DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 03/04/2026 and 08/03/2026 has/have been considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Claims 1-3, 6-10, 13-17, and 20-29 are currently pending. Applicant has amended claims 1, 8, and 15, cancelled claims 22-24, and submitted new claims 27-29.
Regarding applicant argument A. Pizzurro Does Not Teach or Suggest Any Determination of a Connection:
Applicant argues that Pizzuro does not teach the limitation “determine a first connection between the first battery and the DC power electronics module and a second connection between the second battery and the DC power electronics module”. Applicant cites the office action citation of Pizzuro ¶0058, arguing “bi-directionally communicating with an energy storage unit (Pizzurro) does not teach or suggest determining "a first connection that electrically couples the first battery with the DC power electronics module during a first charging session and a second connection that electrically couples the second battery with the DC power electronics module during a second charging session," as recited in amended claim 1”. Examiner disagrees with the applicant that “a communication pathway is not a determination of a connection that electrically couples a battery with the DC power electronics module during a charging session”, as a connection needs to exist to communicate between EVs 140 and master controller 110. Master controller 110 receives a communication signal from each terminal 130 when charging is requested, functioning as detecting the presence of an electric vehicle. Further Pizzuro ¶0077 discloses “method 600 begins each time an EV is detected as a result of one of the connectors 140a, 140b, 140c, 140d being plugged into an EV (step 610)”, thereby explicitly stating that the detection of an electric vehicle triggers the start of an action.
Regarding applicant argument B. Pizzurro Does Not Teach or Suggest Any Receipt of Information Stored by an Electric Vehicle:
Applicant argues “Pizzurro's bi-directional communication at most describes an exchange of data between a local controller and a vehicle control system, but does not link any exchange of data to a connection that electrically couples a battery with the DC power electronics module during a charging session”. Pizzurro’s master controller 110 bi-directionally communicates between energy storage 120, terminals 130, connectors 140 and each electric vehicle, indicating that data is able to be exchanged from the electric vehicle to master controller 110 and vice versa. This means that Pizzurro discloses a master controller which is capable of bidirectionally communicating data between master controller 110 and an electric vehicle, and thereby receiving information to indicate the previous operation of an electric vehicle which includes a distance traveled and identification of an operator associated with the previous operation of said electric vehicle. Examiner agrees with the applicant that Pizzurro does not explicitly teach “receiving data that was previously stored by the electric vehicle and further transmitted via the connection during a charging session”, but does have the necessary structure to support receiving data from the electric vehicle. The modifying reference, Galin et al (US 20210094427 A1), does disclose communicating historical use data from the EV107 to control device 213.
Galin ¶0079 discloses “Control device 213 may be configured to calculate and/or provide (e.g., via communication device 215) real-time data (such as data indicating current power status information and/or historical power status statistics) to a user”. Further Galin ¶0103 discloses “passing of data to IIEVC 102 of which user (Dad for example) and which EV 107 is near IIEVC 102 may establish activation and indication of a usage profile for IIEVC 102”, further detailing the charge and usage profiles in ¶0104 and ¶0106 discloses “charge profile may include the option to configure the charge profile by the user by use of GUI 400”. Galin FIGs 1A-1G depict IIEVC 102 to have controller 114 on-board, resulting in EV 107 communicating with controller 114 in a similar architecture to Pizzurro’s electric vehicle communicating with master controller 110. Therefor it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify Pizzurro to communicate the charge profile data and user profile data as taught by Galin between the electric vehicle and master controller 110.
Regarding applicant argument C. Galin Does Not Cure the Deficiencies of Pizzurro:
Applicant asserts “there is no discussion in Galin of distance data associated with historical times of use”. As cited in the prior Office Action dated 03/09/2026 and by the applicant, Galin ¶0103 discloses “passing of data may include the monitored state of charge (SOC) by the computer of EV 107 and actual distance and route travelled by the user” where emphasis has been added to the distance data associated with historical times of use. Applicant further argues “that a simple discussion of establishing that it may "be a working day for the user" (Galin, paragraph [0103])… does not teach or suggest first information that indicates "one or more first times of use associated with the previous operation of the first electric vehicle."”. The IIEVC102 can communicate with and receive data from EV 107 when the vehicle has been connected, thereby transmitting the “actual distance and route travelled by the user” as disclosed in ¶0103 would necessarily be transmitting the actual distance and route travelled during the previous operation of the EV 107.
Examiner respectfully disagrees with applicant argument regarding Galin that “a simple display of which user and which electric vehicle is located in the vicinity of a charger does not teach or suggest who actually operated the vehicle”. Galin ¶0102 states “A wireless connection between the computer of an EV 107 and IIEVC 102 may allow display of which user (“Dad”, for example) and which EV 107 is located in the vicinity of IIEVC 102 and/or may be connected to IIEVC 102”, where emphasis has been added to the portion of the sentence which indicates that the specific user profile “Dad” for the specific EV 107 are both within the vicinity of IIEVC 102. A person of ordinary skill in the art would understand that to be the identification of a user associated with the previous operation of EV 107.
Applicant further asserts “information is received from respective electric vehicles”, which examiner agrees that Galin does not teach a first information received from a first electric vehicle and a second information received from a second electric vehicle. Galin is a modifying reference for Pizzurro, and Pizzurro discloses a master controller 110 in communication with multiple electric vehicles, in contrast Galin teaches a single EV 107 in communication with controller 114 which is onboard IIEVC 102. Galin is used to modify the information passed between an EV 107 and the controller, and thereby can be applied to the plurality of EVs disclosed in Pizzurro. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to apply the charge profile data and user profile data as taught by Galin across the plurality of EVs in communication with master controller 110 as taught by Pizzurro.
Applicant's arguments filed 06/09/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 1, 6-8, 13-15, 20-21, and 25-29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The independent claim(s) 1, 8, and 15 disclose(s) the limitation “determine a first connection that electrically couples the first battery with the DC power electronics module during a first charging session and a second connection that electrically couples the second battery with the DC power electronics module during a second charging session”, wherein there is no written description in the specification for the term “charging session”.
Dependent Claims 6-7, 13-14, 20-21, and 25-29 are rejected as they inherit and fail to cure the deficiencies above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 6-8, 13-15, 20-21, 25-26, and 28-29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pizzurro et al (US 20210252991 A1) modified by Galin et al (US 20210094427 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Pizzurro teaches a direct current (DC) power electronics module comprising: an electronics component configured to provide DC power to a first battery of a first electric vehicle and a second battery of a second electric vehicle; (¶0058 “FIG. 1, an electric vehicle (EV) charging station… EV charging station 100 comprises a master controller 110, an energy storage unit 120, charging terminals 130a, 130b, 130c, 130d and connectors 140a, 140b, 140c, 140d”)
a processor configured to communicate with the electronics component; (¶0059 "master controller 110 in this embodiment is a programmed computer or other suitable processing device")
and non-transitory computer-readable media configured to store computer-executable instructions (¶0059 "[master controller 110] a processing unit comprising one or more processors, system memory (volatile and/or non-volatile memory), other non-removable or removable memory (e.g., a hard disk drive, RAM, ROM, EEPROM, CD-ROM, DVD, flash memory, etc.) and a system bus coupling the various computer components to the processing unit")
configured to cause the processor to: determine a first connection that electrically couples the first battery with the DC power electronics module during a first charging session (¶0077 “[FIG 6] method 600 begins each time an EV is detected as a result of one of the connectors 140a, 140b, 140c, 140d being plugged into an EV (step 610)”, ¶0082 “[FIG 6] EV is then charged at the selected rate of charge (step 650)”, as applied to the EV attached to terminal 130a via connector 140a)
and a second connection that electrically couples the second battery with the DC power electronics module during a second charging session; (¶0077 “[FIG 6] method 600 begins each time an EV is detected as a result of one of the connectors 140a, 140b, 140c, 140d being plugged into an EV (step 610)”, ¶0082 “[FIG 6] EV is then charged at the selected rate of charge (step 650)”, as applied to the EV attached to terminal 130b via connector 140b)
receive, from the first electric vehicle via the first connection that electrically couples the first battery with the DC power electronics module during the first charging session, (¶0075 “Connector 140a is shown in FIG. 5… connector 140a comprises two DC pins 502 electrically connected to the DC delivery module 400 of the charging terminal 130a. The connector comprises two communication pins 540 connected to the local controller 406. When connected to an EV, the connector 140a provides DC charging to the EV battery system (via DC pins 502) or AC charging to the EV on-board charger (via AC pins 500). The connector 140a enables bi-directional communication between the local controller 406 and the control system of the EV via communication pins 540”)
[first information stored by the first electric vehicle to indicate previous operation of the first electric vehicle which includes (i) a pattern of distances traveled by the first electric vehicle during one or more first times of use and (ii) identification of a first operator that operated the first electric vehicle during the one or more first times of use associated with the previous operation of the first electric vehicle;]
receive, from the second electric vehicle via the second connection that electrically couples the second battery with the DC power electronics module during the second charging session, (¶0075 “Connector 140a is shown in FIG. 5… connector 140a comprises two DC pins 502 electrically connected to the DC delivery module 400 of the charging terminal 130a. The connector comprises two communication pins 540 connected to the local controller 406. When connected to an EV, the connector 140a provides DC charging to the EV battery system (via DC pins 502) or AC charging to the EV on-board charger (via AC pins 500). The connector 140a enables bi-directional communication between the local controller 406 and the control system of the EV via communication pins 540”, as applied to connector 140b)
[second information stored by the second electric vehicle to indicate previous operation of the second electric vehicle which includes (a) a duration of use during one or more second times of use and (b)identification of a second operator that operated the second electric vehicle during the one or more second times of use associated with the previous operation of the second electric vehicle;]
[determine a subsequent operation to occur using the first electric vehicle and a distance associated with occurrence of the subsequent operation of the first electric vehicle;]
[determine, based at least on the first information, the second information, and the subsequent operation of the first electric vehicle, a first amount of DC power to allocate to the first battery and a second amount of DC power to allocate to the second battery;]
and allocate, [prior to performance of the subsequent operation of the first electric vehicle,] the first amount of DC power to the first battery and allocate the second amount of DC power to the second battery. (¶0083 "charging then continues until the EV has been charged to the U", the charging terminals 130a-130d have the same structure and would have individual local controllers 406 which are in communication with master controller 110, as applied to charging terminals 130a and 130b respectively)
Pizzurro ¶0058 discloses “energy storage unit 120 bi-directionally communicates with the master controller 110 and is electrically connected to each charging terminal 130a, 130b, 130c, 130d”, and ¶0074 further discloses “local controller 406 bi-directionally communicates with the master controller 110. When the connector 140a is connected to an EV, the local controller 406 bi-directionally communicates with the control system of the EV to exchange information and to communicate control signals”. Thereby Pizzurro’s master controller 110 bi-directionally communicates between energy storage 120 each electric vehicle connected to each charging terminal 130 via connector 140, indicating that data is able to be exchanged from the electric vehicle to master controller 110 and vice versa.
Pizzurro does not teach a first information stored by the first electric vehicle to indicate previous operation of the first electric vehicle which includes (i) a pattern of distances traveled by the first electric vehicle during one or more first times of use and (ii) identification of a first operator that operated the first electric vehicle during the one or more first times of use associated with the previous operation of the first electric vehicle; second information stored by the second electric vehicle to indicate previous operation of the second electric vehicle which includes (a) a duration of use during one or more second times of use and (b)identification of a second operator that operated the second electric vehicle during the one or more second times of use associated with the previous operation of the second electric vehicle; determine a subsequent operation to occur using the first electric vehicle and a distance associated with occurrence of the subsequent operation of the first electric vehicle; determine, based at least on the first information, the second information, and the subsequent operation of the first electric vehicle, a first amount of DC power to allocate to the first battery and a second amount of DC power to allocate to the second battery; [and allocate,] prior to performance of the subsequent operation of the first electric vehicle, [the first amount of DC power to the first battery and allocate the second amount of DC power to the second battery.]
Galin teaches a first information stored by the first electric vehicle to indicate previous operation of the first electric vehicle which includes (i) a pattern of distances traveled by the first electric vehicle during one or more first times of use (¶0103 “passing of data to IIEVC 102 of which user (Dad for example) and which EV 107 is near IIEVC 102 may establish activation and indication of a usage profile for IIEVC 102. The passing of data may include the monitored state of charge (SOC) by the computer of EV 107 and actual distance and route travelled by the user”)
and (ii) identification of a first operator that operated the first electric vehicle during the one or more first times of use associated with the previous operation of the first electric vehicle; (¶0103 “passing of data to IIEVC 102 of which user (Dad for example) and which EV 107 is near IIEVC 102 may establish activation and indication of a usage profile for IIEVC 102. The passing of data may include the monitored state of charge (SOC) by the computer of EV 107 and actual distance and route travelled by the user… a connection to a calendar of the user on their smart phone or some other remote internet connected calendar synchronized with the calendar of the user on their smart phone”)
second information stored by the second electric vehicle to indicate previous operation of the second electric vehicle which includes (a) a duration of use during one or more second times of use (¶0103 “passing of data to IIEVC 102 of which user (Dad for example) and which EV 107 is near IIEVC 102 may establish activation and indication of a usage profile for IIEVC 102. The passing of data may include the monitored state of charge (SOC) by the computer of EV 107 and actual distance and route travelled by the user”)
and (b) identification of a second operator that operated the second electric vehicle during the one or more second times of use associated with the previous operation of the second electric vehicle; (¶0103 “passing of data to IIEVC 102 of which user (Dad for example) and which EV 107 is near IIEVC 102 may establish activation and indication of a usage profile for IIEVC 102. The passing of data may include the monitored state of charge (SOC) by the computer of EV 107 and actual distance and route travelled by the user… a connection to a calendar of the user on their smart phone or some other remote internet connected calendar synchronized with the calendar of the user on their smart phone”)
determine a subsequent operation to occur using the first electric vehicle and a distance associated with occurrence of the subsequent operation of the first electric vehicle; (¶0103 "passing of data to IIEVC 102 of which user (Dad for example) and which EV 107 is near IIEVC 102 may establish activation and indication of a usage profile for IIEVC 102. The passing of data may include the monitored state of charge (SOC) by the computer of EV 107 and actual distance and route travelled by the user. Based on the time and date as displayed in area 410, it may be established that this may be a working day for the user… a charge profile may be established for EV 107 which may consider a range of parameters”)
determine, based at least on the first information, the second information, and the subsequent operation of the first electric vehicle, a first amount of DC power to allocate to the first battery and a second amount of DC power to allocate to the second battery; (¶0111 "Booking of a parking place having charging facilities may further include data transfer to the car park which indicates the storage device type, estimated time of arrival and departure, state of charge of the storage device 109 of EV 107 in order to provide the best charge profile for the storage of EV 107")
[and allocate,] prior to performance of the subsequent operation of the first electric vehicle, [the first amount of DC power to the first battery and allocate the second amount of DC power to the second battery.] (¶0104 "The charge profile may include a "start charge" and "charge before a certain time" criteria for the storage of EV 107")
Pizzurro’s master controller 110 bi-directionally communicates between energy storage 120 a plurality of electric vehicles connected to charging terminals 130a-130d via connectors 140a-140d, in contrast Galin teaches a single EV 107 in communication with controller 114 which is onboard IIEVC 102.
Therefor it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the DC power electronics module as taught by Pizzurro to apply the information stored by an electric vehicle to indicate previous operation of an electric vehicle which includes a pattern of distances traveled by the first electric vehicle during one or more first times of use and identification of an operator that operated the electric vehicle during the one or more first times of use associated with the previous operation of the electric vehicle as taught by Galin to each electric vehicle connected to terminals 130a and 130b via connectors 140a and 140b respectively. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to improve user experience by allowing them to schedule charging during lower- cost hours around user defined average use conditions.
Similarly for claim 8 as applied to a charging system comprising: a first connection device couplable to a first battery of a first electric vehicle; (Pizzurro ¶0058 "[FIG 1] EV charging station 100 comprises a master controller 110, an energy storage unit 120, charging terminals 130a, 130b, 130c, 130d and connectors 140a, 140b, 140c, 140d", connector 140a connected to a first electric vehicle)
a second connection device couplable to a second battery of a second electric vehicle. (Pizzurro ¶0058 "[FIG 1] EV charging station 100 comprises a master controller 110, an energy storage unit 120, charging terminals 130a, 130b, 130c, 130d and connectors 140a, 140b, 140c, 140d", connector 140b connected to a second electric vehicle)
Similarly for claim 15 as applied to a method (Pizzurro ¶0007 "the EV charging station 100 performs a method as outlined in FIG. 6").
Regarding claim 6, Pizzurro modified by Galin teaches the DC power electronics module of claim 1. Pizzurro modified by Galin further teaches wherein the first information or the second information further includes information chosen from date of use information and time of use information. (Galin ¶0103 “passing of data to IIEVC 102 of which user (Dad for example) and which EV 107 is near IIEVC 102 may establish activation and indication of a usage profile for IIEVC 102. The passing of data may include the monitored state of charge (SOC) by the computer of EV 107 and actual distance and route travelled by the user… a connection to a calendar of the user on their smart phone or some other remote internet connected calendar synchronized with the calendar of the user on their smart phone”)
Similarly for claim 13 as applied to a charging system, Pizzurro as modified by Galin teaches the DC power electronics module of claim 8.
Regarding claim 7, Pizzurro modified by Galin teaches the DC power electronics module of claim 1. Pizzurro modified by Galin further teaches wherein the first information or the second information further includes travel information. (Galin ¶0103 "The passing of data may include the monitored state of charge (SOC) by the computer of EV 107 and actual distance and route travelled by the user", Pizzurro FIG 4A depicts GUI 424 which depicts travel information; Pizzurro FIG 1 connector 140a connected to a first electric vehicle and connector 140b connected to a second electric vehicle)
Similarly for claim 14 as applied to a charging system, Pizzurro as modified by Galin teaches the DC power electronics module of claim 8.
Similarly for claim 20 as applied to a charging system, Pizzurro as modified by Galin teaches the DC power electronics module of claim 15
Regarding claim 21, Pizzurro modified by Galin teaches the DC power electronics module of claim 1. Pizzurro modified by Galin further teaches wherein the computer-executable instructions further cause the processor to: identify, responsive to receipt of the first information, the first operator associated with the previous operation of the first electric vehicle; (Galin ¶0103 "passing of data to IIEVC 102 of which user (Dad for example) and which EV 107 is near IIEVC 102 may establish activation and indication of a usage profile for IIEVC 102."; Pizzurro FIG 1 connector 140a connected to a first electric vehicle)
identify, responsive to receipt of the second information, the second operator associated with the previous operation of the second electric vehicle; (Galin ¶0103 "passing of data to IIEVC 102 of which user (Dad for example) and which EV 107 is near IIEVC 102 may establish activation and indication of a usage profile for IIEVC 102."; Pizzurro FIG 1 connector 140b connected to a second electric vehicle)
and determine, based on identification of the first operator and the second operator, the first amount of DC power to allocate to the first battery and the second amount of DC power to allocate to the second battery. (Galin ¶0103 "passing of data to IIEVC 102 of which user (Dad for example) and which EV 107 is near IIEVC 102 may establish activation and indication of a usage profile for IIEVC 102. The passing of data may include the monitored state of charge (SOC) by the computer of EV 107 and actual distance and route travelled by the user. Based on the time and date as displayed in area 410, it may be established that this may be a working day for the user. a charge profile may be established for EV 107 which may consider a range of parameters, various priorities and present status of the power system as discussed below")
Regarding claim 25, Pizzurro as modified by Galin teaches the DC power electronics module of claim 8. Pizzurro as modified by Galin wherein allocation of the first amount of DC power and allocation of the second amount of DC power includes the processor to: transmit, to the first connection device, one or more first signals to control operation of the first connection device in accordance with the allocation of the first amount of DC power to the first battery; (Pizzurro FIG 1 a first electric vehicle connected to energy storage 120 via terminal 130a to form EV charging station 100)
and transmit, to the second connection device, one or more second signals to control operation of the second connection device in accordance with the allocation of the second amount of DC power to the second battery. (Pizzurro FIG 1 a second electric vehicle connected to energy storage 120 via terminal 130b to form EV charging station 100)
Similarly for claim 26 as applied to a charging system, Pizzurro as modified by Galin teaches the DC power electronics module of claim 15.
Regarding claim 27, Pizzurro modified by Galin teaches the DC power electronics module of claim 1. Pizzurro modified by Galin further teaches wherein the first information is stored by circuitry of the first electric vehicle prior to the first connection that electrically couples the first battery with the DC power electronics module, (Pizzurro ¶0103 “passing of data to IIEVC 102 of which user (Dad for example) and which EV 107 is near IIEVC 102 may establish activation and indication of a usage profile for IIEVC 102. The passing of data may include the monitored state of charge (SOC) by the computer of EV 107 and actual distance and route travelled by the user”)
and wherein the first information is transmitted to the DC power electronics module via the first connection during the first charging session. (Pizzurro ¶0075 “Connector 140a is shown in FIG. 5… connector 140a comprises two DC pins 502 electrically connected to the DC delivery module 400 of the charging terminal 130a. The connector comprises two communication pins 540 connected to the local controller 406. When connected to an EV, the connector 140a provides DC charging to the EV battery system (via DC pins 502) or AC charging to the EV on-board charger (via AC pins 500)
Similarly for claim 28 as applied to a charging system, Pizzurro as modified by Galin teaches the DC power electronics module of claim 8.
Similarly for claim 29 as applied to a charging system, Pizzurro as modified by Galin teaches the DC power electronics module of claim 15
Prior Art Not Relied Upon
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure can be found in the attached PTO-892 Notice of References Cited by Examiner attached to this correspondence.
Sun et al (US 20230256858 A1), Sun has a priority date of 01/13/2020 corresponding to US application 16741712 corresponding to et al (US 10836274 B2), discloses a method and system for facilitating charging sessions for multiple electric vehicles which transfers information regarding the user and vehicle history to a main controller.
Zhu et al (US 20190389314 A1) discloses an adaptive method and system for charging multiple electric vehicles which transfers data between the electric vehicle and the charging station to determine a charging schedule.
Conclusion
/LISA KOTOWSKI/Examiner, Art Unit 2859
/JULIAN D HUFFMAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859