DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the amendment filed 6/10/2025 in which Claims 1-47 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/21/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues, on pages 13-14, that the combination of Sang and Wood is improper the proposed combination of the optical fibers of Wood with the system of Sang would change the principal operation of the system of Sang and render the system of Sang unsuitable for its intended purpose. Examiner disagrees and points to Sang’s teaching that the plurality of the leak detection sensor nodes 110 installed on the underground pipe 10 (see ¶ 0041). Wood teaches optical signal conduit 60 also includes a segment 66 within the pipe section 34, a segment 68 within the pipe section 36, and a segment 70 within the pipe section 38. Watertight optical signal transfer fittings 72 and 74 [node] are provided in the water main 20 on either side of valve 24 to permit transfer of signals between segments 62 and 66 of the optical signal conduit 60 by way of a bypass segment 76…water-tight optical signal transfer fittings 78 and 80 are provided on either side of valve 26 to permit communication between segment 66 and a segment 82, and between the segment 68 and a segment 84 (see ¶ 0019). Examiner reasonably construes that the nodes in Sang form communication channels that extend along the piping infrastructure and Wood teaches segments of pipe having optical conduit connected by optical signal transfer fittings which permit transfer of signals in the upstream and downstream direction.
Applicant argues, on page 14, that there is nothing in Sang that discloses, teaches or suggests using a non-wireless mode of transmission. Examiner disagrees and points to Sang’s teaching that the plurality of the leak detection sensor nodes 110 installed on the underground pipe 10 (see ¶ 0041). Examiner reasonably construes that the nodes in Sang form communication channels that extend along the piping infrastructure and Wood teaches segments of pipe having optical conduit connected by optical signal transfer fittings which permit transfer of signals in the upstream and downstream direction.
Applicant argues, on page 16, that changing the wireless communication system of Sang to a fiber system as disclosed in Wood would clearly change the principal of operation of the wireless network of Sang and the proposed combination of Sang and Wood has not been shown to form a proper prima facie case of obviousness with respect to claim 1. Examiner disagrees and points to Sang’s teaching that the plurality of the leak detection sensor nodes 110 installed on the underground pipe 10 (see ¶ 0041). Wood teaches optical signal conduit 60 also includes a segment 66 within the pipe section 34, a segment 68 within the pipe section 36, and a segment 70 within the pipe section 38. Watertight optical signal transfer fittings 72 and 74 [node] are provided in the water main 20 on either side of valve 24 to permit transfer of signals between segments 62 and 66 of the optical signal conduit 60 by way of a bypass segment 76…water-tight optical signal transfer fittings 78 and 80 are provided on either side of valve 26 to permit communication between segment 66 and a segment 82, and between the segment 68 and a segment 84 (see ¶ 0019). Examiner reasonably construes that the nodes in Sang form communication channels that extend along the piping infrastructure and Wood teaches segments of pipe having optical conduit connected by optical signal transfer fittings which permit transfer of signals in the upstream and downstream direction.
Applicant argues, on page 16, that there is no rational underpinning for the proposed combination of the fiber optic system of Wood with the wireless system of Sang. Examiner disagrees and points to Sang’s teaching that the plurality of the leak detection sensor nodes 110 installed on the underground pipe 10 (see ¶ 0041). Wood teaches optical signal conduit 60 also includes a segment 66 within the pipe section 34, a segment 68 within the pipe section 36, and a segment 70 within the pipe section 38. Watertight optical signal transfer fittings 72 and 74 [node] are provided in the water main 20 on either side of valve 24 to permit transfer of signals between segments 62 and 66 of the optical signal conduit 60 by way of a bypass segment 76…water-tight optical signal transfer fittings 78 and 80 are provided on either side of valve 26 to permit communication between segment 66 and a segment 82, and between the segment 68 and a segment 84 (see ¶ 0019). Examiner reasonably construes that the nodes in Sang form communication channels that extend along the piping infrastructure and Wood teaches segments of pipe having optical conduit connected by optical signal transfer fittings which permit transfer of signals in the upstream and downstream direction.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7, 18, 23-24, 27, 29, 30, 34-38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over European Patent Publication 2,819,332 to Sang et al (“Sang”) in view of U.S. Patent Publication 2002/0130306 to Wood.
As to Claim 1, Sang teaches a fluid distribution system comprising: a longitudinally extending piping infrastructure; a plurality of nodes located along the piping infrastructure (the plurality of the leak detection sensor nodes 110 [plurality of nodes] are installed on the underground pipe 10, see ¶ 0041; Fig. 1: 10, 110-1 to 110-N); and communication channels along the piping infrastructure and communicating with the nodes (The leak detection sensor nodes 110 may link the specific network node 120 with a first communication protocol to transmit the sound pressure of the pipe 10 to the specific network node 120, see ¶ 0046; the network node 120 may be linked to the leak detection sensor nodes 110 at a maximum distance (e.g., 500 meters) with the first communication protocol to receive the sound pressure of the pipe 10 measured by the leak detection sensor nodes 110 [communication channels extending along the infrastructure and communicating with the nodes], or to transmit a command received from the leak detection control node 140 to the sensor nodes 110. The first communication protocol may be a RF (Radio Frequency) communication, see ¶ 0050), the nodes configured to permit multi-hop routing of messages between nodes along the piping infrastructure (The network node 120 may perform a MULTI-HOP communication between a specific leak detection sensor node 110 and the leak detection control node 140 to determine a next node based on path reliability or an instant throughput at a current time, see ¶ 0056);
Sang does not expressly disclose wherein: the communication channels comprise optical fibers that extend along the piping infrastructure, each optical fiber extending between two respective nodes of the plurality of nodes such that each node includes an upstream optical fiber arraignment and a downstream optical fiber arraignment; the optical fibers configured to permit multi-hop routing of messages between nodes along the piping infrastructure.
Wood teaches wherein: the communication channels comprise optical fibers that extend along the piping infrastructure (The water main 20 includes valves 22, 24, 26, 28, 30, and so forth that permit pipe sections 32, 34, 36, 38, and so forth to be isolated from one another, see ¶ 0017; Optical signals are transferred through the wall of pipe section 32 for communication between the segment 58 and a segment 62 of the optical signal conduit 60 that lies within pipe section 32, see ¶ 0018), each optical fiber extending between two respective nodes of the plurality of nodes such that each node includes an upstream optical fiber arrangement and a downstream optical fiber arrangement; the optical fibers configured to permit multi-hop routing of messages between nodes along the piping infrastructure (optical signal conduit 60 also includes a segment 66 within the pipe section 34, a segment 68 within the pipe section 36, and a segment 70 within the pipe section 38. Watertight optical signal transfer fittings 72 and 74 [node] are provided in the water main 20 on either side of valve 24 to permit transfer of signals between segments 62 and 66 of the optical signal conduit 60 by way of a bypass segment 76…water-tight optical signal transfer fittings 78 and 80 are provided on either side of valve 26 to permit communication between segment 66 and a segment 82, and between the segment 68 and a segment 84, see ¶ 0019. Examiner construes that the fibers provided on one side of the respective fitting, e.g. node, is in an upstream direction and fibers provided on the other side of the respective fitting, e.g. node, is in a downstream direction and that the optical fibers permit transfer of signals in a multi-hop fashion between fittings, e.g. nodes, along the piping infrastructure).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Sang with Wood to teach wherein: the communication channels comprise optical fibers that extend along the piping infrastructure, each optical fiber extending between two respective nodes of the plurality of nodes such that each node includes an upstream optical fiber arraignment and a downstream optical fiber arraignment; the optical fibers configured to permit multi-hop routing of messages between nodes along the piping infrastructure. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to provide a fiber-optic communication system that allows high-bandwidth communications between components of an irrigation machine (see ¶ 0007).
As to Claim 2, Sang and Wood depending on Claim 1, Sang teaches wherein: the nodes are configured to operate in a daisy chain topology to implement said multi-hop routing (The network node 120 may perform a MULTI-HOP communication between a specific leak detection sensor node 110 and the leak detection control node 140 to determine a next node based on path reliability or an instant throughput at a current time, see ¶ 0056).
Wood teaches the optical fibers are configured to operate in a daisy chain topology to implement said multi-hop routing (optical signal conduit 60 also includes a segment 66 within the pipe section 34, a segment 68 within the pipe section 36, and a segment 70 within the pipe section 38. Watertight optical signal transfer fittings 72 and 74 [node] are provided in the water main 20 on either side of valve 24 to permit transfer of signals between segments 62 and 66 of the optical signal conduit 60 by way of a bypass segment 76…water-tight optical signal transfer fittings 78 and 80 are provided on either side of valve 26 to permit communication between segment 66 and a segment 82, and between the segment 68 and a segment 84, see ¶ 0019. Examiner construes that the fibers provided on one side of the respective fitting, e.g. node, is in an upstream direction and fibers provided on the other side of the respective fitting, e.g. node, is in a downstream direction and that the optical fibers permit transfer of signals in a daisy chain fashion between fittings, e.g. nodes, along the piping infrastructure).
As to Claim 3, Sang and Wood depending on Claim 1, Sang teaches wherein the messages comprise: commands for activating valves along the piping infrastructure; and/or sensed information collected from devices positioned along the piping infrastructure (the network node 120 may be linked to the leak detection sensor nodes 110 at a maximum distance (e.g., 500 meters) with the first communication protocol to receive the sound pressure of the pipe 10 measured by the leak detection sensor nodes 110 [sensed information collected from devices positioned along the infrastructure], or to transmit a command received from the leak detection control node 140 to the sensor nodes 110. The first communication protocol may be a RF (Radio Frequency) communication, see ¶ 0050).
As to Claim 4, Sang and Wood depending on Claim 3, Sang teaches wherein said devices are comprised in nodes (the network node 120 may be linked to the leak detection sensor nodes 110 at a maximum distance (e.g., 500 meters) with the first communication protocol to receive the sound pressure of the pipe 10 measured by the leak detection sensor nodes 110, or to transmit a command received from the leak detection control node 140 to the sensor nodes 110, see ¶ 0050).
As to Claim 5, Sang and Wood depending on Claim 1, Sang teaches wherein: the nodes are arranged in a linear bus topology and are connected by the optical fibers one after the other in a sequential chain (The network node 120 may perform a MULTI-HOP communication between a specific leak detection sensor node 110 and the leak detection control node 140 to determine a next node based on path reliability or an instant throughput at a current time, see ¶ 0056).
As to Claim 6, Sang and Wood depending on Claim 1, Sang teaches wherein: the optical fibers and nodes are configured to permit multi-hop routing in both downstream and upstream directions along the piping infrastructure (optical signal conduit 60 also includes a segment 66 within the pipe section 34, a segment 68 within the pipe section 36, and a segment 70 within the pipe section 38. Watertight optical signal transfer fittings 72 and 74 [node] are provided in the water main 20 on either side of valve 24 to permit transfer of signals between segments 62 and 66 of the optical signal conduit 60 by way of a bypass segment 76…water-tight optical signal transfer fittings 78 and 80 are provided on either side of valve 26 to permit communication between segment 66 and a segment 82, and between the segment 68 and a segment 84, see ¶ 0019. Examiner construes that the fibers provided on one side of the respective fitting, e.g. node, is in an upstream direction and fibers provided on the other side of the respective fitting, e.g. node, is in a downstream direction and that the optical fibers permit transfer of signals in a daisy chain fashion between fittings, e.g. nodes, along the piping infrastructure).
As to Claim 7, Sang and Wood depending on Claim 1, Sang teaches wherein: the nodes are configured to be in an inactive sleep mode until being activated by an incoming message comprising a wakeup signal (the leak detection sensor nodes 110 switch from the sleep mode to the standby mode at a specific period time as determined by the leak detection control node 140, and can then check whether the command measuring the sound pressure of the underground pipe 10 occurs from the leak detection control node 140, see ¶ 0077).
As to Claim 18, Sang and Wood depending on Claim 1, Sang teaches wherein: at least some of the nodes each comprises at least one intermediate component (IC); messages communicated towards and/or away from said each node must first pass through said at least one intermediate component (the leak detection control node 140 may form a plurality of AD-HOC networks (e.g., a plurality of AD-HOC networks may correspond to a first, second and third AD-HOC networks) to perform a communication with the gateway 130 and the network node 120… the leak detection control node 140 may form a first AD-HOC network with a plurality of gateways 130-1,130 -2,..., 130 -N to perform communication and may form a second AD-HOC network with a plurality of network nodes 120-1,120-2,..., 120-N linked with the plurality of the gateways 130-1,130 -2,..., 130 -N to perform communication, see ¶ 0063).
As to Claim 23, Sang teaches a method for providing and operating a communication network along a fluid distribution system; the method comprising: providing a longitudinally extending piping infrastructure for fluid distribution (the plurality of the leak detection sensor nodes 110 [plurality of nodes] are installed on the underground pipe 10, see ¶ 0041; Fig. 1: 10, 110-1 to 110-N),
Sang does not expressly disclose the communication network having an upstream end and a downstream end, providing a plurality of spaced apart nodes along the piping infrastructure; interconnecting the nodes with optical fibers; and multi-hop routing messages between the nodes, via the optical fibers; and multi-hop routing messages between the nodes, via the optical fibers.
Wood teaches the communication network having an upstream end and a downstream end, providing a plurality of spaced apart nodes along the piping infrastructure; interconnecting the nodes with optical fibers; and multi-hop routing messages between the nodes, via the optical fibers; and multi-hop routing messages between the nodes, via the optical fibers (optical signal conduit 60 also includes a segment 66 within the pipe section 34, a segment 68 within the pipe section 36, and a segment 70 within the pipe section 38. Watertight optical signal transfer fittings 72 and 74 [node] are provided in the water main 20 on either side of valve 24 to permit transfer of signals between segments 62 and 66 of the optical signal conduit 60 [interconnecting nodes with optical fibers] by way of a bypass segment 76…water-tight optical signal transfer fittings 78 and 80 are provided on either side of valve 26 to permit communication between segment 66 and a segment 82, and between the segment 68 and a segment 84, see ¶ 0019. Examiner construes that the fibers provided on one side of the respective fitting, e.g. node, is in an upstream direction and fibers provided on the other side of the respective fitting, e.g. node, is in a downstream direction and that the optical fibers permit transfer of signals in a multi-hop fashion between fittings, e.g. nodes, along the piping infrastructure).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Sang with Wood to teach the communication network having an upstream end and a downstream end, providing a plurality of spaced apart nodes along the piping infrastructure; interconnecting the nodes with optical fibers; and multi-hop routing messages between the nodes, via the optical fibers; and multi-hop routing messages between the nodes, via the optical fibers. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to provide a fiber-optic communication system that allows high-bandwidth communications between components of an irrigation machine (see ¶ 0007).
As to Claim 24, Sang and Wood depending on Claim 23, Sang teaches connecting the nodes in a daisy-chain topology (optical signal conduit 60 also includes a segment 66 within the pipe section 34, a segment 68 within the pipe section 36, and a segment 70 within the pipe section 38. Watertight optical signal transfer fittings 72 and 74 [node] are provided in the water main 20 on either side of valve 24 to permit transfer of signals between segments 62 and 66 of the optical signal conduit 60 by way of a bypass segment 76…water-tight optical signal transfer fittings 78 and 80 are provided on either side of valve 26 to permit communication between segment 66 and a segment 82, and between the segment 68 and a segment 84, see ¶ 0019. Examiner construes that the fibers provided on one side of the respective fitting, e.g. node, is in an upstream direction and fibers provided on the other side of the respective fitting, e.g. node, is in a downstream direction and that the optical fibers permit transfer of signals in a daisy chain fashion between fittings, e.g. nodes, along the piping infrastructure).
As to Claim 27, Sang and Wood depending on Claim 23, Sang teaches spacing apart adjacent nodes along the piping infrastructure by about 100 meters (the gateway 130 may transceiver data with the network node 120 in a maximum distance of 100m, see ¶ 0061).
As to Claim 29, Sang and Wood depending on Claim 23, Sang teaches wherein each message communicated along the communication network comprises less than about 4000 bits of information (When the distance between the at least one network node 120 is about 100, the number of a hopping between the at least one network node 120 through the MULTI-HOP may be about 2 and the number of the at least one network node 120 linked by the MULTI-HOP may be about 10, the instant throughput [bits of information] at a current time may correspond to 5000, see ¶ 0084; when the number of the hopping between the at least one network node 120 through the MULTI-HOP is the same with about 5, assuming that the transmission speed of the at least one network node 120 is about 10, the distance between the at least one network node 120 is about 100 and the number of the at least one network node 120 linked by the MULTI-HOP is about 10, the instant throughput [bits of information] at a current time may correspond to 2000, see ¶ 0086).
As to Claim 30, Sang and Wood depending on Claim 23, Sang teaches multi-hopping no more than 20 message per day (When the distance between the at least one network node 120 is about 100, the number of a hopping between the at least one network node 120 through the MULTI-HOP may be about 2 and the number of the at least one network node 120 linked by the MULTI-HOP may be about 10, the instant throughput at a current time may correspond to 5000, see ¶ 0084; when the number of the hopping between the at least one network node 120 through the MULTI-HOP is the same with about 5, assuming that the transmission speed of the at least one network node 120 is about 10, the distance between the at least one network node 120 is about 100 and the number of the at least one network node 120 linked by the MULTI-HOP is about 10, the instant throughput at a current time may correspond to 2000, see ¶ 0086).
As to Claim 34, Sang teaches a control system for controlling operations along a longitudinally extending piping infrastructure of a fluid distribution system, the control system comprising: a plurality of nodes located along the piping infrastructure (the plurality of the leak detection sensor nodes 110 [plurality of nodes] are installed on the underground pipe 10, see ¶ 0041; Fig. 1: 10, 110-1 to 110-N);
Sang does not expressly disclose communication channels comprising optical fibers that extend along the piping infrastructure and communicating with the nodes for permitting multi-hop routing of messages between nodes along the piping infrastructure.
Wood teaches communication channels comprising optical fibers that extend along the piping infrastructure and communicating with the nodes for permitting multi-hop routing of messages between nodes along the piping infrastructure (optical signal conduit 60 also includes a segment 66 within the pipe section 34, a segment 68 within the pipe section 36, and a segment 70 within the pipe section 38. Watertight optical signal transfer fittings 72 and 74 [node] are provided in the water main 20 on either side of valve 24 to permit transfer of signals between segments 62 and 66 of the optical signal conduit 60 [interconnecting nodes with optical fibers] by way of a bypass segment 76…water-tight optical signal transfer fittings 78 and 80 are provided on either side of valve 26 to permit communication between segment 66 and a segment 82, and between the segment 68 and a segment 84, see ¶ 0019. Examiner construes that the optical fibers permit transfer of signals in a multi-hop fashion between fittings, e.g. nodes, along the piping infrastructure).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Sang with Wood to teach communication channels comprising optical fibers that extend along the piping infrastructure and communicating with the nodes for permitting multi-hop routing of messages between nodes along the piping infrastructure. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to provide a fiber-optic communication system that allows high-bandwidth communications between components of an irrigation machine (see ¶ 0007).
As to Claim 35, Sang and Wood depending on Claim 34, Sang teaches wherein the multi-hop routing is characterized by nodes using other nodes as relays in a daisy chain topology (The network node 120 may perform a MULTI-HOP communication between a specific leak detection sensor node 110 and the leak detection control node 140 to determine a next node based on path reliability or an instant throughput at a current time, see ¶ 0056).
As to Claim 36, Sang and Wood depending on Claim 34, Sang teaches wherein the messages comprise: commands for activating valves along the infrastructure; and/or sensed information collected from devices positioned along the piping infrastructure (the network node 120 may be linked to the leak detection sensor nodes 110 at a maximum distance (e.g., 500 meters) with the first communication protocol to receive the sound pressure of the pipe 10 measured by the leak detection sensor nodes 110 [sensed information collected from devices positioned along the infrastructure], or to transmit a command received from the leak detection control node 140 to the sensor nodes 110. The first communication protocol may be a RF (Radio Frequency) communication, see ¶ 0050).
As to Claim 37, Sang and Wood depending on Claim 36, Sang teaches wherein the devices are located at the nodes (the network node 120 may be linked to the leak detection sensor nodes 110 at a maximum distance (e.g., 500 meters) with the first communication protocol to receive the sound pressure of the pipe 10 measured by the leak detection sensor nodes 110 [sensed information collected from devices positioned along the infrastructure], or to transmit a command received from the leak detection control node 140 to the sensor nodes 110, see ¶ 0050).
As to Claim 38, Sang and Wood depending on Claim 34, Sang teaches wherein the longitudinally extending piping infrastructure is part of an irrigation system (the plurality of the leak detection sensor nodes 110 [plurality of nodes] are installed on the underground pipe 10, see ¶ 0041; Fig. 1: 10, 110-1 to 110-N).
Claim(s) 19, 20, 25, 26, 42 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over European Patent Publication 2,819,332 to Sang et al (“Sang”) in view of U.S. Patent Publication 2002/0130306 to Wood in further view of U.S. Patent Publication 2020/0404866 to Thatcher et al (“Thatcher”).
As to Claim 19, Sang and Wood depending on Claim 18, Sang and Wood do not expressly disclose wherein said least one intermediate component (IC) includes: an optical receiver and an optical transceiver on a downstream side of said each node; and an optical receiver and an optical transceiver on an upstream side of said each node. Thatcher teaches wherein said least one intermediate component (IC) includes: an optical receiver and an optical transceiver on a downstream side of said each node; and an optical receiver and an optical transceiver on an upstream side of said each node (fiber optic signals from the first fiber optic component 141 [optical receiver and optical transceiver on downstream side] are preferably further transmitted to at least one downstream fiber optic cable 138. The signal is then routed to a second fiber optic component 143 [optical receiver and optical transceiver on upstream side] which preferably splits the signal between a second fiber optical converter box 123 and at least one downstream fiber optic cable 140, see ¶ 0034).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Sang and Wood with Thatcher to teach wherein said least one intermediate component (IC) includes: an optical receiver and an optical transceiver on a downstream side of said each node; and an optical receiver and an optical transceiver on an upstream side of said each node. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to provide a fiber-optic communication system that allows high-bandwidth communications between components of an irrigation machine (see ¶ 0007).
As to Claim 20, Sang and Wood depending on Claim 18, Sang and Wood do not expressly disclose a bi-directional transceiver on both a downstream side and an upstream side, of said each node. Thatcher teaches a bi-directional transceiver on both a downstream side and an upstream side, of said each node (fiber optic signals from the first fiber optic component 141 [optical receiver and optical transceiver on downstream side] are preferably further transmitted to at least one downstream fiber optic cable 138. The signal is then routed to a second fiber optic component 143 [optical receiver and optical transceiver on upstream side] which preferably splits the signal between a second fiber optical converter box 123 and at least one downstream fiber optic cable 140, see ¶ 0034).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Sang and Wood with Thatcher to teach a bi-directional transceiver on both a downstream side and an upstream side, of said each node. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to provide a fiber-optic communication system that allows high-bandwidth communications between components of an irrigation machine (see ¶ 0007).
As to Claim 25, Sang and Wood depending on Claim 24, Sang and Wood do not expressly disclose a given message communicated downstream and arriving at the downstream end of the communication network triggers formation of a return message that is communicated back upstream. Thatcher teaches a given message communicated downstream and arriving at the downstream end of the communication network triggers formation of a return message that is communicated back upstream (fiber optic signals from the first fiber optic component 141 [optical receiver and optical transceiver on downstream side] are preferably further transmitted to at least one downstream fiber optic cable 138. The signal is then routed to a second fiber optic component 143 [optical receiver and optical transceiver on upstream side] which preferably splits the signal between a second fiber optical converter box 123 and at least one downstream fiber optic cable 140, see ¶ 0034).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Sang and Wood with Thatcher to teach a given message communicated downstream and arriving at the downstream end of the communication network triggers formation of a return message that is communicated back upstream. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to provide a fiber-optic communication system that allows high-bandwidth communications between components of an irrigation machine (see ¶ 0007).
As to Claim 26, Sang, Wood and Thatcher depending on Claim 25, Thatcher teaches wherein: an information capacity of the given message communicated downstream as measured at least adjacent the downstream end of the communication network is substantially equal to or less than an information capacity of the returning message as measured at least adjacent the upstream end of the communication network (fiber optic signals from the first fiber optic component 141 are preferably further transmitted to at least one downstream fiber optic cable 138. The signal is then routed to a second fiber optic component 143 which preferably splits the signal between a second fiber optical converter box 123 and at least one downstream fiber optic cable 140, see ¶ 0034).
As to Claim 42, Sang teaches a fluid distribution system comprising: a longitudinally extending piping infrastructure; a plurality of nodes located along the infrastructure (the plurality of the leak detection sensor nodes 110 [plurality of nodes] are installed on the underground pipe 10, see ¶ 0041; Fig. 1: 10, 110-1 to 110-N); wherein: at least some of the nodes each comprises at least one intermediate component (IC); messages communicated towards and/or away from said each node must first pass through said at least one intermediate component (the leak detection control node 140 may form a plurality of AD-HOC networks (e.g., a plurality of AD-HOC networks may correspond to a first, second and third AD-HOC networks) to perform a communication with the gateway 130 and the network node 120… the leak detection control node 140 may form a first AD-HOC network with a plurality of gateways 130-1,130 -2,..., 130 -N [intermediate component] to perform communication and may form a second AD-HOC network with a plurality of network nodes 120-1,120-2,..., 120-N linked with the plurality of the gateways 130-1,130 -2,..., 130 -N to perform communication, see ¶ 0063).
Sang does not expressly disclose communication channels comprising optical fibers that extend along the piping infrastructure and communicating with the nodes, the communication channels and nodes configured to permit multi-hop routing of messages between nodes along the infrastructure.
Wood teaches communication channels comprising optical fibers that extend along the piping infrastructure and communicating with the nodes, the communication channels and nodes configured to permit multi-hop routing of messages between nodes along the infrastructure (optical signal conduit 60 also includes a segment 66 within the pipe section 34, a segment 68 within the pipe section 36, and a segment 70 within the pipe section 38. Watertight optical signal transfer fittings 72 and 74 [node] are provided in the water main 20 on either side of valve 24 to permit transfer of signals between segments 62 and 66 of the optical signal conduit 60 [interconnecting nodes with optical fibers] by way of a bypass segment 76…water-tight optical signal transfer fittings 78 and 80 are provided on either side of valve 26 to permit communication between segment 66 and a segment 82, and between the segment 68 and a segment 84, see ¶ 0019. Examiner construes that the optical fibers permit transfer of signals in a multi-hop fashion between fittings, e.g. nodes, along the piping infrastructure).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Sang with Wood to teach communication channels comprising optical fibers that extend along the piping infrastructure and communicating with the nodes, the communication channels and nodes configured to permit multi-hop routing of messages between nodes along the infrastructure. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to provide a fiber-optic communication system that allows high-bandwidth communications between components of an irrigation machine (see ¶ 0007).
Sang and Wood do not expressly disclose the at least one intermediate component comprises an optical receiver.
Thatcher teaches the at least one intermediate component comprises an optical receiver (a fiber optic system including fiber optic cables and fiber optic components for transmitting signals throughout the irrigation system, see ¶ 0027).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Sang and Wood with Thatcher to teach the at least one intermediate component comprises an optical receiver.
The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to provide a fiber-optic communication system that allows high-bandwidth communications between components of an irrigation machine (see ¶ 0007).
Claim(s) 8-10, 21, 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over European Patent Publication 2,819,332 to Sang et al (“Sang”) in view of U.S. Patent Publication 2002/0130306 to Wood in further view of U.S. Patent 8,862,277 to Campbell et al (“Campbell”).
As to Claim 8, Sang and Wood depending on Claim 7, Sang and Wood do not expressly disclose wherein: the wakeup signal is characterized by an incoming message exceeding a minimum threshold level and/or complying with a pre-defined pattern. Campbell teaches wherein: the wakeup signal is characterized by an incoming message exceeding a minimum threshold level and/or complying with a pre-defined pattern (An operational mode that allows the wireless soil sensor 21 to wake up, measure soil moisture, and if a change in soil moisture from the last wirelessly reported measurement does not exceed a settable threshold, return to a sleep mode without sending data, see Col. 11, lines 53-57).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Sang and Wood with Campbell to teach wherein: the wakeup signal is characterized by an incoming message exceeding a minimum threshold level and/or complying with a pre-defined pattern. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to measure a change in soil moisture from the last wirelessly reported measurement (see Col. 11, lines 55-56).
As to Claim 9, Sang and Wood depending on Claim 7, Sang and Wood do not expressly disclose wherein: the wakeup signal is comprised in a preamble of the incoming message. Campbell teaches wherein: the wakeup signal is comprised in a preamble of the incoming message (it can be through a programming header in the battery or by some other wireless programming option, see Col. 11, lines 27-28).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Sang and Wood with Campbell to teach wherein: the wakeup signal is comprised in a preamble of the incoming message. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to measure a change in soil moisture from the last wirelessly reported measurement (see Col. 11, lines 55-56).
As to Claim 10, Sang and Wood depending on Claim 7, Sang teaches wherein: the nodes are configured to return to the substantial inactive sleep mode after completing one or more tasks performed in response to the incoming message (the leak detection sensor nodes 110 switch from the sleep mode to the standby mode at a specific period time as determined by the leak detection control node 140, and can then check whether the command measuring the sound pressure of the underground pipe 10 occurs from the leak detection control node 140. The leak detection sensor nodes 110 may switch from the standby mode to the operation mode when the command measuring the sound pressure was received to measure the sound pressure of the pipe 10 and may restore the standby mode to the sleep mode otherwise, see ¶ 0077).
As to Claim 21, Sang and Wood depending on Claim 18, Sang teaches when in said inactive sleep mode, said each node is triggered into an active mode in response to such a wakeup signal received at said at least one intermediate component (IC) (the leak detection sensor nodes 110 switch from the sleep mode to the standby mode at a specific period time as determined by the leak detection control node 140, and can then check whether the command measuring the sound pressure of the underground pipe 10 occurs from the leak detection control node 140, see ¶ 0077).
Sang and Wood do not expressly disclose wherein: said each node is configured to be in an inactive sleep mode until being activated by an incoming message comprising a wakeup signal, the wakeup signal comprising a minimum threshold level and/or a pre-defined pattern.
Campbell teaches wherein: said each node is configured to be in an inactive sleep mode until being activated by an incoming message comprising a wakeup signal, the wakeup signal comprising a minimum threshold level and/or a pre-defined pattern (An operational mode that allows the wireless soil sensor 21 to wake up, measure soil moisture, and if a change in soil moisture from the last wirelessly reported measurement does not exceed a settable threshold, return to a sleep mode without sending data, see Col. 11, lines 53-57).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Sang and Wood with Campbell to teach wherein: said each node is configured to be in an inactive sleep mode until being activated by an incoming message comprising a wakeup signal, the wakeup signal comprising a minimum threshold level and/or a pre-defined pattern. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to measure a change in soil moisture from the last wirelessly reported measurement (see Col. 11, lines 55-56).
As to Claim 22, Sang, Wood and Campbell depending on Claim 21, Campbell teaches wherein: the wakeup signal embedded in a preamble of an incoming message arriving at said at least one intermediate component (IC) (it can be through a programming header [preamble] in the battery or by some other wireless programming option, see Col. 11, lines 27-28).
Claim(s) 11-13, 28, 31-32, 43-46 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over European Patent Publication 2,819,332 to Sang et al (“Sang”) in view of U.S. Patent Publication 2002/0130306 to Wood in further view of U.S. Patent Publication 2013/0085619 to Howard.
As to Claim 11, Sang and Wood depending on Claim 1, Sang and Wood do not expressly disclose wherein: the system is an irrigation system; and the piping infrastructure comprises at least one irrigation pipe configured to deliver irrigation liquid. Howard teaches wherein: the system is an irrigation system; and the piping infrastructure comprises at least one irrigation pipe configured to deliver irrigation liquid (The solenoid valves 220 are electromechanical valves coupled to distributed water pipes or watermain 240 The solenoid valves 220 can be activated by the controller 210 to provide water to certain irrigation devices 250, see ¶ 0040).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Sang and Wood with Howard to teach wherein: the system is an irrigation system; and the pipe infrastructure comprises at least one irrigation pipe configured to deliver irrigation liquid. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to provide water to certain irrigation devices 250 (see ¶ 0040).
As to Claim 12, Sang, Wood and Howard depending on Claim 11, Howard teaches wherein: the at least one irrigation pipe is a header pipe from which irrigation lines branch off, and at least some of the nodes are arranged to control flow of liquid from the header pipe towards the irrigation lines (The solenoid valves 220 are electromechanical valves coupled to distributed water pipes or watermain 240. The solenoid valves 220 [nodes] can be activated by the controller 210 to provide water to certain irrigation devices 250, see ¶ 0040).
As to Claim 13, Sang, Wood and Howard depending on Claim 12, Howard teaches wherein: each node is associated with a respective one of the irrigation lines and is arranged to control liquid flow from the header pipe to its associated irrigation line (The solenoid valves 220 are electromechanical valves coupled to distributed water pipes or watermain 240. The solenoid valves 220 [nodes] can be activated by the controller 210 to provide water to certain irrigation devices 250, see ¶ 0040).
As to Claim 28, Sang and Wood depending from Claim 23, Sang and Wood do not expressly disclose wherein at least certain nodes along the piping infrastructure comprise latch valves. Howard teaches wherein at least certain nodes along the piping infrastructure comprise latch valves (The controller 210 may also receive instructions to activate or deactivate (i.e., open or close) certain or all solenoid valves 220, see ¶ 0038).
As to Claim 31, Sang teaches an irrigation system comprising: a longitudinally extending header pipe; a plurality of nodes located along the header pipe (the plurality of the leak detection sensor nodes 110 [plurality of nodes] are installed on the underground pipe 10, see ¶ 0041; Fig. 1: 10, 110-1 to 110-N);
Sang does not expressly disclose communication channels comprising optical fibers that extend along the header pipe for communicating with the nodes, wherein: communication with the nodes is in downstream and/or upstream directions along the optical fibers.
Wood teaches communication channels comprising optical fibers that extend along the header pipe for communicating with the nodes, wherein: communication with the nodes is in downstream and/or upstream directions along the optical fibers (optical signal conduit 60 also includes a segment 66 within the pipe section 34, a segment 68 within the pipe section 36, and a segment 70 within the pipe section 38. Watertight optical signal transfer fittings 72 and 74 [node] are provided in the water main 20 on either side of valve 24 to permit transfer of signals between segments 62 and 66 of the optical signal conduit 60 [interconnecting nodes with optical fibers] by way of a bypass segment 76…water-tight optical signal transfer fittings 78 and 80 are provided on either side of valve 26 to permit communication between segment 66 and a segment 82, and between the segment 68 and a segment 84, see ¶ 0019. Examiner construes that the optical fibers permit transfer of signals in a multi-hop fashion between fittings, e.g. nodes, along the piping infrastructure).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Sang with Wood to teach communication channels comprising optical fibers that extend along the header pipe for communicating with the nodes, wherein: communication with the nodes is in downstream and/or upstream directions along the optical fibers. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to provide a fiber-optic communication system that allows high-bandwidth communications between components of an irrigation machine (see ¶ 0007).
Sang and Wood do not expressly disclose irrigation lines that branch off from the header pipe; and at least some of the nodes are arranged to control flow of liquid from the header pipe towards the irrigation lines.
Campbell teaches irrigation lines that branch off from the header pipe; and at least some of the nodes are arranged to control flow of liquid from the header pipe towards the irrigation lines (The solenoid valves 220 are electromechanical valves coupled to distributed water pipes or watermain 240. The solenoid valves 220 [nodes] can be activated by the controller 210 to provide water to certain irrigation devices 250, see ¶ 0040).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Sang and Wood with Howard to teach irrigation lines that branch off from the header pipe; and at least some of the nodes are arranged to control flow of liquid from the header pipe towards the irrigation lines. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to provide water to certain irrigation devices 250 (see ¶ 0040).
As to Claim 32, Sang, Wood and Howard depending on Claim 31, Howard teaches wherein communication along the communication channels is by multi-hop routing of messages between nodes along the infrastructure (The network node 120 may perform a MULTI-HOP communication between a specific leak detection sensor node 110 and the leak detection control node 140 to determine a next node based on path reliability or an instant throughput at a current time, see ¶ 0056).
As to Claim 43, Sang and Wood depending on Claim 42, Sang and Wood do not expressly disclose wherein: the system is an irrigation system; and the pipe infrastructure comprises at least one irrigation pipe configured to deliver irrigation liquid. Howard teaches wherein: the system is an irrigation system; and the piping infrastructure comprises at least one irrigation pipe configured to deliver irrigation liquid (The solenoid valves 220 are electromechanical valves coupled to distributed water pipes or watermain 240 The solenoid valves 220 can be activated by the controller 210 to provide water to certain irrigation devices 250, see ¶ 0040).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Sang and Wood with Howard to teach wherein: the system is an irrigation system; and the pipe infrastructure comprises at least one irrigation pipe configured to deliver irrigation liquid. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to provide water to certain irrigation devices 250 (see ¶ 0040).
As to Claim 44, Sang, Wood and Howard depending on Claim 43, Howard teaches wherein: the piping infrastructure comprises at least one conducting tube and a plurality of emitting line segments associated with each conducting tube (The solenoid valves 220 are electromechanical valves coupled to distributed water pipes or watermain 240. The solenoid valves 220 can be activated by the controller 210 to provide water to certain irrigation devices 250, see ¶ 0040);
at least one node is connected to: an upstream end of a first emitting line segment located directly downstream of said at least one node (the controller may transmit acquired parameters measured by the sensors 230 to the system 130, see ¶ 0038); and
a downstream end of a second emitting line segment located directly upstream of said at least one node (The controller 210 may also receive instructions to activate or deactivate (i.e., open or close) certain or all solenoid valves 220, see ¶ 0038); and
the at least one node is configured to open or close a liquid passage between the conducting tube and said first and/or second emitting line segment, in response to a message received over the communication channels (the controller may transmit acquired parameters measured by the sensors 230 to the system 130. The controller 210 may also receive instructions to activate or deactivate (i.e., open or close) certain or all solenoid valves 220, see ¶ 0038).
As to Claim 45, Sang, Wood and Howard depending on Claim 44, Sang teaches wherein: at least one node further comprises: a controller which is reached by optical signals arriving from neighboring nodes only after passing through said at least one intermediate component (the leak detection control node 140 may form a plurality of AD-HOC networks (e.g., a plurality of AD-HOC networks may correspond to a first, second and third AD-HOC networks) to perform a communication with the gateway 130 and the network node 120… the leak detection control node 140 may form a first AD-HOC network with a plurality of gateways 130-1,130 -2,..., 130 -N [intermediate component] to perform communication and may form a second AD-HOC network with a plurality of network nodes 120-1,120-2,..., 120-N linked with the plurality of the gateways 130-1,130 -2,..., 130 -N to perform communication, see ¶ 0063).
Howard teaches a valve actuator connected to the controller and configured to selectively open or close said liquid passage (The solenoid valves 220 are electromechanical valves coupled to distributed water pipes or watermain 240. The solenoid valves 220 can be activated by the controller 210 to provide water to certain irrigation devices 250, see ¶ 0040).
As to Claim 46, Sang, Wood and Howard depending on Claim 45, Howard teaches wherein: the valve actuator includes two valve members, a first valve member associated with said upstream end of the first emitting segment and a second valve member associated with said downstream end of the second emitting segment (the controller may transmit acquired parameters measured by the sensors 230 to the system 130. The controller 210 may also receive instructions to activate or deactivate (i.e., open or close) certain or all solenoid valves 220, see ¶ 0038).
Claim(s) 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over European Patent Publication 2,819,332 to Sang et al (“Sang”) in view of U.S. Patent Publication 2002/0130306 to Wood in further view of U.S. Patent Publication 2013/0085619 to Howard and in further view of WIPO Publication 2013/184382 to Pitchford et al (“Pitchford”).
As to Claim 14, Sang, Wood and Howard depending on Claim 11, Howard teaches wherein: the piping infrastructure comprises at least one conducting tube and a plurality of emitting line segments associated with each conducting tube (The solenoid valves 220 are electromechanical valves coupled to distributed water pipes or watermain 240. The solenoid valves 220 can be activated by the controller 210 to provide water to certain irrigation devices 250, see ¶ 0040);
at least one node is connected to: an upstream end of a first emitting line segment located directly downstream of said at least one node (the controller may transmit acquired parameters measured by the sensors 230 to the system 130, see ¶ 0038); and
a downstream end of a second emitting line segment located directly upstream of said at least one node (The controller 210 may also receive instructions to activate or deactivate (i.e., open or close) certain or all solenoid valves 220, see ¶ 0038); and
Sang, Wood and Howard do not expressly disclose the at least one node is configured to open or close a liquid passage between the conducting tube and said first and/or second emitting line segment, in response to a message received over the optical fibers.
Pitchford teaches the at least one node is configured to open or close a liquid passage between the conducting tube and said first and/or second emitting line segment, in response to a message received over the optical fibers (each node 230 also comprises a wireless ad hoc network transceiver unit that is operable to wirelessly transmit water meter reading information to a bridge device 210, which, in turn, passes the information to one or more server computer systems associated with the water service provider 110, see ¶ 0057; node 230 also comprises a wireless ad hoc network transceiver unit that is operable to wirelessly transmit water meter reading information to a bridge device 210, which, in turn, passes the information to one or more server computer systems associated with the water service provider 110 The bridge device 210 may communicate with the one or more server computer systems (not shown) via a land line, a wireless cellular connection, a wireless 802.1 lx connection, WiFi, (including municipal WiFi and WiMAX), fiber optic connection, see ¶ 0058; Alternatively, and/or in combination therewith, an electronically controllable shut off valve may be incorporated into the water chamber 260, or attached pipe, 215, thereby permitting remote water shut off, as will be discussed in greater detail herein. This electronically controllable shut off valve may comprise a spring loaded valve. In various embodiments, this valve may be manually tensioned into an open position with an external switch or valve control. A solenoid may be used to release the shut off valve based on a remote command received by the control module 300 of the meter system 250. More specifically, a solenoid, motor or other device may be used to open or close a shut off valve based on a remote command received by the control module 300 of the meter system 250, see ¶ 0089).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Sang, Wood and Howard with Pritchford to teach the at least one node is configured to open or close a liquid passage between the conducting tube and said first and/or second emitting line segment, in response to a message received over the optical fibers. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to release the shut off valve based on a remote command received by the control module of the meter system (see ¶ 0089).
As to Claim 15, Sang, Wood, Howard and Pritchford depending on Claim 14, Howard teaches wherein said at least one node further comprises: a controller; and a valve actuator connected to the controller and configured to selectively open or close said liquid passage (The solenoid valves 220 are electromechanical valves coupled to distributed water pipes or watermain 240. The solenoid valves 220 can be activated by the controller 210 to provide water to certain irrigation devices 250, see ¶ 0040).
As to Claim 16, Sang, Wood, Howard and Pritchford depending on Claim 15, Howard teaches wherein: the valve actuator includes two valve members, a first valve member associated with said upstream end of the first emitting segment and a second valve member associated with said downstream end of the second emitting segment (the controller may transmit acquired parameters measured by the sensors 230 to the system 130. The controller 210 may also receive instructions to activate or deactivate (i.e., open or close) certain or all solenoid valves 220, see ¶ 0038).
Claim(s) 17, 39-41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over European Patent Publication 2,819,332 to Sang et al (“Sang”) in view of U.S. Patent Publication 2002/0130306 to Wood in further view of U.S. Patent Publication 2013/0085619 to Howard in further view of WIPO Publication 2013/184382 to Pitchford et al (“Pitchford”) and in further view of U.S. Patent 11,080,982 to Ennaifar et al (“Ennaifar”).
As to Claim 17, Sang, Wood, Howard and Pitchford depending on Claim 14, Sang, Wood, Howard and Pitchford do not expressly disclose wherein: the conducting tube has a diameter greater than that of an emitting line segment. Enniafar teaches wherein: the conducting tube has a diameter greater than that of an emitting line segment (A primary network has the largest diameter of the pipe and distributes the largest flow of liquid in the irrigation network. A secondary network is derived from primary network, and usually has a lower diameter of pipe than the primary network and distributes a lower flow of liquid than the primary network, see Col. 2, lines 45-50).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Sang, Wood, Howard and Pitchford with Enniafar to teach wherein: the conducting tube has a diameter greater than that of an emitting line segment. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to distribute water through a network of valves, pipes, tubing and emitters (see Col. 1, lines 16-17).
As to Claim 39, Sang, Wood, Howard and Pitchford depending on Claim 38, Howard teaches wherein the irrigation system comprises: a header pipe; and irrigation lines branching off from the header pipe (The solenoid valves 220 are electromechanical valves coupled to distributed water pipes or watermain 240. The solenoid valves 220 [nodes] can be activated by the controller 210 to provide water to certain irrigation devices 250, see ¶ 0040).
Sang, Wood, Howard and Pitchford do not expressly disclose the irrigation lines comprising drip emitters.
Enniafar teaches the irrigation lines comprising drip emitters (to distribute water through a network of valves, pipes, tubing and emitters (see Col. 1, lines 16-17).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Sang, Wood, Howard and Pitchford with Enniafar to teach the irrigation lines comprising drip emitters. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to distribute water through a network of valves, pipes, tubing and emitters (see Col. 1, lines 16-17).
As to Claim 40, Sang, Wood, Howard, Pitchford and Enniafar depending on Claim 39, Howard teaches wherein the nodes are located along the header pipe for controlling flow of liquid from the header pipe towards the irrigation lines (The solenoid valves 220 are electromechanical valves coupled to distributed water pipes or watermain 240. The solenoid valves 220 [nodes] can be activated by the controller 210 to provide water to certain irrigation devices 250, see ¶ 0040).
As to Claim 41, Sang, Wood, Howard, Pitchford and Enniafar depending on Claim 39, Howard teaches wherein the nodes are located along the irrigation lines for controlling drip irrigation along distinct sections of the irrigation lines (The solenoid valves 220 are electromechanical valves coupled to distributed water pipes or watermain 240. The solenoid valves 220 [nodes] can be activated by the controller 210 to provide water to certain irrigation devices 250, see ¶ 0040).
Claim(s) 33 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over European Patent Publication 2,819,332 to Sang et al (“Sang”) in view of U.S. Patent Publication 2002/0130306 to Wood in further view of U.S. Patent Publication 2013/0085619 to Howard in further view of WIPO Publication 2013/184382 to Pitchford et al (“Pitchford”) and in further view of U.S. Patent 9,258,952 to Walker et al (“Walker”).
As to Claim 33, Sang, Wood, Howard and Pitchford depending on Claim 31, Sang, Wood, Howard and Pitchford do not expressly disclose wherein the irrigation lines are drip irrigation lines. Walker teaches wherein the irrigation lines are drip irrigation lines (restrictions relative to a type of water delivery device 134 in the zone (e.g., one or more zones may be available to deliver water on a given day because of the type of water delivery device(s) 134 within that zone (e.g., drip lines), see Col. 8, lines 17-21).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Sang, Wood, Howard and Pitchford with Walker to teach wherein the irrigation lines are drip irrigation lines. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to control irrigation (see Abstract).
Claim(s) 47 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over European Patent Publication 2,819,332 to Sang et al (“Sang”) in view of U.S. Patent Publication 2002/0130306 to Wood in further view of Chinese Patent Publication 108981855 to Li et al (“Li”) (relied upon English Translation).
As to Claim 47, Sang and Wood depending on Claim 1, Sang and Wood do not expressly disclose wherein: the communication channels comprise plastic optical fibers (POFs). Li teaches wherein: the communication channels comprise plastic optical fibers (POFs) (light pulse enters the plastic optical fiber through the optical direction coupler, and then enters the spiral plastic optical fiber probe to be scattered, see ¶ 0055).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Sang and Wood with Li to teach wherein: the communication channels comprise plastic optical fibers (POFs). The suggestion/motivation would have been in order for real-time online monitoring of reservoir water levels (see ¶ 0004).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/EBONI N GILES/Examiner, Art Unit 2622
/PATRICK N EDOUARD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2622