DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-24 are presented for examination.
This office action is in response to the Amendment/Remarks on 7/28/25. Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered but were not found to be persuasive.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 9, and 17 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 11, and 21, respectively, of copending Application No. 18/149055 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because every limitation in instant claim 1 is disclosed and anticipated in claim 1 of Application No. 18/149055, as shown in the below table:
Instant Application
Copending Application No. 18/149055
Specifically, claim 1 of Copending Application No. 18/149055 discloses:
An apparatus comprising (line 1):
a hardware processor core comprising a trust domain manager to manage one or more hardware isolated virtual machines as a respective trust domain with a region of protected memory (lines 2-4); and
input/output memory management unit (IOMMU) circuitry coupled between the hardware processor core and an input/output device, wherein the IOMMU circuitry is to, for a request from the input/output device for a direct memory access of a protected memory of a trust domain (lines 5-9),
allow the direct memory access in response to a field in the request being set to indicate the input/output device is in a trusted computing base of the trust domain (lines 10-13).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
As to instant independent claims 9 and 17, every limitation is disclosed and anticipated in claims 11 and 21, respectively, of Application No. 18/149055, similarly to the rejection of instant claim 1.
Claims 2-8, 10-16, and 18-24 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 11, and 21, respectively, of copending Application No. 18/149055 (reference application) in view of Shanbhogue et al. (US 2019/0228145 A1) (hereinafter Shanbhogue1) and further in view of Shanbhogue et al. (US 2020/0310972 A1) (hereinafter Shanbhogue2).
As to instant dependent claim 2-8, 10-16, and 18-24, the limitations are not disclosed in claims 1, 11, and 21 of the reference application. However, the limitations are found to be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art in view of the prior art rejections made below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shanbhogue et al. (US 2019/0228145 A1) (hereinafter Shanbhogue1) in view of Shanbhogue et al. (US 2020/0310972 A1) (hereinafter Shanbhogue2).
Shanbhogue1 and Shanbhogue2 were cited in a previous PTO-892.
As to claim 1, Shanbhogue1 teaches an apparatus comprising:
a hardware processor core (Processor 104, Core 210) comprising a trust domain manager (SEAM Circuitry 124, Secure Arbitration Mode (SEAM) module 320 in Trust Domain Extensions (TDX), etc.) to manage one or more hardware isolated virtual machines (secure VMs (e.g., TD) as a respective trust domain (TD1 234, TD2 236, Trusted Domain 312 and 316, etc.) with a region of protected memory (reserved region of memory which is protected using a range register (e.g., SEAMRR) such that this memory cannot be read or written by any software outside the SEAM module or any devices ) ([0059]; [0039]-[0040]; [0051]; [0068]-[0069]; Figs. 1-5); and
input/output memory management unit (IOMMU) circuitry (IOMMU 128) coupled between the hardware processor core and an input/output device (Device 118 or 120), wherein the IOMMU circuitry is to, for a request from the input/output device for a direct memory access (DMA requests) of a protected (integrity-protected) memory of a trust domain (secure register space such as trusted VTD register space, etc.), allow the direct memory access in response to a field in the request being set to indicate the input/output device is in a trusted computing base (TCB) of the trust domain ([0034]; [0038]-[0040]; [0046]; [0068]-[0069]; [0078]; Figs. 1-5).
Shanbhogue1 does not explicitly use the term “trust domain manager.” However, one of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably be able to interpret the SEAM module as the claimed trust domain manager because it acts as a trust broker between TDs and the VMM ([0041]), configures trusted device contexts in the IOMMU ([0042]-[0044]), and prevents confused deputy attacks ([0043]-[0045]).
Nonetheless, Shanbhogue2 is introduced to more explicitly and further make the connection of the SEAM module being a trust domain manager as the secondary reference teaches a SEAM module 137 to be a trust arbiter between TDRM and the TDs 150A, 150B, 150C, etc. It manages resource assignments and enforces security policies for TDs (Abstract; [0034]-[0035]; [0039]; [0042]; [0053]; [0066]-[0067]; [0101]-[0102]; Figs 1-8).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the application to combine the teachings of Shanbhogue1 and Shanbhogue2 as the are complementary references, wherein Shanbhogue1 teaches the foundational role of the SEAM module in managing TDs and securing IOMMU interactions, while Shanbhogue2 builds on this by explicitly associating the SEAM module with resource management and trust arbitration, which is functionally equivalent to the claimed trust domain manager under the broadest reasonable interpretation. The suggestion/motivation for the combination would have been to provide the predicted result of improving trust arbitration and secure resource allocation for trust domains.
As to claim 2, Shanbhogue1 teaches wherein the field in the request is a set of one or more bits in a prefix according to a Peripheral Component Interconnect Express (PCIe) standard ([0034]; [0174]; [0184]; [0079]; Figs 1-5).
As to claim 3, Shanbhogue1 teaches wherein, in response to the field in the request being set, the IOMMU circuitry is to generate an indication that a physical address of the protected memory of the trust domain is allowed to have a private key of the trust domain (TD private key) ([0041]; [0079]-[0081]; [0084]; [0095]; [0145]; [0164]).
As to claim 4, Shanbhogue2 teaches wherein, in response to the field in the request being set, the IOMMU circuitry is to generate an indication that a physical address of the protected memory of the trust domain is allowed to have a shared key (shared encryption key) of the trust domain and a virtual machine monitor (“shared” is meant to refer to a key accessible to the VMM 140; a TD can use a shared key ID to communicate with the VMM or other VMs or devices) of the one or more hardware isolated virtual machines ([0059]-[0061]).
As to claim 5, Shanbhogue1 (requests include fields (e.g., PASIDs) used by the IOMMU to verify the validity of a device) (Abstract; [0041]-[0045]; [0058]; [0078]-[0079]) in view of Shanbhogue2 (the SEAM module 137 ensures protection from tampering (e.g., by the VMM or other non-SEAM agent) of the memory mapping performed by the secure EPT 805. The SEAM module 137 specifies these to hardware as part of the VM entry to the TD using the following two new fields in the TD VMCS: (1) the secure EPT pointer 804; and (2) the TD-HKID 806) [0102]) teaches wherein, in response to the field in the request being set, the IOMMU circuitry is to access a trusted data structure of virtual address to physical address mappings managed by the trust domain manager and not by a virtual machine monitor of the one or more hardware isolated virtual machines.
As to claim 6, Shanbhogue1 (requests include fields (e.g., PASIDs) used by the IOMMU to verify the validity of a device) (Abstract; [0041]-[0045]; [0058]; [0078]-[0079]) in view of Shanbhogue2 (VMM-managed TCB 202 or VMM enforced access controls instead of control to SEAM-managed TCB with TDX access control 204, etc.) (Abstract; [0069]; Figs 2, 3, 4, 9) teaches wherein, in response to the field in the request not being set, the IOMMU circuitry is to access a data structure of virtual address to physical address mappings managed by the virtual machine monitor and not access the trusted data structure of virtual address to physical address mappings managed by the trust domain manager.
As to claim 7, Shanbhogue1 teaches wherein the trust domain manager, and not a virtual machine monitor of the one or more hardware isolated virtual machines, is permitted to cause an indication of invalidation of one or more blocks of the protected memory of the trust domain to be stored in a trusted invalidation queue (invalidation queue and invalidation queue pointers) ([0065]; [0071]; [0075]).
As to claim 8, Shanbhogue1 teaches wherein the IOMMU circuitry comprises a trusted root table pointer register (trusted VTd Register Set 401, trusted root pointer 402, etc.) that is accessible by the trust domain manager (SEAM module) and not by a virtual machine monitor of the one or more hardware isolated virtual machines (in one embodiment of a TDX trust model, these registers are to be protected from VMM access and only be accessible to the SEAM module) ([0065]; [0072]) (Figs 1-5).
As to claim 9, it is rejected for the same reasons as stated in the rejection of claim 1.
As to claim 10, it is rejected for the same reasons as stated in the rejection of claim 2.
As to claim 11, it is rejected for the same reasons as stated in the rejection of claim 3.
As to claim 12, it is rejected for the same reasons as stated in the rejection of claim 4.
As to claim 13, it is rejected for the same reasons as stated in the rejection of claim 5.
As to claim 14, it is rejected for the same reasons as stated in the rejection of claim 6.
As to claim 15, it is rejected for the same reasons as stated in the rejection of claim 7.
As to claim 16, it is rejected for the same reasons as stated in the rejection of claim 8.
As to claim 17, it is rejected for the same reasons as stated in the rejection of claim 1.
As to claim 18, it is rejected for the same reasons as stated in the rejection of claim 2.
As to claim 19, it is rejected for the same reasons as stated in the rejection of claim 3.
As to claim 20, it is rejected for the same reasons as stated in the rejection of claim 4.
As to claim 21, it is rejected for the same reasons as stated in the rejection of claim 5.
As to claim 22, it is rejected for the same reasons as stated in the rejection of claim 6.
As to claim 23, it is rejected for the same reasons as stated in the rejection of claim 7.
As to claim 24, it is rejected for the same reasons as stated in the rejection of claim 8.
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues that it is not clear from the office action how Shanbhogue1 teaches to “allow the direct memory access in response to a field in the request being set to indicate the input/output device is in a trusted computing base (TCB) of the trust domain.”
In response, Shanbhogue1 shows extensive teaching of this limitation as pointed out by the Examiner. One example that clearly illustrates this is in Fig. 3 below:
In Fig. 3 of Shanbhogue1, Trusted DMA 330 is the direct memory access path, Trusted TLP 334 provides the request packet containing the field (unique IOMMU ID 324/attestation) that is sent to Trusted Device 304, and Trusted Authentication and Provisioning 336 checks that field to determine (via authentication phase) whether the device belongs to the trusted computing base. Together, these elements show that direct memory access to protected memory is allowed only in response to a trusted field in the request being set. Thus, Shanbhogue1 teaches the limitations of claim 1. In addition, Applicant does not provide any arguments against the cited references, and therefore, Applicant’s arguments were not found to be persuasive.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KENNETH TANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2197