DETAILED ACTION
Claims 14-17, 22-23, 42, 44, 49, 61, 68, and 84 were pending; claims 16-17, 23, 42, and 49 were withdrawn. Per Applicant’s response on 6/11/2026 claim 14 was amended and claims 44 and 49 were canceled.
Claims 14-17, 22-23, 42, 61, 68, and 84 are pending. Claims 16-17, 23, and 42 were withdrawn as not be directed to the elected species, Y677N.
Applicant’s original election of species to a single missense mutation Y677N is no longer relevant. The examination will now include claims 23 and 42.
Claims 14-15, 22-23, 42, 61, 68, and 84 are the subject of the Office Action below.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Priority
The instant application filed 12/23/2021 Claims Priority from Provisional Application 63/185111, filed 5/6/2021, and from Provisional Application 63/130438, filed 12/24/2020.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) submitted on 4/16/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the Information Disclosure Statements are being considered by the Examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim14 is objected to because of the following informalities: the claim is directed to mutations in the NPC1 gene leading to the NPC1 protein having specific mutations. Applicant should direct he claim to NPC1, as the mutations are in that gene and protein only. Appropriate correction is required. This logic holds for claims 22 and 23, as well, as Applicant is only discussing mutations in the NPC1 gene based on claim 14.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 14-15, 22-23, and 42 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over The Orphazyme Company Report, Company announcement No. 01/2019 published 1/20/2019; Millat et al. “Niemann-Pick C1 Disease: Correlations between NPC1 Mutations, Levels of NPC1 Protein, and Phenotypes Emphasize the Functional Significance of the Putative Sterol-Sensing Domain and of the Cysteine-Rich Luminal Loop,” Am. J. Hum. Genet. 68:1373–1385, 2001; and Pavan US 20160025712 A1 published 1/28/2016.
NOTE: The claims were amended by removing single allele mutations and has only now listed patients having mutations in both alleles of the NPC1 gene (which is required to have symptoms of NPC), therefore Applicant is now claiming, a patient with symptoms of the disease. Independent claim 14 was also amended to require the limitations of claims 44 and 49, now canceled.
Instant claim 14 is directed towards a method of treating or preventing Niemann Pick disease, type C (NPC) in a subject in need thereof, the method comprising administering a therapeutically effective amount of arimoclomol to the subject, wherein the subject is identified as having at least one missense mutation in at least one of the two alleles in an NPC gene, wherein the at least one missense mutation in at least one of the two alleles in an NPC genes results in the subject having an NPC genotype selected from the group consisting of G886V/R978C, Y677N/R1059Q, E718D/P1007L, G765V/P1007A, A1054T/H897Q, P733fs/V1078I, T1036A/V1155G, D508fs/I1061T, G248V/L773fs, S734I/K822fs, I1061T/I962fs, V1165M/F1199sp1, and N1156S/F1199sp2, I1061T/E1188*, I1061T/A1151T, I1061T/Q119fs, I1061T/I962fs, T1036M/I1061T, I1061T/V1141G, N968S/R1186H, N1156S /F1199sp2, Q991fs/T1061T, H1016L/11061T, I1061T/A1192fs, T1061T/N1156S, R1186H/R1186H, P1007A/R1186H, and I1061T/D508fs.
NOTE: When one lists the genotype like this to indicate mutations (allele 1/allele 2), the order of the 2 mutations is not critical as such G886V/R978C is the same as R978C/G886V. Also, this disease is required to have biallelic mutation being autosomal recessive, because if a person had wild-type/functional protein being made form one allele the person would not have symptoms of the disease. Given the claim is directed to “a method of treating or preventing Niemann Pick disease, type C (NPC) in a subject in need thereof” one would interpret the subject to have symptoms of NPC. This would mean the subject had signs of the disease (visceral signs, neurological signs, cognitive signs) and the patient was tested for biomarkers in the blood; looking for oxysterols, lysosphingolipds, and bile acid metabolites.
Instant claim 14 is obvious by the following logic, arimoclomol is a known treatment for Niemann Pick disease, type C (NPC), the drug was first patented in 2009 for this indication.
NPC is diagnosed via multiple biomarker/symptom tests and confirmed through genome sequencing, thereby “identifying” a genetic mutation indicative of NPC in combination with biomarkers of the disease.
A diagnosed patient with NPC regardless of genetic profile will be given arimoclomol based on the fact that there are few effective treatments for NPC and no cures. As such, patients in need of treatment (those diagnosed with NPC) will be treated with arimoclomol as to mitigate the disease to both check efficacy and hopefully improve the patient’s life.
Orphazyme Company Report teaches the treatment of NPC with standard care, miglustat (meeting the limitation of instant claim 15) and arimoclomol, a known two drug combination. The Phase II/III study showed positive results in the patients treated, indicating the drug combination was a potential efficacious treatment for NPC. The Report states, “A responder rate of more than 50% in the placebo control group impeded the ability to show an overall effect on this endpoint. However, when considering patients who severely progressed during the trial, only 10.7% of the arimoclomol-treated patients got ‘much worse’ or ‘very much worse’ compared to 26.7% in the placebo control group.” This again indicated that the drug combination will be tried in all patients with any genetic mutation causing the disease in order to improve patient quality of life.
The Orphazyme Company Report doesn’t teach a specific genetic profile of the patients (specifically the missense mutations in claim 14) and its identification, however the Report states, “Post-hoc analyses are on-going to further the understanding of these results.”
Moreover, The Orphazyme Company Report states:
Clearly this indicated the known cause of the disease. The disease is “genetic.” The disease “is caused by mutations in the NPC gene leading to defective NPC protein.” Therefore NPC is able to be identified by the genetic mutations that lead to defective NPC protein in the patient in combination with biomarkers and symptoms.
Instant claim 14 requires the patient is identified as having a specific list of mutations in the two alleles in the NPC gene, this limitation is not taught by The Orphazyme Company Report, though clearly implied by the known cause of the disease.
Millat teaches some known correlations in 2001 between NPC1 mutations and levels of NPC1 protein and function of the protein, i.e. the correlation between mutation and defective NPC protein. Millat teaches missense mutations in the sterol-sensing domain (SSD) that lead to infantile neurological onset, and missense mutations in the cysteine-rich luminal loop resulted in a wide array of clinical and biochemical phenotypes. Given that some missense mutations lead to classic phenotypes of the disease one would use this known mutation to identify a patient with NPC, and then treat them with arimoclomol after identification. One would be motivated to know the genetic mutation causing the disease as to inform the doctor of the outcome potential in future patients, therefore it would be obvious to try arimoclomol in these patients.
Millat teaches I1061T and P1007A as a known missense mutations along with others. Millat doesn’t teach any of the combinations of claim 14. However there are two problems with this genotype towards patentability. One, the mutations seem to be irrelevant to the use of the drug combination of arimoclomol/miglustat in patients diagnosed with NPC as the disease is poorly managed and has few options for patients making this known drug combination an obvious choice for all patients with NPC including I1061T/I962fs patients. Two, Applicant has not shown any significance to this patient population in the Specification that would lend to patentability. As such it is obvious to treat all NPC patients with the arimoclomol/miglustat and expect some efficacy. Therefore this claim is rejected as well.
RESPONSE to Applicant’s Arguments: Applicant states, “the Office is mistaken that all NPC patients with missense mutations will benefit from treatment with arimoclomol.” This is not a correct statement. The Examiner states NPC is diagnosed by symptoms and biomarker tests, then confirmed by genotype which then shows NPC1 or NPC2 having mutations in both alleles. The Examiner then asserts that it would be obvious to treat the patient with arimoclomol/ miglustat (the only known treatment) in order to help the patient regardless of effect as there is no other viable treatment. The Examiner is not stating the practitioner needs to know if efficacy will be achieved, as not treating the patient with these drugs would be reckless. The argument is that a PHOSITA would treat all NPC patients with these drugs, and since by definition the genotypes claimed by Applicant have NPC disease, they would be obvious to treat.
Applicant then defines to broad categories of and states, “genetic disorders, including NPC, can be broadly categorized as missense mutations and ER-type missense mutations.” Applicant states, “MILLAT fails to teach a distinction between ER-type missense mutations and other missense mutations. Therefore, a person skilled in the art of treating NPC patients would not be motivated by MILLAT' S teaching of various missense mutations and, specifically, the I1061T mutation, to treat any NPC patient with arimoclomol.”
Firstly, there is no teaching in the Specification of which mutations have which effects. Secondly, there is no teaching that one specific genotype (as required in claim 14) will respond differently to arimoclomol, or arimoclomol/miglustat. There is simply no evidence to support any of this argument. The Specification only compares treatment to placebo, and the only subgroup analysis was comparing functional null status in the alleles, then concludes, “arimoclomol treatment demonstrated increased efficacy in subjects that did not have an NPC1 genotype of Functional Null/Functional Null (i.e. subjects with an NPC1 genotype of either Missense/Missense or Missense/Functional Null).”
There is no teaching of anything Applicant is arguing. There is no data to support this argument, that the mutations in claim 14 are somehow more likely to be treated with arimoclomol that other mutations. There is no evidence of what Applicant is indicating as “known” in 2020. If Applicant want this argument to be considered, evidence is required.
Next the Applicant states, “the Office is mistaken that the Examples do not demonstrate any significance to this patient population that would lend to patentability. Table 6 of the instant application shows the changes in the 5-Domain NPC Clinical Severity Scale score over 12 months.” Then concludes, “Simply put, Table 6 indicates that, at minimum, patients receiving arimoclomol show slower disease progression compared to the placebo group. NPC is a neurodegenerative disorder, so slowing disease progression means slowing the degenerative nature of the disease. That is, contrary to the Office's allegations, a significant.”
Table 6 is a comparison of arimoclomol treatment vs. placebo. There is no comparison of individual patients with specific genotype vs another patients with another specific genotype. Therefore this only shows that arimoclomol treatment shows slower disease progression, which is known in the art as shown by Orphazyme Company Report. Again, Table 6 is irrelevant to specific genotypes and response or efficacy.
Applicant has no data to suggest the specific mutations in claim 14 are significant to deciding to use arimoclomol. Applicant has not shown any relationship between genotype and treatment efficacy. If Applicant has data to support unexpected results of using arimoclomol in a specific genotype, this argument might be persuasive. Since the data is not found, the arguments are not persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 14-15, 22-23, 42, 61, 68, and 84 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over The Orphazyme Company Report, Company announcement No. 01/2019 published 1/20/2019; and Millat et al. “Niemann-Pick C1 Disease: Correlations between NPC1 Mutations, Levels of NPC1 Protein, and Phenotypes Emphasize the Functional Significance of the Putative Sterol-Sensing Domain and of the Cysteine-Rich Luminal Loop,” Am. J. Hum. Genet. 68:1373–1385, 2001 as applied to claims 14-15, 22-23, and 42 above in further view of Morkeberg WO2016041561A1.
Instant claim 61 requires arimoclomol is the arimoclomol citrate salt administered at about 100 mg/day to about 700 mg/day; and instant claim 68 wherein arimoclomol is administered in a dosage adjusted by patient body weight. Instant claim 84 requires wherein arimoclomol is the citrate salt.
WO teaches the citrate salt of arimoclomol, see claim 43.
WO teaches, “The target dosage for the API is in one embodiment within a range of 0.1 to 100 mg/kg bodyweight, such as 0.1 to 0.5 mg/kg, for example 0.5 to 1 .0 mg/kg, such as 1 to 2 mg/kg, for example 2 to 5 mg/kg, such as 5 to 10 mg/kg, for example 10 to 15 mg/kg, such as 15 to 20 mg/kg, for example 20 to 30 mg/kg, such as 30 to 40 mg/kg, for example 40 to 50 mg/kg, such as 50 to 75 mg/kg, for example 75 to 100 mg/kg bodyweight.”
Wo also teaches dosing of, “ wherein said formulation is administered as 75 to 1000 mg/day, such as 75-100, 100-150, 150-200, 200-300, 300-400, 400-500, 500-600, 600-700, 700-800, 800-900 or 900- 1000 mg/day,” in claim 45.
It would be obvious to a PHOSITA to dose the known drug in its known forms and dosages in order to provide efficacy for the patient. A PHOSITA would reasonably expect the drug to have efficacy based on its mode of action. As such these claims are obvious.
RESPONSE to Applicant’s Arguments: Applicant doesn’t argue anything specific about the addition of Morkeberg.
Double Patenting
Claims 14-15, 22-23, 42, 61, 68, and 84 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 65-74 and 76-88 of copending Application No. 18/267591 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because ‘891 teaches treating NPC with N968S/R1186H mutation with arimoclomol which anticipates the instant claims.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
No claims allowed.
/MICHAEL J SCHMITT/Examiner, Art Unit 1629
/JEFFREY S LUNDGREN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1629