DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
The amendments filed 05/15/2026 have been entered. Claims 4 and 11 have been amended. Claims 5, 10 and 13-14 have been cancelled. Claim 15 has been added.
Claims 2-4, 6-9, 11-12 and 15 are pending.
Claims 2-4, 6-9, 11-12 and 15 are rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-4, 6-9, 11-12 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Trummer et al, WO 2009/083176 A1 (Trummer) in view of Matsuzaki et al, US 2018/0265727 A1 (Matsuzaki) and Denda et al, US 2014/012482 (Denda).
With respect to claims 2, 4 and 11-12, Trummer teaches a pigment preparation for use in ink jet printing comprising an aluminum effect pigment having a d98 volume averaged particle size distribution curve of less than 15µm (i.e., a metal pigment made of a metal particle), a solvent having a viscosity of greater than or equal to 1.8 mPa.s at 25oC (i.e., a liquid media component), and at least one phosphorous containing additive, wherein the pigments have a reduced tendency to agglomerate (Trummer; page 3, lines 1-12).
The method includes jetting the ink onto a surface of a substrate using an ink jet printer fitted with a print head to form a printed or coated substrate (i.e., adhering an ink jet composition onto a recording medium by ejecting from an ink jet head) (Trummer; page 29, para 2; page 37, claims 36 and 40). After having applied the droplets of ink jet printing ink on a surface of a substrate, the ink is dried or cured by, for example, applying heat (i.e., a primary heating step) (Trummer; page 7, para 3).
The ink jet printing can be used with any ink jet printing technology (Trummer, page 26; para 1).
The phosphorous containing additive is a phosphinic acid or ester, a phosphonic acid or ester, or a phosphoric acid or ester for the following formula (III), (IV) or (V):
wherein R1, R2 and R3 are independently H or an organic residue with 1 to 30 carbon atoms, optionally containing heteroatoms such as O, S and/or N,
and R4 and R5 are independently an organic residue with 1 to 30 carbon atoms, optionally containing heteroatoms such as O, S and/or N (Trummer; page 16, para 7-para 8 {cont. on page 17}). These phosphorous-containing additives overlap in scope with the surface treatment agents of formula (1) and (2) as claimed.
Particularly useful are phosphinic acids having a straight chain or branched alkyl residue of 6-24 carbons, preferably 6-18 carbons (Trummer; page 17, para 2-4). These preferred phosphinic acids, wherein in the above formula (IV) R1 = R2 = H and R4 = C 13-24 hydrocarbon, overlap in scope with the compounds of Formula (2) as claimed (claim 11), and wherein R in formula (1) or (2) is a straight chain aliphatic hydrocarbon group (claim 2).
As set forth in MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed range “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
The ink jet printing ink is based on solvents(s) or water (i.e., a solvent-based ink as claimed) (Trummer; page 20, para 2). The inks may comprise the solvent, including organic solvents, in an amount of 60-99 wt%, preferably 80-96 wt%, based on the total weight of the ink jet ink composition (Trummer; page 5, para 3-4; page 19, para 3; page 21, para 1-page 22, para 1).
60 to 99 wt% organic solvents falls within the claimed organic solvent range of 60% by mass or more, based on a total mass of the ink jet ink composition of claim 11, and 80-96% wt% falls within the claimed organic solvent range of 70% by mass or more, based on a total mass of the ink jet ink composition of claim 4.
Organic solvent include, e.g., glycol ethers, alcohols such as methyl alcohol and ethyl alcohol, ketones such as acetone and methyl ethyl ketone, and esters such as methyl acetate and ethyl acetate (Trummer; page 21, para 2-6).
The aluminum effect pigments are preferably of the leafing type, resulting in a very brilliant and shiny appearance. The leafing behavior can be induced by coating the aluminum effect pigment (Trummer; pager 15, para 2-3).
In addition to aluminum effect pigments, various other colorants can be incorporated into the ink jet printing ink (Trummer; page 24, para 2). Various ink jet printing systems can be used (Trummer; page 26, para 1). The inks comprising the aluminum effect pigments have a very high gloss and a metal effect (Trummer; page 13, para 2; page 14, para 1).
Trummer does not explicitly disclose:
that the aluminum effect metal pigment is surface-modified with a surface treatment agent of formula (1) or (2) as claimed;
the organic solvent contains one or more of glycol diethers or cyclic esters;
3) wherein the adhering step is performed on a portion of the recording medium supported by a platen, and wherein the primary heating step is performed by heating the portion of the recording medium supported by the platen as presently claimed (claim 11), wherein the heating of the primary heating step is performed by a platen heater (claim 12); and
4) another adhesion step of ejecting an another ink jet ink composition, which is a colored ink containing a color material, from an ink jet head and adhering the another ink jet ink composition to the recording medium such that the ink jet ink composition and the another ink jet ink composition overlap and an image having a metallic glossiness and colored by the color material is formed (claim 11).
With respect to the differences 1) and 3), Matsuzaki teaches an aqueous inkjet composition containing a pigment dispersion formed of a surface-treated pigment having a phosphorous-containing group on a surface thereof, and a resin dispersion, wherein the ink composition has a conductivity of 2600µs/cm or less (Matsuzaki; Abstract and [0007]). The pigments to be treated are not particularly limited, and include metallic pigments such as aluminum (Matsuzaki; [0067] and [0075]).
The pigment is stably dispersed and held in water by using a pigment which has been surface-treated with a phosphorous-containing group having either a P—O group or a P═O group. When using a surface-treated pigment having a phosphorous-containing group on a surface thereon, the permeability of the ink to the recording medium and the affinity with the recording medium are improved, unintentional bleeding or spreading of the ink on the recording medium is suppressed, and it is possible to obtain an aqueous ink jet ink composition excellent in storage stability while securing printing quality during fine line printing (Matsuzaki; [0079]).
The ink comprises water and may contain organic solvents (Matsuzaki; [0097] and [0099]).
Matsuzaki teaches an ink attachment step wherein the aqueous ink jet ink composition is ejected from an inkjet head onto the recording medium M (Matsuzaki; [0163] and Fig. 1). The recording apparatus has a platen heater 4 for heating the recording medium M at the time of ejecting the ink composition from the inkjet head 2 (i.e., the adhering step is performed on a portion of the recording medium supported by a platen) (Matsuzaki; [0059] and Fig. 1). The ink attachment step may be provided with a heating step of heating the recording medium M with a platen heater 4 at the same time as the ink attachment step. Due to this, it is possible to quickly dry the ink on the recording medium M, bleeding is suppressed, and it is possible to form an image excellent in abrasion resistance and image quality (i.e., a primary heating step performed by heating the portion of the recording medium supported by the platen (claim 11), wherein the heating step is performed by a platen heater (claim 12)) (Matsuzaki; [0167]).
Matsuzaki is analogous art as it teaches ink jet printing methods comprising an adhesion step and primary heating step as claimed, wherein the ink composition may comprise a phosphorous-treated aluminum pigment in an aqueous liquid medium which may comprise a solvent, and wherein a platen heater is used during the adhering and primary heating steps.
In light of the motivation provided by Matsuzaki to surface-modify pigments, including aluminum metallic pigments, with a phosphorus-containing compound when used in inkjet methods, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the aluminum pigments of Trummer with the phosphorous-containing compounds of formula III-V in order to stably disperse the pigments in the ink, improve the permeability of the ink to the recording medium and the affinity with the recording medium, suppress bleeding of the ink, obtain excellent storage stability, and secure print quality during fine line printing.
Further, given that Trummer discloses phosphorous containing additives that overlap the presently claimed surface treatment agents of formula (1) and formula (2), including those wherein R is a hydrocarbon having 13 or more carbon atoms as claimed, it therefore would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the surface treatment agents of formula (1) or (2) as claimed, which are both disclosed by Trummer and encompassed within the scope of the present claims, and thereby arrive at the claimed surface-modified metal pigment particles.
In light of the motivation provided by Matsuzaki to use a ink jet apparatus including a platen heater which is used to heat the substrate supported by the platen during the ink attachment step, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention use an ink jet printer including a platen heater in the inkjet methods of Trummer in order to quickly dry the ink on the recording medium, suppress bleeding, and form an image that is excellent in abrasion resistance and image quality, and thereby arrive at the claimed adhering and primary heating steps. Further, because Trummer teaches that any ink jet printing technology can be used, those skilled in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in using the platen support and heater of Matsuzaki in the methods of Trummer.
With respect to differences 2) and 4), Denda teaches an ink jet recording method including discharging an ink composition containing a metallic pigment to a recording medium using a recording head (Denda; [0034]). Aluminum or aluminum alloy metallic pigments are preferred from the viewpoint of the metallic gloss and the cost (Denda; [0044]).
The ink may comprise water and/or organic solvents (Denda; [0046]). Organic solvent include, e.g., alcohols such as methyl alcohol and ethyl alcohol, ketones such as acetone and methyl ethyl ketone, esters such as methyl acetate and ethyl acetate as taught by Trummer, as well as alkylene glycol diethers such as diethylene glycol diether (i.e., glycol diethers as claimed) (Denda; [0046-0048]).
Denda teaches the metallic ink is discharged using a recording head to the recording medium to form a metallic gloss image adhered to the region (Denda; [0072]). The method may include a heating step wherein the recorded image is heated (Denda; [0082-0085]).
The ink jet recording method may further include discharging a color ink composition containing a color material to a recording medium using a recording head (Denda; [0105]). The metallic image and the color image may be recorded with overlapping (Denda; [0107]). A metallic image having metallic gloss can be obtained (Denda; [0115]).
Denda is analogous art as it teaches ink jet recording methods comprising a step of adhering an aluminum metal-containing ink comprising an organic solvent such as a glycol diether to a recording medium, an adhesion step comprising ejecting a colored ink from an ink jet head and adhering the color ink to a recording medium, wherein the color ink may overlap the metallic ink, and a primary heating step, wherein a colored image having a metallic glossiness is formed.
In light of the disclosure of Denda of the equivalence and interchangeability of using organic solvents such as methyl alcohol, ethyl alcohol, acetone, methyl ethyl ketone, methyl acetate and ethyl acetate as disclosed in Trummer, with using glycol diethers such as diethylene glycol diether as presently claimed, it therefore would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use a glycol diether as an organic solvent in the inks of the printing methods of Trummer in view of Matsuzaki.
Further, in light of the motivation provided by Denda to use a colored ink jet ink composition in combination with a metallic ink, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include an additional adhering step comprising ejecting an ink containing a coloring material to the recording medium, wherein the color ink may overlap the metallic recorded ink, in the inkjet recording methods of Trummer in view of Matsuzaki, in order to obtain a color image which has good metallic gloss and color from the color ink, and thereby result in the claimed invention. Further, because Trummer teaches that the metallic ink may be combined with various colorants, those skilled in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success when using the metallic inks of Trummer in combination with color inks of Denda.
With respect to claim 3, Trummer in view of Matsuzaki and Denda are relied upon as teaching the limitations of claim 11 as discussed above. Trummer teaches that R1-5 of formula (III)-(V) may be a straight chain alkyl group having 6 to 24 carbon atoms and having no substituents, such as octyl or dodecyl (i.e., a C8 or C12 alkyl group) (Trummer; page 17, para 3; pages 27-28, Example 2, Pigments B and C; pages 29-30, Printing Inks 2). Unsubstituted straight chain alkyl group having 6 to 24 carbon atoms overlap in scope with unsubstituted hydrocarbon groups having 13 or more carbon atoms as claimed.
As set forth in MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed range “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
With respect to claim 6, Trummer in view of Matsuzaki and Denda are relied upon as teaching the limitations of claim 11 as discussed above. Trummer teaches that the metal pigments are made from aluminum particles (Trummer; page 14, para 3).
With respect to claim 7, Trummer in view of Matsuzaki are relied upon as teaching the limitations of claim 11 as discussed above. Trummer teaches “leafing” pigments or flakes (i.e., “scaly” as claimed) (Trummer; page 15, para 2 and page 27, “b) Grinding to form a flake”).
With respect to claim 8, Trummer in view of Matsuzaki are relied upon as teaching the limitations of claim 11 as discussed above.
Trummer teaches that the phosphorous containing additive is preferably used in an amount of 0.01-15 wt%, and the aluminum effect pigment is used in an amount of 1-40 wt%, based on the total weight of the pigment preparation (Trummer; page 19, para 1-2).
Trummer teaches that surprisingly, the aluminum effect pigments have no detectable tendency to aggregate, and can therefore be incorporated into inkjet inks (Trummer; page 4, para 4-5).
Matsuzaki teaches that the number of functional groups grafted to one pigment particle may be one or a plurality. The kind and degree of the functional group may be appropriately determined in consideration of the dispersion stability of the inks, the color density, the drying property on the front face of the ink jet head, etc. (Matsuzaki; [0084]).
While Trummer in view of Matsuzaki and Denda do not explicitly teach wherein a content of the surface treatment agent is 1.0 part by mass or more and 50 parts by mass or less with respect to 100 parts by mass of the metal particle as claimed, it has long been an axiom of United States patent law that it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges of result-effective variables by routine experimentation. In re Peterson, 315 F.3d 1325, 1330 (Fed. Cir. 2003) ("The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages."); In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 276 (CCPA 1980) ("[D]iscovery of an optimum value of a result effective variable in a known process is ordinarily within the skill of the art."); In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456 (CCPA 1955) ("[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation."). "Only if the 'results of optimizing a variable' are 'unexpectedly good' can a patent be obtained for the claimed critical range." In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 1470 (Fed. Cir. 1997) (quoting In re Antonie, 559 F.2d 618, 620 (CCPA 1977)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to vary the mass ratio of the phosphorous-containing surface treatment agent in the metallic pigments of Trummer in view of Matsuzaki and Denda, including over the presently claimed, in order to obtain no noticeable agglomeration, dispersion stability of the ink, good color density, and sufficient drying property on the front face of the ink jet head.
With respect to claim 9, Trummer in view of Matsuzaki and Denda are relied upon as teaching the limitations of claim 11 as discussed above, wherein R1-R5 of formula (III)-(V) may comprise an alkyl residue with 6 to 25 carbon atoms, preferably 6 to 18 carbon atoms, which overlaps in scope with those having 15 or more carbon atoms as claimed (Trummer; page 17, para 3).
As set forth in MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed range “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Regarding claim 15, Trummer in view of Matsuzaki and Denda are relied upon as teaching the limitations of claim 11 as discussed above.
Trummer does not explicitly teach wherein the another ink jet ink composition (i.e. colored ink) is adhered to the ink jet ink composition already adhered to the recording medium (i.e., metallic ink) in an overlapping manner.
Denda teaches a color image recorded with the with the color ink composition is recorded on a recording medium on which the metallic image is formed (i.e., wherein the another colored ink jet ink composition is adhered to the metallic ink jet composition already adhered to the recording medium in an overlapping manner) (Denda; [0107]).
Given that Denda discloses the adhesion steps that overlap the presently claimed adhesion steps, including wherein the colored ink jet ink composition is adhered to the metallic ink jet ink composition already adhered to the recording medium in an overlapping manner, it therefore would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to perform the overlapping adhesions steps in the methods of Trummer in view of Matsuzaki and Denda, which are both disclosed by Denda and encompassed within the scope of the present claims, and thereby arrive at the claimed invention.
Response to Arguments
1) Applicant’s remarks and amendments, see Remarks, filed 05/15/2026, with respect to the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection of claims 2-9, 11, and 12 over Trummer (WO 2009-083176) in view of Matsuzaki (US 2018/0265727), have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection has been withdrawn.
Specifically, although Trummer broadly teaches glycol ether and ester solvents (see page 21, para 2), Trummer in view of Matsuzaki do not teach wherein the organic solvent contains one or more of glycol diethers or cyclic esters as claimed. Trummer in view of Matsuzaki also do not teach or suggest another adhesion step of ejecting another ink jet ink composition, which is a colored ink containing a color material, from an ink jet head and adhering the another ink jet ink composition to the recording medium such that the ink jet ink composition and the another ink jet ink composition overlap and an image having a metallic glossiness and colored by the color material is formed as presently claimed.
However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is made over Trummer in view of Matsuzaki and Denda (US 2014/0127482),
2) Regarding the 35 USC 103 rejection over rejection over Trummer in view of Matsuzaki and Denda, Applicant's remarks and amendments filed 05/15/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Firstly, Applicant argues:
“… Applicant notes that neither Trummer nor Matsuzaki appear to teach or suggest that ‘the organic solvent contained in the solvent-based ink contains one or more of glycol diethers or cyclic esters,’ as claimed. The example solvents on p. 21 of Trummer do not appear to be either a glycol diether or a cyclic ester, as claimed.”
Remarks, pages 6-7.
Examiner agrees for the reasons discussed in 1) above; however, the new grounds of rejection over Trummer in view of Matsuzaki and Denda teaches glycol diether organic solvents as claimed (see above rejection at pages 10-11).
3) Secondly, Applicant argues:
“… while Denda allegedly teaches the use of alkylene glycol diether in paragraphs [0082]-[0085], Applicant notes that Denda does not describe a solvent- based ink, especially a solvent-based ink containing an organic solvent containing one or more of glycol diethers or cyclic esters, as claimed.”
Remarks, page 7.
Examiner respectfully disagrees that Denda does not teach glycol diethers as claimed because Denda explicitly discloses alkylene glycol diethers such as diethylene glycol diether at paragraph [0048]. Denda further exemplifies metallic, solvent-based inks (Denda; [0118-0126]). Although Denda does not exemplify using an organic solvent comprising a glycol diether, a reference may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill the art, including nonpreferred embodiments. Merck & Co. v.Biocraft Laboratories, 874 F.2d 804, 10 USPQ2d 1843 (Fed. Cir.), cert. denied, 493 U.S.975 (1989). MPEP 2123 I.
Further, Examiner maintains that the combination of Trummer, Matsuzaki and Denda teaches organic solvents and amounts thereof in recording methods as claimed (emphasis added). One cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., Inc., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
4) Thirdly, Applicant argues:
“… there is no teaching or suggestion in any of the cited prior art references of a solvent-based ink where a total content of the organic solvent is 60% by mass or more based on a total mass of the ink jet ink composition, as claimed.”
Remarks, page 7.
Examiner respectfully disagrees because as explained on page 6 in the above rejection, the ink jet printing ink of Trummer may comprise organic solvents in an amount of 60-99 wt%, preferably 80-96 wt%, based on the total weight of the ink jet ink composition (Trummer; page 5, para 3-4; page 19, para 3; page 21, para 1-page 22, para 1).
5) Fourthly, Applicant argues while paragraph [0107] of Denda may disclose overlapping images,
“… Applicant submits that this teaching still does not yield an image having a metallic glossiness and colored by the color material being formed, as claimed. For example, when printing a color image on a metallic image, if too much color ink is applied, the metallic image will be obscured, and the result will not be an image having a metallic glossiness and colored by a color material, as claimed. This is because the metallic sheen of metallic ink is obscured by colored ink.
With the amount of color ink typically used for standard color images, the metallic sheen of the metallic ink is obscured by the color ink and it is necessary to reduce the amount of color ink applied. Furthermore, metallic ink must have a high metallic luster so that it can produce a metallic sheen even when layered with colored ink.”
Remarks, page 7.
Conclusory statements must be supported by factual evidence. There is not sufficient evidence of record to show that the printing of methods taught by Denda would not produce an image having a metallic glossiness and colored by the color material in the ink.
Further, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., Inc., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). The Office maintains that because Trummer in view of Matsuzaki and Denda teach method steps as claimed, the recorded images of Trummer in view of Matsuzaki and Denda appear to result in colored, metallic images equivalent to those as claimed.
6) Lastly, Applicant argues that Denda does not expressly teach the claimed surface treatment agent of formula (1) or formula (2), and it is therefore not possible to form an image having a metallic glossiness and colored by a color material when color ink is overlaid (Remarks, page 7).
This argument merely agrees with the basis for the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103(a), which admits that Denda does not disclose the entire claimed invention. Rather, Denda is relied upon to teach claimed elements missing from Trummer.
One cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., Inc., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Therefore, Applicant’s Remarks have been fully considered, but are not deemed persuasive.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kida et al, US 2021/0094313 A1, teaches methods of ink jet printing with a first ink containing metal particles, and a second ink containing a coloring agent selected from materials other than metal (Abstract). The metal particles may be treated with a phosphorous compound ([0108]). The inks may contain glycol diether and cyclic ester solvents in the claimed amounts([0148]).
/CDL/Examiner, Art Unit 1732
/CORIS FUNG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1732