Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
This Office Action is responsive to the response filed on 3/17/2025. Claim 43 is new. Claims 20-43 are pending. Applicant’s arguments have been considered. Claims 20-43 are non-finally rejected for reasons below.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) filed 1/22/2025, 5/6/2025 has been placed in the application file and the information referred to therein has been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 43 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The limitation “the side surface” lacks antecedent basis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 20, 21, 23, 25, 26, 31-33, 35-37, 39-43 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Byun (US 2010/0216001) in view of Kogetsu (US 2012/0088136) and Yamano (JP 2008-192524).
Regarding claim 20, Byun discloses a secondary battery comprising:
a wound electrode assembly including a positive foil, a negative foil, and a separator provided between the positive foil and the negative foil;
a positive current collector 20;
a negative current collector 30;
a member accommodating the wound electrode assembly, the positive current collector, the negative current collector,
wherein:
the positive foil 11c includes a plurality of positive foil extended portions that are bent at a first end of the wound electrode assembly [0073], wherein the positive foil extended portions are coupled to the positive current collector 20;
the negative foil 12c includes a plurality of negative foil extended portions that are bent at a second end of the wound electrode assembly [0073], wherein the negative foil extended portions are coupled to the negative current collector 30.
Regarding claim 21, further comprising a first insulating plate 47.
Regarding claim 23, the wound electrode assembly has a side connecting the first end and the second end.
Regarding claim 35, the wound electrode assembly has a through hole connecting the first end and the second end,
the positive foil has a positive protruding part from the wound electrode assembly, and
the positive protruding part is bent toward the through hole.
Regarding claim 36, the positive current collector 20 has a first band having a bent part 23, 55.
Regarding claim 42, the member is a cylindrical case.
Regarding claim 1, the positive foil 11c includes a plurality of positive foil extended portions that are bent and overlap, and the negative foil 12c includes a plurality of negative foil extended portions that are bent and overlap, Byun discloses that the first electrode uncoated portion may be pressed and folded by the protrusion to increase a contact area between the contact portion of the first current collector plate and the first electrode uncoated portion, ensuring improved laser welding between the contact portion of the first collector plate and first electrode uncoated portion [0073]. Kogetsu teaches a wound battery having bent current collector extended portions having overlapping portions. See figure 1. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art at the time the invention was made to fold and overlap the protrusions of Byun’s uncoated bent current collector portions, as taught by Kogetsu, for the benefit of having more area as contact between all the current collector extended portions and the current collector plate. It is noted that having more contact area between the current collector extended portions and the current collector plate would better prevent disconnection between the current collector extended portions and the current collector plate from external impact.
Regarding claim 20, Byun does not disclose a first insulator and a second insulator. Yamano teaches a wound cylindrical battery having insulating films 16 on upper and lower surfaces of the wound cylindrical battery. It is therefore possible to more effectively prevent the outermost separator from being scratched, torn, or curled outward when the wound electrode body is inserted into an outer casing, and furthermore, it is possible to more effectively suppress the occurrence of a short circuit in the event that lithium dendrites form [0028]. Yamano teaches (figure 2):
a first insulator;
a second insulator; and
the first insulator covers at least a portion of a first edge of the wound electrode assembly; and
the second insulator covers at least a portion of a second edge of the wound electrode assembly.
Regarding claim 32, the first edge includes a corner meeting the side part and the first end.
Regarding claim 33, the wound electrode assembly has a cylindrical shape, and the first insulator covers all of the first edge.
Regarding claim 37, at least one of the first insulator and the second insulator is an adhesive tape having a substrate layer and an adhesive layer on at least one face of the substrate layer, and
the substrate layer includes a material selected from the group of polypropylene, polyethylene terephthalate, and polyimide [0045].
Regarding claim 43, the first insulator 16 covers a portion of the positive current collector from a portion of the side surface of the wound electrode assembly through a top edge portion, and
the second insulator 16 covers a portion of the negative current collector from a portion of the side surface of the wound electrode assembly through a bottom edge portion. Fig. 2.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art at the time the invention was made to a first insulator and a second insulator to the outermost layer of the separator of Byun, as taught by Yamano, for the benefit of protecting the outermost layer of the separator from short circuiting.
Regarding claim 20, overlapping portions of the plurality of positive foil extended portions are welded to the positive current collector; and overlapping portions of the plurality of negative foil extended portions are welded to the negative current collector, Byun discloses the plurality of positive foil extended portions are welded to the positive current collector, and the plurality of negative foil extended portions are welded to the negative current collector [0067]. Hence, it is noted that when Byun is modified with Kogetsu, the overlapped portions as taught by Kogetsu would be welded to their respective current collector, as disclosed by Byun.
Byun modified by Yamano teaches:
Regarding claim 21, wherein the first insulator is provided between the positive current collector and the first insulating plate.
Regarding claim 22, wherein the second insulator is provided between the negative current collector and the second insulating plate.
Regarding claim 27, wherein the second insulator is provided between the negative current collector and the second insulating plate.
Regarding claim 31, the first edge has a covered part by the positive current collector and an exposed part from the positive current collector, and
the first insulator covers both of the covered part and the exposed part.
Regarding claim 36, the first insulator is not in contact with the bent part of the first band, Yamamo teaches that the insulator is only in contact with the separator, and not a current collector. See figure 2.
Regarding the following claims:
Regarding claim 39, 0.5 < b2 and 0.5 < a2 are satisfied,
where a2 (mm) represents a length of the second insulator on a side of the wound electrode assembly and b2 (mm) represents a length of the second insulator on the second end.
Regarding claim 40, the member has an opening and a narrowed portion including a plurality of vertices associated with one or more bent portions at the opening, and
0.5 <b1 and 0.5 <a1 are satisfied,
where al (mm) represents a length of the first insulator on a side of the wound electrode assembly and b1 (mm) represents a length in a horizontal direction from a vertex closest to the wound electrode assembly among the vertices of the narrowed portion to an end portion of the first insulator on a thorough hole of the wound electrode assembly.
Regarding claim 41, the first end has a circle shape with a first radius,
a length b3 of the first insulator in a radial direction of the first end is 1/2 or less of the first radius,
Yamano teaches the upper side of the wound electrode body 3 is covered with an electrically insulating film 16, from the lower end (A in the figure) of the position corresponding to the portion where the outermost positive electrode 4 on the side of the wound electrode body 3 protrudes from the outermost negative electrode 5, to the point (B in the figure) where the current collector 41 of the outermost positive electrode 4 on the upper surface of the wound electrode body 3 is located, so that at least the separator 6 located on the outermost periphery is folded on the upper surface of the wound electrode body 3 toward the winding center of the wound electrode body 3. By using a wound electrode body 3 having such a structure, it is possible to suppress the occurrence of short circuits caused by the expansion of the positive electrode that occurs as the battery discharges, and it is also possible to suppress the occurrence of short circuits that can occur when lithium dendrites are precipitated due to the battery being charged [0023].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art at the time the invention was made to adjust the lengths of the first insulator and second insulator, as taught by Yamano, for the benefit of suppressing short circuits caused during charge and discharge.
Claims 22, 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Byun (US 2010/0216001) in view of Kogetsu (US 2012/0088136) and Yamano (JP 2008-192524) as applied to claim 20, further in view of Hama (US 2013/0224546).
Regarding claim 22, 27, Byun modified by Kogetsu and Yamano does not teach further comprising a second insulating plate. Hama teaches a battery having a bottom portion of a container includes an annular bottom wall portion and a protruded portion to enhance the strength of the container. The negative current collecting member is shaped and sized such that an outer peripheral portion is located closer to the peripheral wall portion of the container than the inner edge portion of the annular bottom wall portion is located. Thus, the negative current collecting member contacts the container not only at a dent but also at the outer peripheral portion, which allows the electrode group unit to be reliably fixed in a well balanced manner. In the embodiment, the negative current collecting member contacts the annular bottom wall portion via an insulating member so that a part of a current is not diverted to the annular bottom wall portion and the outer peripheral portion of the negative current collecting member when a current is applied in a spot welding process for electrically connecting the dent to the bottom portion (protruded portion 73) of the container [0059].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art at the time the invention was made to add a second insulating plate to the battery of Byun, as taught by Hama, for the benefit of concentrating the current flow to the bottom wall of the container.
Claims 24-26, 28, 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Byun (US 2010/0216001) in view of Kogetsu (US 2012/0088136) and Yamano (JP 2008-192524) as applied to claim 20, further in view of Hama (US 2013/0224546).
Regarding claim 25, Byun modified by Kogetsu and Yamano teaches the first edge has a covered part by the positive current collector and an exposed part from the positive current collector, and
the first insulator covers the covered part and the exposed part.
Regarding claim 26, Byun modified by Kogetsu and Yamano teaches the first edge includes a corner meeting the side and the first end.
Regarding claim 24, Byun modified by Kogetsu and Yamano does not disclose further comprising a fixing tape on the side,
wherein both of the first insulator and the second insulator do not overlap the fixing tape. Regarding claim 28, Byun modified by Kogetsu and Yamano does not disclose further comprising a fixing tape, wherein the wound electrode assembly has a side connecting the first end and the second end, and at least one of the first insulator and the second insulator do not overlap the fixing tape on the side. Hama teaches that an end portion of the separator is fixed by an adhesive tape to prevent unwinding of the wound electrode group [0079]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art at the time the invention was made to add a fixing tape on an end portion of the separator, as taught by Hama, for the benefit of fixing the separator to prevent unwinding of the electrode group. To not overlap the first and second insulator with the fixing tape would have been within the skill of an ordinary artisan since they different purposes. The insulator insulates the separator from external forces. The fixing tape secures the separator from being unwound.
Regarding claim 29, a thickness of at least one of the first insulator and the second insulator is equal to or less than a thickness of the fixing tape, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art at the time the invention was made to adjust the thicknesses of the insulators and the fixing tape, depending on the need to protect the separator as well as to fix the separator from being unwound, unless the thickness are shown to be critical.
Claim 30 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Byun (US 2010/0216001) in view of Kogetsu (US 2012/0088136) and Yamano (JP 2008-192524) as applied to claim 20, further in view of Mori (US 2014/0113185).
Regarding claim 30, Byun modified by Kogetsu and Yamano does not teach the first end has at least one groove and a first region without the at least one groove, and
the first region is welded to the positive current collector.
Mori teaches a wound battery having positive and negative current collectors having exposed with divided parts. The divided parts are bent toward the core of the battery, being compressed and molded. The divided parts are set to be welded to current collector plates [0148]. The electrical connection produces a reduced resistance, a robust connection structure and simplified connection steps concerning an electricity storage device [0008]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art at the time the invention was made to form the electrical connection of Byun by forming divided parts to bend and weld to the current collector plate, as taught by Mori, for the benefit of forming good electrical connection.
Claim 34 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Byun (US 2010/0216001) in view of Kogetsu (US 2012/0088136) and Kogetsu and Yamano (JP 2008-192524) as applied to claim 20, further in view of Nakura (US 2012/0088137).
Regarding claim 34, Byun modified by Kogetsu and Yamano teaches the separator has a first side and a second side,
the positive foil has a positive protruding part from the first side,
the negative foil has a negative protruding part from the second side, but does not teach the positive protruding part is longer than the negative protruding part. Nakura teaches a wound battery a positive protruding part is longer than a negative protruding part [0040]. Refer to fig. 5A and 5B. It allows for better visual distinction between the positive and negative tabs during processing [0043]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art at the time the invention was made to make the positive protruding part is longer than the negative protruding part in the battery of Byun, as taught by Nakura, for the benefit of processing the battery with visual ease.
Claim 38 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Byun (US 2010/0216001) in view of Kogetsu (US 2012/0088136) and Yamano (JP 2008-192524) as applied to claim 20, further in view of Fujii(US2018/0366786).
Regarding claim 38, Byun modified by Kogetsu and Yamano does not teach further comprising an insulating layer on the positive foil, wherein the insulating layer faces the negative foil across the separator. Fujii teaches a wound battery having an insulating member is provided so as to cover at least a part of the positive electrode active material layer thin part provided in this manner and at least a part of the positive electrode active material non-applied part. In a case where the positive electrode active material non-applied part is provided to face the negative electrode active material applied part, short-circuiting may occur in a region where these parts face each other. The occurrence of the short-circuiting may generate a larger amount of heat in that part. In view of this, in order to suppress such a problem, an insulating member may be provided. As the insulating member, an adhesive tape including a polyolefin film and an adhesive layer provided to the polyolefin film can be used. The structure of the positive electrode will be described below with reference to the drawings [0028]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art at the time the invention was made to add an insulating layer on the positive foil of Byun where it faces the negative electrode active material applied part, as taught by Fujii, for the benefit of preventing a possibility of short circuiting.
Response to Arguments
Arguments dated 9/3/2025 are addressed below:
Regarding claim 20, overlapping portions of the plurality of positive foil extended portions are welded to the positive current collector; and overlapping portions of the plurality of negative foil extended portions are welded to the negative current collector, Byun discloses the plurality of positive foil extended portions are welded to the positive current collector, and the plurality of negative foil extended portions are welded to the negative current collector [0067]. Hence, it is noted that when Byun is modified with Kogetsu, the overlapped portions as taught by Kogetsu would be welded to their respective current collector, as disclosed by Byun.
Conclusion
/CYNTHIA K WALLS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1751