DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1, 2, 8, are 10-13 are amended. Claim 9 is cancelled. Claims 1-8 and 10-21 are pending in the application.
Examiner’s Notes
The Examiner cites particular sections in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant(s). Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the applicant(s) fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-8, 10, 12, and 14-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwon et al. (US 2018/0210530 A1; from IDS filed on 11/12/2022; hereinafter Kwon) in view of Bieswanger et al. (US 2010/0037038 A1; from IDS filed on ; hereinafter Bieswanger), Maciesowicz et al. (US 2010/0321395 A1; hereinafter Maciesowicz), and Garg et al. (US 2021/0011773 A1; hereinafter Garg).
With respect to claim 1, Kwon teaches: A method comprising:
in response to identifying a first workload to be executed at a processing unit (see e.g. Kwon, Fig. 1: “Graphics Processing Unit 102”; paragraph 17: “identify processing workloads at the GPU 102… monitors the graphics pipeline 114 for its utilization (e.g., how busy it is) and generates a busy percentage metric representing, for example, a percentage level of activity of the CUs 122”; and paragraph 25: “average activity percentage metric (which may be expressed in percentage terms ranging from 0-100%) represents, for example, a percentage level of activity of compute units in the GPU”):
configuring the processing unit to operate in a first power mode (see e.g. Kwon, paragraph 22: “performs dynamic power level management by periodically determining a new GPU setting (i.e., power level) based on the past behavior of the processing system 100 and a current and/or upcoming workload”; and paragraph 26: “After the calculated average activity percentage metric reaches the pre-determined activity threshold (i.e., indicative of a higher level of processing activity at the GPU), the firmware 204 determines whether to adjust the power level of the GPU”), in which a first subset of processing elements (see e.g. Kwon, paragraph 11: “active… compute units”) of the processing unit (see e.g. Kwon, Fig. 1: “Graphics Processing Unit 102”, “Compute Units 122”; paragraph 25: “a percentage level of activity of compute units in the GPU”; and paragraph 26: “After the calculated average activity percentage metric reaches the pre-determined activity threshold (i.e., indicative of a higher level of processing activity at the GPU), the firmware 204 determines whether to adjust the power level of the GPU”) operate in a low-power mode (see e.g. Kwon, paragraph 27: “adjusting the power level of the GPU by decreasing the operating frequency and/or voltage supplied to the GPU”; and paragraph 34: “a power savings oriented setting in which power levels are allowed to decrease”), and
Note that, activity percentage of the GPU in power savings oriented setting indicates a percentage of the CUs 122 are active in the power saving mode (i.e. operating in low power mode).
Kwon does not but Bieswanger teaches:
one or more additional processing elements (see e.g. Bieswanger, paragraph 40: “a smaller set of cores”; paragraph 51: “active processor cores”; and Fig. 2B: “C1 241-C5 245”) operate in a higher-power mode than the processing elements (see e.g. Bieswanger, paragraph 40: “cores with little or no work”; paragraph 51: “cores 246, 247, and 248 may be executing no instructions”; and Fig. 2B: “C6 246-C8 248”) of the first subset (see e.g. Bieswanger, paragraph 40: “dynamic core pool management, virtual machine manager 114 may detect that the total load on cores 142, 143, 152, and 153 is sufficiently low, consolidate the execution of instructions onto a smaller set of cores, and switch the cores with little or no work from high power states into low power states”; paragraph 51: “in the transition from FIG. 2A to FIG. 2B, virtual machine manager 230 may shift the loads from cores 246, 247, and 248 over to cores 241-245. As a result of shifting the loads and remapping the virtual processing units, cores 246, 247, and 248 may be executing no instructions. Consequently, virtual machine manager 230 may conserve power by switching cores 246, 247, and 248 from high power states to low power states”; and Fig. 2B); and
wherein the first identifier specifies (see e.g. Bieswanger, paragraph 51: “remapping the virtual processing units”; and paragraph 48: “mapping of virtual processors and virtual processing units to different processor cores”) a set of available resources (see e.g. Bieswanger, Fig. 2B: “C1 241-C5 245”; and paragraph 43: “Processor 250 has cores 241 and 242; processor 252 has cores 243 and 244; processor 254 has cores 245”) that includes only the one or more additional processing elements that operate in the higher-power mode (see e.g. Bieswanger, paragraph 51: “active processor cores… shift the loads from cores 246, 247, and 248 over to cores 241-245. As a result of shifting the loads and remapping the virtual processing units, cores 246, 247, and 248 may be executing no instructions. Consequently, virtual machine manager 230 may conserve power by switching cores 246, 247, and 248 from high power states to low power states”; and Fig. 2B).
Note that, the mappings between the VPUs and physical processors (see e.g. Bieswanger, paragraphs 44-45) inherently discloses VPU identifiers (i.e. a first identifier) and physical processor identifiers for the mapping.
Kwon and Bieswanger are analogous art because they are in the same field of endeavor: power management associated with processing elements (e.g. compute units, processor cores, etc.). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kwon with the teachings of Bieswanger. The motivation/suggestion would be to improve power management associated with the processing units (see e.g. Bieswanger, paragraph 40).
Furthermore, Kwon does not but Maciesowicz teaches:
exposing the processing unit in the first power mode (see e.g. Maciesowicz, paragraph 66: “low-power GPU 30b”) to a device driver (see e.g. Maciesowicz, Fig. 12: “200”; paragraph 65: “driver 200”) as a first virtual processing unit (see e.g. Maciesowicz, Fig. 12: “Virtual GPU 202”; paragraph 65: “driver 200 of the present embodiment may incorporate and provide the functions of the virtual frame buffer drivers (e.g., element 156 of FIG. 8). Further, due to the daisy-chained configuration, as shown in FIG. 11, each of virtual display devices 182, 184, and 186 may be driven by the single virtual GPU 202, which may interpret and route function calls to GPU 30”; and paragraph 66: “If less intensive graphics processing application is being run, virtual GPU 202 may route function calls to low-power GPU 30b”)
Kwon and Maciesowicz are analogous art because they are in the same field of endeavor: power management associated with processing units, such as GPUs. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kwon with the teachings of Maciesowicz. The motivation/suggestion would be to improve resource utilization by implementing virtualized resources.
Even further, Kwon does not but Garg teaches:
using a first identifier that corresponds to the first virtual processing unit (see e.g. Garg, paragraph 21: “an identifier or name of each virtual machine 118”) and is different from a second identifier that corresponds to the processing unit (see e.g. Garg, paragraph 21: “an identifier or location of a GPU 115”),
Kwon and Garg are analogous art because they are in the same field of endeavor: managing and allocating virtual devices, such as virtual GPUs. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kwon with the teachings of Garg. The motivation/suggestion would be to improve robustness of resource allocations.
With respect to claim 3, Kwon as modified teaches: The method of claim 1, further comprising:
identifying the first workload based on metadata (see e.g. Kwon, paragraph 10: “inputs such as identification of the particular processing workloads”; and paragraph 8: “data representative of the current computing environment (e.g., type of workload”) provided by an application associated with the first workload (see e.g. Kwon, paragraph 10: “different workloads for different applications”; and paragraph 8: “type of workload requested”).
With respect to claim 4, Kwon as modified teaches: The method of claim 3, wherein the metadata indicates at least one of a number of draw calls, a number of thread dispatches (see e.g. Kwon, paragraph 11: “expected future processing workload is identified based on a number of threads scheduled for execution at the GPU”), a number of graphics primitives, a number of workgroups, and a number of shader instructions to be executed at the processing unit.
With respect to claim 5, Kwon as modified teaches: The method of claim 3, wherein identifying the first workload comprises identifying the first workload (see e.g. Kwon, paragraph 8: “particular workloads that the GPU is currently processing. In each measurement cycle, the GPU driver takes input from both measured hardware performance metrics (e.g., average utilization, temperature, and power that accumulated in the previous cycle)”; and paragraph 10: “consideration of metrics including run-time hardware performance and inputs such as identification of the particular processing workloads”) based on an average of the metadata (see e.g. Kwon, paragraph 23: “an average busy percentage metric… an average temperature metric… an average accumulated power consumed”) provided by the application over time (see e.g. Kwon, paragraph : “in each measurement cycle, the hardware signals from the GPU performance module 118 are used to calculate one or more of an average busy percentage metric from the utilization monitor 124, an average temperature metric from the one or more temperature sensors 126, and an average accumulated power consumed during the measurement cycle from the one or more power sensors 128. Other inputs such as calculated performance measurements (e.g., FPS, throughput, submissions per unit time)”; and paragraph 10: “different workloads for different applications”).
With respect to claim 6, Kwon as modified teaches: The method of claim 1, further comprising:
identifying the first workload based on a stored profile (see e.g. Kwon, paragraph 9: “previous measurement cycle”; and paragraph 22: “past behavior of the processing system 100”) of an application associated with the first workload (see e.g. Kwon, paragraph 10: “different workloads for different applications”; paragraph 9: “identifying a first performance metric associated with processing workloads at the processing system for a consecutive number of measurement cycles. The consecutive number of measurement cycles includes… at least one previous measurement cycle”; paragraph 17: “monitoring of performance characteristics at the graphics pipelines 114 and at the scheduler 116 to identify processing workloads at the GPU 102”; and paragraph 22: “based on the past behavior of the processing system 100 and a current and/or upcoming workload”).
With respect to claim 7, Kwon as modified teaches: The method of claim 1, further comprising:
identifying the first workload based on a runtime profile (see e.g. Kwon, paragraph 10: “consideration of metrics including run-time hardware performance and inputs such as identification of the particular processing workloads”; and paragraph 36: “an identification of the type of workloads/use cases being processed by the GPU 102 (e.g., low-activity workloads such as general compute functions or high-activity workloads such as analytics, visualization, 3D image rendering, artificial intelligence processing, etc.)”) of an application associated with the first workload (see e.g. Kwon, paragraph 10: “different workloads for different applications”; and paragraph 36: “an identification of the type of workloads/use cases being processed by the GPU 102 (e.g., low-activity workloads such as general compute functions or high-activity workloads such as analytics, visualization, 3D image rendering, artificial intelligence processing, etc.)”; paragraph 9: “a current measurement cycle”).
With respect to claim 8, Kwon as modified teaches: The method of claim 1, further comprising:
selecting the first subset of processing elements based on a software request (see e.g. Kwon, paragraph 16: “scheduler 116 buffers each received request until one or more of the CUs 122 is available to execute the thread. When one or more of the CUs 122 is available to execute a thread, the scheduler 116 initiates execution of the thread by, for example, providing an address of an initial instruction of the thread to a fetch stage of the one or more of the CU (e.g., CU 122(1))”) received from the device driver (see e.g. Kwon, paragraph 14: “GPU driver 110 supplies graphics workloads to the graphics pipeline 114 for processing”).
With respect to claim 10, Kwon as modified teaches: A method, comprising:
setting a processing unit (see e.g. Kwon, Fig. 1: “Graphics Processing Unit 102”) to a first configuration (see e.g. Kwon, paragraph 22: “performs dynamic power level management by periodically determining a new GPU setting (i.e., power level) based on the past behavior of the processing system 100 and a current and/or upcoming workload”; and paragraph 26: “After the calculated average activity percentage metric reaches the pre-determined activity threshold (i.e., indicative of a higher level of processing activity at the GPU), the firmware 204 determines whether to adjust the power level of the GPU”) based on a first workload to be executed at the processing unit (see e.g. Kwon, paragraph 17: “identify processing workloads at the GPU 102… monitors the graphics pipeline 114 for its utilization (e.g., how busy it is) and generates a busy percentage metric representing, for example, a percentage level of activity of the CUs 122”; and paragraph 25: “average activity percentage metric (which may be expressed in percentage terms ranging from 0-100%) represents, for example, a percentage level of activity of compute units in the GPU”), the first configuration associated with a first subset of processing elements (see e.g. Kwon, paragraph 11: “active… compute units”) of the processing unit (see e.g. Kwon, Fig. 1: “Graphics Processing Unit 102”, “Compute Units 122”; paragraph 25: “a percentage level of activity of compute units in the GPU”; and paragraph 26: “After the calculated average activity percentage metric reaches the pre-determined activity threshold (i.e., indicative of a higher level of processing activity at the GPU), the firmware 204 determines whether to adjust the power level of the GPU”) operating in a low-power mode (see e.g. Kwon, paragraph 27: “adjusting the power level of the GPU by decreasing the operating frequency and/or voltage supplied to the GPU”; and paragraph 34: “a power savings oriented setting in which power levels are allowed to decrease”) and
Note that, activity percentage of the GPU in power savings oriented setting indicates a percentage of the CUs 122 are active in the power saving mode (i.e. operating in low power mode).
Kwon does not but Bieswanger teaches:
one or more additional processing elements (see e.g. Bieswanger, paragraph 40: “a smaller set of cores”; paragraph 51: “active processor cores”; and Fig. 2B: “C1 241-C5 245”) of the processing unit operating in a higher-power mode than the processing elements (see e.g. Bieswanger, paragraph 40: “cores with little or no work”; paragraph 51: “cores 246, 247, and 248 may be executing no instructions”; and Fig. 2B: “C6 246-C8 248”) of the first subset (see e.g. Bieswanger, paragraph 40: “dynamic core pool management, virtual machine manager 114 may detect that the total load on cores 142, 143, 152, and 153 is sufficiently low, consolidate the execution of instructions onto a smaller set of cores, and switch the cores with little or no work from high power states into low power states”; paragraph 51: “in the transition from FIG. 2A to FIG. 2B, virtual machine manager 230 may shift the loads from cores 246, 247, and 248 over to cores 241-245. As a result of shifting the loads and remapping the virtual processing units, cores 246, 247, and 248 may be executing no instructions. Consequently, virtual machine manager 230 may conserve power by switching cores 246, 247, and 248 from high power states to low power states”; and Fig. 2B); and
wherein the first identifier specifies (see e.g. Bieswanger, paragraph 51: “remapping the virtual processing units”; and paragraph 48: “mapping of virtual processors and virtual processing units to different processor cores”) a set of available resources (see e.g. Bieswanger, Fig. 2B: “C1 241-C5 245”; and paragraph 43: “Processor 250 has cores 241 and 242; processor 252 has cores 243 and 244; processor 254 has cores 245”) that includes only the one or more additional processing elements that operate in the higher-power mode (see e.g. Bieswanger, paragraph 51: “active processor cores… shift the loads from cores 246, 247, and 248 over to cores 241-245. As a result of shifting the loads and remapping the virtual processing units, cores 246, 247, and 248 may be executing no instructions. Consequently, virtual machine manager 230 may conserve power by switching cores 246, 247, and 248 from high power states to low power states”; and Fig. 2B).
Note that, the mappings between the VPUs and physical processors (see e.g. Bieswanger, paragraphs 44-45) inherently discloses VPU identifiers (i.e. first identifiers) and physical processor identifiers for the mapping.
Kwon and Bieswanger are analogous art because they are in the same field of endeavor: power management associated with processing elements (e.g. compute units, processor cores, etc.). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kwon with the teachings of Bieswanger. The motivation/suggestion would be to improve power management associated with the processing units (see e.g. Bieswanger, paragraph 40).
Furthermore, Kwon does not but Maciesowicz teaches:
exposing, to a device driver (see e.g. Maciesowicz, paragraph 65: “reference frame buffer driver 200”), the processing unit in the first configuration (see e.g. Maciesowicz, paragraph 66: “If less intensive graphics processing application is being run, virtual GPU 202 may route function calls to low-power GPU 30b”) as a first virtual processing unit (see e.g. Maciesowicz, paragraph 66: “virtual GPU 202”; and paragraph 65: “reference driver 200 of the present embodiment may incorporate and provide the functions of the virtual frame buffer drivers (e.g., element 156 of FIG. 8). Further, due to the daisy-chained configuration, as shown in FIG. 11, each of virtual display devices 182, 184, and 186 may be driven by the single virtual GPU 202”)
Kwon and Maciesowicz are analogous art because they are in the same field of endeavor: power management associated with processing units, such as GPUs. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kwon with the teachings of Maciesowicz. The motivation/suggestion would be to improve resource utilization by implementing virtualized resources.
Even further, Kwon does not but Garg teaches:
using a first identifier that corresponds to the first virtual processing unit (see e.g. Garg, paragraph 21: “an identifier or name of each virtual machine 118”) and is different from a second identifier that corresponds to the processing unit (see e.g. Garg, paragraph 21: “an identifier or location of a GPU 115”),
Kwon and Garg are analogous art because they are in the same field of endeavor: managing and allocating virtual devices, such as virtual GPUs. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kwon with the teachings of Garg. The motivation/suggestion would be to improve robustness of resource allocations.
With respect to claims 12 and 14-19: Claims 12 and 14-19 are directed to a processing unit comprising a set of processing elements, a power control module, and a scheduler configured to implement active functions corresponding to the method disclosed in claims 1 and 3-8; please see the rejections directed to claims 1 and 3-8 above which also cover the limitations recited in claims 12 and 14-19. Note that, Kwon also discloses a Graphic Processing Unit 102 comprising a set of compute units 122, a power and clock controller 120, and a scheduler 116 (see e.g. Kwon, Fig. 1) to implement the method disclosed in claims 1 and 3-8.
With respect to claim 20, Kwon as modified teaches: The processing unit of claim 12, wherein the scheduling circuit is configured to:
select the first subset of processing elements (see e.g. Kwon, paragraph 16: “scheduler 116 buffers each received request until one or more of the CUs 122 is available to execute the thread. When one or more of the CUs 122 is available to execute a thread, the scheduler 116 initiates execution of the thread by, for example, providing an address of an initial instruction of the thread to a fetch stage of the one or more of the CU (e.g., CU 122(1))”)
Kwon does not but Maciesowicz teaches:
from a set of programmable virtual processing unit profiles (see e.g. Maciesowicz, paragraph 42: “selection of a particular display profile”; and paragraph 45: “selected display profile may be used to configure a generic virtual display port based upon the selection. For instance, if a selected display profile corresponds to a VGA-type display, a reference frame buffer driver, a virtual frame buffer driver, and the virtual display interface are configured to simulate a VGA port connected toa simulated VGA display device”).
Kwon and Maciesowicz are analogous art because they are in the same field of endeavor: power management associated with processing units, such as GPUs. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kwon with the teachings of Maciesowicz. The motivation/suggestion would be to improve resource utilization by implementing virtualized resources.
With respect to claim 21, Kwon as modified teaches: The method of claim 1,
Kwon does not but Garg teaches:
wherein the first identifier is a device ID corresponding to the first virtual processing unit (see e.g. Garg, paragraph 21: “an identifier or name of each virtual machine 118”) and the second identifier is a device ID corresponding to the processing unit (see e.g. Garg, paragraph 21: “an identifier or location of a GPU 115”).
Kwon and Garg are analogous art because they are in the same field of endeavor: managing and allocating virtual devices, such as virtual GPUs. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kwon with the teachings of Garg. The motivation/suggestion would be to improve robustness of resource allocations.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/15/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In detail:
(i) Regarding Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1, note that at least Bieswanger discloses mapping only the active cores (i.e. processing elements that are in high-power mode) to virtual processing units (VPUs). Specifically, in Fig. 2B, processing cores C1-C5 are mapped to VPUs 232-240 (see e.g. Bieswanger, paragraphs 44, 51; Fig. 2B), whereas inactive processing cores C6- C8 (i.e. processing elements in low-power mode) are not mapped to any VPUs (see e.g. Bieswanger, paragraph 51).
Further note that, such a mapping between the VPUs and the processing cores inherently discloses VPU identification information for establishing such mapping.
As such, at least Bieswanger teaches the limitation “wherein the first identifier specifies a set of available resources that includes only the one or more additional processing elements that operate in the higher-power mode” as recited in claim 1. For more details, please see the corresponding rejection above.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 11, and 13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The prior art does not explicitly disclose “exposing the processing unit in the second power mode to the device driver as a second virtual processing unit using a third identifier that corresponds to the second virtual processing unit and is different from the first identifier and the second identifier, wherein the second virtual processing unit is different from the first virtual processing unit, wherein the third identifier specifies a set of available resources that includes only the one or more additional processing elements that operate in the higher-power mode” as recited in claims 2, 11, and 13.
CONCLUSION
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Wu et al. (US 2021/0089423 A1) discloses graphics cores that are configured between different performance levels at runtime to accommodate different virtual machines, the changes in performance levels resulting in different power usage levels for the graphics cores (see paragraphs 29-30).
Contact Information
/UMUT ONAT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2194