Status of Claims
Claims 23, 24, 39, 42 have been amended.
Claims 1 – 22, 25, 30 – 36, 38 have been cancelled.
Claims 44 – 50 are new.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(a)
Claims 43, 44 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
In regards to claims 43, 44, the Examiner asserts that the following is new matter:
“…wherein the more than one sub-system data is transmitted over a telenet stream”
(emphasis added)
The Examiner refers to ¶ 49 of the applicant’s specification and finds that the specification only provides support for “Telnet” stream and not “telenet” stream, which is a different technology. In light of the specification and for the purposes of compact prosecution, the Examiner will interpret claims 43, 44 as “Telnet” and not “telenet”, however, appropriate corrections are still required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 23, 24, 26 – 29, 37, 39 – 44, 47 – 50 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sinha et al. (US PGPub 2017/0284691 A1) in view of arcserve (4 Areas Where Multi-core Processing Really Matters) in view of Rochford (WO 2018/128475 A1) in further view of Home Assistant ([Component] Control4 Integration).
In regards to claim 23, Sinha discloses a method for managing building subsystems comprising the steps of:
transmitting from more than one sub-system data related to elements of the sub-systems to more than one servers, wherein the more than one-subsystem data includes level, name, and information inherent to the elements and of the subsystems to provide active listening, wherein a first element from a first sub-system is a thermostat, wherein a second element from a second sub-system is lighting, wherein the first sub-system and the second sub-system are part of a building (¶ 2, 3, 22, 23, 25, 46, 28, 85, 86, 87, 126, 137 wherein the BMS is configured to manage and communicate with a plurality of IoT devices, i.e. a plurality of elements, within a building, such as, but not limited to, temperature sensors, pressure sensors, etc., configured to measure the temperature of a building and allow for the determination of whether the temperature should be adjusted as well as HVAC equipment, actuators, robots, health monitoring devices, water leakage sensors, lights, and other smart/non-smart devices and IoT devices and wherein each building has its own BMS to control the respective building, thereby resulting each building and its respective BMS having one or more systems and sub-systems that can be monitored and managed and the necessary data to allow the system to specifically monitor, diagnose, troubleshoot, and service a building based on the data that each IoT device is transmitting that corresponds to a particular performance and data type so that a corresponding action can be taken.
Fig. 4 – 7, 10, 12, 13, 14, 15, 17; ¶ 28, 44, 45, 47, 49, 50, 51, 53, 54, 56, 83, 85, 86, 87, 88, 90, 92, 155 wherein servers are monitoring, diagnosing, troubleshooting, servicing, and storing information pertaining to the state of the building and remotely connected devices and assist with their management, as well as control of the remote devices, such as smart connected devices, located throughout the building(s) to manage the state of the building(s),e.g., temperature, in addition to a plurality of corresponding sub-plants, i.e. sub-systems.
¶ 53, 60, 68, 79, 84, 97, 98, 99, 106 wherein the information transmission and analysis are performed in real-time or almost real-time, thereby providing active listening
¶ 85 “The smart connected devices 1102 can include one or more devices within a BMS, and particularly "smart devices" such as the smart HVAC equipment 408, described above. As shown in FIG. 11, the smart devices can include sensors 1120, actuators 1122, smart equipment 1124, smart buildings 1126, and the like. According to one embodiment, a smart connected device 1102 includes any device which has communication capabilities, computing power, and that is capable of making decisions at a local level (e.g., in a limited context, etc.). Communication with the smart connected devices 1102 may be through any wireless or wired communication protocol.”
¶ 86 “Smart connected devices 1102 may further include actuators, dampers, chillers, heaters, rooftop units (RTU), air handling units (AHU), and/or any other type of equipment or device that can be installed within a building (e.g., fans, pumps, valves, etc.). Although the present invention is described primarily with reference to HVAC equipment, it should be understood that the systems and methods described herein may be applicable to a wide variety of building equipment and other types of connected devices (e.g., HVAC equipment, LED lights, mobile phones, tablets, computers, elevators, fire safety systems, smart street lamps, cars, televisions, security systems, refrigerators, music systems, printers, washing machines, dish washers, coffee makers, etc.) with embedded intelligence and communication capabilities.”
¶ 89 “Inbound connections may not be typically allowed for cybersecurity considerations; however, in some instances, secured and controlled inbound messaging is used to drive actions at the device level that may be facilitated by the IoT platform 1140. In one example, the gateway 1128 may leverage an organization's internal technology infrastructure and/or a public telemetry infrastructure to provide a secure and controlled inbound messaging scheme.”
¶ 112 “Multi-layered and multidimensional intrusion detection and prevention mechanisms may provide security at the device level, the data level, the network level, and/or the application level.”
¶ 113 “Each device and/or every data transaction associated with the IoT platform 1140 may have a unique identity which may provide easy traceability and enable authentication.”
Page 15, Table 4 “Friendly identifier. Identifies the device name in IoT Hub.”
¶ 153 “At process block 1604, the new device may be registered with the IoT environment. In one embodiment, an API is used to register the device. For example, the application API 1460 may register the device. The application API 1460 may require the firmware token obtained at process block 1602. The application API 1460 may further require a unique device ID to be provided, that is associated with the new device to be registered. In one embodiment, the unique device ID is provided by the device manufacturer. For example, the unique device ID may be located on the device itself for reference. In one embodiment, the unique device ID is a media access control (MAC) address. In other embodiments, the unique device ID may be a device serial number, a device ID code, or other unique identifier. Once the proper authentication has been provided (e.g. the firmware token and the unique device ID), the device will be registered within a document database of the IoT environment associated with the security API 1440, such as via device storage 1446. The document database may contain a list of all devices registered within the IoT environment.”
With regards to the first element being a thermostat, see the additional analysis provided below);
receiving at a first server data from the first sub-subsystem (¶ 50, 51, 92 wherein the network includes, at least, any number of: gateway, network switches, routers, servers, devices (such as, but not limited to those discussed above);
Fig. 4 – 7, 10, 12, 13, 14, 15, 17; ¶ 28, 44, 45, 47, 49, 50, 51, 53, 54, 56, 83, 85, 86, 87, 88, 90, 92, 155 wherein servers are monitoring, diagnosing, troubleshooting, servicing, and storing information pertaining to the state of the building and remotely connected devices and assist with their management, as well as control of the remote devices, such as smart connected devices, located throughout the building(s) to manage the state of the building(s),e.g., temperature, in addition to a plurality of corresponding sub-plants, i.e. sub-systems.);
processing by the first server the data received from the first sub-system by, determining a number of diagnostic sessions and a number of analytics sessions as a function of a count of processor cores, running a plurality of diagnostics sessions and analytics sessions concurrently on the data received from the first sub-system to respectively diagnose instances and analyze instances in the received data to form processed data, wherein the number of diagnostic sessions and analytic sessions are evenly spread over the cores of the first server (¶ 49, 53, 63, 79, 80, 81 wherein diagnostic information is provided for each respective element; ¶ 47, 53, 54, 57, 63 wherein analytics information for each respective element is provided; ¶ 50, 51, 92 wherein the network includes, at least, any number of: gateway, network switches, routers, servers, devices (such as, but not limited to those discussed above);
Fig. 4 – 7, 10, 12, 13, 14, 15, 17; ¶ 28, 44, 45, 47, 49, 50, 51, 53, 54, 56, 83, 85, 86, 87, 88, 90, 92, 155 wherein servers are monitoring, diagnosing, troubleshooting, servicing, and storing information pertaining to the state of the building and remotely connected devices and assist with their management, as well as control of the remote devices, such as smart connected devices, located throughout the building(s) to manage the state of the building(s),e.g., temperature, in addition to a plurality of corresponding sub-plants, i.e. sub-systems.;
In light of the specification (¶ 60, 65, 66, 68), the Examiner asserts that the invention is simply capable of being performed using one or more servers that may be hardware, software, or a combination thereof. With that said, Sinha at ¶ 51 which discloses that “Network 404 may include any number of computing devices (e.g., computers, servers, routers, network switches, etc.) configured to transmit, receive, or relay data. Network 404 may further include any number of hardwired and/or wireless connections. For example, smart connected HVAC equipment 408 may communicate wirelessly (e.g., using a Wi-Fi_33 or cellular radio, etc.) with a transceiver that is hardwired (e.g., via a fiber optic cable, a CAT5 cable, etc.) to a computing device of network 404.”; ¶ 90 also discloses “…the gateway 1128 includes a number of field gateway aspects that primarily interface with devices and cloud-based servers.”; see also ¶ 92;
Additionally, with regards to “determining a number of diagnostic sessions and a number of analytics sessions as a function of a count of processor cores, running a plurality of diagnostics sessions and analytics sessions concurrently on the data received from the first sub-system to respectively diagnose instances and analyze instances in the received data to form processed data”, see ¶ 93 “IoT platform 1140 of ecosystem 1100 may include a network of physical objects or "things" embedded with electronics, software, sensors, and/or network connectivity that enable such objects to collect and exchange data. The loT platform 1140 may facilitate linking the physical and digital world by allowing remote sensing and control of devices across new and/or previously existing communication infrastructure. The IoT platform 1140 represents components and technologies that may enable delivering an end-to-end solution for IoT enabled products and services. The IoT platform 1140 also can include various processes and applications, which may further be utilized in creating and maintaining an IoT ecosystem 1100.”; ¶ 105 “Analytics technology concept 114 may include a massively parallel analytics module 1158. The massively parallel data analytics module 1158 may include multiple processors configured to run analytical processing. The massively parallel data analytics module 1158 may divide large data sets into smaller segments that are analyzed (e.g., operated on, etc.) by specifically assigned processors (e.g., with their own operating system and memory, etc.). Messaging interfaces may aggregate the results following the analysis by each processor. Such a system may allow for improvements in processing and flexible scalability.”; See also ¶ 53, 82, 83, 85, 89, 91, 92; Page 24, Table 18 In the event that the applicant disagrees with this analysis, the Examiner has provided an additional analysis in view of arcserve to more explicitly teach this aspect of the claimed invention.
As a result, although Sinha does not disclose the limitation word for word (e.g., “sub-system”, previously recited “PI” server (previously amended to now recite “server), “session”, and “driver”) in light of the applicant’s specification, the Examiner asserts that Sinha does, indeed, disclose the specific combination of elements of the claimed limitation as supported by the broad recitation of possibilities disclosed in the specification(e.g., the broad concept of what is involved in the “diagnostics session” and “analytics session”). In other words, Sinha discloses the claimed invention in the manner that it has been described and supported in the specification.);
In regards to:
transmitting the processed data received from the first sub-system to a hub operably connected to more than on servers;
receiving at the hub the processed data received from the first sub-system, wherein the processed data from the first subsystem has undergone multiple diagnostic sessions in multiple streams to diagnose instances and multiple analytic sessions in multiple streams to analyze instances
(¶ 94, 119, 147, 165 wherein information is communicating from a smart device to a network device, e.g., NAT, firewall, router, etc., and hub;
Fig. 4 – 7, 10, 12, 13, 14, 15, 17; ¶ 28, 44, 45, 47, 49, 50, 51, 53, 54, 56, 83, 85, 86, 87, 88, 90, 92, 155 wherein servers are monitoring, diagnosing, troubleshooting, servicing, and storing information pertaining to the state of the building and remotely connected devices and assist with their management, as well as control of the remote devices, such as smart connected devices, located throughout the building(s) to manage the state of the building(s),e.g., temperature, in addition to a plurality of corresponding sub-plants, i.e. sub-systems.
¶ 58, 59, 60, 68, 79, 84, 106 wherein the system is continuously collecting and analyzing in real-time over time for each of the plurality of elements that it is monitoring, diagnosing, and analyzing, i.e. the diagnostics and analytics is comprised of running multiple session in multiple streams to diagnose and analyze instances; ¶ 2, 3, 22, 23, 25, 46, 28, 85, 86, 87, 126, 137 wherein the BMS is configured to manage and communicate with a plurality of IoT devices, i.e. a plurality of elements, within a building, such as, but not limited to, temperature sensors, pressure sensors, etc., configured to measure the temperature of a building and allow for the determination of whether the temperature should be adjusted as well as HVAC equipment, actuators, robots, health monitoring devices, water leakage sensors, lights, and other smart/non-smart devices and IoT devices and wherein each building has its own BMS to control the respective building, thereby resulting each building and its respective BMS having one or more systems and sub-systems that can be monitored and managed.; Fig. 4 – 7, 10, 12, 13, 14, 15, 17; ¶ 28, 44, 45, 47, 49, 50, 51, 53, 54, 56, 83, 85, 86, 87, 88, 90, 92, 155 wherein servers are monitoring, diagnosing, troubleshooting, servicing, and storing information pertaining to the state of the building and remotely connected devices and assist with their management, as well as control of the remote devices, such as smart connected devices, located throughout the building(s) to manage the state of the building(s),e.g., temperature, in addition to a plurality of corresponding sub-plants, i.e. sub-systems.
Additionally, with regards to “receiving at the hub the processed data received from the first sub-system, wherein the processed data from the first subsystem has undergone multiple diagnostic sessions in multiple streams to diagnose instances and multiple analytic sessions in multiple streams to analyze instances ”, see ¶ 93 “IoT platform 1140 of ecosystem 1100 may include a network of physical objects or "things" embedded with electronics, software, sensors, and/or network connectivity that enable such objects to collect and exchange data. The loT platform 1140 may facilitate linking the physical and digital world by allowing remote sensing and control of devices across new and/or previously existing communication infrastructure. The IoT platform 1140 represents components and technologies that may enable delivering an end-to-end solution for IoT enabled products and services. The IoT platform 1140 also can include various processes and applications, which may further be utilized in creating and maintaining an IoT ecosystem 1100.”; ¶ 105 “Analytics technology concept 114 may include a massively parallel analytics module 1158. The massively parallel data analytics module 1158 may include multiple processors configured to run analytical processing. The massively parallel data analytics module 1158 may divide large data sets into smaller segments that are analyzed (e.g., operated on, etc.) by specifically assigned processors (e.g., with their own operating system and memory, etc.). Messaging interfaces may aggregate the results following the analysis by each processor. Such a system may allow for improvements in processing and flexible scalability.”; See also ¶ 53, 82, 83, 85, 89, 91, 92; In the event that the applicant disagrees with this analysis, the Examiner has provided an additional analysis in view of arcserve to more explicitly teach this aspect of the claimed invention.);
transmitting a command from a control user interface to the hub based on the processed data received from the first sub-system, wherein the command is selected from a group comprising heating and cooling setpoints, mode of operations and fan speed (¶ 94, 119, 147, 165 wherein information is communicating from a smart device to a network device, e.g., NAT, firewall, router, etc., and hub;
¶ 2, 3, 22, 23, 25, 46, 28, 85, 86, 87, 126, 137 wherein the BMS is configured to manage and communicate with a plurality of IoT devices, i.e. a plurality of elements, within a building, such as, but not limited to, temperature sensors, pressure sensors, etc., configured to measure the temperature of a building and allow for the determination of whether the temperature should be adjusted as well as HVAC equipment, actuators, robots, health monitoring devices, water leakage sensors, lights, and other smart/non-smart devices and IoT devices and wherein each building has its own BMS to control the respective building, thereby resulting each building and its respective BMS having one or more systems and sub-systems that can be monitored and managed;
¶ 47, 49, 53, 54, 57, 63, 79, 80, 81, 98, 108 wherein the system allows for monitoring and searching of individual building systems elements to help identify, diagnose, troubleshoot and solve building system failures;
¶ 90 “The field gateway aspects can enable gateway 1128 to perform high scale telemetry ingestion, device identification, device management, and cloud-to-device commanding (e.g., when allowed).”; ¶ 94 “In some embodiments, the cloud-based server 1210 is used to send updated and/or commands to the special purpose devices 1202 and/or smart devices 1204.”; see also ¶ 29, 41, 45, 87, 95, 120, 148; Table 4 wherein commands can be sent to the remote devices from the central system to update or control the devices remotely, such as, but not limited to, flow rate, temperature, heating/cooling, setpoint conditions, and so forth
Fig. 4 – 7, 10, 12, 13, 14, 15, 17; ¶ 28, 44, 45, 47, 49, 50, 51, 53, 54, 56, 83, 85, 86, 87, 88, 90, 92, 155 wherein Sinha discloses equivalent servers as they are monitoring, diagnose, troubleshoot, servicing, and storing information pertaining to the state of the building and remotely connected devices and assist with their management, as well as control of the remote devices, such as smart connected devices, located throughout the building(s) to manage the state of the building(s),e.g., temperature, in addition to a plurality of corresponding sub-plants, i.e. sub-systems;
¶ 26, 46, 63, 120 regarding remote user access and access rights to manage the building and remote devices, as well as provide a visually clean and intuited view of the building operations and the ability to resolve issues in real-time via a monitoring and control interface);
In regards to:
transmitting the command to a driver platform to parse the command into a usable format to control the thermostat, […];
parsing the command into the usable format to control the thermostat;
sending the command parsed into the usable format to control the thermostat to the thermostat; and
changing the thermostat based on the command parsed into the usable format to control the thermostat from the driver platform
(¶ 50 “Gateway 406 may use various Internet-based protocols (e.g., CoAP, XMPP, AMQP, MQTT, etc.) and web-based common data exchange (e.g., HTTP RESTful APIs) to translate communications from a building automation system protocol to an Internet Protocol”; “¶ 87 “For example, the gateway 1128 may provide protocol conversions that make legacy non-IP enabled devices able to be accessed through modern web/IP protocols (e.g., converting BACnet Serial to CoAP, MQTT, or AMQP).”; 89 “In a further embodiment, the gateway 1128 is configured to provide protocol conversion services, network address conversion services, containers for messages, applications to understand different protocols such as Bluetooth, Zigbee, Z-wave, BACNet, etc., and/or any other user installed application.”; ¶ 91 “The protocol handlers 1134 may facilitate the translation of data received over the multiple communication protocols into a uniform, understandable, and/or useable format.”;
¶ 26, 46, 60, 63, 120 regarding remote user access and access rights to manage the building and remote devices, as well as provide a visually clean and intuited view of the building operations and the ability to resolve issues in real-time via a monitoring and control interface
¶ 25, 83, 85, 86 regarding the use of a wide range of Internet of Things (IoT) devices and IoT framework for integration and control of smart devices with the BMS, wherein each IoT device is designed to perform specific tasks and provide specific information, e.g., temperature sensor, dampers, chillers, heaters, RTU, AHU, fans, and so forth.
With regards to the first and second elements being a thermostat and lighting, respectively, see the additional analysis provided below.
The system allows for all of these devices, which can have their own respective communication protocol and computer code, to communicate with the system to monitor the state of the building and view the state in an interface to allow the system and a user to determine, for example, the temperature and air flow at a particular location (i.e. computer code is being translated from the IoT code to the BMS code and user understandable language (for example, English), issue a command to the remote device which involves translating/converting the command into code understandable by the specific device. Sinha discloses a wide range of devices (as discussed above) that each have their own corresponding function, e.g., increase fan speed, activate chiller, engage damper, and etc., which would require a command issued by the central system to lower the temperature to result in the command to be translated/converted in a manner to be understandable by each respective device, e.g., the command to lower the temperature or activate the cooling system would require the command to be translated for the fan to turn on, dampers to open or close, the chiller and its components to turn on, and valves to open or close. Each of these devices must have the command translated so that it is understandable by the device, e.g., if zoning is required a command to fully close, certain dampers to fully open, and certain dampers to be somewhere in between (which would require more than simply open or close an electrical switch to allow or stop the flow of electricity. The command needs to be translated to provide the specific instructions so that each damper can operate in the specific manner to coincide with the change) which would not be understandable by a fan that simply needs to allow the flow of electricity to turn on or, if it is a variable speed fan, the command needs to be translated in a manner for the fan to understand at what RPM it needs to operate.
The Examiner asserts that this is done by drivers and although not explicitly recited in Sinha, the Examiner asserts that this is inherently included. The Examiner also invites the applicant to review the provided NPL’s that explain that a driver is what allows one system to communicate with connected devices by serving as a translator, thereby further establishing that the system of Sinha would require the use of a driver to be able to communicate and control the wide range of smart devices, smart connected devices, and non-smart connected things, and etc.
However, in the interest of compact prosecution, the Examiner has provided Home Assistant to more explicitly teach that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that drivers need to be installed in a remote-control device and automation system, such as the one of Sinha, to integrate and control the remote devices.).
Sinha discloses a system and method for monitoring, managing, and controlling a plurality of devices in a building, such as, but not limited to, temperature sensors, pressure sensors, etc., configured to measure the temperature of a building and allow for the determination of whether the temperature should be adjusted as well as HVAC equipment, actuators, robots, health monitoring devices, water leakage sensors, lights, and other smart/non-smart devices and IoT devices. As stated above, although one of ordinary skill in the art of computing, e.g., multi-core and multi-thread computer processing, looking upon Sinha would have found that Sinha does, indeed, disclose the emphasized portions of the limitations below, the Examiner has provided an additional analysis in view of arcserve to more explicitly teach this aspect of the invention, i.e. that it is well-known and obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, based on the available technology, to utilize a multi-core server to process multiple streams of information.
To be more specific, Sinha fails to explicitly disclose:
processing by the first server the data received from the first sub-system by, determining a number of diagnostic sessions and a number of analytics sessions as a function of a count of processor cores, running a plurality of diagnostics sessions and analytics sessions concurrently on the data received from the first sub-system to respectively diagnose instances and analyze instances in the received data to form processed data, wherein the number of diagnostic sessions and analytic sessions are evenly spread over the cores of the first server
receiving at the hub the processed data received from the first sub-system, wherein the processed data from the first subsystem has undergone multiple diagnostic sessions in multiple streams to diagnose instances and multiple analytic sessions in multiple streams to analyze instances
However, arcserve teaches
“… Around 2004, something odd happened: while the number of transistors on the CPU continued to increase, processor clock speeds began to flatten. Performance continued to improve, but what was driving the interest in cores over clock speed? Enter the Multi-Core CPU The race between Intel and AMD continued, but the game had changed from clock speeds to multi-core chips. Around this time I traded in my single core Intel Pentium III for dual-core AMD chips running at a slower clock speed. Overall stability of my system increased along with performance, but few programs existed that could take advantage of more than a single core. While some games and a number of post-production tools such as Adobe Premiere are able to take advantage of today’s newest consumer-grade quad and hexa-core CPUs, I wanted to find out under which scenarios multi-core servers make sense to deploy today. Virtualization Memory management is critical when managing VMs, and is usually the first resource to become constrained. Using multi-core CPUs provides an increase in memory channels, allowing for large blocks of data to be processed and analyzed. Allowing the processor to access this data from memory instead of the hard drive results in much better performance. Multi-core servers also allow you to dedicate individual cores to each VM for better performance. Combine the additional memory channels with more cores and you have an environment that can handle the most demanding applications in a VM. High-Performance Computing High-performance computing (HPC) refers the practice of taking complex computations and breaking them into smaller pieces. Using software, each piece of the computation can then be solved by CPU cores. It’s almost like taking a supercomputer and breaking it down into smaller, more manageable building blocks that can then be used to solve complex scientific problems. HPC can also be very computational and memory intensive. … Multi-core processors also allow multiple databases to be consolidated onto a single server. Again, the increased memory bandwidth is the primary reason this is possible. … Cloud environments are also transaction heavy, and multi-core processors allow a company to quickly scale up the number of cores during peak computing times. Energy efficiency is also important to cloud environments. Cores can be turned off or on as needed to optimize workloads and reduce energy.”
…
“…Clock speed still plays a role when selecting a processor. Cores are important but they are still only one feature of a modern processor. Determining the number of cores your application supports is critical to matching it to the best processor for your money. …”
(For support see: Pages 2, 3)
One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious and beneficial to take advantage of the advancements made in processor and server technology, such as, but not limited to, multi-core technology, as this provides the benefits of more processing power, increased efficiency, better performance, processing more information in less time, and so forth.
Further, one of ordinary skill in the art of computing would have found it obvious to update the data processing technique of Sinha using modern processing techniques, as taught in arcserve, in order to gain the commonly understood benefits of such adaptation, such as more processing power, increased efficiency, better performance, processing more information in less time, and so forth.
Accommodating the prior arts more antiquated process of simply focusing on making a processor faster with modern processing techniques, in this case, providing additional cores to process more information simultaneously (especially since Sinha already discloses this technique), would have been obvious. As stated in Leapfrog, “applying modern electronics to older mechanical devices has been commonplace in recent years.”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate into the server-based building management and control system that is in charge of remotely monitoring and controlling a plurality of remote devices of Sinha with the ability to utilize a multi-core server, as taught by arcserve as this would increase the processing power of the server by allowing it to control a plurality of remote devices and implement solutions more effectively, efficiently, and quickly in order to increase the overall management and control of the building.
The combination of Sinha and arcserve discloses a system and method for monitoring, managing, and controlling a plurality of devices in a building, such as, but not limited to, temperature sensors, pressure sensors, etc., configured to measure the temperature of a building and allow for the determination of whether the temperature should be adjusted as well as HVAC equipment, actuators, robots, health monitoring devices, water leakage sensors, lights, and other smart/non-smart devices and IoT devices. Although one of ordinary skill in the art would have understood that a “temperature sensor” is equivalent to a thermostat as temperature readings are taken and transmitted to the central system in order to control/manage the temperature of the building, the combination of Sinha and arcserve fails to explicitly disclose the more conservative interpretation of a thermostat.
To be more specific, the combination of Sinha and arcserve fails to explicitly disclose:
transmitting from more than one sub-system data related to elements of the sub-systems, wherein a first element from a first sub-system is a thermostat, wherein a second element from a second sub-system is lighting, wherein the first sub-system and the second sub-system are part of a building;
transmitting the command to a driver platform to parse the command into a usable format to control the thermostat, wherein the driver platform is also adapted to parse commands into a usable format to control the lighting
parsing the command into the usable format to control the thermostat;
sending the command parsed into the usable format to control the thermostat to the thermostat; and
changing the thermostat based on the command parsed into the usable format to control the thermostat from the driver platform
However, Rochford, which is also directed to controlling devices using a remote device, further teaches that there is a plurality of IoT devices that exist in the art, such as, but not limited to, a thermostat, keypad, window shade, lights, and etc. Rochford teaches that an IoT environment provides intelligent Internet technology services that create value by collecting and analyzing data among connected things. IoT may be applied to a variety of fields including smart homes and smart buildings. One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious that the devices of Rochford can be substituted for those of the combination of Sinha and arcserve while still achieving the same predictable result, i.e. monitoring, communicating, and providing commands to and from remote devices to manage a home or building.
(For support see: Pages 1 – 2 ¶ 1 – 7; Page 7 ¶ 36; Page 12 ¶ 62; Page 14 ¶ 72)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention that since each individual element and its function are shown in the prior art, albeit shown in separate references, the difference between the claimed subject matter and the prior art rests not on any individual element or function but in the very combination itself-that is in the substitution of a thermostat, keypad, shade, lights, and etc., as taught by Rochford, for any of the number of devices disclosed by the combination of Sinha and arcserve.
Thus, the simply substitution of one known element for another producing a predictable result renders the claim obvious.
As an additional note, the Examiner asserts that “wherein the driver platform is also adapted to parse commands into a usable format to control the lighting” is directed to describing an intended result rather than positively claiming that the lighting is being controlled. Although the Examiner has provided citations to address this limitation as if it were being positively claimed, this has only been done for the purposes of compact prosecution and was not required. Further, since the claimed invention is not concerned with controlling a lighting, but only controlling a thermostat, the Examiner asserts that the keypad is nothing more than some type of generic device that is intended to exist in the building. In other words, the manner in which the claimed invention has recited “lighting” has resulted in nothing more than simply claiming that a lighting is just there—simply existing in a building somewhere with no purpose, explanation of use, or explanation of what is controlling. As a result, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found that the prior art simply needs to disclose whether it is well-known in the art for a building to be capable of having other types of devices, such as, but not limited to, a lighting or, alternatively, whether it would have been obvious for a keypad to exist in a building and capable of receiving a command. As demonstrated by Rochford, it is, indeed, well-known and obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include other device types, such as, but not limited to, a lighting in a building for the intended purpose of having it be controlled remotely, over a network, or controlled in a manner similar to other IoT device types. Consequently, although the explanation provided above already demonstrates that it would have been obvious to include thermostats and lighting, the Examiner provides this additional analysis to specifically address thermostats, keypad, lighting, and many other devices.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include to incorporate into the building automation system of the combination of Sinha and arcserve which other devices, such as, but not limited to, a keypad, as taught by Rochford since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
The combination of Sinha, arceserve, and Rochford discloses a system and method for managing a plurality of remote devices using a central system by, at least, transmitting commands from the central system to control the plurality of remote devices. As discussed above, one of ordinary skill in the art would have known that the communication and commands would need to be parsed into a usable format by way of a driver, however, in the interest of compact prosecution, the Examiner has provided Home Assistant to more explicitly teach this aspect of the claimed invention, i.e. drivers to translate/convert/parse communications between a computing system and remote devices.
To be more specific, the combination of Sinha, arceserve, and Rochford fails to explicitly disclose:
transmitting the command to a driver platform to parse the command into a usable format to control the thermostat, wherein the driver platform is also adapted to parse commands into a usable format to control the lighting;
parsing the command into the usable format to control the thermostat;
sending the command parsed into the usable format to control the thermostat to the thermostat; and
changing the thermostat based on the command parsed into the usable format to control the thermostat from the driver platform
However, Home Assistant, which is also directed to a smart automation system comprising a plurality of remote devices and remote system that are in communication with one another, teaches that in order to control a plurality of remote devices or remote smart devices, such as, but not limited to, a thermostat and security system, the central system requires the installation of drivers. Home Assistant teaches that drivers need to be installed so that the plurality of remote devices can be integrated into the building automation system and transmit commands to the remote devices to control the remote devices. Similar to what is disclosed in the provided NPL’s, Home Assistant teaches that drivers are used so that remote devices can be integrated into a building automation system so that a computing system can communicate and remotely control the remote devices.
(See Page 1)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate into the building automation system of the combination of Sinha, arceserve, and Rochford that is comprised of a plurality of remote devices, such as, smart connected devices, and non-smart connected things, and etc., communicating with and controllable by a central system, with drivers, as taught by Home Assistant (as well as supported by the provided NPL’s), as drivers are what allow a remote computing device to be able to communicate and control a wide range of remote devices, such as, but not limited to, smart connected devices, and non-smart connected things, and etc., e.g., thermostat, security system, and so forth.
In regards to claim 24, the combination of Sinha, arcserve, Rochford, and Home Assistant discloses the method of claim 23, further comprising receiving at a second server data from the second sub-system;
processing by the second server the data received from the second sub-system by determining a number of diagnostic sessions and a number of analytics sessions as a function of a count of processor cores, wherein the second number of diagnostic sessions and analytic sessions are evenly spread over the cores on the second server;
transmitting the processed data received from the second sub-system to the hub operably connected to more than one server, wherein the processed data from the second sub-system has undergone multiple diagnostic sessions in multiple streams to diagnose instances, and multiple analytic sessions in multiple streams to analyze instances;
receiving at the hub the processed data received from the second sub-system;
transmitting another command from the control user interface to the hub based on the processed data received from the second sub-system, wherein the another command is selected from a group comprising individual load of lights and lighting zones of light;
transmitting another command to the driver platform to parse the command into a usable format to control the lighting;
parsing the another command into the usable format to control the lighting;
sending the another command parsed into the usable format to control the lighting; and
controlling the lighting based on the another command parsed into the usable format to control the lighting
(The Examiner asserts that the instant claim is simply repeating what was already claimed in claim 23, but simply for another sub-system. In other words, the instant claim is simply stating that the system is communicating and controlling another sub-system that is connected to its respective server. With that said,
Sinha – ¶ 58, 59, 60, 68, 79, 84, 106 wherein the system is continuously collecting and analyzing in real-time over time for each of the plurality of elements that it is monitoring, diagnosing, and analyzing, i.e. the diagnostics and analytics is comprised of running multiple session in multiple streams to diagnose and analyze instances;
Sinha – ¶ 2, 3, 22, 23, 25, 46, 28, 85, 86, 87, 126, 137 wherein the BMS is configured to manage and communicate with a plurality of IoT devices, i.e. a plurality of elements, within a building, such as, but not limited to, temperature sensors, pressure sensors, etc., configured to measure the temperature of a building and allow for the determination of whether the temperature should be adjusted as well as HVAC equipment, actuators, robots, health monitoring devices, water leakage sensors, lights, and other smart/non-smart devices and IoT devices and wherein each building has its own BMS to control the respective building, thereby resulting each building and its respective BMS having one or more systems and sub-systems that can be monitored and managed and the necessary data to allow the system to specifically monitor, diagnose, troubleshoot, and service a building based on the data that each IoT device is transmitting that corresponds to a particular performance and data type so that a corresponding action can be taken.
Sinha – Fig. 4 – 7, 10, 12, 13, 14, 15, 17; ¶ 28, 44, 45, 47, 49, 50, 51, 53, 54, 56, 83, 85, 86, 87, 88, 90, 92, 155 wherein Sinha discloses equivalent servers as they are monitoring, diagnose, troubleshoot, servicing, and storing information pertaining to the state of the building and remotely connected devices and assist with their management, as well as control of the remote devices, such as smart connected devices, located throughout the building(s) to manage the state of the building(s),e.g., temperature, in addition to a plurality of corresponding sub-plants, i.e. sub-systems.
Sinha – ¶ 50, 51, 92 wherein the network includes, at least, any number of: gateway, network switches, routers, servers, devices (such as, but not limited to those discussed above);
Sinha – ¶ 49, 53, 63, 79, 80, 81 wherein diagnostic information is provided for each respective element; ¶ 47, 53, 54, 57, 63 wherein analytics information for each respective element is provided; ¶ 50, 51, 92 wherein the network includes, at least, any number of: gateway, network switches, routers, servers, devices (such as, but not limited to those discussed above);
In light of the specification (¶ 60, 65, 66, 68), the Examiner asserts that the invention is simply capable of being performed using one or more servers that may be hardware, software, or a combination thereof. With that said, Sinha at ¶ 51 which discloses that “Network 404 may include any number of computing devices (e.g., computers, servers, routers, network switches, etc.) configured to transmit, receive, or relay data. Network 404 may further include any number of hardwired and/or wireless connections. For example, smart connected HVAC equipment 408 may communicate wirelessly (e.g., using a Wi-Fi_33 or cellular radio, etc.) with a transceiver that is hardwired (e.g., via a fiber optic cable, a CAT5 cable, etc.) to a computing device of network 404.”; ¶ 90 also discloses “…the gateway 1128 includes a number of field gateway aspects that primarily interface with devices and cloud-based servers.”; see also ¶ 92
As a result, although Sinha does not disclose the limitation word for word (e.g., “sub-system”, previously recited “PI” server (now amended to recite “server), “session”, and “driver”) in light of the applicant’s specification, the Examiner asserts that Sinha does, indeed, disclose the specific combination of elements of the claimed limitation as supported by the broad recitation of possibilities disclosed in the specification(e.g., the broad concept of what is involved in the “diagnostics session” and “analytics session”). In other words, Sinha discloses the claimed invention in the manner that it has been described and supported in the specification;
Sinha – ¶ 94, 119, 147, 165 wherein information is communicating from a smart device to a network device, e.g., NAT, firewall, router, etc., and hub;
Sinha – ¶ 47, 49, 53, 54, 57, 63, 79, 80, 81, 98, 108 wherein the system allows for monitoring and searching of individual building systems elements to help identify, diagnose, troubleshoot and solve building system failures;
Sinha – ¶ 90 “The field gateway aspects can enable gateway 1128 to perform high scale telemetry ingestion, device identification, device management, and cloud-to-device commanding (e.g., when allowed).”; ¶ 94 “In some embodiments, the cloud-based server 1210 is used to send updated and/or commands to the special purpose devices 1202 and/or smart devices 1204.”; see also see also ¶ 29, 41, 45, 87, 95, 120, 148; Table 4 wherein commands can be sent to the remote devices from the central system to update or control the devices remotely, such as, but not limited to, flow rate, temperature, heating/cooling, setpoint conditions, and so forth;
Sinha – ¶ 26, 46, 60, 63, 120 regarding remote user access and access rights to manage the building and remote devices, as well as provide a visually clean and intuited view of the building operations and the ability to resolve issues in real-time via a monitoring and control interface;
Sinha – ¶ 50 “Gateway 406 may use various Internet-based protocols (e.g., CoAP, XMPP, AMQP, MQTT, etc.) and we-based common data exchange (e.g., HTPPT RESTful APIs) to translate communications from a building automation system protocol to an Internet Protocol”; “¶ 87 “For example, the gateway 1128 may provide protocol conversions that make legacy non-IP enabled devices able to be accessed through modern web/IP protocols (e.g., converting BACnet Serial to CoAP, MQTT, or AMQP).”; 89 “In a further embodiment, the gateway 1128 is configured to provide protocol conversion services, network address conversion services, containers for messages, applications to understand different protocols such as Bluetooth, Zigbee, Z-wave, BACNet, etc., and/or any other user installed application.”; ¶ 91 “The protocol handlers 1134 may facilitate the translation of data received over the multiple communication protocols into a uniform, understandable, and/or useable format.”;
Sinha – ¶ 26, 46, 60, 63, 120 regarding remote user access and access rights to manage the building and remote devices, as well as provide a visually clean and intuited view of the building operations and the ability to resolve issues in real-time via a monitoring and control interface
Sinha – ¶ 25, 83, 85, 86 regarding the use of a wide range of Internet of Things (IoT) devices and IoT framework for integration and control of smart devices with the BMS, wherein each IoT device is designed to perform specific tasks and provide specific information, e.g., temperature sensor, dampers, chillers, heaters, RTU, AHU, fans, and so forth.
The system allows for all of these devices, which can have their own respective communication protocol and computer code, to communicate with the system to monitor the state of the building and view the state in an interface to allow the system and a user to determine, for example, the temperature and air flow at a particular location (i.e. computer code is being translated from the IoT code to the BMS code and user understandable language (for example, English), issue a command to the remote device which involves translating/converting the command into code understandable by the specific device. Sinha discloses a wide range of devices (as discussed above) that each have their own corresponding function, e.g., increase fan speed, activate chiller, engage damper, and etc., which would require a command issued by the central system to lower the temperature to result in the command to be translated/converted in a manner to be understandable by each respective device, e.g., the command to lower the temperature or activate the cooling system would require the command to be translated for the fan to turn on, dampers to open or close, the chiller and its components to turn on, and valves to open or close. Each of these devices must have the command translated so that it is understandable by the device, e.g., if zoning is required a command to fully close, certain dampers to fully open, and certain dampers to be somewhere in between (which would require more than simply open or close an electrical switch to allow or stop the flow of electricity. The command needs to be translated to provide the specific instructions so that each damper can operate in the specific manner to coincide with the change) which would not be understandable by a fan that simply needs to allow the flow of electricity to turn on or, if it is a variable speed fan, the command needs to be translated in a manner for the fan to understand at what RPM it needs to operate.
arcserve – Pages 2, 3 regarding multi-core servers processing multiple streams of data. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate into the server-based building management and control system that is in charge of remotely monitoring and controlling a plurality of remote devices of Sinha with the ability to utilize a multi-core server, as taught by arcserve as this would increase the processing power of the server by allowing it to control a plurality of remote devices and implement solutions more effectively, efficiently, and quickly in order to increase the overall management and control of the building.
Rochford – Pages 1 – 2 ¶ 1 – 7; Page 7 ¶ 36; Page 12 ¶ 62; Page 14 ¶ 72 regarding the devices being a thermostat and keypad and controlling these devices. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention that since each individual element and its function are shown in the prior art, albeit shown in separate references, the difference between the claimed subject matter and the prior art rests not on any individual element or function but in the very combination itself-that is in the substitution of a thermostat, keypad, shade, lights, and etc., as taught by Rochford, for any of the number of devices disclosed by the combination of Sinha and arcserve. Thus, the simply substitution of one known element for another producing a predictable result renders the claim obvious. It would have also been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include to incorporate into the building automation system of the combination of Sinha and arcserve which other devices, such as, but not limited to, a keypad, as taught by Rochford since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.;
Home Assistant – Page 1 regarding drivers to translate/parse the communications between the remote devices and central system. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate into the building automation system of the combination of Sinha, arceserve, and Rochford that is comprised of a plurality of remote devices, such as, smart connected devices, and non-smart connected things, and etc., communicating with and controllable by a central system, with drivers, as taught by Home Assistant (as well as supported by the provided NPL’s), as drivers are what allow a remote computing device to be able to communicate and control a wide range of remote devices, such as, but not limited to, smart connected devices, and non-smart connected things, and etc., e.g., thermostat, security system, and so forth.).
In regards to claims 26, 27, the combination of Sinha, arcserve, Rochford, and Home Assistant discloses
(Claim 26) the method of claim 24, updating charts on the user interface of the hub using the processed data received from the first sub-system to the hub;
(Claim 27) the method of claim 24, further comprising creating a chart from analytics data
(Sinha – ¶ 54, 68, 70, 73 wherein the processed data received from the plurality of remote devices is transmitted to the servers and received by the central system so that the data can be used in models, charts, and reports to determine the current state of equipment and the building and determine what actions to take, such as, but not limited to, diagnostics, troubleshooting, control, and so forth (as was discussed above)).
In regards to claims 28, 29, the combination of Sinha, arcserve, Rochford, and Home Assistant discloses
(Claim 28) the method of claim 24, further comprising a third element from the first sub-system, wherein the third element is a shade;
(Claim 29) the method of claim 24, further comprising a fourth element from the second sub-system, wherein the fourth element is a keypad.
Sinha discloses at ¶ 2, 3, 22, 23, 25, 46, 28, 85, 86, 87, 126, 137 wherein the BMS is configured to manage and communicate with a plurality of IoT devices, i.e. a plurality of elements, within a building, such as, but not limited to, temperature sensors, pressure sensors, etc., configured to measure the temperature of a building and allow for the determination of whether the temperature should be adjusted as well as HVAC equipment, actuators, robots, health monitoring devices, water leakage sensors, lights, and other smart/non-smart devices and IoT devices and wherein each building has its own BMS to control the respective building, thereby resulting each building and its respective BMS having one or more systems and sub-systems that can be monitored and managed. See also Rochford at Pages 1 – 2 ¶ 1 – 7; Page 7 ¶ 36; Page 12 ¶ 62; Page 14 ¶ 72, regarding the devices being a thermostat, keypad, shade, lighting, and/or etc.
In regards to claim 37, the combination of Sinha, arcserve, Rochford, and Home Assistant discloses the system of claim 34, wherein processed data received from the first sub-system and the second sub-system is used to generate a building health chart over a predetermined period of time (Sinha – ¶ 54, 68, 70, 73 wherein the processed data received from the plurality of remote devices is transmitted to the servers and received by the central system so that the data can be used in models, charts, and reports to determine the current state of equipment and the building and determine what actions to take, such as, but not limited to, diagnostics, troubleshooting, control, and so forth (as was discussed above); ¶ 58, 59, 60, 68, 79, 84, 106 wherein the system is continuously collecting and analyzing in real-time over time for each of the plurality of elements that it is monitoring, diagnosing, and analyzing, i.e. the diagnostics and analytics is comprised of running multiple session in multiple streams to diagnose and analyze instances).
In regards to claim 39, Sinha discloses a method for managing building subsystems comprising the steps of:
transmitting from more than one sub-system data related to elements of the sub-systems to more than one server, wherein the more than one-subsystem data includes level, name, and information inherent to the elements and of the subsystems to provide active listening, wherein a first element from a first sub-system is a thermostat, wherein a second element from a second sub-system is lighting, wherein the first sub-system and the second sub-system are part of a building (¶ 2, 3, 22, 23, 25, 46, 28, 85, 86, 87, 126, 137 wherein the BMS is configured to manage and communicate with a plurality of IoT devices, i.e. a plurality of elements, within a building, such as, but not limited to, temperature sensors, pressure sensors, etc., configured to measure the temperature of a building and allow for the determination of whether the temperature should be adjusted as well as HVAC equipment, actuators, robots, health monitoring devices, water leakage sensors, lights, and other smart/non-smart devices and IoT devices and wherein each building has its own BMS to control the respective building, thereby resulting each building and its respective BMS having one or more systems and sub-systems that can be monitored and managed and the necessary data to allow the system to specifically monitor, diagnose, troubleshoot, and service a building based on the data that each IoT device is transmitting that corresponds to a particular performance and data type so that a corresponding action can be taken.
Fig. 4 – 7, 10, 12, 13, 14, 15, 17; ¶ 28, 44, 45, 47, 49, 50, 51, 53, 54, 56, 83, 85, 86, 87, 88, 90, 92, 155 wherein servers are monitoring, diagnosing, troubleshooting, servicing, and storing information pertaining to the state of the building and remotely connected devices and assist with their management, as well as control of the remote devices, such as smart connected devices, located throughout the building(s) to manage the state of the building(s),e.g., temperature, in addition to a plurality of corresponding sub-plants, i.e. sub-systems.
¶ 53, 60, 68, 79, 84, 97, 98, 99, 106 wherein the information transmission and analysis are performed in real-time or almost real-time, thereby providing active listening
¶ 85 “The smart connected devices 1102 can include one or more devices within a BMS, and particularly "smart devices" such as the smart HVAC equipment 408, described above. As shown in FIG. 11, the smart devices can include sensors 1120, actuators 1122, smart equipment 1124, smart buildings 1126, and the like. According to one embodiment, a smart connected device 1102 includes any device which has communication capabilities, computing power, and that is capable of making decisions at a local level (e.g., in a limited context, etc.). Communication with the smart connected devices 1102 may be through any wireless or wired communication protocol.”
¶ 86 “Smart connected devices 1102 may further include actuators, dampers, chillers, heaters, rooftop units (RTU), air handling units (AHU), and/or any other type of equipment or device that can be installed within a building (e.g., fans, pumps, valves, etc.). Although the present invention is described primarily with reference to HVAC equipment, it should be understood that the systems and methods described herein may be applicable to a wide variety of building equipment and other types of connected devices (e.g., HVAC equipment, LED lights, mobile phones, tablets, computers, elevators, fire safety systems, smart street lamps, cars, televisions, security systems, refrigerators, music systems, printers, washing machines, dish washers, coffee makers, etc.) with embedded intelligence and communication capabilities.”
¶ 89 “Inbound connections may not be typically allowed for cybersecurity considerations; however, in some instances, secured and controlled inbound messaging is used to drive actions at the device level that may be facilitated by the IoT platform 1140. In one example, the gateway 1128 may leverage an organization's internal technology infrastructure and/or a public telemetry infrastructure to provide a secure and controlled inbound messaging scheme.”
¶ 112 “Multi-layered and multidimensional intrusion detection and prevention mechanisms may provide security at the device level, the data level, the network level, and/or the application level.”
¶ 113 “Each device and/or every data transaction associated with the IoT platform 1140 may have a unique identity which may provide easy traceability and enable authentication.”
Page 15, Table 4 “Friendly identifier. Identifies the device name in IoT Hub.”
¶ 153 “At process block 1604, the new device may be registered with the IoT environment. In one embodiment, an API is used to register the device. For example, the application API 1460 may register the device. The application API 1460 may require the firmware token obtained at process block 1602. The application API 1460 may further require a unique device ID to be provided, that is associated with the new device to be registered. In one embodiment, the unique device ID is provided by the device manufacturer. For example, the unique device ID may be located on the device itself for reference. In one embodiment, the unique device ID is a media access control (MAC) address. In other embodiments, the unique device ID may be a device serial number, a device ID code, or other unique identifier. Once the proper authentication has been provided (e.g. the firmware token and the unique device ID), the device will be registered within a document database of the IoT environment associated with the security API 1440, such as via device storage 1446. The document database may contain a list of all devices registered within the IoT environment.”
With regards to the first element being a thermostat, see the additional analysis provided below);
receiving at a first server data from the first sub-subsystem (¶ 50, 51, 92 wherein the network includes, at least, any number of: gateway, network switches, routers, servers, devices (such as, but not limited to those discussed above);
Fig. 4 – 7, 10, 12, 13, 14, 15, 17; ¶ 28, 44, 45, 47, 49, 50, 51, 53, 54, 56, 83, 85, 86, 87, 88, 90, 92, 155 wherein servers are monitoring, diagnosing, troubleshooting, servicing, and storing information pertaining to the state of the building and remotely connected devices and assist with their management, as well as control of the remote devices, such as smart connected devices, located throughout the building(s) to manage the state of the building(s),e.g., temperature, in addition to a plurality of corresponding sub-plants, i.e. sub-systems.);
processing by the first server the data received from the first sub-system by determining a number of diagnostic sessions and a number of analytics sessions as a function of a count of processor cores, running a plurality of diagnostics sessions and analytics sessions concurrently on the data received from the first sub-system, to respectively diagnose instances and analyze instances in the received data to form processed data, wherein the number of diagnostic sessions and analytic sessions are evenly spread over the cores of the first server (¶ 49, 53, 63, 79, 80, 81 wherein diagnostic information is provided for each respective element; ¶ 47, 53, 54, 57, 63 wherein analytics information for each respective element is provided; ¶ 50, 51, 92 wherein the network includes, at least, any number of: gateway, network switches, routers, servers, devices (such as, but not limited to those discussed above);
Fig. 4 – 7, 10, 12, 13, 14, 15, 17; ¶ 28, 44, 45, 47, 49, 50, 51, 53, 54, 56, 83, 85, 86, 87, 88, 90, 92, 155 wherein servers are monitoring, diagnosing, troubleshooting, servicing, and storing information pertaining to the state of the building and remotely connected devices and assist with their management, as well as control of the remote devices, such as smart connected devices, located throughout the building(s) to manage the state of the building(s),e.g., temperature, in addition to a plurality of corresponding sub-plants, i.e. sub-systems.;
In light of the specification (¶ 60, 65, 66, 68), the Examiner asserts that the invention is simply capable of being performed using one or more servers that may be hardware, software, or a combination thereof. With that said, Sinha at ¶ 51 which discloses that “Network 404 may include any number of computing devices (e.g., computers, servers, routers, network switches, etc.) configured to transmit, receive, or relay data. Network 404 may further include any number of hardwired and/or wireless connections. For example, smart connected HVAC equipment 408 may communicate wirelessly (e.g., using a Wi-Fi_33 or cellular radio, etc.) with a transceiver that is hardwired (e.g., via a fiber optic cable, a CAT5 cable, etc.) to a computing device of network 404.”; ¶ 90 also discloses “…the gateway 1128 includes a number of field gateway aspects that primarily interface with devices and cloud-based servers.”; see also ¶ 92;
Additionally, with regards to “determining a number of diagnostic sessions and a number of analytics sessions as a function of a count of processor cores, running a plurality of diagnostics sessions and analytics sessions concurrently on the data received from the first sub-system to respectively diagnose instances and analyze instances in the received data to form processed data”, see ¶ 93 “IoT platform 1140 of ecosystem 1100 may include a network of physical objects or "things" embedded with electronics, software, sensors, and/or network connectivity that enable such objects to collect and exchange data. The loT platform 1140 may facilitate linking the physical and digital world by allowing remote sensing and control of devices across new and/or previously existing communication infrastructure. The IoT platform 1140 represents components and technologies that may enable delivering an end-to-end solution for IoT enabled products and services. The IoT platform 1140 also can include various processes and applications, which may further be utilized in creating and maintaining an IoT ecosystem 1100.”; ¶ 105 “Analytics technology concept 114 may include a massively parallel analytics module 1158. The massively parallel data analytics module 1158 may include multiple processors configured to run analytical processing. The massively parallel data analytics module 1158 may divide large data sets into smaller segments that are analyzed (e.g., operated on, etc.) by specifically assigned processors (e.g., with their own operating system and memory, etc.). Messaging interfaces may aggregate the results following the analysis by each processor. Such a system may allow for improvements in processing and flexible scalability.”; See also ¶ 53, 82, 83, 85, 89, 91, 92; In the event that the applicant disagrees with this analysis, the Examiner has provided an additional analysis in view of arcserve to more explicitly teach this aspect of the claimed invention.
As a result, although Sinha does not disclose the limitation word for word (e.g., “sub-system”, previously recited “PI” server (previously amended to now recite “server), “session”, and “driver”) in light of the applicant’s specification, the Examiner asserts that Sinha does, indeed, disclose the specific combination of elements of the claimed limitation as supported by the broad recitation of possibilities disclosed in the specification(e.g., the broad concept of what is involved in the “diagnostics session” and “analytics session”). In other words, Sinha discloses the claimed invention in the manner that it has been described and supported in the specification.);
In regards to:
transmitting the processed data received from the first sub-system to a hub operably connected to more than on servers;
receiving at the hub the processed data received from the first sub-system, wherein the processed data from the first subsystem has undergone multiple diagnostic sessions in multiple streams to diagnose instances and multiple analytic sessions in multiple streams to analyze instances
(¶ 94, 119, 147, 165 wherein information is communicating from a smart device to a network device, e.g., NAT, firewall, router, etc., and hub;
Fig. 4 – 7, 10, 12, 13, 14, 15, 17; ¶ 28, 44, 45, 47, 49, 50, 51, 53, 54, 56, 83, 85, 86, 87, 88, 90, 92, 155 wherein servers are monitoring, diagnosing, troubleshooting, servicing, and storing information pertaining to the state of the building and remotely connected devices and assist with their management, as well as control of the remote devices, such as smart connected devices, located throughout the building(s) to manage the state of the building(s),e.g., temperature, in addition to a plurality of corresponding sub-plants, i.e. sub-systems.
¶ 58, 59, 60, 68, 79, 84, 106 wherein the system is continuously collecting and analyzing in real-time over time for each of the plurality of elements that it is monitoring, diagnosing, and analyzing, i.e. the diagnostics and analytics is comprised of running multiple session in multiple streams to diagnose and analyze instances; ¶ 2, 3, 22, 23, 25, 46, 28, 85, 86, 87, 126, 137 wherein the BMS is configured to manage and communicate with a plurality of IoT devices, i.e. a plurality of elements, within a building, such as, but not limited to, temperature sensors, pressure sensors, etc., configured to measure the temperature of a building and allow for the determination of whether the temperature should be adjusted as well as HVAC equipment, actuators, robots, health monitoring devices, water leakage sensors, lights, and other smart/non-smart devices and IoT devices and wherein each building has its own BMS to control the respective building, thereby resulting each building and its respective BMS having one or more systems and sub-systems that can be monitored and managed.; Fig. 4 – 7, 10, 12, 13, 14, 15, 17; ¶ 28, 44, 45, 47, 49, 50, 51, 53, 54, 56, 83, 85, 86, 87, 88, 90, 92, 155 wherein servers are monitoring, diagnosing, troubleshooting, servicing, and storing information pertaining to the state of the building and remotely connected devices and assist with their management, as well as control of the remote devices, such as smart connected devices, located throughout the building(s) to manage the state of the building(s),e.g., temperature, in addition to a plurality of corresponding sub-plants, i.e. sub-systems.
Additionally, with regards to “receiving at the hub the processed data received from the first sub-system, wherein the processed data from the first subsystem has undergone multiple diagnostic sessions in multiple streams to diagnose instances and multiple analytic sessions in multiple streams to analyze instances ”, see ¶ 93 “IoT platform 1140 of ecosystem 1100 may include a network of physical objects or "things" embedded with electronics, software, sensors, and/or network connectivity that enable such objects to collect and exchange data. The loT platform 1140 may facilitate linking the physical and digital world by allowing remote sensing and control of devices across new and/or previously existing communication infrastructure. The IoT platform 1140 represents components and technologies that may enable delivering an end-to-end solution for IoT enabled products and services. The IoT platform 1140 also can include various processes and applications, which may further be utilized in creating and maintaining an IoT ecosystem 1100.”; ¶ 105 “Analytics technology concept 114 may include a massively parallel analytics module 1158. The massively parallel data analytics module 1158 may include multiple processors configured to run analytical processing. The massively parallel data analytics module 1158 may divide large data sets into smaller segments that are analyzed (e.g., operated on, etc.) by specifically assigned processors (e.g., with their own operating system and memory, etc.). Messaging interfaces may aggregate the results following the analysis by each processor. Such a system may allow for improvements in processing and flexible scalability.”; See also ¶ 53, 82, 83, 85, 89, 91, 92; In the event that the applicant disagrees with this analysis, the Examiner has provided an additional analysis in view of arcserve to more explicitly teach this aspect of the claimed invention.);
transmitting a command from a control user interface to the hub based on the processed data received from the first sub-system, wherein the command is selected from a group comprising heating and cooling setpoints, mode of operations and fan speed (¶ 94, 119, 147, 165 wherein information is communicating from a smart device to a network device, e.g., NAT, firewall, router, etc., and hub;
¶ 2, 3, 22, 23, 25, 46, 28, 85, 86, 87, 126, 137 wherein the BMS is configured to manage and communicate with a plurality of IoT devices, i.e. a plurality of elements, within a building, such as, but not limited to, temperature sensors, pressure sensors, etc., configured to measure the temperature of a building and allow for the determination of whether the temperature should be adjusted as well as HVAC equipment, actuators, robots, health monitoring devices, water leakage sensors, lights, and other smart/non-smart devices and IoT devices and wherein each building has its own BMS to control the respective building, thereby resulting each building and its respective BMS having one or more systems and sub-systems that can be monitored and managed;
¶ 47, 49, 53, 54, 57, 63, 79, 80, 81, 98, 108 wherein the system allows for monitoring and searching of individual building systems elements to help identify, diagnose, troubleshoot and solve building system failures;
¶ 90 “The field gateway aspects can enable gateway 1128 to perform high scale telemetry ingestion, device identification, device management, and cloud-to-device commanding (e.g., when allowed).”; ¶ 94 “In some embodiments, the cloud-based server 1210 is used to send updated and/or commands to the special purpose devices 1202 and/or smart devices 1204.”; see also ¶ 29, 41, 45, 87, 95, 120, 148; Table 4 wherein commands can be sent to the remote devices from the central system to update or control the devices remotely, such as, but not limited to, flow rate, temperature, heating/cooling, setpoint conditions, and so forth
Fig. 4 – 7, 10, 12, 13, 14, 15, 17; ¶ 28, 44, 45, 47, 49, 50, 51, 53, 54, 56, 83, 85, 86, 87, 88, 90, 92, 155 wherein Sinha discloses equivalent servers as they are monitoring, diagnose, troubleshoot, servicing, and storing information pertaining to the state of the building and remotely connected devices and assist with their management, as well as control of the remote devices, such as smart connected devices, located throughout the building(s) to manage the state of the building(s),e.g., temperature, in addition to a plurality of corresponding sub-plants, i.e. sub-systems;
¶ 26, 46, 63, 120 regarding remote user access and access rights to manage the building and remote devices, as well as provide a visually clean and intuited view of the building operations and the ability to resolve issues in real-time via a monitoring and control interface);
In regards to:
transmitting the command to a driver platform to parse the command into a usable format to control the thermostat, […];
parsing the command into the usable format to control the thermostat;
sending the command parsed into the usable format to control the thermostat to the thermostat; and
changing the thermostat based on the command parsed into the usable format to control the thermostat from the driver platform
(¶ 50 “Gateway 406 may use various Internet-based protocols (e.g., CoAP, XMPP, AMQP, MQTT, etc.) and web-based common data exchange (e.g., HTTP RESTful APIs) to translate communications from a building automation system protocol to an Internet Protocol”; “¶ 87 “For example, the gateway 1128 may provide protocol conversions that make legacy non-IP enabled devices able to be accessed through modern web/IP protocols (e.g., converting BACnet Serial to CoAP, MQTT, or AMQP).”; 89 “In a further embodiment, the gateway 1128 is configured to provide protocol conversion services, network address conversion services, containers for messages, applications to understand different protocols such as Bluetooth, Zigbee, Z-wave, BACNet, etc., and/or any other user installed application.”; ¶ 91 “The protocol handlers 1134 may facilitate the translation of data received over the multiple communication protocols into a uniform, understandable, and/or useable format.”;
¶ 26, 46, 60, 63, 120 regarding remote user access and access rights to manage the building and remote devices, as well as provide a visually clean and intuited view of the building operations and the ability to resolve issues in real-time via a monitoring and control interface
¶ 25, 83, 85, 86 regarding the use of a wide range of Internet of Things (IoT) devices and IoT framework for integration and control of smart devices with the BMS, wherein each IoT device is designed to perform specific tasks and provide specific information, e.g., temperature sensor, dampers, chillers, heaters, RTU, AHU, fans, and so forth.
With regards to the first and second elements being a thermostat and lighting, respectively, see the additional analysis provided below.
The system allows for all of these devices, which can have their own respective communication protocol and computer code, to communicate with the system to monitor the state of the building and view the state in an interface to allow the system and a user to determine, for example, the temperature and air flow at a particular location (i.e. computer code is being translated from the IoT code to the BMS code and user understandable language (for example, English), issue a command to the remote device which involves translating/converting the command into code understandable by the specific device. Sinha discloses a wide range of devices (as discussed above) that each have their own corresponding function, e.g., increase fan speed, activate chiller, engage damper, and etc., which would require a command issued by the central system to lower the temperature to result in the command to be translated/converted in a manner to be understandable by each respective device, e.g., the command to lower the temperature or activate the cooling system would require the command to be translated for the fan to turn on, dampers to open or close, the chiller and its components to turn on, and valves to open or close. Each of these devices must have the command translated so that it is understandable by the device, e.g., if zoning is required a command to fully close, certain dampers to fully open, and certain dampers to be somewhere in between (which would require more than simply open or close an electrical switch to allow or stop the flow of electricity. The command needs to be translated to provide the specific instructions so that each damper can operate in the specific manner to coincide with the change) which would not be understandable by a fan that simply needs to allow the flow of electricity to turn on or, if it is a variable speed fan, the command needs to be translated in a manner for the fan to understand at what RPM it needs to operate.
The Examiner asserts that this is done by drivers and although not explicitly recited in Sinha, the Examiner asserts that this is inherently included. The Examiner also invites the applicant to review the provided NPL’s that explain that a driver is what allows one system to communicate with connected devices by serving as a translator, thereby further establishing that the system of Sinha would require the use of a driver to be able to communicate and control the wide range of smart devices, smart connected devices, and non-smart connected things, and etc.
However, in the interest of compact prosecution, the Examiner has provided Home Assistant to more explicitly teach that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that drivers need to be installed in a remote-control device and automation system, such as the one of Sinha, to integrate and control the remote devices.); and
wherein each of the first element and second element is searchable by a user via a graphical user interface (Fig. 17; ¶ 57, 60, 63, 69, 98, 112, 113, 114, 116, 144, 153, 154, 155, 157, 158,159, 165 wherein the building communicates its current/real-time status to a monitoring system that provides a user with a dashboard to, at least, search for connected and monitored building devices (elements) to monitor performance, receive alerts, ability to resolve issues, and search for devices to read information from the device or determine if they currently exist so as to add/register a device).
Sinha discloses a system and method for monitoring, managing, and controlling a plurality of devices in a building, such as, but not limited to, temperature sensors, pressure sensors, etc., configured to measure the temperature of a building and allow for the determination of whether the temperature should be adjusted as well as HVAC equipment, actuators, robots, health monitoring devices, water leakage sensors, lights, and other smart/non-smart devices and IoT devices. As stated above, although one of ordinary skill in the art of computing, e.g., multi-core and multi-thread computer processing, looking upon Sinha would have found that Sinha does, indeed, disclose the emphasized portions of the limitations below, the Examiner has provided an additional analysis in view of arcserve to more explicitly teach this aspect of the invention, i.e. that it is well-known and obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, based on the available technology, to utilize a multi-core server to process multiple streams of information.
To be more specific, Sinha fails to explicitly disclose:
processing by the first server the data received from the first sub-system by determining a number of diagnostic sessions and a number of analytics sessions as a function of a count of processor cores, running a plurality of diagnostics sessions and analytics sessions concurrently on the data received from the first sub-system, to respectively diagnose instances and analyze instances in the received data to form processed data, wherein the number of diagnostic sessions and analytic sessions are evenly spread over the cores of the first server
receiving at the hub the processed data received from the first sub-system, wherein the processed data from the first subsystem has undergone multiple diagnostic sessions in multiple streams to diagnose instances and multiple analytic sessions in multiple streams to analyze instances
However, arcserve teaches
“… Around 2004, something odd happened: while the number of transistors on the CPU continued to increase, processor clock speeds began to flatten. Performance continued to improve, but what was driving the interest in cores over clock speed? Enter the Multi-Core CPU The race between Intel and AMD continued, but the game had changed from clock speeds to multi-core chips. Around this time I traded in my single core Intel Pentium III for dual-core AMD chips running at a slower clock speed. Overall stability of my system increased along with performance, but few programs existed that could take advantage of more than a single core. While some games and a number of post-production tools such as Adobe Premiere are able to take advantage of today’s newest consumer-grade quad and hexa-core CPUs, I wanted to find out under which scenarios multi-core servers make sense to deploy today. Virtualization Memory management is critical when managing VMs, and is usually the first resource to become constrained. Using multi-core CPUs provides an increase in memory channels, allowing for large blocks of data to be processed and analyzed. Allowing the processor to access this data from memory instead of the hard drive results in much better performance. Multi-core servers also allow you to dedicate individual cores to each VM for better performance. Combine the additional memory channels with more cores and you have an environment that can handle the most demanding applications in a VM. High-Performance Computing High-performance computing (HPC) refers the practice of taking complex computations and breaking them into smaller pieces. Using software, each piece of the computation can then be solved by CPU cores. It’s almost like taking a supercomputer and breaking it down into smaller, more manageable building blocks that can then be used to solve complex scientific problems. HPC can also be very computational and memory intensive. … Multi-core processors also allow multiple databases to be consolidated onto a single server. Again, the increased memory bandwidth is the primary reason this is possible. … Cloud environments are also transaction heavy, and multi-core processors allow a company to quickly scale up the number of cores during peak computing times. Energy efficiency is also important to cloud environments. Cores can be turned off or on as needed to optimize workloads and reduce energy.”
…
“…Clock speed still plays a role when selecting a processor. Cores are important but they are still only one feature of a modern processor. Determining the number of cores your application supports is critical to matching it to the best processor for your money. …”
(For support see: Pages 2, 3)
One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious and beneficial to take advantage of the advancements made in processor and server technology, such as, but not limited to, multi-core technology, as this provides the benefits of more processing power, increased efficiency, better performance, processing more information in less time, and so forth.
Further, one of ordinary skill in the art of computing would have found it obvious to update the data processing technique of Sinha using modern processing techniques, as taught in arcserve, in order to gain the commonly understood benefits of such adaptation, such as more processing power, increased efficiency, better performance, processing more information in less time, and so forth.
Accommodating the prior arts more antiquated process of simply focusing on making a processor faster with modern processing techniques, in this case, providing additional cores to process more information simultaneously (especially since Sinha already discloses this technique), would have been obvious. As stated in Leapfrog, “applying modern electronics to older mechanical devices has been commonplace in recent years.”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate into the server-based building management and control system that is in charge of remotely monitoring and controlling a plurality of remote devices of Sinha with the ability to utilize a multi-core server, as taught by arcserve as this would increase the processing power of the server by allowing it to control a plurality of remote devices and implement solutions more effectively, efficiently, and quickly in order to increase the overall management and control of the building.
The combination of Sinha and arcserve discloses a system and method for monitoring, managing, and controlling a plurality of devices in a building, such as, but not limited to, temperature sensors, pressure sensors, etc., configured to measure the temperature of a building and allow for the determination of whether the temperature should be adjusted as well as HVAC equipment, actuators, robots, health monitoring devices, water leakage sensors, lights, and other smart/non-smart devices and IoT devices. Although one of ordinary skill in the art would have understood that a “temperature sensor” is equivalent to a thermostat as temperature readings are taken and transmitted to the central system in order to control/manage the temperature of the building, the combination of Sinha and arcserve fails to explicitly disclose the more conservative interpretation of a thermostat.
To be more specific, the combination of Sinha and arcserve fails to explicitly disclose:
transmitting from more than one sub-system data related to elements of the sub-systems, wherein a first element from a first sub-system is a thermostat, wherein a second element from a second sub-system is lighting, wherein the first sub-system and the second sub-system are part of a building;
transmitting the command to a driver platform to parse the command into a usable format to control the thermostat, wherein the driver platform is also adapted to parse commands into a usable format to control the lighting
parsing the command into the usable format to control the thermostat;
sending the command parsed into the usable format to control the thermostat to the thermostat; and
changing the thermostat based on the command parsed into the usable format to control the thermostat from the driver platform
However, Rochford, which is also directed to controlling devices using a remote device, further teaches that there is a plurality of IoT devices that exist in the art, such as, but not limited to, a thermostat, keypad, window shade, lights, and etc. Rochford teaches that an IoT environment provides intelligent Internet technology services that create value by collecting and analyzing data among connected things. IoT may be applied to a variety of fields including smart homes and smart buildings. One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious that the devices of Rochford can be substituted for those of the combination of Sinha and arcserve while still achieving the same predictable result, i.e. monitoring, communicating, and providing commands to and from remote devices to manage a home or building.
(For support see: Pages 1 – 2 ¶ 1 – 7; Page 7 ¶ 36; Page 12 ¶ 62; Page 14 ¶ 72)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention that since each individual element and its function are shown in the prior art, albeit shown in separate references, the difference between the claimed subject matter and the prior art rests not on any individual element or function but in the very combination itself- that is in the substitution of a thermostat, keypad, shade, lights, and etc., as taught by Rochford, for any of the number of devices disclosed by the combination of Sinha and arcserve.
Thus, the simply substitution of one known element for another producing a predictable result renders the claim obvious.
As an additional note, the Examiner asserts that “wherein the driver platform is also adapted to parse commands into a usable format to control the lighting” is directed to describing an intended result rather than positively claiming that the lighting is being controlled. Although the Examiner has provided citations to address this limitation as if it were being positively claimed, this has only been done for the purposes of compact prosecution and was not required. Further, since the claimed invention is not concerned with controlling a lighting, but only controlling a thermostat, the Examiner asserts that the keypad is nothing more than some type of generic device that is intended to exist in the building. In other words, the manner in which the claimed invention has recited “lighting” has resulted in nothing more than simply claiming that a lighting is just there—simply existing in a building somewhere with no purpose, explanation of use, or explanation of what is controlling. As a result, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found that the prior art simply needs to disclose whether it is well-known in the art for a building to be capable of having other types of devices, such as, but not limited to, a lighting or, alternatively, whether it would have been obvious for a keypad to exist in a building and capable of receiving a command. As demonstrated by Rochford, it is, indeed, well-known and obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include other device types, such as, but not limited to, a lighting in a building for the intended purpose of having it be controlled remotely, over a network, or controlled in a manner similar to other IoT device types. Consequently, although the explanation provided above already demonstrates that it would have been obvious to include thermostats and lighting, the Examiner provides this additional analysis to specifically address thermostats, keypad, lighting, and many other devices.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include to incorporate into the building automation system of the combination of Sinha and arcserve which other devices, such as, but not limited to, a keypad, as taught by Rochford since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
The combination of Sinha, arceserve, and Rochford discloses a system and method for managing a plurality of remote devices using a central system by, at least, transmitting commands from the central system to control the plurality of remote devices. As discussed above, one of ordinary skill in the art would have known that the communication and commands would need to be parsed into a usable format by way of a driver, however, in the interest of compact prosecution, the Examiner has provided Home Assistant to more explicitly teach this aspect of the claimed invention, i.e. drivers to translate/convert/parse communications between a computing system and remote devices.
To be more specific, the combination of Sinha, arceserve, and Rochford fails to explicitly disclose:
transmitting the command to a driver platform to parse the command into a usable format to control the thermostat, wherein the driver platform is also adapted to parse commands into a usable format to control the lighting;
parsing the command into the usable format to control the thermostat;
sending the command parsed into the usable format to control the thermostat to the thermostat; and
changing the thermostat based on the command parsed into the usable format to control the thermostat from the driver platform
However, Home Assistant, which is also directed to a smart automation system comprising a plurality of remote devices and remote system that are in communication with one another, teaches that in order to control a plurality of remote devices or remote smart devices, such as, but not limited to, a thermostat and security system, the central system requires the installation of drivers. Home Assistant teaches that drivers need to be installed so that the plurality of remote devices can be integrated into the building automation system and transmit commands to the remote devices to control the remote devices. Similar to what is disclosed in the provided NPL’s, Home Assistant teaches that drivers are used so that remote devices can be integrated into a building automation system so that a computing system can communicate and remotely control the remote devices.
(See Page 1)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate into the building automation system of the combination of Sinha, arceserve, and Rochford that is comprised of a plurality of remote devices, such as, smart connected devices, and non-smart connected things, and etc., communicating with and controllable by a central system, with drivers, as taught by Home Assistant (as well as supported by the provided NPL’s), as drivers are what allow a remote computing device to be able to communicate and control a wide range of remote devices, such as, but not limited to, smart connected devices, and non-smart connected things, and etc., e.g., thermostat, security system, and so forth.
In regards to claim 40, the combination of Sinha, arceserve, Rochford, and Home Assistant discloses the method of claim 39, wherein each of the first and second element are searchable via element type, location, age, and whether there is an active live connection to another system element (Sinha – Fig. 17; ¶ 57, 60, 63, 69, 98, 112, 113, 114, 116, 144, 153, 154, 155, 157, 158,159, 165 wherein the building communicates its current/real-time status to a monitoring system that provides a user with a dashboard to, at least, search for connected and monitored building devices (elements) to monitor performance, receive alerts, ability to resolve issues, and search for devices to read information from the device or determine if they currently exist so as to add/register a device; ¶ 27, 53, 74, 96 wherein the system provides location information of devices that can be located across many different buildings, i.e. the system allows a user to interact with a particular building and the particular devices located at the particular building; ¶ 74 wherein the devices and buildings can be organized by type, age, size, and other factors; Page 16 – 17, Table 5; ¶ 61, 97 wherein the system lifecycle information of the device to determine when it will require maintenance or replacement).
In regards to claim 41, the combination of Sinha, arceserve, Rochford, and Home Assistant discloses the method of claim 39, wherein each of the first and second element are searchable via a searchable criteria selected from the group consisting of element type, location, age, and whether there is an active live connection to another system element (Sinha – Fig. 17; ¶ 57, 60, 63, 69, 98, 112, 113, 114, 116, 144, 153, 154, 155, 157, 158,159, 165 wherein the building communicates its current/real-time status to a monitoring system that provides a user with a dashboard to, at least, search for connected and monitored building devices (elements) to monitor performance, receive alerts, ability to resolve issues, and search for devices to read information from the device or determine if they currently exist so as to add/register a device; ¶ 27, 53, 74, 96 wherein the system provides location information of devices that can be located across many different buildings, i.e. the system allows a user to interact with a particular building and the particular devices located at the particular building; ¶ 74 wherein the devices and buildings can be organized by type, age, size, and other factors; Page 16 – 17, Table 5; ¶ 61, 97 wherein the system lifecycle information of the device to determine when it will require maintenance or replacement).
In regards to claim 42, the combination of Sinha, arceserve, Rochford, and Home Assistant discloses the method of claim 40, further comprising receiving at a second server data from the second sub-system;
processing by the second server the data received from the second sub-system by, determining a number of diagnostic sessions and a number of analytics sessions as a function of a count of processor cores, wherein the second number of diagnostic sessions and analytic sessions are evenly spread over the cores on the second server (First, The Examiner asserts that the instant claim is simply repeating what was already claimed in claim 39, but simply for another sub-system. In other words, the instant claim is simply stating that the system is communicating and controlling another sub-system that is connected to its respective server. With that said:
Sinha – ¶ 58, 59, 60, 68, 79, 84, 106 wherein the system is continuously collecting and analyzing in real-time over time for each of the plurality of elements that it is monitoring, diagnosing, and analyzing, i.e. the diagnostics and analytics is comprised of running multiple session in multiple streams to diagnose and analyze instances;
Sinha – ¶ 2, 3, 22, 23, 25, 46, 28, 85, 86, 87, 126, 137 wherein the BMS is configured to manage and communicate with a plurality of IoT devices, i.e. a plurality of elements, within a building, such as, but not limited to, temperature sensors, pressure sensors, etc., configured to measure the temperature of a building and allow for the determination of whether the temperature should be adjusted as well as HVAC equipment, actuators, robots, health monitoring devices, water leakage sensors, lights, and other smart/non-smart devices and IoT devices and wherein each building has its own BMS to control the respective building, thereby resulting each building and its respective BMS having one or more systems and sub-systems that can be monitored and managed and the necessary data to allow the system to specifically monitor, diagnose, troubleshoot, and service a building based on the data that each IoT device is transmitting that corresponds to a particular performance and data type so that a corresponding action can be taken.
Sinha – ¶ 49, 53, 63, 79, 80, 81 wherein diagnostic information is provided for each respective element; ¶ 47, 53, 54, 57, 63 wherein analytics information for each respective element is provided; ¶ 50, 51, 92 wherein the network includes, at least, any number of: gateway, network switches, routers, servers, devices (such as, but not limited to those discussed above);
Sinha – Fig. 4 – 7, 10, 12, 13, 14, 15, 17; ¶ 28, 44, 45, 47, 49, 50, 51, 53, 54, 56, 83, 85, 86, 87, 88, 90, 92, 155 wherein servers are monitoring, diagnosing, troubleshooting, servicing, and storing information pertaining to the state of the building and remotely connected devices and assist with their management, as well as control of the remote devices, such as smart connected devices, located throughout the building(s) to manage the state of the building(s),e.g., temperature, in addition to a plurality of corresponding sub-plants, i.e. sub-systems.;
In light of the specification (¶ 60, 65, 66, 68), the Examiner asserts that the invention is simply capable of being performed using one or more servers that may be hardware, software, or a combination thereof. With that said, Sinha at ¶ 51 which discloses that “Network 404 may include any number of computing devices (e.g., computers, servers, routers, network switches, etc.) configured to transmit, receive, or relay data. Network 404 may further include any number of hardwired and/or wireless connections. For example, smart connected HVAC equipment 408 may communicate wirelessly (e.g., using a Wi-Fi_33 or cellular radio, etc.) with a transceiver that is hardwired (e.g., via a fiber optic cable, a CAT5 cable, etc.) to a computing device of network 404.”; ¶ 90 also discloses “…the gateway 1128 includes a number of field gateway aspects that primarily interface with devices and cloud-based servers.”; see also ¶ 92;
Additionally, with regards to “wherein a number of diagnostic sessions and analytic sessions is variably determined based on cores on the first server, wherein the number of diagnostic sessions and analytic sessions are evenly spread over the cores of the first server”, see ¶ 93 “IoT platform 1140 of ecosystem 1100 may include a network of physical objects or "things" embedded with electronics, software, sensors, and/or network connectivity that enable such objects to collect and exchange data. The loT platform 1140 may facilitate linking the physical and digital world by allowing remote sensing and control of devices across new and/or previously existing communication infrastructure. The IoT platform 1140 represents components and technologies that may enable delivering an end-to-end solution for IoT enabled products and services. The IoT platform 1140 also can include various processes and applications, which may further be utilized in creating and maintaining an IoT ecosystem 1100.”; ¶ 105 “Analytics technology concept 114 may include a massively parallel analytics module 1158. The massively parallel data analytics module 1158 may include multiple processors configured to run analytical processing. The massively parallel data analytics module 1158 may divide large data sets into smaller segments that are analyzed (e.g., operated on, etc.) by specifically assigned processors (e.g., with their own operating system and memory, etc.). Messaging interfaces may aggregate the results following the analysis by each processor. Such a system may allow for improvements in processing and flexible scalability.”; See also ¶ 53, 82, 83, 85, 89, 91, 92; In the event that the applicant disagrees with this analysis, the Examiner has provided an additional analysis in view of arcserve to more explicitly teach this aspect of the claimed invention.
As a result, although Sinha does not disclose the limitation word for word (e.g., “sub-system”, previously recited “PI” server (previously amended to now recite “server), “session”, and “driver”) in light of the applicant’s specification, the Examiner asserts that Sinha does, indeed, disclose the specific combination of elements of the claimed limitation as supported by the broad recitation of possibilities disclosed in the specification(e.g., the broad concept of what is involved in the “diagnostics session” and “analytics session”). In other words, Sinha discloses the claimed invention in the manner that it has been described and supported in the specification);
In regards to:
transmitting the processed data received from the second sub-system to the hub operably connected to more than one server, wherein the processed data from the second sub-system has undergone multiple diagnostic sessions in multiple streams to diagnose instances, and multiple analytic sessions in multiple streams to analyze instances
receiving at the hub the processed data received from the second sub-system
(Sinha – ¶ 94, 119, 147, 165 wherein information is communicating from a smart device to a network device, e.g., NAT, firewall, router, etc., and hub;
Sinha – Fig. 4 – 7, 10, 12, 13, 14, 15, 17; ¶ 28, 44, 45, 47, 49, 50, 51, 53, 54, 56, 83, 85, 86, 87, 88, 90, 92, 155 wherein servers are monitoring, diagnosing, troubleshooting, servicing, and storing information pertaining to the state of the building and remotely connected devices and assist with their management, as well as control of the remote devices, such as smart connected devices, located throughout the building(s) to manage the state of the building(s),e.g., temperature, in addition to a plurality of corresponding sub-plants, i.e. sub-systems.
Sinha – ¶ 58, 59, 60, 68, 79, 84, 106 wherein the system is continuously collecting and analyzing in real-time over time for each of the plurality of elements that it is monitoring, diagnosing, and analyzing, i.e. the diagnostics and analytics is comprised of running multiple session in multiple streams to diagnose and analyze instances; Sinha – ¶ 2, 3, 22, 23, 25, 46, 28, 85, 86, 87, 126, 137 wherein the BMS is configured to manage and communicate with a plurality of IoT devices, i.e. a plurality of elements, within a building, such as, but not limited to, temperature sensors, pressure sensors, etc., configured to measure the temperature of a building and allow for the determination of whether the temperature should be adjusted as well as HVAC equipment, actuators, robots, health monitoring devices, water leakage sensors, lights, and other smart/non-smart devices and IoT devices and wherein each building has its own BMS to control the respective building, thereby resulting each building and its respective BMS having one or more systems and sub-systems that can be monitored and managed.; Sinha – Fig. 4 – 7, 10, 12, 13, 14, 15, 17; ¶ 28, 44, 45, 47, 49, 50, 51, 53, 54, 56, 83, 85, 86, 87, 88, 90, 92, 155 wherein servers are monitoring, diagnosing, troubleshooting, servicing, and storing information pertaining to the state of the building and remotely connected devices and assist with their management, as well as control of the remote devices, such as smart connected devices, located throughout the building(s) to manage the state of the building(s),e.g., temperature, in addition to a plurality of corresponding sub-plants, i.e. sub-systems.
Additionally, with regards to “receiving at the hub the processed data received from the first sub-system, wherein the processed data from the first subsystem has undergone multiple diagnostic sessions in multiple streams to diagnose instances and multiple analytic sessions in multiple streams to analyze instances ”, see ¶ 93 “IoT platform 1140 of ecosystem 1100 may include a network of physical objects or "things" embedded with electronics, software, sensors, and/or network connectivity that enable such objects to collect and exchange data. The loT platform 1140 may facilitate linking the physical and digital world by allowing remote sensing and control of devices across new and/or previously existing communication infrastructure. The IoT platform 1140 represents components and technologies that may enable delivering an end-to-end solution for IoT enabled products and services. The IoT platform 1140 also can include various processes and applications, which may further be utilized in creating and maintaining an IoT ecosystem 1100.”; ¶ 105 “Analytics technology concept 114 may include a massively parallel analytics module 1158. The massively parallel data analytics module 1158 may include multiple processors configured to run analytical processing. The massively parallel data analytics module 1158 may divide large data sets into smaller segments that are analyzed (e.g., operated on, etc.) by specifically assigned processors (e.g., with their own operating system and memory, etc.). Messaging interfaces may aggregate the results following the analysis by each processor. Such a system may allow for improvements in processing and flexible scalability.”; See also ¶ 53, 82, 83, 85, 89, 91, 92; In the event that the applicant disagrees with this analysis, the Examiner has provided an additional analysis in view of arcserve to more explicitly teach this aspect of the claimed invention);
transmitting another command from the control user interface to the hub based on the processed data received from the second sub-system, wherein the another command is selected from a group comprising individual load of lights and lighting zones of light (Sinha – ¶ 94, 119, 147, 165 wherein information is communicating from a smart device to a network device, e.g., NAT, firewall, router, etc., and hub;
Sinha – ¶ 2, 3, 22, 23, 25, 46, 28, 85, 86, 87, 126, 137 wherein the BMS is configured to manage and communicate with a plurality of IoT devices, i.e. a plurality of elements, within a building, such as, but not limited to, temperature sensors, pressure sensors, etc., configured to measure the temperature of a building and allow for the determination of whether the temperature should be adjusted as well as HVAC equipment, actuators, robots, health monitoring devices, water leakage sensors, lights, and other smart/non-smart devices and IoT devices and wherein each building has its own BMS to control the respective building, thereby resulting each building and its respective BMS having one or more systems and sub-systems that can be monitored and managed;
Sinha – ¶ 47, 49, 53, 54, 57, 63, 79, 80, 81, 98, 108 wherein the system allows for monitoring and searching of individual building systems elements to help identify, diagnose, troubleshoot and solve building system failures;
Sinha – ¶ 90 “The field gateway aspects can enable gateway 1128 to perform high scale telemetry ingestion, device identification, device management, and cloud-to-device commanding (e.g., when allowed).”; ¶ 94 “In some embodiments, the cloud-based server 1210 is used to send updated and/or commands to the special purpose devices 1202 and/or smart devices 1204.”; see also ¶ 29, 41, 45, 87, 95, 120, 148; Table 4 wherein commands can be sent to the remote devices from the central system to update or control the devices remotely, such as, but not limited to, flow rate, temperature, heating/cooling, setpoint conditions, and so forth
Sinha – Fig. 4 – 7, 10, 12, 13, 14, 15, 17; ¶ 28, 44, 45, 47, 49, 50, 51, 53, 54, 56, 83, 85, 86, 87, 88, 90, 92, 155 wherein Sinha discloses equivalent servers as they are monitoring, diagnose, troubleshoot, servicing, and storing information pertaining to the state of the building and remotely connected devices and assist with their management, as well as control of the remote devices, such as smart connected devices, located throughout the building(s) to manage the state of the building(s),e.g., temperature, in addition to a plurality of corresponding sub-plants, i.e. sub-systems;
Sinha – ¶ 26, 46, 63, 120 regarding remote user access and access rights to manage the building and remote devices, as well as provide a visually clean and intuited view of the building operations and the ability to resolve issues in real-time via a monitoring and control interface);
In regards to:
transmitting another command to the driver platform to parse the command into a usable format to control the lighting
parsing the another command into the usable format to control the lighting;
sending the another command parsed into the usable format to control the lighting;
controlling the lighting based on the another command parsed into the usable format to control the lighting
(Sinha – ¶ 50 “Gateway 406 may use various Internet-based protocols (e.g., CoAP, XMPP, AMQP, MQTT, etc.) and web-based common data exchange (e.g., HTTP RESTful APIs) to translate communications from a building automation system protocol to an Internet Protocol”; “¶ 87 “For example, the gateway 1128 may provide protocol conversions that make legacy non-IP enabled devices able to be accessed through modern web/IP protocols (e.g., converting BACnet Serial to CoAP, MQTT, or AMQP).”; 89 “In a further embodiment, the gateway 1128 is configured to provide protocol conversion services, network address conversion services, containers for messages, applications to understand different protocols such as Bluetooth, Zigbee, Z-wave, BACNet, etc., and/or any other user installed application.”; ¶ 91 “The protocol handlers 1134 may facilitate the translation of data received over the multiple communication protocols into a uniform, understandable, and/or useable format.”;
Sinha – ¶ 26, 46, 60, 63, 120 regarding remote user access and access rights to manage the building and remote devices, as well as provide a visually clean and intuited view of the building operations and the ability to resolve issues in real-time via a monitoring and control interface
Sinha – ¶ 25, 83, 85, 86 regarding the use of a wide range of Internet of Things (IoT) devices and IoT framework for integration and control of smart devices with the BMS, wherein each IoT device is designed to perform specific tasks and provide specific information, e.g., temperature sensor, dampers, chillers, heaters, RTU, AHU, fans, and so forth.
With regards to the first and second elements being lighting, respectively, see the additional analysis provided below.
The system allows for all of these devices, which can have their own respective communication protocol and computer code, to communicate with the system to monitor the state of the building and view the state in an interface to allow the system and a user to determine, for example, the temperature and air flow at a particular location (i.e. computer code is being translated from the IoT code to the BMS code and user understandable language (for example, English), issue a command to the remote device which involves translating/converting the command into code understandable by the specific device. Sinha discloses a wide range of devices (as discussed above) that each have their own corresponding function, e.g., increase fan speed, activate chiller, engage damper, and etc., which would require a command issued by the central system to lower the temperature to result in the command to be translated/converted in a manner to be understandable by each respective device, e.g., the command to lower the temperature or activate the cooling system would require the command to be translated for the fan to turn on, dampers to open or close, the chiller and its components to turn on, and valves to open or close. Each of these devices must have the command translated so that it is understandable by the device, e.g., if zoning is required a command to fully close, certain dampers to fully open, and certain dampers to be somewhere in between (which would require more than simply open or close an electrical switch to allow or stop the flow of electricity. The command needs to be translated to provide the specific instructions so that each damper can operate in the specific manner to coincide with the change) which would not be understandable by a fan that simply needs to allow the flow of electricity to turn on or, if it is a variable speed fan, the command needs to be translated in a manner for the fan to understand at what RPM it needs to operate.
The Examiner asserts that this is done by drivers and although not explicitly recited in Sinha, the Examiner asserts that this is inherently included. The Examiner also invites the applicant to review the provided NPL’s that explain that a driver is what allows one system to communicate with connected devices by serving as a translator, thereby further establishing that the system of Sinha would require the use of a driver to be able to communicate and control the wide range of smart devices, smart connected devices, and non-smart connected things, and etc.
However, in the interest of compact prosecution, the Examiner has provided Home Assistant to more explicitly teach that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that drivers need to be installed in a remote-control device and automation system, such as the one of Sinha, to integrate and control the remote devices).
Sinha discloses a system and method for monitoring, managing, and controlling a plurality of devices in a building, such as, but not limited to, temperature sensors, pressure sensors, etc., configured to measure the temperature of a building and allow for the determination of whether the temperature should be adjusted as well as HVAC equipment, actuators, robots, health monitoring devices, water leakage sensors, lights, and other smart/non-smart devices and IoT devices. As stated above, although one of ordinary skill in the art of computing, e.g., multi-core and multi-thread computer processing, looking upon Sinha would have found that Sinha does, indeed, disclose the emphasized portions of the limitations below, the Examiner has provided an additional analysis in view of arcserve to more explicitly teach this aspect of the invention, i.e. that it is well-known and obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, based on the available technology, to utilize a multi-core server to process multiple streams of information.
To be more specific, Sinha fails to explicitly disclose:
processing by the second server the data received from the second sub-system by running another plurality of diagnostic session and analytic session on the data received from the second sub-system, wherein a second number of diagnostic sessions and analytic sessions is variably determined based on cores on the second server, wherein the second number of diagnostic sessions and analytic sessions are evenly spread over the cores on the second server
transmitting the processed data received from the second sub-system to the hub operably connected to more than one server, wherein the processed data from the second sub-system has undergone multiple diagnostic sessions in multiple streams to diagnose instances, and multiple analytic sessions in multiple streams to analyze instances;
However, arcserve teaches
“… Around 2004, something odd happened: while the number of transistors on the CPU continued to increase, processor clock speeds began to flatten. Performance continued to improve, but what was driving the interest in cores over clock speed? Enter the Multi-Core CPU The race between Intel and AMD continued, but the game had changed from clock speeds to multi-core chips. Around this time I traded in my single core Intel Pentium III for dual-core AMD chips running at a slower clock speed. Overall stability of my system increased along with performance, but few programs existed that could take advantage of more than a single core. While some games and a number of post-production tools such as Adobe Premiere are able to take advantage of today’s newest consumer-grade quad and hexa-core CPUs, I wanted to find out under which scenarios multi-core servers make sense to deploy today. Virtualization Memory management is critical when managing VMs, and is usually the first resource to become constrained. Using multi-core CPUs provides an increase in memory channels, allowing for large blocks of data to be processed and analyzed. Allowing the processor to access this data from memory instead of the hard drive results in much better performance. Multi-core servers also allow you to dedicate individual cores to each VM for better performance. Combine the additional memory channels with more cores and you have an environment that can handle the most demanding applications in a VM. High-Performance Computing High-performance computing (HPC) refers the practice of taking complex computations and breaking them into smaller pieces. Using software, each piece of the computation can then be solved by CPU cores. It’s almost like taking a supercomputer and breaking it down into smaller, more manageable building blocks that can then be used to solve complex scientific problems. HPC can also be very computational and memory intensive. … Multi-core processors also allow multiple databases to be consolidated onto a single server. Again, the increased memory bandwidth is the primary reason this is possible. … Cloud environments are also transaction heavy, and multi-core processors allow a company to quickly scale up the number of cores during peak computing times. Energy efficiency is also important to cloud environments. Cores can be turned off or on as needed to optimize workloads and reduce energy.”
…
“…Clock speed still plays a role when selecting a processor. Cores are important but they are still only one feature of a modern processor. Determining the number of cores your application supports is critical to matching it to the best processor for your money. …”
(For support see: Pages 2, 3)
One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious and beneficial to take advantage of the advancements made in processor and server technology, such as, but not limited to, multi-core technology, as this provides the benefits of more processing power, increased efficiency, better performance, processing more information in less time, and so forth.
Further, one of ordinary skill in the art of computing would have found it obvious to update the data processing technique of Sinha using modern processing techniques, as taught in arcserve, in order to gain the commonly understood benefits of such adaptation, such as more processing power, increased efficiency, better performance, processing more information in less time, and so forth.
Accommodating the prior arts more antiquated process of simply focusing on making a processor faster with modern processing techniques, in this case, providing additional cores to process more information simultaneously (especially since Sinha already discloses this technique), would have been obvious. As stated in Leapfrog, “applying modern electronics to older mechanical devices has been commonplace in recent years.”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate into the server-based building management and control system that is in charge of remotely monitoring and controlling a plurality of remote devices of Sinha with the ability to utilize a multi-core server, as taught by arcserve as this would increase the processing power of the server by allowing it to control a plurality of remote devices and implement solutions more effectively, efficiently, and quickly in order to increase the overall management and control of the building.
The combination of Sinha and arcserve discloses a system and method for monitoring, managing, and controlling a plurality of devices in a building, such as, but not limited to, temperature sensors, pressure sensors, etc., configured to measure the temperature of a building and allow for the determination of whether the temperature should be adjusted as well as HVAC equipment, actuators, robots, health monitoring devices, water leakage sensors, lights, and other smart/non-smart devices and IoT devices. Although one of ordinary skill in the art would have understood that a “temperature sensor” is equivalent to a thermostat as temperature readings are taken and transmitted to the central system in order to control/manage the temperature of the building, the combination of Sinha and arcserve fails to explicitly disclose the more conservative interpretation of a thermostat.
To be more specific, the combination of Sinha and arcserve fails to explicitly disclose:
transmitting another command to the driver platform to parse the command into a usable format to control the lighting
parsing the another command into the usable format to control the lighting;
sending the another command parsed into the usable format to control the lighting
controlling the lighting based on the another command parsed into the usable format to control the lighting
However, Rochford, which is also directed to controlling devices using a remote device, further teaches that there is a plurality of IoT devices that exist in the art, such as, but not limited to, a thermostat, keypad, window shade, lights, and etc. Rochford teaches that an IoT environment provides intelligent Internet technology services that create value by collecting and analyzing data among connected things. IoT may be applied to a variety of fields including smart homes and smart buildings. One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious that the devices of Rochford can be substituted for those of the combination of Sinha and arcserve while still achieving the same predictable result, i.e. monitoring, communicating, and providing commands to and from remote devices to manage a home or building.
(For support see: Pages 1 – 2 ¶ 1 – 7; Page 7 ¶ 36; Page 12 ¶ 62; Page 14 ¶ 72)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention that since each individual element and its function are shown in the prior art, albeit shown in separate references, the difference between the claimed subject matter and the prior art rests not on any individual element or function but in the very combination itself-that is in the substitution of a thermostat, keypad, shade, lights, and etc., as taught by Rochford, for any of the number of devices disclosed by the combination of Sinha and arcserve.
Thus, the simply substitution of one known element for another producing a predictable result renders the claim obvious.
The combination of Sinha, arceserve, and Rochford discloses a system and method for managing a plurality of remote devices using a central system by, at least, transmitting commands from the central system to control the plurality of remote devices. As discussed above, one of ordinary skill in the art would have known that the communication and commands would need to be parsed into a usable format by way of a driver, however, in the interest of compact prosecution, the Examiner has provided Home Assistant to more explicitly teach this aspect of the claimed invention, i.e. drivers to translate/convert/parse communications between a computing system and remote devices.
To be more specific, the combination of Sinha, arceserve, and Rochford fails to explicitly disclose:
transmitting another command to the driver platform to parse the command into a usable format to control the lighting
parsing the another command into the usable format to control the lighting;
sending the another command parsed into the usable format to control the lighting
controlling the lighting based on the another command parsed into the usable format to control the lighting
However, Home Assistant, which is also directed to a smart automation system comprising a plurality of remote devices and remote system that are in communication with one another, teaches that in order to control a plurality of remote devices or remote smart devices, such as, but not limited to, a thermostat and security system, the central system requires the installation of drivers. Home Assistant teaches that drivers need to be installed so that the plurality of remote devices can be integrated into the building automation system and transmit commands to the remote devices to control the remote devices. Similar to what is disclosed in the provided NPL’s, Home Assistant teaches that drivers are used so that remote devices can be integrated into a building automation system so that a computing system can communicate and remotely control the remote devices.
(See Page 1)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate into the building automation system of the combination of Sinha, arceserve, and Rochford that is comprised of a plurality of remote devices, such as, smart connected devices, and non-smart connected things, and etc., communicating with and controllable by a central system, with drivers, as taught by Home Assistant (as well as supported by the provided NPL’s), as drivers are what allow a remote computing device to be able to communicate and control a wide range of remote devices, such as, but not limited to, smart connected devices, and non-smart connected things, and etc., e.g., thermostat, security system, and so forth.
In regards to claim 43, the combination of Sinha, arceserve, Rochford, and Home Assistant discloses the method of claim 23, wherein the more than one sub-system data is transmitted over a telenet stream (As best understood, in light of the rejection under 35 USC 112(a), ¶ 47, 48, 49, 50, 53, 87, 91, 94, 112 wherein a plurality of equivalent communication protocols are utilized by the system to allow for remote communication between a client and the central system; ¶ 2, 3, 22, 23, 25, 46, 28, 85, 86, 87, 126, 137 wherein the BMS is configured to manage and communicate with a plurality of IoT devices, i.e. a plurality of elements, within a building, such as, but not limited to, temperature sensors, pressure sensors, etc., configured to measure the temperature of a building and allow for the determination of whether the temperature should be adjusted as well as HVAC equipment, actuators, robots, health monitoring devices, water leakage sensors, lights, and other smart/non-smart devices and IoT devices and wherein each building has its own BMS to control the respective building, thereby resulting each building and its respective BMS having one or more systems and sub-systems that can be monitored and managed and the necessary data to allow the system to specifically monitor, diagnose, troubleshoot, and service a building based on the data that each IoT device is transmitting that corresponds to a particular performance and data type so that a corresponding action can be taken.; ¶ 53, 60, 68, 79, 84, 97, 98, 99, 106 wherein the information transmission and analysis are performed in real-time or almost real-time, thereby providing active listening).
In regards to claim 44, the combination of Sinha, arceserve, Rochford, and Home Assistant discloses the method of claim 39, wherein the more than one sub-system data is transmitted over a telenet stream (As best understood, in light of the rejection under 35 USC 112(a), ¶ 47, 48, 49, 50, 53, 87, 91, 94, 112 wherein a plurality of equivalent communication protocols are utilized by the system to allow for remote communication between a client and the central system; ¶ 2, 3, 22, 23, 25, 46, 28, 85, 86, 87, 126, 137 wherein the BMS is configured to manage and communicate with a plurality of IoT devices, i.e. a plurality of elements, within a building, such as, but not limited to, temperature sensors, pressure sensors, etc., configured to measure the temperature of a building and allow for the determination of whether the temperature should be adjusted as well as HVAC equipment, actuators, robots, health monitoring devices, water leakage sensors, lights, and other smart/non-smart devices and IoT devices and wherein each building has its own BMS to control the respective building, thereby resulting each building and its respective BMS having one or more systems and sub-systems that can be monitored and managed and the necessary data to allow the system to specifically monitor, diagnose, troubleshoot, and service a building based on the data that each IoT device is transmitting that corresponds to a particular performance and data type so that a corresponding action can be taken.; ¶ 53, 60, 68, 79, 84, 97, 98, 99, 106 wherein the information transmission and analysis are performed in real-time or almost real-time, thereby providing active listening).
In regards to claim 47, the combination of Sinha, arceserve, Rochford, and Home Assistant discloses the method of claim 23, wherein the active listening to the elements of the sub-systems triggers ordering of parts (¶ 53, 54, 79, 98 wherein the system receives and processes real-time data, as was discussed above, to determine what action to take, such as, but not limited to, triggering the ordering parts to repair or replace a part in response to a detected fault which includes the preparation of a service cost estimate based on service part availability and diagnostic results).
In regards to claim 48, the combination of Sinha, arceserve, Rochford, and Home Assistant discloses the method of claim 39, wherein the active listening to the elements of the sub-systems triggers ordering of parts (¶ 53, 54, 79 wherein the system receives and processes real-time data, as was discussed above, to determine what action to take, such as, but not limited to, triggering the ordering parts to repair or replace a part in response to a detected fault which includes the preparation of a service cost estimate based on service part availability and diagnostic results).
In regards to claim 49, the combination of Sinha, arceserve, Rochford, and Home Assistant discloses the method of claim 23, further comprising instance connections that are connected to diagnostic sessions and socket connections connected to analytic sessions (¶ 58, 59, 60, 68, 79, 84, 106 wherein the system is continuously collecting and analyzing in real-time over time for each of the plurality of elements that it is monitoring, diagnosing, and analyzing, i.e. the diagnostics and analytics is comprised of running multiple session in multiple streams to diagnose and analyze instances;
¶ 2, 3, 22, 23, 25, 46, 28, 85, 86, 87, 126, 137 wherein the BMS is configured to manage and communicate with a plurality of IoT devices, i.e. a plurality of elements, within a building, such as, but not limited to, temperature sensors, pressure sensors, etc., configured to measure the temperature of a building and allow for the determination of whether the temperature should be adjusted as well as HVAC equipment, actuators, robots, health monitoring devices, water leakage sensors, lights, and other smart/non-smart devices and IoT devices and wherein each building has its own BMS to control the respective building, thereby resulting each building and its respective BMS having one or more systems and sub-systems that can be monitored and managed.;
Fig. 4 – 7, 10, 12, 13, 14, 15, 17; ¶ 28, 44, 45, 47, 49, 50, 51, 53, 54, 56, 83, 85, 86, 87, 88, 90, 92, 155 wherein servers are monitoring, diagnosing, troubleshooting, servicing, and storing information pertaining to the state of the building and remotely connected devices and assist with their management, as well as control of the remote devices, such as smart connected devices, located throughout the building(s) to manage the state of the building(s),e.g., temperature, in addition to a plurality of corresponding sub-plants, i.e. sub-systems.
¶ 47, 48, 49, 50, 53, 87, 91, 94, 112 wherein a plurality of equivalent communication protocols and sessions are utilized by the system to allow for remote communication between a client and the central system;
¶ 53, 60, 68, 79, 84, 97, 98, 99, 106 wherein the information transmission and analysis are performed in real-time or almost real-time).
In regards to claim 50, the combination of Sinha, arceserve, Rochford, and Home Assistant discloses the method of claim 50, further comprising instance connections that are connected to diagnostic sessions and socket connections connected to analytic sessions (¶ 58, 59, 60, 68, 79, 84, 106 wherein the system is continuously collecting and analyzing in real-time over time for each of the plurality of elements that it is monitoring, diagnosing, and analyzing, i.e. the diagnostics and analytics is comprised of running multiple session in multiple streams to diagnose and analyze instances;
¶ 2, 3, 22, 23, 25, 46, 28, 85, 86, 87, 126, 137 wherein the BMS is configured to manage and communicate with a plurality of IoT devices, i.e. a plurality of elements, within a building, such as, but not limited to, temperature sensors, pressure sensors, etc., configured to measure the temperature of a building and allow for the determination of whether the temperature should be adjusted as well as HVAC equipment, actuators, robots, health monitoring devices, water leakage sensors, lights, and other smart/non-smart devices and IoT devices and wherein each building has its own BMS to control the respective building, thereby resulting each building and its respective BMS having one or more systems and sub-systems that can be monitored and managed.;
Fig. 4 – 7, 10, 12, 13, 14, 15, 17; ¶ 28, 44, 45, 47, 49, 50, 51, 53, 54, 56, 83, 85, 86, 87, 88, 90, 92, 155 wherein servers are monitoring, diagnosing, troubleshooting, servicing, and storing information pertaining to the state of the building and remotely connected devices and assist with their management, as well as control of the remote devices, such as smart connected devices, located throughout the building(s) to manage the state of the building(s),e.g., temperature, in addition to a plurality of corresponding sub-plants, i.e. sub-systems.
¶ 47, 48, 49, 50, 53, 87, 91, 94, 112 wherein a plurality of equivalent communication protocols and sessions are utilized by the system to allow for remote communication between a client and the central system;
¶ 53, 60, 68, 79, 84, 97, 98, 99, 106 wherein the information transmission and analysis are performed in real-time or almost real-time).
______________________________________________________________________
Claims 45, 46 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sinha et al. (US PGPub 2017/0284691 A1) in view of arcserve (4 Areas Where Multi-core Processing Really Matters) in view of Rochford (WO 2018/128475 A1) in view of Home Assistant ([Component] Control4 Integration) in further view of Abiprojo et al. (US PGPub 2016/0377309 A1).
In regards to claim 45, the combination of Sinha, arceserve, Rochford, and Home Assistant discloses the method of claim 23, further comprising a GUI […] adapted to display changes in time stamped points of the elements of the sub-systems (¶ 55, 109, 142, Page 23 Table 16, ¶ 145, 146, 149; ¶ 144 “Job endpoints of the time series API 1474 may be used to interact with a job manager. According to an exemplary embodiment, the job manager is a background process in the time series API 1474 used to schedule jobs (e.g., repeatable jobs, etc.). A job may be an activity that interacts with time series data, such as collecting weather data, detecting faults, etc. When a job is run, the time series API 1474 is configured to create one or more tasks to perform the work. A job may include the parameters shown in Table 17. A user may use the time series API 1474 to return a list of registered job types, create a new job, get scheduled jobs, delete a scheduled job, get job history (e.g., scheduled jobs, running jobs, completed tasks, etc.), and get and set job manager settings (see Table 18).”).
The combination of Sinha, arceserve, Rochford, and Home Assistant discloses a system and method to remotely monitor and diagnose a plurality of assets to monitor and manage performance, operations, maintenance, and repairs. The combination of Sinha, arceserve, Rochford, and Home Assistant discloses a wide range of graphical user interfaces (GUI) types and elements to display and interact with information, but fails to disclose all types of types of GUI elements that could be used, i.e. a slider.
To be more specific, the combination of Sinha, arceserve, Rochford, and Home Assistant fails to explicitly disclose:
the method of claim 23, further comprising a GUI having a slider adapted to display changes in time stamped points of the elements of the sub-systems
However, Abiprojo, which is also directed towards remote monitoring and diagnosis, as well as monitoring and reporting of asset performance and energy usage, to manage maintenance and repair of assets prior to actual failure, further teaches that it is not only well-known in the art to display information in a graphical user interface (GUI), but that GUI’s can also include a slider to allow a user to slide across different points in time and highlighting specification information for the given point in time. One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious that sliders are one of many GUI elements that can be used for viewing information in a GUI and that it is up to a practitioner of the invention do decide which element is the “best” or preferred element to use to allow a user to view information in a GUI. One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious that information can simply be displayed in a report in a dashboard, as disclosed by Sinha or, in view of Abiprojo, displayed with a slider while still achieving the same predictable result of displaying information in a GUI. One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to substitute a slider for a report that displays all information as once because, as taught by Abiprojo, a slider allows a user to slide to a specific piece of information and have certain information highlighted/displayed that corresponds to the information that the user slid to, thereby providing a more efficient use of the user’s time.
(¶ 2, 81, 91, 98, 260)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention that since each individual element and its function are shown in the prior art, albeit shown in separate references, the difference between the claimed subject matter and the prior art rests not on any individual element or function but in the very combination itself-that is in the substitution of an slider to slide through information and have corresponding information displayed, as taught by Abiprojo, for a report that displays all information at once, as disclosed by the combination of Sinha, arceserve, Rochford, and Home Assistant. One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to utilize a slider as this allows a user to slide to a specific piece of information and have certain information highlighted/displayed that corresponds to the information that the user slid to, thereby providing a more efficient use of the user’s time.
Thus, the simply substitution of one known element for another producing a predictable result renders the claim obvious.
In regards to claim 46, the combination of Sinha, arceserve, Rochford, and Home Assistant discloses the method of claim 39, wherein the GUI […] adapted to display changes in time stamped points of the elements of the sub-systems (¶ 55, 109, 142, Page 23 Table 16, ¶ 145, 146, 149; ¶ 144 “Job endpoints of the time series API 1474 may be used to interact with a job manager. According to an exemplary embodiment, the job manager is a background process in the time series API 1474 used to schedule jobs (e.g., repeatable jobs, etc.). A job may be an activity that interacts with time series data, such as collecting weather data, detecting faults, etc. When a job is run, the time series API 1474 is configured to create one or more tasks to perform the work. A job may include the parameters shown in Table 17. A user may use the time series API 1474 to return a list of registered job types, create a new job, get scheduled jobs, delete a scheduled job, get job history (e.g., scheduled jobs, running jobs, completed tasks, etc.), and get and set job manager settings (see Table 18).”).
The combination of Sinha, arceserve, Rochford, and Home Assistant discloses a system and method to remotely monitor and diagnose a plurality of assets to monitor and manage performance, operations, maintenance, and repairs. The combination of Sinha, arceserve, Rochford, and Home Assistant discloses a wide range of graphical user interfaces (GUI) types and elements to display and interact with information, but fails to disclose all types of types of GUI elements that could be used, i.e. a slider.
To be more specific, the combination of Sinha, arceserve, Rochford, and Home Assistant fails to explicitly disclose:
the method of claim 39, wherein the GUI has a slider adapted to display changes in time stamped points of the elements of the sub-systems
However, Abiprojo, which is also directed towards remote monitoring and diagnosis, as well as monitoring and reporting of asset performance and energy usage, to manage maintenance and repair of assets prior to actual failure, further teaches that it is not only well-known in the art to display information in a graphical user interface (GUI), but that GUI’s can also include a slider to allow a user to slide across different points in time and highlighting specification information for the given point in time. One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious that sliders are one of many GUI elements that can be used for viewing information in a GUI and that it is up to a practitioner of the invention do decide which element is the “best” or preferred element to use to allow a user to view information in a GUI. One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious that information can simply be displayed in a report in a dashboard, as disclosed by Sinha or, in view of Abiprojo, displayed with a slider while still achieving the same predictable result of displaying information in a GUI. One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to substitute a slider for a report that displays all information as once because, as taught by Abiprojo, a slider allows a user to slide to a specific piece of information and have certain information highlighted/displayed that corresponds to the information that the user slid to, thereby providing a more efficient use of the user’s time.
(¶ 2, 81, 91, 98, 260)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention that since each individual element and its function are shown in the prior art, albeit shown in separate references, the difference between the claimed subject matter and the prior art rests not on any individual element or function but in the very combination itself-that is in the substitution of an slider to slide through information and have corresponding information displayed, as taught by Abiprojo, for a report that displays all information at once, as disclosed by the combination of Sinha, arceserve, Rochford, and Home Assistant. One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to utilize a slider as this allows a user to slide to a specific piece of information and have certain information highlighted/displayed that corresponds to the information that the user slid to, thereby providing a more efficient use of the user’s time.
Thus, the simply substitution of one known element for another producing a predictable result renders the claim obvious.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/29/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Rejections under 35 USC 103
The Examiner asserts that the applicant’s arguments are directed towards newly amended limitations and are, therefore, considered moot. However, the Examiner has responded to the newly submitted amendments, which the arguments are directed to, in the rejection above, thereby addressing the applicant’s arguments.
Pertinent Arguments
The applicant argues that the prior art of record fails to disclose, teach, or render obvious:
“processing by the first server the data received from the first sub-system by, determining a number of diagnostic sessions and a number of analytics sessions as a function of a count of processor cores, running a plurality of diagnostics sessions and analytics sessions concurrently on the data received from the first sub-system to respectively diagnose instances and analyze instances in the received data to form processed data, wherein the number of diagnostic sessions and analytic sessions are evenly spread over the cores of the first server”
(emphasis added)
However, the Examiner respectfully disagrees.
First, the Examiner asserts that one of ordinary skill in the art of multi-core, multi-thread, and parallel processing would have understood that Sinha does, indeed, disclose the emphasized elements above because Sinha discloses a multi-processing core and parallel processing infrastructure. However, for the purposes of compact prosecution, the Examiner provided an additional analysis in view of arcserve to more explicitly teach this aspect of the claimed invention. arcserve provides the technical description of what it is that the applicant is claiming and although it is not taught using the same terminology recited in the claimed invention, the Examiner asserts that one of ordinary skill in the art of multi-core, multi-thread, and parallel processing would agree that arcserve does, indeed, disclose these elements of the claimed invention. arcserve teaches how the technology functions, i.e. spreading processing across multiple cores, which, one of ordinary skill in the art would have known to be performed dynamically as data is constantly being processed and the system determines how to process the incoming data over the available cores and that this process covers scenarios where loads are unevenly distributed due to the performance or capability of each of the cores and data needing processing or evenly distributed due to the performance or capability of each of the cores and data needing processing. This is how the technology works and the applicant’s particular scenario falls under or is obvious within the teachings of arcserve and what one of ordinary skill in the art of multi-core, multi-thread, and parallel processing would have known in view of the teachings of arcserve. Further still, as was discussed in the rejection, both Sinha and arcserve disclose assigning tasks to a respective processor, thereby establishing that diagnostic session processing can be assigned to a first processor and analytic sessions can be assigned to a second processor, thereby evenly spreading the processing, i.e. each respective session, by assigning each session to a respective processor. Additionally, in view of arcserve, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to evenly spread the processing load based on the number of available processors, especially if the clocks of each of the processors are the same.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious and beneficial to take advantage of the advancements made in processor and server technology, such as, but not limited to, multi-core technology, as this provides the benefits of more processing power, increased efficiency, better performance, processing more information in less time, and so forth.
Further, one of ordinary skill in the art of computing would have found it obvious to update the data processing technique of Sinha using modern processing techniques, as taught in arcserve, in order to gain the commonly understood benefits of such adaptation, such as more processing power, increased efficiency, better performance, processing more information in less time, and so forth.
Accommodating the prior arts more antiquated process of simply focusing on making a processor faster with modern processing techniques, in this case, providing additional cores to process more information simultaneously (especially since Sinha already discloses this technique), would have been obvious. As stated in Leapfrog, “applying modern electronics to older mechanical devices has been commonplace in recent years.”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate into the server-based building management and control system that is in charge of remotely monitoring and controlling a plurality of remote devices of Sinha with the ability to utilize a multi-core server, as taught by arcserve as this would increase the processing power of the server by allowing it to control a plurality of remote devices and implement solutions more effectively, efficiently, and quickly in order to increase the overall management and control of the building.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure found in the PTO-892 Notice of References Cited:
Natalini et al. (US PGPub 2002/0095269 A1); Vroman (US Patent 6,691,064 B2); Suzuki et al. (US PGPub 2002/0130784 A1); Murakami et al. (US PGPub 2002/0128728 A1); Dean et al. (US Patent 6,947,797, B2); Bjornson (US Patent 6,728,660 B2); Horstemeyer et al. (US PGPub 2013/0201018 A1); Lerick et al. (US PGPub 2016/0117646 A1) – which disclose remote monitoring and management of devices, machinery, equipment, and the like for maintenance management and diagnosis
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
GERARDO ARAQUE JR
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3629
/GERARDO ARAQUE JR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3629 5/13/2026