DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 1/23/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to arguments that primary reference EMALFARB does not disclose the recitation “causing the energy storage device to stop receiving energy from a source”, it is submitted that paragraphs 0045 and 0053 imply stopping energy from a source, and paragraph 0070 provides an example of conditions for stopping energy from a source. In particular, paragraph 0070 discloses “Black Energy” is only temporarily stored up to a set limit. The disclosure of storing the Black energy up to the set limit indicates that the energy storage device would stop receiving Black energy after the amount of Black energy reaches the set limit, as the energy storage is disclosed as prioritizing Green energy. It is therefore maintained that EMALFARB discloses the recitation within the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim language.
In response to arguments regarding the combination of EMALFARB as modified by BISSONETTE, Applicant argues secondary reference BISSONETTE does not disclose the recitations of “causing the energy storage device to stop receiving energy from a source” and “causing the energy storage device to receive energy from a different source with an environmental impact below the threshold value”. The rejection does not rely on BISSONETTE to teach “causing the energy storage device to stop receiving energy from a source” and “causing the energy storage device to receive energy from a different source”, as these recitations are disclosed in EMALFARB. At least part of Applicant’s arguments appear to be against BISSONETTE individually, and one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. Secondary reference BISSONETTE is relied upon to teach the recitation “determining that the environmental impact of the energy that was previously received is above a threshold value”, and applying this teaching of a desired environmental impact threshold value, as the condition to “stop receiving energy from a source, and causing the energy storage device to receive energy from a different source” as disclosed in EMALFARB, teaches the recitations.
Applicant argues as follows on page 11 of the remarks:
The Examiner's combination of EMALFARB and BISSONETTE requires more than modifying EMALFARB to use BISSONETTE's threshold determination. It requires using the threshold determination in a way different from how BISSONETTE teaches - namely, using the threshold determination such that, "in response to a determination that the environmental impact is above the threshold value," the processor performs "causing the energy storage device to stop receiving energy from a source," rather than BISSONETTE's disclosed consequence of enabling or not enabling power flow from the energy storage device to the bus.
In response, the test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference (e.g., the features of enabling or not enabling power of BISSONETTE); nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. In this case, secondary reference BISSONETTE is analogous art which utilizes an environmental impact threshold value in determining whether to receive/provide power (e.g., from a utility grid, ¶ 0092; or from a local energy storage device, ¶ 0095). It is noted that BISSONETTE discloses choosing an energy source based on the environmental impact threshold value in paragraph 0092. One of ordinary skill would understand that the environmental impact threshold value of BISSONETTE could be used as the condition to “stop receiving energy from a source, and causing the energy storage device to receive energy from a different source” as disclosed in EMALFARB and as described above, with the motivation being to further optimize the use of renewable/green energy. It is therefore maintained that EMALFARB as modified by BISSONETTE teaches the method of claim 1, the system of claim 8, and the computer-readable medium of claim 15 as described in the rejection below.
It is noted that a new grounds of rejection is presented in view of newly found reference LANG (WO2011/091857A1).
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 1, line 5, “the environmental impact” should be changed to --an environmental impact--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 8, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EMALFARB (US PG Pub 2011/0276194; previously cited) in view of LANG (WO2011/091857A1; English Machine translation is included with office action).
Regarding claim 1, EMALFARB discloses a method performed by a processor (300, 310, Fig. 2A; ¶ 0030: energy pooling manager 300 measures and controls the green and black energy usage, consumption, generation, and credits. The Energy Network will offer Green Energy as the first resource of energy and supplemented by Black Energy dependent on demand and costs. The manager 300 independently monitors and manages battery storage State of Charge; ¶ 0031: manager 300 includes software configured to provide direct measurements; ¶ 0037: The Manager 300 in conjunction with the Green Energy Controller 310, which may be software based, includes functions and the configurations to communicate total aggregated energy storage available at a given location to station command and control centers 850 which both monitors station operational status and provides information to energy markets and consumers. The Green Energy Controller is further configured, as detailed below, to control and facilitate the flow and availability of power from aggregated energy sources and EV batteries to other components based on availability, consumer preference and/or revenue potential), the method comprising:
receiving a request from a device (e.g., an electric vehicle or a device associated with the electric vehicle; ¶ 0049: Communications, step 4116 are made to local plugged-in electric vehicles, step 4118 and the energy network, step 4114 to provide local status and requests from the network to assist in meeting remote energy power and energy customers; ¶ 0050: Green Energy requests; claim 1: a request for Green Energy and Green Power made at the energy pooling station by a customer) for an amount of energy to be provided to the device (¶ 0058: a charging EV that requires 10 kWh of Green Energy delivered to the vehicle);
in response to the request, determining the environmental impact of energy previously received by an energy storage device (100, Figs. 1 & 2A) electrically coupled to the device (¶ 0038: The Power Electronics Unit 200 supplies power to a Smart Breaker Panel 400 connected to Level 1, 2 and Fast EV Charging Stations (EVCS) and other power loads (building circuits, etc.) by converting Green Energy or Black Energy from pooled energy stations including renewable energy sources such as but not limited to photovoltaic solar panels 500, thereby effectively buffering the commercial power grid by controlling the EV battery charging loads and load shifting during periods of peak demands while enabling the ability for consumers of power/loads 600 to be supplied with Green Energy (renewable, stored renewable and recycled grid power) from different sources that distinguish themselves both in terms of cost, storage and generation methods, as well as supplying energy loads with emergency power in the event of grid emergencies and power outages; ¶ 0040: Energy Storage--The energy pooling station 100 200 300 is acting as a fuel tank for Green Energy and Black Energy. Energy Dispatch--Power generation coupled with storage makes energy available when needed, independent from the actual time of generation; ¶ 0043: As described below another aspect of the Manager 300 for the energy pooling station or the energy pools is it's tracking of Green Power vs. Black power. With this information tracked for each energy pool in the energy network, including the virtual energy pool. The command manager 900 has the ability to choose which kind of power is delivered to the grid for FRS. Information relating to the type of energy or power being provided to the energy pooling stations is easily accessible from the grid. Therefore, the local or command manager will be able to track and determine the amount of Green Energy/Black Energy it has at its disposal, has used in a given time period, or has amounts of credits; ¶ 0044: The vehicle is assumed to come into the system with `Black Energy` unless it can tell the Manager 300 otherwise. The Manager 300 would then increase its energy pool capacity by the amount of the newly connected vehicle pack, and update the local energy pool energy mix numbers with the additional 20% of BE stored in the vehicle; ¶ 0045: The energy is tracked in each storage device by the manager, allowing a guarantee of energy, and its type (Green or Black); ¶ 0048: The energy network can absorb Green Energy from the grid when it is at a surplus and hold it in the distributed energy pools. Then through the use of this banked Green Energy the energy network can supply Green Energy to a customers even when there is no Green Energy available on the power grid, moving the energy through the energy network; ¶ 0053: One aspect is an algorithm that will recognize and control the relative quantities of Black and Green Energy that is being used in charging and discharging the energy storage system; ¶ 0058: For example, a charging EV that requires 10 kWh of Green Energy delivered to the vehicle); and
in response to a determination [of the environmental impact of energy previously received by the energy storage device] (since the processor tracks the amount of “Green” and “Black” energy stored as described in the cited paragraphs above, it is submitted the EMALFARB discloses this recitation within the broadest reasonable interpretation; ¶ 0050: If the Green Energy requests cannot be met by the energy storage… a portion of the power request is considered and implemented by the power electronics…[and] grid power is utilized to meet EV customer requirements):
causing the energy storage device to stop receiving energy from a source (¶ 0045: The energy is tracked in each storage device by the manager, allowing a guarantee of energy, and its type (Green or Black); ¶ 0053: an algorithm software component configured to monitor and control the Green and Black Energy. The algorithm's primary function is to match customer need, generation source, and energy pooling station's physical limits. Using the described algorithm, it is possible to serve these functions using a single energy storage system for both Black and Green energy and a single power electronics unit. One aspect is an algorithm that will recognize and control the relative quantities of Black and Green Energy that is being used in charging and discharging the energy storage system. This is essentially an accounting and control concept that responds interactively to energy source availability, customer demand and the limits of energy pooling installations; it is implied that the algorithm disclosed in ¶ 0053 would at least temporarily stop receiving Black energy based on an increased demand for Green energy; ¶ 0070: ES [energy storage] only Accumulates Green Energy--the software may further be configured to net increase the ES accumulation by Green Energy. If the ES SOC is low, power requirements are met by Black Energy. Black Energy will only be stored temporarily (24 hours) for power customer use only--20% of ES SOC;), and
causing the energy storage device to receive energy from a different source (¶ 0017: Renewable Energy to Plugin Vehicles--Providing renewable energy from on site Wind, Bio-Mass, Solar Panels and/or grid purchased Green Power to provide energy and power to the energy pools connecting to charging stations that fuel private and fleet vehicle owners; ¶ 0038: Green Energy (renewable, stored renewable and recycled grid power)).
EMALFARB fails to disclose determining that the environmental impact of the energy that was previously received is above a threshold value; in response to a determination that the environmental impact is above the threshold value, by the processor: causing the energy storage device to stop receiving energy from a source; and causing the energy storage device to receive energy from a different source with an environmental impact below the threshold value.
LANG discloses determining that the environmental impact of the energy that was previously received is above a threshold value; in response to a determination that the environmental impact is above the threshold value, by the processor: causing the energy storage device to stop receiving energy from a source; and causing the energy storage device to receive energy from a different source with an environmental impact below the threshold value (¶ 0007: Each energy generation facility provides an environmental impact parameter via its control unit, which indicates an instantaneous CO2 emission per unit of electrical energy of the respective energy generation facility. In addition, each energy generation device provides, by means of its control unit, an instantaneous power parameter that indicates the maximum electrical power currently being provided by the energy generation device. Depending on the electrical power currently demanded by the energy consumers, the energy automation system uses the respective environmental impact parameters and the respective instantaneous power parameters of the individual energy generation facilities to select from the majority of energy generation facilities and uses the selected energy generation facilities to cover the current demand for electrical power; ¶ 0029: Through the interaction of the charging control of the electrical energy storage system with the upstream device, the control of the electrical energy supply network, optimized according to environmentally friendly aspects, can be further improved by the energy automation system. For example, it can be provided that the charging control always supplies electrical energy to the electrical energy storage device when the environmental impact parameter of the electrical energy currently supplied…is below a predetermined threshold; ¶ 0044: the environmental impact parameter should be determined according to a holistic… consideration of the complete life cycle of the respective electrical power generation facility and should therefore also take into account the CO2 emissions associated with the manufacture, transport, operation and disposal of the respective power generation facility and the required primary energy carriers; ¶ 0047: dynamically change the selection of energy supply facilities; ¶ 0051: threshold values can be parameterized in the ballast 20 and the ballast 20 can control the supply of electrical energy to the individual electrical energy consumers 21a - 21c via the controllable connections 22a - 22c in such a way that it only supplies the electrical end consumers 21a - 21c with electrical energy if the threshold value for the sum of all environmental impact parameters is undershot and otherwise reduces the energy supply or switches it off completely; dynamic selection of power sources is disclosed based on “environmental impact parameters”, and it is implied that at least one “different source” is necessary in order to commence charging energy storage device 21c after the controllable connection has been switched off completely based on said threshold value).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the environmental impact threshold value of LANG into the method of EMALFARB to produce an expected result of a method including an environmental impact threshold value. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to further optimize the use of renewable/green energy.
Regarding claim 8, EMALFARB discloses a system, comprising:
a processor (300, 310, Fig. 2A; ¶ 0030: energy pooling manager 300 measures and controls the green and black energy usage, consumption, generation, and credits. The Energy Network will offer Green Energy as the first resource of energy and supplemented by Black Energy dependent on demand and costs. The manager 300 independently monitors and manages battery storage State of Charge; ¶ 0031: manager 300 includes software configured to provide direct measurements; ¶ 0037: The Manager 300 in conjunction with the Green Energy Controller 310, which may be software based, includes functions and the configurations to communicate total aggregated energy storage available at a given location to station command and control centers 850 which both monitors station operational status and provides information to energy markets and consumers. The Green Energy Controller is further configured, as detailed below, to control and facilitate the flow and availability of power from aggregated energy sources and EV batteries to other components based on availability, consumer preference and/or revenue potential) that, when executing instructions stored in a memory (¶ 0031, 0037: memory is implied to store the disclosed software), is configured to:
receive a request from a device (e.g., an electric vehicle or a device associated with the electric vehicle; ¶ 0049: Communications, step 4116 are made to local plugged-in electric vehicles, step 4118 and the energy network, step 4114 to provide local status and requests from the network to assist in meeting remote energy power and energy customers; ¶ 0050: Green Energy requests; claim 1: a request for Green Energy and Green Power made at the energy pooling station by a customer) for an amount of energy to be provided to the device (¶ 0058: a charging EV that requires 10 kWh of Green Energy delivered to the vehicle);
in response to the request, determine an environmental impact of energy previously received by an energy storage device (100, Figs. 1 & 2A) electrically coupled to the device (¶ 0038: The Power Electronics Unit 200 supplies power to a Smart Breaker Panel 400 connected to Level 1, 2 and Fast EV Charging Stations (EVCS) and other power loads (building circuits, etc.) by converting Green Energy or Black Energy from pooled energy stations including renewable energy sources such as but not limited to photovoltaic solar panels 500, thereby effectively buffering the commercial power grid by controlling the EV battery charging loads and load shifting during periods of peak demands while enabling the ability for consumers of power/loads 600 to be supplied with Green Energy (renewable, stored renewable and recycled grid power) from different sources that distinguish themselves both in terms of cost, storage and generation methods, as well as supplying energy loads with emergency power in the event of grid emergencies and power outages; ¶ 0040: Energy Storage--The energy pooling station 100 200 300 is acting as a fuel tank for Green Energy and Black Energy. Energy Dispatch--Power generation coupled with storage makes energy available when needed, independent from the actual time of generation; ¶ 0043: As described below another aspect of the Manager 300 for the energy pooling station or the energy pools is it's tracking of Green Power vs. Black power. With this information tracked for each energy pool in the energy network, including the virtual energy pool. The command manager 900 has the ability to choose which kind of power is delivered to the grid for FRS. Information relating to the type of energy or power being provided to the energy pooling stations is easily accessible from the grid. Therefore, the local or command manager will be able to track and determine the amount of Green Energy/Black Energy it has at its disposal, has used in a given time period, or has amounts of credits; ¶ 0044: The vehicle is assumed to come into the system with `Black Energy` unless it can tell the Manager 300 otherwise. The Manager 300 would then increase its energy pool capacity by the amount of the newly connected vehicle pack, and update the local energy pool energy mix numbers with the additional 20% of BE stored in the vehicle; ¶ 0045: The energy is tracked in each storage device by the manager, allowing a guarantee of energy, and its type (Green or Black); ¶ 0048: The energy network can absorb Green Energy from the grid when it is at a surplus and hold it in the distributed energy pools. Then through the use of this banked Green Energy the energy network can supply Green Energy to a customers even when there is no Green Energy available on the power grid, moving the energy through the energy network; ¶ 0053: One aspect is an algorithm that will recognize and control the relative quantities of Black and Green Energy that is being used in charging and discharging the energy storage system; ¶ 0058: For example, a charging EV that requires 10 kWh of Green Energy delivered to the vehicle); and
in response to a determination [of the environmental impact of energy previously received by the energy storage device] (since the processor tracks the amount of “Green” and “Black” energy stored as described in the cited paragraphs above, it is submitted the EMALFARB discloses this recitation within the broadest reasonable interpretation; ¶ 0050: If the Green Energy requests cannot be met by the energy storage… a portion of the power request is considered and implemented by the power electronics…[and] grid power is utilized to meet EV customer requirements),
cause the energy storage device to stop receiving energy from a source (¶ 0045: The energy is tracked in each storage device by the manager, allowing a guarantee of energy, and its type (Green or Black); ¶ 0053: an algorithm software component configured to monitor and control the Green and Black Energy. The algorithm's primary function is to match customer need, generation source, and energy pooling station's physical limits. Using the described algorithm, it is possible to serve these functions using a single energy storage system for both Black and Green energy and a single power electronics unit. One aspect is an algorithm that will recognize and control the relative quantities of Black and Green Energy that is being used in charging and discharging the energy storage system. This is essentially an accounting and control concept that responds interactively to energy source availability, customer demand and the limits of energy pooling installations; it is implied that the algorithm disclosed in ¶ 0053 would at least temporarily stop receiving Black energy based on an increased demand for Green energy; ¶ 0070: ES [energy storage] only Accumulates Green Energy--the software may further be configured to net increase the ES accumulation by Green Energy. If the ES SOC is low, power requirements are met by Black Energy. Black Energy will only be stored temporarily (24 hours) for power customer use only--20% of ES SOC), and
cause the energy storage device to receive energy from a different source (¶ 0017: Renewable Energy to Plugin Vehicles--Providing renewable energy from on site Wind, Bio-Mass, Solar Panels and/or grid purchased Green Power to provide energy and power to the energy pools connecting to charging stations that fuel private and fleet vehicle owners; ¶ 0038: Green Energy (renewable, stored renewable and recycled grid power)).
EMALFARB fails to disclose determine that the environmental impact of the energy that was previously received is above a threshold value; in response to a determination that the environmental impact is above the threshold value, cause the energy storage device to stop receiving energy from a source, and cause the energy storage device to receive energy from a different source with an environmental impact below the threshold value.
LANG discloses determine that the environmental impact of the energy that was previously received is above a threshold value; in response to a determination that the environmental impact is above the threshold value, cause the energy storage device to stop receiving energy from a source, and cause the energy storage device to receive energy from a different source with an environmental impact below the threshold value (¶ 0007: Each energy generation facility provides an environmental impact parameter via its control unit, which indicates an instantaneous CO2 emission per unit of electrical energy of the respective energy generation facility. In addition, each energy generation device provides, by means of its control unit, an instantaneous power parameter that indicates the maximum electrical power currently being provided by the energy generation device. Depending on the electrical power currently demanded by the energy consumers, the energy automation system uses the respective environmental impact parameters and the respective instantaneous power parameters of the individual energy generation facilities to select from the majority of energy generation facilities and uses the selected energy generation facilities to cover the current demand for electrical power; ¶ 0029: Through the interaction of the charging control of the electrical energy storage system with the upstream device, the control of the electrical energy supply network, optimized according to environmentally friendly aspects, can be further improved by the energy automation system. For example, it can be provided that the charging control always supplies electrical energy to the electrical energy storage device when the environmental impact parameter of the electrical energy currently supplied…is below a predetermined threshold; ¶ 0044: the environmental impact parameter should be determined according to a holistic… consideration of the complete life cycle of the respective electrical power generation facility and should therefore also take into account the CO2 emissions associated with the manufacture, transport, operation and disposal of the respective power generation facility and the required primary energy carriers; ¶ 0047: dynamically change the selection of energy supply facilities; ¶ 0051: threshold values can be parameterized in the ballast 20 and the ballast 20 can control the supply of electrical energy to the individual electrical energy consumers 21a - 21c via the controllable connections 22a - 22c in such a way that it only supplies the electrical end consumers 21a - 21c with electrical energy if the threshold value for the sum of all environmental impact parameters is undershot and otherwise reduces the energy supply or switches it off completely; dynamic selection of power sources is disclosed based on “environmental impact parameters”, and it is implied that at least one “different source” is necessary in order to commence charging energy storage device 21c after the controllable connection has been switched off completely based on said threshold value).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the environmental impact threshold value of LANG into the system of EMALFARB to produce an expected result of a system including an environmental impact threshold value. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to further optimize the use of renewable/green energy.
Regarding claim 15, EMALFARB discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising instructions that, when executed by a processor (300, 310, Fig. 2A; ¶ 0030: energy pooling manager 300 measures and controls the green and black energy usage, consumption, generation, and credits. The Energy Network will offer Green Energy as the first resource of energy and supplemented by Black Energy dependent on demand and costs. The manager 300 independently monitors and manages battery storage State of Charge; ¶ 0031: manager 300 includes software configured to provide direct measurements; ¶ 0037: The Manager 300 in conjunction with the Green Energy Controller 310, which may be software based, includes functions and the configurations to communicate total aggregated energy storage available at a given location to station command and control centers 850 which both monitors station operational status and provides information to energy markets and consumers. The Green Energy Controller is further configured, as detailed below, to control and facilitate the flow and availability of power from aggregated energy sources and EV batteries to other components based on availability, consumer preference and/or revenue potential; ¶ 0031, 0037: a medium with instructions is implied for the disclosed software), cause the processor to perform:
receiving a request from a device (e.g., an electric vehicle or a device associated with the electric vehicle; ¶ 0049: Communications, step 4116 are made to local plugged-in electric vehicles, step 4118 and the energy network, step 4114 to provide local status and requests from the network to assist in meeting remote energy power and energy customers; ¶ 0050: Green Energy requests; claim 1: a request for Green Energy and Green Power made at the energy pooling station by a customer) for an amount of energy to be provided to the device (¶ 0058: a charging EV that requires 10 kWh of Green Energy delivered to the vehicle);
in response to the request, determining an environmental impact of energy previously received by an energy storage device (100, Figs. 1 & 2A) electrically coupled to the device (¶ 0038: The Power Electronics Unit 200 supplies power to a Smart Breaker Panel 400 connected to Level 1, 2 and Fast EV Charging Stations (EVCS) and other power loads (building circuits, etc.) by converting Green Energy or Black Energy from pooled energy stations including renewable energy sources such as but not limited to photovoltaic solar panels 500, thereby effectively buffering the commercial power grid by controlling the EV battery charging loads and load shifting during periods of peak demands while enabling the ability for consumers of power/loads 600 to be supplied with Green Energy (renewable, stored renewable and recycled grid power) from different sources that distinguish themselves both in terms of cost, storage and generation methods, as well as supplying energy loads with emergency power in the event of grid emergencies and power outages; ¶ 0040: Energy Storage--The energy pooling station 100 200 300 is acting as a fuel tank for Green Energy and Black Energy. Energy Dispatch--Power generation coupled with storage makes energy available when needed, independent from the actual time of generation; ¶ 0043: As described below another aspect of the Manager 300 for the energy pooling station or the energy pools is it's tracking of Green Power vs. Black power. With this information tracked for each energy pool in the energy network, including the virtual energy pool. The command manager 900 has the ability to choose which kind of power is delivered to the grid for FRS. Information relating to the type of energy or power being provided to the energy pooling stations is easily accessible from the grid. Therefore, the local or command manager will be able to track and determine the amount of Green Energy/Black Energy it has at its disposal, has used in a given time period, or has amounts of credits; ¶ 0044: The vehicle is assumed to come into the system with `Black Energy` unless it can tell the Manager 300 otherwise. The Manager 300 would then increase its energy pool capacity by the amount of the newly connected vehicle pack, and update the local energy pool energy mix numbers with the additional 20% of BE stored in the vehicle; ¶ 0045: The energy is tracked in each storage device by the manager, allowing a guarantee of energy, and its type (Green or Black); ¶ 0048: The energy network can absorb Green Energy from the grid when it is at a surplus and hold it in the distributed energy pools. Then through the use of this banked Green Energy the energy network can supply Green Energy to a customers even when there is no Green Energy available on the power grid, moving the energy through the energy network; ¶ 0053: One aspect is an algorithm that will recognize and control the relative quantities of Black and Green Energy that is being used in charging and discharging the energy storage system; ¶ 0058: For example, a charging EV that requires 10 kWh of Green Energy delivered to the vehicle); and
in response to a determination [of the environmental impact of energy previously received by the energy storage device] (since the processor tracks the amount of “Green” and “Black” energy stored as described in the cited paragraphs above, it is submitted the EMALFARB discloses this recitation within the broadest reasonable interpretation; ¶ 0050: If the Green Energy requests cannot be met by the energy storage… a portion of the power request is considered and implemented by the power electronics…[and] grid power is utilized to meet EV customer requirements),
causing the energy storage device to stop receiving energy from a source (¶ 0045: The energy is tracked in each storage device by the manager, allowing a guarantee of energy, and its type (Green or Black); ¶ 0053: an algorithm software component configured to monitor and control the Green and Black Energy. The algorithm's primary function is to match customer need, generation source, and energy pooling station's physical limits. Using the described algorithm, it is possible to serve these functions using a single energy storage system for both Black and Green energy and a single power electronics unit. One aspect is an algorithm that will recognize and control the relative quantities of Black and Green Energy that is being used in charging and discharging the energy storage system. This is essentially an accounting and control concept that responds interactively to energy source availability, customer demand and the limits of energy pooling installations; it is implied that the algorithm disclosed in ¶ 0053 would at least temporarily stop receiving Black energy based on an increased demand for Green energy; ¶ 0070: ES [energy storage] only Accumulates Green Energy--the software may further be configured to net increase the ES accumulation by Green Energy. If the ES SOC is low, power requirements are met by Black Energy. Black Energy will only be stored temporarily (24 hours) for power customer use only--20% of ES SOC), and
causing the energy storage device to receive energy from a different source (¶ 0017: Renewable Energy to Plugin Vehicles--Providing renewable energy from on site Wind, Bio-Mass, Solar Panels and/or grid purchased Green Power to provide energy and power to the energy pools connecting to charging stations that fuel private and fleet vehicle owners; ¶ 0038: Green Energy (renewable, stored renewable and recycled grid power)).
EMALFARB fails to disclose determining that the environmental impact of the energy that was previously received is above a threshold value; and in response to a determination that the environmental impact is above the threshold value, causing the energy storage device to stop receiving energy from a source, and causing the energy storage device to receive energy from a different source with an environmental impact below the threshold value.
LANG discloses determining that the environmental impact of the energy that was previously received is above a threshold value; and in response to a determination that the environmental impact is above the threshold value, causing the energy storage device to stop receiving energy from a source, and causing the energy storage device to receive energy from a different source with an environmental impact below the threshold value (¶ 0007: Each energy generation facility provides an environmental impact parameter via its control unit, which indicates an instantaneous CO2 emission per unit of electrical energy of the respective energy generation facility. In addition, each energy generation device provides, by means of its control unit, an instantaneous power parameter that indicates the maximum electrical power currently being provided by the energy generation device. Depending on the electrical power currently demanded by the energy consumers, the energy automation system uses the respective environmental impact parameters and the respective instantaneous power parameters of the individual energy generation facilities to select from the majority of energy generation facilities and uses the selected energy generation facilities to cover the current demand for electrical power; ¶ 0029: Through the interaction of the charging control of the electrical energy storage system with the upstream device, the control of the electrical energy supply network, optimized according to environmentally friendly aspects, can be further improved by the energy automation system. For example, it can be provided that the charging control always supplies electrical energy to the electrical energy storage device when the environmental impact parameter of the electrical energy currently supplied…is below a predetermined threshold; ¶ 0044: the environmental impact parameter should be determined according to a holistic… consideration of the complete life cycle of the respective electrical power generation facility and should therefore also take into account the CO2 emissions associated with the manufacture, transport, operation and disposal of the respective power generation facility and the required primary energy carriers; ¶ 0047: dynamically change the selection of energy supply facilities; ¶ 0051: threshold values can be parameterized in the ballast 20 and the ballast 20 can control the supply of electrical energy to the individual electrical energy consumers 21a - 21c via the controllable connections 22a - 22c in such a way that it only supplies the electrical end consumers 21a - 21c with electrical energy if the threshold value for the sum of all environmental impact parameters is undershot and otherwise reduces the energy supply or switches it off completely; dynamic selection of power sources is disclosed based on “environmental impact parameters”, and it is implied that at least one “different source” is necessary in order to commence charging energy storage device 21c after the controllable connection has been switched off completely based on said threshold value).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the environmental impact threshold value of LANG into the medium comprising instructions of EMALFARB to produce an expected result of a medium comprising instructions and including an environmental impact threshold value. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to further optimize the use of renewable/green energy.
Claim(s) 1, 3, 8, 10, 15, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EMALFARB (US PG Pub 2011/0276194; previously cited) in view of BISSONETTE (US PG Pub 2012/0249065; previously cited).
Regarding claim 1, EMALFARB discloses a method performed by a processor (300, 310, Fig. 2A; ¶ 0030: energy pooling manager 300 measures and controls the green and black energy usage, consumption, generation, and credits. The Energy Network will offer Green Energy as the first resource of energy and supplemented by Black Energy dependent on demand and costs. The manager 300 independently monitors and manages battery storage State of Charge; ¶ 0031: manager 300 includes software configured to provide direct measurements; ¶ 0037: The Manager 300 in conjunction with the Green Energy Controller 310, which may be software based, includes functions and the configurations to communicate total aggregated energy storage available at a given location to station command and control centers 850 which both monitors station operational status and provides information to energy markets and consumers. The Green Energy Controller is further configured, as detailed below, to control and facilitate the flow and availability of power from aggregated energy sources and EV batteries to other components based on availability, consumer preference and/or revenue potential), the method comprising:
receiving a request from a device (e.g., an electric vehicle or a device associated with the electric vehicle; ¶ 0049: Communications, step 4116 are made to local plugged-in electric vehicles, step 4118 and the energy network, step 4114 to provide local status and requests from the network to assist in meeting remote energy power and energy customers; ¶ 0050: Green Energy requests; claim 1: a request for Green Energy and Green Power made at the energy pooling station by a customer) for an amount of energy to be provided to the device (¶ 0058: a charging EV that requires 10 kWh of Green Energy delivered to the vehicle);
in response to the request, determining the environmental impact of energy previously received by an energy storage device (100, Figs. 1 & 2A) electrically coupled to the device (¶ 0038: The Power Electronics Unit 200 supplies power to a Smart Breaker Panel 400 connected to Level 1, 2 and Fast EV Charging Stations (EVCS) and other power loads (building circuits, etc.) by converting Green Energy or Black Energy from pooled energy stations including renewable energy sources such as but not limited to photovoltaic solar panels 500, thereby effectively buffering the commercial power grid by controlling the EV battery charging loads and load shifting during periods of peak demands while enabling the ability for consumers of power/loads 600 to be supplied with Green Energy (renewable, stored renewable and recycled grid power) from different sources that distinguish themselves both in terms of cost, storage and generation methods, as well as supplying energy loads with emergency power in the event of grid emergencies and power outages; ¶ 0040: Energy Storage--The energy pooling station 100 200 300 is acting as a fuel tank for Green Energy and Black Energy. Energy Dispatch--Power generation coupled with storage makes energy available when needed, independent from the actual time of generation; ¶ 0043: As described below another aspect of the Manager 300 for the energy pooling station or the energy pools is it's tracking of Green Power vs. Black power. With this information tracked for each energy pool in the energy network, including the virtual energy pool. The command manager 900 has the ability to choose which kind of power is delivered to the grid for FRS. Information relating to the type of energy or power being provided to the energy pooling stations is easily accessible from the grid. Therefore, the local or command manager will be able to track and determine the amount of Green Energy/Black Energy it has at its disposal, has used in a given time period, or has amounts of credits; ¶ 0044: The vehicle is assumed to come into the system with `Black Energy` unless it can tell the Manager 300 otherwise. The Manager 300 would then increase its energy pool capacity by the amount of the newly connected vehicle pack, and update the local energy pool energy mix numbers with the additional 20% of BE stored in the vehicle; ¶ 0045: The energy is tracked in each storage device by the manager, allowing a guarantee of energy, and its type (Green or Black); ¶ 0048: The energy network can absorb Green Energy from the grid when it is at a surplus and hold it in the distributed energy pools. Then through the use of this banked Green Energy the energy network can supply Green Energy to a customers even when there is no Green Energy available on the power grid, moving the energy through the energy network; ¶ 0053: One aspect is an algorithm that will recognize and control the relative quantities of Black and Green Energy that is being used in charging and discharging the energy storage system; ¶ 0058: For example, a charging EV that requires 10 kWh of Green Energy delivered to the vehicle); and
in response to a determination [of the environmental impact of energy previously received by the energy storage device] (since the processor tracks the amount of “Green” and “Black” energy stored as described in the cited paragraphs above, it is submitted the EMALFARB discloses this recitation within the broadest reasonable interpretation; ¶ 0050: If the Green Energy requests cannot be met by the energy storage… a portion of the power request is considered and implemented by the power electronics…[and] grid power is utilized to meet EV customer requirements):
causing the energy storage device to stop receiving energy from a source (¶ 0045: The energy is tracked in each storage device by the manager, allowing a guarantee of energy, and its type (Green or Black); ¶ 0053: an algorithm software component configured to monitor and control the Green and Black Energy. The algorithm's primary function is to match customer need, generation source, and energy pooling station's physical limits. Using the described algorithm, it is possible to serve these functions using a single energy storage system for both Black and Green energy and a single power electronics unit. One aspect is an algorithm that will recognize and control the relative quantities of Black and Green Energy that is being used in charging and discharging the energy storage system. This is essentially an accounting and control concept that responds interactively to energy source availability, customer demand and the limits of energy pooling installations; it is implied that the algorithm disclosed in ¶ 0053 would at least temporarily stop receiving Black energy based on an increased demand for Green energy; ¶ 0070: ES [energy storage] only Accumulates Green Energy--the software may further be configured to net increase the ES accumulation by Green Energy. If the ES SOC is low, power requirements are met by Black Energy. Black Energy will only be stored temporarily (24 hours) for power customer use only--20% of ES SOC;), and
causing the energy storage device to receive energy from a different source (¶ 0017: Renewable Energy to Plugin Vehicles--Providing renewable energy from on site Wind, Bio-Mass, Solar Panels and/or grid purchased Green Power to provide energy and power to the energy pools connecting to charging stations that fuel private and fleet vehicle owners; ¶ 0038: Green Energy (renewable, stored renewable and recycled grid power)).
EMALFARB fails to disclose determining that the environmental impact of the energy that was previously received is above a threshold value; in response to a determination that the environmental impact is above the threshold value, by the processor: causing the energy storage device to stop receiving energy from a source; and causing the energy storage device to receive energy from a different source with an environmental impact below the threshold value.
BISSONETTE discloses determining that the environmental impact of the energy that was previously received is above a threshold value (¶ 0092: For power from the utility grid 220, the latest fraction of the total power contributed to the utility grid 220 from green sources (which may be referred to as the green fraction or environmental value) is obtained through the utility information channel 380 (block 761)…The green fraction represents an environmental value of the energy in accordance with the proportion of non-polluting or renewable energy sources that contributed to the energy. However, the environmental value may instead represent an environmental cost or measure of carbon footprint or pollution…A determination is made of whether the latest green fraction is above a predetermined threshold value (block 762). If so (YES branch of block 762), power flow from the utility grid 220 to the high voltage D.C. bus 300 is enabled (block 763). Otherwise (NO branch of block 762), no power flows from the utility grid 220 to the high voltage D.C. bus 300. Power flow is enabled from the solar generator 250 if available (block 764). Power flow from the wind generator 240 is enabled if available (block 765).; ¶ 0094: performance of the operation of block 766 of FIG. 16A, in which power flow from the local energy storage device 230 is enabled, may be contingent upon the green fraction, or environmental value, of the energy stored in the local energy storage device. The energy stored in the local energy storage device 230 can be assigned an environmental value corresponding to the environmental value of the energy with which it was charged (an average over time), which can be used as its environmental value for selection by the master controller 310 of power sources to supply power to the vehicle battery pack 110. Thus, the master controller may make a determination of whether to use power from the local energy storage device 230 based upon the environmental value of the power consumed in charging the local energy storage device 230; ¶ 0095: An optional operation is to assign an environmental value to the local energy storage device 230 based upon the environmental value of the energy that was used to charge the energy storage device (block 771). This requires a prior monitoring of the environmental value of the power taken from the utility grid 220 during the time (or times) that the local energy storage device 230 is charged from the utility grid 220, and accumulating the environmental values thus monitored to provide an accurate accounting of the environmental value of the energy stored in the local energy storage device 230; ¶ 0098: The determination of block 1766 is based upon whether the environmental value of the energy stored in the local energy storage device 230 is above a predetermined threshold. The environmental value of the local energy storage device 230 is obtained as the value previously stored in the step of block 1755. The determination of block 1766 may involve additional criteria, e.g., determining whether the local energy storage device is available and that it is not the power recipient. If the local energy storage device environmental value exceeds the predetermined threshold (YES branch of block 1766), and if the additional criteria are met, then power flow from the local energy storage device 230 to the high voltage bus 300 is enabled (block 1767). Otherwise (NO branch of block 1766), power flow from the local energy storage device 230 is not enabled). Applying the determination of the environmental impact of energy previously received above a threshold value as disclosed in BISSONETTE for the energy previously received by the energy storage device of EMALFARB, which maintains the energy previously received by the energy storage device based on environmental impact, teaches the recitations “in response to a determination that the environmental impact is above the threshold value, by the processor: causing the energy storage device to stop receiving energy from a source; and causing the energy storage device to receive energy from a different source with an environmental impact below the threshold value”.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include determining the environmental impact of the energy that was previously received is above a threshold value as recited in order to further optimize the use of renewable/green energy.
Regarding claim 3, EMALFARB as modified by BISSONETTE teaches the method as applied to claim 1 but fails to disclose providing a portion of the energy previously received to the device in response to the environmental impact being below the threshold value.
BISSONETTE further discloses providing a portion of the energy previously received to the device in response to the environmental impact being below the threshold value (¶ 0092, 0094, 0098).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include providing a portion of the energy previously received to the device in response to the environmental impact being below the threshold value in order to further optimize the use of renewable/green energy.
Regarding claim 8, EMALFARB discloses a system, comprising:
a processor (300, 310, Fig. 2A; ¶ 0030: energy pooling manager 300 measures and controls the green and black energy usage, consumption, generation, and credits. The Energy Network will offer Green Energy as the first resource of energy and supplemented by Black Energy dependent on demand and costs. The manager 300 independently monitors and manages battery storage State of Charge; ¶ 0031: manager 300 includes software configured to provide direct measurements; ¶ 0037: The Manager 300 in conjunction with the Green Energy Controller 310, which may be software based, includes functions and the configurations to communicate total aggregated energy storage available at a given location to station command and control centers 850 which both monitors station operational status and provides information to energy markets and consumers. The Green Energy Controller is further configured, as detailed below, to control and facilitate the flow and availability of power from aggregated energy sources and EV batteries to other components based on availability, consumer preference and/or revenue potential) that, when executing instructions stored in a memory (¶ 0031, 0037: memory is implied to store the disclosed software), is configured to:
receive a request from a device (e.g., an electric vehicle or a device associated with the electric vehicle; ¶ 0049: Communications, step 4116 are made to local plugged-in electric vehicles, step 4118 and the energy network, step 4114 to provide local status and requests from the network to assist in meeting remote energy power and energy customers; ¶ 0050: Green Energy requests; claim 1: a request for Green Energy and Green Power made at the energy pooling station by a customer) for an amount of energy to be provided to the device (¶ 0058: a charging EV that requires 10 kWh of Green Energy delivered to the vehicle);
in response to the request, determine an environmental impact of energy previously received by an energy storage device (100, Figs. 1 & 2A) electrically coupled to the device (¶ 0038: The Power Electronics Unit 200 supplies power to a Smart Breaker Panel 400 connected to Level 1, 2 and Fast EV Charging Stations (EVCS) and other power loads (building circuits, etc.) by converting Green Energy or Black Energy from pooled energy stations including renewable energy sources such as but not limited to photovoltaic solar panels 500, thereby effectively buffering the commercial power grid by controlling the EV battery charging loads and load shifting during periods of peak demands while enabling the ability for consumers of power/loads 600 to be supplied with Green Energy (renewable, stored renewable and recycled grid power) from different sources that distinguish themselves both in terms of cost, storage and generation methods, as well as supplying energy loads with emergency power in the event of grid emergencies and power outages; ¶ 0040: Energy Storage--The energy pooling station 100 200 300 is acting as a fuel tank for Green Energy and Black Energy. Energy Dispatch--Power generation coupled with storage makes energy available when needed, independent from the actual time of generation; ¶ 0043: As described below another aspect of the Manager 300 for the energy pooling station or the energy pools is it's tracking of Green Power vs. Black power. With this information tracked for each energy pool in the energy network, including the virtual energy pool. The command manager 900 has the ability to choose which kind of power is delivered to the grid for FRS. Information relating to the type of energy or power being provided to the energy pooling stations is easily accessible from the grid. Therefore, the local or command manager will be able to track and determine the amount of Green Energy/Black Energy it has at its disposal, has used in a given time period, or has amounts of credits; ¶ 0044: The vehicle is assumed to come into the system with `Black Energy` unless it can tell the Manager 300 otherwise. The Manager 300 would then increase its energy pool capacity by the amount of the newly connected vehicle pack, and update the local energy pool energy mix numbers with the additional 20% of BE stored in the vehicle; ¶ 0045: The energy is tracked in each storage device by the manager, allowing a guarantee of energy, and its type (Green or Black); ¶ 0048: The energy network can absorb Green Energy from the grid when it is at a surplus and hold it in the distributed energy pools. Then through the use of this banked Green Energy the energy network can supply Green Energy to a customers even when there is no Green Energy available on the power grid, moving the energy through the energy network; ¶ 0053: One aspect is an algorithm that will recognize and control the relative quantities of Black and Green Energy that is being used in charging and discharging the energy storage system; ¶ 0058: For example, a charging EV that requires 10 kWh of Green Energy delivered to the vehicle); and
in response to a determination [of the environmental impact of energy previously received by the energy storage device] (since the processor tracks the amount of “Green” and “Black” energy stored as described in the cited paragraphs above, it is submitted the EMALFARB discloses this recitation within the broadest reasonable interpretation; ¶ 0050: If the Green Energy requests cannot be met by the energy storage… a portion of the power request is considered and implemented by the power electronics…[and] grid power is utilized to meet EV customer requirements),
cause the energy storage device to stop receiving energy from a source (¶ 0045: The energy is tracked in each storage device by the manager, allowing a guarantee of energy, and its type (Green or Black); ¶ 0053: an algorithm software component configured to monitor and control the Green and Black Energy. The algorithm's primary function is to match customer need, generation source, and energy pooling station's physical limits. Using the described algorithm, it is possible to serve these functions using a single energy storage system for both Black and Green energy and a single power electronics unit. One aspect is an algorithm that will recognize and control the relative quantities of Black and Green Energy that is being used in charging and discharging the energy storage system. This is essentially an accounting and control concept that responds interactively to energy source availability, customer demand and the limits of energy pooling installations; it is implied that the algorithm disclosed in ¶ 0053 would at least temporarily stop receiving Black energy based on an increased demand for Green energy; ¶ 0070: ES [energy storage] only Accumulates Green Energy--the software may further be configured to net increase the ES accumulation by Green Energy. If the ES SOC is low, power requirements are met by Black Energy. Black Energy will only be stored temporarily (24 hours) for power customer use only--20% of ES SOC), and
cause the energy storage device to receive energy from a different source (¶ 0017: Renewable Energy to Plugin Vehicles--Providing renewable energy from on site Wind, Bio-Mass, Solar Panels and/or grid purchased Green Power to provide energy and power to the energy pools connecting to charging stations that fuel private and fleet vehicle owners; ¶ 0038: Green Energy (renewable, stored renewable and recycled grid power)).
EMALFARB fails to disclose determine that the environmental impact of the energy that was previously received is above a threshold value; in response to a determination that the environmental impact is above the threshold value, cause the energy storage device to stop receiving energy from a source, and cause the energy storage device to receive energy from a different source with an environmental impact below the threshold value.
BISSONETTE discloses determining that the environmental impact of the energy that was previously received is above a threshold value (¶ 0092: For power from the utility grid 220, the latest fraction of the total power contributed to the utility grid 220 from green sources (which may be referred to as the green fraction or environmental value) is obtained through the utility information channel 380 (block 761)…The green fraction represents an environmental value of the energy in accordance with the proportion of non-polluting or renewable energy sources that contributed to the energy. However, the environmental value may instead represent an environmental cost or measure of carbon footprint or pollution…A determination is made of whether the latest green fraction is above a predetermined threshold value (block 762). If so (YES branch of block 762), power flow from the utility grid 220 to the high voltage D.C. bus 300 is enabled (block 763). Otherwise (NO branch of block 762), no power flows from the utility grid 220 to the high voltage D.C. bus 300. Power flow is enabled from the solar generator 250 if available (block 764). Power flow from the wind generator 240 is enabled if available (block 765).; ¶ 0094: performance of the operation of block 766 of FIG. 16A, in which power flow from the local energy storage device 230 is enabled, may be contingent upon the green fraction, or environmental value, of the energy stored in the local energy storage device. The energy stored in the local energy storage device 230 can be assigned an environmental value corresponding to the environmental value of the energy with which it was charged (an average over time), which can be used as its environmental value for selection by the master controller 310 of power sources to supply power to the vehicle battery pack 110. Thus, the master controller may make a determination of whether to use power from the local energy storage device 230 based upon the environmental value of the power consumed in charging the local energy storage device 230; ¶ 0095: An optional operation is to assign an environmental value to the local energy storage device 230 based upon the environmental value of the energy that was used to charge the energy storage device (block 771). This requires a prior monitoring of the environmental value of the power taken from the utility grid 220 during the time (or times) that the local energy storage device 230 is charged from the utility grid 220, and accumulating the environmental values thus monitored to provide an accurate accounting of the environmental value of the energy stored in the local energy storage device 230; ¶ 0098: The determination of block 1766 is based upon whether the environmental value of the energy stored in the local energy storage device 230 is above a predetermined threshold. The environmental value of the local energy storage device 230 is obtained as the value previously stored in the step of block 1755. The determination of block 1766 may involve additional criteria, e.g., determining whether the local energy storage device is available and that it is not the power recipient. If the local energy storage device environmental value exceeds the predetermined threshold (YES branch of block 1766), and if the additional criteria are met, then power flow from the local energy storage device 230 to the high voltage bus 300 is enabled (block 1767). Otherwise (NO branch of block 1766), power flow from the local energy storage device 230 is not enabled). Applying the determination of the environmental impact of energy previously received above a threshold value as disclosed in BISSONETTE for the energy previously received by the energy storage device of EMALFARB, which maintains the energy previously received by the energy storage device based on environmental impact, teaches the recitations “in response to a determination that the environmental impact is above the threshold value, cause the energy storage device to stop receiving energy from a source, and cause the energy storage device to receive energy from a different source with an environmental impact below the threshold value”.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include determining the environmental impact of the energy that was previously received is above a threshold value as recited in order to further optimize the use of renewable/green energy.
Regarding claim 10, EMALFARB as modified by BISSONETTE teaches the system as applied to claim 8, but fails to teach the processor is configured to: provide a portion of the energy previously received to the device in response to the environmental impact being below the threshold value.
BISSONETTE further discloses the processor is configured to: provide a portion of the energy previously received to the device in response to the environmental impact being below the threshold value (¶ 0092, 0094, 0098).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include providing a portion of the energy previously received to the device in response to the environmental impact being below the threshold value in order to further optimize the use of renewable/green energy.
Regarding claim 15, EMALFARB discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising instructions that, when executed by a processor (300, 310, Fig. 2A; ¶ 0030: energy pooling manager 300 measures and controls the green and black energy usage, consumption, generation, and credits. The Energy Network will offer Green Energy as the first resource of energy and supplemented by Black Energy dependent on demand and costs. The manager 300 independently monitors and manages battery storage State of Charge; ¶ 0031: manager 300 includes software configured to provide direct measurements; ¶ 0037: The Manager 300 in conjunction with the Green Energy Controller 310, which may be software based, includes functions and the configurations to communicate total aggregated energy storage available at a given location to station command and control centers 850 which both monitors station operational status and provides information to energy markets and consumers. The Green Energy Controller is further configured, as detailed below, to control and facilitate the flow and availability of power from aggregated energy sources and EV batteries to other components based on availability, consumer preference and/or revenue potential; ¶ 0031, 0037: a medium with instructions is implied for the disclosed software), cause the processor to perform:
receiving a request from a device (e.g., an electric vehicle or a device associated with the electric vehicle; ¶ 0049: Communications, step 4116 are made to local plugged-in electric vehicles, step 4118 and the energy network, step 4114 to provide local status and requests from the network to assist in meeting remote energy power and energy customers; ¶ 0050: Green Energy requests; claim 1: a request for Green Energy and Green Power made at the energy pooling station by a customer) for an amount of energy to be provided to the device (¶ 0058: a charging EV that requires 10 kWh of Green Energy delivered to the vehicle);
in response to the request, determining an environmental impact of energy previously received by an energy storage device (100, Figs. 1 & 2A) electrically coupled to the device (¶ 0038: The Power Electronics Unit 200 supplies power to a Smart Breaker Panel 400 connected to Level 1, 2 and Fast EV Charging Stations (EVCS) and other power loads (building circuits, etc.) by converting Green Energy or Black Energy from pooled energy stations including renewable energy sources such as but not limited to photovoltaic solar panels 500, thereby effectively buffering the commercial power grid by controlling the EV battery charging loads and load shifting during periods of peak demands while enabling the ability for consumers of power/loads 600 to be supplied with Green Energy (renewable, stored renewable and recycled grid power) from different sources that distinguish themselves both in terms of cost, storage and generation methods, as well as supplying energy loads with emergency power in the event of grid emergencies and power outages; ¶ 0040: Energy Storage--The energy pooling station 100 200 300 is acting as a fuel tank for Green Energy and Black Energy. Energy Dispatch--Power generation coupled with storage makes energy available when needed, independent from the actual time of generation; ¶ 0043: As described below another aspect of the Manager 300 for the energy pooling station or the energy pools is it's tracking of Green Power vs. Black power. With this information tracked for each energy pool in the energy network, including the virtual energy pool. The command manager 900 has the ability to choose which kind of power is delivered to the grid for FRS. Information relating to the type of energy or power being provided to the energy pooling stations is easily accessible from the grid. Therefore, the local or command manager will be able to track and determine the amount of Green Energy/Black Energy it has at its disposal, has used in a given time period, or has amounts of credits; ¶ 0044: The vehicle is assumed to come into the system with `Black Energy` unless it can tell the Manager 300 otherwise. The Manager 300 would then increase its energy pool capacity by the amount of the newly connected vehicle pack, and update the local energy pool energy mix numbers with the additional 20% of BE stored in the vehicle; ¶ 0045: The energy is tracked in each storage device by the manager, allowing a guarantee of energy, and its type (Green or Black); ¶ 0048: The energy network can absorb Green Energy from the grid when it is at a surplus and hold it in the distributed energy pools. Then through the use of this banked Green Energy the energy network can supply Green Energy to a customers even when there is no Green Energy available on the power grid, moving the energy through the energy network; ¶ 0053: One aspect is an algorithm that will recognize and control the relative quantities of Black and Green Energy that is being used in charging and discharging the energy storage system; ¶ 0058: For example, a charging EV that requires 10 kWh of Green Energy delivered to the vehicle); and
in response to a determination [of the environmental impact of energy previously received by the energy storage device] (since the processor tracks the amount of “Green” and “Black” energy stored as described in the cited paragraphs above, it is submitted the EMALFARB discloses this recitation within the broadest reasonable interpretation; ¶ 0050: If the Green Energy requests cannot be met by the energy storage… a portion of the power request is considered and implemented by the power electronics…[and] grid power is utilized to meet EV customer requirements),
causing the energy storage device to stop receiving energy from a source (¶ 0045: The energy is tracked in each storage device by the manager, allowing a guarantee of energy, and its type (Green or Black); ¶ 0053: an algorithm software component configured to monitor and control the Green and Black Energy. The algorithm's primary function is to match customer need, generation source, and energy pooling station's physical limits. Using the described algorithm, it is possible to serve these functions using a single energy storage system for both Black and Green energy and a single power electronics unit. One aspect is an algorithm that will recognize and control the relative quantities of Black and Green Energy that is being used in charging and discharging the energy storage system. This is essentially an accounting and control concept that responds interactively to energy source availability, customer demand and the limits of energy pooling installations; it is implied that the algorithm disclosed in ¶ 0053 would at least temporarily stop receiving Black energy based on an increased demand for Green energy; ¶ 0070: ES [energy storage] only Accumulates Green Energy--the software may further be configured to net increase the ES accumulation by Green Energy. If the ES SOC is low, power requirements are met by Black Energy. Black Energy will only be stored temporarily (24 hours) for power customer use only--20% of ES SOC), and
causing the energy storage device to receive energy from a different source (¶ 0017: Renewable Energy to Plugin Vehicles--Providing renewable energy from on site Wind, Bio-Mass, Solar Panels and/or grid purchased Green Power to provide energy and power to the energy pools connecting to charging stations that fuel private and fleet vehicle owners; ¶ 0038: Green Energy (renewable, stored renewable and recycled grid power)).
EMALFARB fails to disclose determining that the environmental impact of the energy that was previously received is above a threshold value; and in response to a determination that the environmental impact is above the threshold value, causing the energy storage device to stop receiving energy from a source, and causing the energy storage device to receive energy from a different source with an environmental impact below the threshold value.
BISSONETTE discloses determining that the environmental impact of the energy that was previously received is above a threshold value (¶ 0092: For power from the utility grid 220, the latest fraction of the total power contributed to the utility grid 220 from green sources (which may be referred to as the green fraction or environmental value) is obtained through the utility information channel 380 (block 761)…The green fraction represents an environmental value of the energy in accordance with the proportion of non-polluting or renewable energy sources that contributed to the energy. However, the environmental value may instead represent an environmental cost or measure of carbon footprint or pollution…A determination is made of whether the latest green fraction is above a predetermined threshold value (block 762). If so (YES branch of block 762), power flow from the utility grid 220 to the high voltage D.C. bus 300 is enabled (block 763). Otherwise (NO branch of block 762), no power flows from the utility grid 220 to the high voltage D.C. bus 300. Power flow is enabled from the solar generator 250 if available (block 764). Power flow from the wind generator 240 is enabled if available (block 765).; ¶ 0094: performance of the operation of block 766 of FIG. 16A, in which power flow from the local energy storage device 230 is enabled, may be contingent upon the green fraction, or environmental value, of the energy stored in the local energy storage device. The energy stored in the local energy storage device 230 can be assigned an environmental value corresponding to the environmental value of the energy with which it was charged (an average over time), which can be used as its environmental value for selection by the master controller 310 of power sources to supply power to the vehicle battery pack 110. Thus, the master controller may make a determination of whether to use power from the local energy storage device 230 based upon the environmental value of the power consumed in charging the local energy storage device 230; ¶ 0095: An optional operation is to assign an environmental value to the local energy storage device 230 based upon the environmental value of the energy that was used to charge the energy storage device (block 771). This requires a prior monitoring of the environmental value of the power taken from the utility grid 220 during the time (or times) that the local energy storage device 230 is charged from the utility grid 220, and accumulating the environmental values thus monitored to provide an accurate accounting of the environmental value of the energy stored in the local energy storage device 230; ¶ 0098: The determination of block 1766 is based upon whether the environmental value of the energy stored in the local energy storage device 230 is above a predetermined threshold. The environmental value of the local energy storage device 230 is obtained as the value previously stored in the step of block 1755. The determination of block 1766 may involve additional criteria, e.g., determining whether the local energy storage device is available and that it is not the power recipient. If the local energy storage device environmental value exceeds the predetermined threshold (YES branch of block 1766), and if the additional criteria are met, then power flow from the local energy storage device 230 to the high voltage bus 300 is enabled (block 1767). Otherwise (NO branch of block 1766), power flow from the local energy storage device 230 is not enabled). Applying the determination of the environmental impact of energy previously received above a threshold value as disclosed in BISSONETTE for the energy previously received by the energy storage device of EMALFARB, which maintains the energy previously received by the energy storage device based on environmental impact, teaches the recitations “in response to a determination that the environmental impact is above the threshold value, causing the energy storage device to stop receiving energy from a source, and causing the energy storage device to receive energy from a different source with an environmental impact below the threshold value”.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include determining the environmental impact of the energy that was previously received is above a threshold value as recited in order to further optimize the use of renewable/green energy.
Regarding claim 17, EMALFARB as modified by BISSONETTE teaches the non-transitory computer-readable medium as applied to claim 15, but fails to teach the instructions cause the processor to perform: providing a portion of the energy previously received to the device in response to the environmental impact being below the threshold value.
BISSONETTE further discloses the instructions cause the processor to perform: providing a portion of the energy previously received to the device in response to the environmental impact being below the threshold value (¶ 0092, 0094, 0098).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include providing a portion of the energy previously received to the device in response to the environmental impact being below the threshold value in order to further optimize the use of renewable/green energy.
Claim(s) 4, 11, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EMALFARB in view of BISSONETTE as applied to claims 1, 3, 8, 10, 15, and 17 above, and further in view of TURUDIC (US PG Pub 2012/0119573; previously cited).
Regarding claim 4, EMALFARB as modified by BISSONETTE teaches the method as applied to claim 1, and EMALFARB further discloses the energy storage device is a transport, the method further comprising: identifying an amount and the different source of energy received by the transport (¶ 0043-0045).
EMALFARB as modified by BISSONETTE fails to disclose determining a portion of the amount of energy that is sufficient for the transport to reach a charging station; and allowing the device to receive energy from the transport in an amount up to a difference between the amount of energy stored by the transport and the portion.
TURUDIC discloses determining a portion of the amount of energy that is sufficient for the transport to reach a charging station; and allowing the device to receive energy from the transport in an amount up to a difference between the amount of energy stored by the transport and the portion (¶ 0048).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include allowing the device to receive energy up to a difference as recited in order to provide increased user convenience.
Regarding claim 11, EMALFARB as modified by BISSONETTE teaches the system as applied to claim 8, and EMALFARB further discloses the energy storage device is a transport, and the processor is further configured to: identify an amount and the different source of energy received by the transport (¶ 0043-0045).
EMALFARB as modified by BISSONETTE fails to disclose the processor is further configured to: determine a portion of the amount of energy that is sufficient for the transport to reach a charging station; and allow the device to receive energy from the transport in an amount up to a difference between the amount of energy stored by the transport and the portion.
TURUDIC discloses the processor is further configured to: determine a portion of the amount of energy that is sufficient for the transport to reach a charging station; and allow the device to receive energy from the transport in an amount up to a difference between the amount of energy stored by the transport and the portion (¶ 0048).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include allowing the device to receive energy up to a difference as recited in order to provide increased user convenience.
Regarding claim 18, EMALFARB as modified by BISSONETTE teaches the non-transitory computer-readable medium as applied to claim 15, and EMALFARB further discloses the energy storage device is a transport, and the instructions cause the processor to perform: identifying an amount and the different source of energy received by the transport (¶ 0043-0045).
EMALFARB as modified by BISSONETTE fails to disclose determining a portion of the amount of energy that is sufficient for the transport to reach a charging station; and allowing the device to receive energy from the transport in an amount up to a difference between the amount of energy stored by the transport and the portion.
TURUDIC discloses determining a portion of the amount of energy that is sufficient for the transport to reach a charging station; and allowing the device to receive energy from the transport in an amount up to a difference between the amount of energy stored by the transport and the portion (¶ 0048).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include allowing the device to receive energy up to a difference as recited in order to provide increased user convenience.
Claim(s) 5, 12, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EMALFARB in view of BISSONETTE as applied to claims 1, 3, 8, 10, 15, and 17 above, and further in view of AMANO (US PG Pub 2015/0286965; previously cited).
Regarding claim 5, EMALFARB as modified by BISSONETTE teaches the method as applied to claim 1, and EMALFARB further discloses determining that a portion of the energy received by the energy storage device from a clean energy source; and supplying up to the portion to the device (¶ 0037-0038, 0040, 0043-0045, 0048, 0053, 0058).
EMALFARB as modified by BISSONETTE fails to disclose providing a notification in response to the energy storage device being below a percentage of an energy capacity.
AMANO discloses providing a notification in response to the energy storage device being below a percentage of an energy capacity (¶ 0051).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the notification as recited in order to provide increased user convenience.
Regarding claim 12, EMALFARB as modified by BISSONETTE teaches the system as applied to claim 8, and EMALFARB further discloses the processor is configured to: determine that a portion of the energy received by the energy storage device is from a clean energy source; and supply up to the portion to the device (¶ 0037-0038, 0040, 0043-0045, 0048, 0053, 0058).
EMALFARB as modified by BISSONETTE fails to disclose the processor is configured to: provide a notification in response to the energy storage device being below a percentage of an energy capacity.
AMANO discloses the processor is configured to: provide a notification in response to the energy storage device being below a percentage of an energy capacity (¶ 0051).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the notification as recited in order to provide increased user convenience.
Regarding claim 19, EMALFARB as modified by BISSONETTE teaches the non-transitory computer-readable medium as applied to claim 15, and EMALFARB further discloses the instructions cause the processor to perform: determining that a portion of the energy received by the energy storage device from a clean energy source; and supplying up to the portion to the device (¶ 0037-0038, 0040, 0043-0045, 0048, 0053, 0058).
EMALFARB as modified by BISSONETTE fails to disclose the instructions cause the processor to perform: providing a notification in response to the energy storage device being below a percentage of an energy capacity.
AMANO discloses the instructions cause the processor to perform: providing a notification in response to the energy storage device being below a percentage of an energy capacity (¶ 0051).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the notification as recited in order to provide increased user convenience.
Claim(s) 7 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EMALFARB in view of BISSONETTE as applied to claims 1, 3, 8, 10, 15, and 17 above, and further in view of MARQUET (US PG Pub 2020/0203962; previously cited).
Regarding claim 7, EMALFARB as modified by BISSONETTE teaches the method as applied to claim 1, and EMALFARB further discloses a transport is electrically coupled to the device (¶ 0017, 0019).
EMALFARB as modified by BISSONETTE fails to disclose determining a most recent time the energy storage device and the transport were recharged; comparing the most recent time to a peak energy use time at a current location of the transport and the device; and based on a greatest time difference between the most recent time and peak energy use time, selecting one of the energy storage device or the transport to supply the energy to the device.
MARQUET discloses determining a most recent time the energy storage device and the transport were recharged; comparing the most recent time to an energy use time at a current location of the transport and the device; and based on a greatest time difference between the most recent time and energy use time, selecting one of the energy storage device or the transport to supply the energy to the device (¶ 0248-0252). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to apply the step of selecting an energy storage device based on a greatest time difference between the most recent time and energy use times as disclosed in MARQUET to the method of EMALFARB which includes selecting an energy storage device or a transport based on peak energy use times (¶ 0037-0038).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the selection of the energy storage device as recited in order to reduce aging of the energy storage devices (MARQUET, ¶ 0047).
Regarding claim 14, EMALFARB as modified by BISSONETTE teaches the system as applied to claim 8, and EMALFARB further discloses a transport is electrically coupled to the device (¶ 0017, 0019).
EMALFARB as modified by BISSONETTE fails to disclose the processor is configured to: determine a most recent time the energy storage device and the transport were recharged; compare the most recent time to a peak energy use time at a current location of the transport and the device; and based on a greatest time difference between the most recent time and peak energy use time, select one of the energy storage device or the transport to supply the energy to the device.
MARQUET discloses the processor is configured to: determine a most recent time the energy storage device and the transport were recharged; compare the most recent time to an energy use time at a current location of the transport and the device; and based on a greatest time difference between the most recent time and energy use time, select one of the energy storage device or the transport to supply the energy to the device (¶ 0248-0252). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to apply the step of selecting an energy storage device based on a greatest time difference between the most recent time and energy use times as disclosed in MARQUET to the method of EMALFARB which includes selecting an energy storage device or a transport based on peak energy use times (¶ 0037-0038).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the selection of the energy storage device as recited in order to reduce aging of the energy storage devices (MARQUET, ¶ 0047).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record on form PTO-892 and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/Manuel Hernandez/Examiner, Art Unit 2859 3/22/2026
/TAELOR KIM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859