DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election without traverse of Species (A1) – X1 and X2 are same, in the reply filed on 7/16/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 6-9 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected group.
With respect to the instant claims 5, 11, and 13 only, a search of the prior art did not show the elected species. As none of the claims were specifically drawn to applicant's elected species in combination with the limitations of one of claims 5, 11, and 13 in independent form, no claims have been indicated as allowable. However, claims written in independent form which require all the limitations of claims 5, 11, and 13 as well as being limited to the elected species along with any dependent claims which require all the limitations of claims 5, 11, and 13 as well as being limited to the elected species would be allowable.
Claims 5, 11, and 13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims as well as being limited to the elected species. This objection to the claims is only with respect to Applicant’s elected species.
It is noted that the potential allowability of claims 5, 11, and 13 has not be determined with respect to species beyond Applicant's elected species, i.e. potential examinable species that could found once the search is expanded beyond Applicant's elected species.
Response to Amendment
The amendment of 03/06/2026 has been entered.
Disposition of claims:
Claims 1-21 are pending.
Claims 6-9 have been withdrawn.
Claims 1, 4-5, 12, and 18-21 have been amended.
The amendments of specification have overcome the objections of specification set forth in the last Office Action. The objections have been withdrawn.
The amendments of claims 1, 4-5, 12, and 18-21 have overcome:
the rejections of claims 1-4, 10, 14-16, and 18 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han et al. (WO 2020/117026 A1, English translation is referred to, hereafter Han ‘026) in view of Otsu et al. (JP 2012/169325 A, hereafter Otsu) and Lee et al. (US 2021/0257550 A1, hereafter Lee),
the rejections of claims 17 and 19-21 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han et al. (WO 2020/117026 A1, English translation is referred to) in view of Otsu et al. (JP 2012/169325 A) and Lee et al. (US 2021/0257550 A1) as applied to claims 1-4, 10, 14-16, and 18 above, further in view of Pflumm et al. (US 2012/0326141 A1, hereafter Pflumm),
the rejections of claims 1-5, 10-11, 14-16, and 18 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han et al. (WO 2020/117026 A1, English translation is referred to) in view of Otsu et al. (JP 2012/169325 A),
the rejections of claims 17 and 19-21 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han et al. (WO 2020/117026 A1, English translation is referred to) in view of Otsu et al. (JP 2012/169325 A) as applied to claims 1-5, 10-11, 14-16, and 18 above, further in view of Pflumm (US 2012/0326141 A1),
the rejections of claims 1-4 and 13-16 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwon et al. (US 2025/0127052 A1, hereafter Kwon) in view of Otsu et al. (JP 2012/169325 A),
the rejections of claims 17 and 19-20 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwon et al. (US 2025/0127052 A1, hereafter Kwon) in view of Otsu et al. (JP 2012/169325 A) as applied to claims 1-4 and 13-16 above, further in view of Pflumm et al. (US 2012/0326141 A1) set forth in the last Office Action.
The rejections have been withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments see pages 48-55 of the reply filed 08/31/2026 regarding the rejections of claims 1-4, 10, 14-16, and 18 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han ‘026/Otsu/Lee, and the rejections of claims 17 and 19-21 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han ‘026/Otsu/Lee/Pflumm set forth in the Office Action of 06/01/2026 have been considered.
Applicant argues that the amendment overcomes the outstanding rejections.
The cited rejections refer to the Compound of Han ‘026 as modified by Otsu and Lee (see section 70 of the last Office Action). The compound does not read on the limitation of Formula 1 of the amended claims; thus, the rejections have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments see pages 48-55 of the reply filed 08/31/2026 regarding the rejections of claims 1-5, 10-11, 14-16, and 18 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han/Otsu, and the rejections of claims 17 and 19-21 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han/Otsu/Pflumm set forth in the Office Action of 06/01/2026 have been considered.
Applicant argues that the amendment overcomes the outstanding rejections.
The cited rejections refer to the Compound of Han ‘026 as modified by Otsu (3) and (4) (see section 120 of the last Office Action). The compounds do not read on the limitation of Formula 1 of the amended claims; thus, the rejections have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments see pages 48-55 of the reply filed 08/31/2026 regarding the rejections of claims 1-4 and 13-16 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwon/Otsu, and the rejections of claims 17 and 19-20 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwon/Otsu/Pflumm set forth in the Office Action of 06/01/2026 have been considered.
Applicant argues that the amendment overcomes the outstanding rejections.
The cited rejections refer to the Compound of Kwon as modified by Otsu (see section 154 of the last Office Action). The compound does not read on the limitation of Formula 1 of the amended claims; thus, the rejections have been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 18 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Regarding claims 18 and 21, claims 18 and 21 claim specific embodiments of the polycyclic compound of Formula 1 of claims 1 and 19, respectively.
However, some of the embodiments are not encompassed by the polycyclic compound of Formula 1. For example, at least Compounds 32 and 51 are not encompassed by the limitation of the Formula 1 because Compounds 32 and 51 each has dibenzofuran groups as Ra, when X1 and X2 are each NRa. Currently claims 18 and 21 are each dependent from claims 1 and 19. Therefore, claims 18 and 21 fail to include all the limitations of the claims upon which they depend.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stoessel et al. (US 2023/0104248 A1, hereafter Stoessel) in view of Otsu et al. (JP 2012/169325 A, hereafter Otsu) and Lijima et al. (JP 2017/126606 A, machine translated English version is referred to, hereafter Lijima).
Regarding claims 1-4 and 14-16, Stoessel discloses a compound (Formula (I)) used for an organic light emitting element ([0001], [0013]) and exemplifies Compound 21 ([0099]).
The Compound 21 of Stoessel has two adamantane rings fused to the benzene rings of the B-containing polycyclic core. The carbon atoms connecting the benzene ring with the adamantane ring enclosed by dashed circles in the figure above does not have an sp2 hybridization (or three valence electrons to bond with neighboring atoms). However, Stoessel teaches that the compound of Stoessel has two R radicals to form a fused ring together to form Formula RA-5,
([0022]). Thus, an ordinary skill in the art would understand that the two adamantane rings are each bonded to the benzene ring of the polycyclic core structure via single bonds (i.e. the dashed lines of the Formula RA-5) as shown in the Corrected Compound 21 of Stoessel. Even if the structural formula of Compound 21 were intended by Stoessel, it would have been obvious for an ordinary skill in the art to substitute the incorrect structure with correct structure of Formula RA-5 based on the teaching of Stoessel ([0022]). MPEP 2143(I)(A) and (B)
Stoessel does not disclose a specific light emitting element comprising the Corrected Compound 21 of Stoessel; however, Stoessel does teach that the compound of Stoessel can be used as the emitter ([0116]).
Stoessel teaches the structure of a light emitting element comprising a first electrode (ITO), a hole transport region, an emission layer (compound of Stoessel as a dopant, compound SMB1 as a host), an electron transport region, and a second electrode (Al) ([0194]-[0197]).
At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the Corrected Compound 21 of Stoessel by incorporating it as the emitting dopant in a light emitting element, as taught by Stoessel.
The modification would have been a combination of prior art elements according to known material to achieve predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(A). The substitution of the emitting dopants of Stoessel in the device of Stoessel would have been one known element for another known element and would have led to predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(B).
The modification provides Modified light emitting element of Stoessel comprising a first electrode (ITO), a hole transport region, an emission layer (Corrected Compound 21 of Stoessel as a dopant, compound SMB1 as a host), an electron transport region, and a second electrode.
The Corrected Compound 21 of Stoessel has a carbazole group, wherein two phenyl groups are substituted to the positions 3 and 6 of the carbazole; however, Stoessel does teach that X can be CR ([0017]); R can be heteroaromatic ring system which may be substituted by R1 ([0018]). Stoessel exemplifies Formula Ar-12,
as the substituent R ([0069]), wherein [Ar1]p can be a direct bond ([0072]); and R1 can be hydrogen or aromatic ring system having 6 ring atoms ([0088]), indicating the phenyl groups substituted to the positions 3 and 6 of carbazole can be substituted to any positions R1 of the carbazole group of Formula Ar-12.
Otsu discloses carbazole compound used for a light emitting element ([0019]).
Otsu teaches that 1 and 8 substituted carbazole provides a sterically protected C-N bond such that the compound provides suppressed micro crystallization, improved device life and suppressed voltage rise ([0039]). Otsu exemplifies phenyl groups substituted at positions 1 and 8 of carbazole (Compound 3 in [0055]).
At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the Corrected Compound 21 of Stoessel by substituting the substitution positions of the diphenyl groups from 3 and 6 to 1 and 8 in the carbazolyl group, as taught to Stoessel and Otsu.
Furthermore, the modification would have been a combination of prior art elements according to known material to achieve predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(A). The substitution of the substitution positions of the diphenyl groups in the compound of Formula (I) of Stoessel would have been one known element for another known element and would have led to predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(B).
The modification provides Compound of Stoessel as modified by Otsu.
In the Compound of Stoessel as modified by Otsu, top two phenyl groups directed bonded to the boron atom are not bridged by an oxygen atom (i.e. the carbon atoms pointed by arrows in the figure above are not connected by a bridged). However, Stoessel does teach that Y2 and Y3 of Formula (I) can be oxygen ([0015]); and p2 and p3 can be each 0 or 1 ([0016]), indicating the carbon atoms can be connected by an oxygen bridge. Stoessel exemplifies Compound 32 ([0099]), wherein the two carbon atoms at the same positions pointed by the arrows in the figure above are connected by an oxygen bridge (see examples in [0099] including at least Compound 32).
Lijima discloses a B-containing polycyclic compound (Formula (1)) used for an organic light emitting element ([0001], [0019]-[0022]). The three phenyl groups directly bonded to the boron atom are bridged by N, X1, and X2. Lijima exemplifies Compound 2-5, wherein the X1 is N and X2 is O ([0043]).
Lijima teaches that the compound represented by Formula (1) of Lijima provides high thermodynamic stability and the device comprising the compound with improved luminous efficiency ([0018]-[0019], [0023]). An ordinary skill in the art would know that the Compound of Stoessel as modified by Otsu would read on the Formula (1) of Lijima if there is an oxygen bridge between the top two phenyl rings directed bonded to the boron atom.
At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the Compound of Stoessel as modified by Otsu by incorporating an oxygen bridge between the phenyl groups directly bonded to the central boron atom (i.e. the carbon atoms pointed by arrows in the figure above are bridged by an oxygen atom), as taught by Stoessel, Otsu, and Lijima.
The motivation of doing so would have been to provide high thermodynamic stability and the device comprising the compound with improved luminous efficiency, based on the teaching of Lijima.
Furthermore, the modification would have been a combination of prior art elements according to known material to achieve predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(A). The substitution of exemplified bridge structures at [Y2]p2 and [Y3]p3 of Formula (I) of Stoessel would have been one known element for another known element and would have led to predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(B).
The modification provides Compound of Stoessel as modified by Otsu and Lijima which has identical structure as Applicant’s Formula 1. It should be noted that Applicant claims with a proviso when X1 and X2 are each independently NRa, m is 2 and the two R1 groups are bonded to each other to form a ring, then no R2 is bonded to an adjacent group to form a ring. However, the variable m of the Compound of Stoessel as modified by Otsu and Lijima is 3 such that the proviso is not applied.
The modification also provides Light emitting element of Stoessel as modified by Otsu and Lijima comprising a first electrode (ITO), a hole transport region, an emission layer (Compound of Stoessel as modified by Otsu and Lijima as a dopant, compound SMB1 as a host), an electron transport region, and a second electrode (Al), meeting all the limitations of claims 1-4, and 15.
The Light emitting element of Stoessel as modified by Otsu and Lijima reads on the claimed limitations above but fails to teach the properties of the device including 1) the emission layer is to emit blue light and 2) the Compound of Stoessel as modified by Otsu and Lijima is each to emit thermally activated delayed fluorescence (TADF).
It is reasonable to presume that the Light emitting element of Stoessel as modified by Otsu and Lijima inherently possesses the properties 1) and 2).
Support for said presumption is found in the use of like materials which result in the claimed property.
The instant specification states the emission layer of the device of the instant disclosure may be to emit blue light ([0028]); the polycyclic compound of Applicant’s Formula 1 may be blue TADF dopant ([00110]); and the polycyclic compound may be to emit TADF ([0030]).
The emitting dopant of the device of Stoessel as modified by Otsu and Lijima is Compound Stoessel as modified by Otsu and Lijima which has identical structure as Applicant’s specific embodiment, Compound 11 ([00137]).
Therefore, Light emitting element of Stoessel as modified by Otsu and Lijima inherently possesses the properties 1) and 2), meeting all the limitations of claims 14 and 16.
The burden is upon the Applicant to prove otherwise. In re Fitzgerald 205 USPQ 594. In addition, the presently claimed properties would obviously have been present once the Light emitting element of Stoessel as modified by Otsu and Lijima is provided. Note In re Best, 195 USPQ at 433, footnote 4 (CCPA 1977). Reliance upon inherency is not improper even though the rejection is based on Section 103 instead of 102. In re Skoner, et al. (CCPA) 186 USPQ 80.
Claims 17 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han et al. (WO 2020/117026 A1, English translation is referred to) in view of Otsu et al. (JP 2012/169325 A) and Lijima et al. (JP 2017/126606 A, machine translated English version is referred to) as applied to claims 1-4 and 14-16 above, further in view of Pflumm et al. (US 2012/0326141 A1, hereafter Pflumm).
Regarding claims 17 and 19-20, the Light emitting element of Han ‘026 as modified by Otsu and Lijima reads on all the features of claim 1 as outlined above.
The device comprises a first electrode (ITO), a hole transport region, an emission layer (Compound of Stoessel as modified by Otsu and Lijima as a dopant, compound SMB1 as a host), an electron transport region, and a second electrode (Al).
The Light emitting element of Han ‘026 as modified by Otsu and Lijima does not have a hole transport region comprising Compound G-1 or G-2 of the instant claims; however, Han ‘026 does teach the hole transport region can include a hole transport region ([276]).
Pflumm discloses a light emitting element comprising a mixture of hole transport region materials ([0006]-[0009]). Pflumm exemplifies a hole transport region comprising a mixture containing compounds A2 (E12 in Table 1).
Pflumm teaches that the light emitting element provides significant improvement with respect to the efficiency, lifetime, roll-off behavior, and processability ([0006]).
At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the Light electric element of Han ‘026 as modified by Otsu and Lijima by incorporating a hole transport region comprising a mixture of Pflumm which contains Compound A2 of Pflumm, as taught by Otsu and Pflumm.
The motivation of doing so would have been to provide significant improvement with respect to the efficiency, lifetime, roll-off behavior, and processability, based on the teaching of Pflumm.
Furthermore, the modification would have been a combination of prior art elements according to known material to achieve predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(A). Substitution of hole transporting layer materials would have been one known element for another known element and would have led to predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(B).
The modification also provides Light emitting element of Han ‘026 as modified by Otsu, Lijima, and Pflumm comprising a first electrode (ITO), a hole transport region containing Compound A2 of Pflumm, an emission layer (Compound of Han ‘026 as modified by Otsu and Lijima as a dopant, compound SMB1 as a host), an electron transport region, and a second electrode (Al).
Claims 1-4, 10, 14-16, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujisawa et al. (US 2023/0051487 A1, hereafter Fujisawa) in view of Otsu et al. (JP 2012/169325 A).
Regarding claims 1-4, 10, 14-16, and 18, Fujisawa discloses a compound (Formula (1)) used for an organic light emitting element ([0001], [0009]) and exemplifies Compounds 2 and 271 ([0232], [0244]).
In the Formula (1) of Fujisawa, at least one of R1, R2, and R3 is a group of Formula (2), wherein R21 to R28 can be hydrogen or a substituent ([0014]-[0015]) including an aryl group ([0052]).
The Compounds 2 and 271 are similar as Applicant’s Formula 1. The only difference is that each of the Compounds 2 and 271 have phenyl groups substituted to the positions corresponding to R23 and R26 of Formula (2) while Applicant’s Formula 1 requires the phenyl groups to be substituted to the positions R21 and R28 of Formula (2) of Fujisawa; however, Fujisawa does teach that R21 to R28 can be a substituent ([0014]-[0015]) including an aryl group ([0052]). Fujisawa exemplifies a phenyl group as the aryl group (Compounds 2 and 271 in [0232], [0244]).
Otsu discloses carbazole compound used for a light emitting element ([0019]).
Otsu teaches that 1 and 8 substituted carbazole provides a sterically protected C-N bond such that the compound provides suppressed micro crystallization, improved device life and suppressed voltage rise ([0039]). Otsu exemplifies phenyl groups substituted at positions 1 and 8 of carbazole (Compound 3 in [0055]).
At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the Compounds 2 and 271 of Fujisawa by substituting the substitution positions of the phenyl groups from the positions R23 and R26 of Formula (2) to R21 and R28 of Formula (2) of Fujisawa, as taught to Fujisawa and Otsu.
Furthermore, the modification would have been a combination of prior art elements according to known material to achieve predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(A). The substitution of the substitution positions of the diphenyl groups in the compound of Formulas (1) and (2) of Fujisawa would have been one known element for another known element and would have led to predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(B).
The modification provides Compounds of Fujisawa as modified by Otsu (1) and (2).
The Compound of Fujisawa as modified by Otsu (1) has identical structure as Applicant’s Formula 1.
The Compound of Fujisawa as modified by Otsu (2) has identical structure as Applicant’s Formula 1 and Applicant’s embodiment 22 of claim 18.
Fujisawa does not disclose a specific light emitting element comprising the Compound of Fujisawa as modified by Otsu (1) (or (2)); however, Fujisawa does teach that the compound can be used as the light emitting material with a host in a light emitting element ([0028]-[0029], [0043]).
Fujisawa teaches the structure of a light emitting element comprising an anode, an emission layer, and a cathode ([0161], Fig. 1). Fujisawa exemplifies ITO as an anode material ([0171]) and Al as a cathode material ([0172]).
At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the Compound of Fujisawa as modified by Otsu (1) (or (2)) by incorporating it with a host into the emission layer of a light emitting element having structure of an anode (ITO), an emission layer, and a cathode (Al), as taught by Fujisawa.
The motivation of doing so would have been to provide a light emitting device having emission in a short wavelength range and improved emission characteristics, based on the teaching of Fujisawa.
Furthermore, the modification would have been a combination of prior art elements according to known material to achieve predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(A). The substitution of the emission materials of Fujisawa in the device of Fujisawa would have been one known element for another known element and would have led to predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(B).
The modification provides Light emitting element of Fujisawa as modified by Otsu (1) comprising a first electrode (ITO), an emission layer (Compound of Fujisawa as modified by Otsu (1) as an emitter and a host), and a second electrode (Al), meeting all the limitations of claims 1-4, 10, and 15.
The modification provides Light emitting element of Fujisawa as modified by Otsu (2) comprising a first electrode (ITO), an emission layer (Compound of Fujisawa as modified by Otsu (2) as an emitter and a host), and a second electrode (Al), meeting all the limitations of claims 1-4, 15, and 18.
The Light emitting element of Fujisawa as modified by Otsu (1) and (2) read on the claimed limitations above but fails to teach the properties of the device including 1) the emission layer is to emit blue light and 2) the Compound of Stoessel as modified by Otsu and Lijima is each to emit thermally activated delayed fluorescence (TADF).
It is reasonable to presume that the Light emitting element of Fujisawa as modified by Otsu (1) and (2) each inherently possesses the properties 1) and 2).
Support for said presumption is found in the use of like materials which result in the claimed property.
The instant specification states the emission layer of the device of the instant disclosure may be to emit blue light ([0028]); the polycyclic compound of Applicant’s Formula 1 may be blue TADF dopant ([00110]); and the polycyclic compound may be to emit TADF ([0030]).
The emitting dopants of the device of Fujisawa as modified by Otsu (1) and (2) are each Compound Fujisawa as modified by Otsu (1) and (2) each of which has identical structure as Applicant’s specific embodiment, Compound 11 ([00137]).
Therefore, Light emitting element of Fujisawa as modified by Otsu (1) and (2) each inherently possesses the properties 1) and 2), meeting all the limitations of claims 14 and 16.
The burden is upon the Applicant to prove otherwise. In re Fitzgerald 205 USPQ 594. In addition, the presently claimed properties would obviously have been present once the Light emitting element of Fujisawa as modified by Otsu (1) and (2) are provided. Note In re Best, 195 USPQ at 433, footnote 4 (CCPA 1977). Reliance upon inherency is not improper even though the rejection is based on Section 103 instead of 102. In re Skoner, et al. (CCPA) 186 USPQ 80.
Claims 17 and 19-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujisawa et al. (US 2023/0051487 A1) in view of Otsu et al. (JP 2012/169325 A) as applied to claims 1-4, 10, 14-16, and 18 above, further in view of Pflumm et al. (US 2012/0326141 A1).
Regarding claims 17 and 19-21, the Light emitting element of Fujisawa as modified by Otsu (1) reads on all the features of claim 1 as outlined above.
The device comprises a first electrode (ITO), an emission layer (Compound of Fujisawa as modified by Otsu (1) or (2) as a dopant and a host), and a second electrode (Al).
The Light emitting element of Fujisawa as modified by Otsu (1) or (2) does not have a hole transport region comprising Compound G-1 or G-2 of the instant claims; however, Fujisawa does teach that a hole transport layer and/or a hole injection layer can be incorporated ([0161]).
Pflumm discloses a light emitting element comprising a mixture of hole transport region materials ([0006]-[0009]). Pflumm exemplifies a hole transport region comprising a mixture containing compounds A2 (E12 in Table 1).
Pflumm teaches that the light emitting element provides significant improvement with respect to the efficiency, lifetime, roll-off behavior, and processability ([0006]).
At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the Light electric element of Fujisawa as modified by Otsu (1) (or (2)) by incorporating a hole transport region comprising a mixture of Pflumm which contains Compound A2 of Pflumm, as taught by Fujisawa and Pflumm.
The motivation of doing so would have been to provide significant improvement with respect to the efficiency, lifetime, roll-off behavior, and processability, based on the teaching of Pflumm.
Furthermore, the modification would have been a combination of prior art elements according to known material to achieve predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(A). Substitution of hole transporting layer materials would have been one known element for another known element and would have led to predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(B).
The modification also provides Light emitting element of Fujisawa as modified by Otsu and Pflumm comprising a first electrode (ITO), a hole transport region containing Compound A2 of Pflumm, an emission layer (Compound of Fujisawa as modified by Otsu as a dopant and a host), and a second electrode (Al).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 12 is allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
With respect to claim 12, as outlined above, Stoessel (US 2023/0104248 A1) is representative of the closest prior art.
Stoessel teaches a light emitting element comprising a B- and N-containing polycyclic compound.
However, Stoessel does not teach modifying the compound such that the compound has identical structure as the Formula 5 of the instant claim 12. There is no sufficient teaching or motivation in the cited prior art or the broader prior art to teach modifications of a light emitting element comprising a polycyclic compound such that the polycyclic compound has identical structure as the Formula 5 of the instant claim 12.
With respect to claim 12, as outlined above, Fujisawa (US 2023/0051487 A1) is representative of the closest prior art.
Fujisawa teaches a light emitting element comprising a B- and N-containing polycyclic compound.
However, Fujisawa does not teach modifying the compound such that the compound has identical structure as the Formula 5 of the instant claim 12. There is no sufficient teaching or motivation in the cited prior art or the broader prior art to teach modifications of a light emitting element comprising a polycyclic compound such that the polycyclic compound has identical structure as the Formula 5 of the instant claim 12.
With respect to claim 12, as outlined in the Office Action of 06/01/2026, Han ‘026 (WO 2020/117026 A1) is representative of the closest prior art.
Han ‘026 teaches a light emitting element comprising a B- and N-containing polycyclic compound.
However, Han ‘026 does not teach modifying the compound such that the compound has identical structure as the Formula 5 of the instant claim 12. There is no sufficient teaching or motivation in the cited prior art or the broader prior art to teach modifications of a light emitting element comprising a polycyclic compound such that the polycyclic compound has identical structure as the Formula 5 of the instant claim 12.
With respect to claim 12, as outlined in the Office Action of 06/01/2026, Kwon (US 2025/0127052 A1) is representative of the closest prior art.
Kwon teaches a light emitting element comprising a B- and N-containing polycyclic compound.
However, Kwon does not teach modifying the compound such that the compound has identical structure as the Formula 5 of the instant claim 12. There is no sufficient teaching or motivation in the cited prior art or the broader prior art to teach modifications of a light emitting element comprising a polycyclic compound such that the polycyclic compound has identical structure as the Formula 5 of the instant claim 12.
With respect to claim 12, as outlined in the Office Action of 08/08/2025, Nasu (JP 2017/226838 A) is representative of the closest prior art.
Natsu teaches a light emitting element comprising a B- and N-containing polycyclic compound.
However, Natsu does not teach modifying the compound such that the compound has identical structure as the Formula 5 of the instant claim 12. There is no sufficient teaching or motivation in the cited prior art or the broader prior art to teach modifications of a light emitting element comprising a polycyclic compound such that the polycyclic compound has identical structure as the Formula 5 of the instant claim 12.
With respect to claim 12, as outlined in the Office Action of 08/08/2025, Wang (CN110627822 A) is representative of the closest prior art.
Wang teaches a light emitting element comprising a B- and N-containing polycyclic compound.
However, Wang does not teach modifying the compound such that the compound has identical structure as the Formula 5 of the instant claim 12. There is no sufficient teaching or motivation in the cited prior art or the broader prior art to teach modifications of a light emitting element comprising a polycyclic compound such that the polycyclic compound has identical structure as the Formula 5 of the instant claim 12.
In sum, claim 12 is allowed over the cited prior art.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SEOKMIN JEON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1786