Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-10, 14-17 are allowed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CHIN et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2021/0050901 A1) in view of Loehr et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2021/0345408 A1) in further view of ZHAO (U.S. Pub No. 2022/0070914 A1)
1, CHIN teaches a wireless communication method, comprising: determining, by a terminal device, that a first resource is available [par 0047, 0438, In one implementation, if a BFR procedure has been triggered for a cell, the UE may further determine whether there is available UL resource for the transmission of a BFR report. In one case, if a BFR procedure has been triggered for a cell and there no available UL resource for the transmission of a BFR report, the UE may trigger a BFR-SR procedure (for the cell(s) that has triggered a BFR procedure). the UE may transmit the BFR report on the first UL resource after determining that the first UL resource is suitable for the transmission of the BFR report. In one implementation, only when the first UL resource is considered as an UL resource suitable for the transmission of the BFR report, the UE may use the first UL resource to transmit the BFR report];
and when a first condition is met, performing, by the terminal device, media access control (MAC) physical data unit (PDU) packaging or information multiplexing on the first resource[par 0074, 0160, 0161, A UE may multiplex MAC CEs and MAC Service Data Units (SDUs) in a MAC PDU, e.g., based on Multiplexing and Assembly mechanism and/or an LCH Prioritization (LCP) procedure, In one implementation, an indication may be configured for one or more of the existing/new MAC CE type(s). When an UL resource becomes available for a new transmission, the MAC entity may allocate the resource to the MAC CE(s) and the LCH(s) to multiplex a MAC PDU in a specific order, which may be determined by the presence/value of the indication and/or the priority configured for each LCH];
wherein the first resource is a configured grant (CG) resource[par 0429, the specific UL resource(s) may be associated with a specific UL configured grant configuration (e.g., configuration ID or typet/type2). For example, the specific UL configured grant configuration may be configured for BFR report transmission. If the available UL resource is a configured grant which is mapped to a specific configured grant configuration, the UE may generate the BFR report and include the BFR report in the UL resource. The gNB may indicate, via RRC or DCI signaling, that the configured grant configuration is a specific configured grant configuration];
the first condition is indicated or configured by a network device [par 0043, a BFD procedure may be performed. During the BFD procedure, a BFD RS (e.g., an SSB and/or a CSI-RS) may be explicitly or implicitly configured by the BS 184 for the UE 182 to detect a beam failure event]
wherein in a condition where all logical channels (LCHs) are configured with an allowed CG resource list in logical channel configuration but the first resource is not included in the allowed CG resource list [Table 2, paragraph 0174, a specific LCH may correspond to the LCH configured with a specific mapping restriction(s), e.g., one or more or any combination of the allowedSCS-List IE. RRC additionally controls the LCP procedure by configuring mapping restrictions for each LCH: allowedSCS-List which sets the allowed SCS(s) for transmission; configuredGrantType1Allowed which sets whether a configured grant Type 1 can be used for transmission],
the method further comprises determining, by the terminal device, to ignore the first resource [par 0440-0445, the UE may determine whether the first UL resource is indicated by the RAR message (e.g., by checking whether the first UL resource is indicated by an UL grant contained in the RAR message. In action 506, if the outcome of action 502 is No (e.g., when the first UL resource is not indicated by the RAR message), the UE may determine that the first UL resource is not suitable for the transmission of the BFR report. In action 508, the UE may be disabled/prevented from transmitting the BFR report on the first UL resource after determining that the first UL resource is not suitable for the transmission of the BFR report]
CHIN fail to show multiplexing any LCH onto the first resource or multiplexing the logical channel that meets logical channel prioritization (LCP) mapping restriction condition onto the first resource.
In analogous art Loehr show multiplexing any LCH onto the first resource or multiplexing the logical channel that meets logical channel prioritization (LCP) mapping restriction condition onto the first resource[par 0101, the UE 205 is configured by RRC with one or more logical channel(s) for which data of the corresponding logical channel may be multiplexed to the first ‘y’ UL resource(s) of a multi-TTI grant, and additionally a triggering indication may be contained in the UL resource grant (e.g., DC!)]
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of CHIN and Loehr disclose procedures for transmitting UL data in an access network using unlicensed spectrum.
CHIN and Loehr fail to show wherein the allowed CG resource list is configured by configuration information, the configuration information comprises the logical channel configuration, and the allowed CG resource list comprises a CG resource index list.
In an analogous art ZHAO wherein the allowed CG resource list is configured by configuration information, the configuration information comprises the logical channel configuration [par 0014, 0022-0024, 0029, the configuration information is a logical channel restriction corresponding to the logical channel, and the logical channel restriction carries information of a configured grant allowed to be used by the logical channel; the information of the configured grant allowed to be used by the logical channel indicates the mapping relationship between the logical channel and the configured grant allocated to the terminal. A list of identifiers of configured grants allowed to be used by the logical channel. the configuration information is a logical channel restriction corresponding to the logical channel, and the logical channel restriction carries information of a configured grant allowed to be used by the logical channel];
and the allowed CG resource list comprises a CG resource index list [par 0029, 0030, 0173, the information of the configured grant allowed to be used by the logical channel indicates the mapping relationship between the logical channel and the configured grant allocated to the terminal. the information of the configured grant allowed to be used by the logical channel carried in the logical channel restriction, is an index of the configured grant allowed to be used by the logical channel; a list of identifiers of configured grants allowed to be used (for example, a list of indexes of configured grants)].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of CHIN, Loehr, and ZHAO because this can provide a configured grant usage method and apparatus, a network device and a terminal, which can solve the problem of mapping between logical channels and multiple sets of configured scheduling grants. [ZHAO, par 0009]
Claim 2, CHIN, Loehr, and ZHAO demonstrates the method of claim 1, wherein the performing, by the terminal device, the MAC PDU packaging or the information multiplexing on the first resource comprises: based on the resource attribute of the first resource, performing, by the terminal device, the MAC PDU packaging or the information multiplexing on the first resource [Chin par 0074, 0180, A UE may multiplex MAC CEs and MAC Service Data Units (SDUs) in a MAC PDU, e.g., based on Multiplexing and Assembly mechanism and/or an LCH Prioritization (LCP) procedure. When the UE multiplexes the MAC CEs into the MAC PDU, the BFR MAC CE may be prioritized in accordance with the following order (highest priority listed first)].
3, CHIN, Loehr, and ZHAO disclose the method of any of claims 1, wherein the resource attribute of the first resource comprises at least one of the followings:
the priority of the first resource, a reliability indication of the first resource, a service indication of the first resource, an indication of the logical channel that can be mapped onto the first resource, an indication of the MAC CE that can be mapped onto the first resource, physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) duration corresponding to the first resource, modulation and coding scheme (MCS) level corresponding to the first resource, MCS list information corresponding to the first resource, modulation and coding scheme cell radio network temporary identifier (MCS-C-RNTD corresponding to the first resource, the type of the first resource and the size of transmission block of the
first resource [CHIN par 0084, 0153, 0154, Different MAC CEs for UL may have different priorities to be multiplexed in the MAC PDU. For example, the LCHs may be prioritized by the following order (highest priority listed first). c MAC CE type(s) may be allocated with UL resource later than LCH(s) specifically for URLLC services if one or more or any combination of the following conditions is satisfied: if the corresponding UL resource is for URLLC services with specific characteristics, e.g., associated with a specific RNTI (e.g., MCS C-RNTI), having a specific PUSCH duration (e.g., a PUSCH duration smaller than a threshold)].
18. Chin teaches a terminal device, comprising: a processing unit, configured to determine that a first resource is available[par 0047, 0438, In one implementation, if a BFR procedure has been triggered for a cell, the UE may further determine whether there is available UL resource for the transmission of a BFR report. In one case, if a BFR procedure has been triggered for a cell and there no available UL resource for the transmission of a BFR report, the UE may trigger a BFR-SR procedure (for the cell(s) that has triggered a BFR procedure). the UE may transmit the BFR report on the first UL resource after determining that the first UL resource is suitable for the transmission of the BFR report. In one implementation, only when the first UL resource is considered as an UL resource suitable for the transmission of the BFR report, the UE may use the first UL resource to transmit the BFR report];
and a communication unit, configured to perform, when a first condition is met, media access control (MAC) physical data unit (PDU) packaging or information
multiplexing on the first resource[par 0074, 0160, 0161, A UE may multiplex MAC CEs and MAC Service Data Units (SDUs) in a MAC PDU, e.g., based on Multiplexing and Assembly mechanism and/or an LCH Prioritization (LCP) procedure, In one implementation, an indication may be configured for one or more of the existing/new MAC CE type(s). When an UL resource becomes available for anew transmission, the MAC entity may allocate the resource to the MAC CE(s) and the LCH(s) to multiplex a MAC PDU in a specific order, which may be determined by the presence/value of the indication and/or the priority configured for each LCH];
wherein the first resource is a configured grant (CG) resource[par 0429, the specific UL resource(s) may be associated with a specific UL configured grant configuration (e.g., configuration ID or typet/type2). For example, the specific UL configured grant configuration may be configured for BFR report transmission. If the available UL resource is a configured grant which is mapped to a specific configured grant configuration, the UE may generate the BFR report and include the BFR report in the UL resource. The gNB may indicate, via RRC or DCI signaling, that the configured grant configuration is a specific configured grant configuration];
the first condition is indicated or configured by a network device[par 0043, a BFD procedure may be performed. During the BFD procedure, a BFD RS (e.g., an SSB and/or a CSI-RS) may be explicitly or implicitly configured by the BS 184 for the UE 182 to detect a beam failure event]
wherein in a condition where all logical channels (LCHs) are configured with an allowed CG resource list in logical channel configuration but the first resource is not included in the allowed CG resource list [Table 2, paragraph 0174, a specific LCH may correspond to the LCH configured with a specific mapping restriction(s), e.g., one or more or any combination of the allowedSCS-List IE. RRC additionally controls the LCP procedure by configuring mapping restrictions for each LCH: allowedSCS-List which sets the allowed SCS(s) for transmission; configuredGrantType1Allowed which sets whether a configured grant Type 1 can be used for transmission],
the method further comprises determining, by the terminal device, to ignore the first resource [par 0232, 0440-0445, the UE may determine whether the first UL resource is indicated by the RAR message (e.g., by checking whether the first UL resource is indicated by an UL grant contained in the RAR message. In action 506, if the outcome of action 502 is No (e.g., when the first UL resource is not indicated by the RAR message), the UE may determine that the first UL resource is not suitable for the transmission of the BFR report. In action 508, the UE may be disabled/prevented from transmitting the BFR report on the first UL resource after determining that the first UL resource is not suitable for the transmission of the BFR report]
CHIN fail to show multiplexing any LCH onto the first resource or multiplexing the logical channel that meets logical channel prioritization (LCP) mapping restriction condition onto the first resource.
In analogous art Loehr show multiplexing any LCH onto the first resource or multiplexing the logical channel that meets logical channel prioritization (LCP) mapping restriction condition onto the first resource[par 0101, the UE 205 is configured by RRC with one or more logical channel(s) for which data of the corresponding logical channel may be multiplexed to the first ‘y’ UL resource(s) of a multi-TTI grant, and additionally a triggering indication may be contained in the UL resource grant (e.g., DC!)]
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of CHIN and Loehr disclose procedures for transmitting UL data in an access network using unlicensed spectrum.
CHIN and Loehr fail to show wherein the allowed CG resource list is configured by configuration information, the configuration information comprises the logical channel configuration, and the allowed CG resource list comprises a CG resource index list.
In an analogous art ZHAO wherein the allowed CG resource list is configured by configuration information, the configuration information comprises the logical channel configuration [par 0014, 0029, the configuration information is a logical channel restriction corresponding to the logical channel, and the logical channel restriction carries information of a configured grant allowed to be used by the logical channel; the information of the configured grant allowed to be used by the logical channel indicates the mapping relationship between the logical channel and the configured grant allocated to the terminal. the configuration information is a logical channel restriction corresponding to the logical channel, and the logical channel restriction carries information of a configured grant allowed to be used by the logical channel];
and the allowed CG resource list comprises a CG resource index list [par 0029, 0030, 0173, the information of the configured grant allowed to be used by the logical channel indicates the mapping relationship between the logical channel and the configured grant allocated to the terminal. the information of the configured grant allowed to be used by the logical channel carried in the logical channel restriction, is an index of the configured grant allowed to be used by the logical channel; a list of identifiers of configured grants allowed to be used (for example, a list of indexes of configured grants)].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of CHIN, Loehr, and ZHAO because this can provide a configured grant usage method and apparatus, a network device and a terminal, which can solve the problem of mapping between logical channels and multiple sets of configured scheduling grants. [ZHAO, par 0009]
19. CHIN, Loehr, and ZHAO demonstrate terminal device of claim 18, wherein the communication unit is configured to: based on a resource attribute of the first resource, perform the MAC PDU packaging or the information multiplexing on the first
resource[CHIN, par 0074, 0180, A UE may multiplex MAC CEs and MAC Service Data Units (SDUs) in a MAC PDU, e.g., based on Multiplexing and Assembly mechanism and/or an LCH Prioritization (LCP) procedure. When the UE multiplexes the MAC CEs into the MAC PDU, the BFR MAC CE may be prioritized in accordance with the following order (highest priority listed first].
20, CHIN, Loehr, and ZHAO illustrate the terminal device of claim 18, wherein the resource attribute of the first resource comprises at least one of the followings: the priority of the first resource, a reliability indication of the first resource, a service indication of the first resource, an indication of the logical channel that can be mapped onto the first resource, an indication of the MAC CE that can be mapped onto the first resource, physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) duration corresponding to the first resource, modulation and coding scheme (MCS) level corresponding to the first resource, MCS list information corresponding to the first resource, modulation and coding scheme cell radio network temporary identifier (MCS-C-RNTD corresponding to the first resource, the type of the first resource and the size of transmission block of the first resource[CHIN par 0084, 0153, 0154, Different MAC CEs for UL may have different priorities to be multiplexed in the MAC PDU. For example, the LCHs may be prioritized by the following order (highest priority listed first). c MAC CE type(s) may be allocated with UL resource later than LCH(s) specifically for URLLC services if one or more or any combination of the following conditions is satisfied: if the corresponding UL resource is for URLLC services with specific characteristics, e.g., associated with a specific RNTI (e.g., MCS C-RNTI), having a specific PUSCH duration (e.g., a PUSCH duration smaller than a threshold)|.
Response to Arguments
In contrast, in amended independent claim 1 of the present application, the trigger condition for ignoring the first resource is that all LCHs are configured with an allowed CG resource list, and the first resource is not included in the allowed CG resource list. This is a static and preconfigured list-checking mechanism.
In summary, CHIN does not mention the concept of a "CG resource list", let alone disclosing the correlation between the CG resource list and LCH, and the configuration and content of the CG resource list. In CHIN, the UE ignores a resource based on the dynamic and real-time event (i.e., the resource may or may not be indicated in the RAR message), while in amended independent claim 1 of the present application, all LCHs are configured with an allowed CG resource list, the allowed CG resource list is configured by configuration information which includes the logical channel configuration, and the allowed CG resource list includes a CG resource index list, and the UE ignores a resource based on whether the resource is excluded from the allowed CG resource list preconfigured for all LCHs in the logical channel configuration, which is a static and preconfigured check based on resource identification. The scheme in CHIN is totally different from that in amended independent claim 1 of the present application. That is to say, CHIN fails to disclose the distinguishing features of amended independent claim 1.
Based on the foregoing, neither CHIN nor Loehr discloses the distinguishing features of amended independent claim 1 of the subject application. Therefore, it is not obvious for those skilled in the art to obtain the solution of the above distinguishing features based on combination of the teachings of CHIN and Loehr. As discussed above, it is not obvious for those skilled in the art to obtain the solution of amended independent claim 1 based on combination of the teachings of CHIN and Loehr. As such, amended independent claim 1 is patentable over combination of the teachings of CHIN and Loehr.
The applicant arguments are moot in view of newly rejected claims.
Conclusion
/JASON A HARLEY/Examiner, Art Unit 2468