DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant has amended independent claims 1, 8, and 15 as well as dependent claims 6-7, 13-14, and 20-21, requesting rejoinder of withdrawn claims 2-3, 9-10, and 16-17. Applicant has further incorporated new claims 22-26. Applicant's request for rejoinder of withdrawn claims 2-3, 9-10, and 16-17 is not currently permissible due to the independent claims still being rejected on new grounds necessitated by amendment.
Regarding the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103 of claims 1, 6-8, 13-15, and 20-21 applicant argues that Logvinov, Gaspard-Boulinc, and Galin (alone or in any combination) do not recite the limitation:
“receive, via the first connection, first information to indicate previous operation of the first electric vehicle which includes a distance traveled by the first electric vehicle and identification of a first operator associated with the previous operation of the first
electric vehicle;
receive, via the second connection, second information to indicate previous operation of the second electric vehicle which includes a duration of use and identification of a second operator associated with the previous operation of the second electric vehicle; [and] determine a subsequent operation to occur using the first electric vehicle and a distance associated with occurrence of the subsequent
operation of the first electric vehicle.”
The amended portions, emphasized using an underline, of amended claim 1 narrow the scope of “a first information” and “a second information”. New grounds of rejection are presented herein, as necessitated by the amendment.
Applicant does not present arguments against the prior art of Logvinov et al (US 20200023747 A1) modified by Gaspard-Boulinc et al (US 20180188051 A1) and Galin et al (US 20210094427 A1) in the amendment and remarks filed 25 November 2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 6-8, 13-15, and 20-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pizzurro et al (US 20210252991 A1) modified by Galin et al (US 20210094427 A1)
Regarding claim 1, Pizzuro teaches a direct current (DC) power electronics module comprising: an electronics component configured to provide DC power to a first battery of a first electric vehicle and a second battery of a second electric vehicle; (¶0037 “FIG. 3, the DC output module 300 comprises a number of converters, which in this embodiment is four (4) converters 310a, 310b, 310c and 310d.”, ¶0038 “Each convertor 310a, 310b, 310c, 310d is electrically connected to a first end 316a, 316b, 316c, 316d of a DC output line 318a, 318b, 318c, 318d. A second end 320a, 320b, 320d, 320c of each DC output line 318a, 318b, 318c, 318d is connected to a respective charging terminal 130a, 130b, 130c, 130d”)
a processor configured to communicate with the electronics component; (¶0059 “master controller 110 in this embodiment is a programmed computer or other suitable processing device”)
and non-transitory computer-readable media configured to store computer-executable instructions (¶0059 “[master controller 110] a processing unit comprising one or more processors, system memory (volatile and/or non-volatile memory), other non-removable or removable memory (e.g., a hard disk drive, RAM, ROM, EEPROM, CD-ROM, DVD, flash memory, etc.) and a system bus coupling the various computer components to the processing unit”)
configured to cause the processor to: determine a first connection between the first battery and the DC power electronics module and a second connection between the second battery and the DC power electronics module; (¶0058 “The master controller 110 bi-directionally communicates with the energy storage unit 120 and each charging terminal 130a, 130b, 130c, 130d. The energy storage unit 120 bi-directionally communicates with the master controller 110 and is electrically connected to each charging terminal 130a, 130b, 130c, 130d”, FIG 3 depicts Energy Storage 120 of FIG 1 which is connected to electric vehicles 140a-140d; in order to communicate with master controller 110, it must be able to detect if the electric vehicles 130a-130d are connected to the DC output module 100)
receive, via the first connection (FIG 1 terminals 130a-130d, ¶0072 “Charging terminal 130a is shown in FIG. 4. As can be seen, charging terminal 130a comprises a DC delivery module 400, an AC delivery module 402 and a local controller 406”; ¶0074 “The local controller 406 bi-directionally communicates with the master controller 110”), first information to indicate previous operation of the first electric vehicle [which includes a distance traveled by the first electric vehicle and identification of a first operator associated with the previous operation of the first electric vehicle]; (¶0075 “ Connector 140a is shown in FIG. 5… The connector 140a enables bi-directional communication between the local controller 406 and the control system of the EV via communication pins 540”)
receive, via the second connection (FIG 1 terminals 130a-130d, ¶0072 “Charging terminal 130a is shown in FIG. 4. As can be seen, charging terminal 130a comprises a DC delivery module 400, an AC delivery module 402 and a local controller 406”; ¶0074 “The local controller 406 bi-directionally communicates with the master controller 110”), second information to indicate previous operation of the second electric vehicle [which includes a duration of use and identification of a second operator associated with the previous operation of the second electric vehicle]; (FIG 1 terminals 130a-130d, ¶0072 “Charging terminal 130a is shown in FIG. 4. As can be seen, charging terminal 130a comprises a DC delivery module 400, an AC delivery module 402 and a local controller 406”; ¶0074 “The local controller 406 bi-directionally communicates with the master controller 110”)
[determine a subsequent operation to occur using the first electric vehicle and a distance associated with occurrence of the subsequent operation of the first electric vehicle;
determine, based at least on the first information, the second information, and the subsequent operation of the first electric vehicle, a first amount of DC power to allocate to the first battery and a second amount of DC power to allocate to the second battery;]
and allocate, [prior to performance of the subsequent operation of the first electric vehicle,] the first amount of DC power to the first battery and allocate the second amount of DC power to the second battery. (¶0083 “charging then continues until the EV has been charged to the U”, the charging terminals 130a-130d have the same structure and would have individual local controllers 406 which are in communication with master controller 110)
Pizzurro does not teach [receive, via the first connection first electric vehicle] which includes a distance traveled by the first electric vehicle and identification of a first operator associated with the previous operation of the first electric vehicle; [receive, via the second connection,second information to indicate previous operation of the second electric vehicle] which includes a duration of use and identification of a second operator associated with the previous operation of the second electric vehicle; determine a subsequent operation to occur using the first electric vehicle and a distance associated with occurrence of the subsequent operation of the first electric vehicle; determine, based at least on the first information, the second information, and the subsequent operation of the first electric vehicle, a first amount of DC power to allocate to the first battery and a second amount of DC power to allocate to the second battery; [and allocate,] prior to performance of the subsequent operation of the first electric vehicle, [the first amount of DC power to the first battery and allocate the second amount of DC power to the second battery.]
Galin teaches [receive, via the first connection first electric vehicle] which includes a distance traveled by the first electric vehicle and identification of a first operator associated with the previous operation of the first electric vehicle; (¶0103 “The passing of data may include the monitored state of charge (SOC) by the computer of EV 107 and actual distance and route travelled by the user”; ¶0096 “FIG. 4A, which shows a graphical user interface (GUI) 400”, ¶0102 “[FIG 4A] Area 421, additionally, may show the user an estimated travelling distance (50 Km) based on the state of charge of the storage of EV 107”)
[receive, via the second connection, second information] to indicate previous operation of the second electric vehicle which includes a duration of use and identification of a second operator associated with the previous operation of the second electric vehicle; (¶0079 “ Control device 213 may be configured to calculate and/or provide (e.g., via communication device 215) real-time data (such as data indicating current power status information and/or historical power status statistics) to a user”, ¶0107 “the load demand history may be viewable via GUI 400”)
determine a subsequent operation to occur using the first electric vehicle and a distance associated with occurrence of the subsequent operation of the first electric vehicle; (¶0103 “passing of data to IIEVC 102 of which user (Dad for example) and which EV 107 is near IIEVC 102 may establish activation and indication of a usage profile for IIEVC 102. The passing of data may include the monitored state of charge (SOC) by the computer of EV 107 and actual distance and route travelled by the user. Based on the time and date as displayed in area 410, it may be established that this may be a working day for the user… a charge profile may be established for EV 107 which may consider a range of parameters, various priorities and present status of the power system as discussed below”)
determine, based at least on the first information, the second information, and the subsequent operation of the first electric vehicle, a first amount of DC power to allocate to the first battery and a second amount of DC power to allocate to the second battery; (¶0111 “Booking of a parking place having charging facilities may further include data transfer to the car park which indicates the storage device type, estimated time of arrival and departure, state of charge of the storage device 109 of EV 107 in order to provide the best charge profile for the storage of EV 107”)
[and allocate,] prior to performance of the subsequent operation of the first electric vehicle, (¶0104 “The charge profile may include a “start charge” and “charge before a certain time” criteria for the storage of EV 107”) [the first amount of DC power to the first battery and allocate the second amount of DC power to the second battery.]
Therefor it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the DC power electronics module as taught by Pizzurro to incorporate the charging management profile as taught by Galin. Both Pizzuro and Galin provide user-defined charging schedules for electric vehicles using a DC power module. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to improve user experience by allowing them to schedule charging during lower- cost hours around user defined average use conditions.
Similarly for claim 8 as applied to a charging system comprising: a first connection device couplable to a first battery of a first electric vehicle; (Pizzurro ¶0058 “[FIG 1] EV charging station 100 comprises a master controller 110, an energy storage unit 120, charging terminals 130a, 130b, 130c, 130d and connectors 140a, 140b, 140c, 140d”, connector 140a connected to a first electric vehicle)
a second connection device couplable to a second battery of a second electric vehicle. (Pizzurro ¶0058 “[FIG 1] EV charging station 100 comprises a master controller 110, an energy storage unit 120, charging terminals 130a, 130b, 130c, 130d and connectors 140a, 140b, 140c, 140d”, connector 140b connected to a second electric vehicle)
Similarly for claim 15 as applied to a method (Pizzurro ¶0077 “the EV charging station 100 performs a method as outlined in FIG. 6”).
Regarding claim 6, Pizzurro as modified by Galin teaches the DC power electronics module of claim 1. Pizzurro as modified by Galin does not teach a DC power electronics module wherein the first information or the second information further includes information chosen from date of use information and time of use information.
Galin further teaches wherein the first information or the second information further includes information chosen from date of use information and time of use information. (¶0103 “passing of data to IIEVC 102 of which user (Dad for example) and which EV 107 is near IIEVC 102 may establish activation and indication of a usage profile for IIEVC 102… Based on the time and date as displayed in area 410, it may be established that this may be a working day for the user. Additionally, a connection to a calendar of the user on their smart phone or some other remote internet connected calendar synchronized with the calendar of the user on their smart phone”)
Therefor it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to further modify the DC power electronics module as taught by Pizzurro modified by Galin wherein the first information or the second information further includes information chosen from date of use information and time of use information. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to improve user experience by allowing them to schedule charging during lower-cost hours around the user’s calendar and intended use.
Similarly for claim 13 as applied to a charging system, Pizzurro as modified by Galin teaches the DC power electronics module of claim 8.
Regarding claim 7, Pizzurro as modified by Galin teaches the DC power electronics module of claim 1. Pizzurro as modified by Galin further teaches a DC power electronics module wherein the first information or the second information further includes travel information. (Galin ¶0103 “The passing of data may include the monitored state of charge (SOC) by the computer of EV 107 and actual distance and route travelled by the user”, FIG 4A depicts GUI 424 which depicts travel information; Pizzurro FIG 1 connector 140a connected to a first electric vehicle and connector 140b connected to a second electric vehicle)
Similarly for claim 14 as applied to a charging system, Pizzurro as modified by Galin teaches the DC power electronics module of claim 8.
Similarly for claim 20 as applied to a charging system, Pizzurro as modified by Galin teaches the DC power electronics module of claim 15.
Regarding claim 21, Pizzurro as modified by Galin teaches the DC power electronics module of claim 1. Pizzurro as modified by Galin further teaches a DC power electronics module wherein the computer-executable instructions further cause the processor to: identify, responsive to receipt of the first information, a the first operator associated with the previous operation of the first electric vehicle; (Galin ¶0103 “passing of data to IIEVC 102 of which user (Dad for example) and which EV 107 is near IIEVC 102 may establish activation and indication of a usage profile for IIEVC 102.”; Pizzurro FIG 1 connector 140a connected to a first electric vehicle)
identify, responsive to receipt of the second information, a the second operator associated with the previous operation of the second electric vehicle; (Galin ¶0103 “passing of data to IIEVC 102 of which user (Dad for example) and which EV 107 is near IIEVC 102 may establish activation and indication of a usage profile for IIEVC 102.”; Pizzurro FIG 1 connector 140b connected to a second electric vehicle)
and determine, based on identification of the first operator and the second operator, the first amount of DC power to allocate to the first battery and the second amount of DC power to allocate to the second battery. (¶0103 “passing of data to IIEVC 102 of which user (Dad for example) and which EV 107 is near IIEVC 102 may establish activation and indication of a usage profile for IIEVC 102. The passing of data may include the monitored state of charge (SOC) by the computer of EV 107 and actual distance and route travelled by the user. Based on the time and date as displayed in area 410, it may be established that this may be a working day for the user… a charge profile may be established for EV 107 which may consider a range of parameters, various priorities and present status of the power system as discussed below”)
Regarding claim 22, Pizzurro as modified by Galin teaches the DC power electronics module of claim 1. Pizzurro as modified by Galin further teaches a DC power electronics module wherein the first connection includes a first charging unit, electrically coupled with the first battery and the DC power electronics module, configured to charge the first battery, (Pizzurro FIG 1 a first electric vehicle connected to energy storage 120 via terminal 130a to form EV charging station 100)
and wherein the second connection includes a second charging unit, electrically coupled with the second battery and the DC power electronics module, configured to charge the second battery. (Pizzurro FIG 1 a second electric vehicle connected to energy storage 120 via terminal 130b to form EV charging station 100)
Similarly for claim 25 as applied to a charging system, Pizzurro as modified by Galin teaches the DC power electronics module of claim 8.
Similarly for claim 26 as applied to a charging system, Pizzurro as modified by Galin teaches the DC power electronics module of claim 15.
Regarding claim 23, Pizzurro as modified by Galin teaches the DC power electronics module of claim 22. Pizzurro as modified by Galin further teaches a DC power electronics module wherein the first charging unit includes a first electrical connection with the DC power electronics module, (Pizzurro ¶0068 “[FIG 1 and FIG 3] A second end 320a, 320b, 320d, 320c of each DC output line 318a, 318b, 318c, 318d is connected to a respective charging terminal 130a, 130b, 130c, 130d”; particularly 320a, 318a, and 130a)
wherein the second charging unit included a second electrical connection with the DC power electronics module, (Pizzurro ¶0068 “[FIG 1 and FIG 3] A second end 320a, 320b, 320d, 320c of each DC output line 318a, 318b, 318c, 318d is connected to a respective charging terminal 130a, 130b, 130c, 130d”; particularly 320b, 318b, and 130b)
and wherein the first electrical connection and the second electrical connection are different. (Pizzurro ¶0068 “[FIG 1 and FIG 3] A second end 320a, 320b, 320d, 320c of each DC output line 318a, 318b, 318c, 318d is connected to a respective charging terminal 130a, 130b, 130c, 130d”)
Regarding claim 24, Pizzurro as modified by Galin teaches the DC power electronics module of claim 22. Pizzurro as modified by Galin further teaches a DC power electronics module wherein allocation of the first amount of DC power and allocation of the second amount of DC power includes the processor to: transmit, to the first charging unit, one or more first signals to control operation of the first charging unit in accordance with the allocation of the first amount of DC power to the first battery; (Pizzurro ¶0075 “Connector 140a is shown in FIG. 5… The connector 140a enables bi-directional communication between the local controller 406 and the control system of the EV via communication pins 540”, Galin ¶0111 “Booking of a parking place having charging facilities may further include data transfer to the car park which indicates the storage device type, estimated time of arrival and departure, state of charge of the storage device 109 of EV 107 in order to provide the best charge profile for the storage of EV 107”; As applied to a first electric vehicle connected to connector 140a)
and transmit, to the second charging unit, one or more second signals to control operation of the second charging unit in accordance with the allocation of the second amount of DC power to the second battery. (Pizzurro ¶0075 “Connector 140a is shown in FIG. 5… The connector 140a enables bi-directional communication between the local controller 406 and the control system of the EV via communication pins 540”, Galin ¶0111 “Booking of a parking place having charging facilities may further include data transfer to the car park which indicates the storage device type, estimated time of arrival and departure, state of charge of the storage device 109 of EV 107 in order to provide the best charge profile for the storage of EV 107”; As applied to a second electric vehicle connected to connector 140b)
Prior Art Not Relied Upon
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure can be found in the attached PTO-892 Notice of References Cited by Examiner attached to this correspondence.
Vahedi et al (US 20200070672 A1) teaches a DC vehicle battery charging facility capable of charging multiple vehicles according to a charging schedule.
Lu et al (US 20230398895 A1) teaches a power management system for charging multiple electric vehicles using vehicle and user specific data.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LISA KOTOWSKI/Examiner, Art Unit 2859
/TAELOR KIM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859 /TAELOR KIM/