DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Spitzer (United States Patent Publication 5, 886, 822) in view of Lee (WO 2016171479).
With respect to claims 1 and 5, Spitzer discloses wearable device, comprising: a lens (see fig. 17, 370); a first reflection member (324 in fig.17) altering a path of light incident from a front side of the lens toward the lens (this limitation defines the path of light); a first image sensor (780) collecting light reflected from the first reflection member (324); at least one first camera lens (see 780) disposed on a path of the light collected by the first image sensor; a second reflection member (325) altering a path of light incident from a back side of the lens toward the lens (see the backside of light of 322); a second image sensor (710) collecting light reflected from the second reflection member (325); and at least one second camera lens (see 720) disposed on a path of the light collected by the second image sensor (see 710) wherein the first reflection member (324) is a part of the lens (see wherein 324 and 370 are integral) but does discloses a frame including a rim surrounding the lens and a temple extending from the rim.
Lee discloses a wearable device (see fig.1), comprising: a lens (see 20 in fig.1); a frame (see 10 and surrounding portion of the lens 20) including a rim surrounding the lens and a temple (see the legs of 10) extending from the rim (see the portions around the lens 20); a reflection member (see at least 250 or 200; also see 200) altering a path of light incident from a side in front of the lens toward the lens (see the light I disclosed in fig.3); an image sensor (190) collecting light reflected from the reflection member; and at least one camera lens (see 22nd para.: Meanwhile, an optical system such as a condenser lens (not shown) may be disposed in front of the camera module 190.) disposed on a path of the light collected by the image sensor (see discussion above, and the image sensor is embedded in the frame (see 7th para.: “Each of the components of the display apparatus 1 shown in the drawing is accommodated in the frame 10 or the glass portion 20 of FIG. 1”), wherein the reflection member is a part of the lens (see 7th para.: “Each of the components of the display apparatus 1 shown in the drawing is accommodated in the frame 10 or the glass portion 20 of FIG. 1”) , wherein the lens includes a reflection surface configured to alter a path of light toward the image sensor (see 7th para.: “Each of the components of the display apparatus 1 shown in the drawing is accommodated in the frame 10 or the glass portion 20 of FIG. 1”; see the operation of 250).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Spitzer with the teaching of Lee so that a frame including a rim surrounding the lens and a temple extending from the rim to enhance the portability of the display device.
Claim(s) 2 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Spitzer (United States Patent Publication 5, 886, 822) in view of Lee (WO 2016171479) and Mann (CA 2256920 A1).
With respect to claims 2 and 8, Spitzer in view of Lee discloses the wearable device 1, but Spitzer does not explicitly disclose wherein the reflection member is at least partially disposed inside the rim, and the image sensor is embedded in the frame, wherein the reflection member and the image sensor are embedded in the rim.
Mann discloses wherein the reflection member (see 360) is at least partially disposed inside the rim (see fig.3 and fig.4), and the image sensor (see 450) is embedded in the frame (see frame of fig.4), wherein the reflection member (360) and the image sensor (450) are embedded in the rim (see location of 450 and 460).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the wearable device of Spitzer in view of Lee with the teaching of Mann so that the reflection member is at least partially disposed inside the rim, and the image sensor is embedded in the frame, wherein the reflection member and the image sensor are embedded in the rim to improve user comfort by placing optical components out of center and improving aesthetic appearance by placing the reflection member and image senor in a less conspicuous region of the frame.
Claim(s) 3 and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Spitzer (United States Patent Publication 5, 886, 822) in view of Lee (WO 2016171479) and Shao (CN 107065226 A).
With respect to claims 3 and 4, Spitzer in view of Lee discloses the wearable device of claim 1, but does not disclose further comprising at least one electronic component electrically connected to the image sensor and embedded in the temple, wherein the temple is foldably coupled to the rim, the sensor is electrically connected to the at least one electronic component, and the at least one electronic component is embedded in the temple through a flexible board.
Shao discloses further comprising at least one electronic component electrically
connected to the sensor (16 in fig.9) and embedded in the temple (see 12 and 13 in
fig.9), wherein the temple is foldably coupled to the rim (see configuration of 9), the
sensor is electrically connected to the at least one electronic component (see the
operation of 15), and the at least one electronic component (see 12 and 13 in fig.9) is
embedded in the temple through a flexible board (see FPC 15).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Spitzer in view of Lee with the teaching of Shao so that at least one electronic component electrically connected to the image sensor and embedded in the temple, wherein the temple is foldably coupled to the rim, the sensor is electrically connected to the at least one electronic component, and the at least one electronic component is embedded in the temple through a flexible board to enhance the versatility and autonomy of the wearable device by providing internal electronics and control systems.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Spitzer (United States Patent Publication 5, 886, 822) in view Lee (WO 2016171479) and Sato (EP 2983028 A1).
With respect to claim 11, Spitzer in view of Lee discloses the wearable device of claim 1, but does not disclose further comprising a wide-angle lens disposed on an object side of the reflection member.
Sato teaches a wide-angle lens (LA1 in fig.1) disposed on an object side of the reflection member (see prism PA in fig.1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Spitzer in view of Lee with the teaching of Sato so that a wide-angle lens is disposed on an object side of the reflection member to enhance the coverage for each frame thereby increase capture efficiency, and minimize blind spots capture by increasing the field of view of the camera.
Claim(s) 12-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Spitzer (United States Patent Publication 5, 886, 822) in view of Lee (WO 2016171479), Olgun (United States Patent Application Publication 20190033622 A1) and Nakashima (United States Patent Application Publication 2020/0014071 A1).
With respect to claims 12-14, Spitzer in view of Lee discloses the wearable device of claim 1, but does not disclose further comprising: electronic components; and solid-state batteries configured to supply power to the electronic components, wherein each of the solid-state batteries includes: a cathode; an anode; a body including a solid electrolyte layer disposed between the cathode and the anode; and a first external electrode and a second external electrode, the first external electrode being disposed on one surface of the body and connected to the cathode, and the second external electrode being disposed on another surface of the body opposite to the one surface of the body and connected to the anode, further comprising battery cells each including at least one of the solid-state batteries, wherein the battery cells are configured to supply power to the electronic components, respectively.
Olgun discloses further comprising: electronic components (see the control circuitry, ect. disclosed in para.[0042]: In other embodiments, different circuitry can be connected depending on the position of a hinge. For example, a connector 122B may connect to NFC match and controller circuitry while connector 120B connects to wireless charging match and control circuitry and an associated battery 128 to be charged. In other embodiments, combinations of mechanical connectors and electronic switches may be used to connect different circuitry to a near-field antenna within wireless module 164. In such embodiments, different placement of processors/computer 152 and wireless module 164 may be used, with switches and connectors between the different battery 128, processor/computer 152, and wireless module 164 elements.;); and batteries configured to supply power to the electronic components (see the fig.2 ), further comprising battery cells each including at least one of the batteries (see schematic of fig.2), wherein the battery cells are configured to supply power (see operation disclosed in fig.2) to the electronic components, respectively (again see para.[0042] and the disclosure of “an associated battery“).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the wearable electronic device of Spitzer in view of Lee in view of Olgun so that electronic components; and batteries configured to supply power to the electronic components, further comprising battery cells each including at least one of the batteries, wherein the battery cells are configured to supply power to the electronic components, respectively to enhance portability, mobility and power source independence by implementing batteries and battery powered electronics.
Spitzer in view of Lee and Olgun does not disclose the use of solid state batteries wherein each of the solid-state batteries includes: a cathode; an anode; a body including a solid electrolyte layer disposed between the cathode and the anode; and a first external electrode and a second external electrode, the first external electrode being disposed on one surface of the body and connected to the cathode, and the second external electrode being disposed on another surface of the body opposite to the one surface of the body and connected to the anode, further comprising battery cells each including at least one of the solid-state batteries.
Nakashima discloses the use of solid state batteries wherein each of the solid-state batteries (see fig.22 and see fig.6) includes: a cathode (see 24A and 24B); an anode (see 25A and 25B); a body (see 11) including a solid electrolyte layer (23) disposed between the cathode (see 24A and 24B) and the anode (25A and 25B); and a first external electrode (12) and a second external electrode (13), the first external electrode (see cathode terminal 12) being disposed on one surface of the body and connected to the cathode (see 24A and B), and the second external electrode (see anode terminal 13) being disposed on another surface of the body opposite to the one surface of the body and connected to the anode (see 25A and B), further comprising battery cells each including at least one of the solid-state batteries (see the battier cells of fig.22, 5009 and 5010 of fig.22).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the batteries of Spitzer in view of Lee and Olgun with the teaching of Nakashima so that the use of solid state batteries wherein each of the solid-state batteries includes: a cathode; an anode; a body including a solid electrolyte layer disposed between the cathode and the anode; and a first external electrode and a second external electrode, the first external electrode being disposed on one surface of the body and connected to the cathode, and the second external electrode being disposed on another surface of the body opposite to the one surface of the body and connected to the anode, further comprising battery cells each including at least one of the solid-state batteries to enhance power independence by increasing energy density and improving user friendliness and experience by increasing safety and reducing charging time.
Claim(s) 15 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Spitzer (United States Patent Publication 5, 886, 822) in view of Lee (WO 2016171479), Olgun (United States Patent Application Publication 20190033622 A1), Nakashima (United States Patent Application Publication 2020/0014071 A1) and Kim (KR 20190001830 A).
With respect to claims 15 and 16, Spitzer in view of Lee, Olgun and Nakashima discloses the wearable device of claim 14, but does not disclose further comprising a power manager electrically connected to the battery cells, wherein the power manager is configured to selectively discharge a battery cell among the battery cells that is allocated to an activated electronic component among the electronic components, further comprising a power manager electrically connected to the battery cells, wherein the power manager is configured to preferentially charge a battery cell, among the battery cells, that has a low state of charge over a battery cell, among the battery cells, that has a high state of charge.
Kim discloses a power manager (see at least 201 ) electrically connected to the battery cells (see discussion of fig.10: “The electronic device 201 can compare the remaining amount of the first battery 301 and the second battery 302 at operation 1005.”), wherein the power manager is configured to selectively discharge a battery cell among the battery cells (see “If the remaining amount of the first battery 301 is larger than the remaining amount of the second battery 302, the electronic device 201 may proceed to operation 1007 to turn off the second power supply control circuit 350, 1 power supply control circuit 340 can be turned ON or kept ON. For example, the processor 220 may turn off the second power supply control circuit 350 to disconnect the connection between the second battery 302 and the system 310, which are low in remaining capacity.”; also see: “According to one embodiment, when it is determined that the remaining amount of any one of the plurality of batteries 290 is the largest, the processor 220 can connect only the battery having the largest remaining amount to the system”) that is allocated to an activated electronic component among the electronic components, further comprising a power manager (220) electrically connected to the battery cells, wherein the power manager is configured to preferentially charge a battery cell, among the battery cells, that has a low state of charge over a battery cell, among the battery cells, that has a high state of charge (see: According to one embodiment, the processor 220 can discharge the battery with the highest remaining capacity and charge the remaining battery when the external power supply is connected and needs to supply power to the system; also see:” For example, when the remaining amount of the first battery 480 is higher than the remaining amount of the second battery 490, the processor 220 lowers the set current of the first current control circuit 460 and the second current control circuit 470 Can be increased.” ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Spitzer in view of Lee, Olgun, and Nakashima with the teaching of Kim, so that a power manager electrically connected to the battery cells, wherein the power manager is configured to selectively discharge a battery cell among the battery cells that is allocated to an activated electronic component among the electronic components, further comprising a power manager electrically connected to the battery cells, wherein the power manager is configured to preferentially charge a battery cell, among the battery cells, that has a low state of charge over a battery cell, among the battery cells, that has a high state of charge to efficiently discharge and charge batteries by charging and discharging batteries in accordance with need and supply.
With respect to claim 17, Spitzer in view of Lee, Olgun, Nakashima and Kim discloses claim 12, Spitzer in combination with Lee, Olgun, Nakashima and Kim discloses comprising: a power manager (220 Kim) electrically connected to the batteries (see “If the remaining amount of the first battery 301 is larger than the remaining amount of the second battery 302, the electronic device 201 may proceed to operation 1007 to turn off the second power supply control circuit 350, 1 power supply control circuit 340 can be turned ON or kept ON. For example, the processor 220 may turn off the second power supply control circuit 350 to disconnect the connection between the second battery 302 and the system 310, which are low in remaining capacity.”; also see: “According to one embodiment, when it is determined that the remaining amount of any one of the plurality of batteries 290 is the largest, the processor 220 can connect only the battery having the largest remaining amount to the system”); further comprising: a main processor (220); and a main battery (see the battery with the largest remaining amount: "According to one embodiment, when it is determined that the remaining amount of any one of the plurality of batteries 290 is the largest, the processor 220 can connect only the battery having the largest remaining amount to the system"), wherein the power manager is further configured to determine whether to discharge the main battery based on whether the main processor is activated (see 201 or 220), which controls and provides data to power manager, therefore the main processor must be activated for 220 to determine whether to charge the battery ).
Spitzer does not explicitly disclose wherein the batteries are a solid state batteries.
Nakashima discloses wherein the batteries are a solid state batteries (see fig.6 and 22) and lithium ion battery ([0049]: This battery is a secondary battery in which a battery capacity is repeatedly obtained by transferring Li which is an electrode reactant, and can be a lithium ion secondary battery in which a capacity of an anode is obtained by occluding and releasing lithium ions and may be a lithium metal secondary battery in which a capacity of an anode can be obtained by precipitating and dissolving lithium metal.; also see para.[0234]: The secondary battery is, for example, an all-solid-state lithium ion secondary battery.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Spitzer in view of Lee, Olgun, Nakashima and Kim with Nakashima so that the batteries are a solid state batteries to enhance the safety, durability and performance of the power supply.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6, 7 and 10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
With respect to claim 6, 7 and 10, the prior art does not disclose or render obvious a frame including a rim surrounding the lens and a temple extending from the rim; a first reflection member altering a path of light incident from a front side of the lens toward the lens; a first image sensor collecting light reflected from the first reflection member; at least one first camera lens disposed on a path of the light collected by the first image sensor; a second reflection member altering a path of light incident from a back side of the lens toward the lens; a second image sensor collecting light reflected from the second reflection member; and at least one second camera lens disposed on a path of the light collected by the second image sensor, wherein the lens includes a reflection surface configured to alter a path of light toward the first image sensor or a light guide prism, wherein the light guide prism is configured to reflect light incident to the light guide prism at least twice inside the light guide prism.
Claims 7 is allowed as it depends from claim 6.
Claims 18-23 are allowed.
With respect to claim 18, the prior art does not disclose or render obvious a frame including a rim surrounding the lens; a temple extending from the frame; a first camera disposed at an upper portion of the rim and configured to capture an image of a subject positioned in front of the wearable device, the first camera including a first reflection member configured to alter a path of light incident from a front side of the lens toward the lens, a first image sensor configured to collect light reflected from the first reflection member, and at least one first camera lens disposed on a path of the light collected by the first image sensor; a second camera disposed at a lower portion of the rim and configured to capture an image of an eye of a wearer of the wearable device, the second camera including a second reflection member configured to alter a path of light incident from a back side of the lens toward the lens, a second image sensor configured to collect light reflected from the second reflection member, and at least one second camera lens disposed on a path of the light collected by the second image sensor; electronic components; battery cells configured to supply power to the electronic components, respectively, each of the battery cells including at least one solid-state battery; and a power manager configured to selectively discharge a battery cell among the battery cells that is allocated to an activated electronic component among the electronic components.
With respect to claims 19-23 are allowed as they depend from allowed claim 1.
Conclusion
/JERRY L BROOKS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2882