The amendment filed 5/14/2025 has been entered.
Claims 1-23 are pending.
Claims 1-23 stand rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 16 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Oteri et al. (Pub. No.: US 20190327757 A1), hereafter referred to as Oteri.
In regard to Claim 1, Oteri teaches An apparatus used in an Access Point Station (AP STA) (gNB, Para. 92, FIG. 1D), comprising processor circuitry configured to cause the AP STA to, when there is downlink urgent data (URLLC communications, Para. 95, FIG. 2) that must be transmitted without waiting for a scheduled downlink slot (minimum or reduced latency or delays may be achieved by pre-emptive communication of URLLC traffic over substantially co-existing, concurrent, synchronized, simultaneous, overlapping, or the like eMBB communication, Para. 95, FIG. 2): generate a downlink urgent packet (URLLC traffic, Para. 95, FIG. 2) from the downlink urgent data (URLLC communications, Para. 95, FIG. 2).
Oteri teaches in a blank symbol of either ongoing Orthogonal Frequency Division Multiplexing (OFDM) (OFDM symbols, Para. 84, FIG. 1D) uplink transmission to the AP STA (slot 2, the current time slot, may be configured or designated as UL, Para. 96, FIG. 2) or ongoing OFDM downlink transmission from the AP STA (The next DL time slot may be configured or designated as slot 4, Para. 96, FIG. 2), transmit the downlink urgent packet (URLLC traffic, Para. 95, FIG. 2) to a non-AP STA (WTRU, Para. 92, FIG. 1D) on frequency domain resources (In the United States, the available frequency bands, which may be used by 802.11ah, are from 902 MHz to 928 MHz, Para. 81) for either the ongoing OFDM uplink transmission (downlink URLLC traffic 210 arrives. The gNB may change the duplexing direction of slot 2 from UL to DL, transmit URLLC traffic 212, Para. 97, FIG. 2) or the ongoing OFDM downlink transmission (URLLC traffic 204 may arrive for service at the Gnb. The next DL time slot may be configured or designated as slot 4 to communicate DL information 206, Para. 96, FIG. 2).
In regard to Claim 16, Oteri teaches A computer readable storage medium storing instructions thereon, wherein the instructions, when executed by one or more processors (a computer program, software, or firmware incorporated in a computer-readable medium for execution by a computer or processor, Para. 180), cause the one or more processors to, when there is downlink urgent data (URLLC communications, Para. 95, FIG. 2) that must be transmitted from an Access Point Station (AP STA) (gNB, Para. 92, FIG. 1D) without waiting for a scheduled downlink slot (minimum or reduced latency or delays may be achieved by pre-emptive communication of URLLC traffic over substantially co-existing, concurrent, synchronized, simultaneous, overlapping, or the like eMBB communication, Para. 95, FIG. 2): generate a downlink urgent packet (URLLC traffic, Para. 95, FIG. 2) from the downlink urgent data (URLLC communications, Para. 95, FIG. 2).
Oteri teaches provide the downlink urgent packet (URLLC traffic, Para. 95, FIG. 2) to a wireless interface (gNBs 180a, 180b, 180c may each include one or more transceivers, Para. 83, FIG. 1D) for transmitting to a non-AP STA (WTRU, Para. 92, FIG. 1D), in a blank symbol of either ongoing Orthogonal Frequency Division Multiplexing (OFDM) (OFDM symbols, Para. 84, FIG. 1D) uplink transmission to the AP STA (slot 2, the current time slot, may be configured or designated as UL, Para. 96, FIG. 2) or ongoing OFDM downlink transmission from the AP STA (The next DL time slot may be configured or designated as slot 4, Para. 96, FIG. 2), on frequency domain resources (In the United States, the available frequency bands, which may be used by 802.11ah, are from 902 MHz to 928 MHz, Para. 81) for either the ongoing OFDM uplink transmission (downlink URLLC traffic 210 arrives. The gNB may change the duplexing direction of slot 2 from UL to DL, transmit URLLC traffic 212, Para. 97, FIG. 2) or the ongoing OFDM downlink transmission (URLLC traffic 204 may arrive for service at the Gnb. The next DL time slot may be configured or designated as slot 4 to communicate DL information 206, Para. 96, FIG. 2).
In regard to Claim 20, Oteri teaches An Access Point Station (AP STA) (gNB, Para. 92, FIG. 1D), comprising: a wireless interface (gNBs 180a, 180b, 180c may each include one or more transceivers, Para. 83, FIG. 1D); and processor circuitry coupled to the wireless interface (a computer program, software, or firmware incorporated in a computer-readable medium for execution by a computer or processor, Para. 180) and configured to, when there is downlink urgent data (URLLC communications, Para. 95, FIG. 2) that must be transmitted without waiting for a scheduled downlink slot (minimum or reduced latency or delays may be achieved by pre-emptive communication of URLLC traffic over substantially co-existing, concurrent, synchronized, simultaneous, overlapping, or the like eMBB communication, Para. 95, FIG. 2): generate a downlink urgent packet (URLLC traffic, Para. 95, FIG. 2) from the downlink urgent data (URLLC communications, Para. 95, FIG. 2).
Oteri teaches provide the downlink urgent packet (URLLC traffic, Para. 95, FIG. 2) to the wireless interface (gNBs 180a, 180b, 180c may each include one or more transceivers, Para. 83, FIG. 1D) for transmitting to a non-AP STA (WTRU, Para. 92, FIG. 1D), in a blank symbol of either ongoing Orthogonal Frequency Division Multiplexing (OFDM) (OFDM symbols, Para. 84, FIG. 1D) uplink transmission to the AP STA (slot 2, the current time slot, may be configured or designated as UL, Para. 96, FIG. 2) or ongoing OFDM downlink transmission from the AP STA (The next DL time slot may be configured or designated as slot 4, Para. 96, FIG. 2), on frequency domain resources (In the United States, the available frequency bands, which may be used by 802.11ah, are from 902 MHz to 928 MHz, Para. 81) for either the ongoing OFDM uplink transmission (downlink URLLC traffic 210 arrives. The gNB may change the duplexing direction of slot 2 from UL to DL, transmit URLLC traffic 212, Para. 97, FIG. 2) or the ongoing OFDM downlink transmission (URLLC traffic 204 may arrive for service at the Gnb. The next DL time slot may be configured or designated as slot 4 to communicate DL information 206, Para. 96, FIG. 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 16 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (Pub. No.: US 20180302778 A1) in view of Kim et al. (Pub. No.: US 20180248662 A1), hereafter respectively referred to as Wang and Kim.
In regard to Claim 1, Wang teaches An apparatus used in an Access Point Station (AP STA) (the base station, Para. 66, FIG. 2), comprising processor circuitry (base station processor 1104 may include modules such as an AM/CM module, a BM module configured to perform circuit maintenance functions, Para. 155, FIG. 7) configured to cause the AP STA to, when there is downlink urgent data (downlink emergency service may include data information, Para. 75) that must be transmitted without waiting for a scheduled downlink slot (The base station sends first indication information to UE, so as to instruct the UE to receive a downlink emergency service by using a resource indicated by the first indication information, Para. 64, FIG. 2): generate a downlink urgent packet (may send the downlink emergency service, Para. 66, FIG. 2) from the downlink urgent data (downlink emergency service may include data information, Para. 75).
Wang teaches in a blank symbol (using the resource indicated by the first indication information, Para. 66, FIG. 2) of ongoing OFDM downlink transmission (the reserved resource 401 may occupy X OFDM symbols in time domain, Para. 90, FIG. 3A) from the AP STA (reserved by a base station for a downlink emergency service, Para. 90, FIG. 3A), transmit the downlink urgent packet (may send the downlink emergency service, Para. 66, FIG. 2) to a non-AP STA (UE, Para. 64, 97, FIG. 2) on frequency domain resources (the downlink emergency service occupies time-frequency resources, Para. 28. A reserved resource 401 in FIG. 3A is a time-frequency resource reserved by a base station for a downlink emergency service. The reserved resource 401 may occupy Y subcarriers in frequency domain, Para. 90, FIG. 3A) for the ongoing OFDM downlink transmission (the reserved resource 401 may occupy X OFDM symbols in time domain, Para. 90, FIG. 3A).
Wang teaches a blank symbol of either ongoing Orthogonal Frequency Division Multiplexing (OFDM) uplink transmission to the AP STA (In the UMTS communications system, there are extremely abundant uplink code resources, Para. 106).
Although Wang teaches a blank symbol of either ongoing Orthogonal Frequency Division Multiplexing (OFDM) uplink transmission to the AP STA, and teaches transmit the downlink urgent packet to a non-AP STA on frequency domain resources, Wang fails to teach in a blank symbol of either ongoing Orthogonal Frequency Division Multiplexing (OFDM) uplink transmission to the AP STA, transmit the downlink urgent packet on frequency domain resources for either the ongoing OFDM uplink transmission.
Kim teaches in a blank symbol of either ongoing Orthogonal Frequency Division Multiplexing (OFDM) (an uplink (UL)/downlink (DL) data packet is transmitted on a subframe-by-subframe basis, and one subframe is defined as a predetermined time interval including a plurality of OFDM symbols, Para. 56) uplink transmission (UL band 1350, Para. 114, FIG. 13) to the AP STA (BS, Para. 114, FIG. 13), transmit the downlink urgent packet (DL reception, Para. 114, FIG. 13. FIG. 13 shows a PDSCH within Uplink band 1350) to a non-AP STA (UE, Para. 113, FIG. 13) on frequency domain resources for either the ongoing OFDM uplink transmission (within the UL band 1350, Para. 114, FIG. 13).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kim with the teachings of Wang since Kim provides a technique for utilizing uplink resources for downlink data transmissions, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Wang to permit transmission of downlink emergency services to utilize uplink resources when downlink resources are unavailable or downlink resources provide more timely transmissions.
In regard to Claim 16, Wang teaches A computer readable storage medium storing instructions thereon, wherein the instructions, when executed by one or more processors (the base station processor 1104 is further configured to invoke the program code stored in the memory 1114, Para. 155, FIG. 7), cause the one or more processors to, when there is downlink urgent data (downlink emergency service may include data information, Para. 75) that must be transmitted from an Access Point Station (AP STA) (the base station, Para. 66, FIG. 2) without waiting for a scheduled downlink slot (The base station sends first indication information to UE, so as to instruct the UE to receive a downlink emergency service by using a resource indicated by the first indication information, Para. 64, FIG. 2): generate a downlink urgent packet (may send the downlink emergency service, Para. 66, FIG. 2) from the downlink urgent data (downlink emergency service may include data information, Para. 75).
Wang teaches provide the downlink urgent packet (send the downlink emergency service, Para. 66, FIG. 2) to a wireless interface for transmitting (transmitter 1106 and the receiver 1108 may be considered as a wireless modem, Para. 153, FIG. 7) to a non-AP STA (UE, Para. 64, 97, FIG. 2), in a blank symbol (using the resource indicated by the first indication information, Para. 66, FIG. 2) of ongoing OFDM downlink transmission (the reserved resource 401 may occupy X OFDM symbols in time domain, Para. 90, FIG. 3A) from the AP STA (reserved by a base station for a downlink emergency service, Para. 90, FIG. 3A), on frequency domain resources (the downlink emergency service occupies time-frequency resources, Para. 28. A reserved resource 401 in FIG. 3A is a time-frequency resource reserved by a base station for a downlink emergency service. The reserved resource 401 may occupy Y subcarriers in frequency domain, Para. 90, FIG. 3A) for the ongoing OFDM downlink transmission (the reserved resource 401 may occupy X OFDM symbols in time domain, Para. 90, FIG. 3A).
Wang teaches a blank symbol of either ongoing Orthogonal Frequency Division Multiplexing (OFDM) uplink transmission to the AP STA (In the UMTS communications system, there are extremely abundant uplink code resources, Para. 106).
Although Wang teaches a blank symbol of either ongoing Orthogonal Frequency Division Multiplexing (OFDM) uplink transmission to the AP STA, and teaches provide the downlink urgent packet on frequency domain resources, Wang fails to teach in a blank symbol of either ongoing Orthogonal Frequency Division Multiplexing (OFDM) uplink transmission to the AP STA, on frequency domain resources for either the ongoing OFDM uplink transmission.
Kim teaches provide the downlink urgent packet for transmitting (DL reception, Para. 114, FIG. 13. FIG. 13 shows a PDSCH within Uplink band 1350) to a non-AP STA (UE, Para. 113, FIG. 13), in a blank symbol of either ongoing Orthogonal Frequency Division Multiplexing (OFDM) (an uplink (UL)/downlink (DL) data packet is transmitted on a subframe-by-subframe basis, and one subframe is defined as a predetermined time interval including a plurality of OFDM symbols, Para. 56) uplink transmission (UL band 1350, Para. 114, FIG. 13) to the AP STA (BS, Para. 114, FIG. 13), on frequency domain resources for either the ongoing OFDM uplink transmission (within the UL band 1350, Para. 114, FIG. 13).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kim with the teachings of Wang since Kim provides a technique for utilizing uplink resources for downlink data transmissions, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Wang to permit transmission of downlink emergency services to utilize uplink resources when downlink resources are unavailable or downlink resources provide more timely transmissions.
In regard to Claim 20, Wang teaches An Access Point Station (AP STA) (the base station, Para. 66, FIG. 2), comprising: a wireless interface (transmitter 1106 and the receiver 1108 may be considered as a wireless modem, Para. 153, FIG. 7); and processor circuitry coupled to the wireless interface (base station processor 1104 may include modules such as an AM/CM module, a BM module configured to perform circuit maintenance functions, Para. 155, FIG. 7) and configured to, when there is downlink urgent data (downlink emergency service may include data information, Para. 75) that must be transmitted without waiting for a scheduled downlink slot (The base station sends first indication information to UE, so as to instruct the UE to receive a downlink emergency service by using a resource indicated by the first indication information, Para. 64, FIG. 2): generate a downlink urgent packet (may send the downlink emergency service, Para. 66, FIG. 2) from the downlink urgent data (downlink emergency service may include data information, Para. 75).
Wang teaches provide the downlink urgent packet (send the downlink emergency service, Para. 66, FIG. 2) to the wireless interface for transmitting (transmitter 1106 and the receiver 1108 may be considered as a wireless modem, Para. 153, FIG. 7) to a non-AP STA (UE, Para. 64, 97, FIG. 2), in a blank symbol (using the resource indicated by the first indication information, Para. 66, FIG. 2) of ongoing OFDM downlink transmission (the reserved resource 401 may occupy X OFDM symbols in time domain, Para. 90, FIG. 3A) from the AP STA (reserved by a base station for a downlink emergency service, Para. 90, FIG. 3A), on frequency domain resources (the downlink emergency service occupies time-frequency resources, Para. 28. A reserved resource 401 in FIG. 3A is a time-frequency resource reserved by a base station for a downlink emergency service. The reserved resource 401 may occupy Y subcarriers in frequency domain, Para. 90, FIG. 3A) for the ongoing OFDM downlink transmission (the reserved resource 401 may occupy X OFDM symbols in time domain, Para. 90, FIG. 3A).
Wang teaches a blank symbol of either ongoing Orthogonal Frequency Division Multiplexing (OFDM) uplink transmission to the AP STA (In the UMTS communications system, there are extremely abundant uplink code resources, Para. 106).
Although Wang teaches a blank symbol of either ongoing Orthogonal Frequency Division Multiplexing (OFDM) uplink transmission to the AP STA, and teaches provide the downlink urgent packet on frequency domain resources, Wang fails to teach in a blank symbol of either ongoing Orthogonal Frequency Division Multiplexing (OFDM) uplink transmission to the AP STA, on frequency domain resources for either the ongoing OFDM uplink transmission.
Kim teaches provide the downlink urgent packet for transmitting (DL reception, Para. 114, FIG. 13. FIG. 13 shows a PDSCH within Uplink band 1350) to a non-AP STA (UE, Para. 113, FIG. 13), in a blank symbol of either ongoing Orthogonal Frequency Division Multiplexing (OFDM) (an uplink (UL)/downlink (DL) data packet is transmitted on a subframe-by-subframe basis, and one subframe is defined as a predetermined time interval including a plurality of OFDM symbols, Para. 56) uplink transmission (UL band 1350, Para. 114, FIG. 13) to the AP STA (BS, Para. 114, FIG. 13), on frequency domain resources for either the ongoing OFDM uplink transmission (within the UL band 1350, Para. 114, FIG. 13).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kim with the teachings of Wang since Kim provides a technique for utilizing uplink resources for downlink data transmissions, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Wang to permit transmission of downlink emergency services to utilize uplink resources when downlink resources are unavailable or downlink resources provide more timely transmissions.
Claim(s) 2, 17 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Kim, and further in view of Bi et al. (Pub. No.: US 20170012690 A1), hereafter referred to as Bi.
In regard to Claim 2, as presented in the rejection of Claim 1, Wang in view of Kim teaches the ongoing OFDM downlink transmission.
Wang in view of Kim fails to teach the processor circuitry is further configured to cause the AP STA to: in the blank symbol of the ongoing OFDM downlink transmission, receive an uplink urgent packet on the frequency domain resources for the ongoing OFDM downlink transmission, wherein the uplink urgent packet is generated from uplink urgent data that must be transmitted without waiting for a scheduled uplink slot.
Bi teaches the processor circuitry is further configured to cause the AP STA to: in the blank symbol of the ongoing OFDM downlink transmission, receive an uplink urgent packet on the frequency domain resources for the ongoing OFDM downlink transmission, wherein the uplink urgent packet is generated from uplink urgent data that must be transmitted without waiting for a scheduled uplink slot (the special-timeslot configuration information is used to instruct the user equipment to send the uplink physical signal over a downlink frequency band in the special timeslot, Para. 81).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Bi with the teachings of Wang in view of Kim since Bi provides a technique for sending uplink data in downlink frequency bands, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Wang in view of Kim to permit urgent uplink data to be transmitted in downlink resources without uplink resources being scheduled.
In regard to Claim 17, as presented in the rejection of Claim 16, Wang in view of Kim teaches the ongoing OFDM downlink transmission.
Wang in view of Kim fails to teach the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further cause the one or more processors to: in the blank symbol of the ongoing OFDM downlink transmission, receive an uplink urgent packet on the frequency domain resources for the ongoing OFDM downlink transmission, wherein the uplink urgent packet is generated from uplink urgent data that must be transmitted without waiting for a scheduled uplink slot.
Bi teaches the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further cause the one or more processors to: in the blank symbol of the ongoing OFDM downlink transmission, receive an uplink urgent packet on the frequency domain resources for the ongoing OFDM downlink transmission, wherein the uplink urgent packet is generated from uplink urgent data that must be transmitted without waiting for a scheduled uplink slot (the special-timeslot configuration information is used to instruct the user equipment to send the uplink physical signal over a downlink frequency band in the special timeslot, Para. 81).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Bi with the teachings of Wang in view of Kim since Bi provides a technique for sending uplink data in downlink frequency bands, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Wang in view of Kim to permit urgent uplink data to be transmitted in downlink resources without uplink resources being scheduled.
In regard to Claim 21, as presented in the rejection of Claim 20, Wang in view of Kim teaches the ongoing OFDM downlink transmission.
Wang in view of Kim fails to teach the processor circuitry is further configured to: in the blank symbol of the ongoing OFDM downlink transmission, receive an uplink urgent packet on the frequency domain resources for the ongoing OFDM downlink transmission, wherein the uplink urgent packet is generated from uplink urgent data that must be transmitted without waiting for a scheduled uplink slot.
Bi teaches the processor circuitry is further configured to: in the blank symbol of the ongoing OFDM downlink transmission, receive an uplink urgent packet on the frequency domain resources for the ongoing OFDM downlink transmission, wherein the uplink urgent packet is generated from uplink urgent data that must be transmitted without waiting for a scheduled uplink slot (the special-timeslot configuration information is used to instruct the user equipment to send the uplink physical signal over a downlink frequency band in the special timeslot, Para. 81).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Bi with the teachings of Wang in view of Kim since Bi provides a technique for sending uplink data in downlink frequency bands, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Wang in view of Kim to permit urgent uplink data to be transmitted in downlink resources without uplink resources being scheduled.
Claim(s) 3, 18 and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Kim, and further in view of Chun et al. (Pub. No.: US 20110026627 A1), hereafter referred to as Chun.
In regard to Claim 3, as presented in the rejection of Claim 1, Wang in view of Kim teaches the ongoing OFDM downlink transmission.
Wang in view of Kim fails to teach the processor circuitry is further configured to cause the AP STA to: insert a middle preamble (mid-amble) code into the ongoing OFDM downlink transmission.
Chun teaches the processor circuitry is further configured to cause the AP STA to: insert a middle preamble (mid-amble) code into the ongoing OFDM downlink transmission (the midamble is positioned between the DL subframes 1 and 2, Para. 45, FIG. 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Chun with the teachings of Wang in view of Kim since Chun provides a technique for utilizing a within a downlink frame for channel estimation of multiple antennas, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Wang in view of Kim to provide robustness for transmissions of urgent downlink data and ensure more reliable reception of the urgent data.
In regard to Claim 18, as presented in the rejection of Claim 16, Wang in view of Kim teaches the ongoing OFDM downlink transmission.
Wang in view of Kim fails to teach the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further cause the one or more processors to: insert a middle preamble (mid-amble) code into the ongoing OFDM downlink transmission.
Chun teaches the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further cause the one or more processors to: insert a middle preamble (mid-amble) code into the ongoing OFDM downlink transmission (the midamble is positioned between the DL subframes 1 and 2, Para. 45, FIG. 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Chun with the teachings of Wang in view of Kim since Chun provides a technique for utilizing a within a downlink frame for channel estimation of multiple antennas, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Wang in view of Kim to provide robustness for transmissions of urgent downlink data and ensure more reliable reception of the urgent data.
In regard to Claim 22, as presented in the rejection of Claim 20, Wang in view of Kim teaches the ongoing OFDM downlink transmission.
Wang in view of Kim fails to teach the processor circuitry is further configured to: insert a middle preamble (mid-amble) code into the ongoing OFDM downlink transmission.
Chun teaches the processor circuitry is further configured to: insert a middle preamble (mid-amble) code into the ongoing OFDM downlink transmission (the midamble is positioned between the DL subframes 1 and 2, Para. 45, FIG. 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Chun with the teachings of Wang in view of Kim since Chun provides a technique for utilizing a within a downlink frame for channel estimation of multiple antennas, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Wang in view of Kim to provide robustness for transmissions of urgent downlink data and ensure more reliable reception of the urgent data.
Claim(s) 4-5, 19 and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Kim, and further in view of Li et al. (Pub. No.: US 20190254081 A1), hereafter referred to as Li.
In regard to Claim 4, as presented in the rejection of Claim 1, Wang in view of Kim teaches the AP STA.
Wang in view of Kim fails to teach the processor circuitry is further configured to cause the AP STA to: in a preemption gap of the ongoing OFDM uplink transmission, reserve a protected service period for Non-Orthogonal Multiple Access (NOMA) uplink transmission from a group of non-AP STAs, wherein the NOMA uplink transmission is used to carry uplink urgent packets from the group of non-AP STAs and the uplink urgent packets are generated from uplink urgent data that must be transmitted without waiting for a scheduled uplink slot.
Li teaches the processor circuitry is further configured to cause the AP STA to: in a preemption gap of the ongoing OFDM uplink transmission, reserve a protected service period for Non-Orthogonal Multiple Access (NOMA) uplink transmission from a group of non-AP STAs, wherein the NOMA uplink transmission is used to carry uplink urgent packets from the group of non-AP STAs and the uplink urgent packets are generated from uplink urgent data that must be transmitted without waiting for a scheduled uplink slot (The RUR is a resource map that includes a duration 1124 and one or more resources 1126 that are reallocated to the URLLC UE, which is granted UL resources 1114. The resources 1126 reallocated to the scheduled URLLC transmission may also be referred to, herein, as a preemption gap, Para. 100, FIG. 11).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Li with the teachings of Wang in view of Kim since Li provides a technique for URLLC transmissions to be utilized with respect to preemption gaps, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Wang in view of Kim to permit urgent data to be transferred with respect to preemption gaps to facilitate rabid transmissions for urgent data.
In regard to Claim 5, as presented in the rejection of Claim 1, Wang in view of Kim teaches the apparatus.
Wang in view of Kim fails to teach the protected service period is a restricted Target Wakeup Time (TWT) service period reserved for the NOMA uplink transmission, and a TWT identifier of the restricted TWT service period is associated with a NOMA group identifier, which is used to address the group of non-AP STAs.
Li teaches the protected service period is a restricted Target Wakeup Time (TWT) service period reserved for the NOMA uplink transmission, and a TWT identifier of the restricted TWT service period is associated with a NOMA group identifier, which is used to address the group of non-AP STAs (The RUR is a resource map that includes a duration 1124 and one or more resources 1126 that are reallocated to the URLLC UE, which is granted UL resources 1114. The resources 1126 reallocated to the scheduled URLLC transmission may also be referred to, herein, as a preemption gap, Para. 100, FIG. 11).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Li with the teachings of Wang in view of Kim since Li provides a technique for URLLC transmissions to be utilized with respect to preemption gaps, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Wang in view of Kim to permit urgent data to be transferred with respect to preemption gaps to facilitate rabid transmissions for urgent data.
In regard to Claim 19, as presented in the rejection of Claim 16, Wang in view of Kim teaches the AP STA.
Wang in view of Kim fails to teach the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further cause the one or more processors to: in a preemption gap of the ongoing OFDM uplink transmission, reserve a protected service period for Non-Orthogonal Multiple Access (NOMA) uplink transmission from a group of non-AP STAs, wherein the NOMA uplink transmission is used to carry uplink urgent packets from the group of non-AP STAs and the uplink urgent packets are generated from uplink urgent data that must be transmitted without waiting for a scheduled uplink slot.
Li teaches the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further cause the one or more processors to: in a preemption gap of the ongoing OFDM uplink transmission, reserve a protected service period for Non-Orthogonal Multiple Access (NOMA) uplink transmission from a group of non-AP STAs, wherein the NOMA uplink transmission is used to carry uplink urgent packets from the group of non-AP STAs and the uplink urgent packets are generated from uplink urgent data that must be transmitted without waiting for a scheduled uplink slot (The RUR is a resource map that includes a duration 1124 and one or more resources 1126 that are reallocated to the URLLC UE, which is granted UL resources 1114. The resources 1126 reallocated to the scheduled URLLC transmission may also be referred to, herein, as a preemption gap, Para. 100, FIG. 11).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Li with the teachings of Wang in view of Kim since Li provides a technique for URLLC transmissions to be utilized with respect to preemption gaps, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Wang in view of Kim to permit urgent data to be transferred with respect to preemption gaps to facilitate rabid transmissions for urgent data.
In regard to Claim 23, as presented in the rejection of Claim 20, Wang in view of Kim teaches the AP STA.
Wang in view of Kim fails to teach the processor circuitry is further configured to: in a preemption gap of the ongoing OFDM uplink transmission, reserve a protected service period for Non-Orthogonal Multiple Access (NOMA) uplink transmission from a group of non-AP STAs, wherein the NOMA uplink transmission is used to carry uplink urgent packets from the group of non-AP STAs and the uplink urgent packets are generated from uplink urgent data that must be transmitted without waiting for a scheduled uplink slot.
Li teaches the processor circuitry is further configured to: in a preemption gap of the ongoing OFDM uplink transmission, reserve a protected service period for Non-Orthogonal Multiple Access (NOMA) uplink transmission from a group of non-AP STAs, wherein the NOMA uplink transmission is used to carry uplink urgent packets from the group of non-AP STAs and the uplink urgent packets are generated from uplink urgent data that must be transmitted without waiting for a scheduled uplink slot (The RUR is a resource map that includes a duration 1124 and one or more resources 1126 that are reallocated to the URLLC UE, which is granted UL resources 1114. The resources 1126 reallocated to the scheduled URLLC transmission may also be referred to, herein, as a preemption gap, Para. 100, FIG. 11).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Li with the teachings of Wang in view of Kim since Li provides a technique for URLLC transmissions to be utilized with respect to preemption gaps, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Wang in view of Kim to permit urgent data to be transferred with respect to preemption gaps to facilitate rabid transmissions for urgent data.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Kim, and further in view of Xu et al. (Pub. No.: US 20140198663 A1), hereafter referred to as Xu.
In regard to Claim 6, as presented in the rejection of Claim 1, Wang in view of Kim teaches the ongoing OFDM downlink transmission.
Wang in view of Kim fails to teach the processor circuitry is further configured to cause the AP STA to: transmit a trigger frame to a group of non-AP STAs to trigger uplink urgent transmission from the group of non-AP STAs, wherein the trigger frame comprises a Network Allocation Vector (NAV) value to indicate a location of the blank symbol of the ongoing OFDM uplink transmission or the ongoing OFDM downlink transmission from the AP STA, the uplink urgent transmission is used to carry uplink urgent packets from the group of non-AP STAs, and the uplink urgent packets are generated from uplink urgent data that must be transmitted without waiting for a scheduled uplink slot.
Xu teaches the processor circuitry is further configured to cause the AP STA to: transmit a trigger frame to a group of non-AP STAs to trigger uplink urgent transmission from the group of non-AP STAs, wherein the trigger frame comprises a Network Allocation Vector (NAV) value to indicate a location of the blank symbol of the ongoing OFDM uplink transmission or the ongoing OFDM downlink transmission from the AP STA, the uplink urgent transmission is used to carry uplink urgent packets from the group of non-AP STAs, and the uplink urgent packets are generated from uplink urgent data that must be transmitted without waiting for a scheduled uplink slot (the cellular base unit maintains a paging cycle for urgent DL traffic, and the MTC device utilizes RACH 702 to transmit urgent UL traffic. For urgent UL data, the MTC device may send a RACH signal to trigger a connection from the base unit. When triggering a connection from the base unit for urgent UL data, the MTC device may reveal its unique identity in the RACH procedure to connect to the network, Para. 64, FIG. 7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Xu with the teachings of Wang in view of Kim since Xu provides a technique for a unit to permit triggers for transmitting urgent traffic, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Wang in view of Kim to permit urgent uplink data to be transmitted based on resources that involve triggers to accommodate the urgency of such data from wireless devices.
Claim(s) 7-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Kim, and further in view of Wu et al. (Pub. No.: US 20190116574 A1), hereafter referred to as Wu.
In regard to Claim 7, as presented in the rejection of Claim 1, Wang in view of Kim teaches the blank symbol of the ongoing OFDM uplink transmission.
Wang in view of Kim fails to teach a location of the blank symbol of the ongoing OFDM uplink transmission is coded in a header of an uplink frame of the ongoing OFDM uplink transmission.
Wu teaches a location of the blank symbol of the ongoing OFDM uplink transmission is coded in a header of an uplink frame of the ongoing OFDM uplink transmission (the processing circuit 154 transmits the positioning data through the first communication module 152. The confirmation message is filled in a payload or specific blanks or columns of a header, Para. 44).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Wu with the teachings of Wang in view of Kim since Wu provides a technique for incorporating data into blanks of a header, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Wang in view of Kim to permit urgent uplink data to be introduced into blank header sections for rapid transfer of the data.
In regard to Claim 8, as presented in the rejection of Claim 1, Wang in view of Kim teaches the blank symbol of the ongoing OFDM downlink transmission.
Wang in view of Kim fails to teach a location of the blank symbol of the ongoing OFDM downlink transmission is coded in a header of a downlink frame of the ongoing OFDM downlink transmission.
Wu teaches a location of the blank symbol of the ongoing OFDM downlink transmission is coded in a header of a downlink frame of the ongoing OFDM downlink transmission (the processing circuit 154 transmits the positioning data through the first communication module 152. The confirmation message is filled in a payload or specific blanks or columns of a header, Para. 44).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Wu with the teachings of Wang in view of Kim since Wu provides a technique for incorporating data into blanks of a header, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Wang in view of Kim to permit urgent uplink data to be introduced into blank header sections for rapid transfer of the data.
In regard to Claim 9, as presented in the rejection of Claim 1, Wang in view of Kim teaches the blank symbol of the ongoing OFDM downlink transmission.
Wang in view of Kim fails to teach a number of consecutive blank symbols of the ongoing OFDM uplink transmission or the ongoing OFDM downlink transmission is less than or equal to three.
Wu teaches a number of consecutive blank symbols of the ongoing OFDM uplink transmission or the ongoing OFDM downlink transmission is less than or equal to three (the processing circuit 154 transmits the positioning data through the first communication module 152. The confirmation message is filled in a payload or specific blanks or columns of a header, Para. 44).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Wu with the teachings of Wang in view of Kim since Wu provides a technique for incorporating data into blanks of a header, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Wang in view of Kim to permit urgent uplink data to be introduced into blank header sections for rapid transfer of the data.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Kim, and further in view of Kishida et al. (Pub. No.: US 20230354186 A1), hereafter referred to as Kishida.
In regard to Claim 10, as presented in the rejection of Claim 1, Wang in view of Kim teaches the ongoing OFDM downlink transmission.
Wang in view of Kim fails to teach a Transmission opportunity (TXOP) for the ongoing OFDM uplink transmission or the ongoing OFDM downlink transmission is limited to a specified value.
Kishida teaches a Transmission opportunity (TXOP) for the ongoing OFDM uplink transmission or the ongoing OFDM downlink transmission is limited to a specified value (TXOPLimit indicates the upper limit value of transmission opportunity (TXOP) corresponding to a channel-occupying time. The larger the value of TXOPLimit is, the larger the amount of data transmitted with a one-time transmission right, Para. 64).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kishida with the teachings of Wang in view of Kim since Kishida provides a technique for utilizing values of transmission opportunities to control amounts of data, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Wang in view of Kim to permit the amounts of urgent data to be controlled through values of transmission opportunities.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Kim, and further in view of Fischer et al. (Pub. No.: US 20170142592 A1), hereafter referred to as Fischer.
In regard to Claim 11, as presented in the rejection of Claim 1, Wang in view of Kim teaches the AP STA.
Wang in view of Kim fails to teach when the AP STA is an AP Multi-Link Device (AP MLD), the processor circuitry is further configured to cause the AP STA to: transmit association-closed signaling indicating that any non-AP STA is not allowed to associate with the AP STA in a specified frequency band.
Fischer teaches when the AP STA is an AP Multi-Link Device (AP MLD), the processor circuitry is further configured to cause the AP STA to: transmit association-closed signaling indicating that any non-AP STA is not allowed to associate with the AP STA in a specified frequency band (the device of the second RAT is denied access to the unlicensed band during the transmission time of the first access point. In one or more embodiments, a coordinating device, central controller or a scheduler instructs the RAT to avoid the unlicensed band, or denies it access to the unlicensed band, during the transmission time of the first access point, Para. 127).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Fischer with the teachings of Wang in view of Kim since Fischer provides a technique for denying access to a certain frequency band, can be introduced into the arrangement of Wang in view of Kim to deny transmissions of urgent uplink data in certain frequency resources to restrict transmissions of certain urgent data to specific frequency resources.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Kim, and further in view of Chang (Pub. No.: US 20090275292 A1), hereafter referred to as Chang.
In regard to Claim 12, as presented in the rejection of Claim 1, Wang in view of Kim teaches the AP STA.
Wang in view of Kim fails to teach when the AP STA is an AP Multi-Link Device (AP MLD), the processor circuitry is further configured to cause the AP STA to: avoid transmitting any readable beacon in a specified frequency band.
Chang teaches when the AP STA is an AP Multi-Link Device (AP MLD), the processor circuitry is further configured to cause the AP STA to: avoid transmitting any readable beacon in a specified frequency band (The PPD 215 may then respond to the SPD 220 during the ANP 330 with an ACK (granting permission to transmit the beacon), a NACK (denying permission to transmit the beacon), Para. 37).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Chang with the teachings of Wang in view of Kim since Chang provides a technique for denying permissions to transmit beacons, can be introduced into the arrangement of Wang in view of Kim to ensure wireless devices avoid transmitting beacons in resources occupies with certain types of communications.
Claim(s) 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Kim, and further in view of Lee et al. (Pub. No.: US 20180092105 A1), hereafter referred to as Lee.
In regard to Claim 13, as presented in the rejection of Claim 1, Wang in view of Kim teaches the AP STA.
Wang in view of Kim fails to teach when the AP STA is an AP Multi-Link Device (AP MLD) communicating with a non-AP MLD, the processor circuitry is further configured to cause the AP STA to: move non-priority traffic between the AP MLD and the non-AP MLD from one frequency band to another frequency band based on Traffic Identifier (TID)-to-link mapping.
Lee teaches when the AP STA is an AP Multi-Link Device (AP MLD) communicating with a non-AP MLD, the processor circuitry is further configured to cause the AP STA to: move non-priority traffic between the AP MLD and the non-AP MLD from one frequency band to another frequency band based on Traffic Identifier (TID)-to-link mapping (the PRB index of the first slot and the PRB index of the second slot are related to a resource for transmission of one urgent signal, and the PRB index of the first slot and the PRB index of the second slot are in a frequency hopping relationship, Para. 13).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Lee with the teachings of Wang in view of Kim since Lee provides a technique for utilizing frequency hopping relationships for transmitting urgent signals, can be introduced into the arrangement of Wang in view of Kim to permit urgent uplink data to be transmitted in different frequency bands over time to increase the robustness of transmissions for urgent data.
In regard to Claim 14, as presented in the rejection of Claim 1, Wang in view of Kim teaches the AP STA.
Wang in view of Kim fails to teach when the AP STA is an AP Multi-Link Device (AP MLD) communicating with a non-AP MLD, the processor circuitry is further configured to cause the AP STA to: add a communication link between the AP MLD and the non-APMLD and enable non-AP STAs in the non-APMLD to communicate with the AP MLD on the added communication link; or remove a communication link between the AP M LD and the non-AP MLD and enable the non-AP STAs in the non-AP MLD to communicate with the AP MLD on a remaining communication link between the AP MILD and the non-AP MLD.
Lee teaches when the AP STA is an AP Multi-Link Device (AP MLD) communicating with a non-AP MLD, the processor circuitry is further configured to cause the AP STA to: add a communication link between the AP MLD and the non-APMLD and enable non-AP STAs in the non-APMLD to communicate with the AP MLD on the added communication link; or remove a communication link between the AP M LD and the non-AP MLD and enable the non-AP STAs in the non-AP MLD to communicate with the AP MLD on a remaining communication link between the AP MILD and the non-AP MLD (Thus, the network may transmit and/or receive data to or from the UE, control mobility such as handover of the UE, Para. 93. The random access procedure is carried out during initial connection in the RRC_IDLE state, initial connection after radio link failure, handover which requires the random access procedure, Para. 172).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Lee with the teachings of Wang in view of Kim since Lee provides a technique for utilizing frequency hopping relationships for transmitting urgent signals, can be introduced into the arrangement of Wang in view of Kim to permit urgent uplink data to be transmitted in different frequency bands over time to increase the robustness of transmissions for urgent data.
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Kim, and further in view of Le Houerou et al. (Pub. No.: US 20240040621 A1), hereafter referred to as Le Houerou.
In regard to Claim 15, as presented in the rejection of Claim 1, Wang in view of Kim teaches the AP STA.
Wang in view of Kim fails to teach when the AP STA is an AP Multi-Link Device (APMLD), the processor circuitry is further configured to cause the AP STA to: define a communication channel as a restricted channel, wherein only non-AP STAs satisfying a predefined condition can associate with the AP STA on the restricted channel.
Le Houerou teaches when the AP STA is an AP Multi-Link Device (APMLD), the processor circuitry is further configured to cause the AP STA to: define a communication channel as a restricted channel, wherein only non-AP STAs satisfying a predefined condition can associate with the AP STA on the restricted channel (the non-AP station may be LLRS capable and the first BSS be dedicated (i.e. restricted) to LLRS not-capable non-AP stations, i.e. to non-LLRS data traffic. In that case, the code thus indicates that the first BSS is dedicated to low latency reliable service, LLRS, not-capable non-AP stations, Para. 54).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Bi with the teachings of Wang in view of Kim since Bi provides a technique for restricting communication with respect to low latency reliable service data, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Wang in view of Kim to ensure restrictions are utilized urgent uplink data to provide low latency service.
Response to Arguments
I. Citations of References Responsive to the Amendments
Wang teaches in Para. 90, a reserved resource 401 in FIG. 3A is a time-frequency resource reserved by a base station for a downlink emergency service, and the reserved resource 401 may occupy X OFDM symbols in time domain, and this is substantively the same as in a blank symbol of ongoing OFDM downlink transmission from the AP STA, transmit the downlink urgent packet to a non-AP STA on frequency domain resources for the ongoing OFDM downlink transmission of Claim 1.
Kim teaches in Para. 114, FIG. 13, a DL reception, where a PDSCH within Uplink band 1350 of a subframe is defined as a predetermined time interval including a plurality of OFDM symbols (Para. 56 of Kim), and this is substantively the same as in a blank symbol of either ongoing Orthogonal Frequency Division Multiplexing (OFDM) uplink transmission to the AP STA, transmit the downlink urgent packet to a non-AP STA on frequency domain resources for either the ongoing OFDM uplink transmission of Claim 1.
II. Arguments for the Claim Rejections under 35 USC § 112
Applicant’s arguments, see page 8, filed 5/14/2025, with respect to the Claim Rejections under 35 USC § 112 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The Claim Rejections under 35 USC § 112 have been withdrawn.
The examiner notes that the clarification of Claims 1, 16 and 20 permitted an updated search based on the clarified claims and yielded reference Oteri et al. (Pub. No.: US 20190327757 A1), which is applied in the above Claim Rejections under 35 USC § 102 of Claims 1, 16 and 20, in addition to the above Claim Rejections under 35 USC § 103 of Claims 1, 16 and 20 applying references Wang in view of Kim.
III. Arguments for the Claim Rejections under 35 USC § 103
Applicant's arguments filed 5/14/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Page 9 of the Remarks presents the argument that 1) In Wang, the base station reserves the first resource as the reserved resource for transmitting the downlink emergency service and transmits the downlink urgent service to the user equipment using the reserved resource. However, in claim 1, the AP STA transmits the downlink urgent packet to the non-AP STA using the frequency domain resources for either the ongoing OFDM uplink transmission or the ongoing OFDM downlink transmission. This argument is not persuasive. Wang teaches in Para. 75 that downlink emergency service may include data information, and teaches in Para. 90 that a reserved resource 401 in FIG. 3A is a time-frequency resource reserved by a base station for a downlink emergency service, and the reserved resource 401 may occupy X OFDM symbols, and this is substantively the same as in a blank symbol of ongoing OFDM downlink transmission from the AP STA, transmit the downlink urgent packet to a non-AP STA on frequency domain resources for the ongoing OFDM downlink transmission of Claim 1.
Page 9 of the Remarks presents the argument that 2) In Wang, the base station transmits the first indication information to instruct the user equipment to receive the downlink urgent service using the reserved resource. However, in claim 1, the AP STA does not transmit any indication information about the frequency domain resources for either the ongoing OFDM uplink transmission or the ongoing OFDM downlink transmission to the non-AP STA. This argument is not persuasive. No limitation of Claim 1 clearly excludes an AP STA from communicating any indication information to a non-AP STA. In other words, Claim 1 does not clearly preclude any indication information from being involved in transmitting a downlink urgent packet.
Page 9 of the Remarks presents the argument that That is to say, Wang does not disclose at least the following features of claim 1: in a blank symbol of either ongoing Orthogonal Frequency Division Multiplexing (OFDM) uplink transmission to the AP STA or ongoing OFDM downlink transmission from the AP STA, transmit the downlink urgent packet to a non-AP STA on frequency domain resources for either the ongoing OFDM uplink transmission or the ongoing OFDM downlink transmission. This argument is not persuasive. As previously presented, Wang teaches in a blank symbol of ongoing OFDM downlink transmission from the AP STA, transmit the downlink urgent packet to a non-AP STA on frequency domain resources for the ongoing OFDM downlink transmission of Claim 1. Kim teaches in Para. 114, FIG. 13, a DL reception, where a PDSCH within Uplink band 1350 of a subframe is defined as a predetermined time interval including a plurality of OFDM symbols (Para. 56 of Kim), and this is substantively the same as in a blank symbol of either ongoing Orthogonal Frequency Division Multiplexing (OFDM) uplink transmission to the AP STA, transmit the downlink urgent packet to a non-AP STA on frequency domain resources for either the ongoing OFDM uplink transmission of Claim 1.
Pages 9-10 of the Remarks present the argument that Although Kim discloses that “in a cellular OFDM wireless packet communication system, an uplink (UL)/downlink (DL) data packet is transmitted on a subframe-by-subframe basis, and one sub-frame is defined as a predetermined time interval including a plurality of OFDM symbols”, it does not discloses that the AP STA transmits the downlink urgent packet to the non-AP STA on the frequency domain resources for either the ongoing OFDM uplink transmission or the ongoing OFDM downlink transmission. That is to say, Kim does not bridge the above differences between Wang and claim 1. This argument is not persuasive. Kim teaches in Para. 114, FIG. 13, a DL reception, where a PDSCH within Uplink band 1350 of a subframe is defined as a predetermined time interval including a plurality of OFDM symbols (Para. 56 of Kim), and this is substantively the same as in a blank symbol of either ongoing Orthogonal Frequency Division Multiplexing (OFDM) uplink transmission to the AP STA, transmit the downlink urgent packet to a non-AP STA on frequency domain resources for either the ongoing OFDM uplink transmission of Claim 1. As a result, Kim does bridge the differences between Wang and Claim 1.
Page 10 of the Remarks presents the argument that In addition, it should be pointed out that a communication mechanism between the base station and the user equipment is substantially different from that between the AP STA and the non-AP STA, so it is improper to evaluate novelty and inventiveness of the commutation solution between the AP STA and the non-AP STA by referencing documents involving specific communication solutions between the base station and the user equipment. This argument is not persuasive. A person of ordinary skill in the art would see that a base station of Wang or BS of Kim can be considered types of Access Point Station (AP STA) of Claim 1, since they provide wireless communications to user equipment (UE). A person of ordinary skill in the art would also see that a UE of Wang or a UE of Kim can be considered types of non-AP STA of Claim 1, since they are provided wireless communications through a base station.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Fakoorian et al. (Pub. No.: US 20190320448 A1) teaches transmit the downlink urgent packet to a non-AP STA on frequency domain resources for either the ongoing OFDM uplink transmission or the ongoing OFDM downlink transmission (examples of preempting uplink MBB communications for downlink low latency communications are described with reference to FIGS. 3 and 4, Para. 71).
Grevious (Patent No.: US 6443891 B1) teaches transmit the downlink urgent packet to a non-AP STA on frequency domain resources for either the ongoing OFDM uplink transmission or the ongoing OFDM downlink transmission (a means to preempt a long uplink message with a higher priority downlink such as an emergency programming command, Col. 13, lines 49-55).
Yang et al. (Pub. No.: US 20200100257 A1) teaches transmit the downlink urgent packet to a non-AP STA on frequency domain resources for either the ongoing OFDM uplink transmission or the ongoing OFDM downlink transmission (base station 105-a may determine whether to configure UE 115-a to monitor for a preemption indication for an uplink or downlink transmission based on a priority associated with the uplink or downlink transmission, Para. 81).
Kim et al. (Pub. No.: US 20210259002 A1) teaches transmit the downlink urgent packet to a non-AP STA on frequency domain resources for either the ongoing OFDM uplink transmission or the ongoing OFDM downlink transmission (FIGS. 1 and 2 illustrate examples of wireless communications systems that support priority indication for downlink preemption and uplink cancellation, Para. 39).
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Joshua Smith
/J.S./
7-12-2025
/CHIRAG G SHAH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2477