DETAILED ACTION
AIA Status
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Claims
Claims 1, 7 and 14 are amended, claim 4 is canceled, and claim 24 is newly added.
Claims 1, 3, 5-7, 9, 10 and 12-24 are pending.
Claims 1, 3, 5-7, 9, 10 and 12-24 are rejected (Non-Final Rejection).
Related Co-Pending Applications/Patents
Examiner is notating that there is a later-filed, commonly owned patent (U.S. Patent No. 12,204,821 B2, hereinafter “the ‘821 patent”) that appears to include the same FIGS. 1-7 as in the present application. Examiner will continue to consider double patenting and/or obvious double patenting issues during the prosecution of (e.g., after any claim amendments in) the current application.
Response to Amendments
Applicant’s specification amendment (dated 06/08/2026) obviates the prior specification objection.
Applicant’s amendment to claims 1 and 7 (dated 06/08/2026) obviates the prior claim objections and 35 U.S.C. § 112(a) rejections.
For these reasons, the previous claim and specification objections and 35 U.S.C. § 112(a) rejections have been withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 06/08/2026 with respect to the rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 103 have been fully considered and they are not persuasive. Alternatively, Examiner has added a third reference CHEN to cure any deficiencies (real or merely alleged) with the TANG reference.
Specifically, Applicant argues that the cited references fail to disclose the amended claim limitations, as recited in claims 1, 7 and 14. The arguments regarding the rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 103 challenge certain limitations, and these arguments are substantially the same as presented during the Examiner Interview of 4 June 2026. That is, Applicant is arguing that the confidence value of TANG (the alleged "authenticity" component) was not used in the secondary mapping of "authenticity" in the claim rejection, with regards to the "one of including ... or excluding a structure" limitation.
As shown in the claim mapping(s) below, TANG teaches determining the authenticity comprises determining, for each pixel of the one or more images (identify semantic labels for pixels of image data, Para. [0101] of TANG), a likelihood of being a part of a corner by applying a corner likelihood model (each semantic label includes a confidence value … (e.g., 0.9 to represent a 90% confidence the semantic label has classified the particular data point correctly), Para. [0102] of TANG; [a confidence is interpreted as corresponding to a likelihood]; classifying corners and small walls based on the 3D representation using a more computationally intensive neural network, generating a transitional 2D floorplan based on the classified corners and small walls, determining refinements for the transitional 2D floorplan using a standardization algorithm, and generating the final 2D floorplan of the physical environment based on the determined refinements for the transitional 2D floorplan, Para. [0109] of TANG; See also neural network 822 generates an initial edge map 823 of the identified walls, and classifies corners 824 a-824 g (herein referred to as corners 824) … the edge map 823 is then refined by the line fitting unit 826 using a line fitting algorithm to generate a line fitted edge map 827 … the line fitted edge map 827 is then further refined by the small walls neural network 828 which further classifies and distinguishes each corner to generate a refined edge map 829 … for example, corner 824 a and 824 e was initially identified as a standard corner by the acquired data, but the small walls neural network 828 is trained to identify corners that may actually be a pillar or an indented corner such that a finalized floorplan should reflect for accuracy and completeness, Para. [0130] of TANG) and a likelihood of being part of an edge by applying an edge likelihood model (each semantic label includes a confidence value … (e.g., 0.9 to represent a 90% confidence the semantic label has classified the particular data point correctly), Para. [0102] of TANG; [a confidence is interpreted as corresponding to a likelihood]; See also a floorplan creation process identifies wall structures (e.g., wall edges) based on a 2D representation that encodes 3D semantic data in multiple layers, Paras. [0010] & [0104] of TANG; See also FIGS. 1-12B of TANG and corresponding description, including discussion of corners); one of including a structure or excluding the structure in the rendering of the first room, based on the authenticity of the element indicated in the three-dimensional polygonal mesh representation, wherein the structure corresponds to a first wall associated with the one of the edge or the corner of the first room (generate 2D representations (e.g., 2D semantic layer 1026) for each 3D semantic layer … generate a height map of the 2D semantic layers … the 2D semantic height map 1028 can be used to determine whether a semantically identified wall is a floor-to-ceiling wall that should be included in the floorplan, or if the semantically identified wall does not reach the height of the ceiling (e.g., a cubicle wall) based on an identified height threshold in comparison to the identified height of the ceiling, then the system (e.g., floorplan unit 1010) can determine to not include that particular wall in the edge map and associated floorplan, Para. [0146] of TANG; See also corner 824 a and 824 e was initially identified as a standard corner by the acquired data, but the small walls neural network 828 is trained to identify corners that may actually be a pillar or an indented corner such that a finalized floorplan should reflect for accuracy and completeness … corner 824 d may actually be an open passthrough to an adjacent room, and not a wall as initially indicated by the edge map … the refined edge map 829 is then sent to the floorplan finalization unit 850, Para. [0130] of TANG; See also FIGS. 1-12B of TANG and corresponding description); and producing a reconstructed floorplan based on the rendering (display a 2D floorplan of a physical environment based on a 3D representation (e.g., a 3D point cloud, a 3D mesh reconstruction, a semantic 3D point cloud, etc.) of the physical environment using one or more of the techniques disclosed herein, Para. [0074] of TANG; See also display 620 that includes the preview 2D floorplan 630, which includes edge map walls 632a, 632b, 632c (e.g., representing walls 134, 130, 132, respectively), boundary 634 a (e.g., representing door 150), boundary 634 b (e.g., representing window 152), bounding box 636 a (e.g., representing table 142), and bounding box 636 b (e.g., representing chair 140), Para. [0115] of TANG).
Applicant appears to be arguing that because the “confidence” (alleged likelihood) for semantic labels (e.g., wall/edge, corner) in TANG is the alleged authenticity, and the inclusion/exclusion of a wall in TANG is based on a height threshold, the claimed inclusion/exclusion is not “based on the authenticity of the element”. However, Examiner does not agree that a multi-part authenticity component (e.g., TANG's dual checks of semantic label confidence plus a height threshold check for "authentic" floor-to-celling wall) was inconsistent with the claim language. The claim language was interpreted as requiring an edge/wall likelihood procedure (e.g., above confidence level) as at least part of an authenticity determination, and excluding or including a structure based on an authenticity determination. The claim does not use "consisting" when requiring the likelihood procedure(s) and is not interpreted so narrowly.
Nonetheless, newly added CHEN is incorporated into the 103 rejection for further addressing the exclusion based on edge/corner likelihood.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 14 are objected to for informalities.
Claims 1 and 14 recite “the rendering of the first room” (emphasis added), which appears to be an artifact of Applicant’s editing process. Examiner suggests replacing “of” with “having” in the quoted language.
Claim 14 also recites “to determine the authenticity comprises to determine” (emphasis added), which appears to be an artifact of Applicant’s editing process. Examiner suggests removing the two instances of “to” in the quoted language.
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. § 112
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 112(a), as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claims contain subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 24 has been newly added and recites “the corner likelihood model determines the likelihood of being part of a corner based on a distance between the pixel and a corner of a set of corners identified in the three-dimensional polygonal mesh representation, and the edge likelihood model determines the likelihood of being part of an edge based on a distance between the pixel and an edge of a set of edges identified in the three-dimensional polygonal mesh representation” (emphasis added). Applicant indicates that support for claim 24 is allegedly provided in Paras. [0092]-[0096]. However, Paras. [0092]-[0096] of the specification do not include the word “distance”. Para. [0096] includes an edge likelihood model characterized by a function that includes “Dist” but it is not clear Para. [0096] supports “a distance between the pixel and an edge of a set of edges …”. Regarding corner likelihood, the cited Paras. [0092]-[0096] do not discuss “distance” and the corner likelihood function does not include “Dist”. Examiner Notes: Para. [00105] of the specification appears to indicate the corner likelihood model determines the likelihood of being part of a corner based on a template layout that is the same type of layout as the building.
Accordingly, Applicant has not particularly pointed out where each of the newly added claim limitations originate from in the original disclosure.
Accordingly, claim 24 is rejected for failing to comply with the written description requirement.
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. § 103
Claims 1, 3, 5, 6, 14, 16-19, 22 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over TANG et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0225090), hereinafter TANG), in view of TIWARI et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0121571, hereinafter TIWARI), and further in view of CHEN et al. (Non-Patent Literature entitled: "Floor-SP: Inverse CAD for Floorplans by Sequential Room-wise Shortest Path").
Regarding claim 1, TANG teaches a method (abstract: devices, systems, and methods that generate floorplans and measurements using a three-dimensional (3D) representation of a physical environment generated based on sensor data) comprising: capturing one or more images of at least a room (capture images and depth data around the user in a room, Para. [0008] of TANG; [a room is a portion of a building]), the one or more images comprising pixels (pixels of image data, Para. [0101] of TANG); generating, based on the one or more images, a three-dimensional polygonal mesh representation ([a point cloud representation corresponds to a three-dimensional polygonal mesh representation per Para. [0080] of Applicant’s specification]; See TANG teaches “3D point cloud may be generated based on depth camera information received concurrently with the images”, Para. [0013] of TANG; See also a 3D reconstructed mesh may be generated as the semantic 3D representation 445, Para. [0102] of TANG) of the room (the images are of a room of a physical environment, Para. [0012]; [a room of a physical environment is interpreted as corresponding to a functional unit (at least a portion) of a building, or it is at least obvious that a room is a portion of a building (see TIWARI below)]; See also FIGS. 1-12B of TANG and corresponding description); converting the three-dimensional polygonal mesh representation to a rendering (Applicant’s claim 4 indicates that a floorplan corresponds to a rendering (e.g., of a room)]; TANG teaches generate floorplans and measurements using three-dimensional (3D) representations of a physical environment … the 3D representations of the physical environment may be generated based on sensor data, such as image and depth sensor data, Para. [0006] of TANG); identifying, in the three-dimensional polygonal mesh representation, a first room (3D semantic data may be segmented into a plurality of horizontal layers that are used to identify where the wall edges of the room are located, Para. [0010] of TANG; See also 3D semantic point cloud can then be used to determine specific measurements of the door or window, Para. [0011] of TANG; See also FIGS. 1-12B of TANG and corresponding description); determining an authenticity of an element indicated in the three-dimensional polygonal mesh representation, the element corresponding to one of an edge or a corner of the first room, (Para. [0146] of TANG, which is discussed more in immediate next claim limitation mapping, includes determining, based on a height threshold, whether a semantically identified wall is a floor to ceiling wall or a cubicle wall; [the floor to ceiling wall is interpreted as corresponding to a “real” or “authentic” room wall, whereas the cubical wall is interpreted as not corresponding to a real/authentic room wall]; See also each semantic label includes a confidence value … (e.g., 0.9 to represent a 90% confidence the semantic label has classified the particular data point correctly), Para. [0102] of TANG; [confidence is interpreted as corresponding to likelihood]; [Examiner’s interpretation is that each of the height threshold and confidence value can be interpreted to correspond to realness/authenticity values]; See also FIGS. 1-12B of TANG and corresponding description), wherein determining the authenticity comprises determining, for each pixel of the one or more images (identify semantic labels for pixels of image data, Para. [0101] of TANG), a likelihood of being a part of a corner by applying a corner likelihood model (each semantic label includes a confidence value … (e.g., 0.9 to represent a 90% confidence the semantic label has classified the particular data point correctly), Para. [0102] of TANG; [a confidence is interpreted as corresponding to a likelihood]; classifying corners and small walls based on the 3D representation using a more computationally intensive neural network, generating a transitional 2D floorplan based on the classified corners and small walls, determining refinements for the transitional 2D floorplan using a standardization algorithm, and generating the final 2D floorplan of the physical environment based on the determined refinements for the transitional 2D floorplan, Para. [0109] of TANG; See also neural network 822 generates an initial edge map 823 of the identified walls, and classifies corners 824 a-824 g (herein referred to as corners 824) … the edge map 823 is then refined by the line fitting unit 826 using a line fitting algorithm to generate a line fitted edge map 827 … the line fitted edge map 827 is then further refined by the small walls neural network 828 which further classifies and distinguishes each corner to generate a refined edge map 829 … for example, corner 824 a and 824 e was initially identified as a standard corner by the acquired data, but the small walls neural network 828 is trained to identify corners that may actually be a pillar or an indented corner such that a finalized floorplan should reflect for accuracy and completeness, Para. [0130] of TANG) and a likelihood of being part of an edge by applying an edge likelihood model (each semantic label includes a confidence value … (e.g., 0.9 to represent a 90% confidence the semantic label has classified the particular data point correctly), Para. [0102] of TANG; [a confidence is interpreted as corresponding to a likelihood]; See also a floorplan creation process identifies wall structures (e.g., wall edges) based on a 2D representation that encodes 3D semantic data in multiple layers, Paras. [0010] & [0104] of TANG; See also FIGS. 1-12B of TANG and corresponding description, including discussion of corners); one of including a structure or excluding the structure in the rendering of the first room, based on the authenticity of the element indicated in the three-dimensional polygonal mesh representation, wherein the structure corresponds to a first wall associated with the one of the edge or the corner of the first room (generate 2D representations (e.g., 2D semantic layer 1026) for each 3D semantic layer … generate a height map of the 2D semantic layers … the 2D semantic height map 1028 can be used to determine whether a semantically identified wall is a floor-to-ceiling wall that should be included in the floorplan, or if the semantically identified wall does not reach the height of the ceiling (e.g., a cubicle wall) based on an identified height threshold in comparison to the identified height of the ceiling, then the system (e.g., floorplan unit 1010) can determine to not include that particular wall in the edge map and associated floorplan, Para. [0146] of TANG; See also corner 824 a and 824 e was initially identified as a standard corner by the acquired data, but the small walls neural network 828 is trained to identify corners that may actually be a pillar or an indented corner such that a finalized floorplan should reflect for accuracy and completeness … corner 824 d may actually be an open passthrough to an adjacent room, and not a wall as initially indicated by the edge map … the refined edge map 829 is then sent to the floorplan finalization unit 850, Para. [0130] of TANG; See also FIGS. 1-12B of TANG and corresponding description); and producing a reconstructed floorplan based on the rendering (display a 2D floorplan of a physical environment based on a 3D representation (e.g., a 3D point cloud, a 3D mesh reconstruction, a semantic 3D point cloud, etc.) of the physical environment using one or more of the techniques disclosed herein, Para. [0074] of TANG; See also display 620 that includes the preview 2D floorplan 630, which includes edge map walls 632a, 632b, 632c (e.g., representing walls 134, 130, 132, respectively), boundary 634 a (e.g., representing door 150), boundary 634 b (e.g., representing window 152), bounding box 636 a (e.g., representing table 142), and bounding box 636 b (e.g., representing chair 140), Para. [0115] of TANG).
TANG does not appear to explicitly disclose that the “room” is “of a building”. However, TIWARI is in the field of processing of images of rooms of a floor plan (Para. [0010] of TIWARI) and teaches that a room is at least a portion of a building and generating a three-dimensional polygonal mesh representation of at least a portion of a first building (user repeats the step of capturing dimensions of a 360 degree image in at least one additional room (e.g., room B) of the building, Para. [0101] of TIWARI; See also the repeated step: “step provides an initial set of vertices, (dfloor, θ), for a polygon representation of the room geometry in two dimensions (2D), Para. [0100] of TIWARI; See also processing of interior building images for each room of the floor plan, Para. [0010] of TIWARI; See also FIGS. 1-8F of TIWARI and corresponding description).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the room scanning-to-floorplan application of TANG with the multiple room scanning/floorplan application of TIWARI [to arrive at the claimed features] for the purpose of optimally placing security sensors/components within a building (Paras. [0004]-[0010] of TIWARI: Para. [0004]: “maximize the probability of detecting the entry of an intruder into a room or to minimize the time taken to detect an intrusion”, Para. [0011]: “optimal placement for each room is achieved … based on connectivity between rooms”).
TANG as modified by TIWARI arguably does explicitly disclose wherein determining the authenticity comprises determining, for each pixel of the one or more images, a likelihood of being a part of a corner by applying a corner likelihood model and a likelihood of being a part of an edge by applying an edge likelihood model on the pixel.
However, CHEN is in the field of floorplan generation based on room scanning (Abstract of CHEN) and teaches wherein determining the authenticity comprises determining, for each pixel of the one or more images, a likelihood of being a part of a corner by applying a corner likelihood model and a likelihood of being a part of an edge by applying an edge likelihood model on the pixel (the penalty of placing a corner at pixel p (see Fig.3a), and hence, summed over all the corner pixels C(Li) on Li … the penalty is defined as one minus the pixel-wise corner likelihood … we estimate the corner likelihood map from the input point-density/normal map using Dilated Residual Networks (DRN) … the penalty of placing an edge over a pixel … the term is defined as one minus the pixel-wise edge likelihood (see Fig. 3b), summed over all the edge pixels E(Li) along Li … we use Bresenham’s line algorithm to obtain edge pixels given corners … the same DRN estimates the edge likelihood from the input point-density/normal map, 2nd Para. of Col. 2 of Page 2663 of CHEN; See also Figure 3 illustration of data and consistency terms defined based on corner and edge likelihood maps, 1st Para. of Col. 1 of Page 2664 of CHEN; See also Col. 2 of Page 2664 and Col. 2 of Page 2666 of CHEN).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the corner/edge authenticity determination in the room scanning-to-floorplan application of TANG as modified by TIWARI [to arrive at the claimed features] with the edge/corner likelihood models of CHEN for the purpose of producing more accurate floorplan (1st full Para. of Col. 2 of Page 2668 of CHEN).
Regarding claim 3, TANG as modified by TIWARI and CHEN teaches the method of claim 1 (as shown above), further comprising: identifying, in the three-dimensional polygonal mesh representation, a second room (user repeats the step of capturing dimensions of a 360 degree image in at least one additional room (e.g., room B) of the building, Para. [0101] of TIWARI; See also the repeated step: “step provides an initial set of vertices, (dfloor, θ), for a polygon representation of the room geometry in two dimensions (2D), Para. [0100] of TIWARI); identifying, in the three-dimensional polygonal mesh representation, a second wall in the second room (characteristics of the semantically rich building floor plan and/or the captured image can be mapped to a computer database to determine information about the building, such as the type of window, wall and/or door, Para. [0169] of TIWARI); and determining that the second wall in the second room and the first wall in the first room are a shared wall (user indicates 302 how the rooms are connected to create the floor plan of the building … for example, the user can indicate which adjacent walls are shared between the first and second rooms … alternately, adjacent rooms can be determined by using the compass readings associated with room corner, Para. [0101] of TIWARI).
Regarding claim 5, TANG as modified by TIWARI and CHEN teaches the method of claim 1 (as shown above), wherein determining the authenticity of the element indicated in the three-dimensional polygonal mesh representation further comprises executing a simulation procedure (each semantic label includes a confidence value … (e.g., 0.9 to represent a 90% confidence the semantic label has classified the particular data point correctly), Para. [0102] of TANG; See also a floorplan creation process identifies wall structures (e.g., wall edges) based on a 2D representation that encodes 3D semantic data in multiple layers, Para. [0010] of TANG; See also FIGS. 1-12B of TANG and corresponding description, including discussion of corners; See also simulation techniques in TIWARI (e.g., Para. [0188] of TIWARI)).
Regarding claim 6, TANG as modified by TIWARI and CHEN teaches the method of claim 1 (as shown above), wherein determining the authenticity of the element indicated in the three-dimensional polygonal mesh representation further comprises executing at least one of (“at least one of” is interpreted as requiring only one of the following:) a learning procedure, an artificial intelligence procedure, or an augmented intelligence procedure (semantic unit 430 uses a machine learning model, where a semantic segmentation model may be configured to identify semantic labels for pixels or voxels of image data … in some implementations, the machine learning model is a neural network (e.g., an artificial neural network), decision tree, support vector machine, Bayesian network, or the like, Para. [0101] of TANG).
Regarding claim 14, TANG discloses a system (abstract: devices, systems, and methods that generate floorplans and measurements using a three-dimensional (3D) representation of a physical environment generated based on sensor data) comprising: a floorplan generating device (abstract: devices, systems, and methods that generate floorplans and measurements using a three-dimensional (3D) representation of a physical environment generated based on sensor data) comprising: a first memory (non-transitory memory, Para. [0043] of TANG) that stores computer-executable instructions (the one or more programs are stored in the non-transitory memory … programs include instructions, Para. [0043] of TANG); and a first processor configured to execute the computer-executable instructions stored in the first memory (a device includes one or more processors, a non-transitory memory, and one or more programs; the one or more programs are stored in the non-transitory memory and configured to be executed by the one or more processors and the one or more programs include instructions for performing or causing performance of any of the methods described herein, Para. [0043] of TANG) to at least: generate, from one or more images, a three-dimensional polygonal mesh representation ([a point cloud representation corresponds to a three-dimensional polygonal mesh representation per Para. [0080] of Applicant’s specification]; See TANG teaches “3D point cloud may be generated based on depth camera information received concurrently with the images”, Para. [0013] of TANG; See also a 3D reconstructed mesh may be generated as the semantic 3D representation 445, Para. [0102] of TANG) of a room (the images are of a room of a physical environment, Para. [0012]; [a room of a physical environment is interpreted as corresponding to a functional unit (at least a portion) of a building, or it is at least obvious that a room is a portion of a building (see TIWARI below)]); See also FIGS. 1-12B of TANG and corresponding description); convert the three-dimensional polygonal mesh representation to a rendering (TANG teaches generate floorplans and measurements using three-dimensional (3D) representations of a physical environment … the 3D representations of the physical environment may be generated based on sensor data, such as image and depth sensor data, Para. [0006] of TANG); identify, in the three-dimensional polygonal mesh representation (e.g., point cloud representation), a first room (3D semantic data may be segmented into a plurality of horizontal layers that are used to identify where the wall edges of the room are located, Para. [0010] of TANG; See also 3D semantic point cloud can then be used to determine specific measurements of the door or window, Para. [0011] of TANG; See also FIGS. 1-12B of TANG and corresponding description); determine an authenticity of an element indicated in the three-dimensional polygonal mesh representation corresponding to the first room, the element corresponding to one of an edge or a corner of the first room (Para. [0146] of TANG, which is discussed more in immediate next claim limitation mapping, includes determining, based on a height threshold, whether a semantically identified wall is a floor to ceiling wall or a cubicle wall; [the floor to ceiling wall is interpreted as corresponding to a “real” or “authentic” room wall, whereas the cubical wall is interpreted as not corresponding to a real/authentic room wall]; See also each semantic label includes a confidence value … (e.g., 0.9 to represent a 90% confidence the semantic label has classified the particular data point correctly), Para. [0102] of TANG; [confidence is interpreted as corresponding to likelihood]; [Examiner’s interpretation is that each of the height threshold and confidence value can be interpreted to correspond to realness/authenticity values]; See also FIGS. 1-12B of TANG and corresponding description), wherein to determine the authenticity comprises to determine, for each pixel of the one or more images (identify semantic labels for pixels of image data, Para. [0101] of TANG), a likelihood of being a part of a corner by simulating a corner likelihood function (each semantic label includes a confidence value … (e.g., 0.9 to represent a 90% confidence the semantic label has classified the particular data point correctly), Para. [0102] of TANG; [a confidence is interpreted as corresponding to a likelihood]; classifying corners and small walls based on the 3D representation using a more computationally intensive neural network, generating a transitional 2D floorplan based on the classified corners and small walls, determining refinements for the transitional 2D floorplan using a standardization algorithm, and generating the final 2D floorplan of the physical environment based on the determined refinements for the transitional 2D floorplan, Para. [0109] of TANG; See also neural network 822 generates an initial edge map 823 of the identified walls, and classifies corners 824 a-824 g (herein referred to as corners 824) … the edge map 823 is then refined by the line fitting unit 826 using a line fitting algorithm to generate a line fitted edge map 827 … the line fitted edge map 827 is then further refined by the small walls neural network 828 which further classifies and distinguishes each corner to generate a refined edge map 829 … for example, corner 824 a and 824 e was initially identified as a standard corner by the acquired data, but the small walls neural network 828 is trained to identify corners that may actually be a pillar or an indented corner such that a finalized floorplan should reflect for accuracy and completeness, Para. [0130] of TANG) and a likelihood of being a part of an edge by simulating an edge likelihood function (each semantic label includes a confidence value … (e.g., 0.9 to represent a 90% confidence the semantic label has classified the particular data point correctly), Para. [0102] of TANG; [a confidence is interpreted as corresponding to a likelihood]; See also a floorplan creation process identifies wall structures (e.g., wall edges) based on a 2D representation that encodes 3D semantic data in multiple layers, Paras. [0010] & [0104] of TANG; See also FIGS. 1-12B of TANG and corresponding description, including discussion of corners); one of include a structure or exclude the structure in the rendering of the first room, based on the authenticity of the element indicated in the three-dimensional polygonal mesh representation (generate 2D representations (e.g., 2D semantic layer 1026) for each 3D semantic layer … generate a height map of the 2D semantic layers … the 2D semantic height map 1028 can be used to determine whether a semantically identified wall is a floor-to-ceiling wall that should be included in the floorplan, or if the semantically identified wall does not reach the height of the ceiling (e.g., a cubicle wall) based on an identified height threshold in comparison to the identified height of the ceiling, then the system (e.g., floorplan unit 1010) can determine to not include that particular wall in the edge map and associated floorplan, Para. [0146] of TANG; See also corner 824 a and 824 e was initially identified as a standard corner by the acquired data, but the small walls neural network 828 is trained to identify corners that may actually be a pillar or an indented corner such that a finalized floorplan should reflect for accuracy and completeness … corner 824 d may actually be an open passthrough to an adjacent room, and not a wall as initially indicated by the edge map … the refined edge map 829 is then sent to the floorplan finalization unit 850, Para. [0130] of TANG; See also FIGS. 1-12B of TANG and corresponding description); and produce a reconstructed floorplan based on the rendering (display a 2D floorplan of a physical environment based on a 3D representation (e.g., a 3D point cloud, a 3D mesh reconstruction, a semantic 3D point cloud, etc.) of the physical environment using one or more of the techniques disclosed herein, Para. [0074] of TANG; See also display 620 that includes the preview 2D floorplan 630, which includes edge map walls 632a, 632b, 632c (e.g., representing walls 134, 130, 132, respectively), boundary 634 a (e.g., representing door 150), boundary 634 b (e.g., representing window 152), bounding box 636 a (e.g., representing table 142), and bounding box 636 b (e.g., representing chair 140), Para. [0115] of TANG).
TANG does not appear to explicitly disclose that the “room” is “of a first building”. However, TIWARI is in the field of processing of images of rooms of a floor plan (Para. [0010] of TIWARI) and teaches that a room is at least a portion of a building and generate a three-dimensional polygonal mesh representation of at least a portion of a first building (user repeats the step of capturing dimensions of a 360 degree image in at least one additional room (e.g., room B) of the building, Para. [0101] of TIWARI; See also the repeated step: “step provides an initial set of vertices, (dfloor, θ), for a polygon representation of the room geometry in two dimensions (2D), Para. [0100] of TIWARI; See also processing of interior building images for each room of the floor plan, Para. [0010] of TIWARI; See also FIGS. 1-8F of TIWARI and corresponding description).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the room scanning-to-floorplan application of TANG with the multiple room scanning/floorplan application of TIWARI [to arrive at the claimed features] for the purpose of optimally placing security sensors/components within a building (Paras. [0004]-[0010] of TIWARI: Para. [0004]: “maximize the probability of detecting the entry of an intruder into a room or to minimize the time taken to detect an intrusion”, Para. [0011]: “optimal placement for each room is achieved … based on connectivity between rooms”).
TANG as modified by TIWARI arguably does explicitly disclose wherein to determine the authenticity comprises to determine, for each pixel of the one or more images, a likelihood of being a part of a corner by simulating a corner likelihood function and a likelihood of being a part of an edge by simulating an edge likelihood function.
However, CHEN is in the field of floorplan generation based on room scanning (Abstract of CHEN) and teaches wherein to determine the authenticity comprises to determine, for each pixel of the one or more images, a likelihood of being a part of a corner by simulating a corner likelihood function and a likelihood of being a part of an edge by simulating an edge likelihood function (the penalty of placing a corner at pixel p (see Fig.3a), and hence, summed over all the corner pixels C(Li) on Li … the penalty is defined as one minus the pixel-wise corner likelihood … we estimate the corner likelihood map from the input point-density/normal map using Dilated Residual Networks (DRN) … the penalty of placing an edge over a pixel … the term is defined as one minus the pixel-wise edge likelihood (see Fig. 3b), summed over all the edge pixels E(Li) along Li … we use Bresenham’s line algorithm to obtain edge pixels given corners … the same DRN estimates the edge likelihood from the input point-density/normal map, 2nd Para. of Col. 2 of Page 2663 of CHEN; See also Figure 3 illustration of data and consistency terms defined based on corner and edge likelihood maps, 1st Para. of Col. 1 of Page 2664 of CHEN; See also Col. 2 of Page 2664 and Col. 2 of Page 2666 of CHEN).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the corner/edge authenticity determination in the room scanning-to-floorplan application of TANG as modified by TIWARI [to arrive at the claimed features] with the edge/corner likelihood models of CHEN for the purpose of producing more accurate floorplan (1st full Para. of Col. 2 of Page 2668 of CHEN).
Regarding claim 16, TANG as modified by TIWARI and CHEN teaches the system of claim 14 (as shown above), wherein the floorplan generating device is one of a personal device or a cloud computer (the server 110 is a remote server located outside of the physical environment 105 (e.g., a cloud server, central server, etc.), Para. [0061] of TANG; See also the operating environment 100 includes a server 110 and a device 120 … in an exemplary implementation, the operating environment 100 does not include a server 110, and the methods described herein are performed on the device 120, Para. [0060] of TANG), and wherein the computer-executable instructions are included in a downloadable software application (the term “software” is meant to be synonymous with any code or program that can be in a processor of a host computer, regardless of whether the implementation is in hardware, firmware or as a software computer product available on a disc, a memory storage device, or for download from a remote machine, Para. [0084] of TIWARI).
Regarding claim 17, TANG as modified by TIWARI and CHEN teaches the system of claim 16 (as shown above), wherein the downloadable software application (the term “software” is meant to be synonymous with any code or program that can be in a processor of a host computer, regardless of whether the implementation is in hardware, firmware or as a software computer product available on a disc, a memory storage device, or for download from a remote machine, Para. [0084] of TIWARI; See also the applications are configured to manage the user experience, Paras. [0066]-[0067] of TANG, which is owned by Apple; [the smartphone applications in Apple’s TANG reference are interpreted as being downloadable]), when executed, implements at least one of (“at least one of” is interpreted as requiring only one of the following:) a simulation procedure, a learning procedure, an artificial intelligence procedure, or an augmented intelligence procedure (simulation techniques, Paras. [0188], [0227] & [0295] of TIWARI; See also machine learning model is a neural network (e.g., an artificial neural network), decision tree, support vector machine, Bayesian network, or the like, Para. [0101] of TANG).
Regarding claim 18, TANG as modified by TIWARI and CHEN teaches the system of claim 14 (as shown above), wherein the floorplan generating device is a cloud computer (the server 110 is a remote server located outside of the physical environment 105 (e.g., a cloud server, central server, etc.), Para. [0061] of TANG), and wherein the system further comprises: a personal device (an electronic device having a processor (e.g., a smart phone), Para. [0012] of TANG) comprising: a second memory that stores additional computer-executable instructions (FIG. 3 shows the device 120, which includes the memory 320, which stores the following programs, modules and data structures, or a subset thereof including an optional operating system 330 and one or more applications 340, Para. [0083] of TANG); and a second processor configured to execute the additional computer-executable instructions stored in the second memory (device 120 includes one or more processing units 302 (e.g., microprocessors), Para. [0079] pf TANG; See also FIG. 3 of TANG shows connection of processing units 302 and memory 320) to at least: capture a first image of the first room in the at least the portion of the first building (exemplary method first involves displaying, at an electronic device having a processor (e.g., a smart phone), a live camera image feed (e.g., live video) comprising a sequence of images of a physical environment … for example, as a user captures video while walking around a room to capture images of different parts of the room from multiple perspectives, these images are displayed live on a mobile device so that the user sees what he/she is capturing, Para. [0012] of TANG); capture a second image of a second room in the at least the portion of the first building (see sequence of images captured as discussed above with reference to Para. [0012] of TANG; See also provides a floorplan that includes 2D top-down view of a room(s) based on separately identifying wall structures (wall edges, door, & windows), Para. [0117] of TANG; See also user repeats the step of capturing dimensions of a 360 degree image in at least one additional room (e.g., room B) of the building, Para. [0101] of TIWARI); generate, based in part on the first image and the second image, the three-dimensional polygonal mesh representation (the repeated step: “step provides an initial set of vertices, (dfloor, θ), for a polygon representation of the room geometry in two dimensions (2D), Para. [0100] of TIWARI; See also processing of interior building images for each room of the floor plan, Para. [0010] of TWARI; See also FIGS. 1-8F of TIWARI and corresponding description; See also TANG teaches “3D point cloud may be generated based on depth camera information received concurrently with the images”, Para. [0013] of TANG; See also a 3D reconstructed mesh may be generated as the semantic 3D representation 445, Para. [0102] of TANG); and upload the three-dimensional polygonal mesh representation to the cloud computer (the server 110 is a remote server located outside of the physical environment 105 (e.g., a cloud server, central server, etc.), Para. [0061] of TANG; See also Para. [0061] of TANG; See also FIGS. 1-12B of TANG and corresponding description; See also server 114a along with the database may take the form of a web application hosted on a webserver or a cloud computing platform, located at a different location, which is accessible by various customer entities to perform different tasks across the three process stages, Para. [0089] of TIWARI), for generating a floorplan of the at least the portion of the first building (this feature is mapped/addressed in claim 14 above).
Regarding claim 19, TANG as modified by TIWARI and CHEN teaches the system of claim 14 (as shown above), wherein the structure is a wall of the first room (the floor-to-ceiling wall from Para. [0146] of TANG was interpreted as the authentic structure/wall in the mapping of claim 14 above) and wherein the first processor is further configured to execute the computer-executable instructions stored in the first memory to at least: identify a second room in the at least the portion of the first building based on evaluating the three-dimensional polygonal mesh representation (user repeats the step of capturing dimensions of a 360 degree image in at least one additional room (e.g., room B) of the building, Para. [0101] of TIWARI; See also the repeated step: “step provides an initial set of vertices, (dfloor, θ), for a polygon representation of the room geometry in two dimensions (2D), Para. [0100] of TIWARI; See also characteristics of the semantically rich building floor plan and/or the captured image can be mapped to a computer database to determine information about the building, such as the type of window, wall and/or door, Para. [0169] of TIWARI); and determine that the wall of the first room is a shared wall that is shared between the first room and the second room (user indicates 302 how the rooms are connected to create the floor plan of the building … for example, the user can indicate which adjacent walls are shared between the first and second rooms … alternately, adjacent rooms can be determined by using the compass readings associated with room corner, Para. [0101] of TIWARI).
Regarding claim 22, TANG as modified by TIWARI and CHEN teaches the method of claim 1 (as shown above), further comprising generating, based on the determining of the authenticity, a likelihood diagram that illustrates the likelihood of one of various corners or various edges present in a layout (each semantic label includes a confidence value. For example, a particular point may be labeled as an object (e.g., table), and the data point would include x,y,z coordinates and a confidence value as a decimal value (e.g., 0.9 to represent a 90% confidence the semantic label has classified the particular data point correctly). In some implementations, a 3D reconstructed mesh may be generated as the semantic 3D representation 445, Para. [0102] of TANG).
Regarding claim 24, TANG as modified by TIWARI and CHEN teaches the method of claim 1 (as shown above), wherein the corner likelihood model determines the likelihood of being part of a corner based on a distance between the pixel and a corner of a set of corners identified in the three-dimensional polygonal mesh representation, and the edge likelihood model determines the likelihood of being part of an edge based on a distance between the pixel and an edge of a set of edges identified in the three-dimensional polygonal mesh representation (formulation considers every pixel as a node of a graph, encodes objectives into edge weights, and finds the shortest path as a loop, 1st Para. of Section 5. “Sequential room-wise shortest path” of Col. 1 of Page 2664 of CHEN; See also the penalty of placing a corner at pixel p (see Fig.3a), and hence, summed over all the corner pixels C(Li) on Li … the penalty is defined as one minus the pixel-wise corner likelihood … we estimate the corner likelihood map from the input point-density/normal map using Dilated Residual Networks (DRN) … the penalty of placing an edge over a pixel … the term is defined as one minus the pixel-wise edge likelihood (see Fig. 3b), summed over all the edge pixels E(Li) along Li … we use Bresenham’s line algorithm to obtain edge pixels given corners … the same DRN estimates the edge likelihood from the input point-density/normal map, 2nd Para. of Col. 2 of Page 2663 of CHEN; See also Figure 3 illustration of data and consistency terms defined based on corner and edge likelihood maps, 1st Para. of Col. 1 of Page 2664 of CHEN; See also Col. 2 of Page 2664 and Col. 2 of Page 2666 of CHEN).
Claims 7 and 9-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over TANG et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0225090, hereinafter TANG), in view of SAMSON et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2015/0324940, hereinafter SAMSON), and further in view of CHEN et al. (Non-Patent Literature entitled: "Floor-SP: Inverse CAD for Floorplans by Sequential Room-wise Shortest Path").
Regarding claim 7, TANG discloses a method (abstract: devices, systems, and methods that generate floorplans and measurements using a three-dimensional (3D) representation of a physical environment generated based on sensor data) executed by a processor (a device includes one or more processors, a non-transitory memory, and one or more programs; the one or more programs are stored in the non-transitory memory and configured to be executed by the one or more processors and the one or more programs include instructions for performing or causing performance of any of the methods described herein, Para. [0043] of TANG), the method comprising: generating, based on one or more images, a three-dimensional polygonal mesh representation ([a point cloud representation corresponds to a three-dimensional polygonal mesh representation per Para. [0080] of Applicant’s specification]; See TANG teaches “3D point cloud may be generated based on depth camera information received concurrently with the images”, Para. [0013] of TANG; See also a 3D reconstructed mesh may be generated as the semantic 3D representation 445, Para. [0102] of TANG) of a room (the images are of a room of a physical environment, Para. [0012]; [a room of a physical environment is interpreted as corresponding to a functional unit (at least a portion) of a building, or it is at least obvious that a room is a portion of a building (see SAMSON below)]); See also FIGS. 1-12B of TANG and corresponding description); generating a reconstructed floorplan by operating upon the three-dimensional polygonal mesh representation (generating a final 2D floorplan of the physical environment based on the 3D representation, wherein generating the final 2D floorplan uses a different process than generating the live preview of the preliminary 2D floorplan … for example, the different process uses a more computationally intensive neural network with fine-tuning (e.g., corner correction), Para. [0109] of TANG); evaluating the three-dimensional polygonal mesh representation to determine ([Examiner notes that “to determine” is not positively recited and the “determine” limitation is not clearly required by the claim]) an authenticity of an element included in the three-dimensional polygonal mesh representation, the element corresponding to one of an edge or a corner of the first room (Para. [0146] of TANG, which is discussed more in immediate next claim limitation mapping, includes determining, based on a height threshold, whether a semantically identified wall is a floor to ceiling wall or a cubicle wall; [the floor to ceiling wall is interpreted as corresponding to a “real” or “authentic” room wall, whereas the cubical wall is interpreted as not corresponding to a real/authentic room wall]; See also each semantic label includes a confidence value … (e.g., 0.9 to represent a 90% confidence the semantic label has classified the particular data point correctly), Para. [0102] of TANG; [confidence is interpreted as corresponding to likelihood, which is a type of authenticity value per Applicant’s claim 5]; [Examiner’s interpretation is that each of the height threshold and confidence value can be interpreted to correspond to realness/authenticity values]; See also FIGS. 1-12B of TANG and corresponding description), wherein the evaluating comprises determining , for each pixel of the one or more images (identify semantic labels for pixels of image data, Para. [0101] of TANG), a likelihood of being a part of a corner by applying a corner likelihood model (each semantic label includes a confidence value … (e.g., 0.9 to represent a 90% confidence the semantic label has classified the particular data point correctly), Para. [0102] of TANG; [a confidence is interpreted as corresponding to a likelihood]; classifying corners and small walls based on the 3D representation using a more computationally intensive neural network, generating a transitional 2D floorplan based on the classified corners and small walls, determining refinements for the transitional 2D floorplan using a standardization algorithm, and generating the final 2D floorplan of the physical environment based on the determined refinements for the transitional 2D floorplan, Para. [0109] of TANG; See also neural network 822 generates an initial edge map 823 of the identified walls, and classifies corners 824 a-824 g (herein referred to as corners 824) … the edge map 823 is then refined by the line fitting unit 826 using a line fitting algorithm to generate a line fitted edge map 827 … the line fitted edge map 827 is then further refined by the small walls neural network 828 which further classifies and distinguishes each corner to generate a refined edge map 829 … for example, corner 824 a and 824 e was initially identified as a standard corner by the acquired data, but the small walls neural network 828 is trained to identify corners that may actually be a pillar or an indented corner such that a finalized floorplan should reflect for accuracy and completeness, Para. [0130] of TANG) and a likelihood of being a part of an edge by applying an edge likelihood model (each semantic label includes a confidence value … (e.g., 0.9 to represent a 90% confidence the semantic label has classified the particular data point correctly), Para. [0102] of TANG; [a confidence is interpreted as corresponding to a likelihood]; See also a floorplan creation process identifies wall structures (e.g., wall edges) based on a 2D representation that encodes 3D semantic data in multiple layers, Paras. [0010] & [0104] of TANG; See also FIGS. 1-12B of TANG and corresponding description, including discussion of corners); and excluding a structure in the reconstructed floorplan, based on determining a lack of authenticity of the element included in the three-dimensional polygonal mesh representation (generate 2D representations (e.g., 2D semantic layer 1026) for each 3D semantic layer … generate a height map of the 2D semantic layers … the 2D semantic height map 1028 can be used to determine whether a semantically identified wall is a floor-to-ceiling wall that should be included in the floorplan, or if the semantically identified wall does not reach the height of the ceiling (e.g., a cubicle wall) based on an identified height threshold in comparison to the identified height of the ceiling, then the system (e.g., floorplan unit 1010) can determine to not include that particular wall in the edge map and associated floorplan, Para. [0146] of TANG; See also FIGS. 1-12B of TANG and corresponding description); refining the reconstructed floorplan (determining refinements for the transitional 2D floorplan using a standardization algorithm, Para. [0109] of TANG); and producing a rendered floorplan based on refining the reconstructed floorplan (display a 2D floorplan of a physical environment based on a 3D representation (e.g., a 3D point cloud, a 3D mesh reconstruction, a semantic 3D point cloud, etc.) of the physical environment using one or more of the techniques disclosed herein, Para. [0074] of TANG; See also display 620 that includes the preview 2D floorplan 630, which includes edge map walls 632a, 632b, 632c (e.g., representing walls 134, 130, 132, respectively), boundary 634 a (e.g., representing door 150), boundary 634 b (e.g., representing window 152), bounding box 636 a (e.g., representing table 142), and bounding box 636 b (e.g., representing chair 140), Para. [0115] of TANG; See also generating the final 2D floorplan of the physical environment based on the determined refinements for the transitional 2D floorplan, Para. [0109] of TANG).
TANG does not appear to explicitly disclose that the “room” is “of a building” and does not explicitly disclose the refining comprising comparing the reconstructed floorplan to a reference floorplan of at least a portion of a second building. However, SAMSON is in the field of 3D floor/house plan design (Paras. [0002]-[0004] of SAMSON) and teaches that a room is at least a portion of a building/home (home specification includes number of rooms, Para. [0056] of SAMSON) and the refining comprising comparing the reconstructed floorplan to a reference floorplan of at least a portion of a second building (user can quickly select a different collection 404, home model list 408, and ultimately different home model 410 for view … based upon this displayed information, the user has quick access to a number of available home plans for comparison purposes … once a user has selected a desired home model to customize, the user can proceed by selecting a “Configure & Price” button 418, Para. [0056] of SAMSON; See also FIGS. 1-7B of SAMSON and corresponding description).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the room scanning-to-floorplan application of TANG with the floorplan comparison tool of SAMSON [to arrive at the claimed features] for the purpose of providing transparent pricing options of buildings/homes to an end user (Paras. [0003]-[0007] of SAMSON).
TANG as modified by TIWARI arguably does explicitly disclose wherein the evaluating comprises determining, for each pixel of the one or more images, a likelihood of being a part of a corner by applying a corner likelihood function and a likelihood of being a part of an edge by applying an edge likelihood function.
However, CHEN is in the field of floorplan generation based on room scanning (Abstract of CHEN) and teaches wherein the evaluating comprises determining, for each pixel of the one or more images, a likelihood of being a part of a corner by applying a corner likelihood function and a likelihood of being a part of an edge by applying an edge likelihood function (the penalty of placing a corner at pixel p (see Fig.3a), and hence, summed over all the corner pixels C(Li) on Li … the penalty is defined as one minus the pixel-wise corner likelihood … we estimate the corner likelihood map from the input point-density/normal map using Dilated Residual Networks (DRN) … the penalty of placing an edge over a pixel … the term is defined as one minus the pixel-wise edge likelihood (see Fig. 3b), summed over all the edge pixels E(Li) along Li … we use Bresenham’s line algorithm to obtain edge pixels given corners … the same DRN estimates the edge likelihood from the input point-density/normal map, 2nd Para. of Col. 2 of Page 2663 of CHEN; See also Figure 3 illustration of data and consistency terms defined based on corner and edge likelihood maps, 1st Para. of Col. 1 of Page 2664 of CHEN; See also Col. 2 of Page 2664 and Col. 2 of Page 2666 of CHEN).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the corner/edge authenticity determination in the room scanning-to-floorplan application of TANG as modified by TIWARI [to arrive at the claimed features] with the edge/corner likelihood models of CHEN for the purpose of producing more accurate floorplan (1st full Para. of Col. 2 of Page 2668 of CHEN).
Regarding claim 9, TANG as modified by SAMSON and CHEN teaches the method of claim 7 (as shown above), wherein refining the reconstructed floorplan comprises executing at least one of (“at least one of” is interpreted as requiring only one of the following:) a simulation procedure, a learning procedure, an artificial intelligence procedure, or an augmented intelligence procedure (machine learning model is a neural network (e.g., an artificial neural network), decision tree, support vector machine, Bayesian network, or the like, Para. [0101] of TANG; See also generating a final 2D floorplan of the physical environment based on the 3D representation, wherein generating the final 2D floorplan uses a different process than generating the live preview of the preliminary 2D floorplan … for example, the different process uses a more computationally intensive neural network with fine-tuning (e.g., corner correction), generating a transitional 2D floorplan based on the classified corners and small walls, determining refinements for the transitional 2D floorplan using a standardization algorithm, and generating the final 2D floorplan of the physical environment based on the determined refinements for the transitional 2D floorplan, Para. [0109] of TANG).
Regarding claim 10, TANG as modified by SAMSON and CHEN teaches the method of claim 7 (as shown above), wherein refining the reconstructed floorplan further comprises: executing a manual interactive procedure that includes at least one of (“at least one of” is interpreted as requiring only one of the following:) eliminating an object present in the reconstructed floorplan, modifying a first measurement in the reconstructed floorplan, and introducing a second measurement into the reconstructed floorplan (the central or primary display 326A could show a virtual real-time 3D model and/or 2D floor plan of the house being designed by the customer, while the flanking left and right displays 326B, 326C could show different customizable/swappable options and associated prices, dimensions, etc., Para. [0049] of SAMSON; See also FIGS. 1-7B of SAMSON and corresponding description).
Regarding claim 12, TANG as modified by SAMSON and CHEN teaches the method of claim 7 (as shown above), wherein the element included in the three-dimensional polygonal mesh representation is one of an edge or a corner, and wherein the structure is a first wall in a first room (providing the floorplan further includes generating the edge map by identifying walls in the physical environment based on the 2D semantic data for multiple horizontal layers, updating the edge map by identifying wall attributes (e.g., doors and windows) in the physical environment based on the 3D semantic data, updating the edge map by identifying objects in the physical environment based on the 3D semantic data, and generating the floorplan based on the updated edge map that includes the identified walls, identified wall attributes, and identified objects, Para. [0030] of TANG; See also “wall edges”, “wall structures” and boundary/“boundaries of a wall attribute”, Paras. [0104], [0107], [0117], [0148], [0150], [0152] & [0154] of TANG; [Examiner is interpreting edges/lines/boundaries of a 2D floorplan to correspond to a wall, e.g., of a room in a building]), and wherein the structure is a first wall in a first room (the floor-to-ceiling wall from Para. [0146] of TANG was interpreted as the authentic structure/wall in the mapping of claim 1 above).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over TANG et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0225090, hereinafter TANG), in view of SAMSON et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2015/0324940, hereinafter SAMSON), and further in view of CHEN et al. (Non-Patent Literature entitled: "Floor-SP: Inverse CAD for Floorplans by Sequential Room-wise Shortest Path") and TIWARI et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0121571, hereinafter TIWARI).
Regarding claim 13, TANG as modified by SAMSON and CHEN teaches the method of claim 12 (as shown above) but appears to fail to explicitly disclose evaluating the three-dimensional polygonal mesh representation to identify a second room in the at least the portion of the first building; identifying a second wall in the second room; and determining that the second wall in the second room is same as the first wall in the first room.
However, TIWARI is in the field of processing of images of rooms of a floor plan (Para. [0010] of TIWARI) and teaches evaluating the three-dimensional polygonal mesh representation to identify a second room in the at least the portion of the first building (user repeats the step of capturing dimensions of a 360 degree image in at least one additional room (e.g., room B) of the building, Para. [0101] of TIWARI; See also the repeated step: “step provides an initial set of vertices, (dfloor, θ), for a polygon representation of the room geometry in two dimensions (2D), Para. [0100] of TIWARI); identifying a second wall in the second room (characteristics of the semantically rich building floor plan and/or the captured image can be mapped to a computer database to determine information about the building, such as the type of window, wall and/or door, Para. [0169] of TIWARI); and determining that the second wall in the second room is same as the first wall in the first room (user indicates 302 how the rooms are connected to create the floor plan of the building … for example, the user can indicate which adjacent walls are shared between the first and second rooms … alternately, adjacent rooms can be determined by using the compass readings associated with room corner, Para. [0101] of TIWARI).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the room scanning-to-floorplan application of TANG (as modified by SAMSON and CHEN) with the multiple room scanning/floorplan application of TIWARI [to arrive at the claimed features] for the purpose of optimally placing security sensors/components within a building (Paras. [0004]-[0010] of TIWARI: Para. [0004]: “maximize the probability of detecting the entry of an intruder into a room or to minimize the time taken to detect an intrusion”, Para. [0011]: “optimal placement for each room is achieved … based on connectivity between rooms”).
Claims 15 and 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over TANG et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0225090, hereinafter TANG), in view of TIWARI et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0121571, hereinafter TIWARI), and further in view of CHEN et al. (Non-Patent Literature entitled: "Floor-SP: Inverse CAD for Floorplans by Sequential Room-wise Shortest Path") and PHALAK (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0279950, hereinafter PHALAK).
Regarding claim 15, TANG as modified by TIWARI and CHEN teaches the system of claim 14 (as shown above), wherein the at least the portion of the first building is a floor of one of a single-story building or a multi-storied building (number of floors, Para. [0096] of TIWARI; [a number of floors is interpreted as corresponding to the first building including a floor of one of a single-story building or a multi-storied building]) but appears to fail to explicitly disclose wherein the three-dimensional polygonal mesh representation comprises a Manhattan style configuration and a non-Manhattan style configuration.
PHALAK, however, is in the field of room layout or floorplan estimation from an image (Para. [0005] of PHALAK) and teaches wherein the three-dimensional polygonal mesh representation (generate a 3D point cloud with two room labels and a wall label for each point, Para. [0177] of PHALAK) comprises a Manhattan style configuration and a non-Manhattan style configuration (Manhattan-style room shapes, Para. [0156] of PHALAK; See also non-Manhattan layouts, Para. [0170] of PHALAK).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the room scanning-to-floorplan application of TANG (as modified by TIWARI and CHEN) with the Manhattan style configuration of PHALAK [to arrive at the claimed features] for the purpose of efficiently generating a floorplan from scans of indoor scenes (Para. [0014] of PHALAK).
Regarding claim 21, TANG as modified by TIWARI and CHEN teaches the method of claim 1 (as shown above) but appears to fail to explicitly disclose wherein: the one or more images are captured by an electronic device, the electronic device comprising a camera and a LiDAR device, and the pixels of the one or more images include metadata associated with parameters comprising distance metadata, wherein the distance metadata is generated by the LiDAR device.
PHALAK, however, is in the field of room layout or floorplan estimation from an image (Para. [0005] of PHALAK) and teaches wherein: the one or more images are captured by an electronic device, the electronic device comprising a camera and a LiDAR device, and the pixels of the one or more images include metadata associated with parameters comprising distance metadata, wherein the distance metadata is generated by the LiDAR device (as LIDAR scanners and depth cameras become more affordable and widely used for robotics applications, 3D-videos became readily-available sources of input for robotics systems or AR/VR applications, Para. [0279] of PHALAK).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the room scanning-to-floorplan application of TANG (as modified by TIWARI and CHEN) with the Manhattan style configuration of PHALAK [to arrive at the claimed features] for the purpose of efficiently generating a floorplan from scans of indoor scenes (Para. [0014] of PHALAK).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over TANG et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0225090, hereinafter TANG), in view of TIWARI et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0121571, hereinafter TIWARI), and further in view of CHEN et al. (Non-Patent Literature entitled: "Floor-SP: Inverse CAD for Floorplans by Sequential Room-wise Shortest Path") and MOULON et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0125397, hereinafter MOULON).
Regarding claim 20, TANG as modified by TIWARI and CHEN teaches the system of claim 14 (as shown above), wherein the structure is a wall of the first room (the floor-to-ceiling wall from Para. [0146] of TANG was interpreted as the authentic structure/wall in the mapping of claim 14 above) and wherein the first processor is further configured to execute the computer-executable instructions stored in the first memory to at least: determine the authenticity of the element indicated in the three-dimensional polygonal mesh representation (Para. [0146] of TANG, which is discussed more in immediate next claim limitation mapping, includes determining, based on a height threshold, whether a semantically identified wall is a floor to ceiling wall or a cubicle wall; [the floor to ceiling wall is interpreted as corresponding to a “real” or “authentic” room wall, whereas the cubical wall is interpreted as not corresponding to a real/authentic room wall]; See also each semantic label includes a confidence value … (e.g., 0.9 to represent a 90% confidence the semantic label has classified the particular data point correctly), Para. [0102] of TANG; [confidence is interpreted as corresponding to likelihood, which is a type of authenticity value per Applicant’s claim 5]; [Examiner’s interpretation is that each of the height threshold and confidence value can be interpreted to correspond to realness/authenticity values]; See also FIGS. 1-12B of TANG and corresponding description) but appears to fail to explicitly disclose determine the authenticity of the element indicated in the three-dimensional polygonal mesh representation based on comparing a reconstructed floorplan of the at least the portion of the first building to a reference floorplan of at least a portion of a second building.
However, MOULON is in the field of automatically generating mapping information from video (Para. [0002] of MOULON) and teaches determine the authenticity of an element indicated in the three-dimensional polygonal mesh representation (generating a corresponding floor map for the building, Para. [0005] of MOULON; See also form hypotheses of likely wall locations, Para. [0013] of MOULON; Regarding three-dimensional polygonal mesh representation see 3D point cloud, Para. [0013] of MOULON) based on comparing a reconstructed floorplan of the at least the portion of the first building to a reference floorplan of at least a portion of a second building (FIG. 2N illustrates a modified floor map 230n that includes additional information of various types, Para. [0040]; [modified floor map is interpreted as corresponding to a reconstructed floorplan]; See also form hypotheses of likely wall locations …as part of doing so, machine learning techniques may be used in at least some embodiments to predict which aggregated plane/normal information corresponds to flat walls, such as based on prior training, Para. [0013] of MOULON; See also system provided by application 155 executing on one or more mobile visual data acquisition devices 185), such as with respect to one or more buildings or other structures, Para. [0020] of MOULON; [because the machine learning is applied to more than one building it is interpreted as corresponding to comparing the modified floorplan to a reference floorplan]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the room scanning-to-floorplan application of TANG as modified by TIWARI and CHEN with the scanning-to-floorplan application of MOULON [to arrive at the claimed features] for the purpose of automatically generating a floor map of a building from video captured in the building’s interior (Para. [0002] of MOULON).
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over TANG et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0225090), in view of TIWARI et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0121571), and further in view of CHEN et al. (Non-Patent Literature entitled: "Floor-SP: Inverse CAD for Floorplans by Sequential Room-wise Shortest Path") and LI et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0287430).
Regarding claim 23, TANG as modified by TIWARI and CHEN teaches the method of claim 1 (as shown above) and generating, based on the rendering, a top view mean normal rendering and a top view projection rendering of the first room of the first room (a floorplan includes a 2D top-down view of a room, Para. [0007] of TANG; [Applicant’s claim 4 indicates that a floorplan corresponds to a rendering (e.g., of a room)]; See also TANG teaches generate floorplans and measurements using three-dimensional (3D) representations of a physical environment … the 3D representations of the physical environment may be generated based on sensor data, such as image and depth sensor data, Para. [0006] of TANG; See also walls may be identified by generating 2D semantic data (e.g., in layers), using the 2D semantic data to generate an edge map using a neural network, and determining vector parameters to standardize the edge map in a 3D normalized plan, Para. [0021] of TANG; [a 3D normalized plan is interpreted as corresponding to a mean normal rendering/plan]; See also generating 2D representations (e.g., furniture icons or flat 2D bounding boxes) of the 3D bounding boxes, Para. [0018] of TANG; [generating 2D representations of the 3D bounding boxes is interpreted as corresponding to projecting because it transforms 3D coordinates into a 2D plane]) but appears to fail to explicitly disclose: comparing at least one of the top view mean normal rendering or the top view projection rendering of the first room to one or more template renderings; and determining, based on the comparing, an authenticity of an existence of the structure in the first room.
However, LI is in the field of reconstructing three-dimensional meshes of objects from two-dimensional images (Para. [0002] of LI) and teaches comparing at least one of the top view mean normal rendering or the top view projection rendering (similarity between an individual instance mesh and the exemplar mesh may be measured by computing the IoU between their rendered silhouettes, Para. [0143] of LI); and determining, based on the comparing, an authenticity of an existence of the structure in the first room (a subset of reconstructed meshes whose viewpoints roughly match may be selected … to do so, from the meshes reconstructed for all the training images, the instance with the most reliable reconstruction results, such as the instance whose rendered silhouette has the largest intersection over union (IoU) with its corresponding ground truth silhouette, may be chosen as an exemplar, Para. [0143] of LI).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the room scanning-to-floorplan application of TANG (as modified by TIWARI and CHEN) with the reliable reconstruction application of LI [to arrive at the claimed features] for the purpose of recovering 3D shapes, textures, and camera pose from a 2D image of an object (Para. [0003] of LI).
Conclusion
JOHN P. HOCKER
Examiner
Art Unit 2189
/JOHN P HOCKER/Examiner, Art Unit 2189
/REHANA PERVEEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2189