pDETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This office action is responsive to the argument filed on 12/05/2025. As directed by the amendment: claims 1, 3, 10, 22, and 28 have been amended, no claims have been cancelled, and no new claims have been added. Thus, claims 1-30 are presently pending in this application, with claims 4, 19-26, and 30 are being withdrawn from consideration. Applicant’s amendment to the claims have overcome each and every objection and 112(b) rejection, barring the 112(b) rejection to claim 10, set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed on 09/05/2025.
Response to Arguments
In response to applicant's argument on p.2 and p.9 of “Remarks” that Willard fails to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e. distal landing structure as a discrete structural feature) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Applicant further argues that their use of “landing structure/element” in the spec. demonstrates that a structure or element refers to a formed structure or positive geometry on the corewire. Examiner emphasizes that these are not claimed features, and that applicant does not clearly set forth a special definition of the claim term that differs from plain or ordinary meaning it would otherwise possess. Examiner emphasizes that the specification structures of a shoulder, formed landing, geometric feature, bead, collar, flange, or any engineered mechanical element are not be read into the claim limitation unless positively recited. The claim is not coupled to its structural meaning in the spec. unless applicant clearly sets forth a special definition which has not been done. Thus, the term “structure” is being interpreted under broadest reasonable interpretation, and the core zone 132e of Willard as the distal landing structure is within broadest reasonable interpretation whether the corewire itself at core zone 132e constitutes the structure where the balloon is fixed, or the adhesive bonding placed on core zone 132e constitutes a discrete structure where the balloon is fixed. Applicant further argues on p.10 of “Remarks” that the core zone 132e cannot function as the distal boundary of the sealed enclosure as claimed “a sealed enclosure is formed spanning between the distal end of the tube and the distal landing structure” in claims 1 and 27, and the examiner respectfully disagrees. As discussed above and explicitly stated in Col.13, lines 40-42 of Willard, “distal portion 182 [of balloon 180] is sized to fit on core zone 132e, and is bonded thereto” such that upon inflating the balloon a sealed enclosure would be formed with the core zone 132e as the distal boundary. Again the interpretation of “distal landing structure” as “a discrete structural feature” is not a claimed limitation, and examiner is of the opinion that glue that is bonded to the core zone 132e anticipates a discrete structural feature. This argument is not persuasive, and the rejection is maintained.
Applicant’s arguments, see p. 3-4 of “Remarks”, filed 12/05/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 and 27 under 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Willard et al. (U.S Patent No. 4846174, “Willard”) in view of Tal et al. (U.S Patent Pub. No. 20150209557 A1, “Tal”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 10, the phrase “the solder joint extending from about 0.5% to 25% of a coil length” in line 2 renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear. It is unclear if this limitation is intending to state the solder joint extends a length that is 0.5% to 25% of a length of the distal coil or if the solder joint extends from the distal coil at a position on the distal coil that is about 0.5% to 25% of the distal coil length. Examiner is interpreting this limitation as the former scenario discussed above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 5, 9, 11, and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Willard et al. (U.S Patent No. 4846174, “Willard”) in view of Forman (U.S Patent No. 5776100).
Regarding claim 1, Willard discloses (Claim 1) a balloon/infusion catheter (see Fig. 13-16) comprising: a corewire (132) comprising a shaft (shaft of 132, Fig. 13-14 and Col.11, lines 52-55), a distal landing structure and a proximal lever (170, see Fig. 14 and Col.13, lines 40-41 – distal portion 182 of balloon 180 is bonded to core zone 132e of core 132, the segment of core zone 132e having the bond being interpreted as the distal landing structure, see Fig. 13 and Col.12, lines 26-41 – examiner notes the proximal lever is interpreted as an elongated structure pivoting off or protruding from the proximal portion of the corewire, stop member 170 is a bent portion pivoted off the proximal end of core 132 and is interpreted as the proximal lever); a tube (130) comprising a shaft (shaft of 130) with a single lumen (lumen of 130, see Fig. 14 and Col. 11, lines 52-55), a proximal end (proximal end of 130, see Fig. 13), and a distal end (distal end of 130, see Fig. 14), wherein the corewire (132) extends through the tube (130) and wherein a gap (131) between the corewire (132) and a wall of the tube (130) allows fluid to flow through the single lumen (lumen of 130, see Fig. 13-14 and Col.12, lines 52-59); a balloon (180) comprising a polymer sleeve in a fixed sealing engagement (see Fig. 14 and Col. 13, lines 31-34 for polymer sleeve), the fixed sealing engagement having a first sealed end (186) with the tube (130) and a second sealed end (182) with the distal landing structure such that a sealed enclosure is formed spanning between the distal end (distal end of 130) of the tube (130) and the distal landing structure (see Fig. 14 and Col.14, lines 1-3 for first sealed end 186, see Col.13, lines 40-42 for second sealed end 182 and distal landing structure, see Col.12, lines 52-59 – balloon can be inflated such that the sealed ends form a sealed enclosure) and translation of the corewire (132) corresponds to relative movement of the first sealed end (186) and the second sealed end (182) of the balloon (180, see Col.15, lines 7-21 and lines 34-38); and a proximal hub (140) attached around the proximal end (proximal end of 130) of the tube (130) in a sealed configuration (see Fig. 13 and Col. 12, lines 1-14), the proximal hub (140) comprising a wall (wall of 160), a corewire slide and a connector (fitting 170) forming a continuous lumen through the proximal hub (140) extending the single lumen (lumen of 130) of the tube (130, examiner notes the corewire slide is being interpreted as any structure controlling the translation of the corewire, see Fig. 13 and Col.12, lines 1-19 and lines 26-28 and Col.15, lines 9-17 – corewire slide is being interpreted as the structures within manifold assembly 140 such as the housing 142, slot insert 162, stops 165 and 166 which together allow the operator to control the translation of the corewire, see Col.12, lines 52-61 – examiner notes the reference numeral is used twice in the reference Willard to denote both the stop member 170 and pressure fitting 170, for clarity examiner will refer to the connector as fitting 170), wherein the corewire slide comprises a distal stop (166) and a proximal stop (165) that are configured to engage the proximal lever (170) of the corewire (132) at corresponding positions of the corewire (132) relative to the tube (130) to limit the range of relative positions of the corewire (132) with the corewire (132) free to slide within the tube (130) between the proximal stop (165) and the distal stop (166, see Fig. 14 and Col.12, lines 26-37 and Col.15, lines 9-17 – corewire slide is being interpreted as the structures within manifold assembly 140 such as the housing 142, slot insert 162, stops 165 and 166 which together allow the operator to control the translation of the corewire), and wherein the connector (fitting 170) establishes a fluid channel from an opening (distal opening of fitting 170) into the connector (fitting 170) to an interior of the balloon (180, see Fig. 13-14 and Col.12, lines 52-59).
However, Willard fails to disclose the limitations (Claim 1) one or more infusion ports near the distal end of the tube, and wherein the connector establishes a fluid channel from an opening into the connector to the one or more infusion ports of the tube.
Forman discloses a guidewire (250 in Fig. 1) having an internal lumen (252 in Fig. 1) for inflation of a balloon (264 in Fig. 1) and for drug delivery used in procedures such as percutaneous transluminal coronary angioplasty (PTCA, see Fig. 1 and Col.4, lines 26-30 and 43-50), wherein Forman teaches (Claim 1) one or more infusion ports (263 in Fig. 1) near the distal end of the tube (251, see Fig. 1 and Col.4, lines 43-50), and wherein the connector (261 in Fig. 1) establishes a fluid channel from an opening (proximal opening of 261) into the connector (261) to an interior of the balloon (264) and to the one or more infusion ports (263) of the tube (251, see Fig.1 and Col. 4, lines 43-50).
Since Willard discloses a guidewire (see Fig. 14) having a tube (130) with an annular lumen (131) for inflating balloon (180) for use in PTCA procedures (see Col.11, lines 44-48 and Col.12, lines 52-59), and Forman discloses a guidewire (250 in Fig. 1) having a tube (251) with a singular lumen (252) for both inflation of the balloon (180) and infusion through the one or more ports (263), it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the outer tube of Willard to incorporate one or more infusion ports as taught by Forman. Forman teaches providing infusion alongside occlusion for PTCA procedures allows for drugs to be infused that aid in preventing restenosis. Further, providing infusion ports proximally of an occlusion balloon for PTCA procedures allows the drug to first inflate the balloon for occlusion and then infuse the drug which is now maintained in the proximity of the site by the occluding balloon (see Col.4, lines 43-60).
Regarding claim 5, modified Willard discloses the catheter of claim 1, as discussed above. In modified Willard, Willard discloses (Claim 5) wherein the proximal lever (170) of the corewire (132) does not extend through the wall (wall of 160) of the proximal hub (140, see Fig. 13).
Regarding claim 9, modified Willard discloses the catheter of claim 1, as discussed above. In modified Willard, Willard discloses (Claim 9) wherein the corewire (132) further comprises a distal coil (134) positioned distal to the distal landing structure (see Fig. 14 and Col.13, lines 23-25 and lines 39-42).
Regarding claim 11, modified Willard discloses the catheter of claim 1, as discussed above. In modified Willard, Willard discloses (Claim 11) wherein the corewire (132) comprises a tapered section (132b) connecting a smaller diameter segment (132c) with a larger diameter segment (132a, see Fig. 14 and Col.12, lines 63-66).
Regarding claim 13, modified Willard discloses the catheter of claim 1, as discussed above. In modified Willard, Willard discloses (Claim 13) wherein the tube (130) has a distal annular opening from the single lumen (lumen of 130) around the corewire (132) into the interior of the balloon (180) and wherein the connector (fitting 170) of the proximal hub (140) is in fluid communication with a fluid reservoir (see Fig. 13-14 and Col.12, lines 52-59 – tube 130 has a distal annular opening around corewire 132 at the point 182 where tube 130 is bonded to balloon neck portion 184).
Regarding claim 14, modified Willard discloses the catheter of claim 13, as discussed above. In modified Willard, Willard discloses (Claim 14) wherein the fluid reservoir is associated with an infusion pump suitable to deliver fluid at a set pressure or flow rate (see Col.12, lines 55-59).
Claim(s) 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Willard in view of Forman as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Herbert (U.S Patent Pub. No. 2014/0135736 A1).
Regarding claim 2, modified Willard discloses the catheter of claim 1, as discussed above. In modified Willard, Willard discloses the limitations of (Claim 2) wherein the proximal lever (170) of the corewire (132) comprises a bent section (see Fig. 13 and Col.12, lines 26-41).
However, modified Willard fails to disclose (Claim 2) a bent section of a flattened length of the corewire.
Herbert discloses a locking assembly for a hypotube manipulated within an outer catheter, wherein Herbert teaches a stainless steel hypotube (182) slidable within outer catheter 24, wherein the hypotube (182) comprises a proximal lever (188) in the form of a flattened length of the hypotube (182) with the proximal lever (188) constraining the movement of the hypotube (182) between two stop structures (see Fig. 16 and para. 0090-0091).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the bent, circular stop member taught by modified Willard to a bent, flattened length of the corewire as taught by Herbert. The motivation for this modification is that Herbert teaches a universal control concept that can be easily implemented on any catheter component design by simply flattening a section of the component and overlaying the locking assembly thereon (see para. 0090-0091).
Claim(s) 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Willard in view of Forman as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Slater et al. (U.S Patent Pub. No. 20050113798 A1, “Slater”).
Regarding claim 3, modified Willard discloses the catheter of claim 1, as discussed above. In modified Willard, Willard discloses the limitations (Claim 3) wherein the distal stop (166) and the proximal stop (165) of the corewire slide each comprise a flange extending into the continuous lumen of the proximal hub (140, see Col.12, lines 41-51 – stops 165 and 166 may be in the form of projections extending into the space of 160).
However, modified Willard fails to explicitly disclose the flange extending into the continuous lumen of the proximal hub from an intact portion of the proximal hub wall.
Slater discloses a vascular catheter system comprising stops for restricting the sliding range of a wire therewithin, wherein Slater teaches one or more stops (1372) in the form of flanges extending into the lumen (1378). The stops (1372) may also be formed within a proximal manifold such that they would extend into its lumen from an intact portion of the proximal manifold wall in a similar manner to that shown in Fig. 45 (see Fig. 45 and para. 0240).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the proximal and distal stops taught by modified Willard to both be flanges extending from an intact portion of proximal hub wall as taught by Slater to restrict the sliding range of the wire, prevent accidental removal of the wire, and the flanges specifically help facilitate alignment of the wire within the lumen of the catheter (see para. 0240).
Claim(s) 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Willard in view of Forman as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ogle (U.S Patent Pub. No. 20180098778 A1).
Regarding claim 7, modified Willard discloses the catheter of claim 1, as discussed above. In modified Willard, Forman discloses the limitations (Claim 7) the one or more infusion ports (263 in Fig. 1) of the tube (251, see Fig. 1 and Col.4, lines 44-46).
While Forman in modified Willard discloses that the one or more infusion ports (263) only infuse after the balloon (264) has been inflated indicating a pressure relationship between the inflation pressure and infusion pressure, modified Willard fails to disclose (Claim 7) wherein a polymer valve covers the one or more infusion ports of the tube, wherein the polymer valve opens in response to an overpressure with respect to a pressure differential between the single lumen of the tube relative to a pressure external to the tube.
Ogle discloses a balloon/infusion catheter (150 in Fig. 3) used for thrombectomies and comprising one or more infusion ports (196), wherein Ogle teaches (Claim 7) a polymer valve (172) covers the one or more infusion ports (196) of the tube (182, see para. 0075 – ports 196 can includes the features of ports 170 including the elastic covers 172), wherein the polymer valve (172) opens in response to an overpressure with respect to a pressure differential between the single lumen (192) of the tube (182) relative to a pressure external to the tube (182, see para. 0074 – elastic covers 172 open in response to a certain amount of pressure application from the infusion fluid indicating that this certain amount of pressure application is an overpressure with respect to a pressure differential between the lumen 196 and an external pressure).
Since Forman in modified Willard discloses a guidewire for use in PTCA procedures comprising a singular lumen for infusion out of infusion ports and for inflation of a balloon, and Ogle discloses a balloon/infusion catheter for thrombectomies comprising a singular lumen for infusion out of infusion ports and for inflation of a balloon, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the infusion ports taught by modified Willard to incorporate the elastic covers taught by Ogle such that the infusion ports can selectively open to provide an added measure of control over the infusion process (see para. 0074). Such a modification would still have motivation in angioplasty procedures as the infusion ports would be able to selectively open for control over the infusion process.
Claim(s) 6 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Willard in view of Forman as applied to claim 1 and 7, respectively above, and further in view of Fortson et al. (U.S Patent Pub. No. 2022/0152372 A1, “Fortson”).
Regarding claim 6, modified Willard discloses the catheter of claim 1, as discussed above.
However, modified Willard fails to disclose (Claim 6) wherein the balloon in an initial uninflated state is a cylindrical, non-prestretched elastomer.
Fortson a balloon/infusion catheter used for percutaneous closure of arterial and venous puncture sites and comprises a balloon for inflation to assist with infusion (see para. 0011), wherein Fortson teaches (Claim 6) the balloon (520) in an initial uninflated state is a cylindrical, non-prestretched elastomer (see Fig. 5C for uninflated cylindrical shape, see para. 0061 and 0094 - balloon is an elastomeric material which may have a cylindrical shape and is not disclosed as being pre-stretched after extrusion onto the mold).
Since modified Willard discloses a balloon/infusion catheter for angioplasties which comprises a balloon for inflation to assist with infusion, and Forston discloses a balloon/infusion catheter used for vascular access closure which comprises a balloon for inflation to assist with infusion, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the balloon material taught by modified Willard to incorporate a cylindrical, non-prestretched elastomer as taught by Fortson. The motivation for this modification is that Fortson teaches that an elastomeric balloon which is extruded over a mold to form any number of shapes that are capable of sufficient flexibility to deform (see para. 0061).
Regarding claim 8, modified Willard discloses the catheter of claim 7, as discussed above.
While Forman in modified Willard discloses that the one or more infusion ports (263) only infuse after the balloon (264) has been inflated indicating a pressure relationship between the inflation pressure and infusion pressure, and Ogle in modified Willard discloses the polymer valve (172) over the infusion ports (190) which require a valve opening pressure for infusion, modified Willard fails to disclose (Claim 8) the balloon expands at fluid pressured in the single lumen of the tube lower than pressures to induce opening the polymer valve.
Fortson a balloon/infusion catheter used for percutaneous closure of arterial and venous puncture sites and comprises infusion ports used to release a solution after the balloon has been inflated (see para. 0017), Fortson teaches (Claim 8) the balloon (215) expands at fluid pressured in the single lumen (lumen of 225) of the tube (225) lower than pressures to induce the opening of the polymer valve (see para. 0062 – ports on the tube 225 may include check valves that open after the balloon inflation pressure exceeds a threshold).
Since modified Willard discloses a balloon/infusion catheter with infusion ports that function as valves to open under pressure, and Fortson discloses a balloon/infusion catheter with infusion ports having check valves that explicitly open after the balloon has been inflated, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the balloon inflation pressure and valve opening pressure taught by modified Willard to incorporate a balloon inflation pressure that is lower than the valve opening pressure as taught by Fortson. The motivation for this modification is that Fortson teaches that the balloon expanding before the valve opens the ports allows for a solution to be delivered while occlusion is occurring (see para. 0016).
Claim(s) 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Willard in view of Forman as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Yonezawa (U.S Patent Pub. No. 2017/0368316 A1).
Regarding claim 10, modified Willard discloses the catheter of claim 9, as discussed above. In modified Willard, Willard discloses the limitations of (Claim 10) the distal coil (134) is connected to the corewire (132, see Fig. 14 and Col.13, lines 23-25 and lines 39-42).
However, modified Willard fails to disclose (Claim 10) the distal coil is connected to the corewire at a solder joint, the solder joint extending from about 0.50% to 25% of a coil length. Examiner notes Willard discloses the distal coil (134) being connected to the corewire (132) by a brazed joint that extends only a small amount of the length of the distal coil (134, see Fig. 14 and Col.13, lines 23-25 and 39-42).
Yonezawa discloses a guidewire for insertion into the body, wherein Yonezawa teaches (Claim 10) the distal coil (5) is connected to the corewire (3) at a solder joint (17), the solder joint (17) extending from about 0.5% to 25% of the coil length (length of 5, see Fig. 2 and para. 0024 – core shaft 3 comprises a distal coil 5 connected at tin-zinc based solder joint 17 that extends only a small amount of the length of distal coil 5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the brazed joint taught by modified Willard be a solder joint as taught by Yonezawa. The motivation for this modification is that Yonezawa teaches a solder joint made from a tin-zinc combination which provides sufficient joining strength and can be easily used no matter the material of the core shaft and the coil body (see para. 0005-0006 and 0009).
Claim(s) 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Willard in view of Forman as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Divino, Jr. et al. (U.S Patent No. 6676900 B1, “Divino”).
Regarding claim 12, modified Willard discloses the catheter of claim 1, as discussed above.
However, modified Willard fails to disclose (Claim 12) the corewire comprises two or more outwardly extending wings along at least a portion of its length to limit radial movement of the corewire within the shaft of the tube.
Divino discloses a vascular catheter system, wherein Divino teaches a line (76) slidably positioned within lumen (74), wherein the line (76) comprises one or more outwardly extending wings (72) along at least a portion of the line’s (76) length to limit radial movement of the line (76) within the lumen (74, see Fig. 4-4a and Col. 12, lines 19-29).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the corewire taught by modified Willard to incorporate the two or more outwardly extending wings as taught by Divino. The motivation for this modification is that Divino teaches the inclusion of wings on the guidewire help to orient the distal end within the lumen which is especially helpful if it is a stiffer material (see Col. 12, lines 19-33).
Claim(s) 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Willard in view of Forman as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Alexander et al. (U.S Patent Pub. No. 20230309842 A1, “Alexander”).
Regarding claim 15, modified Willard discloses the catheter of claim 1, as discussed above.
However, modified Willard fails to disclose (Claim 15) the tube further comprises a pressure sensor configured to read a pressure external to the tube.
Alexander discloses a vascular, balloon catheter comprising a pressure sensor for sensing blood pressure, wherein Alexander teaches (Claim 15) the tube (304) further comprises a pressure sensor (310a) configured to read a pressure external to the tube (304, see Fig. 3a and para. 0079-0080).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the catheter taught by modified Willard to incorporate a pressure sensor as taught by Alexander such that the inflation of the balloon can be optimized based upon the sensed blood pressure information to achieve a desired degree of occlusion (see para. 0005 and 0080-0081).
Claim(s) 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Willard in view of Forman as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Cook et al. (U.S Patent Pub. No. 20210244473 A1, “Cook”) in view of Ainsworth et al. (U.S Patent No. 7532920 B1, “Ainsworth”).
Regarding claim 16, modified Willard discloses the catheter of claim 1, as discussed above.
However, modified Willard fails to disclose (Claim 16) the corewire comprises an optical fiber pressure sensor that is exposed in the interior of the balloon.
Cook discloses a vascular balloon catheter comprising an optical fiber for sensing pressure in the interior of the balloon, wherein Cook teaches (Claim 16) an optical fiber pressure sensor (258) that is exposed in the interior (246) of the balloon (204, see Fig. 2 and para. 0103 and 0106).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the catheter taught by modified Willard to incorporate an optical fiber sensor as taught by Cook such that the balloon pressure can be monitored to provide valuable information to the user or operator as to performance, reliability, and safety of the catheter system (see para. 0041 and 0075).
However, modified Willard does not explicitly disclose that the corewire comprises the optical fiber pressure sensor. Examiner notes Cook discloses the pressure sensing assembly can be positioned at any appropriate position within the catheter system for sensing balloon pressure (see para. 0041), and Cook illustrates in Fig. 2 that the pressure sensing assembly (242) including fiber optical sensor (258) are adjacent a guidewire lumen (218) within the balloon interior (246).
Ainsworth discloses a guidewire comprising an integral optical fiber for pressure sensing, wherein Ainsworth teaches (Claim 16) a corewire (10) comprising an optical fiber pressure sensor (30, see Fig. 1 and Col. 3, lines 35-41 and Col.4, lines 23-35). Examiner notes the optical fiber (30) can be used to sense pressure when used in a stent delivery system to optimize dilation of the stent (see Col.4, lines 32-35), and thus would be relevant in optimizing the inflation or deflation of a balloon in a similar manner.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the corewire and optical fiber pressure sensor as taught by modified Willard to have the corewire comprise the optical fiber pressure sensor as taught Ainsworth such that a singular device can be used both during the diagnostic and therapeutic phase for sensing and treatment of the patient without having to switch between systems (see Col. 1, lines 48-55) and allows a physician to optimize treatment decisions (see Col.4, lines 10-22).
Claim(s) 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Willard in view of Forman as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Salerno (WO Patent Pub. No. 2020/157648 A1).
Regarding claim 17, modified Willard discloses the catheter of claim 1, as discussed above.
However, modified Willard fails to disclose (Claim 17) the proximal hub comprises a flow meter.
Salerno discloses a vascular catheter having flow measuring capabilities, wherein Salerno teaches (Claim 17) the proximal hub (10) comprises a flow meter (76, see para. 0135).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the proximal hub taught by modified Willard to incorporate a flow meter as taught by Salerno. The motivation for this modification is that Salerno teaches the inclusion of a flow meter allows for information on fluid flow to be obtained in the fluid paths (see para. 0135).
Claim(s) 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ogle in view of Willard.
Regarding claim 18, Ogle discloses the limitations of (Claim 18) a system (650) for clot removal from a bodily vessel comprising (see para. 0099), the balloon/infusion catheter (652, balloon/infusion catheter 652 is described in depth with embodiments of Figs. 1-22, examiner is interpreting catheter 652 as the embodiment of catheter 180 in Figs. 4-7); a guide catheter (654); and an aspiration catheter (656) having a length (see Fig. 25 for length of aspiration catheter 656), wherein the aspiration catheter (656) can be configured to pass through the guide catheter (654) with a distal section (distal section of 656) with an aspiration port (distal opening of 656) extending distally from the guide catheter (654, see Fig. 25 and para. 0099 – aspiration catheter 656 sits within guide catheter 654 with distal opening of 656 extending outside 654), and wherein the balloon/infusion (652) can pass through the length of the aspiration catheter (656) to have the balloon (balloon of 652) of the balloon/infusion catheter (652) and one or more infusion ports (infusion ports of 652) of the balloon/infusion catheter (652) extending distally from the aspiration catheter (656, see Fig. 25, see para. 0099 – balloon/infusion catheter 652 is being interpreted with the structure of catheter 180, catheter 652 sits within aspiration catheter 656 with balloon and infusion ports extending distally from 656, the system 650 can be any combination thereof of the catheters disclosed to meet particular therapeutic means).
With respect to “the balloon/infusion catheter of claim 1”, Ogle discloses a balloon/infusion catheter (180, see Fig. 4-7) comprising: a corewire (188) comprising a shaft, a distal landing structure (see Fig. 6 and para. 0075 – distal end 198 of wire 188 can be secured at the end of lumen 192 and thus the portion of wire 188 secured to the distal end of balloon 186 is interpreted as the distal landing structure); a tube (182) comprising a shaft with a single lumen (192, see Fig. 6), a proximal end, and a distal end (see Fig. 6 for ends of tube 182), and one or more infusion ports (196) near the distal end (see Fig. 6 and para. 0075), wherein the corewire (188) extends through the tube (182) and wherein a gap between the corewire (188) and a wall of the tube (182) allows fluid to flow through the single lumen (192, see para. 0075); a balloon (186) comprising a polymer sleeve (material of 186) in a fixed sealing engagement, the fixed sealing engagement having at a first sealed end with the tube (182) and at a second sealed end with the distal landing structure such that a sealed enclosure is formed spanning between the distal end of the tube (182) and the distal landing structure (see para. 0095 for polymer sleeve, see para. 0009 and 0075 – balloon 186 has a fixed sealing engagement between distal end of tube 182 and a section of the wire 188 interpreted as the distal landing structure such that a sealed enclosure is formed for inflating/deflating balloon 186); and a proximal hub (190) attached around the proximal end of the tube (182) in a sealed configuration (see para. 0009), the proximal hub (190) comprising a wall, a connector (connector of 190) forming a continuous lumen through the proximal hub (190) extending the single lumen (192) of the tube (182, see para. 0009), wherein the connector (connector of 190) establishes a fluid channel from an opening (distal opening of 190) into the connector (connector of 190) to an interior of the balloon (186) and to one or more infusion ports (196) of the tube (192, see para. 0009).
While the embodiment of Fig. 4-7 of Ogle discloses the corewire (188) as a fixed wire (see para. 0075), examiner notes that several similar embodiments of Ogle such as Fig. 14’s corewire (356, see para 0083) or Fig. 16 discloses a corewire (404) as optionally a fixed or slidable corewire wherein the proximal end of the corewire (404) would extend out of the proximal hub for manipulation (see para. 0085). However, Ogle fails to disclose the limitations of a corewire comprising a proximal lever, translation of the corewire corresponds to relative movement of the first sealed end and the second sealed end of the balloon, and the proximal hub comprising a corewire slide, wherein the corewire slide comprises a distal stop and a proximal stop that are configured to engage the proximal lever of the corewire at corresponding positions of the corewire relative to the tube to limit the range of relative positions of the corewire with the corewire free to slide within the tube between the proximal stop and the distal stop.
Willard teaches a balloon/infusion catheter (see Fig. 13-16) comprising: a corewire (132) comprising a proximal lever (170, see Fig. 13 and Col.12, lines 26-41 – examiner notes the proximal lever is interpreted as an elongated structure pivoting off or protruding from the proximal portion of the corewire, stop member 170 is a bent portion pivoted off the proximal end of core 132 and is interpreted as the proximal lever); translation of the corewire (132) corresponds to relative movement of the first sealed end (186) and the second sealed end (182) of the balloon (180, see Col.15, lines 7-21 and lines 34-38); the proximal hub (140) comprising a corewire slide (examiner notes the corewire slide is being interpreted as any structure controlling the translation of the corewire, see Fig. 13 and Col.12, lines 1-19 and lines 26-28 and Col.15, lines 9-17 – corewire slide is being interpreted as the structures within manifold assembly 140 such as the housing 142, slot insert 162, stops 165 and 166 which together allow the operator to control the translation of the corewire), wherein the corewire slide comprises a distal stop (166) and a proximal stop (165) that are configured to engage the proximal lever (170) of the corewire (132) at corresponding positions of the corewire (132) relative to the tube (130) to limit the range of relative positions of the corewire (132) with the corewire (132) free to slide within the tube (130) between the proximal stop (165) and the distal stop (166, see Fig. 14 and Col.12, lines 26-37 and Col.15, lines 9-17 – corewire slide is being interpreted as the structures within manifold assembly 140 such as the housing 142, slot insert 162, stops 165 and 166 which together allow the operator to control the translation of the corewire).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the balloon/infusion catheter taught by Ogle to incorporate a slidable corewire with a proximal lever and a corewire slide as taught by the balloon/infusion catheter of Willard. The balloon/infusion catheter of Willard provides an improved dilating catheter which can navigate very tight stenoses by having a balloon system that can substantially reduce its profile through the use of a slidable corewire (see Col. 2, lines 57-68). Thus, in a clot removal system such as Ogle, the balloon/infusion catheter would incorporate the components of Willard discussed above to provide a balloon/infusion catheter that is more advantageous for navigating tight lumens caused by stenoses or clots.
Claim(s) 27 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Willard in view of Forman in view of Salerno.
Regarding claim 27, Willard discloses (Claim 27) a balloon/infusion catheter (see Fig. 13-16) comprising: a corewire (132) comprising a distal landing structure (see Fig. 14 and Col.13, lines 40-41 – distal portion 182 of balloon 180 is bonded to core zone 132e of core 132, the segment of core zone 132e having the bond being interpreted as the distal landing structure); a tube (130) comprising a shaft (shaft of 130) with a single lumen (lumen of 130, see Fig. 14 and Col. 11, lines 52-55), a proximal end (proximal end of 130, see Fig. 13), and a distal end (distal end of 130, see Fig. 14), wherein the corewire (132) extends through the tube (130) and wherein a gap (131) between the corewire (132) and a wall of the tube (130) allows fluid to flow through the single lumen (lumen of 130, see Fig. 13-14 and Col.12, lines 52-59); a balloon (180) comprising a polymer sleeve in a sealing engagement at a first sealed end (186) with the tube (130) and at a second sealed end (182) with the distal landing structure such that a sealed interior is in fluid communication with the single lumen (lumen of 130) of the tube (130, see Fig. 14 and Col. 13, lines 31-34 for polymer sleeve, see Col.14, lines 1-3 for first sealed end 186, see Col.13, lines 40-42 for second sealed end 182 and distal landing structure, see Col.12, lines 52-59 – for sealed interior and fluid communication); a proximal hub (140) attached around the proximal end (proximal end of 130) of the tube (130) in a sealed configuration (see Fig. 13 and Col. 12, lines 1-14), the proximal hub (140) comprising a wall (wall of 160) and a connector (fitting 170) forming a continuous lumen through the proximal hub (140) extending the single lumen (lumen of 130) of the tube (130, see Fig. 13 and Col.12, lines 1-19 and lines 26-28 for corewire slide 160, see Col.12, lines 52-61 – examiner notes the reference numeral is used twice in the reference Willard to denote both the stop member 170 and pressure fitting 170, for clarity examiner will refer to the connector as fitting 170) and wherein the connector (fitting 170) establishes a fluid channel from an opening (distal opening of fitting 170) into the connector (fitting 170) to the sealed interior of the balloon (180, see Fig. 13-14 and Col.12, lines 52-59).
However, Willard fails to disclose the limitations (Claim 27) one or more infusion ports near the distal end of the tube, and wherein the connector establishes a fluid channel from an opening into the connector to the one or more infusion ports of the tube; and a flow meter, wherein the flow meter is configured to provide a value related to a flow rate through the single lumen of the tube.
Forman discloses a guidewire (250 in Fig. 1) having an internal lumen (252 in Fig. 1) for inflation of a balloon (264 in Fig. 1) and for drug delivery used in procedures such as percutaneous transluminal coronary angioplasty (PTCA, see Fig. 1 and Col.4, lines 26-30 and 43-50), wherein Forman teaches (Claim 1) one or more infusion ports (263 in Fig. 1) near the distal end of the tube (251, see Fig. 1 and Col.4, lines 43-50), and wherein the connector (261 in Fig. 1) establishes a fluid channel from an opening (proximal opening of 261) into the connector (261) to the sealed interior of the balloon (264) and to the one or more infusion ports (263) of the tube (251, see Fig.1 and Col. 4, lines 43-50).
Since Willard discloses a guidewire (see Fig. 14) having a tube (130) with an annular lumen (131) for inflating balloon (180) for use in PTCA procedures (see Col.11, lines 44-48 and Col.12, lines 52-59), and Forman discloses a guidewire (250 in Fig. 1) having a tube (251) with a singular lumen (252) for both inflation of the balloon (180) and infusion through the one or more ports (263), it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the outer tube of Willard to incorporate one or more infusion ports as taught by Forman. Forman teaches providing infusion alongside occlusion for PTCA procedures allows for drugs to be infused that aid in preventing restenosis. Further, providing infusion ports proximally of an occlusion balloon for PTCA procedures allows the drug to first inflate the balloon for occlusion and then infuse the drug which is now maintained in the proximity of the site by the occluding balloon (see Col.4, lines 43-60).
However, modified Willard fails to disclose the limitation (Claim 27) a flow meter, wherein the flow meter is configured to provide a value related to a flow rate through the single lumen of tube.
Salerno teaches (Claim 27) a flow meter (76), wherein the flow meter (76) is configured to provide a value related to a flow rate through the single lumen (11) of the tube (20, see para. 0079 and 0135 – single lumen of catheter shaft 20 splits into three handle paths 11, 12, and 13 which flow meter 76 monitors).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the catheter taught by modified Willard incorporate a flow meter as taught by Salerno to provide a value related to a flow rate through the single lumen of the tube of modified Willard. The motivation for this modification is that Salerno teaches the inclusion of a flow meter allows for information on fluid flow to be obtained in the fluid paths (see para. 0135).
Regarding claim 28, modified Willard discloses the catheter of claim 27, as discussed above. In modified Willard, Willard discloses (Claim 28) wherein the proximal hub (140) further comprises a corewire slide (examiner notes the corewire slide is being interpreted as any structure controlling the translation of the corewire, see Fig. 13 and Col.12, lines 26-28 and Col.15, lines 9-17 – corewire slide is being interpreted as the structures within manifold assembly 140 such as the housing 142, slot insert 162, stops 165 and 166 which together allow the operator to control the translation of the corewire), the corewire slide comprising a distal stop (166) and a proximal stop (165) wherein the distal stop (166) and the proximal stop (165) are configured to engage the proximal lever (170) of the corewire (132) at corresponding positions of the corewire (132) relative to the tube (130) to limit the range of relative positions of the corewire (132) with the corewire (132) free to slide within the tube (130) between the proximal stop (165) and the distal stop (166, see Fig. 14 and Col.12, lines 26-37 and Col.15, lines 9-17 – corewire slide is being interpreted as the structures within manifold assembly 140 such as the housing 142, slot insert 162, stops 165 and 166 which together allow the operator to control the translation of the corewire).
Claim(s) 29 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Willard in view of Forman in view of Salerno as applied to claim 27 above, and further in view of Silverton et al. (U.S Patent Pub. No. 2020/0205718 A1, “Silverton”).
Regarding claim 29, modified Willard discloses the catheter of claim 27, as discussed above. In modified Willard, Salerno discloses the limitation of (Claim 29) the flow meter (76).
However, modified Willard fails to disclose (Claim 29) the flow meter comprises an optical fiber with a Bragg Grating and an LED within the proximal hub.
Silverton discloses a urinary catheter comprising an oxygen and flow sensing assembly for sensing characteristics of fluids such as blood, wherein Silverton teaches (Claim 29) the flow meter (122) comprises an optical fiber (132) with a Bragg grating and an LED within the proximal hub (104, see para. 0036 – the flowrate sensor 122 and oxygen sensor 120 may be combined into a single sensor located in the proximal assembly 104, see para. 0038 – the combined sensor may include an optical fiber 132 with a Bragg grating sensor for sensing pressure, see para. 0070 – the combined sensor may comprise an LED light source).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the flow meter taught by modified Willard to incorporate an optical fiber with a Bragg grating and LED as taught by Silverton. The motivation for this modification is that Silverton teaches incorporating a Fiber Bragg grating sensor into a combined oxygen and flow meter allows for sensing various different parameters such as temperature, pressure, and strain and can improve the signal quality of the optical fiber (see para. 0038) and incorporating an LED provides light sensing capabilities for sensing parameters within the flowing fluid. Thus, the flow meter of modified Willard would be modified to incorporate an optical fiber with the Bragg grating and an LED to provide a more versatile flow sensor that can sense various different parameters including flow and has improved signal quality.
Conclusion
/KAYLA M. TURKOWSKI/Examiner, Art Unit 3783 /COURTNEY B FREDRICKSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783