DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-12, 29-40 are subject to examination. Claims 13-28 are cancelled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-12, 29-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 1, 29, claims “wireless switch is a low power consumption wireless switch … wherein an activation of said wireless switch causes an signal to be sent to said controller … a controller in wireless communication with said wireless switch, wherein said controller receives said signal from said wireless switch, and communicates a command to said active valve..”
However, the specification does not implement that the controller receives said signal from said wireless switch, even when the switch does not indeed send the signal. The specification does not implement any circuit/structure that is limited to “low power consumption wireless switch”, and that is different than a circuit/structure that is not limited to “low power consumption wireless switch”.
Even though the claimed switch is called, “low power consumption wireless switch”, it does not switch anything in the claim. Whatever the power is drawn is not used for any switching purpose, similar to lots of devices that are well-known. The specification does not implement any novel circuit/structure that is limited to “low power consumption wireless switch”, and that is different as compared to well-known circuits/structure that is not limited to “low power consumption wireless switch” for the sending of the signal.
The specification of this application does not define what “wireless switch has average power draw” (claims 1, 29), which does not include power draw for “command” and “signal”. The claimed average power draw has nothing to do on how many commands/signals are processed.
The claims contain “command” and “signal” that consume “unlimited” power draw, and contrarily the switch has a fix (an average) power draw, without indeed averaging the power draw by the “command” and “signal” that is claimed.
The specification of this application fails to implement any wireless switch that implement “command” and “signal” that consume “unlimited” power draw and also “wireless switch that has average power draw” (claims 1, 29), which does not include power draw for “command” and “signal” and also has a fixed power draw (so called average power draw) with a limit that is not applicable to the command/signal.
For example,
To understand the battery capacity of a device with a capacity of 173 mAh and a runtime of 23 months, following calculation applies:
Battery Capacity (mAh): 173 mAh
Runtime (months): 23 months
Battery Voltage (V): 3.7V (common for smartphones)
Power Consumption (W): 100W (for a typical smartphone during high usage)
Power Output (Watts): Watts = (mAh × Volts) ÷ (1000 × hours) = (173 mAh × 3.7V) ÷ (1000 × 23 hours) ≈ 1.34WThis calculation shows that a 173 mAh battery can deliver approximately 1.34 watts of power over 23 months, assuming a constant power consumption of 100W
However, the claim does not contain how much command and signal actually consumes power (unlimited).
The average includes sleeping time etc. versus the signal and command are omitted of the claim in the average.
As claimed in claim 1, average power draw which typically does not exceed 150 microamp, which does not limit that the wireless switch power draw cannot be more than 150 microamp. Also “average” is not limited to an average of one, two, or fifty power draw, as the claimed active state of the system is not limited to having more than one power draw. Hence, the claimed switch is not indeed limited to low power consumption.
As claimed in claim 29, wireless switch has an average power draw such that during typical use of the system, a battery having a capacity of approximately 173 mAh will power said system for approximately 23 months, which does not limit that the system (the claim contains comprising) even if there is more number of switches in the system, the power to the system would last for the 23 months. The 23 months depends upon the switch power draw and not the entire system (more than the switch) power draw.
Also “average” is not limited to an average of one, two, or fifty power draw, as the claimed active state of the system is not limited to having more than one power draw. Hence, the claimed switch is not indeed limited to low power consumption.
As claimed in claim 29, wireless switch has an average power draw such that during typical use of the system, a battery having a capacity of approximately 173 mAh will power said system for approximately 23 months, the specification does not implement that the wireless switch stops drawing power to (send a command, receive signal) to accomplish an unknown average power draw. There is no control by the battery and the average power draw on how much power draw is done by the switch. The power draw depends on how many commands are sent and how many signals are received. Base on it the average power draw can be known. Since, the claim does not contain how much power is drawn by the command and the signal, and how many commands and signals are processed by the switch, the average power draw cannot be obtained. The specification does not implement that the wireless switch stops drawing power to (send a command, receive signal) after the 23 months. The specification does not define typical use of the system, in which how many number of commands and signals are processed per day/year, etc. Typical user of the system depends upon a user. Some users send many commands and some don’t during the same normal use, but the same battery cannot last 23 months for different users (typical). Similar applies to “typically” of claim 1, which is not implemented by the specification.
Claims 2-12, 30-40 depends upon claims 1 and 29 and hence subject to same rejections.
Claims 1-12, 29-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As claimed in claims 1, average power draw which typically does not exceed 150 microamp, which does not limit that the wireless switch power draw cannot be more than 150 microamp. Also “average” is not limited to an average of one, two, or fifty power draw, as the claimed active state of the system is not limited to having more than one power draw. The typically as compared to not typically being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter.
As claimed in claim 29, wireless switch has an average power draw such that during typical use of the system, a battery having a capacity of approximately 173 mAh will power said system for approximately 23 months, which does not limit that the wireless switch power draw can be same or different. The wireless switch consumes power draw depending upon the messages that are received and/or transmitted, not based on the capacity of the battery. The typical use of the system does not mean that the wireless switch sends/ receives more or less number of messages. If no messages are sent/received then the wireless switch do not consume power draw. The typical use of the system is not limited to same for each user as some user use the system a lot without having to use the wireless switch to power draw and some users use the system very less but having to use the wireless switch a lot for sending messages and consume lots of power draw. The typical as compared to not-typical being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter. Also “average” is not limited to an average of one, two, or fifty power draw, as the claimed active state of the system is not limited to having more than one power draw.
As claimed in claims 1, wherein said wireless switch has an average power draw which typically does not exceed 150 microamp during an active state of said system;
the “average” is not limited to an actual average of one, two, or fifty power draws.
The claimed contains comprising and the wireless switch is still available to draw any power draw (including more than 150 microamp (as “typically” does not exclude other than “typically” power draw).
The claimed “active state” is not limited to any particular amount of time and “active state” is not limited to have more than one power draw. The claimed “active state” includes, for example, very small fraction of a second using a single power draw. An average of a single power draw is the single power draw itself. Also, the claimed “active state” is not limited to more than one states, in which the every time the switch is used the average is being changed/updated. Also, during the claimed active state does no messages are communicated and hence there is no power draw for any such messages.
Hence, the claimed subject matter (wherein said wireless switch has an average power draw which typically does not exceed 150 microamp during an active state of said system) is being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter.
Claims 1 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being incomplete for omitting essential elements, such omission amounting to a gap between the elements. See MPEP § 2172.01. The omitted elements are: including the power drawn by the signal and the command in the average. The power drawn by the signal and the command are needed for the low power of the battery calculation, rather other power drawn like sleep etc of the average.
Claims 2-12, 30-40 depends upon claims 1 and 29 and hence subject to same rejections.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 29, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MASUDA et al., DE 102019101567 A1 in view of BINDER et al., WO 2017149526 A2, Lannen et al., 20150375592, Laird EP 3399209 B1 and Official Notice.
Referring to claims 1, Masuda discloses a system comprising: a wireless switch,
(3) As in 2 can be seen, includes the release mechanism RM one of the suspension 18 attached button RM1 , one on the front derailleur 14 attached button RM2 , one on the adjustable seat post 16 attached lever RM3 and one on the backup drive unit 20 attached button RM4 , The lever RM3 and each of the buttons RM1 . RM2 . RM4 may be another input interface, such as a switch. As in 2 can be seen, includes the release mechanism RM ( RM1 to RM4 ) an indicator RMi (RM1i to RM4i). The indicator RMi comprises one of a light transmitter, a loudspeaker and a vibrator. The controller CC is configured to control the indicator RMi to indicate an operating state of the human powered vehicle 1 when the sensor ( one of sr1 - sr4 . v1 - S v2 . Sp1 - sp3 . ss1 - ss2 and Sk) information regarding the operating state of the human powered vehicle 1 detected. For example, the controller CC for controlling the indicator RMi to emit light, to generate sound or to vibrate when the sensor ( one of sr1 - sr4 . v1 - S v2 . Sp1 - sp3 . ss1 - ss2 and Sk) information regarding the operating state of the human powered vehicle 1 detected. As further in 3 can be seen, each of the release mechanisms RM electrically with a wireless transmitter (one of WT1 to WT4 ) to another wireless receiving device 12 to send (a) information (s), whether the release mechanism RM is pressed. In this case, one of the release mechanisms RM1 to RM4 are omitted, and each of the wireless receiving devices 12 can use the information received via wireless communication, first paragraph, page 24
wherein said wireless switch is a low power consumption wireless switch
With the wireless receiving apparatus according to the first aspect, it is possible to reduce the power consumption. According to a fourteenth aspect of the present invention, the wireless receiving apparatus according to any one of the first to thirteenth aspects is arranged such that the operation modes further include a third mode in which the receiver consumes less electric power than in the second mode. The controller is set up to set the receiver to the third mode when a third elapsed time has elapsed since the controller controls the receiver to operate in the second mode. The controller is arranged to control the receiver to continue in the third mode until an additional enable condition is achieved while the receiver is operating in the third mode, para 7, page 4
one sensor; and
Furthermore, the wireless receiving device (the adjustable seat post 16 ) an energy source PS , which is arranged to supply a first electrical energy to a receiver RV. In the following description, the power source PS of the adjustable seat post 16 especially as third energy source PS3 designated. The third energy source PS3 is electric with the third receiver RV3 , the third wireless transmitter WT 3 , the third bicycle component controller CC3 , the third detector DT3 , the seatpost sensor sensor SPS and the electric seat post actuator SPA connected. Accordingly, the third energy source PS3 set up to the third recipient RV3 and the third wireless transmitter WT 3 to supply the first electrical energy. Furthermore, the third energy source PS3 set up to the third bicycle component controller CC3 , the third detector DT3 , the seat post position sensor SPS and the electric seat post actuator SPA to supply the first electrical energy. The third energy source PS3 may include a primary battery such as a lithium manganese dioxide battery, and a secondary battery such as a lithium-ion secondary battery. In this embodiment, the third energy source comprises PS3 a primary button battery. The electric seat post actuator SPA , the seat post position sensor SPS , the third recipient RV3 , the third wireless transmitter WT 3 , the third bicycle component controller CC3 , the third detector DT3 and the third energy source PS3 form a seat post motor unit SPMU, fourth para, page 20,
a controller in wireless communication with said sensor and said wireless switch,
According to a first aspect of the present invention, a wireless receiving device for a human powered vehicle includes a receiver and a controller. The receiver is configured to wirelessly receive a radio wave that includes a communication signal to communicate with a component of the human powered vehicle. The receiver is configured to perform one operating mode under operating modes including a first mode and a second mode in which the receiver consumes less electrical power than in the first mode. The controller is arranged to set the receiver in / to the second mode when the receiver does not receive the communication signal in a time period of the first mode while the receiver is operating in the first mode. The controller is arranged to count a consecutive number of non-communication times when non-communication times occur consecutively. Each of the non-communication durations is a period in which the receiver does not receive the communication signal during a total duration of the first mode. The controller is arranged to set the receiver in / to the first mode when the consecutive number of non-communication times is less than a count threshold. The controller is arranged to control the receiver to continue to operate in the second mode until a release condition is reached when the consecutive number of non-communication durations is greater than or equal to the count threshold, third para, page 2,
wherein said controller receives an input from said wireless switch, and communicates an command to a smart component, said command to said one smart component (
The wireless receiving device 12 (the adjustable seat post 16 ) comprises a receiver RV , which is adapted to receive a radio wave, which is a communication signal WS22A . WS22B includes with a component of the human powered vehicle 1 (the adjustable seat post 16 ) to communicate. In the following description will be the receiver RV the adjustable seat post 16 especially as a third receiver RV3 designated. The wireless receiving device 12 (the adjustable seat post 16 ) includes the controller CC , In the following description will be the controller CC the adjustable seat post 16 especially as a third bicycle component controller CC3 designated. The seat post position sensor SPS, the electric seat post actuator SPA , the third recipient RV3 and the third wireless transmitter WT 3 are electrically with the third bicycle component controller CC3 connected. The third bicycle component controller CC3 is set up to the electric seat post actuator SPA based on the first or the second seat post control signal WS22A or WS22B and to control the position detected by the seat post position sensor SPS. In particular, the third bicycle component controller is CC3 configured to be a rotational direction of the rotational shaft based on the rotational position and the first or second seat post control signal WS22A or WS22B to control. The third bicycle component controller CC3 is set up to the electric seat post actuator SPA to control the rotation of the rotary shaft stop when the total length of the adjustable seat post 16 the maximum length or the minimum length independent of the first and second seat post control signals WS22A and WS22B reached. The third bicycle component controller CC3 is set up to the electric seat post actuator SPA based on the first and second seatpost signals WS22A and WS22B to steer to the second pipe SP2 relative to the first pipe SP1 in the telescope direction D2 to move. The third bicycle component controller CC3 is set up to the electric seat post actuator SPA in response to the first seatpost control signal WS22A the second pipe SP2 for shortening the adjustable seat post 16 to move. The seat post actuator driver SP7 controls the electric seat post actuator SPA to the second pipe SP2 for extending the adjustable seat post 16 in response to the second seat post control signal WS22B to move (para 2-4, page 19).
Masuda, does not disclose, which is well known in the art, which Binder discloses during an active state of the system (Wireless switch with Low-Power Wireless Technology, Any wireless transceiver, active state, Bluetooth/ ZigBee)
Any wireless transceiver herein may be operative to communicate in an ad-hoc scheme, and may be used with an intermediary device configured to communicate the first data with the intermediary device using an infrastructure scheme. The intermediary device may be a Wireless Access Point (WAP), a wireless switch, or a wireless router, 3rd para, page 122,
Any wireless network herein may be a Wireless Wide Area Network (WW AN), any wireless transceiver herein may be a WW AN transceiver, and any antenna herein may be a WW AN antenna. The WW AN may be a wireless broadband network, or may be a WiMAX network. Any antenna herein may be a WiMAX antenna, and any wireless transceiver herein may be a WiMAX modem, and the WiMAX network may be according to, may be compatible with, or may be based on, IEEE 802.16-2009., 4th para, page 122,
While data is on the bus, all LFN-nodes are requested to be in active state. After a specified timeout, the nodes enter Sleep mode and will be released back to active state by a WAKEUP frame. This frame may be sent by any node requesting activity on the bus, either the LFN Master following its internal schedule, or one of the attached LFN Slaves being activated by its internal software application. After all nodes are awakened, the Master continues to schedule the next Identifier, last para, page 64,
ZigBee. ZigBee is a standard for a suite of high-level communication protocols using small, low-power digital radios based on an IEEE 802 standard for Personal Area Network (PAN). Applications include wireless light switches, electrical meters with in- home-displays, and other consumer and industrial equipment that require a short-range wireless transfer of data at relatively low rates. The technology defined by the ZigBee specification is intended to be simpler and less expensive than other WPANs, such as Bluetooth. ZigBee is targeted at Radio-Frequency (RF) applications that require a low data rate, long battery life, and secure networking. ZigBee has a defined rate of 250 kbps suited for periodic or intermittent data or a single signal transmission from a sensor or input device, 2nd para, page 82.
Bluetooth Low Energy. Bluetooth low energy (Bluetooth LE, BLE, marketed as Bluetooth Smart) is a wireless personal area network technology designed and marketed by the Bluetooth Special Interest Group (SIG) aimed at novel applications in the healthcare, fitness, beacons, security, and home entertainment industries. Compared to Classic Bluetooth, Bluetooth Smart is intended to provide considerably reduced power consumption and cost while maintaining a similar communication range. "Overview and Evaluation of Bluetooth Low Energy: An Emerging Low-Power Wireless Technology", 2nd para, page 86.
Binder also discloses well-known use of mobile device application that communicates with all the devices/processing entities
Smartphone. A mobile phone (also known as a cellular phone, cell phone, smartphone, or hand phone) is a device which can make and receive telephone calls over a radio link whilst moving around a wide geographic area, by connecting to a cellular network provided by a mobile network operator. The calls are to and from the public telephone network, which includes other mobiles and fixed-line phones across the world. The Smartphones are typically hand-held and may combine the functions of a personal digital assistant (PDA), and may serve as portable media players and camera phones with high-resolution touch-screens, web browsers that can access, and properly display, standard web pages rather than just mobile-optimized sites, GPS navigation, Wi-Fi, and mobile broadband access. In addition to telephony, the Smartphones may support a wide variety of other services such as text messaging, MMS, email, Internet access, short- range wireless communications (infrared, Bluetooth), business applications, gaming and photography, 2nd para, page 90.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention disclosed by Masuda to implement these limitations and also one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because it could provide utilizing low power wireless communication capability. This would provide considerably reduced power consumption and cost while maintaining a necessary communication range, 2nd para, page 82.
Masuda, Binder does not disclose, which is well known in the art, which Laird discloses an active valve configured to receive said command and modify a damping characteristic of the damper based on said command.
Referring now to Figure 13, in various embodiments of the present invention, a damper valve includes a plurality of air chambers wherein the communication between the plurality of air chambers is automatically adjustable using lever 808. In one such embodiment, lever 808 is solenoid operated, hydraulically operated, pneumatically operated, or operated by any other suitable motive mechanism. Lever 808 may be operated remotely by a switch or potentiometer located in the cockpit of a vehicle or attached to appropriate operational parts of a vehicle for timely activation (e.g. brake pedal) or may be operated in response to input from a microprocessor (e.g. calculating desired settings based on vehicle acceleration sensor data) or any suitable combination of activation means. In like manner, a controller for lever 808 may be cockpit mounted and may be manually adjustable or microprocessor controlled or both or selectively either. It may be desirable to increase the damping rate of a damper valve of a suspension damper when moving a vehicle from off-road to on highway use. Off-road use often requires a high degree of compliance to absorb shocks imparted by the widely varying terrain. On highway use, particularly with long wheel travel vehicles, often requires more rigid shock absorption to allow a user to maintain control of a vehicle at higher speeds. This may be especially true during cornering or braking, para 1, 2, page 12.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention disclosed by Masuda to implement these limitations and also one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because it could provide changing a damping characteristic of the damper. The microprocessor would increase the damping rate of a damper valve of the suspension damper, para 1, 2, page 12.
Masuda, Laird and Binder do not disclose, which Lannen discloses, said wireless switch communicatively coupled with an active valve suspension and with an active valve application, wherein an activation of said wireless switch causes an signal to be sent to said controller, receiving of the signal, command to said active value suspension (
[0044] In the even that the threshold pressure value 54A has not been achieved in the accumulator 54 and/or detected by the controller 62, the controller will continue monitoring pressure inside the accumulator until the pressure reaches the threshold value before increasing the ride height 58. In the event that the detected vehicle road speed is below a predetermined speed 13A above which aerodynamics of the vehicle 10 can be enhanced by reducing the ride height 58, the controller 62 can command the adjustable suspension system 24 to reduce the ride height via the bladders 40. Otherwise, if the detected road speed of the vehicle 10 is below such a predetermined speed 13A, the controller 62 can command the adjustable suspension system 24 to maintain currently selected ride height 58.
[0034] The controller 62 may be a standalone control unit dedicated to regulating the valve 56 in order to vary and select the ride height 58 in response to road conditions, road speed of the vehicle 10, and other pre-set variables, as well as an occurrence of specific predetermined vehicle events.
[0011] The adjustable suspension system may include a valve in fluid communication with the accumulator, wherein such a valve is configured to selectively retain the accumulated fluid in and release the accumulated fluid from the accumulator. The adjustable suspension system may also include a sensor configured to detect the volume of the fluid held by the bladder and generate a signal indicative of the volume to the controller. In such a case, the step of selecting the height of the vehicle body may be accomplished via the controller regulating the valve in response to the signal).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention disclosed by Masuda to implement these limitations and also one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because it could provide utilizing the suspension. When the detected road speed of the vehicle 10 is below such a predetermined speed 13A, the controller 62 can command the adjustable suspension system 24 to maintain currently selected ride height 58. [0034] The controller 62 may be a standalone control unit dedicated to regulating the valve 56 in order to vary and select the ride height 58 in response to road conditions, road speed of the vehicle 10, and other pre-set variables, as well as an occurrence of specific predetermined vehicle events. [0011] The adjustable suspension system may include a valve in fluid communication with the accumulator, wherein such a valve is configured to selectively retain the accumulated fluid in and release the accumulated fluid from the accumulator.
Masuda, Laird, Lannen and Binder do not disclose, which do not disclose, typically does not exceed 150 microamp draw. However, this is well-known and expected in the art. The Binder taught wireless communication is open to any power/voltage/current. Without it the wireless communication is not possible. One of ordinary skill in the art would also know that usage of “not exceeding 150 microamp” has been available for long. For example,
The Importance of Average Power Consumption to Battery Life, April 29, 2016,
Yazdi et al., 20170103683 para 84, discloses, the corresponding power draw is 1-3 micro-amperes for a periodic scan every 10-30 seconds.
WIRELESS SURFACE MOUNTABLE SENSORS AND ACTUATORS
US 20210127975 A1
[0099] Long range wireless communication and power delivery, and multiplexed readout: Because a typical sensor in certain embodiments, such as shown in FIG. 3A, requires relatively small power for operation, (standby: 2 μA @ 1.5V (˜3 μW); operating: 150 μA @ 1.5V (˜225 μW) a standard smartphone can be used as a reader over distances of a few centimeters, as in FIG. 14. The operating range depends on the sizes and numbers of reader antennas, the RF power supplied to them, the size of the sensor antenna, and its orientation relative to the reader
US 20200129701 A1
[0031] Suppose that ZigBee or low-power Wi-Fi is employed for wireless transmission, and that estimated energy losses are 40%. The sum of energy consumed during data acquisition E.sub.DA (which may be assumed to be 1.2-150 μA for capacitive fill measurement) and energy consumed during temporary storage E.sub.DS may be approximately 0.250 J. In some embodiments, 0.036 J of electrical energy E.sub.xmit may be consumed during data transmission (power requirement for low-power Wi-Fi/ZigBee is 36 mJ per 24 bytes of data. For Bluetooth low energy it is less, 0.147 mJ). Suppose E.sub.gross is 0.75 J, which means E.sub.loss is 0.3 J. Plugging the values set forth above into Equation (3) shows that there is sufficient net energy E.sub.net to acquire, store, and transmit data:
UNVERSAL DIMMING EMULATOR FOR LED DRIVER
US 20220191988 A1
[0038] FIG. 3 shows an exemplary embodiment of a dimming emulator, in accordance with various exemplary embodiments. The dimming emulator 300 may be used in a lighting system (e.g., such as a wireless color-tuning device 400 shown in FIG. 4, as described in more detail below). In this exemplary embodiment as shown in FIG. 3, the dimming emulator 300 is shown to include an input stage 310, a coupler 320, and an output stage 330. The dimming emulator 300 is configured to be compatible with existing (e.g., off the shelf) 0 to 10 V drivers. The dimming emulator 300 may be able to operate with a supply current as low as 150 μA while maintaining the same output voltage even if the supply current is increased to a few mA.
An Intrinsic Safety Explosion-proof Vibration Sensor
CN 211717611 U
It should be noted that the circuit board 112 can adopt PCB circuit board, high frequency vibration induction chip adopts single high g value accelerometer, medium frequency vibration induction chip adopts three-axis low g value accelerometer. wherein the full range range (FSR) of the three-axis low g value accelerometer is ± 4g ~ ± 50g, with 1Hz to 10kHz selectable digital filtering, 25 /Hz μ noise density and 150 μA power consumption, realizing the performance level of expensive broadband vibration device with low cost. By setting the high frequency vibration induction chip and the intermediate frequency vibration induction chip in the circuit board 112, it can realize the real measurement of vibration in three directions. the vibration data measured by the sensor main body 110 is transmitted to the intrinsic safety flame-proof converter 120 through the connecting piece 130, further processing the vibration signal through the intrinsic safety circuit 123 set in the flame-proof converter 120, so as to realize the mode of the wireless gateway, monitoring and analyzing the device operation state, 1st para page 4.
LIU et al., CN 105701986 A discloses it, first para, page 8. Fish et al., 20080290907 discloses it, para 26. KR 101841130 B1 discloses it, 3rd para, page 7. Moosavi, 20130196594 discloses it, para 19, 24. Chamarti et al., 20130119974 discloses it, para 31, 34. WEI, 20100156175 discloses it, abstract. ZHANG et al., CN 107132668 A, 1st para, page 4. US_5163754_A_I, 2nd last para, page 5.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention disclosed by Masuda to implement these limitations and also one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because it could provide utilizing not exceeding 150 microamp draw. This would provide considerably reduced power consumption and cost while maintaining a necessary communication range.
Claim(s) 29, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MASUDA et al., DE 102019101567 A1 in view of BINDER et al., WO 2017149526 A2, Lannen et al., 20150375592, Laird EP 3399209 B1 and Official Notice.
Referring to claims 29, Masuda discloses a system comprising: a wireless switch,
(3) As in 2 can be seen, includes the release mechanism RM one of the suspension 18 attached button RM1 , one on the front derailleur 14 attached button RM2 , one on the adjustable seat post 16 attached lever RM3 and one on the backup drive unit 20 attached button RM4 , The lever RM3 and each of the buttons RM1 . RM2 . RM4 may be another input interface, such as a switch. As in 2 can be seen, includes the release mechanism RM ( RM1 to RM4 ) an indicator RMi (RM1i to RM4i). The indicator RMi comprises one of a light transmitter, a loudspeaker and a vibrator. The controller CC is configured to control the indicator RMi to indicate an operating state of the human powered vehicle 1 when the sensor ( one of sr1 - sr4 . v1 - S v2 . Sp1 - sp3 . ss1 - ss2 and Sk) information regarding the operating state of the human powered vehicle 1 detected. For example, the controller CC for controlling the indicator RMi to emit light, to generate sound or to vibrate when the sensor ( one of sr1 - sr4 . v1 - S v2 . Sp1 - sp3 . ss1 - ss2 and Sk) information regarding the operating state of the human powered vehicle 1 detected. As further in 3 can be seen, each of the release mechanisms RM electrically with a wireless transmitter (one of WT1 to WT4 ) to another wireless receiving device 12 to send (a) information (s), whether the release mechanism RM is pressed. In this case, one of the release mechanisms RM1 to RM4 are omitted, and each of the wireless receiving devices 12 can use the information received via wireless communication, first paragraph, page 24
wherein said wireless switch is a low power consumption wireless switch
With the wireless receiving apparatus according to the first aspect, it is possible to reduce the power consumption. According to a fourteenth aspect of the present invention, the wireless receiving apparatus according to any one of the first to thirteenth aspects is arranged such that the operation modes further include a third mode in which the receiver consumes less electric power than in the second mode. The controller is set up to set the receiver to the third mode when a third elapsed time has elapsed since the controller controls the receiver to operate in the second mode. The controller is arranged to control the receiver to continue in the third mode until an additional enable condition is achieved while the receiver is operating in the third mode, para 7, page 4
one sensor; and
Furthermore, the wireless receiving device (the adjustable seat post 16 ) an energy source PS , which is arranged to supply a first electrical energy to a receiver RV. In the following description, the power source PS of the adjustable seat post 16 especially as third energy source PS3 designated. The third energy source PS3 is electric with the third receiver RV3 , the third wireless transmitter WT 3 , the third bicycle component controller CC3 , the third detector DT3 , the seatpost sensor sensor SPS and the electric seat post actuator SPA connected. Accordingly, the third energy source PS3 set up to the third recipient RV3 and the third wireless transmitter WT 3 to supply the first electrical energy. Furthermore, the third energy source PS3 set up to the third bicycle component controller CC3 , the third detector DT3 , the seat post position sensor SPS and the electric seat post actuator SPA to supply the first electrical energy. The third energy source PS3 may include a primary battery such as a lithium manganese dioxide battery, and a secondary battery such as a lithium-ion secondary battery. In this embodiment, the third energy source comprises PS3 a primary button battery. The electric seat post actuator SPA , the seat post position sensor SPS , the third recipient RV3 , the third wireless transmitter WT 3 , the third bicycle component controller CC3 , the third detector DT3 and the third energy source PS3 form a seat post motor unit SPMU, fourth para, page 20,
a controller in wireless communication with said sensor and said wireless switch,
According to a first aspect of the present invention, a wireless receiving device for a human powered vehicle includes a receiver and a controller. The receiver is configured to wirelessly receive a radio wave that includes a communication signal to communicate with a component of the human powered vehicle. The receiver is configured to perform one operating mode under operating modes including a first mode and a second mode in which the receiver consumes less electrical power than in the first mode. The controller is arranged to set the receiver in / to the second mode when the receiver does not receive the communication signal in a time period of the first mode while the receiver is operating in the first mode. The controller is arranged to count a consecutive number of non-communication times when non-communication times occur consecutively. Each of the non-communication durations is a period in which the receiver does not receive the communication signal during a total duration of the first mode. The controller is arranged to set the receiver in / to the first mode when the consecutive number of non-communication times is less than a count threshold. The controller is arranged to control the receiver to continue to operate in the second mode until a release condition is reached when the consecutive number of non-communication durations is greater than or equal to the count threshold, third para, page 2,
wherein said controller receives an input from said wireless switch, and communicates an command to a smart component, said command to said one smart component (
The wireless receiving device 12 (the adjustable seat post 16 ) comprises a receiver RV , which is adapted to receive a radio wave, which is a communication signal WS22A . WS22B includes with a component of the human powered vehicle 1 (the adjustable seat post 16 ) to communicate. In the following description will be the receiver RV the adjustable seat post 16 especially as a third receiver RV3 designated. The wireless receiving device 12 (the adjustable seat post 16 ) includes the controller CC , In the following description will be the controller CC the adjustable seat post 16 especially as a third bicycle component controller CC3 designated. The seat post position sensor SPS, the electric seat post actuator SPA , the third recipient RV3 and the third wireless transmitter WT 3 are electrically with the third bicycle component controller CC3 connected. The third bicycle component controller CC3 is set up to the electric seat post actuator SPA based on the first or the second seat post control signal WS22A or WS22B and to control the position detected by the seat post position sensor SPS. In particular, the third bicycle component controller is CC3 configured to be a rotational direction of the rotational shaft based on the rotational position and the first or second seat post control signal WS22A or WS22B to control. The third bicycle component controller CC3 is set up to the electric seat post actuator SPA to control the rotation of the rotary shaft stop when the total length of the adjustable seat post 16 the maximum length or the minimum length independent of the first and second seat post control signals WS22A and WS22B reached. The third bicycle component controller CC3 is set up to the electric seat post actuator SPA based on the first and second seatpost signals WS22A and WS22B to steer to the second pipe SP2 relative to the first pipe SP1 in the telescope direction D2 to move. The third bicycle component controller CC3 is set up to the electric seat post actuator SPA in response to the first seatpost control signal WS22A the second pipe SP2 for shortening the adjustable seat post 16 to move. The seat post actuator driver SP7 controls the electric seat post actuator SPA to the second pipe SP2 for extending the adjustable seat post 16 in response to the second seat post control signal WS22B to move (para 2-4, page 19).
Masuda, does not disclose, which is well known in the art, which Binder discloses during an active state of the system (Wireless switch with Low-Power Wireless Technology, Any wireless transceiver, active state, Bluetooth/ ZigBee)
Any wireless transceiver herein may be operative to communicate in an ad-hoc scheme, and may be used with an intermediary device configured to communicate the first data with the intermediary device using an infrastructure scheme. The intermediary device may be a Wireless Access Point (WAP), a wireless switch, or a wireless router, 3rd para, page 122,
Any wireless network herein may be a Wireless Wide Area Network (WW AN), any wireless transceiver herein may be a WW AN transceiver, and any antenna herein may be a WW AN antenna. The WW AN may be a wireless broadband network, or may be a WiMAX network. Any antenna herein may be a WiMAX antenna, and any wireless transceiver herein may be a WiMAX modem, and the WiMAX network may be according to, may be compatible with, or may be based on, IEEE 802.16-2009., 4th para, page 122,
While data is on the bus, all LFN-nodes are requested to be in active state. After a specified timeout, the nodes enter Sleep mode and will be released back to active state by a WAKEUP frame. This frame may be sent by any node requesting activity on the bus, either the LFN Master following its internal schedule, or one of the attached LFN Slaves being activated by its internal software application. After all nodes are awakened, the Master continues to schedule the next Identifier, last para, page 64,
ZigBee. ZigBee is a standard for a suite of high-level communication protocols using small, low-power digital radios based on an IEEE 802 standard for Personal Area Network (PAN). Applications include wireless light switches, electrical meters with in- home-displays, and other consumer and industrial equipment that require a short-range wireless transfer of data at relatively low rates. The technology defined by the ZigBee specification is intended to be simpler and less expensive than other WPANs, such as Bluetooth. ZigBee is targeted at Radio-Frequency (RF) applications that require a low data rate, long battery life, and secure networking. ZigBee has a defined rate of 250 kbps suited for periodic or intermittent data or a single signal transmission from a sensor or input device, 2nd para, page 82.
Bluetooth Low Energy. Bluetooth low energy (Bluetooth LE, BLE, marketed as Bluetooth Smart) is a wireless personal area network technology designed and marketed by the Bluetooth Special Interest Group (SIG) aimed at novel applications in the healthcare, fitness, beacons, security, and home entertainment industries. Compared to Classic Bluetooth, Bluetooth Smart is intended to provide considerably reduced power consumption and cost while maintaining a similar communication range. "Overview and Evaluation of Bluetooth Low Energy: An Emerging Low-Power Wireless Technology", 2nd para, page 86.
Binder also discloses well-known use of mobile device application that communicates with all the devices/processing entities
Smartphone. A mobile phone (also known as a cellular phone, cell phone, smartphone, or hand phone) is a device which can make and receive telephone calls over a radio link whilst moving around a wide geographic area, by connecting to a cellular network provided by a mobile network operator. The calls are to and from the public telephone network, which includes other mobiles and fixed-line phones across the world. The Smartphones are typically hand-held and may combine the functions of a personal digital assistant (PDA), and may serve as portable media players and camera phones with high-resolution touch-screens, web browsers that can access, and properly display, standard web pages rather than just mobile-optimized sites, GPS navigation, Wi-Fi, and mobile broadband access. In addition to telephony, the Smartphones may support a wide variety of other services such as text messaging, MMS, email, Internet access, short- range wireless communications (infrared, Bluetooth), business applications, gaming and photography, 2nd para, page 90.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention disclosed by Masuda to implement these limitations and also one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because it could provide utilizing low power wireless communication capability. This would provide considerably reduced power consumption and cost while maintaining a necessary communication range, 2nd para, page 82.
Masuda, Binder does not disclose, which is well known in the art, which Laird discloses an active valve configured to receive said command and modify a damping characteristic of the damper based on said command.
Referring now to Figure 13, in various embodiments of the present invention, a damper valve includes a plurality of air chambers wherein the communication between the plurality of air chambers is automatically adjustable using lever 808. In one such embodiment, lever 808 is solenoid operated, hydraulically operated, pneumatically operated, or operated by any other suitable motive mechanism. Lever 808 may be operated remotely by a switch or potentiometer located in the cockpit of a vehicle or attached to appropriate operational parts of a vehicle for timely activation (e.g. brake pedal) or may be operated in response to input from a microprocessor (e.g. calculating desired settings based on vehicle acceleration sensor data) or any suitable combination of activation means. In like manner, a controller for lever 808 may be cockpit mounted and may be manually adjustable or microprocessor controlled or both or selectively either. It may be desirable to increase the damping rate of a damper valve of a suspension damper when moving a vehicle from off-road to on highway use. Off-road use often requires a high degree of compliance to absorb shocks imparted by the widely varying terrain. On highway use, particularly with long wheel travel vehicles, often requires more rigid shock absorption to allow a user to maintain control of a vehicle at higher speeds. This may be especially true during cornering or braking, para 1, 2, page 12.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention disclosed by Masuda to implement these limitations and also one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because it could provide changing a damping characteristic of the damper. The microprocessor would increase the damping rate of a damper valve of the suspension damper, para 1, 2, page 12.
Masuda, Laird and Binder do not disclose, which Lannen discloses, said wireless switch communicatively coupled with an active valve suspension and with an active valve application, wherein an activation of said wireless switch causes an signal to be sent to said controller, receiving of the signal, command to said active value suspension (
[0044] In the even that the threshold pressure value 54A has not been achieved in the accumulator 54 and/or detected by the controller 62, the controller will continue monitoring pressure inside the accumulator until the pressure reaches the threshold value before increasing the ride height 58. In the event that the detected vehicle road speed is below a predetermined speed 13A above which aerodynamics of the vehicle 10 can be enhanced by reducing the ride height 58, the controller 62 can command the adjustable suspension system 24 to reduce the ride height via the bladders 40. Otherwise, if the detected road speed of the vehicle 10 is below such a predetermined speed 13A, the controller 62 can command the adjustable suspension system 24 to maintain currently selected ride height 58.
[0034] The controller 62 may be a standalone control unit dedicated to regulating the valve 56 in order to vary and select the ride height 58 in response to road conditions, road speed of the vehicle 10, and other pre-set variables, as well as an occurrence of specific predetermined vehicle events.
[0011] The adjustable suspension system may include a valve in fluid communication with the accumulator, wherein such a valve is configured to selectively retain the accumulated fluid in and release the accumulated fluid from the accumulator. The adjustable suspension system may also include a sensor configured to detect the volume of the fluid held by the bladder and generate a signal indicative of the volume to the controller. In such a case, the step of selecting the height of the vehicle body may be accomplished via the controller regulating the valve in response to the signal).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention disclosed by Masuda to implement these limitations and also one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because it could provide utilizing the suspension. When the detected road speed of the vehicle 10 is below such a predetermined speed 13A, the controller 62 can command the adjustable suspension system 24 to maintain currently selected ride height 58. [0034] The controller 62 may be a standalone control unit dedicated to regulating the valve 56 in order to vary and select the ride height 58 in response to road conditions, road speed of the vehicle 10, and other pre-set variables, as well as an occurrence of specific predetermined vehicle events. [0011] The adjustable suspension system may include a valve in fluid communication with the accumulator, wherein such a valve is configured to selectively retain the accumulated fluid in and release the accumulated fluid from the accumulator.
Masuda, Laird, Lannen and Binder do not disclose, which do not disclose, during typical use of said system, a battery having a capacity of approximately 173 mAh will power said system for approximately 23 months. However, this is well-known and expected in the art. The Binder taught wireless communication is open to any power/voltage/current. Without it the wireless communication is not possible. One of ordinary skill in the art would also know that the battery would last depending upon the power drawn. For example,
The Importance of Average Power Consumption to Battery Life, April 29, 2016,
RFwirelessworld, 8/17/2020, discloses,
Yazdi et al., 20170103683 para 84, discloses, the corresponding power draw is 1-3 micro-amperes for a periodic scan every 10-30 seconds.
WIRELESS SURFACE MOUNTABLE SENSORS AND ACTUATORS
US 20210127975 A1
[0099] Long range wireless communication and power delivery, and multiplexed readout: Because a typical sensor in certain embodiments, such as shown in FIG. 3A, requires relatively small power for operation, (standby: 2 μA @ 1.5V (˜3 μW); operating: 150 μA @ 1.5V (˜225 μW) a standard smartphone can be used as a reader over distances of a few centimeters, as in FIG. 14. The operating range depends on the sizes and numbers of reader antennas, the RF power supplied to them, the size of the sensor antenna, and its orientation relative to the reader
US 20200129701 A1
[0031] Suppose that ZigBee or low-power Wi-Fi is employed for wireless transmission, and that estimated energy losses are 40%. The sum of energy consumed during data acquisition E.sub.DA (which may be assumed to be 1.2-150 μA for capacitive fill measurement) and energy consumed during temporary storage E.sub.DS may be approximately 0.250 J. In some embodiments, 0.036 J of electrical energy E.sub.xmit may be consumed during data transmission (power requirement for low-power Wi-Fi/ZigBee is 36 mJ per 24 bytes of data. For Bluetooth low energy it is less, 0.147 mJ). Suppose E.sub.gross is 0.75 J, which means E.sub.loss is 0.3 J. Plugging the values set forth above into Equation (3) shows that there is sufficient net energy E.sub.net to acquire, store, and transmit data:
UNVERSAL DIMMING EMULATOR FOR LED DRIVER
US 20220191988 A1
[0038] FIG. 3 shows an exemplary embodiment of a dimming emulator, in accordance with various exemplary embodiments. The dimming emulator 300 may be used in a lighting system (e.g., such as a wireless color-tuning device 400 shown in FIG. 4, as described in more detail below). In this exemplary embodiment as shown in FIG. 3, the dimming emulator 300 is shown to include an input stage 310, a coupler 320, and an output stage 330. The dimming emulator 300 is configured to be compatible with existing (e.g., off the shelf) 0 to 10 V drivers. The dimming emulator 300 may be able to operate with a supply current as low as 150 μA while maintaining the same output voltage even if the supply current is increased to a few mA.
An Intrinsic Safety Explosion-proof Vibration Sensor
CN 211717611 U
It should be noted that the circuit board 112 can adopt PCB circuit board, high frequency vibration induction chip adopts single high g value accelerometer, medium frequency vibration induction chip adopts three-axis low g value accelerometer. wherein the full range range (FSR) of the three-axis low g value accelerometer is ± 4g ~ ± 50g, with 1Hz to 10kHz selectable digital filtering, 25 /Hz μ noise density and 150 μA power consumption, realizing the performance level of expensive broadband vibration device with low cost. By setting the high frequency vibration induction chip and the intermediate frequency vibration induction chip in the circuit board 112, it can realize the real measurement of vibration in three directions. the vibration data measured by the sensor main body 110 is transmitted to the intrinsic safety flame-proof converter 120 through the connecting piece 130, further processing the vibration signal through the intrinsic safety circuit 123 set in the flame-proof converter 120, so as to realize the mode of the wireless gateway, monitoring and analyzing the device operation state, 1st para page 4.
LIU et al., CN 105701986 A discloses it, first para, page 8. Fish et al., 20080290907 discloses it, para 26. KR 101841130 B1 discloses it, 3rd para, page 7. Moosavi, 20130196594 discloses it, para 19, 24. Chamarti et al., 20130119974 discloses it, para 31, 34. WEI, 20100156175 discloses it, abstract. ZHANG et al., CN 107132668 A, 1st para, page 4. US_5163754_A_I, 2nd last para, page 5.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention disclosed by Masuda to implement these limitations and also one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because it could provide utilizing not exceeding 150 microamp draw. This would provide considerably reduced power consumption and cost while maintaining a necessary communication range.
Claim(s) 2, 30, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Masuda, in view of Laird, Lannen Binder and Official Notice.
Referring to claim 2, 30, The rejection of claim 1 contains, wherein said wireless switch is communicatively coupled with one smart component, active valve suspension. Laird further discloses a damper comprising: an active valve configured to receive said command and modify a damping characteristic of the damper based on said command.
Referring now to Figure 13, in various embodiments of the present invention, a damper valve includes a plurality of air chambers wherein the communication between the plurality of air chambers is automatically adjustable using lever 808. In one such embodiment, lever 808 is solenoid operated, hydraulically operated, pneumatically operated, or operated by any other suitable motive mechanism. Lever 808 may be operated remotely by a switch or potentiometer located in the cockpit of a vehicle or attached to appropriate operational parts of a vehicle for timely activation (e.g. brake pedal) or may be operated in response to input from a microprocessor (e.g. calculating desired settings based on vehicle acceleration sensor data) or any suitable combination of activation means. In like manner, a controller for lever 808 may be cockpit mounted and may be manually adjustable or microprocessor controlled or both or selectively either. It may be desirable to increase the damping rate of a damper valve of a suspension damper when moving a vehicle from off-road to on highway use. Off-road use often requires a high degree of compliance to absorb shocks imparted by the widely varying terrain. On highway use, particularly with long wheel travel vehicles, often requires more rigid shock absorption to allow a user to maintain control of a vehicle at higher speeds. This may be especially true during cornering or braking, para 1, 2, page 12.
Claim(s) 3, 31, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MASUDA in view of Laird, Lannen Binder, Official Notice and Luman et al., 10,988,209, and RÖSCH et al., DE 102019214614 A1.
Referring to claim(s) 3, 31, The rejection of claim 1 contains, wherein said wireless switch is communicatively coupled with one smart component, based on the activation of said wireless switch. MASUDA, Binder discloses wherein said one smart component comprises: a dropper seatpost comprising an actuator, said actuator to receive said command from said controller and perform an action for setting of said dropper seatpost based on said command.
Masuda, Laird, Lannen Binder does not specifically mention about, which is well-known in the art, which Luman discloses,
A membrane seal 190 is configured as a flexible, transparent seal that covers an opening in the outboard housing 182 and forms a watertight seal between the outboard housing 182 and the inboard housing 184. An inner switch actuator 189 is slidably received in a hole in the inboard housing 184, with a spring 191 disposed between the outboard switch actuator 189 and the inboard switch actuator 110. Referring to FIG. 20, the LED 188 is able to shine through the transparent membrane seal 190 and through a light pipe 192, such that an indicator light is visible to the user to indicate a status of the system. A button actuator 194 is slidably received in a hole in the inboard housing 184, and is actuatable by the user. The electronics module may also include a display screen, and may be wirelessly connected to a smart device, such as a mobile telephone or tablet. When actuated by the user, the button actuator 194 deflects the flexible membrane 190 to actuate the electrical switch 186, which may be configured as a function button. The function button actuator 194 may preferably be configured for, but is not limited to, wirelessly pairing the shift-brake control 22 to one or both of the gear shift changers 28, 40, or wireless derailleurs. While a single function button is shown, multiple function buttons may be incorporated into the electronics module, and may be used for such functions as operating lights, suspension controls, dropper seat posts, etc. The module may also include the function button actuator 194 extending between the membrane 190 and an outer surface of the module housing 108, col., 8., lines 37-65,
(55) Referring to FIGS. 4, 9, 22 and 23, when the user moves the shift-brake lever 92 in the shifting direction (i.e. the user's fingers move towards the mid-plane, i.e., centerline 16 of the bicycle), the shift-brake lever 92 along with the brake axle 118 and pivoting portion 100 rotate together around the shift axis 96 (counterclockwise in FIG. 9). The inboard switch actuator 110 compresses the switch spring 191 and contacts the outboard switch actuator 189, which in turn deflects the flexible membrane 190 and actuates the switch 174, for example configured as a dome switch. The closure of the switch 174 is sensed by the CPU, which then sends a wireless shift signal to a gear shifters or derailleurs via a radio and antenna, col., 10, lines 12-31,
(59) It should also be noted that the shift-brake device can be used for other electronic functions besides sending a wireless shift signal. For example, an inboard press of the shift-brake lever could be used to lock out a suspension fork, or actuate a wireless dropper seat post, or perform any other operation. (60) It should further be noted that pressing both the left-side and right-side shift-brake levers inboard simultaneously can perform another function, such as activating a wireless dropper post or shifting a front derailleur, etc. col., 10, lines 58-65.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention disclosed by Masuda to implement these limitations and also one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because it could provide utilizing an actuator for setting of the dropper seat post. The wireless signal would enable activating of a wireless dropper post from a user device col., 10, lines 12-31.
Masuda, Laird, Lannen Binder and Luman do not specifically mention about, which is well-known in the art, which RÖSCH discloses, change a saddle height
transmitting a sensor signal to the input interface of the device and an actuator for changing the center of gravity of the bicycle, the actuator is designed to change the height position of an adjustable seat post of the bicycle. Height-adjustable seat posts, which can be easily and conveniently adjusted by means of a lever or a wirelessly connected control device, are known in the prior art and are particularly used in high-quality and expensive bicycles. For example, such adjustable seat posts are used in mountain bikes and other sports bicycles, regardless of whether they are operated purely mechanically or electrically supported, that is, are provided with an electric motor. The actuator particularly preferably actuates a hydraulic valve in the case of a hydraulically adjustable seat post. Alternatively and likewise preferably, the actuator controls an electrically adjustable seat post in order to change the height of the saddle, preferably to reduce it. The actuator could control and operate an electric motor for electric motor of the seat post. Alternatively, the actuator itself could be such an electric motor. Lowering the seat post and thus the saddle of the bicycle has proven to be an extremely effective and preferred measure. By lowering the saddle, the sitting position of the rider is lowered and thus the overall center of gravity of the network of bicycle and rider is reduced. Since the weight of the rider is significantly greater than the weight of the bicycle, lowering the position of the rider leads to a noticeable and significant reduction in the center of gravity of the overall system, fourth paragraph, page 4,
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention disclosed by Masuda to implement these limitations and also one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because it could provide utilizing changing of a saddle height. The controlling actuator would enable adjusting the seat post in order to change the height of the saddle to reduce it. By lowering the saddle, the sitting position of the rider is lowered and thus the overall center of gravity of the network of bicycle and rider is reduced, fourth paragraph, page 4.
Claim(s) 4, 32, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Masuda in view of Laird, Lannen Binder, Official Notice and MAJASS et al., WO 2018223189 A1.
Referring to claim(s) 4, 32, Masuda, Laird, Lannen Binder does not specifically mention about, which is well-known in the art, which Majass discloses, an enhanced shockburst (ESB) protocol for said low power wireless communication capability (
[0026] The UHF radio transceiver 28 may comprise a wireless transceiver that operates at 2.4GHz, such as a Nordic nRF transceiver. The Nordic nRF wireless transceiver may be selected because it uses the Enhanced ShockBurst wireless protocol which provides a reduced bit rate per second which in turn also greatly increases (quadruples) the range compared to current versions of the Bluetooth wireless protocol. Further, the Enhanced ShockBurst wireless protocol provides bespoke settings to be created for RF transmission and reception, such as decreasing the bit rate (eg, to around 250 kb per second), and managing the crystal oscillator 30 which gives transparency around how the crystal oscillator 30 is running and the ability to change its settings. The UHF radio transceiver 28 may also comprise a wireless transceiver that operates at 400MHz to 950Mhz frequencies such as Microchip LoRa modules allowing for up to 15km range at lower bitrates and shorter transmission intervals. Further the UHF radio transceiver 28 may comprise of both radio devices. The Bluetooth 5 Low Energy wireless protocol may have a similar range and bit rate as the Enhanced ShockBurst wireless protocol. If the functionality and power efficiency of the Bluetooth 5 Low Energy wireless protocol is similar to the Enhanced ShockBurst wireless protocol, then the Bluetooth 5 Low Energy wireless protocol may be a more suitable alternative low power wireless protocol because it will not need to be translated by a different piece of hardware in order to communicate with a mobile device such as a smart phone.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention disclosed by Masuda to implement these limitations and also one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because it could provide utilizing the publicly available ESB. The Enhanced ShockBurst wireless protocol which provides a reduced bit rate per second which in turn also greatly increases (quadruples) the range compared to current versions of the Bluetooth wireless protocol, para 26.
Claim(s) 5, 33, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Masuda in view of
Laird, Lannen Binder, Official Notice and DE JONG et al., WO 2017140565 A1.
Referring to claim(s) 5, 33, Masuda, Laird, Lannen Binder does not specifically mention about, which is well-known in the art, which De Jong discloses, an energy harvesting device as a power source for said wireless switch (third last paragraph, page 7, last fourth paragraph, page 8). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention disclosed by Masuda to implement these limitations and also one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because it could provide utilizing publicly available an energy harvesting device. The wireless switch would be battery powered or configured to perform energy harvesting, third last paragraph, page 7, last fourth paragraph, page 8.
Claim(s) 6, 34, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Masuda in view of Laird, Lannen Binder, Official Notice and ELLISON et al., 20140129139.
Referring to claim(s) 6, 34, Masuda, Laird, Lannen Binder discloses a smart component as rejected in claim 1. Masuda, does not specifically mention about, which is well-known in the art, which Ellison discloses, an intra-vehicle wireless network for a data transmission between said wireless switch, said controller
[0029] The intra-vehicle networks may include one or more intra-vehicle wireless communication networks. For example, certain vehicle sensor systems (e.g., a tire pressure monitoring sensor system), may be configured to communicate with ECUs included in the vehicle 100 via wireless communication channels utilizing any suitable wireless communication technologies. In certain embodiments, the vehicle may further include an intra-vehicle wireless communication transceiver configured to communicate with devices (e.g., mobile device 112) associated with vehicle users. For example, a mobile phone may be paired with an IVI system 108 of the vehicle 100 (e.g., using Bluetooth.RTM. or the like).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention disclosed by Masuda to implement these limitations and also one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because it could provide utilizing well-known an intra-vehicle wireless network. In certain vehicle sensor systems (e.g., a tire pressure monitoring sensor system), would be configured to communicate with ECUs included in the vehicle 100 via wireless communication channels utilizing any suitable wireless communication technologies, para 29.
Claim(s) 7, 35, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Masuda in view of Laird, Lannen Binder, Official Notice, ELLISON, and Kim et al., JP 2019185758 and MUTHAIA H et al., CN 102035874 A.
Referring to claim(s) 7, 35, Masuda, Laird, Lannen Binder and Ellison do not specifically mention about, which is well-known in the art, which Kim discloses, a transmission authentication and encryption protocol for said intra-vehicle wireless network, said transmission authentication and encryption protocol to protect said intra-vehicle wireless network
Network 107 may also be connected to or include a portion of a telecommunications network that transmits data in a variety of different communication protocols. Exemplary protocols include Transmission Control Protocol / Internet Protocol (TCP / IP), User Datagram Protocol (UDP), Transmission Control Protocol (TCP), Hypertext Transfer Protocol (HTTP), Secure Hypertext Transfer Protocol (HTTPS) Dynamic Adaptive Streaming Over HTTP (DASH), Real Time Streaming Protocol (RTSP), Real Time Transport Protocol (RTP) and Real Time Transport Control Protocol (RTCP), Voice over Internet Protocol (VOIP), File Transfer Protocol (FTP), Web socket (WS), wireless access protocol (WAP), various messaging protocols ( MS, MMS, XMS, IMAP, SMTP, POP, WebDAV, or the like), or other suitable protocols including, but not limited to. In one embodiment, the network 107 is a DSRC (Narrow Area Communication), WAVE, 802.11p, 3G, 4G, 5G + network, WiFi®, satellite network, vehicle-to-vehicle (V2V) network, vehicle-to-vehicle / route. A wireless network using a connection such as an inter-vehicle (V2I / I2V) network or any other wireless network. Although FIG. 1 shows the network 107 connected to the server 101 and the vehicle platform 103 in a single block, as described above, the network 107 may actually include any number of network combinations, The vehicle 103 uses any suitable secure encryption authentication protocol (protocol using public and private digital keys, multifactor authentication, etc.), third para, page 4,
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention disclosed by Masuda to implement these limitations and also one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because it could provide utilizing well-known transmission authentication and encryption protocol to protect the intra-vehicle wireless network. The vehicle would be able to use any suitable secure encryption authentication protocol (protocol using public and private digital keys, multifactor authentication, etc., third para, page 4.
Masuda, Ellison, Laird, Lannen Binder and Kim do not specifically mention about, which is well-known in the art, which MUTHAIA H discloses, from an unauthorized actor attempting an attack from a group consisting of: a replay attack, an impersonation, and a denial of service, para 69, 49, 67
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention disclosed by Masuda to implement these limitations and also one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because it could provide utilizing well-known protection from a replay attack, an impersonation, and a denial of service. Upon determination of the attack, a securing mechanism would enable securing the system from the attack, para 69, 49, 67.
Claim(s) 8, 36, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Masuda in view of Laird, Lannen Binder, Official Notice and Maher et al., 20130212659
Referring to claim(s) 8, 36, Masuda discloses a smart component, said wireless switch as rejected in claim 1. Masuda, Laird, Lannen Binder does not specifically mention about, which is well-known in the art, which Maher discloses, an inter-vehicle wireless network for a data transmission between wireless component, said controller, and component on a first vehicle (para 47, 56), and an extra-vehicular component from a group consisting of: another vehicle, a mobile communications device distinct from said first vehicle, and an infrastructure component (para 116, 57). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention disclosed by Masuda to implement these limitations and also one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because it could provide utilizing well-known an inter-vehicle wireless network and an extra-vehicular component. This would enable communication of messages among devices that are separate from the vehicle, para 116, 57.
Claim(s) 9, 37, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Masuda in view of Laird, Lannen Binder, Official Notice, Maher, and Kim et al., JP 2019185758.
Referring to claim(s) 9, 37, Masuda, Laird, Lannen Binder and Kim does not specifically mention about, which is well-known in the art, which Kim discloses, a transmission authentication and encryption protocol for said inter-vehicle wireless network.
Network 107 may also be connected to or include a portion of a telecommunications network that transmits data in a variety of different communication protocols. Exemplary protocols include Transmission Control Protocol / Internet Protocol (TCP / IP), User Datagram Protocol (UDP), Transmission Control Protocol (TCP), Hypertext Transfer Protocol (HTTP), Secure Hypertext Transfer Protocol (HTTPS) Dynamic Adaptive Streaming Over HTTP (DASH), Real Time Streaming Protocol (RTSP), Real Time Transport Protocol (RTP) and Real Time Transport Control Protocol (RTCP), Voice over Internet Protocol (VOIP), File Transfer Protocol (FTP), Web socket (WS), wireless access protocol (WAP), various messaging protocols ( MS, MMS, XMS, IMAP, SMTP, POP, WebDAV, or the like), or other suitable protocols including, but not limited to. In one embodiment, the network 107 is a DSRC (Narrow Area Communication), WAVE, 802.11p, 3G, 4G, 5G + network, WiFi®, satellite network, vehicle-to-vehicle (V2V) network, vehicle-to-vehicle / route. A wireless network using a connection such as an inter-vehicle (V2I / I2V) network or any other wireless network. Although FIG. 1 shows the network 107 connected to the server 101 and the vehicle platform 103 in a single block, as described above, the network 107 may actually include any number of network combinations, The vehicle 103 uses any suitable secure encryption authentication protocol (protocol using public and private digital keys, multifactor authentication, etc.), third para, page 4,
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention disclosed by Masuda to implement these limitations and also one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because it could provide utilizing well-known transmission authentication and encryption protocol to protect the intra-vehicle wireless network. The vehicle would be able to use any suitable secure encryption authentication protocol (protocol using public and private digital keys, multifactor authentication, etc., third para, page 4.
Claim(s) 10, 38, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Masuda in view of Laird, Lannen Binder, Official Notice and KAIHORI, 20110298597.
Referring to claim(s) 10, 38, Masuda, Laird, Lannen Binder does not specifically mention about, which is well-known in the art, which Kaihori, discloses, one radio with a low-power wireless communication capability; and another radio with a normal-power wireless communication capability, para 37. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention disclosed by Masuda to implement these limitations and also one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because it could provide utilizing well-known radio with a low-power wireless communication capability and a radio with a normal-power wireless communication capability. Both the radios would enable wireless communication among devices to communicate messages. The radio with low-power would enable consuming less power such that the battery would last longer for the communication, para 37.
Claim(s) 11, 39, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Masuda in view of Laird, Lannen Binder, Official Notice and Safavi, 20110170424.
Referring to claim(s) 11, 39, Masuda, Laird, Lannen Binder does not specifically mention about, which is well-known in the art, which Safavi discloses, a communications optimization to provide intelligent of one radio operation parameter from a group consisting of: a transmission power and a receiver sensitivity to optimize a battery life based on a link reliability, an interference potential, and an interference susceptibility, para 7, abstract, para 22. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention disclosed by Masuda to implement these limitations and also one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because it could provide utilizing well-known radio operation parameter. The communication would be optimized based on the parameter to enhance the communication link between the devices for communicating the messages, para 22.
Claim(s) 12, 40, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Masuda in view of Laird, Lannen Binder, Official Notice and ORTH, CN 101449524 A.
Referring to claim(s) 12, 40, Masuda, Laird, Lannen Binder, does not specifically mention about, which is well-known in the art, which Orth discloses, wireless mesh network
the design for low power, based on wireless mesh network system of sensor/actuator applications, in the network device must be powered by long life batteries or low power energy purifying power. Typically, such as 120VAC public engineering power outlets cannot be installed or may not allow access to hazardous location area near the area instrument (sensor) and actuator must be installed without causing large installation cost. for low installation cost required to economically is pushing the battery energy device needs as wireless mesh network of communication. power supply for efficient utilization of original electric cell such as can then charge a limited, plays an important role in operating the wireless device, fourth paragraph, page 2,
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention disclosed by Masuda to implement these limitations and also one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because it could provide utilizing well-known wireless mesh network. The devices in the mesh network would be able to communication with each other directly, rather intermediate device, fourth paragraph, page 2.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 1/6/26, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Therefore, rejection of claims 1-12, 26-40 is maintained.
Regarding the remarks for the amended limitations of the claim 1, the rejections are updated accordingly. Please see above updated rejections.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HARESH N PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2496