DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is responsive to a response filed on March 16th, 2026. In this Office Action:
Claims 1-4, 7-11, 14-17 and 21-22 are pending.
Claims 1-4, 7-11, 14-17 and 21-22 are rejected.
Summary of Previous Office Action
In the Non-Final Office Action mailed on December 18th, 2025:
Claim 1, 8, 15, and 21 were objected to because of the informalities.
Claim 23 was rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement.
Claims 1-17 and 21-23 were rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite.
Claims 1-3, 7-10, 14-17, and 21-23 were rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sharp et al. (Pub. No. US 2022/0191258), hereinafter Sharp; in view of Fieldman (Patent No. US 11,463,499); and further in view of Ohrn (Patent No. US 11,445,148).
Claims 4-6 and 11-13 were rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sharp et al. (Pub. No. US 2022/0191258), hereinafter Sharp; in view of Fieldman (Patent No. US 11,463,499); further in view of Ohrn (Patent No. US 11,445,148); and further in view of Yu et al. (Patent. No. US 11,263,397), hereinafter Yu.
Response to Amendment
The amendments filed on March 16th, 2026 have been entered.
Claims 1, 8, 15, and 21 have been amended.
Claims 5-6, 12-13, and 23 have been canceled.
The previously raised claim objections are withdrawn for claims 1, 8, 15, and 21 in light of the amendments.
The previously raised 35 U.S.C. 112(a) rejection is withdrawn for claim 23, which has been canceled.
The previously raised 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection is withdrawn for claims 1-17 and 21-23 in light of the amendments.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s argument filed on March 16th, 2026 have been fully considered, but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-4, 7-11, 14-17 and 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claims 1, 8, and 15 recite “in response to a determination that the camera component of the first device is active, displaying the first video feed is included in the first region indicated by the first video feed integration object …” The language of this limitation is unclear. Therefore, the Examiner is unable to determine the metes and the bounds of the claim language.
Claims 2-4, 7, and 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as they depend on the rejected claim 1.
Claims 9-11 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as they depend on the rejected claim 8.
Claims 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as they depend on the rejected claim 15.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 7-10, 14-17, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sharp et al. (Pub. No. US 2022/0191258), hereinafter Sharp; in view of Roper (Pub. No. US 2023/0126108); and further in view of Ohrn (Patent No. US 11,445,148).
Claim 1. Sharp discloses a method comprising:
providing a graphical user interface (GUI) that enables presentation of electronic documents to a plurality of a plurality of participants of a video conference call provided by a platform (See Fig. 7-12 (GUI); See Parag. [0056]; presentation content integrated or embedded with video stream content is provided as shared content by the meeting server 30 to the meeting endpoints 20 engaged in the online meeting for display at the computing devices 200 of the meeting endpoints. Referring to FIG. 8A, the shared presentation content can comprise shared slide 810 (i.e., when the presenter attendee is displaying slide 710 at the display 215 of computing device 200 associated with the presenter attendee), which includes presentation content 830 that corresponds with the presentation content 730 of slide 710 displayed at the presenter attendee's computing device);
in response to a request of a first participant of the plurality of participants to share an electronic document during the video conference call, retrieving the electronic document from a memory (See Parag. [0049] and Fig. 5; upon designation by an attendee as a presenter in the online meeting (in which the attendee selects to share content with other attendees in the online meeting, at 540), the meeting server 30 receives presentation content comprising a display of the presentation document (or other presentation content/other desktop view at the presenter attendee's computing device that is intended for sharing) from the designated presenter and further identifies any overlay window(s) within such presentation content. See Parag. [0056]; Referring to FIG. 8A, the shared presentation content can comprise shared slide 810 (i.e., when the presenter attendee is displaying slide 710 at the display 215 of computing device 200 associated with the presenter attendee), which includes presentation content 830 that corresponds with the presentation content 730 of slide 710 displayed at the presenter attendee's computing device. Examiner’s interpretation: The Examiner reasonably interprets the attendee selects to share content as equivalent to a request of a first participant of the plurality of participants to share an electronic document. In addition, the document to be shared with the attendees is reasonably interpreted to be stored (i.e., in a memory)),
wherein a first portion of the electronic document comprises (ii) a first video feed integration object, the first video feed integration object indicating, for the first portion of the electronic document, the first region designated by one or more users of the platform for inclusion of a first video feed associated with a first client device of a first participant of the video conference call (See Parag. [0056]; Embedded within the shared slide 810 is the rectangular overlay window 850 (also referred to herein as a presentation window) that includes a video content stream provided by the meeting endpoint 20 of the presenter attendee (i.e., streaming video content of the presenter attendee in real-time), where the overlay or presentation window 850 in the shared slide 810 corresponds in shape, size/dimensions and spatial location of the overlay window 750 within slide 710 and the video content fills the entire area defined by presentation window 850 (indicating, for the first portion of the electronic document, a first region designated by one or more users of the platform for inclusion of a first video feed associated with a first client device));
providing the electronic document for presentation to one or more of the plurality of participants of the video conference call via the GUI (See Parag. [0057]; at the attendee/meeting endpoint side or the client side), the shared presentation content is viewed by the presenter attendee as well as other attendees, such that the shared presentation content integrated or embedded with video content is shared for viewing by all attendees at all meeting endpoints 20 engaged in the online meeting).
Sharp discloses the first region of the electronic document for presentation during the video conference call; and the first region indicated by the first video feed integration object (See Parag. [0056]; Embedded within the shared slide 810 is the rectangular overlay window 850 (also referred to herein as a presentation window) that includes a video content stream provided by the meeting endpoint 20 of the presenter attendee (i.e., streaming video content of the presenter attendee in real-time), where the overlay or presentation window 850 in the shared slide 810 corresponds in shape, size/dimensions and spatial location of the overlay window 750 within slide 710 and the video content fills the entire area defined by presentation window 850); but Sharp doesn’t explicitly disclose wherein a first portion of the electronic document comprises (i) a default image at a first region of the electronic document and (ii) a first video feed integration object overlaid on the default image at the first region; the default image comprising image content for presentation during the video conference call upon a determination that a camera component of the first client device is not active. In addition, Sharp doesn’t explicitly disclose determining whether the camera component of the first client device is active; wherein, providing the electronic document for presentation comprises: in response to a determination that the camera component of the first device is active, displaying the first video feed is included in the first region indicated by the first video feed integration object, or in response to a determination that the camera component of the first client device is not active, displaying the image content of the default image in the first region in place of the first video feed integration object.
However, Roper discloses (i) a default image at a first region and (ii) a first video feed integration object overlaid on the default image at the first region (See Parag. [0010]; To avoid sharing information about their physical surroundings, a participant may select one or more options in their client software to affect the display of their surroundings. For example, a participant may select an option to blur portions of the video feed that are not the participant's face or body, or they may select a different option to use an image (default image) or video as their background instead of their true surroundings. See Parag. [0098]; ... receiving, by the client device from a camera, a video stream, the video stream including video images of the user; generating a video feed comprising the video images of the user superimposed over the selected virtual background; and providing the video feed to the video conference provider. See also Parag. [0011]);
determining whether the camera component of the first client device is active; wherein, providing for presentation comprises: in response to a determination that the camera component of the first device is active, displaying the first video feed is included in the first region indicated by the first video feed integration object, or in response to a determination that the camera component of the first client device is not active, displaying the image content of the default image in the first region in place of the first video feed integration object (See Parag. [0061]; As a part of connecting to the video conference, the video conferencing application 360 activates the client device's camera 334 and microphone 336 to capture video and audio streams ... Parag. [0098]; joining, by a client device, a video conference hosted by a video conference provider; selecting, by the client device, a virtual background from a plurality of virtual backgrounds based on a characteristic of the virtual background and at least one of a characteristic of the video conference or a characteristic of a user of the client device; receiving, by the client device from a camera, a video stream, the video stream including video images of the user; generating a video feed comprising the video images of the user superimposed over the selected virtual background; and providing the video feed to the video conference provider. Examiner’s interpretation: The Examiner interprets the limitation as “determining whether the camera component of the first client device is active; wherein, providing the presentation comprises: in response to a determination that the camera component of the first device is active, displaying the first video feed is included in the first region indicated by the first video feed integration object”).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the presentation window in the shared slide (first region of the electronic document) that includes a video content stream provided by the meeting endpoint of the presenter attendee, taught by Sharp, to include (i) a default image at a first region and (ii) a first video feed integration object overlaid on the default image at the first region, as taught by Roper, and to further modify the integration of video in presentation content within the online meeting, taught by Sharp, to include determining whether the camera component of the first client device is active; wherein, in response to a determination that the camera component of the first device is active, displaying the first video feed is included in the first region indicated by the first video feed integration object, as taught by Roper. This would be convenient to avoid sharing information about participants’ physical surroundings (Roper, Parag. [0010]).
Sharp in view of Roper doesn’t explicitly disclose the default image comprising image content for presentation during the video conference call upon a determination that a camera component of the first client device is not active.
However, Ohrn discloses the default image comprising image content for presentation during the video conference call upon a determination that a camera component of the first client device is not active (See Col. 1 lines 47-57; a user participating in a videoconference may wish to deactivate their camera, or otherwise not display a concurrent video stream of such a user (video feed). In such instances, some videoconferencing software can display static images. Typically, such a static image is a user profile picture... In addition to videoconferences where the user has not activated their camera, profile pictures are often utilized to identify users in other communicational contexts. See Col. 19 lines 62-67 and Col. 20 lines 1-6; determination as to whether to generate a user presentation of a suggested image, such as in the form of a generated graphical user interface element presented to the user via display device communicationally coupled to the computing device being utilized by the user, can be based on user actions on the computing device; a user presentation can be generated in response to a triggering event, such as the commencement of a subsequent video teleconference in which the user is only visible by their profile picture, such as if the user has not activated the video functionality. See Col. 2 lines 9-49; ... the user can be detected utilizing image data captured during a video teleconference, and potential updates to the user's profile picture can be automatically generated and presented to the user for their consideration and selection ... See also Fig. 1).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the presentation window in the shared slide (first region of the electronic document) that includes a video feed integration object overlaid on a default image, taught by Sharp in view of Roper, to include the default image comprising image content for presentation during the video conference call upon a determination that a camera component of the first client device is not active, as taught by Ohrn. This would be convenient to provide ability for a human user to visually perceive another human user which is beneficial in establishing rapport, comfort and trust, as well as providing collaborative and communicational efficiency benefits (Ohrn, Col. 1 lines 36-46).
Claim 2. Sharp in view of Roper and Ohrn discloses the method of claim 1,
Sharp further discloses wherein a second portion of the electronic document comprises a second video feed integration object indicating, for the second portion, a second region designated by the one or more users for inclusion of a second video feed associated with a second client device of a second participant of the video conference call, and wherein providing the electronic document for presentation via the GUI further comprises: providing, during a first time period, the first portion of the electronic document via the GUI, wherein the first video feed is generated by the first client device during the first time period and is included in the first region of the first portion of the electronic document; and providing, during a second time period, the second portion of the electronic document via the GUI, wherein the second video feed is generated by the second client device during the second time period and is included in the second region of the second portion of the document (See Parag. [0063]; The presenter attendee can further designate or select a specific video content stream that should be integrated and embedded within the first and second overlay windows. In an example in which the presenter attendee (e.g., Bob) may present in the online meeting along with another attendee (e.g., Alice), the presenter attendee may designate or select (e.g., via a drop-down menu allowing the presenter attendee to select a name from any of the current attendees engaged in the online meeting) the video content provided by the presenter attendee (Bob) be integrated in the first overlay window 750 while the video content provided by the other attendee (Alice) be integrated in the second overlay window 752 . See Parag. [0064]; the presented or shared slide 810, which includes presentation content 830 corresponding with the presentation content 730 of slide 710, includes a first presentation window 850 and a second presentation window 852 each of which corresponds respectively with overlay windows 750, 752 in relation to size, shape and alignment/location within the area of the slide. Video content of the presenter attendee (Bob) is embedded or integrated within the first presentation window 850, while video content of the other attendee (Alice) is embedded or integrated within the second presentation window 852).
Claim 3. Sharp in view of Roper and Ohrn discloses the method of claim 1,
Sharp further discloses wherein a second portion of the electronic document comprises a second video feed integration object indicating, for the second portion, a second region designated by the one or more users for inclusion of a second video feed associated with a second client device of a second participant of the video conference call, and wherein providing the electronic document for presentation via the GUI further comprises: providing the first portion of the electronic document and the second portion of the electronic document via the GUI during a first time period, wherein the first video feed is generated by the first client device during the first time period and is included in the first region of the first portion of the electronic document and the second video feed is generated by the second client device during the first time period and is included in the second region of the second portion of the electronic document (See Parag. [0063]; The presenter attendee can further designate or select a specific video content stream that should be integrated and embedded within the first and second overlay windows. In an example in which the presenter attendee (e.g., Bob) may present in the online meeting along with another attendee (e.g., Alice), the presenter attendee may designate or select (e.g., via a drop-down menu allowing the presenter attendee to select a name from any of the current attendees engaged in the online meeting) the video content provided by the presenter attendee (Bob) be integrated in the first overlay window 750 while the video content provided by the other attendee (Alice) be integrated in the second overlay window 752 . See Parag. [0064]; the presented or shared slide 810, which includes presentation content 830 corresponding with the presentation content 730 of slide 710, includes a first presentation window 850 and a second presentation window 852 each of which corresponds respectively with overlay windows 750, 752 in relation to size, shape and alignment/location within the area of the slide. Video content of the presenter attendee (Bob) is embedded or integrated within the first presentation window 850, while video content of the other attendee (Alice) is embedded or integrated within the second presentation window 852).
Claim 7. Sharp in view of Roper and Ohrn discloses the method of claim 1,
Sharp further discloses wherein the electronic document comprises at least one of a slide presentation document, a word processing document, a spreadsheet document, or a webpage document (See Parag. [0056]; Referring to FIG. 8A, the shared presentation content can comprise shared slide 810 (i.e., when the presenter attendee is displaying slide 710 at the display 215 of computing device 200 associated with the presenter attendee), which includes presentation content 830 that corresponds with the presentation content 730 of slide 710 displayed at the presenter attendee's computing device).
Claim 8. Sharp discloses a system comprising:
a memory device; and a processing device coupled to the memory device, the processing device to perform operations (See FIG. 2 (“Processor,” “Memory” See also Parag. [0026-0029])) comprising:
providing a graphical user interface (GUI) that enables presentation of electronic documents to a plurality of participants of a video conference call provided by a platform (See Fig. 7-12 (GUI); See Parag. [0056]; presentation content integrated or embedded with video stream content is provided as shared content by the meeting server 30 to the meeting endpoints 20 engaged in the online meeting for display at the computing devices 200 of the meeting endpoints. Referring to FIG. 8A, the shared presentation content can comprise shared slide 810 (i.e., when the presenter attendee is displaying slide 710 at the display 215 of computing device 200 associated with the presenter attendee), which includes presentation content 830 that corresponds with the presentation content 730 of slide 710 displayed at the presenter attendee's computing device);
in response to a request of a first participant of the plurality of participants to share an electronic document during the video conference call, retrieving the electronic document from a memory (See Parag. [0049] and Fig. 5; upon designation by an attendee as a presenter in the online meeting (in which the attendee selects to share content with other attendees in the online meeting, at 540), the meeting server 30 receives presentation content comprising a display of the presentation document (or other presentation content/other desktop view at the presenter attendee's computing device that is intended for sharing) from the designated presenter and further identifies any overlay window(s) within such presentation content. See Parag. [0056]; Referring to FIG. 8A, the shared presentation content can comprise shared slide 810 (i.e., when the presenter attendee is displaying slide 710 at the display 215 of computing device 200 associated with the presenter attendee), which includes presentation content 830 that corresponds with the presentation content 730 of slide 710 displayed at the presenter attendee's computing device. Examiner’s interpretation: The Examiner reasonably interprets the attendee selects to share content as equivalent to a request of a first participant of the plurality of participants to share an electronic document. In addition, the document to be shared with the attendees is reasonably interpreted to be stored (i.e., in a memory)),
wherein a first portion of the electronic document comprises (ii) a first video feed integration object, the first video feed integration object indicating, for the first portion of the electronic document, the first region designated by one or more users of the platform for inclusion of a first video feed associated with a first client device of a first participant of the video conference call (See Parag. [0056]; Embedded within the shared slide 810 is the rectangular overlay window 850 (also referred to herein as a presentation window) that includes a video content stream provided by the meeting endpoint 20 of the presenter attendee (i.e., streaming video content of the presenter attendee in real-time), where the overlay or presentation window 850 in the shared slide 810 corresponds in shape, size/dimensions and spatial location of the overlay window 750 within slide 710 and the video content fills the entire area defined by presentation window 850 (indicating, for the first portion of the electronic document, a first region designated by one or more users of the platform for inclusion of a first video feed associated with a first client device)); and
providing the electronic document for presentation to one or more of the plurality of participants of the video conference call via the GUI (See Parag. [0057]; at the attendee/meeting endpoint side or the client side), the shared presentation content is viewed by the presenter attendee as well as other attendees, such that the shared presentation content integrated or embedded with video content is shared for viewing by all attendees at all meeting endpoints 20 engaged in the online meeting);
Sharp discloses the first region of the electronic document for presentation during the video conference call; and the first region indicated by the first video feed integration object (See Parag. [0056]; Embedded within the shared slide 810 is the rectangular overlay window 850 (also referred to herein as a presentation window) that includes a video content stream provided by the meeting endpoint 20 of the presenter attendee (i.e., streaming video content of the presenter attendee in real-time), where the overlay or presentation window 850 in the shared slide 810 corresponds in shape, size/dimensions and spatial location of the overlay window 750 within slide 710 and the video content fills the entire area defined by presentation window 850); but Sharp doesn’t explicitly disclose wherein a first portion of the electronic document comprises (i) a default image at a first region of the electronic document and (ii) a first video feed integration object overlaid on the default image at the first region; the default image comprising image content for presentation during the video conference call upon a determination that a camera component of the first client device is not active. In addition, Sharp doesn’t explicitly disclose determining whether the camera component of the first client device is active; wherein, providing the electronic document for presentation comprises: in response to a determination that the camera component of the first device is active, displaying the first video feed is included in the first region indicated by the first video feed integration object, or in response to a determination that the camera component of the first client device is not active, displaying the image content of the default image in the first region in place of the first video feed integration object.
However, Roper discloses (i) a default image at a first region and (ii) a first video feed integration object overlaid on the default image at the first region (See Parag. [0010]; To avoid sharing information about their physical surroundings, a participant may select one or more options in their client software to affect the display of their surroundings. For example, a participant may select an option to blur portions of the video feed that are not the participant's face or body, or they may select a different option to use an image (default image) or video as their background instead of their true surroundings. See Parag. [0098]; ... receiving, by the client device from a camera, a video stream, the video stream including video images of the user; generating a video feed comprising the video images of the user superimposed over the selected virtual background; and providing the video feed to the video conference provider. See also Parag. [0011]);
determining whether the camera component of the first client device is active; wherein, providing for presentation comprises: in response to a determination that the camera component of the first device is active, displaying the first video feed is included in the first region indicated by the first video feed integration object, or in response to a determination that the camera component of the first client device is not active, displaying the image content of the default image in the first region in place of the first video feed integration object (See Parag. [0061]; As a part of connecting to the video conference, the video conferencing application 360 activates the client device's camera 334 and microphone 336 to capture video and audio streams ... Parag. [0098]; joining, by a client device, a video conference hosted by a video conference provider; selecting, by the client device, a virtual background from a plurality of virtual backgrounds based on a characteristic of the virtual background and at least one of a characteristic of the video conference or a characteristic of a user of the client device; receiving, by the client device from a camera, a video stream, the video stream including video images of the user; generating a video feed comprising the video images of the user superimposed over the selected virtual background; and providing the video feed to the video conference provider. Examiner’s interpretation: The Examiner interprets the limitation as “determining whether the camera component of the first client device is active; wherein, providing the presentation comprises: in response to a determination that the camera component of the first device is active, displaying the first video feed is included in the first region indicated by the first video feed integration object”).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the presentation window in the shared slide (first region of the electronic document) that includes a video content stream provided by the meeting endpoint of the presenter attendee, taught by Sharp, to include (i) a default image at a first region and (ii) a first video feed integration object overlaid on the default image at the first region, as taught by Roper, and to further modify the integration of video in presentation content within the online meeting, taught by Sharp, to include determining whether the camera component of the first client device is active; wherein, in response to a determination that the camera component of the first device is active, displaying the first video feed is included in the first region indicated by the first video feed integration object, as taught by Roper. This would be convenient to avoid sharing information about participants’ physical surroundings (Roper, Parag. [0010]).
Sharp in view of Roper doesn’t explicitly disclose the default image comprising image content for presentation during the video conference call upon a determination that a camera component of the first client device is not active.
However, Ohrn discloses the default image comprising image content for presentation during the video conference call upon a determination that a camera component of the first client device is not active (See Col. 1 lines 47-57; a user participating in a videoconference may wish to deactivate their camera, or otherwise not display a concurrent video stream of such a user (video feed). In such instances, some videoconferencing software can display static images. Typically, such a static image is a user profile picture... In addition to videoconferences where the user has not activated their camera, profile pictures are often utilized to identify users in other communicational contexts. See Col. 19 lines 62-67 and Col. 20 lines 1-6; determination as to whether to generate a user presentation of a suggested image, such as in the form of a generated graphical user interface element presented to the user via display device communicationally coupled to the computing device being utilized by the user, can be based on user actions on the computing device; a user presentation can be generated in response to a triggering event, such as the commencement of a subsequent video teleconference in which the user is only visible by their profile picture, such as if the user has not activated the video functionality. See Col. 2 lines 9-49; ... the user can be detected utilizing image data captured during a video teleconference, and potential updates to the user's profile picture can be automatically generated and presented to the user for their consideration and selection ... See also Fig. 1).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the presentation window in the shared slide (first region of the electronic document) that includes a video feed integration object overlaid on a default image, taught by Sharp in view of Roper, to include the default image comprising image content for presentation during the video conference call upon a determination that a camera component of the first client device is not active, as taught by Ohrn. This would be convenient to provide ability for a human user to visually perceive another human user which is beneficial in establishing rapport, comfort and trust, as well as providing collaborative and communicational efficiency benefits (Ohrn, Col. 1 lines 36-46).
Claims 9-10 and 14 are taught by Sharp in view of Roper and Ohrn as described for claim 2-3 and 7, respectively.
Claim 15. Sharp discloses a non-transitory computer readable storage medium comprising instructions for a server that, when executed by a processing device, cause the processing device to perform operations (See FIG. 2 (“Processor,” “Memory” See also Parag. [0026-0029])) comprising:
providing a graphical user interface (GUI) that enables presentation of electronic documents to a plurality of participants of a video conference call provided by a platform (See Fig. 7-12 (GUI); See Parag. [0056]; presentation content integrated or embedded with video stream content is provided as shared content by the meeting server 30 to the meeting endpoints 20 engaged in the online meeting for display at the computing devices 200 of the meeting endpoints. Referring to FIG. 8A, the shared presentation content can comprise shared slide 810 (i.e., when the presenter attendee is displaying slide 710 at the display 215 of computing device 200 associated with the presenter attendee), which includes presentation content 830 that corresponds with the presentation content 730 of slide 710 displayed at the presenter attendee's computing device);
in response to a request of a first participant of the plurality of participants to share an electronic document during the video conference call, retrieving the electronic document from a memory (See Parag. [0049] and Fig. 5; upon designation by an attendee as a presenter in the online meeting (in which the attendee selects to share content with other attendees in the online meeting, at 540), the meeting server 30 receives presentation content comprising a display of the presentation document (or other presentation content/other desktop view at the presenter attendee's computing device that is intended for sharing) from the designated presenter and further identifies any overlay window(s) within such presentation content. See Parag. [0056]; Referring to FIG. 8A, the shared presentation content can comprise shared slide 810 (i.e., when the presenter attendee is displaying slide 710 at the display 215 of computing device 200 associated with the presenter attendee), which includes presentation content 830 that corresponds with the presentation content 730 of slide 710 displayed at the presenter attendee's computing device. Examiner’s interpretation: The Examiner reasonably interprets the attendee selects to share content as equivalent to a request of a first participant of the plurality of participants to share an electronic document. In addition, the document to be shared with the attendees is reasonably interpreted to be stored (i.e., in a memory)),
wherein a first portion of the electronic document comprises (ii) a first video feed integration object, the first video feed integration object indicating, for the first portion of the electronic document, the first region designated by one or more users of the platform for inclusion of a first video feed associated with a first client device of a first participant of the video conference call (See Parag. [0056]; Embedded within the shared slide 810 is the rectangular overlay window 850 (also referred to herein as a presentation window) that includes a video content stream provided by the meeting endpoint 20 of the presenter attendee (i.e., streaming video content of the presenter attendee in real-time), where the overlay or presentation window 850 in the shared slide 810 corresponds in shape, size/dimensions and spatial location of the overlay window 750 within slide 710 and the video content fills the entire area defined by presentation window 850 (indicating, for the first portion of the electronic document, a first region designated by one or more users of the platform for inclusion of a first video feed associated with a first client device)); and
providing the electronic document for presentation to one or more of the plurality of participants of the video conference call via the GUI (See Parag. [0057]; at the attendee/meeting endpoint side or the client side), the shared presentation content is viewed by the presenter attendee as well as other attendees, such that the shared presentation content integrated or embedded with video content is shared for viewing by all attendees at all meeting endpoints 20 engaged in the online meeting).
Sharp discloses the first region of the electronic document for presentation during the video conference call; and the first region indicated by the first video feed integration object (See Parag. [0056]; Embedded within the shared slide 810 is the rectangular overlay window 850 (also referred to herein as a presentation window) that includes a video content stream provided by the meeting endpoint 20 of the presenter attendee (i.e., streaming video content of the presenter attendee in real-time), where the overlay or presentation window 850 in the shared slide 810 corresponds in shape, size/dimensions and spatial location of the overlay window 750 within slide 710 and the video content fills the entire area defined by presentation window 850); but Sharp doesn’t explicitly disclose wherein a first portion of the electronic document comprises (i) a default image at a first region of the electronic document and (ii) a first video feed integration object overlaid on the default image at the first region; the default image comprising image content for presentation during the video conference call upon a determination that a camera component of the first client device is not active. In addition, Sharp doesn’t explicitly disclose determining whether the camera component of the first client device is active; wherein, providing the electronic document for presentation comprises: in response to a determination that the camera component of the first device is active, displaying the first video feed is included in the first region indicated by the first video feed integration object, or in response to a determination that the camera component of the first client device is not active, displaying the image content of the default image in the first region in place of the first video feed integration object.
However, Roper discloses (i) a default image at a first region of the electronic document and (ii) a first video feed integration object overlaid on the default image at the first region (See Parag. [0010]; To avoid sharing information about their physical surroundings, a participant may select one or more options in their client software to affect the display of their surroundings. For example, a participant may select an option to blur portions of the video feed that are not the participant's face or body, or they may select a different option to use an image (default image) or video as their background instead of their true surroundings. See Parag. [0098]; ... receiving, by the client device from a camera, a video stream, the video stream including video images of the user; generating a video feed comprising the video images of the user superimposed over the selected virtual background; and providing the video feed to the video conference provider. See also Parag. [0011]);
determining whether the camera component of the first client device is active; wherein, providing the electronic document for presentation comprises: in response to a determination that the camera component of the first device is active, displaying the first video feed is included in the first region indicated by the first video feed integration object, or in response to a determination that the camera component of the first client device is not active, displaying the image content of the default image in the first region in place of the first video feed integration object (See Parag. [0061]; As a part of connecting to the video conference, the video conferencing application 360 activates the client device's camera 334 and microphone 336 to capture video and audio streams ... Parag. [0098]; joining, by a client device, a video conference hosted by a video conference provider; selecting, by the client device, a virtual background from a plurality of virtual backgrounds based on a characteristic of the virtual background and at least one of a characteristic of the video conference or a characteristic of a user of the client device; receiving, by the client device from a camera, a video stream, the video stream including video images of the user; generating a video feed comprising the video images of the user superimposed over the selected virtual background; and providing the video feed to the video conference provider. Examiner’s interpretation: The Examiner interprets the limitation as “determining whether the camera component of the first client device is active; wherein, providing the presentation comprises: in response to a determination that the camera component of the first device is active, displaying the first video feed is included in the first region indicated by the first video feed integration object”).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the presentation window in the shared slide (first region of the electronic document) that includes a video content stream provided by the meeting endpoint of the presenter attendee, taught by Sharp, to include (i) a default image at a first region and (ii) a first video feed integration object overlaid on the default image at the first region, as taught by Roper, and to further modify the integration of video in presentation content within the online meeting, taught by Sharp, to include determining whether the camera component of the first client device is active; wherein, in response to a determination that the camera component of the first device is active, displaying the first video feed is included in the first region indicated by the first video feed integration object, as taught by Roper. This would be convenient to avoid sharing information about participants’ physical surroundings (Roper, Parag. [0010]).
Sharp in view of Roper doesn’t explicitly disclose the default image comprising image content for presentation during the video conference call upon a determination that a camera component of the first client device is not active.
However, Ohrn discloses the default image comprising image content for presentation during the video conference call upon a determination that a camera component of the first client device is not active (See Col. 1 lines 47-57; a user participating in a videoconference may wish to deactivate their camera, or otherwise not display a concurrent video stream of such a user (video feed). In such instances, some videoconferencing software can display static images. Typically, such a static image is a user profile picture... In addition to videoconferences where the user has not activated their camera, profile pictures are often utilized to identify users in other communicational contexts. See Col. 19 lines 62-67 and Col. 20 lines 1-6; determination as to whether to generate a user presentation of a suggested image, such as in the form of a generated graphical user interface element presented to the user via display device communicationally coupled to the computing device being utilized by the user, can be based on user actions on the computing device; a user presentation can be generated in response to a triggering event, such as the commencement of a subsequent video teleconference in which the user is only visible by their profile picture, such as if the user has not activated the video functionality. See Col. 2 lines 9-49; ... the user can be detected utilizing image data captured during a video teleconference, and potential updates to the user's profile picture can be automatically generated and presented to the user for their consideration and selection ... See also Fig. 1).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the presentation window in the shared slide (first region of the electronic document) that includes a video feed integration object overlaid on a default image, taught by Sharp in view of Roper, to include the default image comprising image content for presentation during the video conference call upon a determination that a camera component of the first client device is not active, as taught by Ohrn. This would be convenient to provide ability for a human user to visually perceive another human user which is beneficial in establishing rapport, comfort and trust, as well as providing collaborative and communicational efficiency benefits (Ohrn, Col. 1 lines 36-46).
Claims 16-17 are taught by Sharp in view of Roper and Ohrn as described for claim 2-3, respectively.
Claim 21. Sharp in view of Roper and Ohrn discloses the method of claim 1,
Sharp in view of Roper doesn’t explicitly disclose wherein providing the electronic document for presentation to the one or more of the plurality of participants based on the determination comprises: responsive to determining that the camera component of the first client device is active, including the first video feed in the first region indicated by the first video feed integration object; detecting that the camera component of the first client device is not active; and based on the detection, including the image content of the default image in the first region.
However, Ohrn discloses wherein providing the electronic document for presentation to the one or more of the plurality of participants based on the determination comprises: responsive to determining that the camera component of the first client device is active, including the first video feed in the first region indicated by the first video feed integration object; detecting that the camera component of the first client device is not active; and based on the detection, including the image content of the default image in the first region (See Col. 1 lines 47-57; a user participating in a videoconference may wish to deactivate their camera, or otherwise not display a concurrent video stream of such a user (video feed). In such instances, some videoconferencing software can display static images. Typically, such a static image is a user profile picture... In addition to videoconferences where the user has not activated their camera, profile pictures are often utilized to identify users in other communicational contexts. See also Col. 19 lines 62-67 and Col. 20 lines 1-6; determination as to whether to generate a user presentation of a suggested image, such as in the form of a generated graphical user interface element presented to the user via display device communicationally coupled to the computing device being utilized by the user, can be based on user actions on the computing device; a user presentation can be generated in response to a triggering event, such as the commencement of a subsequent video teleconference in which the user is only visible by their profile picture, such as if the user has not activated the video functionality. See also Fig. 1).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the document sharing system taught by Sharp in view of Roper, to include responsive to determining that the camera component of the first client device is active, including the first video feed in the first region indicated by the first video feed integration object; detecting that the camera component of the first client device is not active; and based on the detection, including the image content of the default image in the first region, as taught by Ohrn. This would be convenient to provide ability for a human user to visually perceive another human user which is beneficial in establishing rapport, comfort and trust, as well as providing collaborative and communicational efficiency benefits (Ohrn, Col. 1 lines 36-46).
Claims 4 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sharp et al. (Pub. No. US 2022/0191258), hereinafter Sharp; in view of Roper (Pub. No. US 2023/0126108); further in view of Ohrn (Patent No. US 11,445,148); and further in view of Yu et al. (Patent. No. US 11,263,397), hereinafter Yu.
Claim 4. Sharp in view of Roper and Ohrn discloses the method of claim 1,
Sharp doesn’t explicitly disclose the method further comprising: identifying metadata associated with the electronic document, wherein the metadata comprises a mapping between the first video feed integration object and an identifier for at least one of the first client device or the first participant; and determining that the first region is to include the first video feed based on the mapping of the identified metadata.
However, Yu discloses identifying metadata associated with the electronic document, wherein the metadata comprises a mapping between the first video feed integration object and an identifier for at least one of the first client device or the first participant; and determining that the first region is to include the first video feed based on the mapping of the identified metadata (See Col. 20 lines 13-33; data and/or metadata associated with presentation content (e.g., slide-based templates), users associated with the presentation content, devices associated with the presentation content, etc., may be identified and analyzed, where relevance scoring may be generated from this analysis. An AI model may be trained to identify specific associations between content portions, metadata and/or users. Once relevance scores are generated, one or more designations (e.g., N number of user accounts) may be output for presentation in GUI menu listing. To help curate that listing, the designations that are output may be required to satisfy a threshold relevance score as set by developers. As a practical example, a context associated with presentation content and/or business associations of a user may be analyzed to identify relevant team members of a user or other users who commonly present with a user (or present on specific presentation content). Based on a result of the generated relevance scoring and analysis thereof, one or more of those team members may be listed in a GUI menu providing suggestions for one or more user account designations to associate with a GUI object).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the shared content, taught by Sharp, to include metadata associated with the electronic document, as taught by Yu. This would be convenient for the management of presentation content including technical instances where presentation content interacts with live feeds; and to provide design solutions enabling users to easily interject a representation of a live camera feed into presentation content (Yu, Col. 1 lines 58-67- and Col. 2 lines 1-17).
Claims 11 is taught by Sharp in view of Roper, Ohrn, and Yu as described for claim 4.
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sharp et al. (Pub. No. US 2022/0191258), hereinafter Sharp; in view of Roper (Pub. No. US 2023/0126108); further in view of Ohrn (Patent No. US 11,445,148); and further in view of Fieldman (Patent No. US 11,463,499).
Claim 22. Sharp in view of Roper and Ohrn discloses the method of claim 1,
Sharp doesn’t explicitly disclose the method further comprising: prior to initiation of the video conference call, providing an additional GUI to at least one participant of the plurality of participants that enables the at least one participant to modify the electronic document; responsive to detecting a first interaction with one or more first GUI elements of the additional GUI, updating the electronic document to include the first video feed integration object at the first region; and responsive to detecting a second interaction with one or more second GUI elements of the additional GUI, updating the electronic document to include the default image at the first region.
However, Fielman discloses:
prior to initiation of the video conference call, providing an additional GUI to at least one participant of the plurality of participants that enables the at least one participant to modify the electronic document; responsive to detecting a first interaction with one or more first GUI elements of the additional GUI, updating the electronic document to include the first video feed integration object at the first region; and responsive to detecting a second interaction with one or more second GUI elements of the additional GUI, updating the electronic document to include the default image at the first region (See Col. 11 lines 18-52-63; FIG. 5 illustrates a session 400 of a video conference with an online, shared, (currently) blank whiteboard region 430 in the browser 404 of the presenter computer during a session. Shown is a video image 410 of the presenter, taken via the camera of his or her computer, an option 420 to invite another participant to the session, and options 428 to move to different pages within the session, or to draw on or otherwise manipulate a whiteboard within the session using a pencil tool. Video image 410 of the presenter may also be a still image, as may any of the other video images … Button 422 allows the presenter to enable or disable his or her device camera … See also Col. 17 lines 57-67, Col. 18 lines 1-13, and Fig. 3-4. Examiner’s interpretation: The Examiner interprets the GUI elements as the GUI buttons taught by Fieldman).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to Sharp, to include prior to initiation of the video conference call, providing an additional GUI to at least one participant of the plurality of participants that enables the at least one participant to modify the electronic document; responsive to detecting a first interaction with one or more first GUI elements of the additional GUI, updating the electronic document to include the first video feed integration object at the first region; and responsive to detecting a second interaction with one or more second GUI elements of the additional GUI, updating the electronic document to include the default image at the first region, as taught by Fieldman. This would be convenient to improve upon existing video conferencing technology that allow information from an earlier video conference to be saved and then retrieved at the appropriate time and when the appropriate participants are in a future video conference (Fieldman, Col. 2 lines 10-15).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Tucker (US 2023/0199148) – Related art in the area related to presentation of a video feed on one display to appear as though presented on another display, (Parag. [0005]; instructions executable by the at least one processor to receive, from a second device different from the first device, a camera feed of a meeting. The instructions are also executable to determine that the camera feed shows a first display presenting a particular piece of electronic content. Based on the determination, the instructions are executable to overlay, on the camera feed as presented on a second display, a separate video feed of the particular piece of electronic content. The second display is different from the first display).
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Abdelbasst Talioua/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2445