12, Merrikh and Kim teaches the limitations of claim 11.
Merrikh further teaches wherein the calibrated second thermal model is a reiterated version of the first thermal model (“FIG. 8 is a process flow diagram 800 illustrating a method of correcting thermal sensor measurements on a die according to an aspect of the present disclosure. In block 802, a SoC device, including the die or a controller/processor of the computing device including the die, receives a temperature measurement of a region from a sensor. (i.e., first thermal model). For example, the SoC device may include a controller/processor to perform the steps of the method. In block 804, the SoC device, including the die or a controller of the computing device including the die, estimates power consumed by the region. At block 806 the SoC device, including the die or a controller of the computing device including the die, adjusts the temperature measurement based on the estimated power (i.e., the calibrated second thermal model is the reiterated version of the first model).” Col 12 line 63- col 13 line 8).
Regarding Claims 18 and 28, Merrikh and Kim teaches the limitation of claims 11 and 21.
Merrikh further teaches, wherein the instructions cause one or more of the at least one programmable circuitry to fit an equation to the second thermal model (“TSENScorr=TSENSraw +
Δ
Tcorr (5) (i.e., equation to fit to the second thermal model) where
Δ
Tcorr is the correction; TSENSraw is the raw reading of the temperature sensor, as shown in block 702; and TSENScorr is the accurate temperature reading.” Col. 12 line 25-29, where “other devices (e.g., the processor, system or local) for further processing to determine the correction
Δ
Tcorr and subsequently the accurate temperature reading (i.e., fit the second thermal model with the equation).” Col. 12 line 33-35.).
Regarding Claim 24, Merrick teaches the limitations of 21.
Merrikh does not teach wherein the programmable circuitry is to calibrate a third thermal model after a time duration of the SOC package being deployed.
Kim teaches wherein the programmable circuitry is to calibrate a third thermal model after a time duration of the SOC package being deployed (“a first temperature (i.e., thermal model) of the first circuit according to the first period (i.e., time duration), receive a second temperature (i.e., thermal model; the examiner notes that thermal model refers to data that reflects assumed or measured thermal parameters and/or behavior associated with a device, component, assembly and/or system as defined by the applicant in paragraph [0023] of the instant application.) from the temperature sensor according to the second period (i.e., time duration), calculate a third temperature based on (e.g., by correcting) the first temperature and the second temperature (i.e., calibrate a third thermal model) col.2 line 6-11.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the third thermal model discussed in Kim to the thermal apparatus and method discussed in Merrikh for the purpose of recalibrating the thermal model sometime period after the thermal apparatus has been running. It gives the advantage of allowing for dynamic power monitoring techniques to be implemented and be used to determine power levels periodically, over time, and allow for the timing of the monitoring may be adjusted based on a user's preferences or device needs (e.g., col. 1 line 46-49, Kim).
Regarding claim 30, Merrikh and Kim teach the limitations of claim 1.
Merrikh further teaches wherein the first model includes a first threshold corresponding to cooling the SOC package to a first degree and the second thermal model includes a second threshold corresponding to cooling the SOC package so a second degree, the second threshold replaces the first threshold, the second threshold different from the first threshold (col 6 lines 60- col 7 line 5 “In one example, when thermal management unit 335 compares the temperature to the temperature threshold, then determines that it is appropriate to lower a frequency of operation, thermal management unit 335 sends a control signal to clock control unit 312 instructing clock control unit 312 to reduce the frequency of operation. Furthermore, thermal management unit 335 may continue to monitor the temperature data from the digital signal and compare it to either the same or a different threshold (i.e., first and second threshold can be different), and when the temperature drops below either the same or a different threshold, thermal management unit 335 may increase the frequency of operation by sending another control signal to clock control unit 312.”; (col 12 lines 63- col 13 line 8 “FIG. 8 is a process flow diagram 800 illustrating a method of correcting thermal sensor measurements on a die, according to an aspect of the present disclosure. In block 802, a SoC device, including the die or a controller/processor of the computing device including the die, receives a temperature measurement of a region from a sensor. For example, the SoC device may include a controller/processor to perform the steps of the method. In block 804, the SoC device, including the die or a controller of the computing device including the die, estimates power consumed by the region. At block 806 the SoC device, including the die or a controller of the computing device including the die, adjusts the temperature measurement based on the estimated power.” Where col 13 lines 14-38 “The receiving means includes a computing device 100, the computer processor within the computing device 100, the package 240, the power management integrated circuit 210, the SoC 230, the one or more cores 231-234, the ADC 331, the operational amplifier 332, the clock control unit 312, the thermal management unit 335, and/or the on-chip circuitry 300. The temporal temperature sensor position offset error correction implementation further includes means for estimating power consumed by the region. The power estimating means includes a power monitor (e.g., digital power monitor/meter), the computing device 100, computer processor within the computing device 100, the package 240, the power management integrated circuit 210, the SoC 230, one or more cores 231-234, the ADC 331, the operational amplifier 332, the clock control unit 312, the thermal management unit 335, and/or the on-chip circuitry 300. The temporal temperature sensor position offset error correction implementation further includes means for adjusting. The adjusting means includes the computing device 100, the computer processor within the computing device 100, the package 240, the power management integrated circuit 210, the SoC 230, one or more cores 231-234, the ADC 331, the operational amplifier 332, the clock control unit 312, the thermal management unit 335, and/or the on-chip circuitry 300.” Where the thermal management unit is shown to be used with the initial temperatures (first model) and then again with the corrected/adjusted temperatures (corrected model).)
Regarding Claim 31, Merrikh and Kim teach the limitations of claim 30.
Merrikh further teaches changing clock speeds (col 6 lines 50-59 “Thermal management unit 335 may reduce the clock frequencies provided to the cores or increase the clock frequencies provided to the cores by sending commands to clock control unit 312. Clock control unit 312 may be physically a part of SoC 230 or separate therefrom, as the scope of aspects is not limited to any particular clocking architecture. Clock control unit 312 may control for instance a phase locked loop (PLL) or other appropriate circuit that provides a periodic clock signal in order to raise or lower the operating frequency of one or more of the cores 231-234.” Where the reduction or increase in clock frequency would be changing the clock speed).
Merrikh does not teach wherein the first threshold corresponds to a first clock speed, the second threshold corresponds to a second clock speed, and the second clock speed is higher than the first clock speed.
Kim teaches wherein the first threshold corresponds to a first clock speed, the second threshold corresponds to a second clock speed, and the second clock speed is higher than the first clock speed (col 14 lines 14-22 “Additionally, or alternatively, when the detected temperature T.sub.DET of the electric circuit 11 exceeds the first threshold value THR.sub.1, the thermal controller 16 may adjust power consumed by the electric circuit 11 as described below, thereby controlling the temperature of the electric circuit 11. In some embodiments, the first threshold value THR.sub.1 may be lower than a temperature limit or a critical temperature (e.g., T.sub.C of FIGS. 10A and 10B) of the electric circuit 11.” And Fig 10A and 10B. Where in Fig. 10A the threshold has been crossed and has a slow first clock speed corresponding to time periods P11a, P12a, and P13a, however after adjustments are made in regards to temperature thresholds, Fig 10B has a faster clock speed corresponding to shorter time periods at P11b, P12b, and P13b.; col 6 38-47 “As shown in FIG. 1, the thermal controller 16 may control the voltage generator 14 and adjust the magnitude of the positive supply voltage VDD, through a first control signal CTR1. Additionally, or alternatively, the thermal controller 16 may control the clock generator 15 and adjust the frequency of the clock signal CLK, through a second control signal CTR2. Controlling a temperature and/or power consumption by adjusting the magnitude of a supply voltage and the clock frequency as described above may be referred to as dynamic voltage frequency scaling (DVFS).”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the use of threshold dependent clock speeds as discussed in Kim to the thermal model circuitry discussed in Merrikh for the purpose of controlling the amount of power consumption used at a certain speed. This is advantageous because the temperature of the SOC can be controlled based on the amount of power consumed, allowing for temperature regulation of important circuits (e.g., Kim, col 6 paragraph 3).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/EMMA ALEXANDER/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2863
/Catherine T. Rastovski/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2857