DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
A series of singular dependent claims is permissible in which a dependent claim refers to a preceding claim which, in turn, refers to another preceding claim.
A claim which depends from a dependent claim should not be separated by any claim which does not also depend from said dependent claim. It should be kept in mind that a dependent claim may refer to any preceding independent claim. In general, applicant's sequence will not be changed. See MPEP § 608.01(n).
Claims 10 and 11 are objected to for failing to refer to a preceding claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 12-14 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
“the textured surface being an exposed surface” is new matter as there is no disclosure of an “exposed surface” in the disclosure.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1:
“reusable” is indefinite as it is unclear what makes a substrate reusable. It is interpreted that so as long as a substrate is not destroyed, it is “reusable”.
“the exposed texture surface” lacks antecedent basis in the claim
“being configured to be cleaned and reused” is indefinite as it is unclear what structure or configuration would meet this limitation. It is interpreted that so as long as a material is not destroyed in a single use then it would be “configured to be cleaned and reused”
Claim 12:
“reusable” is indefinite as it is unclear what makes a substrate reusable. It is interpreted that so as long as a substrate is not destroyed, it is “reusable”.
“exposed surface” is indefinite as it is unclear what structure “exposed” requires and/or what the surface is “exposed” to.
“being configured to be cleaned and reused” is indefinite as it is unclear what structure or configuration would meet this limitation. It is interpreted that so as long as a material is not destroyed in a single use then it would be “configured to be cleaned and reused”
“being configured to be cleaned and reused” is indefinite as it is unclear what structure or configuration would meet this limitation. It is interpreted that so as long as a material is not destroyed in a single use then it would be “configured to be cleaned and reused”
Claim 11
“external surface” is indefinite as “external” is a relative term wherein the claim does not define how one would determine “external” versus internal and what “external” is with respect to.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 3-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Mishan (US Pub. No. 2013/0298840).
Claims 1, 3, 5, and 7: Mishan teaches a nonpermeable reusable substrate for removal of particulates from a liquid flow (abstract), comprising: a nonpermeable substrate member [0033] having a textured surface (Fig. 2, 12); the textured surface comprising a plurality of protrusions (Fig. 2, 20); the protrusions configured to interfere with a liquid flow traversing the textured surface and remove particulates entrained in the liquid flow as the liquid flow passes over the exposed textured surface rather than through the nonpermeable substrate member (abstract); the plurality of protrusions defining spaces therebetween configured to trap and retain the particulates entrained in the liquid flow (any particles larger than the gap size between posts will be retained); the nonpermeable substrate member being configured to be cleaned and reused [0037]; wherein the substrate member comprises one of a mat or a belt (Fig. 2, 12 is considered a ‘mat’). The posts (20) are different sized.
Claim 4: the projections are pyramidal [0033].
Claim 6: the projections are a variety of shapes [0033], including pyramids and rounded shapes.
Claim 8: the protrusions are made of metal or rubber [0033].
Claim 9: Claim 9 further defines the stereolithography materials of Claim 8 but the stereolithography material is an alternative wherein the prior art teaches that the protrusions are metal or rubber.
Claims 12, 10, and 11: Mishan teaches a nonpermeable reusable substrate for removal of particulates from a liquid flow (abstract), comprising: a nonpermeable substrate member [0033] having a textured surface (Fig. 2, 12); the textured surface comprising a plurality of protrusions (Fig. 2, 20); the protrusions configured to interfere with a liquid flow traversing the textured surface and remove particulates entrained in the liquid flow as the liquid flow passes over the exposed textured surface rather than through the nonpermeable substrate member (abstract); the plurality of protrusions defining spaces therebetween configured to trap and retain the particulates entrained in the liquid flow (any particles larger than the gap size between posts will be retained); the nonpermeable substrate member being configured to be cleaned and reused [0037]; wherein the substrate member comprises one of a mat or a belt (Fig. 2, 12 is considered a ‘mat’). The posts (20) are different sized. The underside of the textured surface of 12 is uniform and smooth and would allow for adhesion to another surface.
Claim 13: the shape of the projections is rounded [0033].
Claim 14: the shape can be pyramidal [0033].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mishan (US Pub. No. 2013/0298840).
Claim 21: The spacing among posts will inherently prevent particles or items of a size larger than the gaps from passing. Mishan does not teach that the spaces are “configured to trap and retain particulates of 150 microns or less”. However, Mishan teaches that the number and positioning of posts is necessary to support the porous mat which lays on top of it [0056]. The number, size, and shape are all variable and can be modified based on desired flow and structural properties. “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). The discovery of an optimum value of a known result effective variable, without producing any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of a person of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980) (see MPEP § 2144.05, II.).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the art rejections of claims 1, 3-14 and 21 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant argues that “reusable” is definite. Applicant states that a term is definite “so as long as a skilled artisan can determine its scope”.
The Examiner agrees that definiteness requires one of ordinary skill in the art to be able to determine the scope of the term in light of the specification. That is why “reusable” is indefinite; there is no way for one of ordinary skill in the art to be able to readily determine what is meant by “reusable” and what structure is required to be present to render the device “reusable”.
Applicant references the disclosure and states that because fluid flows across and not through the substrate it “contributes to reusability”. However, it is known that permeable filters are also reusable. Applicant then pulls out excerpts from the disclosure such as attempting to define “reusable” as a contrast to a “typical permeable filter membrane that require constant replacement”. Therein lies the Examiner’s point that there is no way to determine what would be “constant replacement”, i.e. at some point the claimed device would need to be replaced as well, and even if cleaned would not work well. What are all those limits?
Applicant discusses that the device may be “reused without removal from the filtration system”. Does this just mean the process involving the device could just be stopped and started and that would be considered “reuse”?
How would Applicant determine what is “easily cleaned” versus not easily cleaned to determine reusability?
None of this is defined or clear. It is completely impossible for one of ordinary skill in the art to determine what structure is required for the device to be “reusable”. As such, it is interpreted that so as long as the device is not destroyed in an initial use, it is “reusable”.
Conclusion
ALLISON FITZSIMMONS
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1773
/ALLISON G FITZSIMMONS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1773