DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is responsive to the reply filed 18 August 2025.
Claims 1-24 are pending and have been presented for examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 10, filed 18 August 2025, with respect to claims 3-5, 11-13 and 19-21 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of claims 3-5, 11-13 and 19-21 under 35 U.S.C. § 112 has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed 18 August 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues on page 11:
For example, page 9 of the Office action alleges “the single instruction comprising one or more fields (see STEPHENS below) to indicate a first compartment descriptor that identifies a first capability to a first state element in a first compartment of memory and a second capability to a second state element in the first compartment of the memory (see [0084], [0091]: when a compartment is given a capability, the capability is stored in the compartment with a tag to indicate the data relates to a capability)” (underlining added). The underlined text is not mapped to the quoted claim elements. Also, the Office action does not clearly articulate how those numerous cited sections of Ayrapetyan of the alleged combination are alleged to teach or disclose the quoted claim language.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. AYRAPETYAN discloses capability registers that can be used by the processing pipeline ([0076]). Capabilities comprise a pointer for forming addresses and constraint metadata that defines the address bounds of the capability ([0077][). The capability registers control access to compartments that are accessed by executing processes ([0090]). The compartments store the capability from the capability register, and when the capability is needed, the capability is loaded into the register ([0091]). A tag is associated with a capability to identify memory locations that store capability data ([0084]). The tag is the compartment descriptor that identifies a capability, and AYRAPETYAN clearly discloses loading the capability into a capability register. It is not clear that AYRAPETYAN loads multiple capabilities with a single instruction. STEPHENS discloses the ability to load multiple data values from a memory with a single instruction ([0051]). The motivation for using a single instruction to load multiple values versus sending multiple individual instructions to load each value one at a time comes from STEPHENS. Performance is improved by reducing the number of instructions that need to be executed.
Applicant argues on page 12:
As another example, page 10 of the Office action alleges “the single instruction comprising one or more fields to indicate a first compartment descriptor that identifies a first capability to a first state element in a first compartment of memory and a second capability to a second state element in the first compartment of the memory (see [0051]: a single instruction can load multiple data elements into multiple registers). Multiple elements being processed in response to a single instruction can improve performance by reducing the number of instructions to be fetched, issued and executed (see [0051]). AYRAPETYAN already discloses the use of multiple capability registers (see figure 2, element 66) which allow for multiple compartments to be created in memory.” (underlining added). The underlined text is not mapped to the quoted claim elements. Also, the Office action does not clearly articulate how those numerous cited sections of Stephens of the alleged combination are alleged to teach or disclose the quoted claim language.
STEPHENS is cited to disclose the ability to load multiple data values from a memory with a single instruction. The Examiner states “AYRAPETYAN already discloses the use of multiple capability registers (see figure 2, element 66) which allow for multiple compartments to be created in memory” to show that AYRAPETYAN contains multiple capability registers and is able to load multiple capabilities. This is support to show the combination of AYRAPETYAN and STEPHENS would work and is appropriate. Since AYRAPETYAN can load multiple capabilities, AYRAPETYAN can take advantage of the instruction disclosed by STEPHENS to load multiple values with a single instruction. If AYRAPETYAN had a single capability register, then this combination would not be appropriate since AYRAPETYAN would have no place to store the multiple values loaded from memory.
Applicant argues on page 12:
Further, Applicant’s independent claim 1 recites, inter alia, “the single instruction comprising one or more fields to indicate a first compartment descriptor that identifies a first capability to a first state element in a first compartment of memory and a second capability to a second state element in the first compartment of the memory” (emphasis added). What is alleged to be the “first compartment descriptor” that “identifies a first capability to a first state element in a first compartment of memory and a second capability to a second state element in the first compartment of the memory”?
The Examiner explained above that the compartments store the capability information from the capability registers. When the capability information is stored in memory a tag is associated with the memory location to identify memory locations that store capability information ([0084]). These tags would be the compartment descriptor that identifies a capability.
Applicant argues on pages 12-13:
Applicant’s independent claim 1 recites, inter alia, “an opcode to indicate that an execution circuit is to load the first capability from the first compartment descriptor of the memory into a first register to enable the capability management circuit to determine whether a first bounds field of the first capability authorizes an access to the first state element in the first compartment of the memory, and load the second capability from the first compartment descriptor of the memory into a second register to enable the capability management circuit to determine that a second bounds field of the second capability authorizes an access to the second state element in the first compartment of the memory” (emphasis added). What is alleged to be the opcode that indicates the above quoted language? What is the mapping of the rest of the underlined language in the above quoted language?
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. As the Examiner explained above, the capability information is loaded from the memory to the capability registers. In order to move this data from the memory to the register, and instruction would be executed by the processor. This instruction would be the opcode. The claims do not identify specific opcodes that are necessary to perform this action. An opcode is simply and instruction executed by the processor. Any instruction executed by AYRAPETYAN that moves the capability information from the memory to the register would anticipate the claimed opcode ([0091] – which discloses loading capability information from memory to the capability register).
Applicant argues on page 13:
The Office action cites entire paragraphs and figures for numerous of the rejections, but neither offers a clear articulation of how those large blocks of cited information teach or suggest the quoted language from the Applicant’s claims, nor maps the citations to each and every element of the claims. For example, pages 8-10 of the Office action refer to paragraphs [0034], [0079], [0081], [0084], and [0091] of Ayrapetyan of the alleged combination, and paragraph [0051] and FIG. 2 of Stephens of the alleged combination in the rejection of independent claim 1 with minimal to no mapping of the quoted sections to the Applicant’s claim language. Applicant requests the Office provide a more detailed mapping of each of the cited elements to the Applicant’s claim language, or an allowance of the current claims.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Each claim limitation is associated with a citation from the prior art, along with a brief statement to clarify which elements in the prior art are being referenced.
Applicant argues on page 13:
The Office action alleges “It would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains to modify AYRAPETYAN to decode an instruction into a single instruction to fetch a first capability and a second capability, as disclosed by STEPHENS. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification to improve the performance of the system by reducing the number of instructions to be fetched, issued and executed, as taught by STEPHENS”. This is not a motivation to combine. Further, it is not clear which, if any rationale, from MPEP § 2143 is relied upon.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. The motivation to combine the instruction which reads multiple elements from a memory in STEPHENS with the system disclosed by AYRAPETYAN is found within STEPHENS. The Examiner recites this motivation in the rejection. This rationale is found within MPEP 2143 I (g) “Some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 6, 8-10, 14, 16-18, 22 and 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over AYRAPETYAN (U.S. Patent Application Publication #2024/0086579) in view of STEPHENS (U.S. Patent Application Publication #2018/0253310).
1. AYRAPETYAN discloses An apparatus comprising: a capability management circuit to check a capability for a memory access request (see [0081]: capability checking circuitry), the capability comprising an address field and a bounds field that is to indicate a lower bound and an upper bound of an address range to which the capability authorizes access (see [0079]: bounds information, defines a base address specifying the lower bound and a upper limit address specifying the upper bound); a decoder circuit to decode a single instruction into a decoded single instruction (see [0071]: instruction fetch and instruction decode circuits), the single instruction comprising one or more fields (see STEPHENS below) to indicate a first compartment descriptor that identifies a first capability to a first state element in a first compartment of memory and a second capability to a second state element in the first compartment of the memory (see [0084], [0091]: when a compartment is given a capability, the capability is stored in the compartment with a tag to indicate the data relates to a capability), and an opcode to indicate that an execution circuit is to load the first capability from the first compartment descriptor of the memory into a first register to enable the capability management circuit to determine whether a first bounds field of the first capability authorizes an access to the first state element in the first compartment of the memory (see [0077]: capability information for a compartment is loaded into a set of registers; [0081]: the capability information that is loaded into the registers is used to determine if an access is authorized to the compartment), and load the second capability from the first compartment descriptor of the memory into a second register to enable the capability management circuit to determine that a second bounds field of the second capability authorizes an access to the second state element in the first compartment of the memory (see [0077]: capability information for a compartment is loaded into a set of registers; [0081]: the capability information that is loaded into the registers is used to determine if an access is authorized to the compartment); and the execution circuit to execute the decoded single instruction according to the opcode (see [0071]: issue stage for an instruction).
STEPHENS discloses the following limitations that are not disclosed by AYRAPETYAN: the single instruction comprising one or more fields to indicate a first compartment descriptor that identifies a first capability to a first state element in a first compartment of memory and a second capability to a second state element in the first compartment of the memory (see [0051]: a single instruction can load multiple data elements into multiple registers). Multiple elements being processed in response to a single instruction can improve performance by reducing the number of instructions to be fetched, issued and executed (see [0051]). AYRAPETYAN already discloses the use of multiple capability registers (see figure 2, element 66) which allow for multiple compartments to be created in memory. A combination of AYRAPETYAN and STEPHENS would allow AYRAPETYAN to fetch the capability information to be stored in the registers using a single instruction, rather than multiple instructions.
It would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains to modify AYRAPETYAN to decode an instruction into a single instruction to fetch a first capability and a second capability, as disclosed by STEPHENS. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification to improve the performance of the system by reducing the number of instructions to be fetched, issued and executed, as taught by STEPHENS. AYRAPETYAN and STEPHENS are analogous/in the same field of endeavor as both references are directed to loading information from memory to a register.
2. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more fields comprise a first compartment descriptor capability that comprises a first compartment descriptor address field of the first compartment descriptor in the memory (see AYRAPETYAN [0084]: tag value to specify capability data) and a first compartment descriptor bounds field that is to indicate a lower bound and an upper bound of the first compartment descriptor in the memory (see AYRAPETYAN [0078]: bounds information), and the opcode is to further indicate that the execution circuit is to access the first compartment descriptor in the memory in response to a determination by the capability management circuit that a first compartment descriptor address from the first compartment descriptor address field is within the lower bound and the upper bound from the first compartment descriptor bounds field (see AYRAPETYAN [0081]: validate memory access).
6. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein: the first compartment descriptor is to store a third set of state elements; and the opcode is to further indicate that the execution circuit is to load the third set of state elements from the first compartment descriptor into a third set of registers (see AYRAPETYAN figure 2, element 66: there are multiple capability registers, allowing for a third set of elements to be loaded).
8. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein: the decoder circuit is to decode a second single instruction into a decoded second single instruction, the second single instruction comprising one or more fields to indicate a location of the first compartment descriptor in the memory to store the first capability to the first state element in the first compartment of the memory and the second capability to the second state element in the first compartment of the memory (see AYRAPETYAN [0091]: capability from the capability register is stored to memory in the compartment; STEPHENS [0051]: a combination with STEPHENS results in the ability to use a single instruction to transfer multiple data elements, as discussed above with respect to claim 1), and an opcode to indicate that the execution circuit is to initialize the memory at the location in a format of a compartment descriptor with space for the first capability and the second capability (see AYRAPETYAN [0084]: tag is used to distinguish data stored in the location as capability data); and the execution circuit to execute the decoded second single instruction according to its opcode (see AYRAPETYAN [0071]: decode and execution of instructions).
9. AYRAPETYAN discloses A method comprising: checking, by a capability management circuit of a processor core (see claim 1: processing circuitry), a capability for a memory access request (see [0081]: capability checking circuitry), the capability comprising an address field and a bounds field that is to indicate a lower bound and an upper bound of an address range to which the capability authorizes access (see [0079]: bounds information, defines a base address specifying the lower bound and a upper limit address specifying the upper bound); decoding, by a decoder circuit of the processor core, a single instruction into a decoded single instruction (see [0071]: instruction fetch and instruction decode circuits), the single instruction comprising one or more fields to indicate (see STEPHENS below) a first compartment descriptor that identifies a first capability to a first state element in a first compartment of memory and a second capability to a second state element in the first compartment of the memory (see [0084], [0091]: when a compartment is given a capability, the capability is stored in the compartment with a tag to indicate the data relates to a capability), and an opcode indicating that an execution circuit of the processor core is to load the first capability from the first compartment descriptor of the memory into a first register to enable the capability management circuit to determine whether a first bounds field of the first capability authorizes an access to the first state element in the first compartment of the memory (see [0077]: capability information for a compartment is loaded into a set of registers; [0081]: the capability information that is loaded into the registers is used to determine if an access is authorized to the compartment), and load the second capability from the first compartment descriptor of the memory into a second register to enable the capability management circuit to determine that a second bounds field of the second capability authorizes an access to the second state element in the first compartment of the memory (see [0077]: capability information for a compartment is loaded into a set of registers; [0081]: the capability information that is loaded into the registers is used to determine if an access is authorized to the compartment); and executing, by the execution circuit, the decoded single instruction according to the opcode (see [0071]: issue stage for an instruction).
STEPHENS discloses the following limitations that are not disclosed by AYRAPETYAN: the single instruction comprising one or more fields to indicate a first compartment descriptor that identifies a first capability to a first state element in a first compartment of memory and a second capability to a second state element in the first compartment of the memory (see [0051]: a single instruction can load multiple data elements into multiple registers). Multiple elements being processed in response to a single instruction can improve performance by reducing the number of instructions to be fetched, issued and executed (see [0051]). AYRAPETYAN already discloses the use of multiple capability registers (see figure 2, element 66) which allow for multiple compartments to be created in memory. A combination of AYRAPETYAN and STEPHENS would allow AYRAPETYAN to fetch the capability information to be stored in the registers using a single instruction, rather than multiple instructions.
It would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains to modify AYRAPETYAN to decode an instruction into a single instruction to fetch a first capability and a second capability, as disclosed by STEPHENS. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification to improve the performance of the system by reducing the number of instructions to be fetched, issued and executed, as taught by STEPHENS. AYRAPETYAN and STEPHENS are analogous/in the same field of endeavor as both references are directed to loading information from memory to a register.
10. The method of claim 9, wherein the one or more fields comprise a first compartment descriptor capability that comprises a first compartment descriptor address field of the first compartment descriptor in the memory (see AYRAPETYAN [0084]: tag value to specify capability data) and a first compartment descriptor bounds field that is to indicate a lower bound and an upper bound of the first compartment descriptor in the memory (see AYRAPETYAN [0078]: bounds information), and the opcode is to further indicate that the execution circuit is to access the first compartment descriptor in the memory in response to a determination by the capability management circuit that a first compartment descriptor address from the first compartment descriptor address field is within the lower bound and the upper bound from the first compartment descriptor bounds field (see AYRAPETYAN [0081]: validate memory access).
14. The method of claim 9, wherein: the first compartment descriptor stores a third set of state elements; and the opcode further indicates that the execution circuit is to load the third set of state elements from the first compartment descriptor into a third set of registers (see AYRAPETYAN figure 2, element 66: there are multiple capability registers, allowing for a third set of elements to be loaded).
16. The method of claim 9, further comprising: decoding, by the decoder circuit, a second single instruction into a decoded second single instruction, the second single instruction comprising one or more fields to indicate a location of the first compartment descriptor in the memory to store the first capability to the first state element in the first compartment of the memory and the second capability to the second state element in the first compartment of the memory (see AYRAPETYAN [0091]: capability from the capability register is stored to memory in the compartment; STEPHENS [0051]: a combination with STEPHENS results in the ability to use a single instruction to transfer multiple data elements, as discussed above with respect to claim 1), and an opcode to indicate that the execution circuit is to initialize the memory at the location in a format of a compartment descriptor with space for the first capability and the second capability (see AYRAPETYAN [0084]: tag is used to distinguish data stored in the location as capability data); and the execution circuit to execute the decoded second single instruction according to its opcode (see AYRAPETYAN [0071]: decode and execution of instructions).
17. AYRAPETYAN discloses A non-transitory machine readable medium that stores code that when executed by a machine (see claim 24: non-transitory computer readable storage medium) causes the machine to perform a method comprising: checking, by a capability management circuit of a processor core, a capability for a memory access request (see [0081]: capability checking circuitry), the capability comprising an address field and a bounds field that is to indicate a lower bound and an upper bound of an address range to which the capability authorizes access (see [0079]: bounds information, defines a base address specifying the lower bound and a upper limit address specifying the upper bound); decoding, by a decoder circuit of the processor core, a single instruction into a decoded single instruction (see [0071]: instruction fetch and instruction decode circuits), the single instruction comprising one or more fields to indicate (see STEPHENS below) a first compartment descriptor that identifies a first capability to a first state element in a first compartment of memory and a second capability to a second state element in the first compartment of the memory (see [0084], [0091]: when a compartment is given a capability, the capability is stored in the compartment with a tag to indicate the data relates to a capability), and an opcode indicating that an execution circuit of the processor core is to load the first capability from the first compartment descriptor of the memory into a first register to enable the capability management circuit to determine that a first bounds field of the first capability authorizes an access to the first state element in the first compartment of the memory (see [0077]: capability information for a compartment is loaded into a set of registers; [0081]: the capability information that is loaded into the registers is used to determine if an access is authorized to the compartment), and load the second capability from the first compartment descriptor of the memory into a second register to enable the capability management circuit to determine that a second bounds field of the second capability authorizes an access to the second state element in the first compartment of the memory (see [0077]: capability information for a compartment is loaded into a set of registers; [0081]: the capability information that is loaded into the registers is used to determine if an access is authorized to the compartment); and executing, by the execution circuit, the decoded single instruction according to the opcode (see [0071]: issue stage for an instruction).
STEPHENS discloses the following limitations that are not disclosed by AYRAPETYAN: the single instruction comprising one or more fields to indicate a first compartment descriptor that identifies a first capability to a first state element in a first compartment of memory and a second capability to a second state element in the first compartment of the memory (see [0051]: a single instruction can load multiple data elements into multiple registers). Multiple elements being processed in response to a single instruction can improve performance by reducing the number of instructions to be fetched, issued and executed (see [0051]). AYRAPETYAN already discloses the use of multiple capability registers (see figure 2, element 66) which allow for multiple compartments to be created in memory. A combination of AYRAPETYAN and STEPHENS would allow AYRAPETYAN to fetch the capability information to be stored in the registers using a single instruction, rather than multiple instructions.
It would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains to modify AYRAPETYAN to decode an instruction into a single instruction to fetch a first capability and a second capability, as disclosed by STEPHENS. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification to improve the performance of the system by reducing the number of instructions to be fetched, issued and executed, as taught by STEPHENS. AYRAPETYAN and STEPHENS are analogous/in the same field of endeavor as both references are directed to loading information from memory to a register.
18. The non-transitory machine readable medium of claim 17, wherein the one or more fields comprise a first compartment descriptor capability that comprises a first compartment descriptor address field of the first compartment descriptor in the memory (see AYRAPETYAN [0084]: tag value to specify capability data) and a first compartment descriptor bounds field that is to indicate a lower bound and an upper bound of the first compartment descriptor in the memory (see AYRAPETYAN [0078]: bounds information), and the opcode is to further indicate that the execution circuit is to access the first compartment descriptor in the memory in response to a determination by the capability management circuit that a first compartment descriptor address from the first compartment descriptor address field is within the lower bound and the upper bound from the first compartment descriptor bounds field (see AYRAPETYAN [0081]: validate memory access).
22. The non-transitory machine readable medium of claim 17, wherein: the first compartment descriptor stores a third set of state elements; and the opcode further indicates that the execution circuit is to load the third set of state elements from the first compartment descriptor into a third set of registers (see AYRAPETYAN figure 2, element 66: there are multiple capability registers, allowing for a third set of elements to be loaded).
24. The non-transitory machine readable medium of claim 17, wherein the method further comprises: decoding, by the decoder circuit, a second single instruction into a decoded second single instruction, the second single instruction comprising one or more fields to indicate a location of the first compartment descriptor in the memory to store the first capability to the first state element in the first compartment of the memory and the second capability to the second state element in the first compartment of the memory (see AYRAPETYAN [0091]: capability from the capability register is stored to memory in the compartment; STEPHENS [0051]: a combination with STEPHENS results in the ability to use a single instruction to transfer multiple data elements, as discussed above with respect to claim 1), and an opcode to indicate that the execution circuit is to initialize the memory at the location in a format of a compartment descriptor with space for the first capability and the second capability (see AYRAPETYAN [0084]: tag is used to distinguish data stored in the location as capability data); and the execution circuit to execute the decoded second single instruction according to its opcode (see AYRAPETYAN [0071]: decode and execution of instructions).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-5, 7, 11-13, 15, 19-21 and 23 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The state of the art discloses capabilities that can be loaded from memory into registers that enforce limits on accessing memory. The loading can be done with a single instruction to load multiple capabilities into the capability registers.
The state of the art fails to anticipate, or render obvious, “… the opcode is to further indicate that the execution circuit is to, before the loads, store the third capability from the first register into the second compartment descriptor of the memory, and store the fourth capability from the second register into the second compartment descriptor of the memory.” The cited references disclose an opcode to load values, and an opcode to store values, but not an opcode that will store a set of values prior to loading a set of values.
The state of the art fails to anticipate, or render obvious, “… the first compartment descriptor comprises a bitmap field to indicate a proper subset of the third set of registers to load the third set of state elements into.” The cited references disclose loading capabilities into a register, but do not specifically disclose indicating a proper subset of the registers.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/EDWARD J DUDEK JR/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2136