DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1-10) and specie b.ii. (altering its intensity) in the reply filed on 04/18/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 4, 6, 8, 10, 21, 23, 25, and 27 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Accordingly, claims 1-3, 5, 7, 9, 20, 22, 24, and 26 are currently under consideration (claims 20-27 being newly added).
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “306” has been used in Fig. 3 to designate both an emitter and a different element. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: reference numeral 52 is described as an actuator that varies the position of emitter 306, but in e.g. Fig. 1, the numeral does not point to an actuator.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 26, there is no support for varying intensity of multiple ones of the plurality of emitters, since e.g. step 524 in Fig. 8 only describes switching on or off.
Claims 2, 9, 20, 22, 24, and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
The terms “high” and “low” in claims 2, 20, and 24 are relative terms which render the claims indefinite. The terms are not defined by the claims, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Specifically, it is unclear what qualifies as high and low resolution, since the standard has changed over time.
Regarding claim 9, it is unclear what is meant by “of or more.” For purposes of examination, it will be interpreted as “of one or more.”
Claims 22, 24, and 26 are rejected because they depend on rejected claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 5, 7, 9, 20, 22, 24, and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over various teachings of US Patent Application Publication 2020/0053298 (“Liu”).
Regarding claim 1, Liu teaches [a] contactless patient monitor (Fig. 2) comprising: at least one emitter (Fig. 2, ¶ 0112, light source 400), a first detector (Fig. 2, ¶¶s 0077-0080, detector 120), and a second detector (¶ 0131, thermal imaging sensor), a controller controlling the monitor (¶ 0112, computing device 200 providing automated control), the controller including a processor and a non-transitory memory device that includes instructions that are performed by the processor to control the monitor (¶¶s 0081, 0112), and wherein the controller varies the operation of the emitter in response to the environmental conditions in its field of view as detected by the first detector to improve the image captured by the first detector from the field of view (¶ 0112 describes delivering light having an appropriate intensity. Although it is not explicit that an intensity change is in response to environmental conditions, ¶ 0156 describes changing intensity to achieve a desirable level of background. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the detector 120 to detect background (as it does), and to change intensity in response to an undesirable level of background, for the purpose of achieving a desirable level of background (Liu: ¶ 0156)).
Regarding claims 3, 5, 7, and 9, various teachings of Liu teach all the features with respect to claim 1, as outlined above. Liu further teaches wherein the emitter has a variable output, wherein the operation of the emitter is varied by altering its intensity (¶ 0156, changing intensity), wherein there are a plurality of emitters, wherein the operation of or more of the plurality of emitters is varied by altering its intensity (¶¶s 0123 and 0156, changing the intensity of the 830 nm LEDs of the plurality of LEDs).
Regarding claims 20, 22, 24, and 26, various teachings of Liu teach all the features with respect to claim 1, as outlined above. Liu further teaches wherein the first detector is a high-resolution camera (¶ 0077, providing any desired resolution. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a high resolution camera for the purpose of having more image data to work with, and as a simple matter of design choice) and the operation of the emitter is varied based on a camera signal (¶¶s 0112, 0123, and 0156, based on the level of background detected by a camera), including varying the operation of the emitter by altering its intensity (¶¶s 0123, 0156), wherein a plurality of emitters are positioned to emit into the field of view of the high-resolution camera and the operation of multiple ones of the plurality of emitters is varied based on the camera signal, including varying the operation of the plurality of emitters by altering their respective intensity (¶¶s 0123 and 0156, changing the intensity of the 830 nm LEDs of the plurality of LEDs).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over various teachings of US Patent Application Publication 2020/0053298 (“Liu”) in view of US Patent Application Publication 2015/0272456 (“Kyal”).
Regarding claim 2, various teachings of Liu teach all the features with respect to claim 1, as outlined above. Liu further teaches wherein the first detector is a high-resolution … detector … (¶ 0077, providing any desired resolution. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a high resolution camera for the purpose of having more image data to work with, and as a simple matter of design choice), and wherein the second detector is a low-resolution thermal camera (¶ 0131).
Liu does not appear to explicitly teach the first detector being a monochromatic detector operable to detect in its spectrum.
Kyal teaches using a high resolution monochrome camera for imaging a subject (¶ 0048).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a monochromatic detector in Liu as in Kyal, as the simple substitution of one known imaging component for another, with predictable results (Kyal: ¶ 0048, monochrome and color being interchangeable for capturing high resolution images of a subject).
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 5 of U.S. Patent No. 11,882,366 (“’366 patent”). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 1 is generally broader than, and therefore anticipated by, claim x of the ‘366 patent.
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,176,105 (“’105 patent”) in view of Liu and/or Kyal. Claim 1 of the ‘105 patent teaches all features of the present claim 1 except for those made up by Liu and/or Kyal, as outlined above.
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,279,857 (“’857 patent”) in view of Liu and/or Kyal. Claim 1 of the ‘857 patent teaches all features of the present claim 1 except for those made up by Liu and/or Kyal, as outlined above.
Conclusion
/ANDREY SHOSTAK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791