DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
This is in response to the amendment filed on . Claims 1-20 are pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4, 9-12, 14 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tang et al. (Tang; WO 2018/017100 A1), NISHIKAWA et al. (Nishikawa; US 20160159432) and Chen (US 20100123402 A1), further in view of Ottaway (US 20230406432).
Regarding Claim 1, Tang discloses an
a frame having a head tube, down tube, top tube, and seat tube (114);
a front wheel attached to the frame via a fork connected to the head tube (114);
a rear wheel attached to the frame via a dropout assembly of the frame (114);
a battery pack mounted to the frame of the electric bicycle that provides power (228 of Fig 2)
a controller (including 204 of Fig 2 processor) that controls operations of the battery pack of the electric bicycle a
one or more sensors attached to the frame of the electric bicycle (210-220 of Fig 2);
visual alerts mounted to the frame of the electric bicycle ([0031] user interface module 226 may present information to a user in the form of audible information, visual information); and
a path
a bicycle path module (including GPS 210 of Fig 2) that:
determines the electric bicycle is traveling on a bicycle path ([0026] While bicycle 114 is being ridden along a route, the bicycle's event tracker may access event server 110 to identify upcoming areas where previous events occurred with different users; [0028] event tracker 104 determines the current geographic location of bicycle 102 based on the GPS data); and
captures information associated with the bicycle path ([0030] When an event is detected by event detection module 222, an event record manager 224 receives data from multiple sensors in event tracker 104 and creates an event record for the event that includes an event type, sensor data, current date and time, geographic location of the event ([0003] events include rough road segments, potholes, sudden braking, swerving, tire slipping, and the like)); and
a visual module that:
generates visual parameters based on the captured information associated with the bicycle path ([0031] interface module 226 may generate an alert (visual) when bicycle 102 is approaching an area with many previous events reported by other users); and
causes the electric bicycle to select ([0026], [0028], [0031] user interface module 226 may generate an alert when bicycle 102 is approaching an area with many previous events reported by other users [selects alert based on previous events]) and perform a lighting action for the electric bicycle using the generated lighting parameters ([0031] generates a visual alert) which are based on the captured information associated with the bicycle path ([0026] bicycle's event tracker may access event server 110 to identify upcoming areas where previous events occurred) and based on the determination that the electric bicycle is traveling on the bicycle path ([0026]; [0026] While bicycle 114 is being ridden along a route, the bicycle's event tracker may access event server 110 to identify upcoming areas where previous events occurred with different users [note: to determine upcoming events on a given route (path), the system must determine the bicycle is on a bicycle path]; [0028] event tracker 104 determines the current geographic location of bicycle 102 based on the GPS data).
Tang does NOT specify that the bike is electric with a motor nor that the visual alert is multiple lighting devices.
In the same field of endeavor, Nishikawa discloses a bicycle detection device with a single sensor that is configured to output a first detection signal of a first state in response to a movement of a first operating member. The sensor is configured to output a second detection signal of a second state, which is different from the first state, in response to a movement of a second operating member.
Nishikawa discloses an electric motor mounted to the rear wheel that propels the electric bicycle ([0202] the present bicycle control apparatus can also be applied to an electrically assisted bicycle comprising a rear hub motor, that is, an electrically assisted bicycle in which the rear wheel 207 comprises an assist mechanism).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tang with Nishikawa using an electric motor in order to provide a convenient electrical drive assist to a bicyclist.
In the same field of endeavor, Chen discloses a bicycle control device including a speed sensing unit, a light sensing unit, a microprocessor, at least one lamp, a lock module and a warning module. When a bicycle is moving, the speed sensing unit detects the speed of the bicycle and the light sensing unit detects lightness around the bicycle. According to the signals, the microprocessor of the control device sends a command signal to turn on the lamp and adjusts the luminance of the lamp in accordance with the lightness signal and the speed signal respectively.
Chen discloses multiple lighting devices (21-24 of Fig 2) and a lighting module (including 11, 212, 222, 232, 242 of Fig 2) that:
generates lighting parameters based on the captured information associated with the bicycle path (Figs 6-8); and
causes the electric bicycle to select and perform a lighting action for the electric bicycle using the generated lighting parameters (Figs 6-8), which are based on the captured information associated with the bicycle path (Figs 6-8 whichever trail, path, road, route the bicycle is traveling along).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tang and Nishikawa with Chen using lights in order to integrate various components with a bicycle control device and provide some interrelated functions among the components, and execute specific functions based on sensed data, as suggested by Chen ([0005]).
Regarding the path mode limitation, in the same field of endeavor, Ottaway discloses a bicycle light device has a body encapsulating direct visibility lighting and leg motion reflective lighting. The lighting is respectively directed so that, when the device is attached to a bicycle in use, the leg motion reflective lighting casts illuminating light downwardly and forwardly with respect to a visible beam directed rearwardly by the direct visibility lighting to enhance leg motion cognitive awareness in other road users.
Ottaway discloses selecting and performing a lighting action for the electric bicycle which are based on the captured information associated with the bicycle path ([0056] selects dim lights on shared bicycle path) and based on the determination that the electric bicycle is traveling on a bicycle path, wherein the lighting action is associated with a path mode of illumination directed to illuminating the bicycle path ([0055]-[0056] controller 122 may classify terrain as shared bicycle path terrain by detecting lower frequency and lower intensity as compared to road terrain having higher frequency and intensity. As such, for example, the controller 122 may dim the direct visibility lighting 102 when detecting the shared bicycles path terrain so as to not blind fellow riders).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify Tang, Nishikawa and Chen with Ottaway using a path mode in order to enhance leg motion cognitive awareness in other road users and so as to not blind fellow riders, as suggested by Ottaway (Abstract, [0056]).
Regarding Claim 2, Chen discloses the captured information associated with the bicycle path includes information identifying a level of visibility for a rider of the electric bicycle while traveling on the bicycle path (Figs 6 and 8).
Regarding Claim 4, Tang discloses the captured information associated with the bicycle path includes information identifying a type of surface of the bicycle path ([0022] Example events include road conditions (e.g., potholes, obstacles, road construction, poor street lighting, bad bike lane markings (or lack of bike lane markings)) and a current weather condition for an environment that includes the bicycle path ([0037] additional data may be weather data).
Regarding Claim 9, Tang discloses the bicycle path module determines the electric bicycle is traveling on a bicycle path based on global positioning system (GPS) data captured by the one or more sensors that identifies a current location of the electric bicycle ([0028] GPS).
Regarding Claim 10, Tang discloses the bicycle path module determines the electric bicycle is traveling on a bicycle path based on map data that identifies a current location of the electric bicycle is a location on the bicycle path ([0026] While bicycle 114 is being ridden along a route, the bicycle's event tracker may access event server 110 to identify upcoming areas where previous events occurred with different users; [0028] event tracker 104 determines the current geographic location of bicycle 102 based on the GPS data).
Regarding Claim 11, Tang discloses a method performed by a path lighting system stored in memory of a controller of an
determining the While bicycle 114 is being ridden along a route, the bicycle's event tracker may access event server 110 to identify upcoming areas where previous events occurred with different users; [0028] event tracker 104 determines the current geographic location of bicycle 102 based on the GPS data);
capturing information associated with the bicycle path ([0030] When an event is detected by event detection module 222, an event record manager 224 receives data from multiple sensors in event tracker 104 and creates an event record for the event that includes an event type, sensor data, current date and time, geographic location of the event ([0003] events include rough road segments, potholes, sudden braking, swerving, tire slipping, and the like));
generating visual parameters based on the captured information associated with the bicycle path ([0031] interface module 226 may generate an alert (visual) when bicycle 102 is approaching an area with many previous events reported by other users); and
causing the electric bicycle to select ([0026], [0028], [0031] user interface module 226 may generate an alert when bicycle 102 is approaching an area with many previous events reported by other users [selects alert based on previous events]) and perform a lighting action for the electric bicycle using the generated lighting parameters ([0031] generates a visual alert).
Tang does NOT specify that the bike is electric with a motor nor that the visual alert is multiple lighting devices.
In the same field of endeavor, Nishikawa discloses an electric motor mounted to the rear wheel that propels the electric bicycle ([0202] the present bicycle control apparatus can also be applied to an electrically assisted bicycle comprising a rear hub motor, that is, an electrically assisted bicycle in which the rear wheel 207 comprises an assist mechanism).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tang with Nishikawa using an electric motor in order to provide a convenient electrical drive assist to a bicyclist.
In the same field of endeavor, Chen discloses multiple lighting devices (21-24 of Fig 2) and a lighting module (including 11, 212, 222, 232, 242 of Fig 2) that:
generates lighting parameters based on the captured information associated with the bicycle path (Figs 6-8); and
causes the electric bicycle to select and perform a lighting action for the electric bicycle using the generated lighting parameters (Fig 6-8). perform a lighting action for the electric bicycle using the generated lighting parameters (Figs 6-8).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tang and Nishikawa with Chen using lights in order to integrate various components with a bicycle control device and provide some interrelated functions among the components, and execute specific functions based on sensed data, as suggested by Chen ([0005]).
Regarding the separate path limitation, Ottaway discloses determining that the electric bicycle is traveling on a bicycle path, wherein the bicycle path is a path of travel that is separated from vehicles ([0055]-[0056] controller 122 may classify terrain as shared bicycle path terrain by detecting lower frequency and lower intensity as compared to road terrain having higher frequency and intensity. As such, for example, the controller 122 may dim the direct visibility lighting 102 when detecting the shared bicycles path terrain so as to not blind fellow riders) [note: although bicycles are considered vehicles, this limitation will be interpreted to mean a path separated from a road for cars, as inferred from the Present Invention’s Specification [0210]-[0211]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify Tang, Nishikawa and Chen with Ottaway using a path mode in order to enhance leg motion cognitive awareness in other road users and so as to not blind fellow riders, as suggested by Ottaway (Abstract, [0056]).
Regarding Claim 12, Tang discloses the captured information associated with the bicycle path includes information identifying a level of visibility for a rider of the electric bicycle while traveling on the bicycle path (Figs 6 and 8).
Regarding Claim 14, Tang discloses the captured information associated with the bicycle path includes information identifying a type of surface of the bicycle path ([0022]) and a current weather condition for an environment that includes the bicycle path ([0037]).
Regarding Claim 17, Tang discloses performing the lighting action for the electric bicycle using the generated lighting parameters includes adjusting an intensity of light emitted by a head lamp of the electric bicycle (Figs 6 and 8).
Claims 3 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tang, Nishikawa, Chen and Ottaway, further in view of LI et al. (Li; CN 111846050 A).
Regarding Claim 3 and 13, Tang doesn’t disclose the captured information associated with the bicycle path includes information identifying a width of the bicycle path.
In the same field of endeavor, Li discloses an intelligent bicycle lamp, that captures information associated with a bicycle path that includes information identifying a width of the bicycle path (Abstract).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tang, Nishikawa, and Chen with Li using width information to efficiently assess the challenge and danger of a traveled path.
Claims 5 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tang, Nishikawa, Chen and Ottaway, further in view of Tee et al. (Tee; US 20100283590 A1).
Regarding Claims 5 and 15, Tang doesn’t disclose performing the lighting action for the electric bicycle using the generated lighting parameters includes emitting a laser projection that defines a perimeter of the bicycle path traveled by the electric bicycle.
In the same field of endeavor, Tee discloses a safety light apparatus includes a first light source and a second light source. A housing supports the first and second light sources and first and second light modulators. A mounting device is provided for mounting the housing to a bicycle.
Tee discloses performing the lighting action for the electric bicycle using the generated lighting parameters includes emitting a laser projection that defines a perimeter of the bicycle path traveled by the electric bicycle (Abstract, Fig 1B, [0070]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tang, Nishikawa, and Chen with Tee using laser boundaries in order to emit light that catches the attention of vehicle drivers behind the bicycle to reduce the chances of accidents, as suggested by Tee ([0003]).
Claims 6 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tang, Nishikawa, Chen and Ottaway, further in view of YUDA (Yuda; JP 2018058466A).
Regarding Claims 6 and 16, Tang doesn’t disclose performing the lighting action for the electric bicycle using the generated lighting parameters includes emitting a laser projection that creates a center line on the bicycle path traveled by the electric bicycle.
In the same field of endeavor, Yuda discloses a laser light generation device for vehicles. Yuda discloses performing the lighting action for the electric bicycle using the generated lighting parameters includes emitting a laser projection that creates a center line on the path (Abstract).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tang, Nishikawa, and Chen with Yuda using a laser centerline in order to provide valuable assistance in staying on course during heavy fog or snow and avoid accidents, as suggested by Yuda ([0003]).
Claims 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tang, Nishikawa, Chen and Ottaway, further in view of LIN et al. (Lin; TW I428565 B).
Regarding Claim 7, Tang discloses the bicycle path module captures information associated with the bicycle path from a fleet management server that manages a fleet of electric bicycles that includes the electric bicycle, wherein the fleet management server is associated with a database that relates bicycle path identifiers ([0022] Example events include road conditions (e.g., potholes, obstacles, road construction, poor street lighting, bad bike lane markings (or lack of bike lane markings)), but doesn’t specify bicycle path size information.
In the same field of endeavor, Lin discloses a navigation method capable of planning different difficulty paths of bicycles, which can perform path difficulty index analysis and point-by-point propulsion.
Lin discloses the bicycle path module captures information associated with the bicycle path from a fleet management server that manages a fleet of electric bicycles that includes the electric bicycle, wherein the fleet management server is associated with a database that relates bicycle path identifiers and bicycle path size information (page 6, [4] constructing a three-dimensional electronic map in the control unit, and the control unit extracts the terrain height of the designated path and the total road length value).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tang, Nishikawa, and Chen with Lin using path size in order to help users plan the shortest and easiest route, so they can save time, as suggested by Lin ([0002]).
Regarding Claim 8, Tang discloses the bicycle path module captures information associated with the bicycle path from a public mapping database that includes information relating bicycle paths ([0026] This collection of event-related data can be accessed by any number of users).
Lin teaches bicycle path size information (page 6, [4]).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tang, Nishikawa, Chen and Ottaway, further in view of Lumen Labs (Lumen; 20190002052).
Regarding Claim 18, Tang doesn’t disclose performing the lighting action for the electric bicycle using the generated lighting parameters includes adjusting a shape of a light envelope projected around the electric bicycle.
In the same field of endeavor, Lumen discloses a light projection system for bicycles that comprises a front light and a rear light that act in tandem to emit light on the sides and beneath the cycle to visually indicate the ‘safety space’ of the cyclist; and to use such lights to indicate cyclists' intention to other commuters.
Lumen discloses the lighting action for the electric bicycle using the generated lighting parameters includes adjusting a shape of a light envelope projected around the electric bicycle (Abstract, [0034]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tang, Nishikawa, and Chen with Lumen shaping a light shape in order to enhance visibility of the bicycle thus effectively alerting approaching motorists or riders from their perspectives, as suggested by Lumen ([0040]).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tang, Nishikawa; and Chen, further in view of Li.
Regarding Claim 19, Tang discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium whose contents, when executed by a path
determining the While bicycle 114 is being ridden along a route, the bicycle's event tracker may access event server 110 to identify upcoming areas where previous events occurred with different users; [0028] event tracker 104 determines the current geographic location of bicycle 102 based on the GPS data);
capturing information associated with a width of the bicycle path ([0030] When an event is detected by event detection module 222, an event record manager 224 receives data from multiple sensors in event tracker 104 and creates an event record for the event that includes an event type, sensor data, current date and time, geographic location of the event ([0003] events include rough road segments, potholes, sudden braking, swerving, tire slipping, and the like));
causing the visual action for the electric bicycle using the captured information ([0031] interface module 226 may generate an alert (visual) when bicycle 102 is approaching an area with many previous events reported by other users) and based on a location of the electric bicycle within the bicycle path ([0026]; [0026] While bicycle 114 is being ridden along a route, the bicycle's event tracker may access event server 110 to identify upcoming areas where previous events occurred with different users [note: to determine upcoming events on a given route (path), the system must determine the bicycle is on a bicycle path]; [0028] event tracker 104 determines the current geographic location of bicycle 102 based on the GPS data).
Tang does NOT specify that the bike is electric with a motor nor that the visual alert is multiple lighting devices.
In the same field of endeavor, Nishikawa discloses an electric motor mounted to the rear wheel that propels the electric bicycle ([0202] the present bicycle control apparatus can also be applied to an electrically assisted bicycle comprising a rear hub motor, that is, an electrically assisted bicycle in which the rear wheel 207 comprises an assist mechanism).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tang with Nishikawa using an electric motor in order to provide a convenient electrical drive assist to a bicyclist.
In the same field of endeavor, Chen discloses multiple lighting devices (21-24 of Fig 2) and a lighting module (including 11, 212, 222, 232, 242 of Fig 2) that:
generates lighting parameters based on the captured information associated with the bicycle path (Figs 6-8); and
causes the electric bicycle to perform a lighting action for the electric bicycle using the generated lighting parameters (Fig 6-8) and based on a location of the electric bicycle within the bicycle path (Figs 6-8 whichever trail, path, road, route the bicycle is traveling along).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tang and Nishikawa with Chen using lights in order to integrate various components with a bicycle control device and provide some interrelated functions among the components, and execute specific functions based on sensed data, as suggested by Chen ([0005]).
Regarding the width limitation, in the same field of endeavor Li teaches capturing information that identifies a width of a bicycle path (Abstract the road width detecting device is used for detecting the road width signal and sending the width signal to the processor, the processor controls the adjusting device to adjust the included angle between the left reflecting sheet and the right reflecting sheet according to the received width signal, so that the illumination range of the light reflected by the left and right reflecting sheets is suitable for the road width).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tang, Nishikawa and Chen with Li using path width for lighting in order to automatically adjust the illumination range according to the road condition, resulting in radiating light on a blind area, increasing the safety of the bicycle, as suggested by Li (Paragraph 1 of Background).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tang, Nishikawa, Chen, Tee and Yuda, further in view of Li.
Regarding Claim 20, Tang doesn’t disclose performing the lighting action for the electric bicycle using the captured information includes emitting a laser projection that creates a center line on the bicycle path traveled by the electric bicycle and creates a lighted perimeter of the bicycle path traveled by the electric bicycle.
In the same field of endeavor, Tee discloses performing the lighting action for the electric bicycle using the generated lighting parameters includes emitting a laser projection that defines a perimeter of the bicycle path traveled by the electric bicycle (Abstract, Fig 1B, [0070]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tang, Nishikawa, and Chen with Tee using laser boundaries in order to emit light that catches the attention of vehicle drivers behind the bicycle to reduce the chances of accidents, as suggested by Tee ([0003]).
In the same field of endeavor, Yuda discloses a laser light generation device for vehicles. Yuda discloses performing the lighting action for the electric bicycle using the generated lighting parameters includes emitting a laser projection that creates a center line on the path (Abstract).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tang, Nishikawa, and Chen with Yuda using a laser centerline in order to provide valuable assistance in staying on course during heavy fog or snow and avoid accidents, as suggested by Yuda ([0003]).
Li creates a lighted perimeter of the bicycle path traveled by the electric bicycle that approximates the width of the bicycle path (Abstract the road width detecting device is used for detecting the road width signal and sending the width signal to the processor, the processor controls the adjusting device to adjust the included angle between the left reflecting sheet and the right reflecting sheet according to the received width signal, so that the illumination range of the light reflected by the left and right reflecting sheets is suitable for the road width).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/20/25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive for the following reasons:
Arguments:
a. Applicant argues that Tang does not disclose determining a bicycle is on a bicycle path, nor performing a lighting action that is specific to the bicycle being on the bicycle path and selected based on information associated with the path, as claimed. While the Office Action asserts that a route disclosed by Tang is similar to the claimed bicycle path (Office Action, page 17), the Applicants respectfully disagree. For example, Tang uses "route" to describe where a bicycle is traveling, collecting event-related data for "bicycle route planning" and to "identify potentially dangerous areas along a route and may select a different route based on severity of the danger" (Tang, paragraph [0026]).
In contrast, the path lighting system, as claimed, performs lighting actions specific to an electric bicycle being on a bicycle path and based on information (e.g., visibility, a width or size, and so on) of the bicycle path. Tang's logging geographic location information does not provide such a feature and does not mention any actions performed that are responsive to a bicycle being on a bicycle path, as claimed.
It is respectfully submitted that Tang causes the electric bicycle to select ([0026], [0028], [0031] user interface module 226 may generate an alert when bicycle 102 is approaching an area with many previous events reported by other users [selects alert based on previous events]) and perform a lighting action for the electric bicycle using the generated lighting parameters ([0031] generates a visual alert) which are based on the captured information associated with the bicycle path ([0026] bicycle's event tracker may access event server 110 to identify upcoming areas where previous events occurred) and based on the determination that the electric bicycle is traveling on the bicycle path ([0026]; [0026] While bicycle 114 is being ridden along a route, the bicycle's event tracker may access event server 110 to identify upcoming areas where previous events occurred with different users [note: to determine upcoming events on a given route (path), the system must determine the bicycle is on a bicycle path]; [0028] event tracker 104 determines the current geographic location of bicycle 102 based on the GPS data).
Tang’s “route” that the bicycle travels along, reads on the claimed “bicycle path.”
b. Applicant argues that Nishikawa is cited to allegedly disclose providing a bicycle with electric assist, and Chen is cited to allegedly disclose integrating lighting components with a control device (Office Action, page 5). However, neither reference discloses determining a bicycle is on a bicycle path, nor performing a lighting action based on the bicycle being on the bicycle path, as claimed.
It is respectfully submitted that Chen causes the electric bicycle to select and perform a lighting action for the electric bicycle using the generated lighting parameters (Figs 6-8), which are based on the captured information associated with the bicycle path (Figs 6-8 whichever trail, path, road, route the bicycle is traveling along).
c. Applicant argues that newly cited reference, Ottaway, also does not disclose such features. Ottaway discloses a lighting device that directs visibility lighting to enhance leg motion cognitive awareness in other road users (Ottaway, Abstract). While discloses that the lighting maybe dimmed to not blind other riders (Ottaway, paragraph [0055]), there is no disclosure of performing a lighting action that is specific to the bicycle being on the bicycle path and selected based on information associated with the path, as claimed. Ottaway is focused on a single action, that of leg motion reflective lighting and not on selecting one or lighting actions to perform based on information captured by a bike path, as claimed.
It is respectfully submitted that Ottaway discloses selecting and performing a lighting action for the electric bicycle which are based on the captured information associated with the bicycle path ([0056] selects dim lights on shared bicycle path) and based on the determination that the electric bicycle is traveling on a bicycle path, wherein the lighting action is associated with a path mode of illumination directed to illuminating the bicycle path ([0055]-[0056] controller 122 may classify terrain as shared bicycle path terrain by detecting lower frequency and lower intensity as compared to road terrain having higher frequency and intensity. As such, for example, the controller 122 may dim the direct visibility lighting 102 when detecting the shared bicycles path terrain so as to not blind fellow riders).
The references teach and suggest the limitations, and motivation for the combination has been provided, therefore, the rejection is proper.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MARK S RUSHING/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2687