This office action supersedes the office action mailed on 19DEC2025. A new period for response begins on the mailing date of this action.
DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Claims
The amendments and remarks filed on 10JUN2025 have been entered and considered.
Claims 1-22 are currently pending.
Claims 1, 7, & 17 have been amended.
No claims have been canceled.
No new matter has been added.
Claims 1-22 are under examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Pages 7-9 of the Remarks, filed 10JUN2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-22 under 35 U.S.C 102(a)(1) are not persuasive as they fail to comply with 37 CFR 1.111(b) because they amount to a general allegation that the claims define a patentable invention without specifically pointing out how the language of the claims patentably distinguishes them from the references.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Specifically, Claims 1 and 7 recite “prior to delivery of energy to the first treatment area” in lines 3 & 7 respectively. ¶0038 was cited by the applicant as providing support (see response dated 11/01/2024). However, that paragraph does not provide support for this language. Figure 5A is the closest representation to the claimed limitation, though nothing in that drawing precludes step 502 from being performed on an area already irradiated with energy. This is an iterative process and thus, to satisfy the claim as it is currently written, the area in which the map is generated cannot have had a treatment applied to it at any point in time. The specification does not provide any basis for this. Step 512 in Figure 5A shows that the map can be taken on areas already treated and would actually teach away from this claim limitation. Therefore, the limitation does not have support in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hofvander et al. (US Publication No. 20200383728; Previously Cited).
Regarding claim 1, Hofvander discloses an energy-based dermatological treatment system (Hofvander ¶0026 “The system can be used, for example, for photo-thermal ablation of sebaceous glands in a targeted fashion, where sebum is the chromophore embedded within the sebaceous gland, while sparing the epidermis and dermis surrounding the target sebaceous glands.”; ¶0032), comprising: a temperature sensor (Hofvander ¶0030 “Finally, temperature connection 166 is connected with a temperature sensor 206, which measures the temperature at the treatment area for feedback to controller”; Temperature sensor 206 from Figure 2) a processing module for receiving the first temperature measurement (Hofvander ¶043 “FIG. 5, an analysis protocol 500… Then a determination is made in a decision 516 whether enough data has been collected to fit the collected data into the pre-established correlation model. If the answer to decision 516 is no, then the process returns to step 512,”) and generating a temperature map based on the first temperature measurement (Hofvander ¶0037 “A correlation model providing the correspondence between sebaceous gland temperature and skin surface temperature can then be used to tailor the actual treatment protocol using skin surface temperature measurements for effectively targeting sebaceous gland damage while staying below the damage threshold for the epidermis. The correlation model can be developed using, for example, an analytical heat transfer model, or by using clinical data (e.g., via biopsies) correlating skin surface temperature to sebaceous gland damage given the application of a specific treatment protocol.”; ¶0042); a control module for setting a parameter of a first treatment pulse based on the temperature map (Hofvander ¶0009 “The controller is configured for estimating a relationship between the parameters of the light source and the skin surface temperature at the treatment location”; ¶0028 “Controller 122 further controls other components within photo-treatment unit 120… controller 122 regulates the specific settings for the laser, such as the output power and pulse time settings.”; ¶0029; ¶0044); and an energy source for delivering the first treatment pulse to the first treatment area (Hofvander ¶0030 “Optical fiber delivery 164, from laser 124, is connected with a laser energy delivery unit 204, which includes optical components for delivering light energy for the photo-thermal treatment protocol to the treatment area.”; ¶0074), wherein the temperature sensor is a contactless temperature sensor. (Hofvander ¶0051 “The surface temperature of the skin can be measured using, for example, an infrared (IR) camera or other temperature measurement mechanisms. “; ¶0058 “Optionally, the skin surface temperature is measuring during the cooling down periods between the pulses. The measurement can be made, for example, by a 25 Hz refresh rate infrared camera.”; ¶0043); obtaining a first temperature measurement at a plurality of points associated with a first treatment area prior to delivery of energy to the first treatment area (Hofvander ¶0045 “Then, in a step 532, the process continues to measure the skin surface temperature at the treatment area. The measured skin surface temperatures are used to update the correlation model calculations in a step 534, and the laser parameters for the treatment protocol are updated based on the updated calculations in a step 536.”; ¶0052 “That is, in accordance with another embodiment, a system whereby temperature measurements of a skin surface during initial parts of a treatment for a specific location are used to predict future temperatures of the skin surface at this specific location”). Since Step 512 in Fig. 5A of the instant application shows that the map can be taken on areas already treated and would teach away from the current limitation “prior to delivery of energy to the first treatment area”, the limitation is being interpreted as a plurality of initial temperature measurements at a treatment area.
Regarding claim 2, Hofvander further discloses wherein the first treatment area includes a plurality of regions (Hofvander ¶0041 “The prediction process can be performed on a highly localized level, thus adjusting the treatment protocol on the fly or prior to the treatment commencement, even adjusting the protocol for each individual spot in a treatment matrix. In this way, the treatment protocol can be specified to provide the necessary treatment laser power while staying below the epidermis and dermis damage threshold temperature.”; ¶0054), and wherein control module is further configured for setting the parameter of the first treatment pulse for each of the plurality of regions in the first treatment area based on the temperature map (Hofvander ¶0009 “The controller is configured for estimating a relationship between the parameters of the light source and the skin surface temperature at the treatment location”; ¶0028 “Controller 122 further controls other components within photo-treatment unit 120… controller 122 regulates the specific settings for the laser, such as the output power and pulse time settings.”; ¶0029; ¶0044).
Regarding claim 3, Hofvander further discloses wherein the parameter includes at least one of pulse intensity, pulse duration, and a duty cycle (Hofvander ¶0056 “For instance, laser parameters such as the laser pulse duration, power, and pulse interval can be adjusted in order to deliver the appropriate amount of energy to the target chromophore while avoiding damage to the surrounding medium.”).
Regarding claim 4, Hofvander further discloses wherein the temperature sensor is further configured for obtaining a second temperature measurement associated with a second treatment area (Hofvander ¶0008 “n an embodiment, steps 1) through 4) are repeated at a second treatment location on the first subject prior to administering the treatment protocol at the second treatment location.”), wherein the processing module is further configured for generating an updated temperature map based on the first and second temperature measurements, wherein the control module is further configured for setting a parameter of a second treatment pulse based on the updated temperature map (Hofvander ¶0045 “Then, in a step 532, the process continues to measure the skin surface temperature at the treatment area. The measured skin surface temperatures are used to update the correlation model calculations in a step 534, and the laser parameters for the treatment protocol are updated based on the updated calculations in a step 536.”; ¶0050), and wherein the energy source further configured for delivering the second treatment pulse to the second treatment area. (Hofvander ¶0070 “The method of Item 1, wherein steps 1) through 4) are performed on a first subject for a first treatment area, then steps 1) through 4) are repeated on the first subject for a second treatment area”).
Regarding claim 5, Hofvander further discloses a cooling unit for convecting heat from the first treatment area. (Hofvander ¶0027 “Cooling unit 110 provides a cooling mechanism for a cooling effect, such as by contact or by direct air cooling, to treatment area, namely the outer skin layer area overlying the target sebaceous gland.”; ¶0031 “Following pre-cooling, the cooling mechanism (e.g., cold airstream or contact-cooling)”; ¶0053 “Additionally, if the photo-treatment system includes a sufficiently responsive cooling unit, the cooling applied to the treatment area is also adjustable as a part of the real time modification of treatment system parameters.”).
Regarding claim 6, Hofvander further discloses wherein the control module is operatively coupled with the cooling unit, (Hofvander ¶0027 “Cooling unit 110 is connected with a controller 122 within photo-treatment unit 120.”; ¶0028) and wherein the control module is further configured for setting an operating parameter of the cooling unit based on the temperature map. (Hofvander ¶0075 “…or by adjusting one or more parameters of the cooling system”; ¶0052; ¶0040 “the cooling is also adjustable as part of the real time modification of the treatment system parameters.”).
Regarding claim 7, Hofvander discloses a method for operating an energy-based dermatological treatment system including an energy source for delivering treatment pulses (Hofvander ¶0030 “Optical fiber delivery 164, from laser 124, is connected with a laser energy delivery unit 204, which includes optical components for delivering light energy for the photo-thermal treatment protocol to the treatment area.”; ¶0074), the method comprising: selecting a first treatment area prior to delivery of energy to the first treatment area (Hofvander ¶0007 “The method includes, prior to administering a treatment protocol to a first subject, 1) administering at least one laser pulse at a preset power level to a first treatment location, where the preset power level is below a known damage threshold. The method also includes 2) measuring a skin surface temperature at the first treatment location, following administration of the at least one laser pulse.”); generating a temperature map of the first treatment area based on the first temperature measurement (Hofvander ¶0037 “A correlation model providing the correspondence between sebaceous gland temperature and skin surface temperature can then be used to tailor the actual treatment protocol using skin surface temperature measurements for effectively targeting sebaceous gland damage while staying below the damage threshold for the epidermis. The correlation model can be developed using, for example, an analytical heat transfer model, or by using clinical data (e.g., via biopsies) correlating skin surface temperature to sebaceous gland damage given the application of a specific treatment protocol.”; ¶0042); setting a parameter of a first treatment pulse based on the temperature map (Hofvander ¶0009 “The controller is configured for estimating a relationship between the parameters of the light source and the skin surface temperature at the treatment location”; ¶0044 “analysis protocol 500 proceeds to fit the measured skin surface temperature data to the established correlation model in a step 518. Next, the appropriate laser parameters for the specific treatment area for the particular individual are determined in a step 520. Finally, in a step 522, the exact treatment protocol to be used for the specific treatment area for the particular individual is modified according to the appropriate laser parameters found in step 520”); and delivering the first treatment pulse to the first treatment area. (Hofvander ¶0030 “Optical fiber delivery 164, from laser 124, is connected with a laser energy delivery unit 204, which includes optical components for delivering light energy for the photo-thermal treatment protocol to the treatment area.”; ¶0074); obtaining a first temperature measurement at a plurality of points associated with a first treatment area prior to delivery of energy to the first treatment area (Hofvander ¶0045 “Then, in a step 532, the process continues to measure the skin surface temperature at the treatment area. The measured skin surface temperatures are used to update the correlation model calculations in a step 534, and the laser parameters for the treatment protocol are updated based on the updated calculations in a step 536.”; ¶0052 “That is, in accordance with another embodiment, a system whereby temperature measurements of a skin surface during initial parts of a treatment for a specific location are used to predict future temperatures of the skin surface at this specific location”). Since Step 512 in Fig. 5A of the instant application shows that the map can be taken on areas already treated and would teach away from the current limitation “prior to delivery of energy to the first treatment area”, the limitation is being interpreted as a plurality of initial temperature measurements at a treatment area.
Regarding claim 8, Hofvander further discloses wherein the parameter includes at least one of pulse intensity, pulse duration and a duty cycle (Hofvander ¶0056 “For instance, laser parameters such as the laser pulse duration, power, and pulse interval can be adjusted in order to deliver the appropriate amount of energy to the target chromophore while avoiding damage to the surrounding medium.”).
Regarding claim 9, Hofvander further discloses defining a lower threshold value for the parameter (Hofvander Abstract “administering at least one laser pulse from the light source at a preset power level to a location to be treated, the preset power level being below a known damage threshold”; ¶0037; ¶0043); and generating an alert when the parameter is set below the lower threshold value. (Hofvander ¶0050 “For instance, based on the known relationship between laser power and resulting skin surface temperature reached at a particular treatment location, a suggestion for adjusting the laser parameters, such as the laser power can be given to the dermatologist for manual adjustment, or the device can automatically adjust e.g. the laser power, for the next treatment location.”).
Regarding claim 10, Hofvander further discloses defining an upper threshold value for the parameter (Hofvander ¶0037 “In laser treatment of acne, the operating thermal range is generally bound on the upper end at the epidermis and dermis damage threshold temperature, and at the lower end by the temperature required to bring the sebaceous gland to its damage threshold temperature”); and generating an alert when the parameter is set above the upper threshold value. (Hofvander ¶0060 “For example, if the curve-fits predict the skin surface temperature will rise above a predetermined threshold temperature, such as 45? C., then the laser parameters are adjusted to reduce the laser power. In this case, the skin surface temperature measurements can indicate that the specific treatment area on the subject is particularly sensitive to laser pulse energy absorption.”; ¶0050).
Regarding claim 11, Hofvander further discloses obtaining a second temperature measurement associated with the first treatment area (Hofvander ¶0043 “Then a determination is made in a decision 516 whether enough data has been collected to fit the collected data into the pre-established correlation model. If the answer to decision 516 is no, then the process returns to step 512, at which a laser pulse at a different, low power setting is applied to the treatment area to gather additional correlation data between applied laser power and epidermis temperature.”); generating an updated temperature map of the first treatment area based on the first and second temperature measurements; adjusting a parameter of a second treatment pulse based on the updated temperature map; and delivering the second treatment pulse to the first treatment area. (Hofvander ¶0045 “Then, in a step 532, the process continues to measure the skin surface temperature at the treatment area. The measured skin surface temperatures are used to update the correlation model calculations in a step 534, and the laser parameters for the treatment protocol are updated based on the updated calculations in a step 536… If the answer to decision 538 is NO, then the analysis protocol returns to step 532 to continue measuring the skin surface temperature.”; ¶0050).
Regarding claim 12, Hofvander further discloses selecting a second treatment area (Hofvander ¶0075 “A system whereby temperature measurements of a skin surface taken during a treatment of an adjacent area, or areas, are used to predict future temperatures of the skin surface at this specific location.”); obtaining a second temperature measurement associated with the second treatment area (Hofvander ¶0008 “n an embodiment, steps 1) through 4) are repeated at a second treatment location on the first subject prior to administering the treatment protocol at the second treatment location.”); generating a second temperature map of the first and second treatment areas based on the first and second temperature measurements (Hofvander ¶0045 “Then, in a step 532, the process continues to measure the skin surface temperature at the treatment area. The measured skin surface temperatures are used to update the correlation model calculations in a step 534, and the laser parameters for the treatment protocol are updated based on the updated calculations in a step 536.”; ¶0050); adjusting a parameter of a second treatment pulse based on the second temperature map (Hofvander ¶0045 “Then, in a step 532, the process continues to measure the skin surface temperature at the treatment area. The measured skin surface temperatures are used to update the correlation model calculations in a step 534, and the laser parameters for the treatment protocol are updated based on the updated calculations in a step 536.”; ¶0050); and delivering the second treatment pulse to the second treatment area. (Hofvander ¶0070 “The method of Item 1, wherein steps 1) through 4) are performed on a first subject for a first treatment area, then steps 1) through 4) are repeated on the first subject for a second treatment area”).
Regarding claim 13, Hofvander further discloses wherein the first and second treatment pulses are delivered sequentially. (Hofvander ¶0031 “In one embodiment, pulses of a square, “flat-top” beam is used in combination with a scanner apparatus to sequentially apply a laser pulse to the treatment area.”).
Regarding claim 14, Hofvander further discloses wherein the first and second treatment pulses are delivered substantially simultaneously. (Hofvander ¶0031 “For example, the photo-treatment protocol can include the application of a set number of light pulses onto each segment of the treatment area, with the segments being sequentially illuminated by the laser pulses. In another embodiment, the segments are illuminated in a random order.”).
Regarding claim 15, Hofvander further discloses generating an alert when the first and second treatment areas overlap. (Hofvander ¶0060 “For example, if the curve-fits predict the skin surface temperature will rise above a predetermined threshold temperature, such as 45? C., then the laser parameters are adjusted to reduce the laser power. In this case, the skin surface temperature measurements can indicate that the specific treatment area on the subject is particularly sensitive to laser pulse energy absorption.”; ¶0075 showing that the adjustments can be suggested to avoid area overlaps as well; ¶0028).
Regarding claim 16, Hofvander further discloses wherein the energy-based dermatological treatment system further includes a cooling unit, the method further comprising cooling the first treatment area using the cooling unit. (Hofvander ¶0027 “Cooling unit 110 provides a cooling mechanism for a cooling effect, such as by contact or by direct air cooling, to treatment area, namely the outer skin layer area overlying the target sebaceous gland.”; ¶0031 “Following pre-cooling, the cooling mechanism (e.g., cold airstream or contact-cooling)”; ¶0053 “Additionally, if the photo-treatment system includes a sufficiently responsive cooling unit, the cooling applied to the treatment area is also adjustable as a part of the real time modification of treatment system parameters.”).
Regarding claim 17, Hofvander discloses a method for operating an energy-based dermatological treatment system including an energy source for delivering treatment pulses (Hofvander ¶0030 “Optical fiber delivery 164, from laser 124, is connected with a laser energy delivery unit 204, which includes optical components for delivering light energy for the photo-thermal treatment protocol to the treatment area.”; ¶0074), the method comprising: selecting a first treatment area (Hofvander ¶0069 “administering at least one laser pulse at a preset power level to a location to be treated”); delivering a first treatment pulse to the first treatment area (Hofvander ¶0030 “Optical fiber delivery 164, from laser 124, is connected with a laser energy delivery unit 204, which includes optical components for delivering light energy for the photo-thermal treatment protocol to the treatment area.”; ¶0074); generating a temperature map of the first treatment area based on the first temperature measurement (Hofvander ¶0037 “A correlation model providing the correspondence between sebaceous gland temperature and skin surface temperature can then be used to tailor the actual treatment protocol using skin surface temperature measurements for effectively targeting sebaceous gland damage while staying below the damage threshold for the epidermis. The correlation model can be developed using, for example, an analytical heat transfer model, or by using clinical data (e.g., via biopsies) correlating skin surface temperature to sebaceous gland damage given the application of a specific treatment protocol.”; ¶0042); and setting a parameter of a second treatment pulse based on the temperature map. (Hofvander ¶0009 “The controller is configured for estimating a relationship between the parameters of the light source and the skin surface temperature at the treatment location”; ¶0028 “Controller 122 further controls other components within photo-treatment unit 120… controller 122 regulates the specific settings for the laser, such as the output power and pulse time settings.”; ¶0029; ¶0044) wherein the first treatment area includes a plurality of regions (Hofvander ¶0041 “The prediction process can be performed on a highly localized level, thus adjusting the treatment protocol on the fly or prior to the treatment commencement, even adjusting the protocol for each individual spot in a treatment matrix. In this way, the treatment protocol can be specified to provide the necessary treatment laser power while staying below the epidermis and dermis damage threshold temperature.”; ¶0054), and wherein control module is further configured for setting the parameter of the first treatment pulse for each of the plurality of regions in the first treatment area based on the temperature map. (Hofvander ¶0009 “The controller is configured for estimating a relationship between the parameters of the light source and the skin surface temperature at the treatment location”; ¶0028 “Controller 122 further controls other components within photo-treatment unit 120… controller 122 regulates the specific settings for the laser, such as the output power and pulse time settings.”; ¶0029; ¶0044); obtaining a first temperature measurement at a plurality of points associated with a first treatment area prior to delivery of energy to the first treatment area (Hofvander ¶0045 “Then, in a step 532, the process continues to measure the skin surface temperature at the treatment area. The measured skin surface temperatures are used to update the correlation model calculations in a step 534, and the laser parameters for the treatment protocol are updated based on the updated calculations in a step 536.”; ¶0052 “That is, in accordance with another embodiment, a system whereby temperature measurements of a skin surface during initial parts of a treatment for a specific location are used to predict future temperatures of the skin surface at this specific location”).
Regarding claim 18, Hofvander further discloses wherein the energy-based dermatological treatment system further includes a cooling unit, the method further comprising cooling the first treatment area using the cooling unit prior to delivering the first treatment pulse. (Hofvander ¶0027 “Cooling unit 110 provides a cooling mechanism for a cooling effect, such as by contact or by direct air cooling, to treatment area, namely the outer skin layer area overlying the target sebaceous gland.”; ¶0031 “The cooling protocol can include, for example, the application of a cold airstream across the treatment area for a prescribed time period, such as 10 seconds. Following pre-cooling, the cooling mechanism (e.g., cold airstream or contact-cooling) remains active and a photo-treatment protocol is applied to the treatment area.”; ¶0053 “Additionally, if the photo-treatment system includes a sufficiently responsive cooling unit, the cooling applied to the treatment area is also adjustable as a part of the real time modification of treatment system parameters.”).
Regarding claim 19, Hofvander further discloses delivering the second treatment pulse to the first treatment area. (Hofvander ¶0043 “Then a determination is made in a decision 516 whether enough data has been collected to fit the collected data into the pre-established correlation model. If the answer to decision 516 is no, then the process returns to step 512, at which a laser pulse at a different, low power setting is applied to the treatment area to gather additional correlation data between applied laser power and epidermis temperature.”).
Regarding claim 20, Hofvander further discloses wherein the energy-based dermatological treatment system further includes a cooling unit, the method further comprising cooling the first treatment area using the cooling unit during delivery of the first and second treatment pulses. (Hofvander ¶0027 “Cooling unit 110 provides a cooling mechanism for a cooling effect, such as by contact or by direct air cooling, to treatment area, namely the outer skin layer area overlying the target sebaceous gland.”; ¶0031 “The cooling protocol can include, for example, the application of a cold airstream across the treatment area for a prescribed time period, such as 10 seconds. Following pre-cooling, the cooling mechanism (e.g., cold airstream or contact-cooling) remains active and a photo-treatment protocol is applied to the treatment area.”; ¶0053 “Additionally, if the photo-treatment system includes a sufficiently responsive cooling unit, the cooling applied to the treatment area is also adjustable as a part of the real time modification of treatment system parameters.”).
Regarding claim 21, Hofvander further discloses selecting a second treatment area adjacent to the first treatment area (Hofvander ¶0075 “A system whereby temperature measurements of a skin surface taken during a treatment of an adjacent area, or areas, are used to predict future temperatures of the skin surface at this specific location.”); and delivering the second treatment pulse to the second treatment area. (Hofvander ¶0070 “The method of Item 1, wherein steps 1) through 4) are performed on a first subject for a first treatment area, then steps 1) through 4) are repeated on the first subject for a second treatment area”).
Regarding claim 22, Hofvander further discloses wherein the energy-based dermatological treatment system further includes a cooling unit, the method further comprising cooling the first and second treatment areas using the cooling unit during delivery of the first and second treatment pulses. (Hofvander ¶0027 “Cooling unit 110 provides a cooling mechanism for a cooling effect, such as by contact or by direct air cooling, to treatment area, namely the outer skin layer area overlying the target sebaceous gland.”; ¶0031 “The cooling protocol can include, for example, the application of a cold airstream across the treatment area for a prescribed time period, such as 10 seconds. Following pre-cooling, the cooling mechanism (e.g., cold airstream or contact-cooling) remains active and a photo-treatment protocol is applied to the treatment area.”; ¶0053 “Additionally, if the photo-treatment system includes a sufficiently responsive cooling unit, the cooling applied to the treatment area is also adjustable as a part of the real time modification of treatment system parameters.”; ¶0008; ¶0070). Conclusion
/MEGAN T FEDORKY/Examiner, Art Unit 3796
/Jennifer Pitrak McDonald/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3796