Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-19, 26-36 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-19 and 26-36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hahn et al. (US 2022/0294570) in view of Karampatsis et al. (US 20200351966), HUSCHKE et al. (US 20240305417 with foreign app. PCT/CN2021072497 filed on 01/18/2021), and JI et al. (US 20240014978).
Regarding claim 1, Hahn discloses
method for wireless communications at a first user equipment (UE) (FIG 7 and 16 receiving terminal), comprising:
receiving sidelink control signaling indicating a feedback mode applicable to a set of sidelink transmissions (par. 219: The base station may generate sidelink configuration information and transmit the sidelink configuration information through higher layer signaling (S1601). The sidelink configuration information may include PSFCH configuration information (e.g., SL-PSFCH-Config)),
wherein the feedback mode (par. 221: The HARQ feedback scheme may include the ACK/NACK feedback scheme, the ACK-only feedback scheme, and the NACK-only feedback scheme) is independent of a cast type of the set of sidelink transmissions (par. 93: The sidelink communication may support a broadcast service, a multicast service, a groupcast service, and a unicast service; par. 100: The transmitting terminal may generate SCI including scheduling information (e.g., resource allocation information) of sidelink data (e.g., PSSCH), and may transmit the SCI to the receiving terminal(s) (S702); par. 229: the transmitting terminal may generate SCI (e.g., 1st-stage SCI and/or 2nd-stage SCI) including scheduling information for transmission of sidelink data, and transmit the SCI to receiving terminal(s) or a terminal group (S1602)),
and wherein the feedback mode is selected from a set of feedback modes including a hybrid automatic repeat request mode, an acknowledgement only mode, and a negative acknowledgement only mode (par. 221, 222, he HARQ feedback scheme (e.g., ACK/NACK feedback scheme, ACK-only feedback scheme, or NACK-only feedback scheme)…When at least two feedback schemes among sl-HARQ-Type1, sl-HARQ-Type2, and sl-HARQ-Type3 are indicated to be available by higher layer signaling, one HARQ feedback scheme applied to sidelink communication may be indicated by higher layer signaling (e.g., a higher layer signaling message different from the higher layer signaling message indicating Table 12), MAC signaling, and/or PHY signaling);
receiving, from the second UE, the set of sidelink transmissions (par. 229: the transmitting terminal may generate SCI (e.g., 1st-stage SCI and/or 2nd-stage SCI) including scheduling information for transmission of sidelink data, and transmit the SCI to receiving terminal(s) or a terminal group (S1602)); and
operating in the feedback mode for the set of sidelink transmissions (par. 233: The receiving terminal(s) may transmit HARQ response(s) to the transmitting terminal based on result(s) of receiving the sidelink data (S1604). The sub-sequence(s) mapped to the HARQ response(s) in the step S1604 may be transmitted on a PSFCH (e.g., feedback resource region)) in accordance with the sidelink control signaling (par. 219: The base station may generate sidelink configuration information and transmit the sidelink configuration information through higher layer signaling (S1601). The sidelink configuration information may include PSFCH configuration information (e.g., SL-PSFCH-Config); par. 221: The PSFCH configuration information (or sidelink configuration information) may further include configuration information on a HARQ feedback scheme. The HARQ feedback scheme may include the ACK/NACK feedback scheme, the ACK-only feedback scheme, and the NACK-only feedback scheme).
However, HAHN does not teach wherein the feedback mode is selected from a set of feedback modes based at least in part on a priority level corresponding to the set of sidelink transmissions.
But, Karampatsis et al. (US 20200351966) in a similar or same field of endeavor teaches wherein the feedback mode is selected from a set of feedback modes based at least in part on a priority level corresponding to the set of sidelink transmissions (par. 104-109, 111, SL HARQ feedback Option 1… SL HARQ feedback Option 2; par. 118, This can be done using PC5 RRC where the transmitter semi statically configures the UEs with either/both Option 1, Option 2 resources. Actual usage of option (either/both) and the corresponding condition (e.g., Tx-Rx distance less than certain Threshold_A use Option 1, rest Option B) are controlled and indicated in SCI and depends among others on reliability/priority of the transmission).
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effectively filing date of the claimed invention to implement the system or method as taught by Karampatsis in the system of HAHN to select feedback mode based on priority of the sidelink transmission.
The motivation would have been to manage reliability vs high throughput for service the UEs.
However, HAHN does not teach wherein the feedback mode is selected from a set of feedback modes including a no feedback mode.
But, HUSCHKE et al. (US 20240305417) in a similar or same field of endeavor teaches wherein the feedback mode is selected from a set of feedback modes including a no feedback mode (par. 12, the plurality of HARQ feedback modes include a third HARQ feedback mode that disables both the ACK and NACK).
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effectively filing date of the claimed invention to implement the system or method as taught by HUSCHKE in the system of HAHN and Karampatsis to enable no feedback mode.
The motivation would have been to reduce the transmission and process for reliable transmission to increase transmission of data.
However, Hahn does not teach receiving, from a second UE via a sidelink channel, sidelink control signaling indicating a feedback mode applicable to a set of sidelink transmissions occurring within a window of time;
the feedback mode is based at least in part on a sidelink feedback channel periodicity corresponding to the set of sidelink transmissions;
But, JI et al. (US 20240014978) in a similar or same field of endeavor teaches receiving, from a second UE via a sidelink channel, sidelink control signaling indicating a feedback mode applicable to a set of sidelink transmissions occurring within a window of time (par. 78, 79, The common or shared PSFCH resource(s) may be determined based on predefined rule(s), for example based on the starting-subchannel or subchannels and the slot used for the associated PSSCH transmissions and a Layer-1 (L1) source ID provided by the SCI);
the feedback mode is based at least in part on a sidelink feedback channel periodicity corresponding to the set of sidelink transmissions (par. 78, 79, 86, The UE-1 111 may apply the second HARQ mode (P-N ACK) for its periodic data transmissions over PSCCH and/or PSSCH to the intended group of sidelink receiver UEs. In the second HARQ mode, the sidelink receiver UEs may be configured to transmit their feedbacks over their respective dedicated PSFCH resources based on their reception statuses);
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effectively filing date of the claimed invention to implement the system or method as taught by JI in the system of HAHN, Karampatsis, and HUSCHKE to receive control signal from UE with resource for feedback mode.
The motivation would have been to reduce collisions between HARQ feedback and other communications or to save power (JI par. 4).
Regarding claim 26, Hahn discloses an apparatus for wireless communications at a first user equipment (UE) (fig. 3, communication node), comprising: at least one processor (fig. 3, communication node); and at least one memory coupled to the at least one processor (fig. 3, communication node), the at least one memory storing instructions executable by the at least one processor to cause the apparatus (fig. 3, communication node) to:
receiving sidelink control signaling indicating a feedback mode applicable to a set of sidelink transmissions (par. 219: The base station may generate sidelink configuration information and transmit the sidelink configuration information through higher layer signaling (S1601). The sidelink configuration information may include PSFCH configuration information (e.g., SL-PSFCH-Config)),
wherein the feedback mode (par. 221: The HARQ feedback scheme may include the ACK/NACK feedback scheme, the ACK-only feedback scheme, and the NACK-only feedback scheme) is independent of a cast type of the set of sidelink transmissions (par. 93: The sidelink communication may support a broadcast service, a multicast service, a groupcast service, and a unicast service; par. 100: The transmitting terminal may generate SCI including scheduling information (e.g., resource allocation information) of sidelink data (e.g., PSSCH), and may transmit the SCI to the receiving terminal(s) (S702); par. 229: the transmitting terminal may generate SCI (e.g., 1st-stage SCI and/or 2nd-stage SCI) including scheduling information for transmission of sidelink data, and transmit the SCI to receiving terminal(s) or a terminal group (S1602)) and wherein the feedback mode is selected from a set of feedback modes (par. 221, 222), the set of feedback modes including a hybrid automatic repeat request mode, an acknowledgement only mode, and a negative acknowledgement only mode (par. 221, 222, he HARQ feedback scheme (e.g., ACK/NACK feedback scheme, ACK-only feedback scheme, or NACK-only feedback scheme)…When at least two feedback schemes among sl-HARQ-Type1, sl-HARQ-Type2, and sl-HARQ-Type3 are indicated to be available by higher layer signaling, one HARQ feedback scheme applied to sidelink communication may be indicated by higher layer signaling (e.g., a higher layer signaling message different from the higher layer signaling message indicating Table 12), MAC signaling, and/or PHY signaling);
receiving, from the second UE, the set of sidelink transmissions (par. 229: the transmitting terminal may generate SCI (e.g., 1st-stage SCI and/or 2nd-stage SCI) including scheduling information for transmission of sidelink data, and transmit the SCI to receiving terminal(s) or a terminal group (S1602)); and
operating in the feedback mode for the set of sidelink transmissions (par. 233: The receiving terminal(s) may transmit HARQ response(s) to the transmitting terminal based on result(s) of receiving the sidelink data (S1604). The sub-sequence(s) mapped to the HARQ response(s) in the step S1604 may be transmitted on a PSFCH (e.g., feedback resource region)) in accordance with the sidelink control signaling (par. 219: The base station may generate sidelink configuration information and transmit the sidelink configuration information through higher layer signaling (S1601). The sidelink configuration information may include PSFCH configuration information (e.g., SL-PSFCH-Config); par. 221: The PSFCH configuration information (or sidelink configuration information) may further include configuration information on a HARQ feedback scheme. The HARQ feedback scheme may include the ACK/NACK feedback scheme, the ACK-only feedback scheme, and the NACK-only feedback scheme).
However, HAHN does not teach wherein the feedback mode is selected from a set of feedback modes based at least in part on a priority level corresponding to the set of sidelink transmissions.
But, Karampatsis et al. (US 20200351966) in a similar or same field of endeavor teaches wherein the feedback mode is selected from a set of feedback modes based at least in part on a priority level corresponding to the set of sidelink transmissions (par. 104-109, 111, SL HARQ feedback Option 1… SL HARQ feedback Option 2; par. 118, This can be done using PC5 RRC where the transmitter semi statically configures the UEs with either/both Option 1, Option 2 resources. Actual usage of option (either/both) and the corresponding condition (e.g., Tx-Rx distance less than certain Threshold_A use Option 1, rest Option B) are controlled and indicated in SCI and depends among others on reliability/priority of the transmission).
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effectively filing date of the claimed invention to implement the system or method as taught by Karampatsis in the system of HAHN to select feedback mode based on priority of the sidelink transmission.
The motivation would have been to manage reliability vs high throughput for service the UEs.
However, HAHN does not teach wherein the feedback mode is selected from a set of feedback modes including a no feedback mode.
But, HUSCHKE et al. (US 20240305417) in a similar or same field of endeavor teaches wherein the feedback mode is selected from a set of feedback modes including a no feedback mode (par. 12, the plurality of HARQ feedback modes include a third HARQ feedback mode that disables both the ACK and NACK).
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effectively filing date of the claimed invention to implement the system or method as taught by HUSCHKE in the system of HAHN and Karampatsis to enable no feedback mode.
The motivation would have been to reduce the transmission and process for reliable transmission to increase transmission of data.
However, Hahn does not teach receiving, from a second UE via a sidelink channel, sidelink control signaling indicating a feedback mode applicable to a set of sidelink transmissions occurring within a window of time;
the feedback mode is based at least in part on a sidelink feedback channel periodicity corresponding to the set of sidelink transmissions;
But, JI et al. (US 20240014978) in a similar or same field of endeavor teaches receiving, from a second UE via a sidelink channel, sidelink control signaling indicating a feedback mode applicable to a set of sidelink transmissions occurring within a window of time (par. 78, 79, The common or shared PSFCH resource(s) may be determined based on predefined rule(s), for example based on the starting-subchannel or subchannels and the slot used for the associated PSSCH transmissions and a Layer-1 (L1) source ID provided by the SCI);
the feedback mode is based at least in part on a sidelink feedback channel periodicity corresponding to the set of sidelink transmissions (par. 78, 79, 86, The UE-1 111 may apply the second HARQ mode (P-N ACK) for its periodic data transmissions over PSCCH and/or PSSCH to the intended group of sidelink receiver UEs. In the second HARQ mode, the sidelink receiver UEs may be configured to transmit their feedbacks over their respective dedicated PSFCH resources based on their reception statuses);
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effectively filing date of the claimed invention to implement the system or method as taught by JI in the system of HAHN, Karampatsis, and HUSCHKE to receive control signal from UE with resource for feedback mode.
The motivation would have been to reduce collisions between HARQ feedback and other communications or to save power (JI par. 4).
Regarding claims 2 and 27, Hahn discloses the method of claim 1,
wherein operating in the feedback mode comprises: operating in the hybrid automatic repeat request mode, the acknowledgement only mode, or the negative acknowledgement only mode, or a no feedback mode (par. 221, 222: The PSFCH configuration information (or sidelink configuration information) may further include configuration information on a HARQ feedback scheme. The HARQ feedback scheme may include the ACK/NACK feedback scheme, the ACK-only feedback scheme, and the NACK-only feedback scheme).
However, HAHN does not teach wherein operating in the feedback mode comprises: operating in a no feedback mode.
But, HUSCHKE et al. (US 20240305417) in a similar or same field of endeavor teaches wherein operating in the feedback mode comprises: operating in a no feedback mode (par. 12, the plurality of HARQ feedback modes include a third HARQ feedback mode that disables both the ACK and NACK).
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effectively filing date of the claimed invention to implement the system or method as taught by HUSCHKE in the system of HAHN, Karampatsis, and JI to enable no feedback mode.
The motivation would have been to reduce the transmission and process for reliable transmission to increase transmission of data.
Regarding claims 3 and 28, Hahn discloses the method of claim 1,
further comprising: receiving second control signaling via a radio resource control message or a medium access control (MAC) control element (par. 91: The higher layer signaling may refer to an operation of transmitting and receiving system information (e.g., master information block (MIB), system information block (SIB)) and/or an RRC message. The MAC signaling may refer to an operation of transmitting and receiving a MAC control element (CE)), wherein the set of sidelink transmissions (par. 107: If the HARQ response (e.g., ACK) is not received, the transmitting terminal may determine that reception of the sidelink data has failed in the receiving terminal(s). When it is determined that the receiving terminal(s) has failed to receive the sidelink data, the transmitting terminal may perform a retransmission procedure for the sidelink data; Window of time is inherently applied in order to determine that reception of the sidelink data has failed in the receiving terminal or not if the HARQ response (e.g., ACK) is not received; PAN par. 123, 125, period parameter).
However, Hahn does not explicitly teach wherein the set of sidelink transmissions are associated with the window of time.
But, JI et al. (US 20240014978) in a similar or same field of endeavor teaches wherein the set of sidelink transmissions are associated with the window of time (par. 78, 79, The common or shared PSFCH resource(s) may be determined based on predefined rule(s), for example based on the starting-subchannel or subchannels and the slot used for the associated PSSCH transmissions and a Layer-1 (L1) source ID provided by the SCI).
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effectively filing date of the claimed invention to implement the system or method as taught by JI in the system of HAHN, Karampatsis, and HUSCHKE to receive control signal from UE with resource for feedback mode.
The motivation would have been to reduce collisions between HARQ feedback and other communications or to save power (JI par. 4).
Regarding claims 4 and 29, Hahn discloses the method of claim 3,
further comprising: receiving the second control signaling from one or more network devices (par. 219: The base station may generate sidelink configuration information and transmit the sidelink configuration information through higher layer signaling (S1601). The sidelink configuration information may include PSFCH configuration information (e.g., SL-PSFCH-Config); par. 229: when a toggle bit included in an RRC message, MAC CE, or control information (e.g., DCI or SCI) is set to 0, this may indicate that the HARQ feedback scheme configured by the higher layer signaling (e.g., sl-Default-HARQ-Type) is to be maintained).
Regarding claims 5 and 30, Hahn discloses the method of claim 1,
further comprising: receiving second control signaling indicating a default feedback mode (par. 223: when a toggle bit included in an RRC message, MAC CE, or control information (e.g., DCI or SCI) is set to 0, this may indicate that the HARQ feedback scheme configured by the higher layer signaling (e.g., sl- Default-HARQ-Type) is to be maintained. When the toggle bit included in the RRC message, MAC CE, or control information (e.g., DCI or SCI) is set to 1, this may indicate that the HARQ feedback scheme configured by the higher layer signaling (e.g., slI-Default-HARQ-Type) is to be changed); and
receiving third control signaling in a radio resource control message or a medium access control (MAC) control element (par. 91: The higher layer signaling may refer to an operation of transmitting and receiving system information (e.g., master information block (MIB), system information block (SIB)) and/or an RRC message. The MAC signaling may refer to an operation of transmitting and receiving a MAC control element (CE)) indicating a second feedback mode (par. 107: If the HARQ response (e.g., ACK) is not received, the transmitting terminal may determine that reception of the sidelink data has failed in the receiving terminal(s). When it is determined that the receiving terminal(s) has failed to receive the sidelink data, the transmitting terminal may perform a retransmission procedure for the sidelink data; Window of time is inherently applied in order to determine that reception of the sidelink data has failed in the receiving terminal or not if the HARQ response (e.g., ACK) is not received; PAN par. 123, 125), and wherein receiving the sidelink control signaling indicating the feedback mode for the set of sidelink transmissions comprises: receiving the sidelink control signaling comprising a bit indicating that the first UE is to use the default feedback mode or the second feedback mode (par. 223: when a toggle bit included in an RRC message, MAC CE, or control information (e.g., DCI or SCI) is set to O, this may indicate that the HARQ feedback scheme configured by the higher layer signaling (e.g., sl-Default-HARQ-Type) is to be maintained. When the toggle bit included in the RRC message, MAC CE, or control information (e.g., DCI or SCI) is set to 1, this may indicate that the HARQ feedback scheme configured by the higher layer signaling (e.g., sI-Default-HARQ-Type) is to be changed).
However, Hahn does not teach a second feedback mode associated with a second window of time;
But, JI et al. (US 20240014978) in a similar or same field of endeavor teaches a second feedback mode associated with a second window of time (par. 78, 79, 86, The UE-1 111 may apply the second HARQ mode (P-N ACK) for its periodic data transmissions over PSCCH and/or PSSCH to the intended group of sidelink receiver UEs. In the second HARQ mode, the sidelink receiver UEs may be configured to transmit their feedbacks over their respective dedicated PSFCH resources based on their reception statuses);
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effectively filing date of the claimed invention to implement the system or method as taught by JI in the system of HAHN, Karampatsis, and HUSCHKE to receive control signal from UE with resource for feedback mode.
The motivation would have been to reduce collisions between HARQ feedback and other communications or to save power (JI par. 4).
Regarding claim 6, Hahn discloses the method of claim 5, further comprising: receiving the second control signaling (par. 223: when a toggle bit included in an RRC message, MAC CE, or control information (e.g., DCl or SCI) is set to O, this may indicate that the HARQ feedback scheme configured by the higher layer signaling (e.g., sl-Default-HARQ- Type) is to be maintained. When the toggle bit included in the RRC message, MAC CE, or control information (e.g., DCI or SCI) is set to 1, this may indicate that the HARQ feedback scheme configured by the higher layer signaling (e.g., slI-Default-HARQ-Type) is to be changed) via a master information block (par. 91: The higher layer signaling may refer to an operation of transmitting and receiving system information (e.g., master information block (MIB)) via a physical broadcast channel (par. 83]: channels used in the sidelink communications between the UEs 235 and 236 may include ... a Physical Sidelink Broadcast Channel (PSBCH); par. 93: A sidelink channel may be ... PSBCH; par. 93: A sidelink channel may be ...PSBCH).
Regarding claims 7 and 31, Hahn discloses the method of claim 1,
further comprising: receiving second control signaling indicating a respective set of resource blocks (par. 114: a PSFCH may be configured with one or more symbols in the time domain and one or more resource blocks (RBs) in the frequency domain) associated with each feedback mode of the set of feedback modes (par. 221: The PSFCH configuration information (or sidelink configuration information) may further include configuration information on a HARQ feedback scheme. The HARQ feedback scheme may include the ACK/NACK feedback scheme, the ACK- only feedback scheme, and the NACK-only feedback scheme).
Regarding claims 8 and 32, Hahn or JI discloses the method of claim 1,
further comprising: receiving the sidelink control signaling from the second UE via a sidelink control information message (HAHN par. 103: Each of the receiving terminal(s) may transmit, to the transmitting terminal, a HARQ response for the sidelink data on a PSFCH indicated by the SCI; par. 223: when a toggle bit included in an RRC message, MAC CE, or control information (e.g., DCI or SCI) is set to 0, this may indicate that the HARQ feedback scheme configured by the higher layer signaling (e.g., sl-Default-HARQ-Type) is to be maintained. When the toggle bit included in the RRC message, MAC CE, or control information (e.g., DCI or SCI) is set to 1, this may indicate that the HARQ feedback scheme configured by the higher layer signaling (e.g., sl-Default-HARQ- Type) is to be changed; JI par. 78, 79).
Regarding claim 9, Hahn discloses a method for wireless communications at a first user equipment (UE) (FIG 7 and 16 transmitting terminal), comprising:
transmitting, to a first UE, sidelink control signaling indicating a feedback mode applicable to a set of sidelink transmissions (par. 103: Each of the receiving terminal(s) may transmit, to the transmitting terminal, a HARQ response for the sidelink data on a PSFCH indicated by the SCI; par. 232: The SCI may further include PSFCH resource information for HARQ feedback transmission for sidelink data as well as the scheduling information), wherein the feedback mode is independent of a cast type of the set of sidelink transmissions (par. 93: A sidelink channel may be a PSSCH, PSCCH, PSDCH, PSBCH, physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH), or the like ... The sidelink communication may support a broadcast service, a multicast service, a groupcast service, anda unicast service; par. 221]: The PSFCH configuration information (or sidelink configuration information) may further include configuration information on a HARQ feedback scheme. The HARQ feedback scheme may include the ACK/NACK feedback scheme, the ACK-only feedback scheme, and the NACK-only feedback scheme), and wherein the feedback mode is selected from a set of feedback modes, the set of feedback modes including a hybrid automatic repeat request mode (par. 221, 222), an acknowledgement only mode, and a negative acknowledgement only mode (par. 221, 222, he HARQ feedback scheme (e.g., ACK/NACK feedback scheme, ACK-only feedback scheme, or NACK-only feedback scheme)…When at least two feedback schemes among sl-HARQ-Type1, sl-HARQ-Type2, and sl-HARQ-Type3 are indicated to be available by higher layer signaling, one HARQ feedback scheme applied to sidelink communication may be indicated by higher layer signaling (e.g., a higher layer signaling message different from the higher layer signaling message indicating Table 12), MAC signaling, and/or PHY signaling);
transmitting, to the first UE, the set of sidelink transmissions (par. 233: The receiving terminal(s) may receive the SCI from the transmitting terminal, and may identify information element(s) included in the SCI. The transmitting terminal may transmit sidelink data on a PSSCH indicated by the SCI (S1603)); and
operating in the feedback mode for the set of sidelink transmissions (par. 233: The receiving terminal(s) may transmit HARQ response(s) to the transmitting terminal based on result(s) of receiving the sidelink data (S1604). The sub-sequence(s) mapped to the HARQ response(s) in the step S1604 may be transmitted on a PSFCH (e.g., feedback resource region)).
However, HAHN does not teach wherein the feedback mode is selected from a set of feedback modes based at least in part on a priority level corresponding to the set of sidelink transmissions.
But, Karampatsis et al. (US 20200351966) in a similar or same field of endeavor teaches wherein the feedback mode is selected from a set of feedback modes based at least in part on a priority level corresponding to the set of sidelink transmissions (par. 104-109, 111, SL HARQ feedback Option 1… SL HARQ feedback Option 2; par. 118, This can be done using PC5 RRC where the transmitter semi statically configures the UEs with either/both Option 1, Option 2 resources. Actual usage of option (either/both) and the corresponding condition (e.g., Tx-Rx distance less than certain Threshold_A use Option 1, rest Option B) are controlled and indicated in SCI and depends among others on reliability/priority of the transmission).
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effectively filing date of the claimed invention to implement the system or method as taught by Karampatsis in the system of HAHN to select feedback mode based on priority of the sidelink transmission.
The motivation would have been to manage reliability vs high throughput for service the UEs.
However, HAHN does not teach wherein the feedback mode is selected from a set of feedback modes including a no feedback mode.
But, HUSCHKE et al. (US 20240305417) in a similar or same field of endeavor teaches wherein the feedback mode is selected from a set of feedback modes including a no feedback mode (par. 12, the plurality of HARQ feedback modes include a third HARQ feedback mode that disables both the ACK and NACK).
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effectively filing date of the claimed invention to implement the system or method as taught by HUSCHKE in the system of HAHN and Karampatsis to enable no feedback mode.
The motivation would have been to reduce the transmission and process for reliable transmission to increase transmission of data.
However, Hahn does not explicitly teach transmitting, to a first UE via a sidelink channel, sidelink control signaling indicating sidelink transmission occurring within a window of time;
the feedback mode is based at least in part on a sidelink feedback channel periodicity corresponding to the set of sidelink transmissions;
But, JI et al. (US 20240014978) in a similar or same field of endeavor teaches transmitting, to a first UE via a sidelink channel, sidelink control signaling indicating sidelink transmission occurring within a window of time (par. 78, 79, The common or shared PSFCH resource(s) may be determined based on predefined rule(s), for example based on the starting-subchannel or subchannels and the slot used for the associated PSSCH transmissions and a Layer-1 (L1) source ID provided by the SCI);
the feedback mode is based at least in part on a sidelink feedback channel periodicity corresponding to the set of sidelink transmissions (par. 78, 79, 86, The UE-1 111 may apply the second HARQ mode (P-N ACK) for its periodic data transmissions over PSCCH and/or PSSCH to the intended group of sidelink receiver UEs. In the second HARQ mode, the sidelink receiver UEs may be configured to transmit their feedbacks over their respective dedicated PSFCH resources based on their reception statuses);
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effectively filing date of the claimed invention to implement the system or method as taught by JI in the system of HAHN, Karampatsis, and HUSCHKE to receive control signal from UE with resource for feedback mode.
The motivation would have been to reduce collisions between HARQ feedback and other communications or to save power (JI par. 4).
Regarding claim 10, Hahn discloses the method of claim 9,
further comprising: receiving second control signaling indicating the feedback mode for the set of sidelink transmissions (par. 219: The base station may generate sidelink configuration information and transmit the sidelink configuration information through higher layer signaling (S1601). The sidelink configuration information may include PSFCH configuration information (e.g., SL-PSFCH-Config), wherein the sidelink control signaling (par. 0229: the transmitting terminal may generate SCI (e.g., 1st-stage SCI and/or 2nd-stage SCI) including scheduling information for transmission of sidelink data, and transmit the SCI to receiving terminal(s) or a terminal group (S1602)) is based at least in part on the second control signaling (par. 228: Meanwhile, the transmitting terminal and/or the receiving terminal(s) may receive a higher layer message from the base station, and may identify sidelink configuration information (e.g., PSFCH configuration information) included in the higher layer message. The PSFCH configuration information may include one or more information elements listed in Tables 11 to 15. The transmitting terminal and/or the receiving terminal(s) may perform sidelink communication (e.g., sidelink-groupcast communication) using the sidelink configuration information).
Regarding claim 11, Hahn discloses the method of claim 9, wherein operating in the feedback mode comprises: operating in the hybrid automatic repeat request mode, the acknowledgement only mode, or the negative acknowledgement only mode (par. 221, 222: The PSFCH configuration information (or sidelink configuration information) may further include configuration information on a HARQ feedback scheme. The HARQ feedback scheme may include the ACK/NACK feedback scheme, the ACK-only feedback scheme, and the NACK-only feedback scheme).
However, HAHN does not teach wherein operating in the feedback mode comprises: operating in a no feedback mode.
But, HUSCHKE et al. (US 20240305417) in a similar or same field of endeavor teaches wherein operating in the feedback mode comprises: operating in a no feedback mode (par. 12, the plurality of HARQ feedback modes include a third HARQ feedback mode that disables both the ACK and NACK).
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effectively filing date of the claimed invention to implement the system or method as taught by HUSCHKE in the system of HAHN, Karampatsis, and JI to enable no feedback mode.
The motivation would have been to reduce the transmission and process for reliable transmission to increase transmission of data.
Regarding claim 12, Hahn discloses the method of claim 9,
further comprising: transmitting the sidelink control signaling via a radio resource control message or a medium access control (MAC) control element (par. 91: The higher layer signaling may refer to an operation of transmitting and receiving system information (e.g., master information block (MIB), system information block (SIB)) and/or an RRC message. The MAC signaling may refer to an operation of transmitting and receiving a MAC control element (CE)), wherein the set of sidelink transmissions (par. 107: If the HARQ response (e.g., ACK) is not received, the transmitting terminal may determine that reception of the sidelink data has failed in the receiving terminal(s). When it is determined that the receiving terminal(s) has failed to receive the sidelink data, the transmitting terminal may perform a retransmission procedure for the sidelink data; Window of time is inherently applied in order to determine that reception of the sidelink data has failed in the receiving terminal or not if the HARQ response (e.g., ACK) is not received).
However, Hahn does not teach the set of sidelink transmissions are associated with the window of time.
But, JI et al. (US 20240014978) in a similar or same field of endeavor teaches the set of sidelink transmissions are associated with the window of time (par. 78, 79, The common or shared PSFCH resource(s) may be determined based on predefined rule(s), for example based on the starting-subchannel or subchannels and the slot used for the associated PSSCH transmissions and a Layer-1 (L1) source ID provided by the SCI).
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effectively filing date of the claimed invention to implement the system or method as taught by JI in the system of HAHN, Karampatsis, and HUSCHKE to receive control signal from UE with resource for feedback mode.
The motivation would have been to reduce collisions between HARQ feedback and other communications or to save power (JI par. 4).
Regarding claim 13, Hahn discloses further comprising:
transmitting, to the first UE, second control signaling indicating a default feedback mode (par. 0223: when a toggle bit included in an RRC message, MAC CE, or control information (e.g., DCI or SCI) is set to 0, this may indicate that the HARQ feedback scheme configured by the higher layer signaling (e.g., sl-Default-HARQ-Type) is to be maintained. When the toggle bit included in the RRC message, MAC CE, or control information (e.g., DCI or SCI) is set to 1, this may indicate that the HARQ feedback scheme configured by the higher layer signaling (e.g., sl-Default-HARQ- Type) is to be changed); and
transmitting, to the first UE, third control signaling in a radio resource control message or a medium access control (MAC) control element (par. 91: The higher layer signaling may refer to an operation of transmitting and receiving system information (e.g., master information block (MIB), system information block (SIB)) and/or an RRC message. The MAC signaling may refer to an operation of transmitting and receiving a MAC control element (CE)) indicating a second feedback mode (par. 107: If the HARQ response (e.g., ACK) is not received, the transmitting terminal may determine that reception of the sidelink data has failed in the receiving terminal(s). When it is determined that the receiving terminal(s) has failed to receive the sidelink data, the transmitting terminal may perform a retransmission procedure for the sidelink data; Window of time is inherently applied in order to determine that reception of the sidelink data has failed in the receiving terminal or not if the HARQ response (e.g., ACK) is not received; PAN, par. 123, 125, period parameter), wherein transmitting the sidelink control signaling indicating the feedback mode for the set of sidelink transmissions comprises: transmitting the sidelink control signaling comprising a bit indicating that the first UE is to use the default feedback mode or the second feedback mode (par. 223: when a toggle bit included in an RRC message, MAC CE, or control information (e.g., DCI or SCI) is set to 0, this may indicate that the HARQ feedback scheme configured by the higher layer signaling (e.g., sl-Default-HARQ-Type) is to be maintained. When the toggle bit included in the RRC message, MAC CE, or control information (e.g., DCI or SCI) is set to 1, this may indicate that the HARQ feedback scheme configured by the higher layer signaling (e.g., sl- Default-HARQ-Type) is to be changed).
However, Hahn does not teach a second feedback mode associated with a second window of time.
But, JI et al. (US 20240014978) in a similar or same field of endeavor teaches a second feedback mode associated with a second window of time (par. 78, 79, The common or shared PSFCH resource(s) may be determined based on predefined rule(s), for example based on the starting-subchannel or subchannels and the slot used for the associated PSSCH transmissions and a Layer-1 (L1) source ID provided by the SCI).
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effectively filing date of the claimed invention to implement the system or method as taught by JI in the system of HAHN, Karampatsis, and HUSCHKE to receive control signal from UE with resource for feedback mode.
The motivation would have been to reduce collisions between HARQ feedback and other communications or to save power (JI par. 4).
Regarding claim 14, Hahn discloses
further comprising: transmitting the second control signaling (par. 223: when a toggle bit included in an RRC message, MAC CE, or control information (e.g., DCI or SCI) is set to 0, this may indicate that the HARQ feedback scheme configured by the higher layer signaling (e.g., sl- Default-HARQ-Type) is to be maintained. When the toggle bit included in the RRC message, MAC CE, or control information (e.g., DCI or SCI) is set to 1, this may indicate that the HARQ feedback scheme configured by the higher layer signaling (e.g., sI-Default-HARQ-Type) is to be changed) via a master information block (par. 91: The higher layer signaling may refer to an operation of transmitting and receiving system information (e.g., master information block (MIB)) via a physical broadcast channel (par. 83: channels used in the sidelink communications between the UEs 235 and 236 may include ... a Physical Sidelink Broadcast Channel (PSBCH); par. 93: A sidelink channel may be ... PSBCH; par. 93: A sidelink channel may be ...PSBCH).
Regarding claim 15, Hahn discloses further comprising: receiving fourth control signaling (par. 219: The base station may generate sidelink configuration information and transmit the sidelink configuration information through higher layer signaling (S1601). The sidelink configuration information may include PSFCH configuration information (e.g., SL-PSFCH-Config)) indicating the default feedback mode (par. 223: when a toggle bit included in an RRC message, MAC CE, or control information (e.g., DCI or SCI) is set to 0, this may indicate that the HARQ feedback scheme configured by the higher layer signaling (e.g., sl-Default-HARQ-Type) is to be maintained. When the toggle bit included in the RRC message, MAC CE, or control information (e.g., DCI or SCI) is set to 1, this may indicate that the HARQ feedback scheme configured by the higher layer signaling (e.g., sl-Default-HARQ- Type) is to be changed).
Regarding claim 16, Hahn discloses further comprising: transmitting second control signaling indicating a respective set of resource blocks (par. 114: a PSFCH may be configured with one or more symbols in the time domain and one or more resource blocks (RBs) in the frequency domain) associated with each feedback mode of the set of feedback modes (par. 221: The PSFCH configuration information (or sidelink configuration information) may further include configuration information on a HARQ feedback scheme. The HARQ feedback scheme may include the ACK/NACK feedback scheme, the ACK-only feedback scheme, and the NACK-only feedback scheme).
Regarding claim 17, Hahn discloses further comprising: receiving second control signaling indicating respective feedback modes from the set of feedback modes (par. 219: The base station may generate sidelink configuration information and transmit the sidelink configuration information through higher layer signaling (S1601). The sidelink configuration information may include PSFCH configuration information (e.g., SL-PSFCH-Config); par. 221, 222, he HARQ feedback scheme (e.g., ACK/NACK feedback scheme, ACK-only feedback scheme, or NACK-only feedback scheme)…When at least two feedback schemes among sl-HARQ-Type1, sl-HARQ-Type2, and sl-HARQ-Type3 are indicated to be available by higher layer signaling, one HARQ feedback scheme applied to sidelink communication may be indicated by higher layer signaling (e.g., a higher layer signaling message different from the higher layer signaling message indicating Table 12), MAC signaling, and/or PHY signaling) associated with each resource pool of a set of resource pools (par. 221: The HARQ feedback scheme may be configured for each of resource pools (e.g., sidelink resource pools), and mapping information between the HARQ feedback scheme and the resource pool may be included in the PSFCH configuration information (or sidelink configuration information)); and
identifying the feedback mode based at least in part on the set of feedback modes associated with a resource pool associated with the set of sidelink transmissions (par. 221: The HARQ feedback scheme may be configured for each of resource pools (e.g., sidelink resource pools), and mapping information between the HARQ feedback scheme and the resource pool may be included in the PSFCH configuration information (or sidelink configuration information)).
Regarding claim 18, Hahn discloses wherein identifying the feedback mode is based at least in part on the set of feedback modes associated with the resource pool associated with the set of sidelink transmissions (par. 221: The HARQ feedback scheme may be configured for each of resource pools (e.g., sidelink resource pools), and mapping information between the HARQ feedback scheme and the resource pool may be included in the PSFCH configuration information (or sidelink configuration information); par. 232: The SCI may further include PSFCH resource information for HARQ feedback transmission for sidelink data as well as the scheduling information) based at least in part on a priority level or a quality of service target associated with the set of sidelink transmissions (par. 229: the transmitting terminal may generate SCI (e.g., 1st-stage SCI and/or 2nd-stage SCI) including scheduling information for transmission of sidelink data, and transmit the SCI to receiving terminal(s) or a terminal group (S1602) ... One or more receiving terminals having a reception quality (e.g., reference signal received power (RSRP), reference signal received quality (RSRQ), reference signal strength indicator (RSSI)) belonging to a preset range (e.g., similar or different range) among a plurality of receiving terminals may be configured to belong to the same terminal group).
Regarding claim 19, Hahn or PAN discloses further comprising: transmitting the sidelink control signaling via a sidelink control information message (HAHN par. 221: The HARQ feedback scheme may be configured for each of resource pools (e.g., sidelink resource pools), and mapping information between the HARQ feedback scheme and the resource pool may be included in the PSFCH configuration information (or sidelink configuration information); par. 232: The SCI may further include PSFCH resource information for HARQ feedback transmission for sidelink data as well as the scheduling information; PAN par. 77, 123, 125).
Regarding claim 33, Hahn discloses an apparatus for wireless communications at a second user equipment (UE) (Fig. 7 and 16 transmitting terminal), comprising:
at least one processor (Fig. 3); and at least one memory coupled to the at least one processor (Fig. 3), the at least one memory storing instructions executable by the at least one processor to cause the apparatus to (Fig. 3):
transmit, to a first UE, sidelink control signaling (par. 100: The transmitting terminal may generate SCI including scheduling information (e.g., resource allocation information) of sidelink data (e.g., PSSCH), and may transmit the SCI to the receiving terminal(s) (S702); par. 229: the transmitting terminal may generate SCI (e.g., 1st-stage SCI and/or 2nd-stage SCI) including scheduling information for transmission of sidelink data, and transmit the SCI to receiving terminal(s) or a terminal group (S1602)) indicating a feedback mode applicable to a set of sidelink transmissions (par. 103: Each of the receiving terminal(s) may transmit, to the transmitting terminal, a HARQ, response for the sidelink data on a PSFCH indicated by the SCI; par. 223: when a toggle bit included in an RRC message, MAC CE, or control information (e.g., DCI or SCI) is set to 0, this may indicate that the HARQ feedback scheme configured by the higher layer signaling (e.g., sl- Default-HARQ-Type) is to be maintained), wherein the feedback mode (par. 221: The HARQ feedback scheme may include the ACK/NACK feedback scheme, the ACK-only feedback scheme, and the NACK-only feedback scheme) is independent of a cast type of the set of sidelink transmissions (par. 93: The sidelink communication may support a broadcast service, a multicast service, a groupcast service, and a unicast service; par. 100: The transmitting terminal may generate SCI including scheduling information (e.g., resource allocation information) of sidelink data (e.g., PSSCH), and may transmit the SCI to the receiving terminal(s) (S702); par. 229: the transmitting terminal may generate SCI (e.g., Ist-stage SCI and/or 2nd-stage SCI) including scheduling information for transmission of sidelink data, and transmit the SCI to receiving terminal(s) or a terminal group (S1602)), and wherein the feedback mode is selected from a set of feedback modes (par. 221, 222), the set of feedback modes including a hybrid automatic repeat request mode, an acknowledgement only mode, and a negative acknowledgement only mode (par. 221, 222, he HARQ feedback scheme (e.g., ACK/NACK feedback scheme, ACK-only feedback scheme, or NACK-only feedback scheme)…When at least two feedback schemes among sl-HARQ-Type1, sl-HARQ-Type2, and sl-HARQ-Type3 are indicated to be available by higher layer signaling, one HARQ feedback scheme applied to sidelink communication may be indicated by higher layer signaling (e.g., a higher layer signaling message different from the higher layer signaling message indicating Table 12), MAC signaling, and/or PHY signaling);
transmit, to the first UE, the set of sidelink transmissions (par. 102: The transmitting terminal may transmit sidelink data to the receiving terminal(s) on a PSSCH indicated by the SCI (S703); par. 233: The transmitting terminal may transmit sidelink data on a PSSCH indicated by the SCI (S1603)); and
operate in the feedback mode for the set of sidelink transmissions (par. 103: Each of the receiving terminal(s) may transmit, to the transmitting terminal, a HARQ response for the sidelink data on a PSFCH indicated by the SCI (S704); par. 233: The receiving terminal(s) may transmit HARQ response(s) to the transmitting terminal based on result(s) of receiving the sidelink data (S1604)).
However, HAHN does not teach wherein the feedback mode is selected from a set of feedback modes based at least in part on a priority level corresponding to the set of sidelink transmissions.
But, Karampatsis et al. (US 20200351966) in a similar or same field of endeavor teaches wherein the feedback mode is selected from a set of feedback modes based at least in part on a priority level corresponding to the set of sidelink transmissions (par. 104-109, 111, SL HARQ feedback Option 1… SL HARQ feedback Option 2; par. 118, This can be done using PC5 RRC where the transmitter semi statically configures the UEs with either/both Option 1, Option 2 resources. Actual usage of option (either/both) and the corresponding condition (e.g., Tx-Rx distance less than certain Threshold_A use Option 1, rest Option B) are controlled and indicated in SCI and depends among others on reliability/priority of the transmission).
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effectively filing date of the claimed invention to implement the system or method as taught by Karampatsis in the system of HAHN to select feedback mode based on priority of the sidelink transmission.
The motivation would have been to manage reliability vs high throughput for service the UEs.
However, HAHN does not teach wherein the feedback mode is selected from a set of feedback modes including a no feedback mode.
But, HUSCHKE et al. (US 20240305417) in a similar or same field of endeavor teaches wherein the feedback mode is selected from a set of feedback modes including a no feedback mode (par. 12, the plurality of HARQ feedback modes include a third HARQ feedback mode that disables both the ACK and NACK).
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effectively filing date of the claimed invention to implement the system or method as taught by HUSCHKE in the system of HAHN and Karampatsis to enable no feedback mode.
The motivation would have been to reduce the transmission and process for reliable transmission to increase transmission of data.
However, Hahn does not explicitly teach transmit, to a first UE via a sidelink channel, sidelink control indicating a feedback mode applicable to a set of sidelink transmissions occurring within a window of time;
the feedback mode is based at least in part on a sidelink feedback channel periodicity corresponding to the set of sidelink transmissions;
But, JI et al. (US 20240014978) in a similar or same field of endeavor teaches transmit, to a first UE via a sidelink channel, sidelink control indicating a feedback mode applicable to a set of sidelink transmissions occurring within a window of time (par. 78, 79, The common or shared PSFCH resource(s) may be determined based on predefined rule(s), for example based on the starting-subchannel or subchannels and the slot used for the associated PSSCH transmissions and a Layer-1 (L1) source ID provided by the SCI);
the feedback mode is based at least in part on a sidelink feedback channel periodicity corresponding to the set of sidelink transmissions (par. 78, 79, 86, The UE-1 111 may apply the second HARQ mode (P-N ACK) for its periodic data transmissions over PSCCH and/or PSSCH to the intended group of sidelink receiver UEs. In the second HARQ mode, the sidelink receiver UEs may be configured to transmit their feedbacks over their respective dedicated PSFCH resources based on their reception statuses);
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effectively filing date of the claimed invention to implement the system or method as taught by JI in the system of HAHN, Karampatsis, and HUSCHKE to receive control signal from UE with resource for feedback mode.
The motivation would have been to reduce collisions between HARQ feedback and other communications or to save power (JI par. 4).
Regarding claim 34, Hahn discloses wherein the instructions are further executable by the at least one processor to cause the apparatus to (Fig. 3):
receive second control signaling indicating the feedback mode for the set of sidelink transmissions (par. 219: The base station may generate sidelink configuration information and transmit the sidelink configuration information through higher layer signaling (S1601). The sidelink configuration information may include PSFCH configuration information (e.g., SL-PSFCH- Config)), wherein the sidelink control signaling is based at least in part on the second control signaling (par. 223: when a toggle bit included in an RRC message, MAC CE, or control information (e.g., DCI or SCI) is set to 0, this may indicate that the HARQ feedback scheme configured by the higher layer signaling (e.g., sl-Default-HARQ-Type) is to be maintained).
Regarding claim 35, Hahn discloses wherein the instructions are further executable by the at least one processor to cause the apparatus to (Fig. 3):
transmit the sidelink control signaling via a radio resource control message or a medium access control (MAC) control element (par. 82: The control plane protocol stack shown in FIG. 5 may include a PHY layer, a MAC layer, an RLC layer, and a radio resource control (RRC) layer. The sidelink communications between the UEs 235 and 236 may be performed using a PC5 interface (e.g., PC5-C interface); 4 [0091]: The MAC signaling may refer to an operation of transmitting and receiving a MAC control element (CE); (par. 223: Sidelink communication may be performed based on a HARQ feedback scheme indicated by sl-Default-HARQ-Type. Maintenance or change of the HARQ feedback scheme configured the by higher layer signaling may be indicated by higher layer signaling (e.g., a higher layer signaling message different from the higher layer signaling message indicating Table 13), MAC signaling, and/or PHY signaling. For example, when a toggle bit included in an RRC message, MAC CE, or control information (e.g., DCI or SCI) is set to 0, this may indicate that the HARQ feedback scheme configured by the higher layer signaling (e.g., sl-Default-HARQ-Type) is to be maintained. When the toggle bit included in the RRC message, MAC CE, or control information (e.g., DCI or SCI) is set to 1, this may indicate that the HARQ feedback scheme configured by the higher layer signaling (e.g., sl-Default-HARQ-Type) is to be changed), wherein the set of sidelink transmissions (par. 107: If the HARQ response (e.g., ACK) is not received, the transmitting terminal may determine that reception of the sidelink data has failed in the receiving terminal(s). When it is determined that the receiving terminal(s) has failed to receive the sidelink data, the transmitting terminal may perform a retransmission procedure for the sidelink data; Window of time is inherently applied in order to determine that reception of the sidelink data has failed in the receiving terminal or not if the HARQ response (e.g., ACK) is not received; PAN par. 123, 125, period parameter).
However, Hahn does not teach the set of sidelink transmissions associated with the window of time.
But, JI et al. (US 20240014978) in a similar or same field of endeavor teaches the set of sidelink transmissions associated with the window of time (par. 78, 79, The common or shared PSFCH resource(s) may be determined based on predefined rule(s), for example based on the starting-subchannel or subchannels and the slot used for the associated PSSCH transmissions and a Layer-1 (L1) source ID provided by the SCI).
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effectively filing date of the claimed invention to implement the system or method as taught by JI in the system of HAHN, Karampatsis, and HUSCHKE to receive control signal from UE with resource for feedback mode.
The motivation would have been to reduce collisions between HARQ feedback and other communications or to save power (JI par. 4).
Regarding claim 36, Hahn discloses the apparatus of claim 33, wherein the instructions are further executable by the at least one processor to cause the apparatus (Fig. 3) to:
transmit, to the first UE, second control signaling indicating a default feedback mode (par. 100: The transmitting terminal may generate SCI including scheduling information (e.g., resource allocation information) of sidelink data (e.g., PSSCH), and may transmit the SCI to the receiving terminal(s) (S702); par. 229: the transmitting terminal may generate SCI (e.g., 1st- stage SCI and/or 2nd-stage SCI) including scheduling information for transmission of sidelink data, and transmit the SCI to receiving terminal(s) or a terminal group (S1602); par. 223: when a toggle bit included in an RRC message, MAC CE, or control information (e.g., DCI or SCI) is set to 0, this may indicate that the HARQ feedback scheme configured by the higher layer signaling (e.g., sl-Default-HARQ-Type) is to be maintained); and
transmit, to the first UE, third control signaling in a radio resource control message or a medium access control (MAC) control element indicating a second feedback mode (par. 82: The control plane protocol stack shown in FIG. 5 may include a PHY layer, a MAC layer, an RLC layer, and a radio resource control (RRC) layer. The sidelink communications between the UEs 235 and 236 may be performed using a PC5 interface (e.g., PC5-C interface); par. 91: The MAC signaling may refer to an operation of transmitting and receiving a MAC control element (CE); (par. 223: Sidelink communication may be performed based on a HARQ feedback scheme indicated by sl-Default-HARQ-Type. Maintenance or change of the HARQ feedback scheme configured the by higher layer signaling may be indicated by higher layer signaling (e.g., a higher layer signaling message different from the higher layer signaling message indicating Table 13), MAC signaling, and/or PHY signaling. For example, when a toggle bit included in an RRC message, MAC CE, or control information (e.g., DCI or SCI) is set to 0, this may indicate that the HARQ feedback scheme configured by the higher layer signaling (e.g., sl-Default-HARQ-Type) is to be maintained. When the toggle bit included in the RRC message, MAC CE, or control information (e.g., DCI or SCI) is set to 1, this may indicate that the HARQ feedback scheme configured by the higher layer signaling (e.g., sl-Default-HARQ-Type) is to be changed) associated with a second window of time (par. 107: If the HARQ response (e.g., ACK) is not received, the transmitting terminal may determine that reception of the sidelink data has failed in the receiving terminal(s). When it is determined that the receiving terminal(s) has failed to receive the sidelink data, the transmitting terminal may perform a retransmission procedure for the sidelink data; Window of time is inherently applied in order to determine that reception of the sidelink data has failed in the receiving terminal or not if the HARQ response (e.g., ACK) is not received; PAN par. 123, 125, period parameter),
wherein the instructions to transmit the sidelink control signaling indicating the feedback mode applicable to the set of sidelink transmissions are executable by the at least one processor to cause the apparatus (fig. 3, par. 98, 223) to: transmit the sidelink control signaling comprising a bit indicating that the first UE is to use the default feedback mode (par. 223: For example, when a toggle bit included in an RRC message, MAC CE, or control information (e.g., DCI or SCI) is set to 0, this may indicate that the HARQ feedback scheme configured by the higher layer signaling (e.g., sl-Default-HARQ-Type) is to be maintained) or the second feedback mode (par. 223: Maintenance or change of the HARQ feedback scheme configured the by higher layer signaling may be indicated by higher layer signaling (e.g., a higher layer signaling message different from the higher layer signaling message indicating Table 13), MAC signaling, and/or PHY signaling ... When the toggle bit included in the RRC message, MAC CE, or control information (e.g., DCI or SCI) is set to 1, this may indicate that the HARQ feedback scheme configured by the higher layer signaling (e.g., sl- Default-HARQ-Type) is to be changed)).
However, Hahn does not teach a second feedback mode associated with a second window of time.
But, JI et al. (US 20240014978) in a similar or same field of endeavor teaches a second feedback mode associated with a second window of time (par. 78, 79, The common or shared PSFCH resource(s) may be determined based on predefined rule(s), for example based on the starting-subchannel or subchannels and the slot used for the associated PSSCH transmissions and a Layer-1 (L1) source ID provided by the SCI).
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effectively filing date of the claimed invention to implement the system or method as taught by JI in the system of HAHN, Karampatsis, and HUSCHKE to receive control signal from UE with resource for feedback mode.
The motivation would have been to reduce collisions between HARQ feedback and other communications or to save power (JI par. 4).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
SHRIVASTAVA et al. (US 20250008602) teaches The HARQ feedback enabler information includes, one or more, an enable option for the HARQ feedback message, a Downlink Control Indication (DCI) based enabler option for the HARQ feedback message wherein received DCI to indicate an enable value or disable value, and an absence of the HARQ feedback enabler field (par. 83).
LIN (US 20210153169) teaches UE 302 transmits sidelink control information (SCI over PSCCH) and sidelink data (TB over PSSCH) to UE 303 over the selected sidelink resource. SCI includes signal parameters of the TB (if not implicitly suggested by the selected resource or resource pool (step D)… HARQ feedback mode (ACK/NACK or NACK only) for groupcast (par. 32).
YAO et al. (US 20230156824) teaches a sidelink unicast or groupcast transmission with HARQ feedback enabled, the transmitting UE can evaluate the received feedback over a number of evaluated feedback messages, and calculate what percentage of such messages are negative acknowledgements (NACKs). If the percentage of such NACKs exceeds a predetermined threshold, then it is determined that a collision exists with a competing UE with respect to the scheduled resources (par. 50, 55); the transmitting UE will receive ACK/NACK type feedback in response to the periodic transmissions (par. 54).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/THINH D TRAN/for /Thinh Tran/, Patent Examiner of Art Unit 2466 09/30/2026