DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The rejections under 35 U.S.C. §112(a) of claims 1-25 are withdrawn in view of the amendments to claims 1-25.
Examiner acknowledges the amendments to the claims received on 8/5/2025 have been entered, and that no new matter has been added.
Response to Arguments
Argument 1: Applicant argues on page 13 in the filing on 8/5/2025 that the cited prior art does not teach “the functional module is adapted to be detachably connected via the plug to the connector of the first electrical communications interface of the control electronics of the centrifugal pump assembly,” in claim 1.
Response to Argument 1: Respectfully, the combination of Ward and Kamen teach the above. Applicant’s first argument focuses on “Kamen’s infusion pump connects to a dock,” and that the dock is not a pump. However, Kamen’s infusion pump connects to a dock that includes another pump, a microinfusion pump [Kamen 0037]. Thus, Kamen’s infusion sensor-pump is a functional module that connects and communicates via a plug to a dock-pump. See rejection below for more details.
Applicant’s second argument focuses on “how Ward’s flow meter could be modified to be “hot-swappable.” The combination of art is not precluded by physically combining them together. It is not necessary for “the Examiner [to] explain exactly how this could be accomplished.” A person of ordinary skill in the art would use the concept of a hot swappable sensor in a centrifugal pump system. A person of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to perform the combination because it provides the benefit of changing the functions of a system, improving flexibility and increasing usability.
Argument 2: Applicant argues on page 15 that the cited prior art does not teach “in response to the physical connection between the functional module and the control electronics of the centrifugal pump assembly,… the control electronics of the centrifugal pump assembly modifying the graphical user interface” in claim 1.
Response to Argument 2: Respectfully, the combination of Ward and Kamen teach the above. Kamen teaches a physical connection through a dock connector in 0423-0427. Once the physical connection is complete, data is automatically communicated: “if decision act 168 determines the handshake of act 166 was successful, act 169 communicates data [Kamen 0427].” Once data is being communicated, the type of pump is identified [0540], a user interface template is provided, and parameters are being communicated and displayed on the user interface [0539, Fig. 15, 134]. These steps occur without additional user intervention, thus the GUI of is updated automatically [see at least Fig. 15 steps 1102, 1104, 1106, 1108, 1110, and 1112]. See rejection below for more details.
Argument 3: Applicant argues on page 15 that the cited prior art is not analogous art.
Response to Argument 3: Respectfully, Kamen and Ward are analogous art. A person of ordinary skill in the art would look into all kinds of user interfaces, specifically looking into user interfaces of pump systems as a same field of endeavor. Kamen and Ward both involve user interfaces of pumps. Thus, they are analogous arts.
Furthermore, the “object of the [instant] invention is to simplify for the user access to a variable [PGPUB 0007].” Kamen also indicates that “This may be desirable… the ability to view all of the data… on one location [Kamen 0503].” Kamen is also simplifying for the user access to a variable [all of the data]. They are solving the same problem, and thus they are analogous arts.
This meets the claim limitations as currently claimed, and Applicant's Arguments 1-3 filed on 8/5/2025 are not persuasive. Applicant’s remaining statements regarding the remaining independent and dependent claims are moot or not persuasive for the reasons stated above.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: functional unit in claims 1, 3-8, and functional module in claims 1-2, 4, 8, 19-20, 22. The following is an analysis of the three-prong test for each of the limitations. Thus, the claimed limitations invoke 112(f) interpretation.
“Functional unit” are terms used as a substitute for "means," and are generic placeholders for performing the claimed functions of "that adds an additional function."
The generic placeholder "functional unit" is modified by functional language: "that adds an additional function."
The generic place holders " functional unit," are not modified by sufficient structure, performing the claimed function. There is no hardware described in the claims that perform the feature of "that adds an additional function."
Regarding “functional unit, ” instant application pg 7 line 30 to pg 8 line 2 recites “the functional unit can comprise at least one integrated sensor, for example a temperature, humidity, vibration or sound sensor.” The Examiner interprets “functional unit” to be a sensor.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “detachably connected.” What does the term “detachably connected” mean? It’s either detached, or it is connected. How can something be “detachably connected”? It is unclear to the examiner what this term means. Examiner interprets that the connection is detachable. Claim 25 recites similar issues.
Claims 2-24 are dependent claims, which inherit the clarity issues of their parent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9, 14, 16, 20-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ward et al., Patent Application Publication number US 20180291911 A1, (hereinafter “Ward”), in view of Kamen et al., Patent Application Publication number US 20130317753 A1 (hereinafter “Kamen”).
Claim 1: Ward teaches “A method for operating a functional module with control electronics of a centrifugal pump assembly to which it is connected (i.e. water appliance system… using a controller/controller circuitry and cooperatively but independently operable primary and backup pumping systems [Ward 0004]), the method comprising the steps of:
establishing a physical connection between a functional module and a control electronics of a centrifugal pump assembly (i.e. water appliance system… using a controller/controller circuitry and cooperatively but independently operable primary and backup pumping systems [Ward 0004]… a controller circuitry included in the electronic enclosure to provide pump level control [Ward 0086-0087, Fig. 2] note: a functional module is a functional unit [instant specification PGPUB 0024], which is a sensor [instant specification PGPUB 0020]. The pump in Fig. 2 includes sensors),
wherein the control electronics of the centrifugal pump assembly comprises a first memory, a first processor (i.e. controller circuitry may be hardware such as a processor… controller circuitry may also include a memory [Ward 0087])… and operating software with a graphical user interface for settings of the centrifugal pump assembly (i.e. a whole home water appliance operating system (OS) [Ward 0188, Fig. 26-27] note: settings menu, Fig. 26-27),
wherein the functional module comprises… at least one functional unit (i.e. the appliance system may include a single point or multipoint water sensor [Ward 0005]… a flow meter… may be in communication with the controller circuitry [Ward 0023]) that adds an additional function to the control electronics of the centrifugal pump assembly (i.e. total flow, as measured from the flow meter [Ward 0166]);…
the functional module,…transmitting values of attributes that describe properties of at least one variable of the at least one functional unit to the control electronics of the centrifugal pump assembly (i.e. sensor may be in communication with the controller circuitry. Communication may be wireless or wired and provide a signal indicative of the presence, or absence of liquid flowing through the water overflow outlet [Ward 0023]),…, and
generating, as a function of the attribute values transmitted by the functional module, using the image frame data (Ward Fig. 26 shows uniformly sized icons. Fig. 27 shows menus in uniform rows, and submenus in uniform indention column positions. It is noted that specification pg 11 lines 3-5 states that “image frame data constitute templates that the graphical user interface (GUI) uses to uniformly depict menus and submenus of the operating software of the control electronics”) and according to a set of rules (Ward Fig. 28 and 29 show attribute values in graph and table form. Both screens use the same template with: a status row on top, 3 tabs in the middle, a period selection in the bottom left, and an exit button in the bottom center. The rules to display the screen are to follow the template),… screen views that are independent of the operating software (Ward Fig. 28-29 are screens that show water usage and pump performance metrics. These metrics are from sensors, and their data is independent from the operating system), and
supplementing the graphical user interface by means of the… screen views at least temporarily (i.e. user may select an operational variable, such as a pressure, a temperature or a flow rate… Following selection by the user, the selected operational parameter is visually provided over time (T) of the x-axis on the trending graphic [Ward 0364, Fig. 28] Ward Fig. 28 shows supplementing values on a graph), and
showing the screen views, including a value of the variable integrated into one of the screen views, on a display (Ward Fig. 28-29 show values on a graph, and values on a table).”
Ward is silent regarding “an electrical communications interface adapted to receive the functional module,” “wherein the functional module comprises a second memory, a second processor, a second communications interface in the form of a plug,” and “wherein the functional module is adapted to be detachably connected via the plug to the connector of the first electrical communications interface of the control electronics of the centrifugal pump assembly, wherein the functional module is further adapted to be physically separate from the control electronics of the centrifugal pump assembly when disconnected from the control electronics of the centrifugal pump assembly;” and “in response to” the physical connection between the functional module and the control electronics of the centrifugal pump assembly, and “the at least one variable not being known to the control electronics of the centrifugal pump assembly in advance,” and “the control electronics of the centrifugal pump assembly modifying the graphical user interface,” and generating…“additional” screen views.
Kamen teaches “establishing a physical connection between a functional module and a control electronics of a…pump assembly (i.e. a patient-care device (e.g., an infusion pump) is hot-swappable in at least one of a dock, a hub, and/or a monitoring client connection [Kamen 0129]… a user-interface template for an infusion pump may define certain fields for displaying on a GUI, such as the present fluid-flow rate [Kamen 0539]… The hub may be further configured to control the patient-care device. The patient-care device may be one or more of an infusion pump, a pill dispenser, a microinfusion pump [Kamen 0037] note: the infusion pump is hot swappable into a dock that contains another pump, a microinfusion pump. Thus, the dock itself is also a pump system assembly),
wherein the control electronics of the centrifugal pump assembly comprises a first memory, a first processor (i.e. set of processor executable instructions configured for execution by one or more processors on the monitoring client [Kamen 0548]), a first electrical communications interface with a connector via which the functional module is pluggable into the control electronics (i.e. a patient-care device (e.g., an infusion pump) is hot-swappable in at least one of a dock, a hub, and/or a monitoring client connection [Kamen 0129] note: instant spec pg 25 lines 17-20 and instant Fig. 1 elements 16 and 26 shows two sides of one connection interface (two plugs that connect to each other). Likewise, Kamen’s “hot-swappable” indicates a plug connector on both pump and monitoring client. Kamen’s monitoring client has a hot-swappable plug connector as a first communications interface), and operating software with a graphical user interface for settings of the centrifugal pump assembly (i.e. display a user interface on a display of the monitoring client… to control the patient-care device by optionally sending parameters or values to the patient-care device, e.g., a bolus amount, an infusion flow rate [Kamen 0548]),
wherein the functional module comprises a second memory, a second processor (i.e. A processor within… an insulin pump, an infusion pump, and/or a patient-care device, may… update program to control and orchestrate the downloading a software into flash memory [Kamen 0500]), a second communications interface in the form of a plug (i.e. a patient-care device (e.g., an infusion pump) is hot-swappable in at least one of a dock, a hub, and/or a monitoring client connection [Kamen 0129] note: instant spec pg 25 lines 17-20 and instant Fig. 1 elements 16 and 26 shows two sides of one connection interface (two plugs that connect to each other). Likewise, Kamen’s “hot-swappable” indicates a plug connector on both pump and monitoring client. Kamen’s pump has a hot-swappable plug connector as a second communications interface), and at least one functional unit (i.e. a user-interface template for an infusion pump may define certain fields for displaying on a GUI, such as the present fluid-flow rate [Kamen 0539]) that adds an additional function to the control electronics of the centrifugal pump assembly (i.e. display a user interface on a display of the monitoring client… to control the patient-care device by optionally sending parameters or values to the patient-care device, e.g., a bolus amount, an infusion flow rate [Kamen 0548]);
wherein the functional module is adapted to be detachably connected via the plug to the connector of the first electrical communications interface of the control electronics of the centrifugal pump assembly (i.e. when the patient-care device's operation is interrupted in accordance with an embodiment of the present disclosure. For example, a patient-care device may be unplugged from a dock [Kamen 0512] note: unplugging interrupts the device, which indicates that there is one plug that keeps it powered on), wherein the functional module is further adapted to be physically separate from the control electronics of the centrifugal pump assembly when disconnected from the control electronics of the centrifugal pump assembly (i.e. a patient-care device (e.g., an infusion pump) is hot-swappable in at least one of a dock, a hub, and/or a monitoring client connection [Kamen 0129]);
in response to the physical connection between the functional module and the control electronics of the centrifugal pump assembly (i.e. Act 152 determines if the monitoring-client dock is available as a communications link between the monitoring client and the monitoring-client dock through a dock connector [Kamen 0423]… if decision act 168 determines the handshake of act 166 was successful, act 169 communicates data using a sufficient number of communications links determined to be available [Kamen 0427] note: Kamen’s dock is constantly awaiting a communication link through a dock connector, a physical connection. Once a physical connection/communication link is established, data is automatically begins to be communicated):
the functional module, at the request of the control electronics of the centrifugal pump assembly or unsolicited, transmitting values of attributes that describe properties of at least one variable of the at least one functional unit to the control electronics of the centrifugal pump assembly (i.e. Act 1120 communicates patient-care parameters between the patient-care device and the monitoring client [Kamen 0542]… infusion pump may define certain fields for displaying on a GUI, such as the present fluid-flow rate [Kamen 0539] note: parameters, such as fluid-flow rate are being transmitted), the at least one variable not being known to the control electronics of the centrifugal pump assembly in advance (i.e. a patient-care device (e.g., an infusion pump) is hot-swappable in at least one of a dock, a hub, and/or a monitoring client connection [Kamen 0129, above]… patient-care device may be an infusion pump, a pill dispenser, a microinfusion pump, an ECG monitor, a blood pressure monitor, a pulse oximeter, and/or a CO2 capometer, an intravenous bag, and a drip-flow meter. [Kamen 0043] note: 0043 and 0129 together, show a multitude of pumps that can be connected and disconnected through hot-swapping. Since the devices are physically disconnected when not plugged into the dock/monitoring device, the type of device that is connected/ swapped is not known in advance to the monitoring device), and
the control electronics of the centrifugal pump assembly modifying the graphical user interface (i.e. a user-interface template for an infusion pump may include a space for the present infusion rate; act 1112 displays, in this example, the present infusion rate (a patient-care parameter) on the display using the user-interface template [Kamen 0541]) by performing the following operations:
generating, as a function of the attribute values transmitted by the functional module, using the image frame data and according to a set of rules, additional screen views that are independent of the operating software (i.e. Act 152 determines if the monitoring-client dock is available as a communications link between the monitoring client and the monitoring-client dock through a dock connector [Kamen 0423]… if decision act 168 determines the handshake of act 166 was successful, act 169 communicates data using a sufficient number of communications links determined to be available [Kamen 0427] note: Kamen’s dock is constantly awaiting a communication link through a dock connector, a physical connection. Once a physical connection/communication link is established, data is automatically begins to be communicated) (i.e. the monitoring client may automatically identify a predetermined infusion pump [Kamen 0540]… user-interface template of the user interface of method 1100 provides a predefined display with specific fields for displaying patient-care parameters. For example, a user-interface template for an infusion pump may define certain fields for displaying on a GUI, such as the present fluid-flow rate. The user-interface template may also define an area on a display of the monitoring client for displaying the present fluid-flow rate as received from the infusion pump. The user-interface template may include layout information [0539, Fig. 15, Fig. 134] note: Kamen Fig. 15 at least steps 1102-1122 in the right column describe adding data from another device onto an existing, independent GUI, according templates. Note2: Fig. 15 steps 1102, 1104, 1106, 1108, 1110, and 1112 occur without additional user intervention. Thus the GUI of 1112 is updated automatically), and
supplementing the graphical user interface by means of the additional screen views at least temporarily (i.e. user-interface template may also define an area on a display of the monitoring client for displaying the present fluid-flow rate as received from the infusion pump [Kamen 0539, Fig. 15, Fig. 134] note: Kamen Fig. 15 at least steps 1102-1122 in the right column describe adding data from another device onto an existing GUI, according templates. Kamen Fig. 15 step 1122 displays the parameters on the UI), and
showing the screen views, including a value of the variable integrated into one of the screen views, on a display (i.e. user-interface template may also define an area on a display of the monitoring client for displaying the present fluid-flow rate as received from the infusion pump [Kamen 0539, Fig. 15, Fig. 134] note: Kamen Fig. 15 at least steps 1102-1122 in the right column describe adding data from another device onto an existing GUI, according templates. Kamen Fig. 15 step 1122 displays the parameters on the UI).”
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention/combination of Ward to include the feature of having the ability to hot-swap components as disclosed by Kamen.
One would have been motivated to do so, before the effective filing date of the invention because it provides the benefit of changing the functions of a system, improving flexibility and increasing usability.
Claim 2: Ward and Kamen teach all the limitations of claim 1, above. Kamen teaches “wherein a particular variable is a configurable operating parameter and the control electronics waits for user input that assigns the particular variable a value that is buffered in the control electronics, and transmitted to the functional module (i.e. may provide the user with editable default values derived from standard dosing [Kamen 0031]… first module may be configured to receive and store measured parameters pertaining to a patient's current condition [Kamen 0030]… a first data-gathering module (e.g., a monitoring client) and a second order-input module (e.g., a fixed or portable monitoring client) having a user interface for transmitting an order or receiving patient-related information).”
One would have been motivated to combine Ward and Kamen, before the effective filing date of the invention because it provides the benefit of configuring parameters, improving flexibility and increasing usability.
Claim 3: Ward and Kamen teach “The method according to claim 1, further comprising the steps of: integrating one or more identifiers corresponding to the at least one functional unit (Ward Fig. 25 shows identifier 620 “Flow Sensor: 85 gpm.” Ward Fig. 25 also shows another identifier 432 “Primary Pump: OFF”) into a superordinate screen view that is part of the operating software (i.e. user configurable trend graph report 2800 is a report type that may be accessed by user selection of a piece of equipment, such as primary pump 432 from the status screen 2500 [0363, Fig. 25, 28] note: identifier 620 “Flow Sensor” and identifier 432 “Primary Pump” are integrated and displayed in superordinate screen 2500), and a controller waiting for an activation or selection of one of the functional units via the corresponding identifier (i.e. user configurable trend graph report 2800 is a report type that may be accessed by user selection of a piece of equipment, such as primary pump 432 from the status screen 2500 [0363, Fig. 25, 28] note: selection of another piece of equipment, Flow Sensor, would bring up an equivalent report with Flow Sensor values).”
Claim 4: Ward and Kamen teach “The method according to claim 1, wherein the functional module comprises two or more functional units that each add respective additional function to the control electronics (i.e. emergency bypass sensor may be a pressure sensor, a conductivity sensor, a flow switch, float switch, a flow meter, a differential pressure sensor, or any other form of sensor capable of identifying a flow of liquid through the water overflow outlet [Ward 0023, Fig. 25] note: Fig. 25 shows at least a flow sensor 624 and pressure sensor 630 in the same system), and wherein each functional unit has respective attribute values for the at least one variable that the functional module transmits to the control electronics (i.e. flow meter 624… a flow rate of the municipal water is indicated in the status screen 2500 [Ward 0354, Fig. 25]… pressure sensor 630 may provide a pressure signal to the controller circuitry [Ward 0121, Fig. 25] note: Ward Fig. 25 shows values for flow at 85 gpm, and pressure at 65 psi).”
Claim 5: Ward and Kamen teach “The method according to claim 1, wherein a separate screen view is generated for each functional unit (i.e. trend graph report 2800 is a report type that may be accessed by user selection of a piece of equipment, such as primary pump 432 [Ward 0363, Fig. 28]… FIG. 29 is an example of a user configurable stats report 2900 for pump performance related process parameters… such as secondary pump 900 [Ward 0370, Fig. 29] note: disclosed is two different screens for two different pieces of equipment).”
Claim 6: Ward and Kamen teach “The method according to claim 5, further comprising the steps of: integrating an identifier of at least every variable of the at least one functional unit with read authorization in the respective screen view assigned to a particular functional unit (Ward Fig. 29 has an identifier row “date, time, amps, cycles, runtime, GPM, totals” that identifies every variable. The value of the variables are displayed, thus there is at least read authorization), and
a controller waiting for an activation or selection of one of the variables via a corresponding identifier (i.e. a user may select one of the operational parameter columns 2902, which will provide a pull down list of available measured and calculated process related parameters in the system available for the stats report. The user may select an operational variable, such as runtime, GPM, and the like from the pull down list [Ward 0371, Fig. 29] note: selection of the GPM variable via the corresponding operational parameter columns 2902).”
Claim 7: Ward and Kamen teach “The method according to claim 1, further comprising the steps of:
generating a subordinate screen view for the at least one variable (Ward Fig. 29 shows Flow in GPM) or for each variable that is subordinate to the screen view of the at least one functional unit to which the at least one variable is assigned, and
displaying a current value of the at least one variable in the subordinate screen view (i.e. a user configurable stats report 2900 for pump performance related process parameters. The user configurable stats report 2[9]00 may be accessed by user selection of a piece of equipment, such as secondary pump 900 from the status screen 2500 [0370, Fig. 25, 29] note: Fig. 29 is a subordinate screen view access from superordinate screen 2500. Current value of Flow).”
Claim 8: Ward and Kamen teach “The method according to claim 1, wherein the functional module comprises main attributes that describe one or more identifiers corresponding to the at least one functional unit (Ward Fig. 25 shows main attribute identifier “flow sensor” in gpm and “pressure” in psi that identifies the type of sensor by name and measurement unit) or the number of the variables of the functional unit, and the functional module transmits values of one or more main attributes to the control electronics that uses these values when generating the screen views (Ward Fig. 25 system status screen shows values “85 gpm” and “65 psi” transmitted from the flow sensor and pressure sensor to the controller).”
Claim 9: Ward and Kamen teach “The method according to claim 1, wherein the attributes of the at least one variable comprise one or more basic attributes (Ward Fig. 25 “Flow sensor.” Flow sensor is a plain text name of the variable. Instant specification pg 16 line 16-18 indicates “basic attributes can include… an attribute that specifies a plain text name of the variable) and at least one variable-specific attribute (Ward Fig. 25 “85 gpm,” Ward Fig. 29 “21 gpm.” GPM specifies the physical unit of the variable displayed in the subordinate screen. Instant specification pg 17 line 14-18 indicates “the variable-specific attributes can include… an attribute that specifies the physical unit of the variable to be displayed in the subordinate screen image”) that is/are dependent on one of the basic attributes (Ward Fig. 25 and 29 show the name “Flow sensor” and physical unit “gpm.” The physical unit is dependent on the name of the variable), wherein the at least one variable- specific attribute defines at least one of a first manner in which a corresponding variable is rendered in a corresponding screen image (Ward Fig. 25 “85 gpm,” Ward Fig. 29 “21 gpm.” Note: instant spec PGPUB 0063 discloses that “variable-specific attributes define… the form of the display of the variable value in the screen image (number format, places before and after the decimal point, physical unit).” Gpm is a physical unit) or a second manner in which the corresponding variable value is changed during the user input.”
Claim 14: Ward and Kamen teach “The method according to claim 1, further comprising the step of:
displaying a value of a particular variable in the screen view with a physical unit that is defined in an attribute of the variable (Ward Fig. 25 shows “Flow sensor: 85 gpm” and “Pressure: 65 psi”).”
Claim 16: Ward and Kamen teach “The method according at least to claim 2, further comprising the step of: the control electronics integrating a list of options defined by the attributes into the screen view for the user input if one of the attributes indicates that a data type of the particular variable is a selection list (i.e. a user may select one of the operational parameter columns 2902, which will provide a pull down list of available measured and calculated process related parameters in the system available for the stats report. The user may select an operational variable, such as runtime, GPM, and the like from the pull down list. Following selection by the user, the selected operational parameter is visually provided in the corresponding operational parameter column 2902 [Ward 0371]).”
Claim 20: Ward and Kamen teach “A functional module (i.e. water appliance system… using a controller/controller circuitry and cooperatively but independently operable primary and backup pumping systems [Ward 0004]) configured to carry out the method according to claim 1 (see rejection for claim 1, above).”
Claim 21: Ward and Kamen teach “A control electronics of a centrifugal pump assembly (i.e. water appliance system… using a controller/controller circuitry and cooperatively but independently operable primary and backup pumping systems [Ward 0004]) configured to carry out the method according to claim 1 (see rejection for claim 1, above).”
Claim 22: Ward and Kamen teach “A set comprising a control electronics according to claim 21 (see claim 21), and a first functional module and a second functional module both according to claim 20 (see claim 20),”
Kamen teaches “wherein the first and second functional modules differ in the function that they add to the control electronics, and can be selectively connected to the control electronics to the same communication interface of the control electronics (i.e. a patient-care device (e.g., an infusion pump) is hot-swappable [Kamen 0129, 0512, Fig. 111-114]… patient-care device may be an infusion pump, a pill dispenser, a microinfusion pump, an ECG monitor, a blood pressure monitor, a pulse oximeter, and/or a CO2 capometer, an intravenous bag, and a drip-flow meter. [Kamen 0043] note: Fig. 111-114 shows multiple modules in a set. 0043 shows different types of modules that may be hot-swapped in).”
One would have been motivated to combine Ward and Kamen, before the effective filing date of the invention because it provides the benefit of having the ability to swap components, changing the functions of a system, improving flexibility and increasing usability.
Claim 23: Ward and Kamen teach all the limitations of claim 9, above. Ward teaches “wherein the one or more basic attributes specify at least one of:
a plain text name of the at least one variable (Ward Fig. 25 “Flow sensor.” Flow sensor is a plain text name of the variable. Instant specification pg 16 line 16-18 indicates “basic attributes can include… an attribute that specifies a plain text name of the variable);
read and/or write privileges for the at least one variable;
whether the at least one variable includes a single value or a field with single values;
a type of the at least one variable as one of a numerical value (Ward Fig. 25 “85 gpm,” Ward Fig. 29 “21 gpm.” GPM also specifies the type being a numerical value), a list elements of a selection list, or a character string;
a first data type of the at least one variable used for storage purposes as one of an integer, a floating point number, or a value indicating how many bits represent an operating parameter value; or
a current value of the variable.”
Claim 24: Ward and Kamen teach all the limitations of claim 9, above. Ward teaches “wherein the one or more basic attributes indicate that the type of at least one variable type is a numerical value;
wherein the at least one variable-specific attributes specifies at least one of:
a status of a physical unit of the at least one variable to be displayed in the subordinate screen image (Ward Fig. 25 “85 gpm,” Ward Fig. 29 “21 gpm.” GPM specifies the physical unit of the variable displayed in the subordinate screen);
a status of a physical unit of the at least one variable to be used for calculations;
a maximum setting value of the at least one variable for user input;
a minimum setting value of the at least one variable for user input;
a step size of a change in the at least one variable for user input;
a number format of the value of the at least one variable to be displayed in the generated screen image;
a number of decimal places to be displayed in the generated screen image; or
a number of places in front of a decimal point to be displayed in the generated screen image.”
Claim 25: Ward and Kamen teach a system (i.e. water appliance system… using a controller/controller circuitry and cooperatively but independently operable primary and backup pumping systems [Ward 0004]) comprising operations corresponding to the method of claim 1; therefore, it is rejected under the same rationale.
Claims 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ward, in view of Kamen, in view of Ferguson et al., Patent Application Publication number US 20060005127 A1 (hereinafter “Ferguson”).
Claim 10: Ward and Kamen teach all the limitations of claim 1, above. Ward and Kamen are silent regarding “further comprising the step of: padding a display of a value of a particular variable in the screen view with leading zeros if the value of the particular variable has a number of places before the decimal point that is less than a number of digits before the decimal point to be displayed that is defined in an attribute of the variable.”
Ferguson teaches “further comprising the step of: padding a display of a value of a particular variable in the screen view with leading zeros if the value of the variable has a number of places before the decimal point that is less than a number of digits before the decimal point to be displayed that is defined in an attribute of the variable (i.e. data item may be defined using attributes… A data item pattern may be… defined by a user… data item attributes include: a leading zero attribute, such a Boolean value indicating if a numeric value should have leading zeros [Ferguson 0034-0038]… Display or suppress leading zeros… The customer is able to determine how many leading zeros to display [Ferguson 0098-0099]).”
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Ward and Kamen to include the feature of having the ability to format data as disclosed by Ferguson.
One would have been motivated to do so, before the effective filing date of the invention because it provides the benefit of formatting the data on the display for better readability and user understanding.
Claim 11: Ward and Kamen teach all the limitations of claim 1, above. Ward and Kamen are silent regarding “further comprising the step of: limiting a display of a value of a particular variable in the screen view to a number of decimal places to be displayed that is defined in an attribute of the variable.”
Ferguson teaches “further comprising the step of: limiting the display of the value of the variable in the screen view to a number of decimal places to be displayed that is defined in an attribute of the variable (i.e. data item may be defined using attributes… A data item pattern may be… defined by a user… data item attributes include: a decimal attribute, such as an integer value indicating the number of digits to the right of a decimal in a number value [Ferguson 0034-0038]).”
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Ward and Kamen to include the feature of having the ability to format data as disclosed by Ferguson.
One would have been motivated to do so, before the effective filing date of the invention because it provides the benefit of formatting the data on the display for better readability and user understanding.
Claims 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ward, in view of Kamen, in view of Martin et al., Patent Application Publication number US 20120174002 A1 (hereinafter “Martin”).
Claim 12: Ward and Kamen teach all the limitations of claim 2, above. Ward and Kamen are silent regarding “further comprising the step of: limiting a value range that can be entered during the user input to a minimum and/or maximum setting value of the variable that is/are each defined in an attribute of the variable.”
Martin teaches “further comprising the step of: limiting a value range that can be entered during the user input to a minimum and/or maximum setting value of the variable that is/are each defined in an attribute of the variable (i.e. Example user inputs to the visualization authoring environment for adding widgets are described below:… add a Slider (horizontal) widget. Call it Price Range, and apply the following settings: Minimum=0, Maximum=600, Step Size=25, Shade=Left [Martin 0322-0327] note: users input into the price (variable) of the widget are limited to the (attribute) values of a minimum of 0 and a maximum of 600).”
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Ward and Kamen to include the feature of having the ability to limit data input as disclosed by Martin.
One would have been motivated to do so, before the effective filing date of the invention because it provides the benefit of formatting the data on the display for better readability and user understanding, as well as the benefit of bounding a variable within permissible ranges.
Claim 13: Ward and Kamen teach all the limitations of claim 2, above. Ward and Kamen are silent regarding “further comprising the step of: setting an input of a value of a particular variable during a user input procedure to a step size that is defined in an attribute of the variable.”
Martin teaches “further comprising the step of: setting an input of a value of a particular variable during a user input procedure to a step size that is defined in an attribute of the variable (i.e. Example user inputs to the visualization authoring environment for adding widgets are described below:… add a Slider (horizontal) widget. Call it Price Range, and apply the following settings: Minimum=0, Maximum=600, Step Size=25, Shade=Left [Martin 0322-0327]).”
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Ward and Kamen to include the feature of having the ability to limit data input as disclosed by Martin.
One would have been motivated to do so, before the effective filing date of the invention because it provides the benefit of formatting the data on the display for better readability and user understanding, as well as the benefit enabling control of the granularity with which the variable may be changed.
Claims 15, 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ward, in view of Kamen, in view of Lee et al., Patent Application Publication number US 20200293164 A1 (hereinafter “Lee”).
Claim 15: Ward and Kamen teach all the limitations of claim 2, above. Ward and Kamen are silent regarding “further comprising the step of: the control electronics activating a numeric editor for the user input if one of the attributes indicates that a data type of the particular variable is numeric.”
Lee teaches “further comprising the step of: the control electronics activating a numeric editor for the user input if one of the attributes indicates that a data type of the particular variable is numeric (i.e. the element data associated with the input box… input element 320… include… one or more attributes, parameters and values specifying the input data type and format (i.e., input type attributes such as “number” or “tel” (if supported)) and restrictions on the input data (i.e. size input attributes with max and min values) consistent with of a valid telephone number comprising 10 (ten) numerical characters [Lee 0054, Fig. 3A-3E]… the user has the option to manually insert a phone number in input box 320 or to copy and paste the telephone number [Lee 0053]).”
It would have been obvious to a person of o