DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-6, 21, and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eaton (US 6,015,779) in view of Kostelnik (US 4,647,633) and Hlavinka (US 2013/0172498 A1).
Regarding claims 1 and 21, Eaton teaches alpha-olefin copolymers and specifically terpolymers (col. 2, line 62), wherein the alpha-olefin monomers have 2 to 20 carbon atoms (col. 9, lines 11-12).
Eaton teaches the incorporation of 1-octene (col. 3, line 5), which reads on the claimed “first alpha-olefin monomer having a carbon chain length of between 4 and 9 carbon atoms” because it contains eight carbon atoms.
Eaton teaches the incorporation of 1-tetradecene (col. 3, line 5), which reads on the claimed “second alpha-olefin monomer having a carbon chain length of between 12 and 15 carbon atoms” because it contains fourteen carbon atoms.
Eaton teaches the incorporation of 1-decene (col. 9, line 15), which reads on the claimed “third alpha-olefin monomer having a carbon chain length of between 10 and11 carbon atoms” because it contains ten carbon atoms. It would have been obvious to combine a third monomer with 1-octene and 1-tetradecene based on the suggestion to form terpolymers (col. 2, lines 60-62), and further obvious to select 1-decene from the list at col. 9 based on its art-recognized suitability for use as a comonomer in Eaton’s terpolymer. See MPEP 2144.07.
Eaton further teaches that the inventive materials are useful as drag reducing agents for hydrocarbons (col. 5, lines 7-13).
Eaton differs from claim 1 because it is silent with regard to the claimed compositional ranges of the three monomer components of the inventive terpolymers.
In the same field of endeavor, Kostelnik teaches a terpolymer (col. 3, lines 29-30) that is used as a drag reducing additive in hydrocarbon liquids flowing through a conduit (col. 2, lines 52-53). Kostelnik does not teach a lower-limit of each monomer within the composition, but does teach that any individual monomer should be preferably limited to at most 75 mole % based on the total number of moles of alpha-monoolefin monomer present in the reaction mixture (col. 3, lines 29-34). The amounts of each component of the terpolymer taught by Kostelnik therefore range from just above 0% to a maximum of 75%, which encompasses the claimed ranges for each of the claimed monomers, establishing prima facie cases of obviousness.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to incorporate Eaton’s monomers in amounts of up to 75 mol%, as Kostelnik demonstrates this to be a suitable range for compositionally similar alpha-olefin copolymers having similar utility. This encompasses the claimed ranges.
Eaton is silent with regard to the claimed dissolution rate. Nevertheless, Eaton as applied above results in a terpolymer that is structurally identical to the claimed terpolymer, which contains all of the same components in the same compositional amounts. Products of identical chemical compositions cannot have mutually exclusive properties. Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, a prima facie case of obviousness has been established. See MPEP 2112.01. The claimed dissolution rates will therefore necessarily be present in Eaton as applied above.
Eaton further teaches that the molecular weight of the invention is in excess of ten million (col. 2, lines 10-18), but is silent with regard to the molecular weight specifically being weight average molecular weight, as claimed.
In the same field of endeavor, Hlavinka teaches catalysts for the polymerization of alpha olefins (Abstract), useful as drag reducing agents ([0249]), and having weight average molecular weights whose number values overlap those of Eaton and the claimed composition ([0248]). It is prima facie obvious to substitute equivalents known in the art as suitable for the same purpose (see MPEP 2144.07). It therefore would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to utilize the weight average molecular weight range(s) of Hlavinka within the polymer of Eaton, as Hlavinka teaches that said ranges are suitable for polyalphaolefins used as drag reducing agents. The ranges of Hlavinka, e.g. 500,000 to 15,000,000 ([0248]), falls within the claimed range of “greater than 1 million,” establishing a prima facie case of obviousness.
Regarding claim 3, as described above, Kostelnik teaches that the amounts of each component of the terpolymer range from just above 0% to a maximum of 75%. The range taught by Kostelnik encompasses each of the claimed ranges, establishing a prima facie case of obviousness.
Regarding claim 4, Eaton teaches the use of 1-octene, 1-tetradecene, and 1-decene (col. 9, lines 13-18).
Regarding claims 5-6, Eaton is silent with regard to the claimed dissolution rates. Nevertheless, Eaton as applied above results in a terpolymer that is structurally identical to the claimed terpolymer, which contains all of the same components in the same compositional amounts. Products of identical chemical compositions cannot have mutually exclusive properties. Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, a prima facie case of obviousness has been established. See MPEP 2112.01. The claimed dissolution rates will therefore necessarily be present in Eaton as applied to claims 1, 4, and 21, above.
Regarding claim 24, as stated above, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, in light of Eaton as modified, to form a terpolymer of 1-octene, 1-tetradecene, and 1-decene, as Eaton teaches all of the claimed monomers and teaches the formation of terpolymers. Furthermore, as described above, it would have been obvious to include each of the monomers in amounts ranging from just above 0% to a maximum of 75%, which includes the claimed percentages, thereby establishing prima facie cases of obviousness.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Applicant’s Remarks, filed August 17, 2026, with respect to the rejections of claims 1, 3-6, and 21 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Eaton and further in view of Kostelnik and Hlavinka, as described above.
Applicant argues that the references fail to disclose the claimed compositions because Eaton prefers copolymers instead of terpolymers. However, Patents are relevant as prior art for all of the information that they contain, and non-preferred and alternative embodiments nonetheless constitute prior art (see MPEP 2123.I and II). Eaton as modified therefore reads on the claimed composition despite preferring copolymers because it does disclose terpolymers.
Applicant argues that Kostelnik fails to teach the claimed ranges of monomer amounts; however, Kostelnik specifically teaches terpolymer compositions (e.g., col. 3, lines 39-41), and specifically indicates that within terpolymer systems, any one monomer preferably does not exceed 75 mole percent based on the reaction mixture (col. 3, lines 29-34). Kostelnik therefore regards all three monomers in a terpolymer together, and therefore each of the three monomers are i) included and therefore have a minimum value just above about 0 mol%, and ii) are preferably maximized at 75 mol%. The values contemplated by Kostelnik are therefore interrelated despite Kostelnik not specifically addressing this fact.
Applicant next argues that the Examiner has failed to establish inherency of the claimed dissolution rate. However, as described above and previously, the polymer of Eaton as modified contains all of the same components in all of the claimed compositional amounts, and with the claimed molecular weight. Also as described previously, products of identical chemical compositions cannot have mutually exclusive properties. Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, a prima facie case of obviousness has been established. See MPEP 2112.01. The claimed dissolution rate is therefore necessarily present. The applicant asserts that the cited references do not establish this premise. However, the Examiner has not stated that the prior art has established this; instead, the prima facie case of obviousness is rooted in adjudicated precedent (c.f. MPEP 2112.01). Applicant argues that the prior art does not demonstrate that every hypothetical composition possesses the claimed dissolution behavior; however this is not the rationale underpinning the rejections of record. Instead, the rejections above rest on the rationale that the compositions within the combined prior art which meet all of the claimed compositional limitations will necessarily possess the claimed dissolution rate characteristic. The fact that the prior art may include polymers which do not meet the claimed compositional/dissolution characteristics does not rebut the fact that said prior art also contains polymers which do.
Applicant argues that amended claim 21 and new claim 24 provide additional distinctions from the prior art; however, the new distinctions provided fall within the teachings of Eaton as modified, as described above. As applied previously, the claimed dissolution characteristic will likewise necessarily be present therein.
Applicant contends that the prior art fails to disclose the claimed terpolymer, however as described above, the formation of the claimed terpolymer would have been obvious given the teachings of the combined prior art references.
Applicant’s arguments are tantamount to allegations of insufficient specificity; however, insufficient specificity is a question relevant to issues of anticipation (see MPEP 2131.03). However, the rejections supplied above and previously are grounded on obviousness rationales, not anticipation.
Conclusion
/JOSHUA CALEB BLEDSOE/Examiner, Art Unit 1762