DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-4 and 7-17 are pending, and claims 4, 7-9, and 14-17 are currently under review.
Claims 1-3 and 10-13 are withdrawn.
Claims 5-6 are cancelled.
Response to Amendment/Remarks
The remarks filed 12/09/2025 has been entered. Claims 1-4 and 7-17 remain(s) pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4, 7-9, and 14-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chehab (US 2021/0032727) in view of Bansal et al. (WO2014074974); and alternatively over the aforementioned prior art and further in view of Gibson et al. (2015, Additive manufacturing technologies).
Regarding claims 4 and 14-15, Chehab discloses a process for making an aluminum alloy part (ie. component) having a composition as seen in table 1 below [0018-0022]. The examiner notes that the overlap between the composition of Chehab and that as claimed is prima facie obvious. See MPEP 2144.05(I). The examiner also notes that non-recited elements disclosed by Chehab (ie. V, Ag, etc.) are disclosed as optional and thus not required, which meets the claimed limitation of “consisting of…”
Chehab further teaches that the processing steps include providing an alloy powder and subsequently melting said powder to form a desired part according to a pattern based on a digital model (ie. shaped article) [abstract, 0017, 0063]. The examiner notes that mixing powders during additive manufacturing is a conventional and well-known consideration that would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill. Alternatively, Gibson et al. discloses that it is known to mix powder materials for additive manufacturing for a variety of reasons, such as achieving uniform properties [p.116, 130, p.258].
Chehab does not expressly teach forming the component under a constant flow of inert gas as claimed. Bansal et al. discloses that it is known to perform additive manufacturing under vacuum conditions with a constant flow of inert gas to achieve desirable suppression of contaminants and prevention of condensation [p.33, 37]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to modify the method of the aforementioned prior art by performing additive manufacturing under a constant flow of inert gas for the aforementioned benefit as taught by Bansal et al.
Table 1.
Element (wt.%)
Claims 4, 14-15 (wt.%)
Chehab (wt.%)
Cr
4.8
2 – 10
Zr
1.4
0.5 – 5
Mn
1.4
0.06 – 6
Al & Impurities
Balance
Balance
Regarding claims 7-8 and 16, Chehab discloses the method of claim 4 (see previous). Chehab further teaches that the part can be further heat treated and/or hot isostatically pressed up to 500 bar after layer forming [0041-0046]. The examiner notes that hot isostatic pressing is commonly well-known to utilize fluid (ie. liquid/gas) to apply isostatic pressure.
Regarding claim 9, Chehab discloses the method of claim 4 (see previous). Chehab does not expressly teach local application of pressure as claimed. Gibson et al. discloses that it is known to perform shot peening on additively manufactured metal parts to improve smoothness, wherein one of ordinary skill would understand shot peening to be a means of locally applied pressure [p.53]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to modify the method of Chehab by performing shot peening to improve smoothness as taught by Gibson et al.
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chehab (US 2021/0032727) and others as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Bocanegra-Bernal (2004, Review: Hot isostatic pressing (HIP) technology and its applications to metals and ceramics).
Regarding claim 17, the aforementioned prior art discloses the method of claim 16 (see previous). The aforementioned prior art does not expressly teach a pressure value as claimed. Bocanegra-Bernal discloses that it is typically known to utilize hot isostatic pressing to achieve fully isotropic properties, wherein Al is known to be pressed at about 100 MPa, or about 1000 bar as determined by the examiner [p.6399, tabl3]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to modify the method of Chehab by utilizing the hot isostatic pressing pressure of Bocanegra-Bernal for the aforementioned purpose. Alternatively, the examiner notes that all of the claimed features are disclosed in the prior art, although not necessarily in a single reference, wherein it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to combine the features of the prior art to arrive at the predictable result of a 3d printed aluminum alloy (taught by Chehab) that is further pressed by typical, well-known HIP parameters (taught by Bocanegra-Bernal). See MPEP 2143(I)(A). The examiner notes that hot isostatic pressing is commonly well-known to utilize fluid (ie. liquid/gas) to apply isostatic pressure.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/09/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the disclosed composition of Chehab is so broad such that prima facie obvious does not exist. The examiner cannot concur. Specifically, the examiner cannot consider the disclosed composition of Chehab to be so broad as to encompass a large number of distinct compositions (emphasis added). It is not apparent to the examiner, nor has it been made clear by applicant, as to how the compositional ranges of Chehab would be distinct from each other to one of ordinary skill. Rather, Chehab expressly teaches desirable compositional ranges that can be utilized and further does not impart any specific distinction between different ranges or amounts of elemental inclusions. Therefore, determination of obviousness is reasonably made based on overlapping ranges because Chehab is clearly directed merely to ranges of elements inclusions rather than distinct, different compositions. Even if analysis under MPEP 2144.08 were required, which the examiner does not acquiesce, the examiner still cannot concur. Chehab provides express reasoning for including particular elements (ie. Zr, Mn, etc.) such that the disclosure of Chehab expressly provides a clear scope and clear direction to one of ordinary skill to select a desirable composition that overlaps with the claimed ranges. See MPEP 2144.08(II)(A).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NICHOLAS A WANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1734