DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 1, 3-5, 7-8, 10-12, 14-15, and 17-19 are pending. Claims 2, 6, 9, 13, 16, and 20 are previously canceled. Claims 1, 8, and 15 are amended. Claims 3-5, 7, 10-12, 14, and 17-19 are previously presented.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/18/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
It is first noted that Applicant’s arguments on pages 8-10 are against the previous rejection over EMALFARB in view of LANG, neither of which is relied upon in the current rejection. Applicant’s arguments on pages 11-15 are against the previous rejection over EMALFARB in view of BISSONETTE, but said combination is not relied upon in the current rejection, as EMALFARB is not relied upon. A new grounds of rejection is presented in view of Applicant’s amendments to independent claims 1, 8, and 15, and reconsideration of the BISSONETTE reference, which is now relied upon as the primary reference.
In response to arguments on pages 13-14 of the remarks that BISSONETTE does not disclose, in response to the decision about the storage's previously received energy, whether the energy storage device will stop receiving energy from a source or start receiving energy from a different source with an environmental impact below the threshold, it is respectfully submitted that the claims do not recite determining the environmental impact of the previous received energy as argued by Applicant. Rather, the claims recite “determining that an environmental impact of charging the energy storage device is above a threshold”, and switching the source based on said environmental impact. It is submitted that BISSONETTE discloses said amended recitation. In particular, paragraph 0092 discloses when a mode of charging an energy storage device is set to utilize a maximum fraction of power from green sources, the environmental impact of energy from the utility grid is determined, and if the environmental impact of said energy is above a threshold value, power from the utility grid is disabled and power from solar or wind generators is enabled, i.e., the source is switched. Applicant has not specifically commented on or argued against the relevant portions of BISSONETTE relied upon in the rejection to teach said recitation. It is submitted that BISSONETTE as modified by UYEKI teaches the method of claim 1, the system of claim 8, and the computer readable medium of claim 15, as described in the rejection and within the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim language.
Claim Objections
Claim 15 is objected to because of the following informalities: the recitation “receiving a request from a device for an amount of energy to be provided to the device” is recited twice in lines 3-6.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 3-5, 7-8, 10-12, 14-15, and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 1, the amended recitations “monitoring a charging time of the energy storage device based on a first notification sent from the energy storage device when it starts charging, and a second notification from the energy storage device when it stops charging, wherein the charging time is a difference between when the energy storage device starts and stops charging: determining that an environmental impact of charging the energy storage device is above a threshold value based on the charging time; and in response to a determination that the environmental impact is above the threshold value: causing the energy storage device to stop receiving energy from a source, and causing the energy storage device to receive energy from a different source with an environmental impact below the threshold value” fail to comply with the written description requirement. In particular, paragraphs 0106-0107 of the specification as originally filed discloses the feature of switching a source based on environmental impact of previously received energy. However, said paragraphs do not disclose the switching of the source is based on “a charging time”. While paragraphs 0056-0058 disclose the features of environmental impact being determined based on “charging time” of the energy storage device, paragraphs 0056-0058 do not disclose switching a source based on the “charging time”. The disclosure does not provide support for the amended limitations of charging time based environmental impact being used to determined when to switch the source. It is therefore submitted that the amended recitations constitute new matter.
Independent claims 8 and 15 recite limitations similar to claim 1, and are therefore rejected for the same reasons as independent claim 1.
Claims 3-5, 7, 10-12, 14, and 17-19 are dependent from claims 1, 8, or 15, and are therefore rejected for the same reasons as independent claims 1, 8, and 15.
Claims 3, 10, and 17 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "the energy previously received" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "the energy previously received" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 17 recites the limitation "the energy previously received" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 8, 10, 15, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BISSONETTE (Pub. No.: US 2012/0249065 A1; cited in previous office action) in view of UYEKI (Pub. No.: US 2013/0002188 A1).
Regarding claim 1, BISSONETTE discloses a method performed by a processor (310, Fig. 3; ¶ 0080: master controller 310 may be implemented as a programmed microprocessor), the method comprising:
receiving a request from a device (210, Figs. 1-3 & 6; ¶ 0040: an energy management system 210 can be provided at the location (garage or car port) where the electric vehicle 100 is parked when not in use, and can provide electrical power to re-charge the on-board battery pack 110 through a detachable power cable 212) for an amount of energy to be provided to the device from an energy storage device (110, Figs. 1-2, 4, & 5E; ¶ 0038: an electric vehicle 100 has an electric motor 105 coupled to the vehicle wheels and powered by an on-board EV battery pack 110 contained in the electric vehicle 100; ¶ 0105: a determination is made whether previously entered user preference data authorizes drawing power from the electric vehicle battery pack 110 (block 834). If so (YES branch of block 834), then power flow from the battery pack 110 to the high voltage D.C. bus 300 is enabled (block 836); ¶ 0107: in those instances in which power is drawn from the electric vehicle battery pack 110, it prevents drawing down the electric vehicle battery pack charge below a level at which insufficient spare time remains in which to fully charge it in the maximum rate mode by a specified time);
monitoring a charging time of the energy storage device, wherein the charging time is a difference between when the energy storage device starts and stops charging (¶ 0085: the particular power distribution between the electric vehicle battery pack 110 and the battery pack constituting local energy storage device 230 can vary depending upon a variety of factors, including the level of charge of each pack, the temperature of each pack, the time of day, the scheduled use of each pack; ¶ 0094: energy stored in the local energy storage device 230 can be assigned an environmental value corresponding to the environmental value of the energy with which it was charged (an average over time), which can be used as its environmental value for selection by the master controller 310 of power sources to supply power to the vehicle battery pack 110; ¶ 0095: For each utility grid energy source having a dynamically (time varying) environmental value, the environmental value is stored in memory as a function of time for a predetermined time range (block 770). An optional operation is to assign an environmental value to the local energy storage device 230 based upon the environmental value of the energy that was used to charge the energy storage device (block 771). This requires a prior monitoring of the environmental value of the power taken from the utility grid 220 during the time (or times) that the local energy storage device 230 is charged from the utility grid 220, and accumulating the environmental values thus monitored to provide an accurate accounting of the environmental value of the energy stored in the local energy storage device 230; ¶ 0096: Once the maximum green fraction charging mode is selected (YES branch of block 772), the system proceeds to determine the latest environmental value or green fraction of the utility grid power based upon the current time (block 773). The evaluation operation of block 773 begins by obtaining the current level of power contributed by each utility grid energy source (block 774). For each power source having a known dynamic environmental value, the current time is noted and used to fetch the present environmental value for the current time from memory (block 775)):
determining that an environmental impact of charging the energy storage device is above a threshold value based on the charging time (¶ 0092: mode of charging using a maximum fraction of power from green sources (green charging) performed in block 674 of FIGS. 12A and 12B, an embodiment of which is illustrated in FIG. 16A. Referring to FIG. 16A, the power outputs of the household energy sources (i.e., the utility grid 220, the local energy storage device 230, the wind generator 240 and the solar generator 250) are sensed to determine the availability of each source (block 760). For power from the utility grid 220, the latest fraction of the total power contributed to the utility grid 220 from green sources (which may be referred to as the green fraction or environmental value) is obtained through the utility information channel 380 (block 761). In embodiments, the green fraction is obtained from any of a source including the internet, wireless connection, predefined and stored value or values, and/or a user inputted value. The green fraction represents an environmental value of the energy in accordance with the proportion of non-polluting or renewable energy sources that contributed to the energy. However, the environmental value may instead represent an environmental cost or measure of carbon footprint or pollution. In the following examples, the environmental value corresponds to a green fraction, but embodiments are not limited thereto. A determination is made of whether the latest green fraction is above a predetermined threshold value (block 762)); and
in response to a determination that the environmental impact is above the threshold value:
causing the energy storage device to stop receiving energy from a source (¶ 0092: Otherwise (NO branch of block 762), no power flows from the utility grid 220 to the high voltage D.C. bus 300), and
causing the energy storage device to receive energy from a different source with an environmental impact below the threshold value (¶ 0092: Power flow is enabled from the solar generator 250 if available (block 764). Power flow from the wind generator 240 is enabled if available (block 765). If the local energy storage device 230 is not the power recipient, and if power from the local energy storage device 230 is available, then power flow from the local energy storage device 230 to the high voltage bus 300 is enabled (block 766)).
BISSONETTE fails to disclose monitoring the charging time of the energy storage device based on a first notification sent from the energy storage device when it starts charging, and a second notification from the energy storage device when it stops charging.
UYEKI discloses monitoring a charging time of the energy storage device based on a first notification sent from the energy storage device when it starts charging, and a second notification from the energy storage device when it stops charging (¶ 0060: the information module 306 transmits charging information to the tracking server 112 when the EV 102 starts to be charged and when the charging stops. The charging information that may be transmitted to the tracking server 112 by the information module 306 includes one or more of the following: the current time, time when charging started, time when charging stopped; ¶ 0062: the charging cable includes a data connection to the charging station and to initiate charging, the charging module 308 sends a signal to the charging station for it to start transmitting electric energy. Similarly, to stop charging of the EV 102, the charging module 308 transmits a signal to the station for it to stop the transmission of electric energy. Once charging is initiated, the charging module 308 allows the EV 102 to continue charging until the EV 102 is fully charged).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include monitoring a charging time based on notifications as recited in order to provide precise control over battery safety, health, and/or energy costs.
Regarding claim 3, BISSONETTE discloses providing a portion of the energy previously received to the device in response to the environmental impact being below the threshold value (¶ 0046, 0056, 0060, 0062).
Regarding claim 8, BISSONETTE discloses a system, comprising:
a processor (310, Fig. 3) that executes instructions stored in a memory (¶ 0064: methods described below in this specification may be implemented by an application program 357 (in the form of firmware or software) stored in a memory of the master controller 310, and executed by the master controller 310; ¶ 0071: Any one of the application programs 357, 358 or 359 may include operational instructions or subroutines that optimize all energy sources in various modes…such instructions will be described as being carried out by the master controller 310; ¶ 0080: master controller 310 may be implemented as a programmed microprocessor) to configure the processor to:
receive a request from a device (210, Figs. 1-3 & 6; ¶ 0040: an energy management system 210 can be provided at the location (garage or car port) where the electric vehicle 100 is parked when not in use, and can provide electrical power to re-charge the on-board battery pack 110 through a detachable power cable 212) for an amount of energy to be provided to the device from an energy storage device (110, Figs. 1-2, 4, & 5E; ¶ 0038: an electric vehicle 100 has an electric motor 105 coupled to the vehicle wheels and powered by an on-board EV battery pack 110 contained in the electric vehicle 100; ¶ 0105: a determination is made whether previously entered user preference data authorizes drawing power from the electric vehicle battery pack 110 (block 834). If so (YES branch of block 834), then power flow from the battery pack 110 to the high voltage D.C. bus 300 is enabled (block 836); ¶ 0107: in those instances in which power is drawn from the electric vehicle battery pack 110, it prevents drawing down the electric vehicle battery pack charge below a level at which insufficient spare time remains in which to fully charge it in the maximum rate mode by a specified time);
monitor the charging time of the energy storage device, wherein the charging time is a difference between when the energy storage device starts and stops charging (¶ 0085: the particular power distribution between the electric vehicle battery pack 110 and the battery pack constituting local energy storage device 230 can vary depending upon a variety of factors, including the level of charge of each pack, the temperature of each pack, the time of day, the scheduled use of each pack; ¶ 0094: energy stored in the local energy storage device 230 can be assigned an environmental value corresponding to the environmental value of the energy with which it was charged (an average over time), which can be used as its environmental value for selection by the master controller 310 of power sources to supply power to the vehicle battery pack 110; ¶ 0095: For each utility grid energy source having a dynamically (time varying) environmental value, the environmental value is stored in memory as a function of time for a predetermined time range (block 770). An optional operation is to assign an environmental value to the local energy storage device 230 based upon the environmental value of the energy that was used to charge the energy storage device (block 771). This requires a prior monitoring of the environmental value of the power taken from the utility grid 220 during the time (or times) that the local energy storage device 230 is charged from the utility grid 220, and accumulating the environmental values thus monitored to provide an accurate accounting of the environmental value of the energy stored in the local energy storage device 230; ¶ 0096: Once the maximum green fraction charging mode is selected (YES branch of block 772), the system proceeds to determine the latest environmental value or green fraction of the utility grid power based upon the current time (block 773). The evaluation operation of block 773 begins by obtaining the current level of power contributed by each utility grid energy source (block 774). For each power source having a known dynamic environmental value, the current time is noted and used to fetch the present environmental value for the current time from memory (block 775));
determine that an environmental impact of charging the energy storage device is above a threshold value based on the charging time (¶ 0092: mode of charging using a maximum fraction of power from green sources (green charging) performed in block 674 of FIGS. 12A and 12B, an embodiment of which is illustrated in FIG. 16A. Referring to FIG. 16A, the power outputs of the household energy sources (i.e., the utility grid 220, the local energy storage device 230, the wind generator 240 and the solar generator 250) are sensed to determine the availability of each source (block 760). For power from the utility grid 220, the latest fraction of the total power contributed to the utility grid 220 from green sources (which may be referred to as the green fraction or environmental value) is obtained through the utility information channel 380 (block 761). In embodiments, the green fraction is obtained from any of a source including the internet, wireless connection, predefined and stored value or values, and/or a user inputted value. The green fraction represents an environmental value of the energy in accordance with the proportion of non-polluting or renewable energy sources that contributed to the energy. However, the environmental value may instead represent an environmental cost or measure of carbon footprint or pollution. In the following examples, the environmental value corresponds to a green fraction, but embodiments are not limited thereto. A determination is made of whether the latest green fraction is above a predetermined threshold value (block 762)); and
in response to a determination that the environmental impact is above the threshold value,
cause the energy storage device to stop receiving energy from a source (¶ 0092: Otherwise (NO branch of block 762), no power flows from the utility grid 220 to the high voltage D.C. bus 300), and
cause the energy storage device to receive energy from a different source with an environmental impact below the threshold value (¶ 0092: Power flow is enabled from the solar generator 250 if available (block 764). Power flow from the wind generator 240 is enabled if available (block 765). If the local energy storage device 230 is not the power recipient, and if power from the local energy storage device 230 is available, then power flow from the local energy storage device 230 to the high voltage bus 300 is enabled (block 766)).
BISSONETTE fails to disclose monitor the charging time of the energy storage device based on a first notification sent from the energy storage device when it starts charging, and a second notification from the energy storage device when it stops charging.
UYEKI discloses monitor the charging time of the energy storage device based on a first notification sent from the energy storage device when it starts charging, and a second notification from the energy storage device when it stops charging (¶ 0060: the information module 306 transmits charging information to the tracking server 112 when the EV 102 starts to be charged and when the charging stops. The charging information that may be transmitted to the tracking server 112 by the information module 306 includes one or more of the following: the current time, time when charging started, time when charging stopped; ¶ 0062: the charging cable includes a data connection to the charging station and to initiate charging, the charging module 308 sends a signal to the charging station for it to start transmitting electric energy. Similarly, to stop charging of the EV 102, the charging module 308 transmits a signal to the station for it to stop the transmission of electric energy. Once charging is initiated, the charging module 308 allows the EV 102 to continue charging until the EV 102 is fully charged).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include monitoring a charging time based on notifications as recited in order to provide precise control over battery safety, health, and/or energy costs.
Regarding claim 10, BISSONETTE discloses the processor is configured to: provide a portion of the energy previously received to the device in response to the environmental impact being below the threshold value (¶ 0046, 0056, 0060, 0062).
Regarding claim 15, BISSONETTE discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising instructions that, when executed by a processor (310, Fig. 3; ¶ 0064: methods described below in this specification may be implemented by an application program 357 (in the form of firmware or software) stored in a memory of the master controller 310, and executed by the master controller 310; ¶ 0071: Any one of the application programs 357, 358 or 359 may include operational instructions or subroutines that optimize all energy sources in various modes…such instructions will be described as being carried out by the master controller 310; ¶ 0080: master controller 310 may be implemented as a programmed microprocessor), cause the processor to perform:
receiving a request from a device for an amount of energy to be provided to the device (210, Figs. 1-3 & 6; ¶ 0040: an energy management system 210 can be provided at the location (garage or car port) where the electric vehicle 100 is parked when not in use, and can provide electrical power to re-charge the on-board battery pack 110 through a detachable power cable 212);
receiving a request from a device (210, Figs. 1-3 & 6; ¶ 0040: an energy management system 210 can be provided at the location (garage or car port) where the electric vehicle 100 is parked when not in use, and can provide electrical power to re-charge the on-board battery pack 110 through a detachable power cable 212) for an amount of energy to be provided to the device from an energy storage device (110, Figs. 1-2, 4, & 5E; ¶ 0038: an electric vehicle 100 has an electric motor 105 coupled to the vehicle wheels and powered by an on-board EV battery pack 110 contained in the electric vehicle 100; ¶ 0105: a determination is made whether previously entered user preference data authorizes drawing power from the electric vehicle battery pack 110 (block 834). If so (YES branch of block 834), then power flow from the battery pack 110 to the high voltage D.C. bus 300 is enabled (block 836); ¶ 0107: in those instances in which power is drawn from the electric vehicle battery pack 110, it prevents drawing down the electric vehicle battery pack charge below a level at which insufficient spare time remains in which to fully charge it in the maximum rate mode by a specified time);
monitoring a charging time of the energy storage device, wherein the charging time is a difference between when the energy storage device starts and stops charging (¶ 0085: the particular power distribution between the electric vehicle battery pack 110 and the battery pack constituting local energy storage device 230 can vary depending upon a variety of factors, including the level of charge of each pack, the temperature of each pack, the time of day, the scheduled use of each pack; ¶ 0094: energy stored in the local energy storage device 230 can be assigned an environmental value corresponding to the environmental value of the energy with which it was charged (an average over time), which can be used as its environmental value for selection by the master controller 310 of power sources to supply power to the vehicle battery pack 110; ¶ 0095: For each utility grid energy source having a dynamically (time varying) environmental value, the environmental value is stored in memory as a function of time for a predetermined time range (block 770). An optional operation is to assign an environmental value to the local energy storage device 230 based upon the environmental value of the energy that was used to charge the energy storage device (block 771). This requires a prior monitoring of the environmental value of the power taken from the utility grid 220 during the time (or times) that the local energy storage device 230 is charged from the utility grid 220, and accumulating the environmental values thus monitored to provide an accurate accounting of the environmental value of the energy stored in the local energy storage device 230; ¶ 0096: Once the maximum green fraction charging mode is selected (YES branch of block 772), the system proceeds to determine the latest environmental value or green fraction of the utility grid power based upon the current time (block 773). The evaluation operation of block 773 begins by obtaining the current level of power contributed by each utility grid energy source (block 774). For each power source having a known dynamic environmental value, the current time is noted and used to fetch the present environmental value for the current time from memory (block 775));
determining that an environmental impact of charging the energy storage device is above a threshold value based on the charging time (¶ 0092: mode of charging using a maximum fraction of power from green sources (green charging) performed in block 674 of FIGS. 12A and 12B, an embodiment of which is illustrated in FIG. 16A. Referring to FIG. 16A, the power outputs of the household energy sources (i.e., the utility grid 220, the local energy storage device 230, the wind generator 240 and the solar generator 250) are sensed to determine the availability of each source (block 760). For power from the utility grid 220, the latest fraction of the total power contributed to the utility grid 220 from green sources (which may be referred to as the green fraction or environmental value) is obtained through the utility information channel 380 (block 761). In embodiments, the green fraction is obtained from any of a source including the internet, wireless connection, predefined and stored value or values, and/or a user inputted value. The green fraction represents an environmental value of the energy in accordance with the proportion of non-polluting or renewable energy sources that contributed to the energy. However, the environmental value may instead represent an environmental cost or measure of carbon footprint or pollution. In the following examples, the environmental value corresponds to a green fraction, but embodiments are not limited thereto. A determination is made of whether the latest green fraction is above a predetermined threshold value (block 762)); and
in response to a determination that the environmental impact is above the threshold value:
causing the energy storage device to stop receiving energy from a source (¶ 0092: Otherwise (NO branch of block 762), no power flows from the utility grid 220 to the high voltage D.C. bus 300), and
causing the energy storage device to receive energy from a different source with an environmental impact below the threshold value (¶ 0092: Power flow is enabled from the solar generator 250 if available (block 764). Power flow from the wind generator 240 is enabled if available (block 765). If the local energy storage device 230 is not the power recipient, and if power from the local energy storage device 230 is available, then power flow from the local energy storage device 230 to the high voltage bus 300 is enabled (block 766)).
BISSONETTE fails to disclose monitoring a charging time of the energy storage device based on a first notification sent from the energy storage device when it starts charging, and a second notification from the energy storage device when it stops charging.
UYEKI discloses monitoring a charging time of the energy storage device based on a first notification sent from the energy storage device when it starts charging, and a second notification from the energy storage device when it stops charging (¶ 0060: the information module 306 transmits charging information to the tracking server 112 when the EV 102 starts to be charged and when the charging stops. The charging information that may be transmitted to the tracking server 112 by the information module 306 includes one or more of the following: the current time, time when charging started, time when charging stopped; ¶ 0062: the charging cable includes a data connection to the charging station and to initiate charging, the charging module 308 sends a signal to the charging station for it to start transmitting electric energy. Similarly, to stop charging of the EV 102, the charging module 308 transmits a signal to the station for it to stop the transmission of electric energy. Once charging is initiated, the charging module 308 allows the EV 102 to continue charging until the EV 102 is fully charged).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include monitoring a charging time based on notifications as recited in order to provide precise control over battery safety, health, and/or energy costs.
Regarding claim 17, BISSONETTE discloses the instructions cause the processor to perform: providing a portion of the energy previously received to the device in response to the environmental impact being below the threshold value (¶ 0046, 0056, 0060, 0062).
Claim(s) 4, 11, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BISSONETTE in view of UYEKI as applied to claims 1, 3, 8, 10, 15, and 17 above, and further in view of TURUDIC (Pub. No.: US 2012/0119573; previously cited).
Regarding claim 4, BISSONETTE as modified by UYEKI teaches the method as applied to claim 1, and BISSONETTE further discloses the energy storage device is a transport (100, Figs. 1 & 2; ¶ 0038), the method further comprising: identifying an amount and the different source of energy received by the transport (¶ 0092-0093, 0098).
BISSONETTE fails to disclose determining a portion of the amount of energy that is sufficient for the transport to reach a charging station; and allowing the device to receive energy from the transport in an amount up to a difference between the amount of energy stored by the transport and the portion.
TURUDIC discloses determining a portion of the amount of energy that is sufficient for the transport to reach a charging station; and allowing the device to receive energy from the transport in an amount up to a difference between the amount of energy stored by the transport and the portion (¶ 0048).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include allowing the device to receive energy up to a difference as recited in order to provide increased user convenience.
Regarding claim 11, BISSONETTE as modified by UYEKI teaches the system as applied to claim 8, and BISSONETTE further discloses the energy storage device is a transport (100, Figs. 1 & 2; ¶ 0038), and the processor is further configured to: identify an amount and the different source of energy received by the transport (¶ 0092-0093, 0098).
BISSONETTE fails to disclose the processor is configured to determine a portion of the amount of energy that is sufficient for the transport to reach a charging station; and allow the device to receive energy from the transport in an amount up to a difference between the amount of energy stored by the transport and the portion.
TURUDIC discloses the processor is configured to determine a portion of the amount of energy that is sufficient for the transport to reach a charging station; and allow the device to receive energy from the transport in an amount up to a difference between the amount of energy stored by the transport and the portion (¶ 0048).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include allowing the device to receive energy up to a difference as recited in order to provide increased user convenience.
Regarding claim 18, BISONNETE as modified by UYEKI teaches the non-transitory computer-readable medium as applied to claim 15, and BISSONETTE further discloses the energy storage device is a transport (100, Figs. 1 & 2; ¶ 0038), and the instructions cause the processor to perform: identifying an amount and the different source of energy received by the transport (¶ 0092-0093, 0098).
BISSONETTE fails to disclose determining a portion of the amount of energy that is sufficient for the transport to reach a charging station; and allowing the device to receive energy from the transport in an amount up to a difference between the amount of energy stored by the transport and the portion.
TURUDIC discloses determining a portion of the amount of energy that is sufficient for the transport to reach a charging station; and allowing the device to receive energy from the transport in an amount up to a difference between the amount of energy stored by the transport and the portion (¶ 0048).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include allowing the device to receive energy up to a difference as recited in order to provide increased user convenience.
Claim(s) 5, 12, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BISSONETTE in view of UYEKI as applied to claims 1, 3, 8, 10, 15, and 17 above, and further in view of LAWRENSON (Pub. No.: US 2015/0120068 A1) and AMANO (Pub. No.: US 2015/0286965; previously cited).
Regarding claim 5, BISSONETTE as modified by UYEKI teaches the method as applied to claim 1, but BISSONETTE fails to disclose determining that a portion of the energy received by the energy storage device from a clean energy source; [and] supplying up to the portion to the device.
LAWRENSON discloses determining that a portion of the energy received by the energy storage device from a clean energy source (¶ 0035-0036); [and] supplying up to the portion to the device (¶ 0056-0057, 0064).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include supplying up to the portion of the energy received to the device as recited in order to provide consumers with a means to understand and control what energy types are involved in a system operating on energy stored in an energy storage (LAWRENSON, ¶ 0007-0008).
BISSONETTE fails to disclose providing a notification in response to the energy storage device being below a percentage of an energy capacity.
AMANO discloses providing a notification in response to the energy storage device being below a percentage of an energy capacity (¶ 0051).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the notification as recited in order to provide increased user convenience.
Regarding claim 12, BISSONETTE as modified by UYEKI teaches the system as applied to claim 8, but BISSONETTE fails to disclose the processor is configured to: determine that a portion of the energy received by the energy storage device is from a clean energy source; [and] supply up to the portion to the device.
LAWRENSON discloses the processor is configured to: determine that a portion of the energy received by the energy storage device is from a clean energy source (¶ 0035-0036); [and] supply up to the portion to the device (¶ 0056-0057, 0064).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include supplying up to the portion of the energy received to the device as recited in order to provide consumers with a means to understand and control what energy types are involved in a system operating on energy stored in an energy storage (LAWRENSON, ¶ 0007-0008).
BISSONETTE fails to disclose the processor is configured to provide a notification in response to the energy storage device being below a percentage of an energy capacity.
AMANO discloses the processor is configured to provide a notification in response to the energy storage device being below a percentage of an energy capacity (¶ 0051).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the notification as recited in order to provide increased user convenience.
Regarding claim 19, BISSONETTE as modified by UYEKI teaches the non-transitory computer-readable medium as applied to claim 15, but BISSONETTE fails to disclose the instructions cause the processor to perform: determining that a portion of the energy received by the energy storage device from a clean energy source; supplying up to the portion to the device.
LAWRENSON discloses the instructions cause the processor to perform: determining that a portion of the energy received by the energy storage device from a clean energy source (¶ 0035-0036); [and] supplying up to the portion to the device (¶ 0056-0057, 0064).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include supplying up to the portion of the energy received to the device as recited in order to provide consumers with a means to understand and control what energy types are involved in a system operating on energy stored in an energy storage (LAWRENSON, ¶ 0007-0008).
BISSONETTE fails to disclose providing a notification in response to the energy storage device being below a percentage of an energy capacity.
AMANO discloses providing a notification in response to the energy storage device being below a percentage of an energy capacity (¶ 0051).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the notification as recited in order to provide increased user convenience.
Claim(s) 7 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BISSONETTE in view of UYEKI as applied to claims 1, 3, 8, 10, 15, and 17 above, and further in view of MARQUET (Pub. No.: US 2020/0203962 A1; previously cited).
Regarding claim 7, BISSONETTE as modified by UYEKI teaches the method as applied to claim 1, and BISSONETTE further discloses a transport is electrically coupled to the device (¶ 0038, 0040-0041).
BISSONETTE fails to disclose determining a most recent time the energy storage device and the transport were recharged; comparing the most recent time to a peak energy use time at a current location of the transport and the device; and based on a greatest time difference between the most recent time and peak energy use time, selecting one of the energy storage device or the transport to supply the energy to the device.
MARQUET discloses determining a most recent time the energy storage device and the [second energy storage device] were recharged; comparing the most recent time to an energy use time at a current location of the [second energy storage device] and the device; and based on a greatest time difference between the most recent time and energy use time, selecting one of the energy storage device or the [second energy storage device] to supply the energy to the device (¶ 0248-0252). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to apply the step of selecting an energy storage device based on a greatest time difference between the most recent time and energy use times as disclosed in MARQUET to the method of BISSONETTE which includes selecting an energy storage device or a transport based on peak energy use times (¶ 0056-0057, 0062, 0076-0079, 0105).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the selection of the energy storage device as recited in order to reduce aging of the energy storage devices (MARQUET, ¶ 0047).
Regarding claim 14, BISSONETTE as modified by UYEKI teaches the system as applied to claim 8, and BISSONETTE further discloses a transport is electrically coupled to the device (¶ 0038, 0040-0041).
BISSONETTE fails to disclose the processor is configured to: determine a most recent time the energy storage device and the transport were recharged; compare the most recent time to a peak energy use time at a current location of the transport and the device; and based on a greatest time difference between the most recent time and peak energy use time, select one of the energy storage device or the transport to supply the energy to the device.
MARQUET discloses the processor is configured to: determine a most recent time the energy storage device and the [second energy storage device] were recharged; compare the most recent time to a peak energy use time at a current location of the [second energy storage device] and the device; and based on a greatest time difference between the most recent time and peak energy use time, select one of the energy storage device or the [second energy storage device] to supply the energy to the device (¶ 0248-0252). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to apply the step of selecting an energy storage device based on a greatest time difference between the most recent time and energy use times as disclosed in MARQUET to the method of BISSONETTE which includes selecting an energy storage device or a transport based on peak energy use times (¶ 0056-0057, 0062, 0076-0079, 0105).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the selection of the energy storage device as recited in order to reduce aging of the energy storage devices (MARQUET, ¶ 0047).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record on form PTO-892 and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Manuel Hernandez/Examiner, Art Unit 2859 9/9/2026
/DREW A DUNN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859