DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Receipt is acknowledged of the amendment filed 6/03/2026. Claims 1, 4, 6, 8, 10, 12, 14-16, 21, 23, 25, 30-31 are amended and claims 1-8, 10, 12-23, 25, 27-34 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 10 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 10 (and 25) has been amended to recite “a plurality of focusing lenses having Fourier transforming properties is configured for receiving the at least two laser beams from the spatial light modulator and further effectively performing a Fourier transform so as to focus the at least two laser beams”. The originally filed disclosure provides for a “lens set 22” comprised of a single lens (Figs. 2 and 6A) and there is no evidence of possession of the now-claimed invention including plural focusing lenses receiving at least two beams from the SLM.
Claims 10, 15, 25, 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 10 (and 25) has been amended to recite “a plurality of focusing lenses having Fourier transforming properties is configured for receiving the at least two laser beams from the spatial light modulator and further effectively performing a Fourier transform so as to focus the at least two laser beams”. The phrasing of the lenses structure and function would not have been understood by a person having ordinary skill in the art. Firstly, a person having ordinary skill in the art would understand that a refractive, focusing lens necessarily performs a spatial Fourier transform on received light. Limiting the focusing lenses as “having Fourier transforming properties” is merely explicitly reciting an inherent function/operation of the structure. Applicant has further amended the claim from requiring the lens set to “[perform] a Fourier transform” to “effectively [perform] a Fourier transform”. There are multiple, mutually exclusive interpretation of the modifier “effectively” and at least one of them creates discordance in the metes and bounds of the claim. Under a first interpretation of “effectively”, the language would be understood to contrast performing a Fourier transform weakly or unnoticeably with performing a Fourier transform to a sufficient degree so as to be considered “effective”. In this instance, the term “effectively” would be understood as a relative term lacking a sufficiently clear reference by which to judge and measure. Under a second interpretation of “effectively”, the language would be understood to remove a strict requirement to perform a Fourier transform and to replace it with the mere appearance of a Fourier transform. It is unclear what this interpretation would mean in the context of the invention, though it is imagined that some optical characteristics (e.g. decreasing beam spot size) might be measured across an optical element that could be performed via Fourier transform though is not necessarily performed by such an optical element. A diaphragm, for example, might change the beam spot size from a first width to a second width – a change that could be performed by a lens and other optical elements performing a Fourier transform. As the wavefront is not changed by the aperture and so a Fourier transform is effectively performed by the aperture but is not actually performed. Examination on the merits is preempted by the indefiniteness of the claims as there is no reasonable interpretation of the presented language.
Claim 15 (and 31) has been amended to recite “a block mask for filtering out laser light from the spatial light modulator without modulated amplitude and phase”. The metes and bounds of the phrasing would not have been clear to a person having ordinary skill in the art in light of the Specifications. A block mask explicitly limited as “filtering out” light necessarily modulates light amplitude. In the originally-filed disclosure, Applicant does not depict the block mask as performing a spatial filtering as the light amplitude and profile are not changed (Fig. 1A, 1B, 2), 6A). In the Specifications, Applicant discloses “the quantity of the filtered laser beam L of order 0, other unwanted or redundant diffraction orders can be adjusted” and “if the number of the laser beams L of FIG. 1A to pass through the scanning-angle expanding lens set 3 is 5, then, after the filtering by the block mask 7, four of the laser beams L are left to reach the scanned object 50”. The Applicant only discloses block masks that modulate light amplitude and a person having ordinary skill in the art would understand that spatial filtering necessitates this such that examination on the merits is pre-empted due to the indefiniteness.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6-8, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 2019-045574 to Tsuda, et al. (hereinafter Tsuda) in view of US Pat. 12,485,501 to Kupisiewicz et al. (hereinafter Kupisiewicz).
Regarding claim 1, Tsuda discloses a light emission module (Figs. 11, 15), comprising: a laser source (semiconductor laser 101, Fig. 11), used for emitting a laser beam; a beam steering element (from lens 109 to beam deflection element 106, Fig. 11), receiving the laser beam from the laser source and splitting the laser beam into at least two laser beams (“light distribution is reflected when the reflection type liquid crystal spatial light modulator 110 reflects the irradiated light beam like the light beam fac1 shown in FIG. 13 or when it is deflected and reflected like the light beam fac2 Light distribution”, Figs. 11, 13), the beam steering element comprising: a liquid crystal spatial light modulator (“reflective liquid crystal spatial light modulator 112”), configured for modulating amplitude and phase of the at least two laser beams (Figs. 11, 13) and steering a diffractive pattern including the at least two laser beams (Figs. 11, 13); a lens set receiving the at least two laser beams from the spatial light modulator (“the lens 113, the cylindrical lens 114 and the 1⁄4 wavelength plate 115”), configured for focusing the at least two laser beams (Figs. 11, 14); and a scanning-angle assembly comprising a plurality of lenses (lenses 116, 117, Fig. 15), configured for receiving and integrating the at least two laser beams from the beam steering element, and controlling a horizontal scanning angle and a vertical spanning angle of the at least two laser beams in a field of view (“the light beam (for example, fac2_e) from the beam deflection element 106 shown in FIG. 11 is incident on the beam diameter expansion optical system… concave lens 116 and the convex lens 117 constitute a beam diameter expanding optical system, and the beam diameter of the light beam emitted from the beam deflection element 106 is expanded… to project the light beam to a distance”); wherein the spanning angle is an angle of a vertical scan direction of the field of view, and the scanning angle is an angle of a horizontal scan direction of the field of view (Figs. 11, 13-15).
Tsuda discloses the claimed invention as cited above though does not explicitly disclose: a liquid crystal on silicon (LCoS) spatial light modulator.
Kupisiewicz discloses a liquid crystal on silicon (LCoS) spatial light modulator (col. 17, ll. 18-30).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide an LCoS SLM as taught by Kupisiewicz with the system as disclosed by Tsudoda. The motivation would have been to utilize a technological platform (LCoS) known in the art for controlling a phase modulation map and propagating directed beams (col. 4, ll. 46-56 & col. 17, ll. 18-30).
Regarding claim 6, Tsuda discloses the scanning- angle expanding lens assembly includes a positive focal-length lens set (lens 117, Fig. 15) and an expanded scanning-angle focal-length lens set (lens 116, Fig. 15).
Regarding claim 7, according to an alternative matching of Tsuda, the same embodiment in Fig. 11 discloses the positive focal-length lens set includes a receiver lens (cylindrical lens 114, Fig. 11, 14) receiving the at least two laser beams from the beam-steering element and a diverging lens (beam deflection element 106, Figs. 11, 14) directing the at least two laser beams to the expanded scanning-angle focal-length lens set.
Regarding claim 8, Tsuda discloses the spatial light modulator is also configured for steering the at least two laser beam beams (“on the reflective liquid crystal spatial light modulator 112, light beams fac1_b and fac2_b of the light distribution as shown on the left side of FIGS. 11 and 13 are obtained. The light beams fac1_b and fac2_b are deflected and reflected by the reflective liquid crystal spatial light modulator 112, and become light beams fac1_c and fac2_c as shown in FIG. 14, and pass through the lens 113”; Fig. 11, 13-15).
Regarding claim 13, Tsuda discloses the laser beam has a wave length ranging between 900nm and 1550nm (“the wavelength λ of the light beam is 1.55 μm”).
Claims 2-3 and 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsuda in view of Kupisiewicz as applied to Claim 1, and further in view of US PG Pub. 2020/0256960 to LaChapelle, et al. (hereinafter LaChapelle).
Regarding claim 2, Tsuda discloses the claimed invention as cited above though does not explicitly disclose: the scanning angle is greater than 90⁰.
LaChapelle discloses the scanning angle is greater than 90⁰ (“a scan pattern 200 may scan across any suitable field of regard (FOR) having any suitable horizontal FOR (FOR.sub.H) and any suitable vertical FOR (FOR.sub.V). For example, a scan pattern 200 may have a field of regard represented by angular dimensions (e.g., FOR.sub.H FOR.sub.V) 40°×30°, 90°×40°, or 60°×15°. As another example, a scan pattern 200 may have a FOR.sub.H greater than or equal to 10°, 25°, 30°, 40°, 60°, 90°, or 120°”).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide the claimed scanning angle as taught by LaChapelle with the system as disclosed by Tsuda. The motivation would have been to provide a sufficiently wide field of view to image objects in LIDAR applications (Abstract).
Regarding claim 3, Tsuda discloses the claimed invention as cited above though does not explicitly disclose: the spanning angle is greater than 30⁰.
LaChapelle discloses the spanning angle is greater than 30⁰ (“a scan pattern 200 may scan across any suitable field of regard (FOR) having any suitable horizontal FOR (FOR.sub.H) and any suitable vertical FOR (FOR.sub.V). For example, a scan pattern 200 may have a field of regard represented by angular dimensions (e.g., FOR.sub.H FOR.sub.V) 40°×30°, 90°×40°, or 60°×15°. As another example, a scan pattern 200 may have a FOR.sub.H greater than or equal to 10°, 25°, 30°, 40°, 60°, 90°, or 120°”).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide the claimed spanning angle as taught by LaChapelle with the system as disclosed by Tsuda. The motivation would have been to provide a sufficiently wide field of view to image objects in LIDAR applications (Abstract).
Regarding claim 12, Tsuda discloses the claimed invention as cited above though does not explicitly disclose: the laser source is a fiber laser pulse laser source.
LaChapelle discloses the laser source is a fiber laser pulse laser source ([0011],[0029]).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide the claimed light source as taught by LaChapelle with the system as disclosed by Tsuda. The motivation would have been to tailor pulse width and frequency, wavelength, and power to LIDAR applications ([0026-0027]).
Regarding claim 14, Tsuda discloses the claimed invention as cited above though does not explicitly disclose: a polarizing element disposed between the beam steering element and the scanning-angle expanding lens assembly, configured to reflect reflected laser light received from the scanned object field of view.
LaChapelle discloses a polarizing element (splitter 115 in Fig. 1 embodied as a polarization beamsplitter, “lidar system 100 may include one or more lenses, mirrors, filters (e.g., bandpass or interference filters), beam splitters, polarizers, polarizing beam splitters”, [0033]-[0034]) disposed between the beam steering element and the scanning-angle expanding lens assembly, configured to reflect reflected laser light received from the scanned object field of view ([0011],[0029]). While LaChapelle does not explicitly state that the splitter 115 is embodied as polarization-dependent, LaChapelle recognizes that a person having ordinary skill in the art would understand that it is obvious to modify the optical system and leverage polarization to separate transmission and reception paths.
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide a polarizing element as taught by LaChapelle with the system as disclosed by Tsuda. The motivation would have been to share a coaxial beam trajectory ([0036]).
Claims 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsuda in view of Kupisiewicz as applied to Claim 1, and further in view of US PG Pub. 20190075281 to Hall , et al. (hereinafter Hall).
Regarding claim 4, Tsuda discloses the claimed invention as cited above though does not explicitly disclose: the scanning- angle expanding lens assembly is a compound spherical lens set that includes at least one spherical lens.
Hall discloses the scanning- angle expanding lens assembly is a compound spherical lens set that includes at least one spherical lens (Fig. 3C, [0045]).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide a spherical lens as taught by Hall with the system as disclosed by Tsuda. The motivation would have been to control beam dimensioning in two-dimensions across horizontal and vertical fields.
Regarding claim 5, Tsuda discloses the claimed invention as cited above though does not explicitly disclose: the compound spherical lens set includes a spherical lens and at least one aspherical reflector set.
Hall discloses the compound spherical lens set includes a spherical lens and at least one aspherical reflector set. (Fig. 3C, [0045]).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide a spherical lens as taught by Hall with the system as disclosed by Tsuda. The motivation would have been to control beam dimensioning in two-dimensions across horizontal and vertical fields.
Claims 16, 21-23, 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 2019-045574 to Tsuda, et al. (hereinafter Tsuda) in view of US Pat. 12,485,501 to Kupisiewicz et al. (hereinafter Kupisiewicz) and US 10,921,453 to Dumais, et al. (hereinafter Dumais).
Regarding claim 16, Tsuda discloses a light emission module (Figs. 11, 15), comprising: a laser source (semiconductor laser 101, Fig. 11), used for emitting a laser beam; a beam steering element (from lens 109 to beam deflection element 106, Fig. 11), receiving the laser beam from the laser source and splitting the laser beam into at least two laser beams (“light distribution is reflected when the reflection type liquid crystal spatial light modulator 110 reflects the irradiated light beam like the light beam fac1 shown in FIG. 13 or when it is deflected and reflected like the light beam fac2 Light distribution”, Figs. 11, 13), the beam steering element comprising: a liquid crystal spatial light modulator (“reflective liquid crystal spatial light modulator 112”), configured for modulating amplitude and phase of the at least two laser beams (Figs. 11, 13) and steering a diffractive pattern including the at least two laser beams (Figs. 11, 13); a lens set receiving the at least two laser beams from the spatial light modulator (“the lens 113, the cylindrical lens 114 and the 1⁄4 wavelength plate 115”), configured for focusing the at least two laser beams (Figs. 11, 14); and a scanning-angle assembly comprising a plurality of lenses (lenses 116, 117, Fig. 15), configured for receiving and integrating the at least two laser beams from the beam steering element, and controlling a horizontal scanning angle and a vertical spanning angle of the at least two laser beams in a field of view (“the light beam (for example, fac2_e) from the beam deflection element 106 shown in FIG. 11 is incident on the beam diameter expansion optical system… concave lens 116 and the convex lens 117 constitute a beam diameter expanding optical system, and the beam diameter of the light beam emitted from the beam deflection element 106 is expanded… to project the light beam to a distance”); wherein the spanning angle is an angle of a vertical scan direction of the field of view, and the scanning angle is an angle of a horizontal scan direction of the field of view (Figs. 11, 13-15).
Tsuda discloses the claimed invention as cited above though does not explicitly disclose: a liquid crystal on silicon (LCoS) spatial light modulator.
Kupisiewicz discloses a liquid crystal on silicon (LCoS) spatial light modulator (col. 17, ll. 18-30).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide an LCoS SLM as taught by Kupisiewicz with the system as disclosed by Tsuda. The motivation would have been to utilize a technological platform (LCoS) known in the art for controlling a phase modulation map and propagating directed beams (col. 4, ll. 46-56 & col. 17, ll. 18-30).
Tsuda discloses the claimed invention as cited above though does not explicitly disclose: a light-beam receiver module, including: a receiver lens set, in a configuration configured to receive the laser beam light reflected from the scanned object field of view; and a sensor module, in a configuration configured to receive the laser beam transmitted from light reflected from the field of view via the receiver lens set.
Dumais discloses a light-beam receiver module (Fig. 8), including: a receiver lens set (lens 850, Fig. 8), in a configuration configured to receive the laser beam light reflected from the scanned object field of view; and a sensor module (detector 860, Fig. 8), in a configuration configured to receive the laser beam transmitted from light reflected from the field of view via the receiver lens set.
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide a receiver module as taught by Dumais with the system as disclosed by Tsuda. The motivation would have been to measure objects in space via LIDAR (col. 9, ln. 52-col. 10, ln. 19).
Regarding claim 21, Tsuda discloses the scanning- angle expanding lens assembly includes a positive focal-length lens set (lens 117, Fig. 15) and an expanded scanning-angle focal-length lens set (lens 116, Fig. 15).
Regarding claim 22, according to an alternative matching of Tsuda, the same embodiment in Fig. 11 discloses the positive focal-length lens set includes a receiver lens (cylindrical lens 114, Fig. 11, 14) receiving the at least two laser beams from the beam-steering element and a diverging lens (beam deflection element 106, Figs. 11, 14) directing the at least two laser beams to the expanded scanning-angle focal-length lens set.
Regarding claim 23, Tsuda discloses the spatial light modulator is also configured for steering the at least two laser beam beams (“on the reflective liquid crystal spatial light modulator 112, light beams fac1_b and fac2_b of the light distribution as shown on the left side of FIGS. 11 and 13 are obtained. The light beams fac1_b and fac2_b are deflected and reflected by the reflective liquid crystal spatial light modulator 112, and become light beams fac1_c and fac2_c as shown in FIG. 14, and pass through the lens 113”; Fig. 11, 13-15).
Regarding claim 28, Tsuda discloses the laser beam has a wave length ranging between 900nm and 1550nm (“the wavelength λ of the light beam is 1.55 μm”).
Claims 17-18, 27 and 29-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsuda in view of Kupisiewicz and Dumais as applied to Claim 16, and further in view of US PG Pub. 2020/0256960 to LaChapelle, et al. (hereinafter LaChapelle).
Regarding claim 17, Tsuda discloses the claimed invention as cited above though does not explicitly disclose: the scanning angle is greater than 90⁰.
LaChapelle discloses the scanning angle is greater than 90⁰ (“a scan pattern 200 may scan across any suitable field of regard (FOR) having any suitable horizontal FOR (FOR.sub.H) and any suitable vertical FOR (FOR.sub.V). For example, a scan pattern 200 may have a field of regard represented by angular dimensions (e.g., FOR.sub.H FOR.sub.V) 40°×30°, 90°×40°, or 60°×15°. As another example, a scan pattern 200 may have a FOR.sub.H greater than or equal to 10°, 25°, 30°, 40°, 60°, 90°, or 120°”).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide the claimed scanning angle as taught by LaChapelle with the system as disclosed by Tsuda. The motivation would have been to provide a sufficiently wide field of view to image objects in LIDAR applications (Abstract).
Regarding claim 18, Tsuda discloses the claimed invention as cited above though does not explicitly disclose: the spanning angle is greater than 30⁰.
LaChapelle discloses the spanning angle is greater than 30⁰ (“a scan pattern 200 may scan across any suitable field of regard (FOR) having any suitable horizontal FOR (FOR.sub.H) and any suitable vertical FOR (FOR.sub.V). For example, a scan pattern 200 may have a field of regard represented by angular dimensions (e.g., FOR.sub.H FOR.sub.V) 40°×30°, 90°×40°, or 60°×15°. As another example, a scan pattern 200 may have a FOR.sub.H greater than or equal to 10°, 25°, 30°, 40°, 60°, 90°, or 120°”).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide the claimed spanning angle as taught by LaChapelle with the system as disclosed by Tsuda. The motivation would have been to provide a sufficiently wide field of view to image objects in LIDAR applications (Abstract).
Regarding claim 27, Tsuda discloses the claimed invention as cited above though does not explicitly disclose: the laser source is a fiber laser pulse laser source.
LaChapelle discloses the laser source is a fiber laser pulse laser source ([0011],[0029]).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide the claimed light source as taught by LaChapelle with the system as disclosed by Tsuda. The motivation would have been to tailor pulse width and frequency, wavelength, and power to LIDAR applications ([0026-0027]).
Regarding claim 29, Tsuda discloses the claimed invention as cited above though does not explicitly disclose: a polarizer disposed between the receiver lens set and the sensor module.
LaChapelle discloses a polarizer (splitter 115 in Fig. 1 embodied as a polarization beamsplitter, “lidar system 100 may include one or more lenses, mirrors, filters (e.g., bandpass or interference filters), beam splitters, polarizers, polarizing beam splitters”, [0033]-[0034]) disposed between the receiver lens set and the sensor module ([0011],[0029]). While LaChapelle does not explicitly state that the splitter 115 is embodied as polarization-dependent, LaChapelle recognizes that a person having ordinary skill in the art would understand that it is obvious to modify the optical system and leverage polarization to separate transmission and reception paths.
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide a polarizing element as taught by LaChapelle with the system as disclosed by Tsuda. The motivation would have been to share a coaxial beam trajectory ([0036]).
Regarding claim 30, Tsuda discloses the claimed invention as cited above though does not explicitly disclose: a polarizing element disposed between the beam steering element and the scanning-angle expanding lens assembly, configured to reflect reflected laser light received from the scanned object field of view.
LaChapelle discloses a polarizing element (splitter 115 in Fig. 1 embodied as a polarization beamsplitter, “lidar system 100 may include one or more lenses, mirrors, filters (e.g., bandpass or interference filters), beam splitters, polarizers, polarizing beam splitters”, [0033]-[0034]) disposed between the beam steering element and the scanning-angle expanding lens assembly, configured to reflect reflected laser light received from the scanned object field of view ([0011],[0029]). While LaChapelle does not explicitly state that the splitter 115 is embodied as polarization-dependent, LaChapelle recognizes that a person having ordinary skill in the art would understand that it is obvious to modify the optical system and leverage polarization to separate transmission and reception paths.
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide a polarizing element as taught by LaChapelle with the system as disclosed by Tsuda. The motivation would have been to share a coaxial beam trajectory ([0036]).
Claims 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsuda in view of Kupisiewicz and Dumais as applied to Claim 16, and further in view of US PG Pub. 20190075281 to Hall, et al. (hereinafter Hall).
Regarding claim 19, Tsuda discloses the claimed invention as cited above though does not explicitly disclose: the scanning- angle expanding lens assembly is a compound spherical lens set that includes at least one spherical lens.
Hall discloses the scanning- angle expanding lens assembly is a compound spherical lens set that includes at least one spherical lens (Fig. 3C, [0045]).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide a spherical lens as taught by Hall with the system as disclosed by Tsuda. The motivation would have been to control beam dimensioning in two-dimensions across horizontal and vertical fields.
Regarding claim 20, Tsuda discloses the claimed invention as cited above though does not explicitly disclose: the compound spherical lens set includes a spherical lens and at least one aspherical reflector set.
Hall discloses the compound spherical lens set includes a spherical lens and at least one aspherical reflector set. (Fig. 3C, [0045]).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide a spherical lens as taught by Hall with the system as disclosed by Tsuda. The motivation would have been to control beam dimensioning in two-dimensions across horizontal and vertical fields.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/CHRISTOPHER STANFORD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872