Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-5, 8, 10-12, 15, 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mishra et al (US PG Pub 2021/0397824), Provost et al (US PG Pub 2020/0075040) Picard “Affective Computing” and Bickman “Improving Mental Health Services: A 50-Year Journey from Randomized Experiments to Artificial Intelligence and Precision Mental Health”.
With respect to claim 1:
Mishra teaches:
A method, comprising:
Obtaining video sensor data from at least one senor associated with at least one user; (Paragraph [063], discloses retrieving videos)
Applying at least some of the video sensor data to a second machine learning model that analyzes a video sentiment of the at least one user to provide at least one video sentiment score indicating a sentiment of the at least one user based at least in part on the at least some of the video data; (Paragraph [082], discloses using a trained model to predict a sentiment score from the received video)
Applying the at least one audio sentiment score and the at least one video sentiment score to an ensemble machine learning model that determines an aggregate sentiment score of the at least one user based at least in part on the at least one audio sentiment score and the at least one video sentiment score; and (Paragraphs [116]-[119], disclose using a plurality of scores and aggregating them in an RNN to determine a facial prediction (aggregate score))
Initiating one or more automated remedial actions based at least in part on the aggregate sentiment score; wherein the method is performed by at least one processing device comprising a processor coupled to a memory. (Paragraph [060], discloses using the sentiment score to determine actions such as intention to commit fraud and therefore allow decision making based on that)
Mishra does not appear to explicitly disclose:
Obtaining audio sensor data;
Applying at least some of the audio sensor data to a first machine learning model that analyzes an audio sentiment of the at least one user to provide at least one audio sentiment score indicating a sentiment of the at least on user based at least in part on the at least some of the audio sensor data;
Wherein the ensemble machine learning model comprises a plurality of machine learning models to determine the aggregate sentiment score;
Wherein the one or more automated remedial actions comprise adjusting at least one parameter of a physical location associated with the at least one user to improve the aggregate sentiment score of the at least one user;
Provost teaches:
Obtaining audio sensor data; (Paragraph [019], discloses receiving audio data)
Applying at least some of the audio sensor data to a first machine learning model that analyzes an audio sentiment of the at least one user to provide at least one audio sentiment score indicating a sentiment of the at least on user based at least in part on the at least some of the audio sensor data; (Paragraph [06], discloses using a trained Machine Model to generate an emotion value from the trained audio)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the present application to implement a method that utilized the teachings of Mishra and the teachings of Provost, both in the same filed of invention. This would allow for more accurate emotion evaluation.
The combination of Mishra and Provost does not appear to explicitly disclose:
Wherein the ensemble machine learning model comprises a plurality of machine learning models to determine the aggregate sentiment score;
Wherein the one or more automated remedial actions comprise adjusting at least one parameter of a physical location associated with the at least one user to improve the aggregate sentiment score of the at least one user;
Picard teaches:
Wherein the one or more automated remedial actions comprise adjusting at least one parameter of a physical location associated with the at least one user to improve the aggregate sentiment score of the at least one user; (Section 4.4, discloses adjusting physical factors such as lighting based on affective states)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the present application to implement a method that utilized the teachings of Mishra in combination with Provost and the teachings of Picard, all in the same field of invention. This would allow for the creation of appropriate moods in buildings.
The combination of Mishra, Provost and Picard does not appear to explicitly disclose:
Wherein the ensemble machine learning model comprises a plurality of machine learning models to determine the aggregate sentiment score;
Brickman teaches:
Wherein the ensemble machine learning model comprises a plurality of machine learning models to determine the aggregate sentiment score; (Page 812, Left Column, Lines 14-21, discloses using an ensemble Machine Learning approach to determine treatment effectiveness based on parameters)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the present application to implement a method that utilized the teachings of Mishra in combination with Provost and the teachings of Picard and Brickman, all in the same field of invention. This would allow the use of ensemble learning models which bring more efficiency and accuracy to the field of affective computing as to make the calculation of Mishra’s aggregated score more efficient.
With respect to claim 3:
Mishra teaches:
Preprocessing at least some of one or more of the audio sensor data and the video sensor data to satisfy one or more data processing criteria of one or more of the first machine learning model and the second machine learning model. (Paragraph [089], discloses preprocessing the received data)
With respect to claim 4:
Mishra teaches:
The preprocessing comprises one or more of: (i) selecting a number of audio features to send to the first machine learning model and (ii) detecting one or more human faces in the video sensor data and cropping one or more image frames using the detected one or more human faces. (Paragraph [089], discloses pre-processing the video data to determine and extract expressions)
With respect to claim 5:
Picard teaches:
Wherein the one or more automated remedial actions comprise one or more of: generating a notification, adjusting a temperature of a workspace area associated with the at least on user, adjusting a lighting of the workspace area associated with the at least one user, adjusting one or more of a volume and a content of music presented in the workspace area associated with the at least one user, and adjusting one or more scents provided in the workspace area associated with the at least one user. (Section 4.4, discloses adjusting lighting with respect to one user)
Claims 8, 10-12, 15, 17 and 18 are rejected according to claims 1, 3-5.
Claims 2, 9 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mishra et al (US PG Pub 2021/0397824), Provost et al (US PG Pub 2020/0075040), Picard “Affective Computing”, Bickman “Improving Mental Health Services: A 50-Year Journey from Randomized Experiments to Artificial Intelligence and Precision Mental Health” and Huang et al (US PG Pub 2022/0004754).
With respect to claim 2:
The combination of Mishra, Provost, Picard and Bickman do not appear to explicitly disclose:
Providing an output of the ensemble model to at least one feedback agent that updates one or more of the first machine learning model and the second machine learning model.
Huang teaches:
Providing an output of the ensemble model to at least one feedback agent that updates one or more of the first machine learning model and the second machine learning model. (Paragraph 0054, "In embodiments, the programming instructions can instruct the at least one processor 507 to extract a sequence of historical image frames from each of the plurality of historical video clips, extract a stream of historical audio signals from each of the plurality of historical video clips and train the document identification model with the sequence of historical image frames and the stream of historical audio signals." Paragraph 0055, "In embodiments, the document identification model comprises a convolutional neural subnetwork and the programming instructions can instruct the at least one processor 507 to train the convolutional neural subnetwork with the sequence of historical image frames from each of the plurality of historical video clips." Paragraph 0056, "In embodiments, the document identification model comprises a recurrent neural subnetwork and the programming instructions can instruct the at least one processor 507 to train the recurrent neural subnetwork with the stream of historical audio signals from each of the plurality of historical video clips." Huang teaches that from the result of the identification score, the application will instruct one processor to extract historical image frames and historical audio signals to train the document identification model, which contains the two machine learning models. The processor is the feedback agent, and the document identification model is the model being updated. The model contains a recurrent neural subnetwork the train the recurrent neural subnetwork, thus training the models.)
Mishra, Provost, Picard, Bickman and Huang are analogous to the claimed invention because they are all in the same field of invention. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Mishra, Provost, Picard and Bickman to incorporate the teachings of Huang. This is because Huang teaches a more accurate way to determine the audio and video scores. Huang combines the audio and video scores into an ensemble model to output an aggregate sentiment score. Then, Huang uses that aggregate score to determine a remedial action.
Claims 9 and 16 are rejected according to claim 2.
Claims 6, 13 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mishra et al (US PG Pub 2021/0397824), Provost et al (US PG Pub 2020/0075040), Picard “Affective Computing”, Bickman “Improving Mental Health Services: A 50-Year Journey from Randomized Experiments to Artificial Intelligence and Precision Mental Health” and Sundaresan et al (US PG Pub 2019/0087712).
With respect to claim 6:
The combination of Mishra, Provost, Picard and Bickman do not appear to explicitly disclose:
One or more of the at least one audio sentiment score and the at least one video sentiment score comprises a score matrix indicating a probability score for each of a plurality of sentiment categories.
Sundaresan teaches:
One or more of the at least one audio sentiment score and the at least one video sentiment score comprises a score matrix indicating a probability score for each of a plurality of sentiment categories. (Paragraph 0027, "According to the present disclosure, multiple neural networks can analyze related data feeds to produce a score (i.e., an output). For example, a video feed can include images and audio. The video feed can be split into an image feed and an audio feed. One neural network can analyze the image feed to produce an image score. Another neural network can analyze the audio feed to produce an audio score." Paragraph 0047, "Scores 113, 123 can include one or more classification matrices. When the present disclosure refers to matrices, such matrices can be vectors (e.g., a matrix with a single column and/or a single row). A classification matrix can be an index of confidences, such as values representing probabilities. Each entry in the matrix can represent the NN's confidence in a certain outcome." Paragraph 0049, "First score 113 can be a matrix (e.g., a multi-dimensional vector) listing the confidence of each object in the first object set. Second score 123 can be a matrix listing the confidence of each object in the second object set." Sundaresan teaches that each neural network can produce an audio score and video score. These audio scores and video scores, which represent the probability of how confident they are, are then turned into matrices that also list their confidence levels).
Mishra, Provost, Picard, Bickman and Sundaresan are analogous to the claimed invention because they are all in the same field of invention. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Sundaresan to incorporate the teachings of the combination of Mishra, Provost, Picard and Bickman because this leads to a more accurate result when determining the remedial action.
Claims 13 and 19 are rejected according to claim 6.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7, 14 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/Mariela Reyes/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2142