DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This Office action is responsive to the amendment filed 07/27/2026. Claims 151-153, 155-156, and 160 have been amended. Claim 165 has been newly added.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments, see pg. 6, filed 07/27/2026, with respect to the rejections of the claims under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) and 35 U.S.C. 112(b) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejections have been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments, see pg. 6-12, filed 07/27/2026, with respect to the rejections of the claims under 35 U.S.C. 102 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Pellegrini fails to teach “the first plurality of flared crowns is configured to flare radially outwardly and away from the second plurality of flared crowns and the third plurality of flared crowns, and the second plurality of flared crowns and the third plurality of flared crowns are configured to flare radially outwardly and towards each other” as recited by amended claim 1.
The Examiner disagrees. As shown in annotated Fig. 13 above, Pellegrini teaches a stent device with first, second and third rings, each ring including a plurality of flared crowns. Fig. 13 shows the third ring having at least 4 flared crowns as indicated by the crowns with flaring connectors 120 and the crowns shown projecting away from the surface of the balloon 1307. The first and second rings are shown having at least two flared crowns as indicated by the crowns shown projecting away from the surface of the balloon. Each of these flared portions are understood to include a y-shaped flaring connector 120 even though not all are labeled or drawn in Fig. 13 since Pellegrini discloses that y-shaped connectors 120 cause the crowns to flare and are attached to any crown that is intended to be flared upon expansion (see [0029] and [0034]).
The crowns of the third ring are understood to be oriented towards the first end shown in annotated Fig. 13 based on the orientation of the flaring connectors 120 and the Pellegrini’s disclosure that the non-flared ends of the stent attach to the body of the stent by longitudinal struts 118. By the same logic, the crowns of the second ring are understood to be oriented towards the second end, and the crowns of the first ring are understood to be oriented towards the first end. The crowns of the first, second and third rings in Fig. 13 of Pellegrini are oriented in the same direction as the crowns of the first, second and third rings in Fig. 34 of the application.
The crowns of the first ring are understood to flare radially outwardly and away from the second plurality of crowns and the third plurality of crowns because the crowns of the first ring flare towards the second end which is away from the second and third rings, see annotated Fig. 13 above; the crowns of the second and third rings are understood to flare radially outwardly and towards each other since the crowns of the second and third rings are flared towards the first and second ends, respectively and therefore face each other.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the rejection of claim 164, see pg. 11-12, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
It is the Examiner’s position that the device of Pellegrini meets the structural limitations of the claim, and the third ring is capable of reducing the amount a cover provided on the stent needs to stretch to accommodate the at least one second ring since it understood that the more flaring rings there are in the device, the more uniformly distributed the force applied on each ring by a cover and therefore the less the amount of stretch required by the cover to accommodate any particular ring.
The Examiner’s interpretation of how Pellegrini can perform the function of reducing a force applied on the second ring by a cover is consistent with Applicant’s disclosure that additional flaring rings in the device reduce force applied by a cover on any individual ring (see Specification [00264]).
Applicant has not shown why Pellegrini, meeting all the structural limitations of the claimed device, would not be capable of performing the claimed function.
Claim Objections
Claim 151 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 151 lines 4-5 should read “…a first flaring connector configured to flare a portion of the first ring, a second ring…”
For consistency, in claims 151, 152, 153, 155 and 156 each reference to the plurality of first flaring connectors, plurality of second flaring connectors and plurality of third flaring connectors should read “the plurality of first flaring connectors,” “the plurality of second flaring connectors,” and “the plurality of third flaring connectors,” respectively.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 151-164 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Pellegrini (US 2009/0248139).
Regarding claim 151, Pellegrini discloses a stent device (100, see Fig. 1 and annotated Fig. 13 above), comprising: a body portion extending along a longitudinal axis of the stent device defining a lumen (the body of the stent is made of rings 108 and there can be any number of rings 108 depending upon the desired length of the stent, see [0025]), the body portion being radially expandable; and a first ring, a plurality of first flaring connectors configured to flare a portion of the first ring, a second ring, a plurality of second flaring connectors configured to flare a portion of the second ring, a third ring, and a plurality of third flaring connectors configured to flare a portion of the third ring (see first, second and third rings in annotated Fig. 13 each including a plurality of flared crowns, and Pellegrini discloses flaring connector 120 cause the crowns of the rings to flare, see [0034], so it is understood that plurality of flared crowns in each ring has an associated plurality of flaring connectors), and wherein the first ring, the second ring, and the third ring are arranged in series along the longitudinal axis of the stent device (see annotated Fig. 13), wherein the first ring includes a first plurality of flarable crowns, each of the first plurality of crowns oriented in a first direction, wherein the second ring includes a second plurality of flarable crowns, each of the second plurality of crowns oriented in a second direction opposite the first direction, wherein the third ring includes a third plurality of flarable crowns, each of the third plurality of crowns oriented in the first direction (the crowns of the third ring are understood to be oriented toward the first end based on the orientation of the y-shaped connectors in the figure, the crowns of the second ring are understood to be oriented toward the second end based on the spacing shown and Pellegrini’s disclosure that the non-flared ends of the stent rings attach to the body of the stent by connections 118, see Fig. 1, and the crowns of the first ring are understood to be oriented towards the first end because of the spacing shown) and wherein each of the plurality of first flaring connectors, the plurality of second flaring connectors, and the plurality of third flaring connectors is configured to cause a crown of a respective one of the first ring, the second ring, and the third ring to automatically flare radially outwardly relative to other portions of the respective one of the first, second and third rings upon radial expansion of the body portion so as to form a first plurality of flared crowns, a second plurality of flared crowns, and a third plurality of flared crowns (flaring connectors 120 are configured to cause crowns 112 to automatically flare radially outwardly upon radial expansion of the body portion, see [0029]), wherein the first plurality of flared crowns is configured to flare radially outwardly and away from the second plurality of flared crowns and the third plurality of flared crowns, and the second plurality of flared crowns and the third plurality of flared crowns are configured to flare radially outwardly and towards each other (the crowns of the first ring are understood to flare radially outwardly and away from the second plurality of crowns and the third plurality of crowns because the crowns of the first ring flare towards the second end which is away from the second and third rings, see annotated Fig. 13 above; the crowns of the second and third rings are understood to flare radially outwardly and towards each other since the crowns of the second and third rings are flared towards the first and second ends, respectively and therefore face each other).
Regarding claim 152, Pellegrini discloses the stent device of claim 151, wherein the plurality of first flaring connectors, the plurality of second flaring connectors, and the plurality of third flaring connectors are not biased toward a radially expanded position (flaring connectors 120 may not flare automatically but may be expandable by radial force of a balloon, see [0043]).
Regarding claim 153, Pellegrini discloses the stent device of claim 151, wherein the plurality of first flaring connectors, the plurality of second flaring connectors, and the plurality of third flaring connectors are biased toward a radially expanded position (flaring connectors 120 may be formed of a superelastic material and biased to take on the flared configuration when the stent device is unsheathed, see [0041]).
Regarding claim 154, Pellegrini discloses the stent device of claim 151, wherein each of the first ring, the second ring, and the third ring comprises a plurality of substantially repeating bent segments (each ring 108 comprises a plurality of bent segments, see Fig. 1) and a longitudinally extending strut that connects a first one of the bent segments to the body portion of the stent device (longitudinally extending struts 118 connect adjacent rings 108, see Fig. 1 and [0026]), and wherein each bent segment comprises a peak, a valley, and a transition region disposed between the peak and the valley (the bent segment comprises a peak, valley and transition region, see Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 155, Pellegrini discloses the stent device of claim 151, wherein, upon the radial expansion of the body portion, each of the plurality of first flaring connectors is configured to transition from a retracted position, in which the crowns of the first ring are substantially longitudinally aligned with portions of the body portion of the stent device (when the stent is unexpanded, crowns 112 are parallel with the longitudinal axis La of the stent, see [0024] and Fig. 1), to an expanded position, in which the crowns of the first ring flare radially outwardly relative to other portions of the body portion of the stent device (upon expansion of the stent, crowns 112 having flaring connectors 120 are angled with respect to the body of the stent, see [0024]).
Regarding claim 156, Pellegrini discloses the stent device of claim 155, wherein, when the plurality of first flaring connectors, the plurality of second flaring connectors, and the plurality of third flaring connectors are in the retracted position, the crowns of the first ring, the second ring, and the third ring are equidistant from the longitudinal axis with the other portions of the first ring, the second ring, and the third ring (in the unexpanded position, the crowns of the radially expandable rings having a flaring connector 120 are equidistant to the longitudinal axis compared with other portion of the ring, see Fig. 1), and wherein, when the plurality of first flaring connectors, the plurality of second flaring connectors, and the plurality of third flaring connectors are in the expanded position, the crowns of the first ring, the second ring, and the third ring are located farther from the longitudinal axis than the other portions of the first ring, the second ring, and the third ring (in the expanded position, the crowns of the radially expandable rings having a flaring connector 120 are angled from the longitudinal axis, which would mean that the crowns are located father from the central longitudinal axis than the non-flaring portions of the ring, see [0024]).
Regarding claim 157, Pellegrini discloses the stent device of claim 151, wherein an end of the stent device forms an outwardly flarable portion (the rings at each end of the stent in Fig. 13 forms an outwardly flarable portion).
Regarding claim 158, Pellegrini discloses the stent device of claim 151, wherein the body portion comprises a first longitudinal section and a second longitudinal section, and an outwardly flarable portion disposed between the first longitudinal section and the second longitudinal section. For examination purposes, the outwardly flarable portion has been interpreted as being defined by the flared portions of the stent. Pellegrini teaches a stent with six rings with, each having outwardly flarable portions (see Fig. 13), each ring is connected to a subsequent ring by a longitudinally extending strut 118 (see [0026] and Fig. 1), therefore the rings with flarable portions in the middle of the device shown in Fig. 13 are disposed between a first longitudinal section and a second longitudinal section, each formed by longitudinally extending struts 118.
Regarding claim 160, Pellegrini discloses the stent device of claim 151, wherein the crowns of the first ring flare radially outwardly and away from the crowns of the second ring and the crowns of the second ring flare radially outward and away from the crowns of the first ring (the crowns of the first and second rings flare in opposite directions, see annotated Fig. 13 above).
Regarding claim 162, Pellegrini discloses the stent device of claim 151, further comprising an outwardly flarable portion configured to, in response to radial expansion of the body portion, move to a flared position, in which the outwardly flarable portion has a wider diameter and encloses a larger cross-sectional area than other portions of the stent device when the stent device is extended (each ring in Fig. 13 forms an outwardly flarable portion and these portions necessarily have a wider diameter and enclose a larger cross-sectional area than the non-flared portions of the stent).
Regarding claim 163, Pellegrini discloses the stent device of claim 151, further comprising a cover (there may be a graft material enclosing or lining the stent, see [0027]).
Regarding claim 164, Pellegrini discloses the stent device of claim 163, further comprising an outwardly flarable portion and wherein the first ring is configured to reduce a force applied on the second ring by the cover, allowing for a more uniform expansion of the outwardly flarable portion.
It is noted that the language “the first ring is configured to reduce a force applied on the second ring by the cover, allowing for a more uniform expansion of the outwardly flarable portion” constitutes functional language indicating that the claimed device need only be capable of being used in such a manner. Furthermore, the claim is an apparatus claim and is to be limited by structural limitations. The Office submits that the device of Pellegrini meets the structural limitations of the claim, and the first ring is capable of reducing a force applied on the second ring since the arrangement of the first and second ring of Pellegrini are exactly as disclosed by Applicant for reducing force on the second ring and allowing for more uniform expansion of the outwardly flarable portion.
Regarding claim 159, Pellegrini discloses the stent device of claim 163, wherein the third ring is configured to flare radially outwardly to lessen an amount the cover needs to stretch to accommodate the second ring that flares radially outwardly.
It is noted that the language “configured to flare radially outwardly to lessen an amount a cover provided on the stent device needs to stretch to accommodate the at least one second ring that flares radially outwardly” constitutes functional language indicating that the claimed device need only be capable of being used in such a manner. Furthermore, the claim is an apparatus claim and is to be limited by structural limitations. The Office submits that the device of Pellegrini meets the structural limitations of the claim, and the third ring is capable of reducing the amount a cover provided on the stent needs to stretch to accommodate the at least one second ring since it understood that the more flaring rings there are in the device, the more uniformly distributed the force applied on each ring by a cover and therefore the less the amount of stretch required by the cover to accommodate any particular ring.
This interpretation is consistent with Applicant’s disclosure that additional flaring rings in the device reduce force applied by a cover on any individual ring (see Specification [00264]).
Regarding claim 165, Pellegrini teaches the device of claim 163, wherein the first plurality of flared crowns and the third plurality of flared crowns flare outwardly toward a first end of the body portion while the second plurality of flared crowns flares outwardly toward a second end of the body portion (as described above with respect to claim 151, the crowns of the first and third rings are understood to flare towards the second end and the crowns of the second ring are understood to flare towards the first end, see annotated Fig. 13).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SERENITY A MILLER/Examiner, Art Unit 3771
/ELIZABETH HOUSTON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3771