DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Claim amendments filed 04 September 2026 are acknowledged. Claims 4-6, 8, 10-12, and 14-16 are pending with claims 1-3, 7, 9, and 13 being cancelled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04 September 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding independent claims 4, 8, and 11, applicant argues that Majdali does not teach a controller for executing a sequence comprising one or more of a wash cycle, rinse cycle, or sanitization cycle. Majdali explicitly teaches a controller that executes a sequence for a sanitization cycle (control system activates ultraviolet lights and further deactivates ultraviolet lights after a predetermined amount of time, paragraph [0038]). Additionally, the applicant argues that Majdali does not teach that the sequence is independently set for each cart in the series of carts. However, Majdali teaches that as part of the sanitization process, the system will geometrically map the target cart and said mapping will be used to guide the movable ultraviolet light member to accommodate carts of different shapes and sizes (paragraph [0039]). As further evidence, Majdali teaches sanitizing a series of cart, but only sanitizing one individual cart at a time (Figure 5 series of carts “12” with only one cart “12” in sanitation station “14”).
Applicant argues that because Majdali only teaches the control of a sanitization cycle using ultraviolet lights it does not meet the limitation “executing a sequence comprising one or more of a wash cycle, rinse cycle, or sanitization cycle”. However, the language of said limitation only requires that a minimum of one of the cycles is executed. Therefore, Majdali’s teachings of controlled sanitization cycle meets the required limitation.
In response to applicant's argument that Bacik is nonanalogous art, it has been held that a prior art reference must either be in the field of the inventor’s endeavor or, if not, then be reasonably pertinent to the particular problem with which the inventor was concerned, in order to be relied upon as a basis for rejection of the claimed invention. See In re Oetiker, 977 F.2d 1443, 24 USPQ2d 1443 (Fed. Cir. 1992). In this case, Bacik is considered analogous to the current invention as discussed in the Final Rejection mailed 05 March 2026 because both Bacik and the current invention are in the field of decontamination chamber for large items.
Following the above logic, the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejections of claims 11-12 with respect to Majdali in view of Metheny are maintained. The 35 U.S.C. 103 rejections of claims 4-6 and 14-15 with respect of Majdali in view of Metheny and Fanourgiakis are maintained. The 35 U.S.C. 103 rejections of claims 8, 10, and 16 with respect to Majdali, Metheny, and Fanourgiakis in view of Bacik are maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Majdali (US 20190298866 A1) in view of Metheny (US 20080210268 A1).
Regarding claim 11, Majdali teaches a system for treating one or more carts (system for sanitizing a ride vehicle, abstract, and Figure 5 a series of carts “12” enter sanitation station “14”), comprising a sanitization chamber formed by a right sidewall panel, a left sidewall panel, a front sidewall panel, a read sidewall panel, a ceiling panel and a floor (Figure 2 shows a housing “52” of the sanitization system “10” defined by four walls, a top, and a bottom. The length of the housing is defined as “54” and the bottom of the housing is defined as the ride path “16”) capable of operating in a closed wash state (both doors are kept closed during sanitization process, paragraph [0032]) and in an open sanitization state (housing may not completely enclose or surround vehicle, paragraph [0042]); a sanitizer container configured to store sanitizer for killing at least one of viruses, bacteria, and microorganisms on the cart (Figure 3 storage tank “86” holds cleaning solution. Cleaning solution may be anti-bacterial liquid); and a sanitizer pump configured to receive sanitizer from the container and deliver the sanitizer to the right sidewall and the left side wall via a conduit (nozzles receive cleaning solution from pump, paragraph [0034], and Figure 9 nozzles “21” on the left and right sidewalls “212” and “214”); an ultraviolet (UV) germicidal irradiation system (utilizes ultraviolet light to remove bacteria from surfaces, paragraph [0022]); a controller in communication with the UVGI system (control system activates the ultraviolet light, paragraph [0037] and ultraviolet light sources are attached to mechanism arm, paragraph [0025]); wherein the controller instructs a sequence of one or more of a wash cycle, at least one rinse cycle, and/or a sanitization cycle (control system may include a process or that executes instructions stored in memory, paragraph [0039], and control system activates ultraviolet lights and further deactivates ultraviolet lights after a predetermined amount of time, paragraph [0038]), independently of one another for each cart in the series of carts (Figure 5 series of carts “12” with only one cart “12” in sanitation station “14”) and further activates the operation of at least one of the sanitizer pump, the circulation pump, and the UVGI system based on the sequence (control system activates the ultraviolet light when vehicle is detected at a particular position, paragraph [0006]), wherein the sequence is independently set for each cart in the series of carts (as part of the sanitization process, the system will geometrically map the target cart and said mapping will be used to guide the movable ultraviolet light member to accommodate carts of different shapes and sizes, paragraph [0039]); wherein one or more carts can be individually treated within the sanitization chamber in the closed wash state (access door is opened to receive vehicle and kept closed during sterilization, paragraph [0032]) and one or more carts can be simultaneously treated in the sanitization chamber in the open sanitization state (enable cleaning of multiple ride vehicles simultaneously, paragraph [0060]), but does not teach a detergent container coupled to the sanitizer container for storing wash detergent for cleaning the cart during the closed wash state; and a circulation pump coupled to the sanitizer container for circulating a mixture of a supply of water and the wash detergent from the detergent container to wash the cart positioned within the sanitization chamber in the closed wash state; and a controller in communication with the sanitizer pump and the circulation pump. However, Metheny teaches a detergent container coupled to the sanitizer container for storing wash detergent for cleaning the cart during the closed wash state (Figure 5 liquid supply tank “68” mounted together, and wash liquids are preferably detergent solutions follows by a germicidal sanitizing solution, paragraph [0016]); and a circulation pump coupled to the sanitizer container for circulating a mixture of a supply of water and the wash detergent from the detergent container to wash the cart positioned within the sanitization chamber in the closed wash state (cleaning liquid of water containing detergent fed by a pump to the spray nozzles, paragraph [0036]); and a controller in communication with the sanitizer pump and the circulation pump (controller produces a sequence of wash, rinse, germicidal application and dry phase, paragraph [0015], and controller operates the pump, paragraph [0041]).
Majdali and Metheny are considered analogous to the current invention because all are in the field of cart sanitizing and washing systems. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the sanitizing system with combined sequence of washing and sanitizing taught by Metheny because Metheny teaches it is beneficial to both a consumer and a company to eliminate as much contamination as possible from a shopping cart (paragraphs [0003]- [0006]).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Majdali and Metheny teaches all aspects of the current invention including entrance and exit doors through which a cart enters and exits the sanitization chamber (Figure 2 first access door “62” and second access door “60”, Majdali).
Claims 4-6 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Majdali in view of Metheny and Fanourgiakis (US 8480814 B1).
Regarding claim 4, Majdali teaches a systems for sanitizing a series of carts (system for sanitizing a ride vehicle, abstract, Figure 5 a series of carts “12” enter sanitation station “14”), comprising a sanitization chamber formed by a right sidewall panel, a left sidewall panel, a front sidewall panel, a read sidewall panel, a ceiling panel and a floor (Figure 2 shows a housing “52” of the sanitization system “10” defined by four walls, a top, and a bottom. The length of the housing is defined as “54” and the bottom of the housing is defined as the ride path “16”); a sanitizer container configured to store sanitizer for killing at least one of viruses, bacteria, and microorganisms on the cart (Figure 3 storage tank “86” holds cleaning solution. Cleaning solution may be anti-bacterial liquid); and a sanitizer pump configured to receive sanitizer from the container and deliver the sanitizer to the right sidewall and the left side wall via a conduit (nozzles receive cleaning solution from pump, paragraph [0034], and Figure 9 nozzles “21” on the left and right sidewalls “212” and “214”); an ultraviolet (UV) germicidal irradiation system (utilizes ultraviolet light to remove bacteria from surfaces, paragraph [0022]); a controller in communication with the UVGI system (control system activates the ultraviolet light, paragraph [0037]); wherein the controller instructs a sequence of at least one wash cycle, of one or more rinse cycle, and/or a sanitization cycle ((control system may include a process or that executes instructions stored in memory, paragraph [0039], and control system activates ultraviolet lights and further deactivates ultraviolet lights after a predetermined amount of time, paragraph [0038]), independently of one another for each cart in the series of carts (Figure 5 series of carts “12” with only one cart “12” in sanitation station “14”) and further activates the operation of at least one of the sanitizer pump, the circulation pump, and the UVGI system based on the sequence (control system activates the ultraviolet light when vehicle is detected at a particular position, paragraph [0006]), and wherein the sequence is independently set for each cat in the series of carts (as part of the sanitization process, the system will geometrically map the target cart and said mapping will be used to guide the movable ultraviolet light member to accommodate carts of different shapes and sizes, paragraph [0039]); does not teach a detergent container coupled to the sanitizer container for storing wash detergent for cleaning the cart during the closed wash state; and a circulation pump coupled to the sanitizer container for circulating a mixture of a supply of water and the wash detergent from the detergent container to wash the cart positioned within the sanitization chamber in the closed wash state; a controller in communication with the sanitizer pump, the circulation pump, and the rotating bar; and a distribution box coupled to the ceiling panel or a rotating bar coupled to the distribution box and configured to receive the sanitizer or the water-detergent mixture from distribution box and rotate or spin the sanitizer or the water-detergent mixture as a result of force being imparted to the sanitizer by the sanitizer pump, wherein the rotating bar is configured with nozzles for spraying the sanitizer or the water-detergent mixture. However, Metheny teaches a detergent container coupled to the sanitizer container for storing wash detergent for cleaning the cart during the closed wash state (Figure 5 liquid supply tank “68” mounted together, and wash liquids are preferably detergent solutions follows by a germicidal sanitizing solution, paragraph [0016]); and a circulation pump coupled to the sanitizer container for circulating a mixture of a supply of water and the wash detergent from the detergent container to wash the cart positioned within the sanitization chamber in the closed wash state (cleaning liquid of water containing detergent fed by a pump to the spray nozzles, paragraph [0036]); and a controller in communication with the sanitizer pump and the circulation pump (controller produces a sequence of wash, rinse, germicidal application and dry phase, paragraph [0015], and controller operates the pump, paragraph [0041]). Metheny does not teach a distribution box coupled to the ceiling panel or a rotating bar coupled to the distribution box and configured to receive the sanitizer from distribution box and rotate or spin the sanitizer as a result of force being imparted to the sanitizer by the sanitizer pump, wherein the rotating bar is configured with nozzles for spraying the sanitizer.
Majdali and Metheny are considered analogous to the current invention because all are in the field of cart sanitizing and washing systems. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the sanitizing system with a combined sequence of washing and sanitizing taught by Metheny because Metheny teaches it is beneficial to both a consumer and a company to eliminate as much contamination as possible from a shopping cart (paragraphs [0003]- [0006]).
Fanourgiakis teaches a distribution box (distribution junction box, column 13 line 12); and a rotating bar coupled to the distribution box and configured to receive the sanitizer from distribution box (Figure 7 rotating bar “198” connected to distribution box “124”) and rotate or spin the sanitizer as a result of force being imparted to the sanitizer by the sanitizer pump (rotates whenever fluid under pressure is flowing through the plumbing, column 19 lines 51-52), wherein the rotating bar is configured with nozzles for spraying the sanitizer (Figure 9 nozzles “138” on rotating bar “198”); and a controller is in communication with the rotating bar (automatic mode on the control panel will automatically cycle through every aspect of the washing the shopping cart, column 18 lines 40-42).
Majdali and Fanourgiakis are considered analogous to the current invention because all are in the field of cart cleaning systems. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the sanitizing system taught by Majdali with the distribution box and rotating bar taught by Fanourgiakis teaches the distribution box ensures optimal pressure and flowrate throughout the system (column 13 liens 59-60) and Majdali teaches a rotating arm allows the cleaning solution to applied to the target at multiple angles and distances, paragraph [0059]).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Majdali, Metheny, and Fanourgiakis teaches wherein the UVGI system is comprised of at least one UV lamp (Figure 1 ultraviolet light source “18”, Majdali).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Majdali. Metheny, and Fanourgiakis teaches entrance and exit doors through which a cart enters and exits the sanitization chamber (Figure 2 first access door “62” and second access door “60”, Majdali).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Majdali and Metheny teaches all aspects of the current invention except a distribution box coupled to the ceiling panel or a rotating bar coupled to the distribution box and configured to receive the sanitizer or wash-detergent mixture from distribution box and rotate or spin the sanitizer or wash-detergent mixture as a result of force being imparted to the sanitizer by the sanitizer pump or circulation pump, wherein the rotating bar is configured with nozzles for spraying the sanitizer or wash-detergent mixture. However, Fanourgiakis teaches a distribution box (distribution junction box, column 13 line 12); and a rotating bar coupled to the distribution box and configured to receive the sanitizer or wash-detergent mixture from distribution box (Figure 7 rotating bar “198” connected to distribution box “124”) and rotate or spin the sanitizer or wash-detergent mixture as a result of force being imparted to the sanitizer or wash-detergent mixture by the sanitizer pump or circulation pump (rotates whenever fluid under pressure is flowing through the plumbing, column 19 lines 51-52), wherein the rotating bar is configured with nozzles for spraying the sanitizer or wash-detergent (Figure 9 nozzles “138” on rotating bar “198”).
Majdali, Metheny, and Fanourgiakis are considered analogous to the current invention as discussed above. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the sanitizing system taught by Majdali with the distribution box and rotating bar taught by Fanourgiakis teaches the distribution box ensures optimal pressure and flowrate throughout the system (column 13 liens 59-60) and Majdali teaches a rotating arm allows the cleaning solution to applied to the target at multiple angles and distances, paragraph [0059]).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Majdali and Fanourgiakis teaches wherein the UVGI system is comprised of at least one UV lamp (Figure 1 ultraviolet light source “18”, Majdali).
Claims 8, 10, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Majdali, Metheny and Fanourgiakis in view of Bacik (US 20080267819 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Majdali teaches a chamber formed by a right sidewall panel, a left sidewall panel, a front sidewall panel, a read sidewall panel, a ceiling panel and a floor (Figure 2 shows a housing “52” of the sanitization system “10” defined by four walls, a top, and a bottom. The length of the housing is defined as “54” and the bottom of the housing is defined as the ride path “16”); a wash detergent container and pump, a rinse agent container and pump, a sanitizer container and pump, a circulation pump (Figure 3 storage tank “86” and pump “88”. Each nozzle may include a corresponding storage tank and pump, paragraph [0034]. Sanitization spray may include soap or anti-bacterial liquid, paragraph [0021], and water rinse, paragraph [0028]), and a dump pump (Figure 3, drain pump “96”); and a plurality of conduits configured to deliver wash detergent, rinse agent, and sanitizer to the right sidewall panel and the left sidewall panel (Figure 9 nozzles “21” on the left and right sidewalls “212” and “214”); a UVGI system for sanitizing a cart positioned within the wash and sanitization chamber (utilizes ultraviolet light to remove bacteria from surfaces, paragraph [0022]); and a controller in communication with the UVGI system (control system activates the ultraviolet light, paragraph [0037]); wherein the controller instructs a sequence of at least one wash cycle, of one or more rinse cycle, and/or a sanitization cycle ((control system may include a process or that executes instructions stored in memory, paragraph [0039], and control system activates ultraviolet lights and further deactivates ultraviolet lights after a predetermined amount of time, paragraph [0038]), independently of one another for each cart in the series of carts (Figure 5 series of carts “12” with only one cart “12” in sanitation station “14”) and further activates the operation of at least one of the sanitizer pump, the circulation pump, and the UVGI system based on the sequence (control system activates the ultraviolet light when vehicle is detected at a particular position, paragraph [0006]), and wherein the sequence is independently set for each cat in the series of carts (as part of the sanitization process, the system will geometrically map the target cart and said mapping will be used to guide the movable ultraviolet light member to accommodate carts of different shapes and sizes, paragraph [0039]). Majdali does not teach a controller in communication with the sanitizer pump, the circulation pump, and the rotating bar; and a distribution box coupled to the ceiling panel or a distribution box coupled to the ceiling panel or a rotating bar coupled to the distribution box and configured to receive the sanitizer from distribution box and rotate or spin the sanitizer as a result of force being imparted to the sanitizer by the sanitizer pump, wherein the rotating bar is configured with nozzles for spraying the sanitizer, wherein the pumps and storage tanks are disposed above the sanitization housing or a base configured for being lifted, transported, and positioned into a stationary position by a pallet jack. While Majdali does not explicitly disclose the pumps and storage tanks disposed on the top of the sanitization housing, the rearrangement of parts will not constitute patentable subject matter (See MPEP VI (C)). Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify the sanitization housing taught by Majdali to house the storage tanks and pump on the top of the housing as opposed to the side with an expectation of providing the predictable result of successfully supplying the sanitization fluids.
Metheny teaches a controller in communication with the sanitizer pump and the circulation pump (controller produces a sequence of wash, rinse, germicidal application and dry phase, paragraph [0015], and controller operates the pump, paragraph [0041]). Metheny does not teach a distribution box coupled to the ceiling panel or a rotating bar coupled to the distribution box and configured to receive the sanitizer from distribution box and rotate or spin the sanitizer as a result of force being imparted to the sanitizer by the sanitizer pump, wherein the rotating bar is configured with nozzles for spraying the sanitizer or a base configured for being lifted, transported, and positioned into a stationary position by a pallet jack.
Majdali and Metheny are considered analogous to the current invention because all are in the field of cart sanitizing and washing systems. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the sanitizing system with combined sequence of washing and sanitizing taught by Metheny because Metheny teaches it is beneficial to both a consumer and a company to eliminate as much contamination as possible from a shopping cart (paragraphs [0003]- [0006]).
Fanourgiakis teaches a distribution box (distribution junction box, column 13 line 12); and a rotating bar coupled to the distribution box and configured to receive the sanitizer from distribution box (Figure 7 rotating bar “198” connected to distribution box “124”) and rotate or spin the sanitizer as a result of force being imparted to the sanitizer by the sanitizer pump (rotates whenever fluid under pressure is flowing through the plumbing, column 19 lines 51-52), wherein the rotating bar is configured with nozzles for spraying the sanitizer (Figure 9 nozzles “138” on rotating bar “198”). Fanourgiakis does not teach a base configured for being lifted, transported, and positioned into a stationary position by a pallet jack.
Majdali and Fanourgiakis are considered analogous to the current invention as discussed above. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the sanitizing system taught by Majdali with the distribution box and rotating bar taught by Fanourgiakis teaches the distribution box ensures optimal pressure and flowrate throughout the system (column 13 liens 59-60) and Majdali teaches a rotating arm allows the cleaning solution to applied to the target at multiple angles and distances, paragraph [0059]).
Bacik teaches a decontamination unit configured with a base that includes lifting brackets to be moved with a forklift or pallet jack (paragraph [0019]).
Majdali and Bacik are considered analogous to the current invention because all are in field of decontamination chambers for large items. Additionally, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the sanitization system taught by Majdali with the portable base configuration taught by Bacik because Majdali teaches that a transportable base allows the ride vehicle to be exposed to the cleaning cycle for a suitable amount of time to remove undesirable substance (paragraph [0052]).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Majdali, Metheny, Fanourgiakis, and Bacik teaches all aspects of the current invention as discussed above including entrance and exit doors through which a cart enters and exits the sanitization chamber (Figure 2 first access door “62” and second access door “60”, Majdali).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Majdali, Metheny, and Fanourgiakis teaches all aspects of the current invention except a base configured for being lifted, transported, and positioned into a stationary position by a pallet jack. However, Bacik teaches a decontamination unit configured with a base that includes lifting brackets to be moved with a forklift or pallet jack (paragraph [0019]).
Majdali, Metheny, Fanourgiakis, and Bacik are considered analogous to the current invention as discussed above. Additionally, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the sanitization system taught by Majdali, Metheny, and Fanourgiakis with the portable base configuration taught by Bacik because Majdali teaches that a transportable base allows the ride vehicle to be exposed to the cleaning cycle for a suitable amount of time to remove undesirable substance (paragraph [0052]).
Conclusion
/K.R.S./Examiner, Art Unit 1799
/DONALD R SPAMER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1799