DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 28 Oct 2025, has been fully considered but are not persuasive.
With regard to the rejection of claims 1-2 and 5-8 as unpatentable under 35 USC § 103 over Yanagi (US 2014/0017546) in view of Blakely (2014/0131528), Kim (KR 20170054881), and Shimizu (US 2019/0288447), Applicant argues that the prior art fails to teach or disclose the claimed feature of “elastic pads spaced apart along a longitudinal direction of an underside of the wire harness, each of the elastic pads including an opening through which the wire harness is fitted therethrough such that the wire harness is detachably secured to the elastic pads" as recited in claim 1. Applicant submits that the cable harness (230) of Blakely does not read on read on the claimed cable harness because the opening of Blakely’s cable harness (opening 254) is closed after receiving the wire harness, and as such does not read on the claimed “opening through which the wire harness is fitted therethrough” (see Applicant’s remarks, pg. 8, paras 1-3).
The Examiner respectfully disagrees, and maintains that the prior office action cited the opening corresponding to reference number 233 as the opening, rather than component 254. Even when the wire harness of Blakely is closed, this opening (233) surrounds the wire harness and can therefore reasonably be considered to read on the claimed “opening through which the wire harness is fitted therethrough”
Applicant further argues that the elastic body (40) of Kim fails to teach the claimed feature of "elastic bodies disposed at upper sides and lower sides of the bus bars such that said bus bars are secured between said elastic bodies" (see pg. 9, paras 1-3 of Applicant’s remarks). Applicant argues that the elastic body taught by Kim is a single elastic body that secures a bus bar to a battery module case, and as such does not teach a plurality of elastic bodies disposed at regular intervals along a longitudinal direction of the bus bar. Further, Applicant notes that Kim only depicts an elastic body disposed below the busbar and does not disclose an arrangement for placing an elastic body between the upper case and the busbar. Applicant’s position is that there is no teaching in Kim that would allow one of ordinary skill in the art to arrive at the claimed feature of multiple elastic bodies disposed at upper sides and lower sides of the bus bar.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Kim teaches an elastic body and teaches that said elastic body minimizes the chance of the busbar becoming separated due to shock or vibration (see para [0049]-[0050] of Kim). While Kim only explicitly depicts a single elastic body, the use of multiple elastic bodies spaced along the length of the busbar would represent a simple duplication of the elastic body taught by Kim that would not yield any new or unexpected results (see MPEP § 2144.04). Additionally, placing elastic bodies at upper sides of the bus bars in addition to the lower sides would fail to yield any new or unexpected result. The Examiner’s position is therefore that, given the teachings of Kim, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to provide Yanagi’s battery system with multiple elastic bodies disposed at upper sides and lower sides of the bus bars such that said bus bars are secured between said elastic bodies. Said artisan would have been motivated to provide multiple elastic bodies disposed at upper sides and lower sides of the bus bars in order to provide the busbars with additional shock/vibration resistance.
Applicant further argues that the cited prior art fails to teach or disclose the claimed feature of "wherein the upper case covers the battery modules in a state of meeting the elastic pads and the elastic bodies for each of a plurality of sections” (see pg. 10, paras 1-3 of Applicant’s remarks). In the prior office action, the front wire cover (66) of Shimizu was cited as reading on the claimed upper case. However, Applicant takes the position that Shimizu’s front wire cover (66) is disclosed as covering the front side of the surplus surface 61B of seat portion 61 (see Fig. 1 of Shimizu), and Shimizu does not teach or disclose an upper case covers the battery modules in a state of meeting the elastic pads and the elastic bodies for each of a plurality of sections.
In response to this, the Examiner notes that the front wire cover (66) of Shimizu is a hinged lid that is shown in Fig. 1 in an open position (see [0062] and Fig. 1 of Shimizu). When this hinged lid is closed, as shown in Figs. 12-14 of Shimizu, the front wire cover can reasonably be considered to cover the battery modules in a state of meeting the elastic pads and the elastic bodies for each of a plurality of sections.
Regarding claim 9, Applicant argues that the cited prior art of Tokunaga fails to teach or disclose the claimed feature of "wherein the fixing grooves are formed in a narrow and elongated shape formed along a longitudinal direction of the elastic pads, and include a plurality of protrusions which protrude inward and are alternately disposed" (see Applicant’s remarks, pg. 10, para 2). This is because, in Applicant’s view, Tokunaga discloses protrusions (ribs 21) that engage with a protective conduit (3) and do not directly engage with the wire harness (1).
The Examiner respectfully disagrees, and submits that Tokunaga’s protrusions (21) protrude inwardly and are alternately disposed (see [0029] and Fig. 2A of Tokunaga) as required by the instant claim. Further, the wire harness (1), which is disposed inside protective conduit (3), can reasonably be described as being forcibly fitted into the fixing grooves, because the grooves engage the conduit. While Tokunaga’s protrusions do not directly engage with the wire harness, the instant claim does not necessarily require a direct engagement between the wire harness and the fixing grooves.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
The rejection of claims 5-6 and 8 is withdrawn in view of the amended claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 5-6, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yanagi (US 2014/0017546) in view of Blakeley (US 2014/0131528), Kim (KR 20170054881, as read via machine translation), and Shimizu (US 2019/0288447).
Regarding claims 1-2, Yanagi discloses a battery system of a vehicle comprising a plurality of battery modules (batteries 20) with each of the battery modules (20) including a bus bar (23) and a battery cell assembly that includes a plurality of battery cells (battery 20 comprises battery cells 21, [0040], [0042], Fig. 3). Yanagi further discloses an upper case (battery cover 40) spaced apart from an upper portion of the battery modules (20), and a wire harness (cable 56) disposed between the battery modules (20) and the upper case (40, [0043], [0056], and Fig. 3).
Yanagi discloses a wire harness (56) positioned above the battery modules (20, Fig. 5), but does not disclose elastic pads positioned above the battery modules and spaced apart along the longitudinal direction of the underside of the wire harness into which the wire harness is fitted, as described in claim 1. Additionally, Yanagi does not disclose elastic pads having a plurality of fixing grooves disposed at an upper end of an elastic pad such that a wire harness is forcibly fitted into said fixing grooves.
Blakely, working on the related problem of securing electrical wires/cables for vehicles, teaches an elastic pad (cable harness mount 230, with resiliently deformable part 239 that can reasonably be considered to be elastic) that is mounted underneath a wire harness (cable harness 20) and is designed to accommodate and retain said wire harness (cable harness [0003], [0132]-[0134], and Fig. 14). Blakeley’s elastic pad (230) comprises a fixing groove (harness receiving space 233) that reads on the instantly-claimed “opening” through which the wire harness (20) is fitted therethrough in a manner that is analogous to the instantly-claimed opening (i.e., the cable harness is inserted into the receiving space, see [0132] and Fig. 14. For comparison, see also Fig. 2 of the instant specification). When the wire harness (20) is fitted through the opening (233) in Blakely’s elastic pad, it can reasonably be considered to be detachably secured insofar as the fitted wire harness (20) can be removed from the elastic pad (230) via the opening (233).
While Blakely’s elastic pad only comprises a single groove (233), one of ordinary skill in the art would have motivated to provide additional grooves to accommodate multiple wire harnesses, and the use of multiple grooves would fail to produce any new benefit that would have been unexpected to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Blakely additionally teaches that this elastic pad structure (230) can be used to mount a wire harness (cable harness) to a support to restrict movement of the wire to avoid adverse effects from vibrations ([0003]-[0005]).
It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to place an elastic pad having multiple grooves at an upper end into which a wire harness is fitted underneath the wire harness of Yanagi in order to mount the harness to the lower part of the vehicle body, as taught by Blakeley. Said artisan would have been motivated to make this addition in order to avoid adverse effects on the wire harness from vibrations, as taught by Blakely. As Yanagi’s wire harness (56) is positioned above the battery modules (20), said artisan would have necessarily placed the elastic pads of Blakely above the battery modules.
Further, while Blakely only explicitly depicts a single elastic pad (230), Blakely notes that there is a need to support a wire harness along part or the entire length of the harness ([0003]), and as such one or ordinary skill would have found it obvious to provide a plurality of Blakely’s elastic bodies to support the entire longitudinal length of Yanagi’s wire harness.
Further regarding claims 1-2, Yanagi teaches bus bars (24), but does not disclose a plurality of elastic bodies disposed at upper sides and lower sides of the bus bars such that said bus bars are secured between said elastic bodies.
Kim, working in the field of battery design, teaches the use of an elastically-deformable retaining clip (fixing clip 40) that comprises elastic components and thereby reads on the instantly-claimed elastic body ([0015], [0037], Fig. 3). Kim’s elastic body (40) is disposed at the lower side of a bus bar (30, Fig. 4). Kim teaches that the use of said elastic body deforms when outside vibrations are applied, and thereby minimizes the chance of the busbar becoming separated due to vibration or shock ([0049]-[0050]). While Kim only explicitly depicts one elastic body rather than a plurality of elastic bodies disposed at regular intervals along the longitudinal direction of a bus bar, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to provide multiple elastic bodies along regular intervals of a busbar in order to provide additional protection from outside vibrations. Additionally, while Kim only explicitly shows an elastic body (40) disposed at the lower side of a bus bar (30, Fig. 5), arranging the elastic body of Kim on the upper side of a bus bar and the lower side of a bus bar to secure the bus bar between the elastic bodies would perform the same function and would fail to produce any new benefit that would not have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to dispose the elastic bodies taught by Kim at regular intervals along a longitudinal direction of each of the bus bars of Yanagi, and to place said bus bars at upper and lower sides of the bus bars, thereby securing the bus bars between elastic bodies. Said artisan would have been motivated to provide these elastic bodies in order to prevent the bus bar from becoming disconnected due to external vibrations or shock, as taught by Kim.
Further regarding claims 1-2, Yanagi discloses an upper case (40) that covers the interior components of the battery assembly but does not disclose an upper case that meets the elastic pads and bodies of the prior art. Shimizu, working in the same field of endeavor, teaches a battery assembly design in which the upper case (cover 66) meets the interior components when the case is closed via stopping portions and ribs (i.e., cover 66 is provided with reinforcing stopping portions and ribs 167, see [0082] and Fig. 15). Shimizu further teaches that these portions not only reinforce the structure but also help secure interior components in place (i.e., rib 167C restricts the displacement of connector 130, see [0082] and Fig. 15).
It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to design the cover of the battery assembly of Yanagi such that the cover meets in a state of meeting the elastic pads and bodies in order to reinforce the assembly and prevent the displacement of the elastic pads and bodies, as taught by Shimizu.
Regarding claims 5 and 6, Yanagi discloses a battery system of a vehicle comprising a plurality of battery modules (20), with each battery module including a plurality of battery cells (20 is an assembly of cells 21, see Fig. 4), and a plurality of bus bars connected to the battery modules (23/24, [0043]-[0044] and Fig. 4). Yanagi further discloses an upper case (cover 40) that covers an upper end of the battery modules (20, see Fig. 5). While Yanagi discloses a plurality of bus bars (23) positioned above the battery modules (20), Yanagi does not disclose a plurality of bus bars detachably attached to a plurality of elastic pads positioned above the battery modules.
Yanagi further discloses a wire harness (cable 56) that is positioned above the battery modules (20, and Figs. 2 and 3, see also see the rejection of claim 5 under 35 USC 112(a) above). Yanagi does not disclose a wire harness that is detachably attached to plurality of elastic pads.
Blakely, working on the related problem of securing electrical wires/cables for vehicles, teaches an elastic pad (cable harness mount 230, with resiliently deformable part 239 that can reasonably be considered to be elastic) that is mounted underneath a wire harness (cable harness 20) and is designed to detachably attach to said wire harness in order to accommodate and retain said wire harness (cable harness [0003], [0132]-[0134], and Fig. 14. Blakeley’s elastic pad (230) comprises a fixing groove (harness receiving space 233) that reads on the instantly-claimed “opening” through which the wire harness (20) is fitted therethrough in a manner that is analogous to the instantly-claimed opening (i.e., the cable harness is inserted into the receiving space, see [0132] and Fig. 14. For comparison, see also Fig. 2 of the instant specification). When the wire harness (20) is fitted through the opening (233) in Blakely’s elastic pad, it can reasonably be considered to be detachably secured insofar as the fitted wire harness (20) can be removed from the elastic pad (230) via the opening (233).
Blakely additionally teaches that this elastic pad structure (230) can be used to mount a wire harness (cable harness) to a support to restrict movement of the wire to avoid adverse effects from vibrations ([0003]-[0005]).
It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to place an elastic pad having multiple grooves at an upper end into which a wire harness is fitted underneath the wire harness of Yanagi in order to mount the harness to the lower part of the vehicle body, as taught by Blakeley. Said artisan would have been motivated to make this addition in order to avoid adverse effects on the wire harness from vibrations, as taught by Blakely.
Further, while Blakely only explicitly depicts a single elastic pad (230), Blakely notes that there is a need to support a wire harness along part or the entire length of the harness ([0003]), and as such one or ordinary skill would have found it obvious to provide a plurality of Blakely’s elastic bodies to support the entire longitudinal length of Yanagi’s wire harness.
Further regarding claims 5 and 6, Yanagi teaches bus bars (23/24), but does not disclose a plurality of elastic bodies disposed at upper sides and lower sides of the bus bars such that said bus bars are secured between said elastic bodies. Further, Yanagi does not disclose a plurality of elastic bodies that surround the upper sides and the lower sides of the bus bars and are configured as one detachable combined body.
Kim, working in the field of battery design, teaches the use of an elastically-deformable retaining clip (fixing clip 40) that comprises elastic components and thereby reads on the instantly-claimed elastic body ([0015], [0037], Fig. 3). Kim’s elastic body (40) is disposed at the lower side of a bus bar (30, Fig. 4). Further, Kim’s elastic bodies (40) surround the upper sides and the lower sides of the bus bars (30) and are configured as one detachable combined body (Fig. 4. Kim’s elastic bodies are a unitary piece that could be removed by pulling on it with sufficient force, and can reasonably be said to be configured as one detachable combined body).
Kim teaches that said elastic bodies deform when outside vibrations are applied, and thereby minimize the chance of the busbar becoming separated due to vibration or shock ([0049]-[0050]). While Kim only explicitly depicts one elastic body rather than a plurality of elastic bodies disposed at regular intervals along the longitudinal direction of a bus bar, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to provide multiple elastic bodies along regular intervals of a busbar in order to provide additional protection from outside vibrations. Additionally, while Kim only explicitly shows an elastic body (40) disposed at the lower side of a bus bar (30, Fig. 5), arranging the elastic body of Kim on the upper side of a bus bar and the lower side of a bus bar to secure the bus bar between the elastic bodies would perform the same function and would fail to produce any new benefit that would not have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to dispose the elastic bodies taught by Kim, which are configured as one detachable combined body, at regular intervals along a longitudinal direction of each of the bus bars of Yanagi, and to place said bus bars at upper and lower sides of the bus bars, thereby securing the bus bars between elastic bodies and additionally surrounding the upper sides and the lower sides of the bus bars. Said artisan would have been motivated to provide these elastic bodies in order to prevent the bus bar from becoming disconnected due to external vibrations or shock, as taught by Kim.
Regarding claim 8, Yanagi discloses a battery system comprising busbars (23/24) but does not disclose a plurality of elastic bodies disposed at an upper side and a lower side of the bus bars to fix the bus bars.
Kim, working in the field of battery design, teaches the use of an elastically-deformable retaining clip (fixing clip 40) that comprises elastic components and thereby reads on the instantly-claimed elastic body ([0015], [0037], Fig. 3). Kim’s elastic body (40) is disposed at the lower side of a bus bar (30, Fig. 4). Kim teaches that the use of said elastic body deforms when outside vibrations are applied, and thereby minimizes the chance of the busbar becoming separated due to vibration or shock ([0049]-[0050]). The thickness of Kim’s elastic body (40) exceeds the interval between the bus bar (30) and the underlying case by a range that reads on the claimed elastic range (see Illustration 1 below).
Illustration 1, reproduction with modification of Fig. 5 of Kim.
It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to dispose the elastic bodies taught by Kim, which possess a thickness that exceeds the interval between the bus bar and the upper case by a range that reads on the claimed elastic range, at regular intervals along a longitudinal direction of each of the bus bars of Yanagi, and to place said bus bars at upper and lower sides of the bus bars, thereby securing the bus bars between elastic bodies. Said artisan would have been motivated to provide these elastic bodies in order to prevent the bus bar from becoming disconnected due to external vibrations or shock, as taught by Kim.
Claims 9 and 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yanagi (US 2014/0017546) in view of Blakeley (US 2014/0131528), and Tokunaga (US 20120298404).
Regarding claim 9, Yanagi discloses a battery system (battery pack 10) of a vehicle comprising a plurality of battery modules (20) with each battery module including a battery cell assembly (20) that includes a plurality of cells (20 is an assembly of cells 21), an upper cover that covers an upper side of the battery modules, an upper case (40) that covers an upper side of the upper cover, and a wire harness (56) disposed between the upper cover and upper case and positioned above the battery modules ([0030], [0046], Figs. 3 and 5 and see Illustration 2 below).
Illustration 2, reproduced with modification from Fig. 5 of Yanagi.
Yanagi does not disclose elastic pads disposed along a longitudinal direction of the wire harness and spaced apart from the upper cover to fix the wire harness and entirely surround the wire harness. Further, Yanagi does not disclose elastic pads having a plurality of fixing grooves such that a wire harness is forcibly fitted into said fixing grooves.
Blakely, working on the related problem of securing electrical wires/cables for vehicles, teaches an elastic pad (cable harness mount 230, with resiliently deformable part 239 that can reasonably be considered to be elastic) that is mounted underneath a wire harness and is designed to accommodate and retain a wire harness (cable harness [0003], [0132]-[0134], and Fig. 14). Blakeley’s elastic pad (230) comprises a fixing groove (receiving portion 233) at an upper side of the pad that entirely surrounds the wire harness to at least the same extent as the instantly-disclosed elastic pad (see Fig. 14 of Blakeley and Fig. 2 of the instant specification). Blakeley’s elastic pads are spaced apart from their supporting surface by support attachment portion 260 ([0132], Fig. 14).
Blakeley’s elastic pad (230) comprises a fixing groove (receiving portion 233) at an upper side of the pad into which a wire harness is forcibly fitted (i.e., cable harness is pushed into receiving portion 233 via opening 251, [0138 and Fig. 14). While Blakely’s elastic pad only comprises a single groove (233), one of ordinary skill in the art would have motivated to provide additional grooves to accommodate multiple wire harnesses, and the use of multiple grooves would fail to produce any new benefit that would have been unexpected to one of ordinary skill in the art.
While Blakely’s fixing groove is not formed in a narrow and elongated shape formed along a longitudinal direction of the elastic pads (Fig. 2), Blakely teaches that the arrangement of Blakely’s structure may be provided in different sizes to accommodate differently-sized wire harnesses (cable harnesses, [0154]). Additionally, the specific shape of Blakely’s apparatus is a function of the size and desired layout of the wire harness. One of ordinary skill in the art would therefore have found it obvious to modify shape of the fixing grooves of Blakeley’s elastic pad to have a narrow and elongated shape in order to restrain the wire harness to a narrow and elongated position. Further, modifying Blakely’s fixing groove to have a narrow and elongated shape formed along a longitudinal direction of the elastic pads would yield easily predictable results and would fail to produce any new or unexpected benefit to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Blakely additionally teaches that this elastic pad structure (230) can be used to mount a wire harness (cable harness) to a support to restrict movement of the wire to avoid adverse effects from vibrations ([0003]-[0005]).
It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to add elastic pads disposed along a longitudinal direction of the wire harness and spaced apart from the supporting surface (i.e., the upper cover) to fix the wire harness, which is positioned above the battery modules, and to entirely surround the wire harness, and which include a plurality of fixing grooves, to the battery assembly of Yanagi. Said artisan would have been motivated to make these additions in order to avoid adverse effects on the wire harness from vibrations, as taught by Blakely.
Further regarding claim 9, the combined references of Yanagi and Blakely as applied to claim 9 above teach fixing grooves (Blakely: 233), but do not teach a plurality of protrusions that protrude inward and are alternately disposed.
Tokunaga teaches a wire harness holder (10) comprising a plurality of protrusions (ribs 21) that protrude inward and are alternately disposed ([0029], Fig. 2A). Tokunaga teaches that these protrusions (ribs) engage with the troughs (40) of a convoluted conduit (3) surrounding the wire harness such that the wire harness is engaged without position drift ([0027], [0039], Figs. 1B and 6B).
It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to add the plurality of protrusions that protrude inward and are alternately disposed taught by Tokunaga to the elastic pads of the battery system taught by the combined references of Yanagi and Blakely. Said artisan would have been motivated to make such an addition in order to secure the wire harness in place without positional drift, as taught by Tokunaga.
Regarding claims 12-14, Yanagi discloses a plurality of bus bars connected to the battery modules (23/24) and a (cover 40) that covers an upper end of the battery modules ([0039] and [0043]-[0044] and Figs. 3-4), but does not disclose elastic pads that are detachably attached and/or snap-fit fastened to the upper cover of the module.
Blakely, working on the related problem of securing electrical wires/cables for vehicles, teaches an elastic pad (cable harness mount 230, with resiliently deformable part 239 that can reasonably be considered to be elastic) that is mounted underneath a wire harness and is designed to accommodate and retain a wire harness (cable harness [0003], [0132]-[0134], and Fig. 14). Blakeley’s elastic pad (230) is detachable in that it comprises an attachment (support attachment 260) that is attached to a support via a releasable clip ([0140]-[0142], Fig. 14). Blakeley’s elastic pad (230) is fastened via a snap-fit manner in which tab (266) slides into a receiving surface ([0140]-[0142] and Fig. 14).
Blakely additionally teaches that this elastic pad structure (230) discussed above can be used to mount a wire harness (cable harness) to a support to restrict movement of the wire to avoid adverse effects from vibrations ([0003]-[0005]).
It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to add Blakeley’s elastic pads, which are detachable via a slidable, snap-fit attachment, to the upper cover of Yanagi. Said artisan would have been motivated to make this addition in order to avoid adverse effects on the wire harness from vibrations, as taught by Blakely.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.M.H./Examiner, Art Unit 1723
/TONG GUO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1723