DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7-15, and 23-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Application Publication to Bhagavatula 2014/0147078US in view of the US Patent to Butler 11,852,870US.
In terms of Claim 1, Bhagavatula teaches a receptacle of a photonics package (Figure 2b) comprising: a plug portion (Figure 2b:12-1) to receive therein an optical plug (Figure 2b: 10-1) such that the optical plug (10-1) and the plug portion (12-1) are fixed with respect to one another (Figure 2b: 10-1 and 12-1), the optical plug (Figure 2b: 10-1) including a plug side lens assembly (Figure 2b: 106p); a lens portion (Figure 2b: 106R) to support a die side lens assembly (Figure 2b: 68R(1)-68R(4)), the lens portion (Figure 106R) configured such that the die side lens assembly (68R(1)) and the plug side lens assembly (Figure 2b: 68P(1)) are aligned to one another when the optical plug is received in the plug portion (Figure 3b: 106p /106R and 68R(1) with 68P(1)); the waveguides (Figure 2b: 18R) of the circuit (18R is within 64-1) are aligned to: corresponding lenses of the die side lens assembly (68R(1)-68R(4)); and corresponding lenses of the plug side lens assembly (68P(1)-68P(4)) when the optical plug (10-1) is received in the plug portion (12-1), wherein the plug portion (12-1), the lens portion (106R) and the circuit portion together form a unitary rigid body of the receptacle (Figure 2b: 12-1, 106R, 34; the applicant disclosed Figure 5: a plug portion 230; lens portion 112,. The disclosed structures of plug portion 10-1, 12-1 receptacle housing; lens 106R and pic portion 34 are all bonded together to from a unitary body. Structures 12-1 are bonded to 34 via a screw or adhesive [0068], lens portion are also bonded together to components inside 12-1 via adhesive [0085], hence the structures disclosed are in as much forms a unitary body as the disclosed invention which also use adhesive to bond the various components together).
Bhagavatula does not teach a photonics integrated circuit portion to be bonded to a PIC that includes waveguides, the PIC portion configured such that, when the PIC is bonded thereto, wherein the lens portion is disposed between the plug portion and the PIC portion, and wherein the plug portion, the lens portion and the PIC portion together form a unitary rigid body of the receptacle that; includes a PIC support surface to overlie the PIC when the unitary rigid body and the PIC are mounted to a package substrate; and extends from a plug receiving end of the plug portion through the lens portion an through the PIC portion.
Applicant disclosed invention of the above claims are shown below:
Butler teaches a photonics integrated circuit portion (See Figure 11c below: PIC portion) to be bonded to a PIC (See Figure 11c below: 140 is bonded to 145) that includes waveguides (Figure 11c: 134), the PIC portion configured such that, when the PIC is bonded thereto, wherein the lens portion (Figure 11c: See Lens portion) is disposed between the plug portion (See Figure 11c: “plug portion”) and the PIC portion (Figure 11c: “PIC portion”), and wherein the plug portion, the lens portion and the PIC portion together form a unitary rigid body of the receptacle that (See Body of 145 wherein the pic portions, plug portions, and lens portions are just the upper surface to support these optical components similar to claimed invention); includes a PIC support surface to overlie the PIC (Figure 11c: 188) when the unitary rigid body and the PIC are mounted to a package substrate (Figure 11c: 145); and extends from a plug receiving end of the plug portion through the lens portion an through the PIC portion (See Figure 11c: wherein top surface of 145 extends from a plug receiving end to the plug portion).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Bhagavatula to include a PIC within the receptacle of 12-1 of Bhagavatula, further one would only have to rearrange the horizontal position of the plug, the PIC, and the lens portion the achieve the designer of Butler. The modification will ensure the device is properly aligned with the plug to receive optical signals for processing. Further the inclusion of the PIC in the receptacle allows the PIC component to be easily replace compare to wherein it was built into the bottom substrate 34 of Bhagavatula. This design change will allow the installer to replace PIC easier without the need to replace the entire board 34, and reduce the maintenance cost.
As for Claim 2, Bhagavatula / Butler teaches the device of claim 1, wherein Bhagavatula teaches the die side lens assembly (68R(1)) one of includes a housing 28R that is unitary with the lens portion or is bond to the lens portion ([0094]).
As for Claim 3, Bhagavatula / Butler teaches the device of claim 1, wherein Bhagavatula teaches the unitary rigid body of the receptacle includes at least one of visual or mechanical fiducials thereon to align at least one of: the optical plug with the plug portion (The mechanical grooves of 42p and 42R aligns the optical plug portion 10-1 to the plug portion 12-1); the die side lens assembly to the lens portion (the groove 180R(1) or the pins (66(2)) forms a mechanical fiducial markings to aligns the die side lens assembly 68R to lens portion 106R); the PIC to the PIC portion (the pic within 64-1 to the pic portion 34 via the alignment location of 36 which acts as a mechanical fiducial).
As for Claim 4, Bhagavatula / Butler teaches the device of claim 3, wherein Bhagavatula teaches the fiducials to align the optical plug with the plug portion include a tongue or groove (Figure 2b: 42R contains a stick out portion with a groove) of the plug portion (12-1) to engage with a corresponding groove or tongue of the optical plug (Figure 2b: tongue portions of 42P).
In regards to Claim 5, Bhagavatula teaches the device of Claim 1, wherein individual ones of the die side lens assembly (Figure 2b: 68R(1) to 68R(4)) and the plug side lens assembly include a plurality of lens arrays (Figure 27: 106(1)-106(N).
Bhagavatula does not teach wherein the lens portion is to support a plurality of die side lens assemblies, the plug portion is to support a plurality of optical plugs including a respective plurality of plug side lens assemblies, and the PIC portion is to support a plurality of PICS, wherein individual triads of a die side lens assembly of the plurality of die side lens assemblies, a plug side lens assembly of the plurality of plug side lens assemblies, and a PIC of the plurality of PICS are to be aligned to one another; and the lens arrays to be aligned to the waveguides of the PIC.
However, one can modify the device Bhagavatula and Butler to include an array of lens at the circle area, an array of fibers at the plug portion 254, an array of stack pics at the location of 140 all stacked vertically in the same manner as Figure 27 of Bhagavatula. All the components will sit and being supported by the relative portions outlined below in Figure 11c of Butler.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to duplicate all the components shown in Figure 2b in a vertically stacked configuration similar to Figure 27 for all the components wherein the lens portion is to support a plurality of die side lens assemblies, the plug portion is to support a plurality of optical plugs including a respective plurality of plug side lens assemblies, and the PIC portion is to support a plurality of PICS, wherein individual triads of a die side lens assembly of the plurality of die side lens assemblies, a plug side lens assembly of the plurality of plug side lens assemblies, and a PIC of the plurality of PICS are to be aligned to one another; and the lens arrays to be aligned to the waveguides of the PIC in order to increase optical connection density of the device for large scale applications. The components will be aligned across a singular base as taught by Butler wherein the receptacle will only have to be resize to house more modules in a vertically stacked manner within the receptacle. The modification of the limitations only requires all the device of Figure 2b to be duplicated in a stacked manner similar to Figure 27. It has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8 (1977).
As for Claim 7, Bhagavatula / Butler teaches the device of claim 1, wherein Bhagavatula teaches the unitary rigid body of the receptacle includes at least one of an ultraviolet transparent material or a metal (Figure 3b: 88 which is part of the rigid body within 12-1 is made of metal [0126]).
In terms of Claim 8, Bhagavatula teaches a receptacle assembly of a photonics package (Figure 2b: 32) comprising; a die side lens assembly (Figure 2b: 68R(1) to 68R(4)); and a unitary rigid receptacle body (Figure 2b: shell of 12-1, and PIC portion 34) including: a plug portion (housing of 12-1 or 64-1) to receive therein an optical plug (10-1) such that the optical plug (10-1) and the plug portion (12-1 or 64-1) are fixed with respect to one another (Figure 2b: housing of 12-1 or 64-1 fits optical plug 10-1 within its housing), the optical plug (10-1) including a plug side lens assembly (Figure 2b: 106P is within 10-1); a lens portion (106R) supporting the die side lens assembly (68R(1) to 68R(4)) , the lens portion (106R) configured such that the die side lens assembly and the plug side lens assembly are aligned to one another when the optical plug is received in the plug portion (Figure 2b: 106P and 106R contain 68P(1) to 68P(4) with 68R(1) to 68R(4)); and a coupling portion (Figure 2b: 34) bonded to the substrate (components within 64 are bonded via outer shell of 64-1 is bonded to 34 via screw 36 or adhesive [0068]) such that the waveguides (Figure 2b: 18R) of the coupler are aligned to: corresponding lenses of the die side lens assembly; and corresponding lenses of the plug side lens assembly when the optical plug is received in the plug portion (Figure 2b: 10-1, 12-1, 68P(1) to 68P(4) to 68R(1) to 68R(4) with 18R).
Bhagavatula does not teach a photonics integrated circuit portion to be bonded to a PIC that includes waveguides, the PIC portion configured such that, when the PIC is bonded thereto, wherein the lens portion is disposed between the plug portion and the PIC portion, and wherein the plug portion, the lens portion and the PIC portion together form a unitary rigid body of the receptacle that; includes a PIC support surface to overlie the PIC when the unitary rigid body and the PIC are mounted to a package substrate; and extends from a plug receiving end of the plug portion through the lens portion an through the PIC portion.
Applicant disclosed invention of the above claims are shown below:
Butler teaches a photonics integrated circuit portion (See Figure 11c below: PIC portion) to be bonded to a PIC (See Figure 11c below: 140 is bonded to 145) that includes waveguides (Figure 11c: 134), the PIC portion configured such that, when the PIC is bonded thereto, wherein the lens portion (Figure 11c: See Lens portion) is disposed between the plug portion (See Figure 11c: “plug portion”) and the PIC portion (Figure 11c: “PIC portion”), and wherein the plug portion, the lens portion and the PIC portion together form a unitary rigid body of the receptacle that (See Body of 145 wherein the pic portions, plug portions, and lens portions are just the upper surface to support these optical components similar to claimed invention); includes a PIC support surface to overlie the PIC (Figure 11c: 188) when the unitary rigid body and the PIC are mounted to a package substrate (Figure 11c: 145); and extends from a plug receiving end of the plug portion through the lens portion an through the PIC portion (See Figure 11c: wherein top surface of 145 extends from a plug receiving end to the plug portion). Although the reference to Butler above does not include lens, the bottom substrate can be spaced to accommodate the lens already in Bhagavatula.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Bhagavatula to include a PIC within the receptacle of 12-1 of Bhagavatula, further one would only have to rearrange the horizontal position of the plug, the PIC, and the lens portion the achieve the design of Butler. The modification will ensure the device is properly aligned with the plug to receive optical signals for processing. Further the inclusion of the PIC in the receptacle allows the PIC component to be easily replace compare to wherein it was built into the bottom substrate 34 of Bhagavatula. This design change will allow the installer to replace PIC easier without the need to replace the entire board 34, and reduce the maintenance cost.
As for Claim 9, Bhagavatula / Butler teaches the device of claim 8, wherein Bhagavatula teaches the die side lens assembly (68R(1)) one of includes a housing 28R that is unitary with the lens portion or is bond to the lens portion ([0094]).
As for Claim 10, Bhagavatula /Butler teaches the device of claim 9, Bhagavatula teaches the device further including epoxy bonding the die side lens assembly (68R(1) to the lens portion 106R; using epoxy [0074]), wherein the epoxy is at a side of the die side lens assembly that does not include lenses (the epoxy is located at the pins portions 66(1) and 66(2) in area of 198P(1) / 198P(2) which is located at the sides and not at the lens location; [0074]).
As for Claim 11, Bhagavatula / Butler teaches the device of claim 8, wherein Bhagavatula teaches the unitary rigid receptacle body includes at least one of visual or mechanical fiducials thereon to align at least one of: the optical plug with the plug portion (The mechanical grooves of 42p and 42R aligns the optical plug portion 10-1 to the plug portion 12-1); the die side lens assembly to the lens portion (the groove 180R(1) or the pins (66(2)) forms a mechanical fiducial markings to aligns the die side lens assembly 68R to lens portion 106R); the PIC to the PIC portion (the pic within 64-1 to the pic portion 34 via the alignment location of 36 which acts as a mechanical fiducial).
As for Claim 12, Bhagavatula / Butler teaches the device of claim 8, wherein Bhagavatula teaches individual ones of the coupling circuits (components within 64-1 that does not include the lens) and the die side lens assembly (68R(1)-68R(2)), include at least one of visual or mechanical fiducials thereon to align at least one of: the die side lens assembly to the lens portion (the groove 180R(1) or the pins (66(2)) forms a mechanical fiducial markings to aligns the die side lens assembly 68R to lens portion 106R); the PIC to the PIC portion (the pic within 64-1 to the pic portion 34 via the alignment location of 36 which acts as a mechanical fiducial).
In regards to Claims 13 and 14, Bhagavatula / Butler teaches the device of Claim 8, wherein individual ones of the die side lens assembly (Figure 2b: 68R(1) to 68R(4)) and the plug side lens assembly include a plurality of lens arrays (Figure 27: 106(1)-106(N).
Bhagavatula / Butler do not teach wherein the lens portion is to support a plurality of die side lens assemblies, the plug portion is to support a plurality of optical plugs including a respective plurality of plug side lens assemblies, and the PIC portion is to support a plurality of PICS, wherein individual triads of a die side lens assembly of the plurality of die side lens assemblies, a plug side lens assembly of the plurality of plug side lens assemblies, and a PIC of the plurality of PICS are to be aligned to one another; and the lens arrays to be aligned to the waveguides of the PIC. However, one can modify the device Bhagavatula and Butler to include an array of lens at the circle area, an array of fibers at the plug portion 254, an array of stack pics at the location of 140 all stacked vertically in the same manner as Figure 27 of Bhagavatula. All the components will sit and being supported by the relative portions outlined below in Figure 11c of Butler
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to duplicate all the components shown in Figure 2b in a vertically stacked configuration similar to Figure 27 for all the components wherein the lens portion is to support a plurality of die side lens assemblies, the plug portion is to support a plurality of optical plugs including a respective plurality of plug side lens assemblies, and the PIC portion is to support a plurality of PICS, wherein individual triads of a die side lens assembly of the plurality of die side lens assemblies, a plug side lens assembly of the plurality of plug side lens assemblies, and a PIC of the plurality of PICS are to be aligned to one another; and the lens arrays to be aligned to the waveguides of the PIC in order to increase optical connection density of the device for large scale applications. The modification of the limitations only requires all the device of Figure 2b to be duplicated in a stacked manner similar to Figure 27. It has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8 (1977).
As for Claim 15, Bhagavatula / Butler teaches the device of claim 8, Bhagavatula further teaches including an adhesive bonding the PIC (components with 64-1 which is the housing 12-1) to the unitary rigid receptacle body of the receptacle (88p or within the housing via epoxy [0143]).
In terms of Claim 23, Bhagavatula teaches a method of making a receptacle assembly (Figure 2b) including: providing a unitary rigid receptacle body (Figure 2b: 12-1, 106R, 34; the applicant disclosed Figure 5: a plug portion 230; lens portion 112, and a PIC portion 110 as individual components bonded together to form a unitary rigid body. The disclosed structures of plug portion 10-1, 12-1 receptacle housing; lens 106R and pic portion 34 are all bonded together to from a unitary body. Structures 12-1 are bonded to 34 via a screw or adhesive [0068], lens portion are also bonded together to components inside 12-1 via adhesive [0085], hence the structures disclosed are in as much forms a unitary body as the disclosed invention which also use adhesive to bond the various components together)) including: a plug portion (Figure 2b: 12-1) to receive therein an optical plug (Figure 2b: 10-1) such that the optical plug and the plug portion are fixed with respect to one another (Figure 2b: 10-1 and 12-1), the optical plug including a plug side lens assembly (106P); a lens portion (106R); and a photonics integrated circuit (PIC) portion (within 64-1); providing a die side lens assembly (68R(1)) on the lens portion (106R) such that the die side lens assembly and the plug side lens assembly are aligned to one another when the optical plug is received in the plug portion (Figure 2b: location of 106R and 106P); bonding a PIC (all the components with 64-1 wherein shell of 64-1 is bonded to 34) that includes waveguides (Figure 2b: 18R) to the PIC portion (34) such that the waveguides are aligned to: corresponding lenses of the die side lens assembly; and corresponding lenses of the plug side lens assembly when the optical plug is received in the plug portion (Figure 2b).
Bhagavatula does not teach a photonics integrated circuit portion to be bonded to a PIC that includes waveguides, the PIC portion configured such that, when the PIC is bonded thereto, wherein the lens portion is disposed between the plug portion and the PIC portion, and wherein the plug portion, the lens portion and the PIC portion together form a unitary rigid body of the receptacle that; includes a PIC support surface to overlie the PIC when the unitary rigid body and the PIC are mounted to a package substrate; and extends from a plug receiving end of the plug portion through the lens portion an through the PIC portion.
Applicant disclosed invention of the above claims are shown below:
Butler teaches a photonics integrated circuit portion (See Figure 11c below: PIC portion) to be bonded to a PIC (See Figure 11c below: 140 is bonded to 145) that includes waveguides (Figure 11c: 134), the PIC portion configured such that, when the PIC is bonded thereto, wherein the lens portion (Figure 11c: See Lens portion) is disposed between the plug portion (See Figure 11c: “plug portion”) and the PIC portion (Figure 11c: “PIC portion”), and wherein the plug portion, the lens portion and the PIC portion together form a unitary rigid body of the receptacle that (See Body of 145 wherein the pic portions, plug portions, and lens portions are just the upper surface to support these optical components similar to claimed invention); includes a PIC support surface to overlie the PIC (Figure 11c: 188) when the unitary rigid body and the PIC are mounted to a package substrate (Figure 11c: 145); and extends from a plug receiving end of the plug portion through the lens portion an through the PIC portion (See Figure 11c: wherein top surface of 145 extends from a plug receiving end to the plug portion).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Bhagavatula to include a PIC within the receptacle of 12-1 of Bhagavatula, further one would only have to rearrange the horizontal position of the plug, the PIC, and the lens portion the achieve the designer of Butler. The modification will ensure the device is properly aligned with the plug to receive optical signals for processing. Further the inclusion of the PIC in the receptacle allows the PIC component to be easily replace compare to wherein it was built into the bottom substrate 34 of Bhagavatula. This design change will allow the installer to replace PIC easier without the need to replace the entire board 34, and reduce the maintenance cost.
As for Claim 24-25, Bhagavatula /Butler teaches the method of Claim 23, Bhagavatula teaches further including: using at least one of visual or mechanical fiducials on the body of the receptacle to align at least one of: the optical plug with the plug portion (Figure 2b: grooves and tongue at 42p and 42R); the optical plug with the plug portion (The mechanical grooves of 42p and 42R aligns the optical plug portion 10-1 to the plug portion 12-1); the die side lens assembly to the lens portion (the groove 180R(1) or the pins (66(2)) forms a mechanical fiducial markings to aligns the die side lens assembly 68R to lens portion 106R); the PIC to the PIC portion (the pic within 64-1 to the pic portion 34 via the alignment location of 36 which acts as a mechanical fiducial); using at least one of visual or mechanical fiducials on the individuals ones of the PIC and the die side lens assembly to align at least one of the die side lens assembly to the lens portion (See Pins 66(1) which acts as both mechanical and visual fiducials for alignment locations).
Claims 16 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bhagavatula / Butler as applied to claim 15 above, and further in view of US Patent Application Publication to Pelletier 2020/0166705US.
In regards to Claims 16 and 17, Bhagavatula / Butler teaches the device of claim 15, wherein Bhagavatula teaches various components to make an optical integrated circuit or PIC is bonded within the receptacle (12-1) using an adhesive ([0143]) wherein the unitary rigid receptacle body 88p can be made of plastic or metal ([0126]).
Bhagavatula / Butler do not teach wherein optical elements are bonded to the body using a UV transparent material and the adhesive includes a UV adhesive, or wherein the adhesive includes a high temperature solder on a metal surface.
Pelletier teaches an optical chip which the examiner considers as a SOA as a PIC, wherein the chip or PIC is bonded to a surface of SiP (Figure 1: 12 and 10) wherein the bonding process that uses UV curable adhesive ([0038]). This means the substrate or the PIC must be made of UV transparent material in order for the adhesive to be cured by UV light in area that’s located between the two components. Pelletier also teaches the use of a temperature solder which is a high temperature solder to bond the devices together (Figure 1: SOA/ PIC 12 is bonded to metal surfaces 82; ([0038] SOA).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the bonding technique of Pelletier on the metal body or surface of the receptacle of Bhagavatula in order to enhance the mechanical bonding of the various component to enhance optical alignment by preventing the relative movement of various components which is desired in devices like Bhagavatula. UV adhesive is known to produce strong mechanical bonds in the optical art with fast cure time due to UV sensitivity. Solders are known to produce excellent bonds on metal surfaces.
Claims 18-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Application Publication to Bhagavatula 2014/0147078US in view of US Patent to Shastri 10,725,254US in view of the US Patent to Butler 11,852,870US.
In regards to Claim 18, Bhagavatula teaches a photonic package (Figure 2b) including: a substrate (34) a receptacle assembly supported on the substrate (Figure 2b: 32 wherein the receptacle structure is 12-1) the receptacle assembly including a PIC (photonic components on 88p to for an optical circuit with element 30) including waveguides thereon (Figure 2b: 18R), a die side lens assembly (Figure 2b: 68R(1) to 68R(4)); and a unitary rigid receptacle body (88p and housing shell 64-1) bonded to the substrate (34) and including: a plug portion (12-1) to receive therein an optical plug (10-1) such that the optical plug and the plug portion are fixed with respect to one another (Figure 2b: 12-1, 106R, 34; the applicant disclosed Figure 5: a plug portion 230; lens portion 112, and a PIC portion 110 as individual components bonded together to form a unitary rigid body. The disclosed structures of plug portion 10-1, 12-1 receptacle housing; lens 106R and pic portion 34 are all bonded together to from a unitary body. Structures 12-1 are bonded to 34 via a screw or adhesive [0068], lens portion are also bonded together to components inside 12-1 via adhesive [0085], hence the structures disclosed are in as much forms a unitary body as the disclosed invention which also use adhesive to bond the various components together)), the optical plug including a plug side lens assembly (68P(1) to 68P(4)); a lens portion (106R) supporting the die side lens assembly (68R(1) to 68R(4)), the lens portion configured such that the die side lens assembly and the plug side lens assembly are aligned to one another when the optical plug is received in the plug portion (Figure 2b: 10-1 and 12-1 lens 68P(1) to 68P(4) with 68R(1) to 68R(4)); and a PIC portion bonded (top surface of 34) to the PIC (64-1 and all the components within 64-1) such that the waveguides (18R) of the PIC (within 64) are aligned to: corresponding lenses of the die side lens assembly (Figure 2b: 64-1, 18R and lens 68P/R); and corresponding lenses of the plug side lens assembly when the optical plug is received in the plug portion (Figure 2b).
Bhagavatula does not teach one or more processors bonded to and electrically coupled to the substrate and the PIC electrically coupled to conductive traces of the substrate and coupled to the one or more processor to communicate signals therewith.
Shastri does teach a substrate (Figure 1: 24); one or more processors (Figure “multicore processor”) bonded to and electrically coupled to the substrate (Figure 1: 24) and the PIC (28) electrically coupled to conductive traces of the substrate and coupled to the one or more processor to communicate signals therewith (Figure 2: 28 coupled 22 which contain traces to 24 of which the processor is located; Column 5, lines 35-67).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Shastri to incorporate a process package on the substrate of 34 from Bhagavatula in order to integrate processing power to the PIC to complete complex calculations for data transmission. This modification will increase the data transmission scheme of the device for more complex data routing networks.
Bhagavatula in combination with Shastri do not teach a photonics integrated circuit portion to be bonded to a PIC that includes waveguides, the PIC portion configured such that, when the PIC is bonded thereto, wherein the lens portion is disposed between the plug portion and the PIC portion, and wherein the plug portion, the lens portion and the PIC portion together form a unitary rigid body of the receptacle that; includes a PIC support surface to overlie the PIC when the unitary rigid body and the PIC are mounted to a package substrate; and extends from a plug receiving end of the plug portion through the lens portion an through the PIC portion.
Applicant disclosed invention of the above claims are shown below:
Butler teaches a photonics integrated circuit portion (See Figure 11c below: PIC portion) to be bonded to a PIC (See Figure 11c below: 140 is bonded to 145) that includes waveguides (Figure 11c: 134), the PIC portion configured such that, when the PIC is bonded thereto, wherein the lens portion (Figure 11c: See Lens portion) is disposed between the plug portion (See Figure 11c: “plug portion”) and the PIC portion (Figure 11c: “PIC portion”), and wherein the plug portion, the lens portion and the PIC portion together form a unitary rigid body of the receptacle that (See Body of 145 wherein the pic portions, plug portions, and lens portions are just the upper surface to support these optical components similar to claimed invention); includes a PIC support surface to overlie the PIC (Figure 11c: 188) when the unitary rigid body and the PIC are mounted to a package substrate (Figure 11c: 145); and extends from a plug receiving end of the plug portion through the lens portion an through the PIC portion (See Figure 11c: wherein top surface of 145 extends from a plug receiving end to the plug portion). Although the reference to Butler above does not include lens, the bottom substrate can be spaced to accommodate the lens already in Bhagavatula.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Bhagavatula to include a PIC within the receptacle of 12-1 of Bhagavatula, further one would only have to rearrange the horizontal position of the plug, the PIC, and the lens portion the achieve the design of Butler. The modification will ensure the device is properly aligned with the plug to receive optical signals for processing. Further the inclusion of the PIC in the receptacle allows the PIC component to be easily replace compare to wherein it was built into the bottom substrate 34 of Bhagavatula. This design change will allow the installer to replace PIC easier without the need to replace the entire board 34, and reduce the maintenance cost.
As for Claim 19, Bhagavatula / Shastri / Butler teaches the device of claim 18, wherein Bhagavatula teaches, the die side lens assembly (68R(1)) one of includes a housing 28R that is unitary with the lens portion or is bond to the lens portion ([0094]).
As for Claim 20, Bhagavatula / Shastri / Butler teaches the device of claim 18, wherein Bhagavatula teaches further including epoxy bonding the die side lens assembly (68R(1) to the lens portion 106R; using epoxy [0074]), wherein the epoxy is at a side of the die side lens assembly that does not include lenses (the epoxy is located at the pins portions 66(1) and 66(2) in area of 198P(1) / 198P(2) which is located at the sides and not at the lens location; [0074]).
As for Claim 21, Bhagavatula / Shastri / Butler teaches the device of claim 18, wherein Bhagavatula teaches wherein the body of the receptacle includes at least one of visual or mechanical fiducials thereon to align at least one of: the optical plug with the plug portion (The mechanical grooves of 42p and 42R aligns the optical plug portion 10-1 to the plug portion 12-1); the die side lens assembly to the lens portion (the groove 180R(1) or the pins (66(2)) forms a mechanical fiducial markings to aligns the die side lens assembly 68R to lens portion 106R); the PIC to the PIC portion (the pic within 64-1 to the pic portion 34 via the alignment location of 36 which acts as a mechanical fiducial).
As for Claim 22, Bhagavatula / Shastri / Butler teaches the device of claim 18, wherein Bhagavatula teaches wherein individual ones of the PIC (components within 64-1 that does not include the lens) and the die side lens assembly (68R(1)-68R(2)), include at least one of visual or mechanical fiducials thereon to align at least one of: the die side lens assembly to the lens portion (the groove 180R(1) or the pins (66(2)) forms a mechanical fiducial markings to aligns the die side lens assembly 68R to lens portion 106R); the PIC to the PIC portion (the pic within 64-1 to the pic portion 34 via the alignment location of 36 which acts as a mechanical fiducial).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 8, 16, 17, 18, and 23 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any of the combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
In this instant newly amended limitations have been rejected in view of the prior art to Butler as detailed above in the rejection to Claims 1, 8, 18 and 23.
In regards to Claim 5, 13 and 14, the applicant argues the prior does not address the components need to support the plug, lens, and PIC portion as amended to claim 1, hence mere duplication of the parts Bhagavatula in a stack configuration will not meet the limitations of Claim 5, 13 and 14.
Newly grounds of rejection were made in view of Butler which teaches plug portion, lens support portion, and plug portion as shown below by Butler reference (See Figure 11c below). The examiner indicates one can modify the device Bhagavatula and Butler to include an array of lens at the circle area, an array of fibers at the plug portion 254, an array of stack pics at the location of 140 all stacked vertically in the same manner as Figure 27 of Bhagavatula. All the components will sit and being supported by the relative portions outlined below in Figure 11c of Butler. Thus, the duplication of parts rationale provides in rejection of claims 5, 13, 14 are reasonable and meets the claimed limitation of claim 5, 13, and 14 of “wherein the lens portion is to support a plurality of die side lens assemblies, the plug portion is to support a plurality of optical plugs including a respective plurality of plug side lens assemblies, and the PIC portion is to support a plurality of PICS (all components are supported by 145 is the respective locations listed below for “PIC portion”, “Lens Portion”, “Plug Portion”), wherein individual triads of a die side lens assembly of the plurality of die side lens assemblies, a plug side lens assembly of the plurality of plug side lens assemblies, and a PIC of the plurality of PICS are to be aligned to one another (since all the components are stack on top of each one can align the PIC 140 with the fibers in the region of 254 for vertically stack array of fibers).
In regards to claims 16 and 17, the grounds of the rejection were made in view of newly cited prior art to Pelletier as detailed above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US Patent Application Publication to Kobyakov 2017/0343738US teaches an optical connector coupled to a plug and PCB substrate.
/HOANG Q TRAN/ Examiner, Art Unit 2874
/UYEN CHAU N LE/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2874