DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
The 112 rejections have been withdrawn in view of the amendment.
Applicant's arguments filed 7-21-2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
For examination purposes the broadest reasonable interpretation of “data” includes to be equivalent to information. Therefore, regardless of whether it’s directed to user information or protocol-specific control information, it is still a PDU with data transmission.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). The rejection of record admits that Asterjadhi does not recites wherein the management frame comprises an assignment of a resource unit (RU) for the second STA. The secondary reference Montemurro discloses wherein the management frame comprises an assignment of a resource unit (RU) for the second STA (see abstract) and additional information can be seen on par. 0069-0087 and fig. 3-5. Thereby, the combination of Asterjadhi in view of Montemurro disclose a management frame transmitted by a control AP that include an assignment of a resource unit.
Please note that when a claim recites limitations such as “to establish”, the limitation is directed to intended use. Intended use of the claimed invention must be evaluated to determine whether or not the recited purpose or intended use results in a structural difference (or, in the case of process claims, manipulative difference) between the claimed invention and the prior art. If there is no difference, a prior art structure can perform the intended use as recited meets the claim.
As to the argument that Montemurro does not mention an assignment of a RU in the management frame; the examiner’s position is that Montemurro does clearly mention assignment of a RU such as: addresses, (e.g., Radio Resource Management (RRM)), etc. (see par. 0069). Thereby, the combination of Asterjadhi and Montemurro teach causing transmission of a management frame, by the control AP STA, via the control link to establish a first target wake time (TWT) service period (SP) on the managed link during a first time interval, wherein the management frame comprises an assignment of a resource unit (RU) for the second STA in the managed link for the first TWT SP. Also, the combination of Asterjadhi and Montemurro teach receiving, by the managed AP STA, an uplink (UL) data transmission of a first protocol data unit (PDU) from the second STA via the RU on the managed link during the first time interval.
In view of the argument: “Applicant notes that the abstract of Montemurro does not mention an assignment of an UL transmission bandwidth in the management frame and Montemurro does not describe a transmission bandwidth in the specification.”; the examiner respectfully disagrees, please see par. 0078 and fig. 4 which shows an assignment of an UL transmission bandwidth in the management frame.
Regarding the arguments directed to bandwidth and/or rate, the primary reference Asterjadhi discloses establishing the multi-link association includes communicating a configuration of the second link including the parameters of bandwidth and transmission rate. Thereby, the combination of Asterjadhi in view of Montemurro discloses the argued limitations.
The rest of the arguments fall for the same reasons as shown above. The rejection of record stands.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-15, 26-32 and 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Asterjadhi 20210007168 in view of Montemurro 20230319925.
As to claim 1, Asterjadhi discloses an apparatus [1100] comprising: a memory [1108]; and logic circuitry [1106] of a multi-link device (MLD) coupled with the memory (see fig. 11) to:
manage multiple link operations for more than one access point (AP) stations (STAs) [NON-AP MLD], wherein the more than one AP STAs include a control AP STA [AP MLD] and a managed AP STA (see par. 0101);
associate, via the control AP STA, a first STA of a non-AP MLD with the control AP STA to establish a control link and a second STA of the non-AP MLD with the managed AP to establish a managed link, wherein association comprises an exchange of frames to establish communication protocols and parameters for communications via the control link and the managed link (see par. 0102-0105);
receive signaling from a 2nd BSS AP MLD to coordinate scheduling in the managed link with the neighbor AP MLD (see par. 0117, 0138);
cause transmission of a management frame, by the control AP STA, via the control link to establish a first target wake time (TWT) service period (SP) on the managed link during a first-time interval in the managed link for the first TWT SP (see fig. 4c; par. 0138); and
receive, by the managed AP STA, an uplink (UL) data transmission of an ACK from the second STA via the resources on the managed link during the first time interval (see fig. 4c; par. 0138). Asterjadhi does not explicitly recite a first PDU; however, from par. 0118-0119, becomes clear that the ack is a PDU. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention that the ack is a PDU for the simple purpose of compatibility with existing standards.
Asterjadhi does not explicitly recite wherein the management frame comprises an assignment of a resource unit (RU) for the second STA.
In an analogous art, Montemurro discloses wherein the management frame comprises an assignment of a resource unit (RU) for the second STA (see abstract). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to combine the teachings for the simple purpose of coordinating communications with affiliated stations.
As to claim 2, Asterjadhi discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the logic circuitry comprises baseband processing circuitry and further comprising a radio coupled with the baseband processing circuitry, and one or more antennas coupled with the radio to transmit the PDU (see par. 0118, 0127).
As to claim 3, Asterjadhi discloses the apparatus of claim 1, the logic circuitry to further negotiate, by the control AP STA with the first STA, the first TWT SP for the managed link (see par. 0138).
As to claim 4, Asterjadhi discloses the apparatus of claim 3, negotiation of the first TWT SP for the managed link to comprise negotiation a recurring or periodic individual TWT SP on a managed link for a downlink (DL), an uplink (UL), both UL and DL, a peer-to-peer (P2P) communication, sounding, scheduling, buffer reporting, or a resource request or the first TWT SP (see par. 0138).
As to claim 5, Asterjadhi discloses the apparatus of claim 3, the logic circuitry to further receive a management frame from the first STA (see par. 0108, 0131), by the control AP STA, to negotiate the first TWT SP for the managed link (see par. 0138).
As to claim 6, Asterjadhi discloses the apparatus of claim 3, further comprising assigning an association identifier (AID) to the first STA (see par. 0115) for the first TWT SP (see par. 0138) via a short term or dynamic scheduling information SP element or via a long term scheduling information SP element in a frame body of the management frame (see par. 0038, 0106, 0108).
As to claim 7, Asterjadhi discloses the apparatus of claim 3, wherein the management frame comprises an uplink (UL) transmission bandwidth and an UL transmission rate for the second STA in the managed link for the first TWT SP (see par. 0019).
As to claim 8, Asterjadhi discloses the apparatus of claim 3, negotiation of the first TWT SP for the managed link to establish allowable communications during the first TWT SP, the allowable communications to include downlinks (DLs), uplinks (ULs), sounding, scheduling, buffer reporting, resource requests, peer-to-peer transmissions, or a combination thereof [please note that the claim does not require any structural difference or change to the TWT SP, the same TWT SP will allow the same communications] (see par. 0138).
As to claim 9, Asterjadhi discloses the apparatus of claim 3, negotiation of the first TWT SP for the managed link to establish allowable traffic identifiers (TIDs) (see par. 0105-0106) during the first TWT SP. (see par. 0138).
As to claim 10, Asterjadhi discloses an non-transitory computer-readable medium, comprising instructions, which when executed by a processor, cause the processor to perform operations to:
manage multiple link operations for more than one access point (AP) stations (STAs) [NON-AP MLD], wherein the more than one AP STAs include a control AP STA [AP MLD] and a managed AP STA (see par. 0101);
associate, via the control AP STA, a first STA of a non-AP MLD with the control AP STA to establish a control link and a second STA of the non-AP MLD with the managed AP to establish a managed link, wherein association comprises an exchange of frames to establish communication protocols and parameters for communications via the control link and the managed link (see par. 0102-0105);
cause transmission of a management frame, by the control AP STA, via the control link to establish a first target wake time (TWT) service period (SP) on the managed link during a first-time interval, wherein the management frame comprises an uplink (UL) transmission bandwidth for the managed link for the first TWT SP (see fig. 4c; par. 0019, 0138); and
receive, by the managed AP STA, an uplink (UL) data transmission of an ACK from the second STA via the UL transmission bandwidth/rate on via the managed link during the first time interval (see fig. 4c; par. 0019, 0138). Asterjadhi does not explicitly recite a first PDU; however, from par. 0118-0119, becomes clear that the ack is a PDU. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention that the ack is a PDU for the simple purpose of compatibility with existing standards. Asterjadhi does not explicitly recite wherein the management frame comprises an assignment for the second STA.
In an analogous art, Montemurro discloses wherein the management frame comprises an assignment for the second STA (see abstract). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to combine the teachings for the simple purpose of coordinating communications with affiliated stations.
Regarding claim 11, is the corresponding non-transitory computer-readable medium of apparatus claim 3. Therefore, claims 11 is rejected for the same reasons as shown above.
As to claims 12 and 32, Asterjadhi discloses the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 11, negotiation of the first TWT SP for the managed link (see par. 0138) and establish trigger-based access (see par. 0183). Asterjadhi does not explicitly disclose for the second STA during a second TWT SP; however, it would be obvious that the process can be repeated and will produce the same predictable result of negotiating the desired link. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to repeat the step for the simple purpose of adjusting the links as the communication need change.
As to claim 13 and 29, Asterjadhi discloses the operations to further assign, via the control AP STA, the second STA to the first TWT SP for the managed link via the management frame, wherein the management frame comprises an association response frame, a reassociation response frame, or a probe response frame (see par. 0102, 0115).
As to claims 14, Asterjadhi does not explicitly recite wherein the management frame comprises an assignment of a resource unit (RU) for the second STA. In an analogous art, Montemurro discloses wherein the management frame comprises an assignment of a resource unit (RU) for the second STA (see abstract). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to combine the teachings for the simple purpose of coordinating communications with affiliated stations.
As to claims 15 and 31, Asterjadhi discloses the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 10, the operations to further coordinate TWT SPs including the first TWT SP by the managed AP on the managed link with communications of a second managed AP on a second managed link (see fig. 4c; par. 0138).
Regarding claims 26-27 and 35, they are the corresponding method claims of non-transitory computer-readable medium claims 10-11 and 14. Therefore, claims 26-27 and 35 are rejected for the same reasons as shown above.
As to claim 28, Asterjadhi discloses the method of claim 27, further comprising receiving a management frame from the first STA (see par. 0108, 0131), by the control AP STA, to negotiate the first TWT SP for the managed link (see par. 0138).
As to claim 30, Asterjadhi discloses the operations to further advertise, via the control AP STA, the managed link via transmission of additional management frames on the control link (see par. 0003, 0102, 0105, 0115).
Claim(s) 33 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Asterjadhi in view of Montemurro and further in view of Chu 11523306.
As to claim 33, Asterjadhi discloses the apparatus of claim 3, negotiation of the first TWT SP for the managed link to comprise negotiation of periodicity of the first TWT SP (see par. 0138). Asterjadhi fails to disclose TWT SP start time. In an analogous art, Chu discloses negotiating a TWT SP start time (see col. 10, lines 31- 38). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to negotiate a TWT start time to better use the communication resources.
Claim(s) 34 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Asterjadhi in view of Montemurro and further in view of Lu 11516841.
As to claim 34, Asterjadhi discloses negotiation of the first TWT SP for the managed link parameters for the first TWT SP (see fig. 4c; par. 0138). Asterjadhi fails to disclose enhanced distributed channel access. In analogous art, Lu discloses negotiation of the first TWT SP for the managed link to comprise negotiation of enhanced distributed channel access (EDCA) (see col. 12, line 51-65). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to repeat the step for the simple purpose of adjusting the links as the communication requirement changes.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
MARCOS L. TORRES
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2647
/MARCOS L TORRES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2647