Claim Objections
Claims 6, 9-11 are objected to under 37 CFR 1.75(c) as being in improper form and can’t depend on themselves. Claims needs to correctly renumbered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being taught by Piech (PGPUB 2018/0127236).
With respect to claim 1, Piech teaches Elevator counterweight assembly (14) comprising
- an electrical energy generator module (20) comprising at least one electric generator (26) for generating electrical power when an axis of said at least one generator is rotated;
- at least one mechanism (32) for converting a linear motion of said assembly into a rotatory motion for rotating the axis of said at least one electric generator;
- an accumulator module (60) for storing electrical power produced by said electrical energy generator module;
- a power transfer module (80, paragraph 0036) for discharging said accumulator module to at least one electric power sink external to said assembly; and
- a battery management unit (50; paragraph 0035; charges/discharges according to power unit and controller) for causing the power transfer module to discharge said accumulator.
Piech does not specifically teach causing the power transfer module to discharge said accumulator to a motor of said elevator if an accumulator charge level is below a threshold, and to discharge said accumulator module to another sink if said accumulator charge level is above said threshold. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have capacitor discharge to sink/to grid since it was known in the art of power circuitry.
With respect to claim 2, Piech teaches wherein said at least one mechanism for converting linear motion into rotatory motion comprises one among a bevel gear (paragraph 0027; 20 includes gears) or a worm gear, wherein a first axis of said bevel gear or said worm gear is mechanically connected to a shaft (inherent that shaft drives generator) of said at least one electric generator so as to induce a rotatory motion of said shaft of said at least one electric generator when said first axis rotates.
With respect to claim 3, Piech teaches wherein a second axis of said bevel gear or worm gear is connected to a wheel such that a rotation of said wheel induces rotation of said second axis, said wheel being adapted to be in contact with a surface parallel to a direction of motion of said assembly, (inherent that geared wheel drive shaft which drive generator) so that said wheel rotates when said assembly is in motion.
With respect to claim 4, Piech teaches wherein said surface is part of, or fixed to, a mechanical guide (paragraph 0014; guide rail) for said assembly, for guiding the assembly in its linear motion.
With respect to claim 5, Piech teaches wherein said accumulator module comprises at least one among: at least one super capacitor; at least one ultra capacitor; at least one battery (paragraph 007).
With respect to claim 6, Piech teaches wherein said power transfer module comprises at least one among: - contacts adapted (paragraph 009) to enter into electrical contact with corresponding contacts external to said assembly; or - an induction mat adapted to cooperate with another induction mat external to said assembly.
With respect to claim 7, Piech teaches further comprising a frame (18) for holding said electrical energy generator module and said accumulator module, the size of said frame being adjustable (paragraph 0028; holds various components and size) according at least one dimension.
With respect to claim 8, Piech does not teach wherein said electrical energy generator module comprises at least one plurality of generators, the shafts of said at least one plurality of generators being mechanically connected to form an alignment such that rotating the shaft of one generator induces rotation of the shaft of the other generators of said plurality of generators, wherein at least one shaft of the generators of said alignment is connected to one of said at least one mechanisms for converting a linear motion of said assembly into a rotatory motion.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to align shafts with plurality of generators, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
With respect to claim 9, Piech does not teach wherein said alignment of generators is arranged along a direction which is parallel or orthogonal compared to the intended direction of motion of said assembly. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to align shafts in parallel/orthogonal directions, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
With respect to claim 10, Piech does not teach comprising a plurality of alignments of generators arranged along parallel and/or orthogonal directions. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to align shafts in parallel/orthogonal directions, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
With respect to claim 11, Piech does not teach wherein respective mechanisms for converting a linear motion into a rotatory motion are provided at a first and a second shaft respectively at each extremity of an alignment of generators. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to align shafts with plurality of generators, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
With respect to claim 12, Piech does not teach further comprising at least one among: means for engaging and disengaging an element of said at least one mechanism for converting a linear motion of said assembly into a rotatory motion; a switch for opening and closing an electrical circuit for connecting and disconnecting all or part of the generators of said energy generator module from said accumulator module. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have switch connect/disconnect the generator, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
With respect to claim 13, Piech does not teach wherein said mechanism for converting a linear motion of said assembly into a rotatory motion comprises as part of a chain of transmission of motion at least one among a kinetic flywheel module and a continuously variable transmission module.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to generator to have flywheel or connect to cvt, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
With respect to claim 14, Piech teaches - a cabin (12); - a counterweight assembly according to claim 1; - a drive unit (20) mechanically connected to said cabin and said counterweight assembly through rope means (13).
With respect to claim 15, Piech teaches wherein said accumulator module comprises both at least one battery and at least one capacitor (paragraph 007), further comprising a battery management unit (50). Piech does not teach prioritizing the use of said at least one capacitor when the length of a run is below a given threshold and prioritizing the use of said at least one battery when said run is above said given threshold.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have one capacitor for above threshold and one capacitor for below since it was known in the art of power circuitry.
Conclusion
/ERICK D GLASS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2846