DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
Claim 23 recites “wherein the elastically deformable region comprises means for elastic deformation,” which corresponds to the structure described in paragraphs [0065], [0066], and [0067] of the as-filed specification.
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are “wherein the elastically deformable region is adapted and configured to undergo a reversible change or alteration in response to an applied force” in claim 1, and “wherein the elastically deformable region is adapted and configured to spontaneously return to its original shape or substantially original shape when the applied force causing the deformation is removed” in claim 22.
Because this claim limitation is being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it is being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
The corresponding structure is described in paragraphs [0065], [0066], and [0067] of the as-filed specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 22 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Specifically, claims 22 and 23 are missing the claim numbers from which they depend rendering the claims indefinite.
Claims 22 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Specifically, claims 22 and 23 do not specify the claim from which they depend. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 5-6, 8-9, 13-14, 16-20, and 22-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deng et al. (CN 212209547 U – see attached machine translation) in view of An et al. (US 2017/0005254 A1), or in the alternative, rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deng et al. (CN 212209547 U – see attached machine translation) in view of Boukai et al. (US 2017/0365766 A1) and further in view of An et al. (US 2017/0005254 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Deng discloses a thermoelectric device (Fig. 1) comprising: a plurality of electrically connected thermoelectric modules (100 in Fig. 1), wherein at least a first thermoelectric module and a second thermoelectric module are electrically and mechanically connected by an electrically conductive connector ([0055]; 40 in Fig. 1), the electrically conductive connector being a compliant mechanism ([0058]) and comprising a first connecting region connected to the first thermoelectric module (shown in annotated Fig. 5 below), a second connecting region connected to the second thermoelectric module (shown in annotated Fig. 5 below), and an elastically deformable region between the first connecting region and the second connecting region ([0006] discloses “fit tightly to various shapes and complex surfaces;” [0058]; the region between the first and second connecting regions in annotated Fig. 5 below), wherein the elastically deformable region is adapted and configured to undergo a reversible change or alteration in response to an applied force ([0006] discloses “fit tightly to various shapes and complex surfaces;” [0058]; it is further noted that the limitation is interpreted under 112f as set forth above, and the copper foil ([0070]) disclosed by Deng satisfies the corresponding structure described in paragraph [0067] of the as-filed specification), wherein each region is made of electrically conductive material ([0055], [0056] disclose 40 is an electrical connector).
Deng does not explicitly disclose at least one of the first or second connecting regions is releasably and rotatably connected to the respective first or second module.
An discloses a thermoelectric device and further discloses connecting regions releasably and rotatably connected to respective thermoelectric modules ([0049]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to form the connecting regions of Deng to allow for a releasable and rotatable connection, as disclosed by An, because as taught by An, the end of the connector with disclosed shape allows for detachment and rotation ([0049]). An further discloses various rotating angles may be formed ([0053]).
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (second connecting region)][AltContent: textbox (first connecting region)][AltContent: oval][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: oval]
It is noted that if Deng’s teachings in paragraphs [0006], [0058], and [0070] do not disclose, teach or suggest an elastically deformable region between the first and second connecting regions, and do not teach a structure which corresponds to the structure described in paragraphs [0065] through [0067] of the as-filed specification which forms an elastically deformable region adapted and configured to undergo a reversible change or alteration in response to an applied force; Boukai discloses a thermoelectric device (abstract) and further discloses a connector comprising an elastically deformable region ([0119] discloses a flexible-flat cable or similar; [0119] further discloses a leaf-spring like structure which corresponds to the description in paragraph [0067] of the as-filed specification).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to form the electrically conductive connector of Deng with an elastically deformable region, as disclosed by Boukai, because the spring band of the electrically conductive connector of Boukai would allow for a tight fit. Additionally, Boukai discloses the flexibility may allow for users of different sizes (e.g., users with different wrist sizes) to make use of the same product ([0119]).
Modified Deng does not explicitly disclose at least one of the first or second connecting regions is releasably and rotatably connected to the respective first or second module.
An discloses a thermoelectric device and further discloses connecting regions releasably and rotatably connected to respective thermoelectric modules ([0049]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to form the connecting regions of modified Deng to allow for a releasable and rotatable connection, as disclosed by An, because as taught by An, the end of the connector with disclosed shape allows for detachment and rotation ([0049]). An further discloses various rotating angles may be formed ([0053]).
Regarding claims 3 and 13, modified Deng discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Deng further discloses the first and second connecting regions are releasably and rotatably connected to the respective first and second thermoelectric modules with a plug-receptacle connection (An – [0048], [0049]).
Regarding claim 5, modified Deng discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Deng further discloses the thermoelectric modules positioned in a carrier frame (Deng – [0022] discloses a flexible packaging layer).
Regarding claim 6, modified Deng discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Deng further discloses a medical device comprising the thermoelectric device (Deng – [0004]).
Regarding claim 8, modified Deng discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above.
Modified Deng does not explicitly disclose the at least first and second thermoelectric modules are electrically and mechanically connected by a plurality of electrically conductive connectors.
An discloses a thermoelectric device and further discloses at least first and second thermoelectric modules electrically and mechanically connected by a plurality of electrical conductors (Fig. 2 depicts a plurality of connectors 300 connecting modules 100).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to connect the modules of modified Deng with a plurality of electrically conductive connectors, as disclosed by An, because such a modification amounts to a mere duplication of parts, and the mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. In re
Harza, 124 USPQ 378, 380 (CCPA 1960). Further, it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
Modified Deng discloses the at least first thermoelectric module and second thermoelectric modules are electrically and mechanically connected by a plurality of electrically conductive connectors (Deng - [0055]; 40 in Fig. 1; An - (Fig. 2 depicts a plurality of connectors 300 connecting modules 100), each of the electrically conductive connectors being a compliant mechanism (Deng - [0058]) and comprising a first connecting region connected to the first thermoelectric module (shown in annotated Fig. 5 above), a second connecting region connected to the second thermoelectric module (shown in annotated Fig. 5 above), and an elastically deformable region between the first connecting region and the second connecting region (Deng - [0058]; the region between the first and second connecting regions in annotated Fig. 5 above is an elastically deformable region; or in the alternative, Deng modified by Boukai’s teaching as set forth above), and the elastically deformable region of each of the plurality of electrically conductive connectors are made of electrically conductive material (Deng - [0055], [0056] disclose 40 is an electrical connector), and wherein the first connecting region in each of the plurality of electrically conductive connectors is releasably and rotatably connected to the first thermoelectric module (An - [0049]).
Regarding claim 9, modified Deng discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Deng further discloses the second connecting region in each of the plurality of electrically conductive connectors is releasably and rotatably connected to the second thermoelectric module (An – [0048], [0049]).
Regarding claim 14, modified Deng discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Deng further discloses the at least one of the first and second connecting regions is configured as a plug (An – 310 in Fig. 5A; [0048], [0049]).
Regarding claim 16, modified Deng discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Deng further discloses the plug-receptacle connection is rotatable around a longitudinal axis of the receptacle (An – [0018], [0048], [0049], [0053]; 300 in Figures 2 and 5A – 5C).
Regarding claim 17, modified Deng discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above.
Modified Deng does not explicitly disclose the at least first and second thermoelectric modules are electrically and mechanically connected by a plurality of electrically conductive connectors.
An discloses a thermoelectric device and further discloses at least first and second thermoelectric modules electrically and mechanically connected by a plurality of electrical conductors (Fig. 2 depicts a plurality of connectors 300 connecting modules 100).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to connect the modules of modified Deng with a plurality of electrically conductive connectors, as disclosed by An, because such a modification amounts to a mere duplication of parts, and the mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. In re
Harza, 124 USPQ 378, 380 (CCPA 1960). Further, it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
Modified Deng discloses the at least first thermoelectric module and second thermoelectric modules are electrically and mechanically connected by a plurality of electrically conductive connectors (Deng - [0055]; 40 in Fig. 1; An - (Fig. 2 depicts a plurality of connectors 300 connecting modules 100), each of the electrically conductive connectors being a compliant mechanism (Deng - [0058]) and comprising a first connecting region connected to the first thermoelectric module (shown in annotated Fig. 5 above), a second connecting region connected to the second thermoelectric module (shown in annotated Fig. 5 above), and an elastically deformable region between the first connecting region and the second connecting region (Deng - [0058]; the region between the first and second connecting regions in annotated Fig. 5 above is an elastically deformable region; or in the alternative, Deng modified by Boukai as set forth above), wherein the first connecting region, the second connection region, and the elastically deformable region of each of the plurality of electrically conductive connectors are made of electrically conductive material (Deng - [0055], [0056] disclose 40 is an electrical connector), and wherein the first connecting region in each of the plurality of electrically conductive connectors is releasably and rotatably connected to the first thermoelectric module (An - [0049]).
Regarding claim 18, modified Deng discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Deng further discloses the second connecting region in each electrically conductive connector of the plurality of electrically conductive connectors is releasably and rotatably connected to the at least second thermoelectric module (An – [0048], [0049]).
Regarding claim 19, modified Deng discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Deng further discloses at least one heat dissipation structure (Deng – [0070] discloses copper foil).
Regarding claim 20, modified Deng discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above.
Modified Deng does not explicitly disclose at least one fan.
An discloses a thermoelectric device and further discloses a fan (Fig. 6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to include a fan, as disclosed by An, in the thermoelectric device of modified Deng, because as evidenced by An, connecting a fan to a thermoelectric module of a thermoelectric device amounts to the use of known components in the art for their intended purpose to achieve an expected result, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success when connecting the thermoelectric modules of modified Deng to a fan based on the teaching of An.
Regarding claim 22, modified Deng discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above.
With regard to the limitation “wherein the elastically deformable region is adapted and configured to spontaneously return to its original shape or substantially original shape when the applied force causing the deformation is removed,” the limitation is interpreted under 112(f) as set forth above, and the Deng’s disclosure of a copper foil ([0070]) satisfies the corresponding structure described in paragraph [0067] of the as-filed specification.
Regarding claim 23, modified Deng discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above.
With regard to the limitation “wherein the elastically deformable region comprises means for elastic deformation,” the limitation is interpreted under 112(f) as set forth above, and the Deng’s disclosure of a copper foil ([0070]) satisfies the corresponding structure described in paragraph [0067] of the as-filed specification.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deng et al. (CN 212209547 U – see attached machine translation) in view of An et al. (US 2017/0005254 A1), or in the alternative, rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deng et al. (CN 212209547 U – see attached machine translation) in view of Boukai et al. (US 2017/0365766 A1) further in view of An et al. (US 2017/0005254 A1), as applied to claim 1 above, further in view of Zhang et al. (US 2014/0261607).
Regarding claim 4, modified Deng discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above.
Modified Deng does not explicitly disclose the at least first and second thermoelectric modules comprise thermally conductive substrates that are printed circuit boards.
Zhang discloses a thermoelectric module with a flexible connector and further discloses the thermoelectric module comprises thermally conductive substrates that are printed circuit boards ([0041]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to include thermally conductive substrates that are printed circuit boards, as disclosed by Zhang, in the first and second thermoelectric modules of modified Deng, because as evidenced by Zhang, forming thermoelectric modules with thermally conductive substrates that are printed circuit boards amounts to the use of known components in the art for their intended purpose to achieve an expected result, and one of ordinary skill would have a reasonable expectation of success when forming the thermoelectric modules of modified Deng with thermally conductive substrates that are printed circuit boards based on the teaching of Zhang.
Claim 7 is under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deng et al. (CN 212209547 U – see attached machine translation) in view of An et al. (US 2017/0005254 A1), or in the alternative, rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deng et al. (CN 212209547 U – see attached machine translation) in view of Boukai et al. (US 2017/0365766 A1) further in view of An et al. (US 2017/0005254 A1), as applied to claim 1 above, further in view of Vistakula (US 8,397,518).
Regarding claim 7, modified Deng discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above.
While modified Deng does disclose wearable devices (Deng – [0080]), modified Deng does not explicitly disclose an article of apparel comprising the thermoelectric device.
Vistakula discloses an article of apparel comprising a thermoelectric device (C2/L3-22).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to use the thermoelectric device of modified Deng in an article of apparel, as disclosed by Vistakula, because as evidenced by Vistakula, the use of a thermoelectric device in an article of apparel amounts to the use of a known component in the art for its intended purpose to achieve an expected result, and one of ordinary skill would have a reasonable expectation of success when including the thermoelectric device of modified Deng in an article of apparel based on the teaching of Vistakula.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deng et al. (CN 212209547 U – see attached machine translation) in view of An et al. (US 2017/0005254 A1), or in the alternative, rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deng et al. (CN 212209547 U – see attached machine translation) in view of Boukai et al. (US 2017/0365766 A1) further in view of An et al. (US 2017/0005254 A1), as applied to claim 13 above, further in view of Schock (“Modular Isotopic Thermoelectric Generator”).
Regarding claim 15, modified Deng discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above.
Modified Deng does not explicitly disclose the at least one of the first and second connecting regions is configured as a receptacle.
Schock discloses a thermoelectric device and further discloses a connecting region of a connector configured as a receptacle (Figures 9, 13, 20 and 21 depict structures which require connectors with ends configured as receptacles).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to form the ends of the connectors of modified Deng as receptacles, as disclosed by Schock, because as evidenced by Schock, the use of connector with ends configured as receptacles amounts to the use of a known configuration in the art, and one of ordinary skill would have a reasonable expectation of success when forming the ends of the connector of modified Deng as receptacles based on the teaching of Schock.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 02/25/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Specifically, Applicant argues that Deng does not disclose the limitation “adapted and configured to undergo a reversible change or alteration in response to an applied force.”
In response to Applicant’s argument, as set forth above, the limitation is
interpreted under 112(f), and Deng’s disclosure of a copper foil ([0070]) corresponds to the structure disclosed in paragraph [0067] of the as-filed specification. Additionally, Deng discloses “fit tightly to various shapes and complex surfaces” ([0006]) which suggests the connector is adapted and configured to undergo a reversible change or alteration in response to an applied force.
Applicant argues that the copper foil disclosed by Deng does not correspond to the copper disclosed in paragraph [0067] of the as-filed specification. Applicant further argues that there is no inherent inconsistency between the flexibility of Deng’s thermoelectric device and “tight fit” or avoiding a “loose fit.” Additionally, Applicant argues that Deng does not suggest that its device does not fit tightly or has an undesirably loose fit.
In response to Applicant’s argument, one skilled in the art would understand paragraphs [0058] and [0070] of Deng in the context of the Deng patent document as a whole. The connector of paragraph [0058] is used in a wearable thermoelectric device which provides thermal contact between the human body and the thermoelectric device and adapts to the human body surface. Deng describes a desire for fitting tightly to various shapes and complex surfaces ([0006]). These teachings in Deng suggest an elastically deformable connector.
The express, implicit, and inherent disclosures of a prior art reference may be relied upon in the rejection of claims. Without the use of a connector with an elastically deformable region, an inelastically deformed region would result in a loose fitting wearable object rendering the device of Deng inoperable.
Applicant argues that the office action does not explain how a person of ordinary skill would accomplish a modification of the connection of regions of Deng, based on the teaching of An, in order to achieve a releasable and rotatable connection.
In response to Applicant’s argument, as set forth in the office action, Deng does not explicitly disclose at least one of the first or second connecting regions is releasably and rotatably connected to the respective first or second module.
An discloses a thermoelectric device and further discloses connecting regions releasably and rotatably connected to respective thermoelectric modules ([0049]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to form the connecting regions of Deng to allow for a releasable and rotatable connection, as disclosed by An, because as taught by An, the end of the connector with disclosed shape allows for detachment and rotation ([0049]). An further discloses various rotating angles may be formed ([0053]).
The test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981).
As set forth in MPEP 2141, a person of ordinary skill in the art is also a person of ordinary creativity, not an automaton." KSR, 550 U.S. at 421, 82 USPQ2d at 1397. "[I]n many cases a person of ordinary skill will be able to fit the teachings of multiple patents together like pieces of a puzzle." Id. at 420, 82 USPQ2d at 1397. Office personnel may also take into account "the inferences and creative steps that a person of ordinary skill in the art would employ." Id. at 418, 82 USPQ2d at 1396.
Applicant’s remaining arguments with respect to claims 1, 3-9, 13-20, and 22-23 have been considered but are moot because the arguments are not directed to the new ground(s) of rejection.
Conclusion
/TAMIR AYAD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1726