DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 1-16, 19-32, 35-68, 71-83, and 86-88 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b)/2nd ¶ as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regard as the invention.
There is no antecedent basis in the specification for the claim term(s): "listing of one or more burst times for the signal broadcast". The term "listing" is not used at all.
37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) requires that the “claim or claims must conform to the invention as set forth in the remainder of the specification and the terms and phrases used in the claims must find clear support or antecedent basis in the description so that the meaning of the terms in the claims may be ascertainable by reference to the description.” (emphasis added).
According to MPEP 608.01(o): "The use of a confusing variety of terms for the same thing should not be permitted. ... [Applicant] should make appropriate amendment of the specification whenever [application] nomenclature is departed from by amendment of the claims so as to have clear support or antecedent basis in the specification for the new terms appearing in the claims.".
Simply paraphrasing the claim in the specification, without relating the language in the claim with the rest of the disclosure, would be insufficient. This would not make the meaning of the terms in the claims any more ascertainable than they are using the claim language, alone.
“We note that the patent drafter is in the best position to resolve the ambiguity in the patent claims, and it is highly desirable that patent examiners demand that applicants do so in appropriate circumstances so that the patent can be amended during prosecution rather than attempting to resolve the ambiguity in litigation.”, Halliburton Energy Services Inc. v. M-I LLC., 85 USPQ2d 1654 at 1663.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-11, 22-30, 39, 41, 43-45, 50-52, 58-65, and 74-80 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cohen (US 2008/0001818 A1).
In regard to claim 1, Cohen discloses:
receiving, by a receiver, prior to a signal broadcast from a satellite, aiding information in a data message, the aiding information including information on a burst (right side of Fig. 11; ¶84-85; ¶99) modulation key for the signal broadcast and a listing of one or more burst times for the signal broadcast (Fig. 17; ¶67; ¶109; ¶118-121; ¶154) [where Fig. 17/¶109 explicitly teaches a burst modulation key; where when aiding information is acquired for a new signal format that the receiver has not used before (¶67; ¶118) or for a signal whose key have changed/been rekeyed (¶154), the keys/new keys would be transmitted to the receiver; where the table in ¶119 shows a broadcast clock bias of the ranging source is part of the aiding information, where ¶120 states that the time origin of the signal is a based on the broadcast clock bias. In other words, if the clock of the satellite is running fast, the burst will be broadcast earlier than expected if the broadcast clock bias was not considered. The broadcast clock bias is a time associated with a burst.];
receiving, by the receiver, the signal broadcast from the satellite (102, 108, Fig. 29; GPS Receiver Handset, GPS Receiver Card, Fig. 1), the signal as broadcast having a high peak power flux density (¶58) [where being high power relative to conventional navigation signals is consistent with applicant's usage of the term, see ¶92 of the disclosure] and including at least one characteristic unpredictable from the signal as received by the receiver; and approximating the at least one unpredictable characteristic of the signal based on the information on the burst modulation key for the signal broadcast and the listing of one or more burst times for the signal broadcast (¶119-120) [where the ephemeris is the unpredictable characteristic encoded on the signal generated by the key, where applicant's claim 6 and ¶94 disclose that the unpredictable characteristic can be ephemeris]; and
determining an unknown within a time and/or location determination for the receiver from the signal and the approximation of at least one unpredictable characteristic of the signal (¶53; ¶116; ¶121) [where determining the position entails using the ephemeris of that satellite to determine the position of the satellite at the time of transmission of the signal in order to calculate the position of the receiver].
In regard to claim 22, Cohen discloses:
a receiver (GPS Receiver Handset, GPS Receiver Card, Fig. 1) configured to:
receive, prior to a signal transmitted from a satellite, aiding information in a data message, the aiding information including information on a burst (right side of Fig. 11; ¶84-85; ¶99) modulation key for the signal modulation key for the signal broadcast and a listing of one or more burst times for the signal broadcast (Fig. 17; ¶67; ¶109; ¶118-121; ¶154) [where Fig. 17/¶109 explicitly teaches a burst modulation key; where when aiding information is acquired for a new signal format that the receiver has not used before (¶67; ¶118) or for a signal whose key have changed/been rekeyed (¶154), the keys/new keys would be transmitted to the receiver; where the table in ¶119 shows a broadcast clock bias of the ranging source is part of the aiding information, where ¶120 states that the time origin of the signal is a based on the broadcast clock bias. In other words, if the clock of the satellite is running fast, the burst will be broadcast earlier than expected if the broadcast clock bias was not considered. The broadcast clock bias is a time associated with a burst.]; and
receive the signal from the satellite (102, 108, Fig. 29; GPS Receiver Handset, GPS Receiver Card, Fig. 1), the signal as transmitted having a high peak power flux density (¶58) [where being high power relative to conventional navigation signals is consistent with applicant's usage of the term, see ¶92 of the disclosure] and including at least one characteristic unpredictable from the signal as received by the receiver; a processor (¶7) configured to approximate the at least one unpredictable characteristic of the signal based on the information on the burst modulation key for the signal broadcast and the listing of one or more burst times for the signal broadcast (¶119-120) [where the ephemeris is the unpredictable characteristic encoded on the signal generated by the key, where applicant's claim 6 and ¶94 disclose that the unpredictable characteristic can be ephemeris]; and to determine an unknown within a time and/or location determination for the receiver from the signal and the approximation of at least one unpredictable characteristic of the signal (¶53; ¶116; ¶121) [where determining the position entails using the ephemeris of that satellite to determine the position of the satellite at the time of transmission of the signal in order to calculate the position of the receiver].
In regard to claim 59, Cohen discloses:
receiving, by a receiver, prior to a signal broadcast from a low earth orbit satellite (108, Fig. 29), aiding information in a data message, the aiding information including information on a burst (right side of Fig. 11; ¶84-85; ¶99) modulation key for the signal broadcast and a listing of one or more burst times for the signal broadcast (Fig. 17; ¶67; ¶109; ¶118-121; ¶154) [where Fig. 17/¶109 explicitly teaches a burst modulation key; where when aiding information is acquired for a new signal format that the receiver has not used before (¶67; ¶118) or for a signal whose key have changed/been rekeyed (¶154), the keys/new keys would be transmitted to the receiver; where the table in ¶119 shows a broadcast clock bias of the ranging source is part of the aiding information, where ¶120 states that the time origin of the signal is a based on the broadcast clock bias. In other words, if the clock of the satellite is running fast, the burst will be broadcast earlier than expected if the broadcast clock bias was not considered. The broadcast clock bias is a time associated with a burst.];
receiving, by the receiver, the signal broadcast from the satellite (102, 108, Fig. 29; GPS Receiver Handset, GPS Receiver Card, Fig. 1), the signal as broadcast having a high peak power flux density (¶58) [where being high power relative to conventional navigation signals is consistent with applicant's usage of the term, see ¶92 of the disclosure] and including at least one characteristic unpredictable from the signal as received by the receiver; and approximating the at least one unpredictable characteristic unpredictable from the signal as received by the receiver; and approximating the at least one unpredictable characteristic of the signal based on the information on the burst modulation key for the signal broadcast and the listing of one or more burst times for the signal broadcast (¶119-120) [where the ephemeris is the unpredictable characteristic encoded on the signal generated by the key, where applicant's claim 6 and ¶94 disclose that the unpredictable characteristic can be ephemeris]; and
determining an unknown within a time and/or location determination for the receiver from the signal and the approximation of at least one unpredictable characteristic (¶53; ¶116; ¶121) [where determining the position entails using the ephemeris of that satellite to determine the position of the satellite at the time of transmission of the signal in order to calculate the position of the receiver].
In regard to claim 74, Cohen discloses:
a receiver (GPS Receiver Handset, GPS Receiver Card, Fig. 1) configured to:
receive, prior to a signal broadcast from a low earth orbit satellite (108, Fig. 29), aiding information in a data message, the aiding information including an indication of burst (right side of Fig. 11; ¶84-85; ¶99) modulation key for the signal broadcast and a listing of one or more burst times for the signal broadcast (Fig. 17; ¶67; ¶109; ¶118-121; ¶154) [where Fig. 17/¶109 explicitly teaches a burst modulation key; where when aiding information is acquired for a new signal format that the receiver has not used before (¶67; ¶118) or for a signal whose key have changed/been rekeyed (¶154), the keys/new keys would be transmitted to the receiver; where the table in ¶119 shows a broadcast clock bias of the ranging source is part of the aiding information, where ¶120 states that the time origin of the signal is a based on the broadcast clock bias. In other words, if the clock of the satellite is running fast, the burst will be broadcast earlier than expected if the broadcast clock bias was not considered. The broadcast clock bias is a time associated with a burst.]; and
receive the signal from the satellite (102, 108, Fig. 29; GPS Receiver Handset, GPS Receiver Card, Fig. 1), the signal as broadcast including a characteristic unpredictable from the signal as received by the receiver; a processor (¶7) configured to approximate the at least one unpredictable characteristic of the signal based on the information on the burst modulation key for the signal broadcast and the listing of one or more burst times for the signal broadcast (¶119-120) [where the ephemeris is the unpredictable characteristic encoded on the signal generated by the key, where applicant's claim 6 and ¶94 disclose that the unpredictable characteristic can be ephemeris]; and to determine an unknown within a time and/or location determination for the receiver from the signal and the approximation of at least one unpredictable characteristic of the signal (¶53; ¶116; ¶121) [where determining the position entails using the ephemeris of that satellite to determine the position of the satellite at the time of transmission of the signal in order to calculate the position of the receiver].
In regard to claims 2 and 23, Cohen further discloses the satellite comprises a low earth orbit satellite (108, Fig. 29).
In regard to claims 3 and 25, Cohen further discloses the satellite transmits the signal in a beam having a beam footprint smaller than a total transmission footprint of the satellite (spot beams, Fig. 1; ¶73; ¶97; ¶161).
In regard to claims 4 and 26, Cohen further discloses the satellite broadcasts the signal with a peak power greater than an average power (¶99; ¶161).
In regard to claims 5 and 24, Cohen further discloses the satellite broadcasts the signal as a burst transmission (right side of Fig. 11; ¶84-85; ¶99).
In regard to claims 6, 27, 61, and 76, Cohen further discloses the unpredictable characteristic is ephemeris or satellite clock error (¶119-120).
In regard to claims 7 and 28, Cohen further discloses the unpredictable characteristic is a waveform characteristic (¶118) [where the waveform of the signal would be different if the ephemeris data that is modulated upon it were different].
In regard to claims 8, 29, 62, and 77, Cohen further discloses the unpredictable characteristic is at least some symbols of an N-PSK signal (¶103) [where the raw satellite message is in QPSK format].
In regard to claims 9, 30, 63, and 78, Cohen further discloses the approximating comprises creating a replica signal and wherein the determining comprises finding an alignment of the signal in samples (Fig. 21; ¶117-118) [where the a priori signal is the replica signal, and Early-Punctual-Late processing is aligning the replica signal with the received signal].
In regard to claims 10 and 64, Cohen further discloses the receiver performing the approximating and the determining (Fig. 1; ¶50-53).
In regard to claim 11, Cohen further discloses the approximating comprises generating a replica signal from the aiding information comprising satellite position, satellite velocity, and signal modulation, the satellite position, satellite velocity, and signal modulation sourced from terrestrial communication, wherein the signal broadcast from the satellite has the signal modulation (¶48; ¶118; ¶120-121) [where ephemeris includes both satellite position and satellite velocity].
In regard to claim 39, Cohen further discloses the aiding information comprises ephemeris, a location estimate, and/or a time estimate (¶48; ¶120) [where ephemeris is taught].
In regard to claims 41, Cohen further discloses the processor is part of the receiver (¶7), wherein the signal comprises a burst signal (right side of Fig. 11; ¶84-85; ¶99) from the satellite comprising a low earth orbit satellite (108, Fig. 29), wherein the processor is configured to approximate the at least one unpredictable characteristic as a signal replica (a priori signals, Fig. 21; ¶117-118), and wherein the processor is configured to determine from the signal using the signal replica (¶121).
In regard to claim 43, Cohen further discloses the burst signal is a time division multiple access signal (right side of Fig. 11; ¶84-85; ¶99).
In regard to claim 44, Cohen further discloses the aiding information comprises signal modulation information (¶118; ¶121) [where, according to ¶28, etc., of the disclosure, "modulation" encompasses a spreading code; where the impulse response is analogous to the PRN code of a GPS satellite; when the PRN code of a GPS satellite is the GPS satellite's spread code];
In regard to claims 45, Cohen further teaches the signal modulation information comprises a spread code (¶118; ¶121).
In regard to claims 50, Cohen further teaches the processor is configured to determine the location by correlation of the burst signal with the signal replica (Fig. 21; ¶117-118).
In regard to claims 51, Cohen further discloses determining receiver clock bias determined by correlation of the burst signal with the signal replica (Fig. 21; ¶116).
The Office takes Official Notice that one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it well known before the effective filing date of the invention to determine the time by using the receiver clock bias to correct the receiver clock.
In regard to claim 52, Cohen further discloses the receiver clock bias is determined by the correlation of the burst signal with a matched filtered formed with the signal replica (Fig. 21; ¶116-117).
In regard to claim 58, Cohen further discloses the unpredictable characteristic comprises modulation unpredictable to the receiver based on previous signal transmissions from the satellite wherein the modulation varies burst-to-burst (¶74).
In regard to claims 60 and 75, Cohen further discloses the satellite transmits the signal as a burst transmission (right side of Fig. 11; ¶84-85; ¶99) in a beam having a beam footprint smaller than footprint of the satellite (spot beams, Fig. 1; ¶73; ¶97; ¶161).
In regard to claims 65 and 80, Cohen further discloses approximating further comprises generating a signal replica from the aiding information comprising satellite position and orbit information, the orbit information and signal modulation sourced from terrestrial communication, wherein the signal broadcast from the satellite has the signal modulation (Fig. 21; ¶117-119; ¶121) [where the a priori signal is the replica signal; and where satellite ephemeris is satellite position and orbit information; and where, according to ¶28, etc., of the disclosure, "modulation" encompasses a spreading code; where the impulse response is analogous to the PRN code of a GPS satellite; when the PRN code of a GPS satellite is the GPS satellite's spread code].
In regard to claims 79, Cohen further discloses the processor is part of the receiver (¶7).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 12, 15, 19-21, 31, 35, 37-38, 40, 42, 46-49, 56-57, 66, 71-73, 81, and 86-88, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cohen (US 2008/0001818 A1), as applied to claims 1, 11, 22, 41, 59, 65, and 74, above, and further in view of Weng (US 2009/0303122 A1).
In regard to claims 12, 66, and 81, Cohen further teaches the data message is received by the receiver via the terrestrial communication (¶121).
Cohen fails to explicitly disclose the data message is received from a server.
However, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it well known to use a server to distribute aiding information terrestrial communication.
Weng, for example, teaches using a server to distribute aiding information terrestrial communication (50, Fig. 3; ¶7, final sentence; ¶24).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include this feature into the combination with a reasonable expectation of success in order to implement the "providing" in ¶121 of Weng with a known way of providing aiding information to a plurality of positioning receivers, such as using a server.
Additionally, this is a combining of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, the predictable result being that the ground station provides aiding information to positioning receivers.
In regard to claim 15, Cohen further discloses (1) the satellite is a low earth orbit satellite (108, Fig. 29), (2) the signal is a burst transmission (right side of Fig. 11; ¶84-85; ¶99), and/or (3) the signal is in a beam smaller than a total transmission footprint of the satellite (spot beams, Fig. 1; ¶73; ¶97; ¶161); and a search to match the signal (Fig. 21; ¶117-118).
Weng further teaches:
receiving the data message from a server (50, Fig. 3; ¶24), a first receiver (110, Fig. 3; ¶24), or a prior received satellite signal (¶7);
wherein receiving comprises receiving the signal from the satellite (¶22),
wherein determining comprises determining the time and/or location of the receiver from the signal and the approximated at least one unpredictable characteristic (¶42-44),
the assistance data assisting in a search to match the signal (¶5; ¶7; ¶11) [where the search window is the window in which the replica is slid vs. the received satellite signal to obtain a match during the acquisition process; and wherein the satellite message includes the spreading codes (referred to as "code" in ¶5) of the satellite along with corresponding parameters in the satellite almanac].
In regard to claims 19, 35, 72, and 86, Cohen further discloses the data message from a ground station with knowledge of the broadcast from a broadcast provider (bottom of Fig. 33; ¶48; ¶120-121).
Cohen fails to disclose the ground station includes a server.
Weng further teaches receiving the data message from a server (50, Fig. 3; ¶24).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include this feature into the combination with a reasonable expectation of success in order to implement the "providing" in ¶121 of Weng with a known way of providing aiding information to a plurality of positioning receivers, such as using a server.
Additionally, this is a combining of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, the predictable result being that the ground station provides aiding information to positioning receivers.
[Weng further teaches a data message with knowledge of the broadcast from a broadcast provider (¶11; ¶24).]
In regard to claims 20, 71, and 87, Weng further teaches receiving the data message from another receiver (110, Fig. 3; ¶24).
In regard to claims 21, 73, and 88, Weng further teaches receiving the data message as data received by the receiver while the receiver was in a better reception environment than a current reception environment (¶6-7) [where ¶6 teaches that there are environments where valid ephemeris is not available, i.e., bad reception environments, and ¶7 teaches using previously obtained satellite navigation message, i.e., from a better reception environment for which the satellite navigation message was able to be obtained].
In regard to claim 31, Cohen further discloses the processor is part of the receiver (Fig. 7).
Weng further teaches the aiding information is in a data message from a server (50, Fig. 1; ¶7, final ¶; ¶24).
In regard to claims 37, Weng further teaches the data message is from an earlier time when the receiver was in a better reception environment than a current environment (¶6-7) [where ¶6 teaches that there are environments where valid ephemeris is not available, i.e., bad reception environments, and ¶7 teaches using previously obtained satellite navigation message, i.e., from a better reception environment for which the satellite navigation message was able to be obtained].
In regard to claim 38, Cohen further discloses a search to match the signal (Fig. 21; ¶117-118).
Weng further teaches determining the time and/or location of the receiver from the signal (¶42-44) where the approximation assists in a search to match the signal at least one unpredictable characteristic (¶5; ¶7; ¶11) [where the search window is the window in which the replica is slid vs. the received satellite signal to obtain a match during the acquisition process; and wherein the satellite message includes the spreading codes (referred to as "code" in ¶5) of the satellite along with corresponding parameters in the satellite almanac].
In regard to claims 40, Cohen further discloses the aiding information comprises modulation (right side of Fig. 11; ¶84-85; ¶99), and approximating the unpredictable characteristic as a signal replica using the modulation (¶118; ¶121).
Weng further teaches determining with a search limited by a number of waveforms created for matching to the signal (¶5; ¶7; ¶11) [e.g. the number of replica waveforms is reduced based on the search window being reduced].
In regard to claims 42, Weng further teaches the aiding information comprises a number of possible symbols to be used for the burst signal, and wherein the processor is configured to generate the signal replica as part of a search using the possible symbols, the aiding information comprising information to limit the possible symbols to less than the number such that the search is reduced (¶5; ¶11) [where the number of possible symbols is the entire navigation message, but less than the entire navigation message is used to generate the search parameters, e.g. using ephemeris. Symbols such as telemetry data and hand over words are inapplicable.]
In regard to claims 46, Weng further teaches the aiding information comprises data for the burst signal, position of the satellite, a velocity of the satellite, and clock information for the satellite (¶5; ¶7; ¶11) [where the satellite navigation message includes data of the signal; where the satellite navigation message includes clock data (see NAVSTAR (IS-GPS-200), p. 83, ¶2)].
In regard to claims 47, Weng further teaches the processor is configured to perform the determination with a search with different frequency offsets (¶5; ¶7; ¶11).
In regard to claims 48, Weng further teaches the processor is configured to perform the search with the different frequency offsets applied to the signal replica (¶5; ¶7; ¶11).
In regard to claims 49, Weng further teaches the processor is configured to search with the different frequency offsets applied to the burst signal (¶5) [where in the combination the signal is a burst signal].
In regard to claim 56, Weng further teaches the processor is configured to reconstruct the signal replica as at least 60% of the burst signal (¶5; ¶7; ¶11) [wherein the satellite message includes 100% of the signal content].
In regard to claim 57, Cohen further discloses the processor is configured to determine the time and location (¶116).
Weng further teaches the aiding information comprises ephemeris for the satellite, and wherein the ephemeris is used in the calculation (¶42-44).
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cohen, as applied to claim 11, above, and further in view of Diggelen (US 2004/0234008 A1).
Cohen further discloses approximating comprises generating a replica signal and correlating the replica signal with the signal (Fig. 5-7 and 21; ¶88-90).
Cohen fails to disclose wherein a correlation peak or a peak of a sum of correlation curves indicating a clock bias.
Diggelen teaches wherein a correlation peak indicating a clock bias (¶31).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include this feature into the combination with a reasonable expectation of success in order to implement the details of determining the clock bias
Additionally, this is a combining of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, the predictable result being that the determining of the clock bias is implemented.
Claim(s) 14 and 54 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cohen, as applied to claims 11 and 51, above, and further in view of Chen (US 2013/0051504 A1).
In regard to claim 14, Cohen further discloses generating a replica signal (Fig. 5-7 and 21; ¶88-90) and wherein determining comprises correlating the replica signal with the signal (Fig. 21; ¶116).
Cohen fails to teach a peak of a sum of correlation curves indicating a clock bias.
Chen teaches a peak of a sum of correlation curves indicating a clock bias (¶8; claim 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include this feature into the combination with a reasonable expectation of success in order to accurately correct for the clock error in the receiver.
Additionally, this is a combining of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, the predictable result being that the clock error in the receiver is accurately corrected for.
In regard to claim 54, Cohen further discloses determining receiver clock bias determined by correlation of the burst signal with the signal replica (Fig. 21; ¶116).
Cohen fails to disclose the clock error identified from a sum of correlation curves.
Chen teaches identifying a clock error identified from a sum of correlation curves (¶8; claim 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include this feature into the combination with a reasonable expectation of success in order to accurately correct for the clock error in the receiver.
Additionally, this is a combining of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, the predictable result being that the clock error in the receiver is accurately corrected for.
Claim(s) 16 and 68, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cohen, as applied to claims 1 and 59, above, and further in view of Krasner (US 6,185,427 B1).
Cohen fails to disclose a server approximates and determines and communicates the time and/or location to the receiver.
Krasner teaches a server approximates and determines and communicates the time and/or location to the receiver (62, Fig. 3; col. 8, lines 15-39; col. 9, lines 21-56) [where the Office takes Official Notice that one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it well known before the effective filing date of the invention to communicate the location to the receiver during a 911 call so that the caller knows the caller's own location].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include this feature into the combination with a reasonable expectation of success in order to save receiver battery power by offloading calculations from the mobile receiver to a server.
Additionally, this is a combining of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, the predictable result being that the battery power expended by the receiver is reduced.
Claim(s) 32 and 83 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cohen, as applied to claims 22 and 74, above, and further in view of Kilfeather (US 6,243,648 B1).
Cohen fails to disclose the processor is part of a server, the receiver configured to transmit the signal to the server, and the server configured to transmit the time and/or location to the receiver.
Kilfeather teaches a processor is part of a server, the receiver configured to transmit the signal to the server, and the server configured to transmit the time and/or location to the receiver (abstract; col. 1, lines 47-65; col. 2, lines 26-48).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include this feature into the combination with a reasonable expectation of success in order to reduce the time to determine the receiver position of save receiver battery power by offloading calculations.
Additionally, this is a combining of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, the predictable result being that the time to determine the receiver position is reduced and the battery power of the usage of the battery power of the receiver is reduced.
Claim(s) 36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cohen, as applied to claim 22, above, and further in view of Bloebaum (US 2002/0098849 A1).
Cohen fails to disclose the data message is from another receiver located in a region of better reception from the satellite than the receiver.
Bloebaum further teaches the data message is from another receiver located in a region of better reception from the satellite than the receiver [in order to reduce the time-to-first fix] (¶39-40).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include this feature into the combination with a reasonable expectation of success in order to more quickly determine the receiver position when broadcast ephemeris is not available, as motivated by Bloebaum.
Additionally, this is a combining of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, the predictable result being that the receiver position is more quickly determined.
Claim(s) 53 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cohen, as applied to claim 51, above, and further in view of Schweiger (US 2012/0155777 A1).
Cohen further discloses determining receiver clock bias determined by correlation of the burst signal with the signal replica (Fig. 21; ¶116).
The Office takes Official Notice that one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it well known before the effective filing date of the invention to determine the time by using the receiver clock bias to correct the receiver clock.
Cohen fails to disclose the processor is configured to determine the time as a clock error based on correlation peaks with wildpoint filtering.
Schweiger (US 2012/0155777 A1) teaches wildpoint filtering of correlation peaks (¶47).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include this feature into the combination with a reasonable expectation of success in order to improve the accuracy of the correlation process by removing outlying/wildpoint measurements.
Additionally, this is a combining of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, the predictable result being that outlying/wildpoint measurements are removed and a more accurate correlation result is produced.
Claim(s) 55 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cohen, as applied to claim 41, above, and further in view of Weng and Jeon (KR-20060066296-A).
Cohen further discloses correlating a replica signal with the received signal (Fig. 5-7 and 21; ¶88-90).
Cohen fails to disclose the processor is configured to set a correlation window [for the correlation] based on a computer network time.
Weng further teaches [the details of performing a correlation between a replica signal and a received signal, including] the processor is configured to set a correlation window based on time [where the size of the search window / correlation window is based on the accuracy of the time] (¶5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include this feature into the combination with a reasonable expectation of success in order to reduce the time to determine the position of the receiver by only searching inside a search window.
Additionally, this is a combining of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, the predictable result being time to determine the position of the receiver is reduced.
Jeon teaches using computer network time to reduce a search/correlation time (p. 7, ¶1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include this feature into the combination with a reasonable expectation of success in order to reduce the size of the search window and thus reduce the time to determine the position of the receiver.
Additionally, this is a combining of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, the predictable result being the size of the search window is reduced, and thus the time to determine the position of the receiver is reduced.
Claim(s) 67 and 82 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cohen, as applied to claims 65 and 80, above, and further in view of Diggelen (US 2004/0234008 A1).
Cohen further teaches approximating comprises generating a replica signal and correlating the replica signal with the signal (Fig. 6 and 21; ¶89-90).
Cohen fails to disclose wherein a correlation peak or a peak of a sum of correlation curves indicating a clock bias.
Diggelen teaches wherein a correlation peak curves indicating a clock bias (¶31).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include this feature into the combination with a reasonable expectation of success in order to implement the details of determining the clock bias
Additionally, this is a combining of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, the predictable result being that the determining of the clock bias is implemented.
The following reference(s) is/are also found relevant:
Parkinson (Global Positioning System: Theory and Applications, vol. 2), which teaches ephemeris including both satellite position and satellite velocity (p. 253).
McDougall (Global Positioning System (GPS) Pseudorandom Noise (PRN) Code Assignment Process), which teaches that PRN codes are spreading codes (p. 3).
Ma (CN-207114769-U), which teaches receiving, by a receiver (200, Fig. 1; Fig. 3), a signal broadcast from a satellite (110, Fig. 1) (p. 4, ¶7-8; p. 5, ¶6-7), the signal as broadcast having a high peak power flux density (p. 4, ¶4) and the signal including at least one characteristic unpredictable from the signal by the receiver (p. 3, ¶4-5; p. 5, ¶5) [e.g. orbit parameters, Doppler frequency shift, satellite ephemeris, satellite clock information, satellite clock correction value, ionospheric delay correction, etc.]; and determining time and/or location of the receiver from the signal [from at least one unpredictable characteristic of the signal] (p. 3, ¶5; p. 6, ¶2 and ¶5).
Ding (CN-106908817-B), which teaches approximating the at least one unpredictable characteristic of the signal based on aiding information (p. 12, ¶5-7); and determining the time and/or location of the receiver from the signal and the approximation (abstract; p. 13, ¶7; p. 15, ¶1) [in order to shorten acquisition time and more quickly determine the receiver position (p. 12, ¶7)].
Biacs (US 6,229,478 B1), which teaches a server (100, Fig. 1) distributing aiding information in a data message from reference stations (102, Fig. 1) to receivers (104, Fig. 1).
Weng '336 (US 2008/0084336 A1), which teaches using known data bits from previously acquired ephemeris to allow extended coherent integration (e.g. ¶23-24).
Gutt (US 9,344,147 B1), which teaches positioning and time-determination using bursts from LEO satellites (col. 3).
Miller (US 2016/0313449 A1), which teaches positioning and time-determination using bursts from LEO satellites (abstract; ¶15-16).
Psiaki (US 2011/0238307 A1), which teaches positioning and time-determination using bursts from LEO satellites (abstract; ¶102).
King (US 6,313,787 B1), which teaches that the GPS broadcast message includes ephemeris and clock correction (col. 2); using aiding information to narrow a Doppler and code phase search window (col. 12); and providing ephemeris and clock correction as aiding data (col. 16).
NAVSTAR (IS-GPS-200), which teaches the details of the GPS satellite navigation message, including its inclusion of clock data (p. 83, ¶2).
Iridium (ICAO TECHNICAL MANUAL FOR IRIDIUM AERONAUTICAL MOBILE SATELLITE (ROUTE) SERVICE), which teaches the details of the Iridium satellite system, including the use of spot beams (Fig. 1-3) and TDMA (section 1.3.1).
Korneluk (US 2007/0024498 A1), which teaches broadcasting aiding data (¶19).
Brown (Urban/Indoor Navigation using Network Assisted GPS), which teaches aiding ephemeris to improve TTFF (p. 2, col. 2) and to allow extended integration (col. 4, col. 1).
Applicant is encouraged to consider these documents in formulating their response (if one is required) to this Office Action, in order to expedite prosecution of this application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments on p. 15-18, with respect to the prior art rejection(s) over have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues "Applicant notes that such averaging techniques are not compatible with burst signals which include periods inconsistent with the burst surrounding the burst". In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., "burst signals which include periods inconsistent with the burst surrounding the burst") are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). If applicant feels the need to argue patentability by citing features that are not in the claim, then applicant should put those features into the claim.
Applicant argues:
However, it is unclear if applicant is arguing (I) that the claims require the burst to have a different period than others of the burst, or if applicant is arguing (II) that Cohen requires the burst to have a different period than others of the burst.
If (I), in response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., the burst has a different period than others of the burst) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). If applicant feels the need to argue patentability by citing features that are not in the claim, then applicant should put those features into the claim.
If (II), it is noted that applicant has not cited where Cohen supposedly teaches the burst has a different period than others of the burst.
With regard to "it is clear that the system of Cohen does not apply to the reconstruction of burst signals and is not intended to despite Cohen's awareness of burst signals in general. See e.g., Cohen paras. 101-109.", it is noted that ¶105 and ¶109 is explicitly referring to bursts, and ¶109 is explicitly referring to Fig. 17, which explicitly illustrates bursts. Additionally, ¶121 states "such ground stations may provide the deciphered codes to navigation devices 102, thereby permitting navigation devices 102 to perform navigation using virtually any signal".
Applicant argues that "As the impulse response disclosed in Cohen is created by the observation of signals that may extract deterministic information but 'nulls' out non-deterministic information such as encrypted data or frequency hopping ... Cohen does not disclose transmitting any information for determining such non-deterministic signal behavior ". However, Cohen does not state that Cohen nulls out frequency hopping. The frequency hopping sequence is known (Fig. 17).
Applicant argues "Further, claim 1, as amended, recites aiding information including information on a burst modulation key for the signal broadcast and a listing of one or more burst times for the signal broadcast. Nowhere does Cohen describe a message including both information on a burst modulation key for the signal broadcast and a listing of one or more burst times for the signal broadcast. Further, nowhere does Cohen describe a listing of one or more burst times without or without modulation key information.". However, ¶118-120 discloses a message including a listing of one or more burst times for the signal broadcast (the broadcast clock bias). ¶109 discloses the modulation key is provided to the receiver in advance, where ¶118 states that signal waveform may be sent via the message data link (i.e. as aiding information).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment of 5-15-2026 necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action, e.g., claim(s) 1 was/were amended, necessitating the new grounds of rejection. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Fred H. Mull
Examiner
Art Unit 3648
/F. H. M./
Examiner, Art Unit 3648
/VLADIMIR MAGLOIRE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3648