DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the pre-appeal decision filed 4/20/2026 in which Claims 1-47 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 23, 31, 42 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5, 6, 23, 24, 34, 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication 2019/0112919 to Song et al (“Song”).
As to Claim 1, Song teaches a fluid distribution system comprising: a longitudinally extending piping infrastructure; a plurality of nodes located along the piping infrastructure (a well 100 configured that utilizes a communication network having the proposed configuration of communication nodes…the wellbore 102 may include a plurality of tubular sections, see ¶ 0075; Well 100 also includes an acoustic wireless communication network. The acoustic wireless communication network also may be referred to herein as a downhole network or communication network that includes various communication nodes 114 and a topside communication node and/or control unit 132. The communication nodes 114 may be spaced-apart along a drilling string 112 that extends along a length of wellbore 102, see ¶ 0076; In addition to the tubular member as an acoustic communication media, the fluids associated with the tubular member may also be used as an acoustic communication media, see ¶ 0061); and communication channels comprising optical fibers that extend along the piping infrastructure and communicating with the nodes (the communication network may include a physical connection network. The physical connections may include one or more cables, one or more electrical conductors and/or one or more fiber optic cables, which may be secured to a tubular member and used to evaluate subsurface conditions. The physical connection may be secured to an inner portion of the tubular member and/or an outer portion of the tubular member. The physical connection provides a hard wire connection that may provide concurrent or real-time exchange of data packets within the wellbore. In addition, the physical connection may be used to provide power directly to communication nodes, see ¶ 0122),
each optical fiber extending between two respective nodes of the plurality of nodes such that each node includes an upstream optical fiber arrangement and a downstream optical fiber arrangement (For communication between communication nodes, the first set of transducers 256 and the second set of transducers 258 may be configured to convert acoustical energy to electrical energy (or vice-versa) and are acoustically coupled with outer wall 260 on the side attached to the tubular member. As an example, the first set of transducers 256, which may be configured to receive acoustic signals, and a second set of transducers 258, which may be configured to transmit acoustic signals (e.g., transmitter), are disposed in the cavity 262 of the housing 252. The first and second sets of transducers 256 and 258 provide a mechanism for acoustic signals to be transmitted and received from node-to-node, along the tubular members (e.g., either up the wellbore [upstream optical fiber arrangement] or down the wellbore [downstream optical fiber arrangement] or up a subsea pipe or down a subsea pipe), see ¶ 0092; The physical connections may include one or more cables, one or more electrical conductors and/or one or more fiber optic cables, which may be secured to a tubular member and used to evaluate subsurface conditions. The physical connection may be secured to an inner portion of the tubular member and/or an outer portion of the tubular member. The physical connection provides a hard wire connection that may provide concurrent or real-time exchange of data packets within the wellbore. In addition, the physical connection may be used to provide power directly to communication nodes, see ¶ 0122).
Song does not explicitly disclose the optical fibers and nodes configured to permit multi-hop routing of messages between nodes along the piping infrastructure.
However, Song teaches for communication between communication nodes, the first set of transducers 256 and the second set of transducers 258 may be configured to convert acoustical energy to electrical energy (or vice-versa) and are acoustically coupled with outer wall 260 on the side attached to the tubular member…the first and second sets of transducers 256 and 258 provide a mechanism for acoustic signals to be transmitted and received from node-to-node, along the tubular members (e.g., either up the wellbore or down the wellbore or up a subsea pipe or down a subsea pipe)…a signal generated in one of the transducers, such as the second set of transducers 258, passes through the housing 252 to the tubular member, and propagates along the tubular member to other communication nodes, see ¶ 0092; The physical connections may include one or more cables, one or more electrical conductors and/or one or more fiber optic cables, which may be secured to a tubular member and used to evaluate subsurface conditions…The physical connection provides a hard wire connection that may provide concurrent or real-time exchange of data packets within the wellbore. In addition, the physical connection may be used to provide power directly to communication nodes, see ¶ 0122).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Song to teach the optical fibers and nodes configured to permit multi-hop routing of messages between nodes along the piping infrastructure. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to transmit the signal along the tubular member in two directions (see ¶ 0096).
As to Claim 2, Song depending on Claim 1, Song teaches wherein: the nodes and optical fibers are configured to operate in a daisy chain topology to implement said multi-hop routing (for communication between communication nodes, the first set of transducers 256 and the second set of transducers 258 may be configured to convert acoustical energy to electrical energy (or vice-versa) and are acoustically coupled with outer wall 260 on the side attached to the tubular member…the first and second sets of transducers 256 and 258 provide a mechanism for acoustic signals to be transmitted and received from node-to-node [daisy chain topology], along the tubular members (e.g., either up the wellbore or down the wellbore or up a subsea pipe or down a subsea pipe)…a signal generated in one of the transducers, such as the second set of transducers 258, passes through the housing 252 to the tubular member, and propagates along the tubular member to other communication nodes, see ¶ 0092; The physical connections may include one or more cables, one or more electrical conductors and/or one or more fiber optic cables, which may be secured to a tubular member and used to evaluate subsurface conditions…The physical connection provides a hard wire connection that may provide concurrent or real-time exchange of data packets within the wellbore. In addition, the physical connection may be used to provide power directly to communication nodes, see ¶ 0122).
As to Claim 5, Song depending on Claim 1, Song teaches wherein: the nodes are arranged in a linear bus topology and are connected by the optical fibers one after the other in a sequential chain (for communication between communication nodes, the first set of transducers 256 and the second set of transducers 258 may be configured to convert acoustical energy to electrical energy (or vice-versa) and are acoustically coupled with outer wall 260 on the side attached to the tubular member…the first and second sets of transducers 256 and 258 provide a mechanism for acoustic signals to be transmitted and received from node-to-node [linear bus topology connected in a sequential chain], along the tubular members (e.g., either up the wellbore or down the wellbore or up a subsea pipe or down a subsea pipe)…a signal generated in one of the transducers, such as the second set of transducers 258, passes through the housing 252 to the tubular member, and propagates along the tubular member to other communication nodes, see ¶ 0092; The physical connections may include one or more cables, one or more electrical conductors and/or one or more fiber optic cables, which may be secured to a tubular member and used to evaluate subsurface conditions…The physical connection provides a hard wire connection that may provide concurrent or real-time exchange of data packets within the wellbore. In addition, the physical connection may be used to provide power directly to communication nodes, see ¶ 0122).
As to Claim 6, Song depending on Claim 1, Song teaches wherein: the optical fibers and nodes are configured to permit multi-hop routing in both downstream and upstream directions along the piping infrastructure (for communication between communication nodes, the first set of transducers 256 and the second set of transducers 258 may be configured to convert acoustical energy to electrical energy (or vice-versa) and are acoustically coupled with outer wall 260 on the side attached to the tubular member…the first and second sets of transducers 256 and 258 provide a mechanism for acoustic signals to be transmitted and received from node-to-node, along the tubular members (e.g., either up the wellbore or down the wellbore or up a subsea pipe or down a subsea pipe) [multi-hop routing in downstream and upstream directions]…a signal generated in one of the transducers, such as the second set of transducers 258, passes through the housing 252 to the tubular member, and propagates along the tubular member to other communication nodes, see ¶ 0092; The physical connections may include one or more cables, one or more electrical conductors and/or one or more fiber optic cables, which may be secured to a tubular member and used to evaluate subsurface conditions…The physical connection provides a hard wire connection that may provide concurrent or real-time exchange of data packets within the wellbore. In addition, the physical connection may be used to provide power directly to communication nodes, see ¶ 0122).
As to Claim 23, Song teaches a method for providing and operating a communication network along a fluid distribution system; the method comprising: providing a longitudinally extending piping infrastructure for fluid distribution (a well 100 configured that utilizes a communication network having the proposed configuration of communication nodes…the wellbore 102 may include a plurality of tubular sections, see ¶ 0075; Well 100 also includes an acoustic wireless communication network. The acoustic wireless communication network also may be referred to herein as a downhole network or communication network that includes various communication nodes 114 and a topside communication node and/or control unit 132. The communication nodes 114 may be spaced-apart along a drilling string 112 that extends along a length of wellbore 102, see ¶ 0076; In addition to the tubular member as an acoustic communication media, the fluids associated with the tubular member may also be used as an acoustic communication media, see ¶ 0061),
Song teaches the communication network having an upstream end and a downstream end, providing a plurality of spaced apart nodes along the piping infrastructure; interconnecting the nodes with optical fibers (For communication between communication nodes, the first set of transducers 256 and the second set of transducers 258 may be configured to convert acoustical energy to electrical energy (or vice-versa) and are acoustically coupled with outer wall 260 on the side attached to the tubular member. As an example, the first set of transducers 256, which may be configured to receive acoustic signals, and a second set of transducers 258, which may be configured to transmit acoustic signals (e.g., transmitter), are disposed in the cavity 262 of the housing 252. The first and second sets of transducers 256 and 258 provide a mechanism for acoustic signals to be transmitted and received from node-to-node, along the tubular members (e.g., either up the wellbore [upstream optical fiber arrangement] or down the wellbore [downstream optical fiber arrangement] or up a subsea pipe or down a subsea pipe), see ¶ 0092; The physical connections may include one or more cables, one or more electrical conductors and/or one or more fiber optic cables, which may be secured to a tubular member and used to evaluate subsurface conditions. The physical connection may be secured to an inner portion of the tubular member and/or an outer portion of the tubular member. The physical connection provides a hard wire connection that may provide concurrent or real-time exchange of data packets within the wellbore. In addition, the physical connection may be used to provide power directly to communication nodes, see ¶ 0122).
Song does not explicitly disclose multi-hop routing messages between the nodes, via the optical fibers; and multi-hop routing messages between the nodes, via the optical fibers.
However, Song teaches for communication between communication nodes, the first set of transducers 256 and the second set of transducers 258 may be configured to convert acoustical energy to electrical energy (or vice-versa) and are acoustically coupled with outer wall 260 on the side attached to the tubular member…the first and second sets of transducers 256 and 258 provide a mechanism for acoustic signals to be transmitted and received from node-to-node, along the tubular members (e.g., either up the wellbore or down the wellbore or up a subsea pipe or down a subsea pipe)…a signal generated in one of the transducers, such as the second set of transducers 258, passes through the housing 252 to the tubular member, and propagates along the tubular member to other communication nodes (see ¶ 0092; The physical connections may include one or more cables, one or more electrical conductors and/or one or more fiber optic cables, which may be secured to a tubular member and used to evaluate subsurface conditions…The physical connection provides a hard wire connection that may provide concurrent or real-time exchange of data packets within the wellbore. In addition, the physical connection may be used to provide power directly to communication nodes, see ¶ 0122).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Song to teach multi-hop routing messages between the nodes, via the optical fibers; and multi-hop routing messages between the nodes, via the optical fibers. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to transmit the signal along the tubular member in two directions (see ¶ 0096).
As to Claim 24, Song depending on Claim 23, Song teaches connecting the nodes in a daisy-chain topology (for communication between communication nodes, the first set of transducers 256 and the second set of transducers 258 may be configured to convert acoustical energy to electrical energy (or vice-versa) and are acoustically coupled with outer wall 260 on the side attached to the tubular member…the first and second sets of transducers 256 and 258 provide a mechanism for acoustic signals to be transmitted and received from node-to-node [daisy chain topology], along the tubular members (e.g., either up the wellbore or down the wellbore or up a subsea pipe or down a subsea pipe)…a signal generated in one of the transducers, such as the second set of transducers 258, passes through the housing 252 to the tubular member, and propagates along the tubular member to other communication nodes, see ¶ 0092; The physical connections may include one or more cables, one or more electrical conductors and/or one or more fiber optic cables, which may be secured to a tubular member and used to evaluate subsurface conditions…The physical connection provides a hard wire connection that may provide concurrent or real-time exchange of data packets within the wellbore. In addition, the physical connection may be used to provide power directly to communication nodes, see ¶ 0122).
As to Claim 34, Song teaches a control system for controlling operations along a longitudinally extending piping infrastructure of a fluid distribution system, the control system comprising: a plurality of nodes located along the piping infrastructure (a well 100 configured that utilizes a communication network having the proposed configuration of communication nodes…the wellbore 102 may include a plurality of tubular sections, see ¶ 0075; Well 100 also includes an acoustic wireless communication network. The acoustic wireless communication network also may be referred to herein as a downhole network or communication network that includes various communication nodes 114 and a topside communication node and/or control unit 132. The communication nodes 114 may be spaced-apart along a drilling string 112 that extends along a length of wellbore 102, see ¶ 0076; In addition to the tubular member as an acoustic communication media, the fluids associated with the tubular member may also be used as an acoustic communication media, see ¶ 0061),
Song teaches communication channels comprising optical fibers that extend along the piping infrastructure (For communication between communication nodes, the first set of transducers 256 and the second set of transducers 258 may be configured to convert acoustical energy to electrical energy (or vice-versa) and are acoustically coupled with outer wall 260 on the side attached to the tubular member. As an example, the first set of transducers 256, which may be configured to receive acoustic signals, and a second set of transducers 258, which may be configured to transmit acoustic signals (e.g., transmitter), are disposed in the cavity 262 of the housing 252. The first and second sets of transducers 256 and 258 provide a mechanism for acoustic signals to be transmitted and received from node-to-node, along the tubular members (e.g., either up the or down the wellbore or up a subsea pipe or down a subsea pipe), see ¶ 0092; The physical connections may include one or more cables, one or more electrical conductors and/or one or more fiber optic cables, which may be secured to a tubular member and used to evaluate subsurface conditions. The physical connection may be secured to an inner portion of the tubular member and/or an outer portion of the tubular member. The physical connection provides a hard wire connection that may provide concurrent or real-time exchange of data packets within the wellbore. In addition, the physical connection may be used to provide power directly to communication nodes, see ¶ 0122).
Song does not expressly disclose communicating with the nodes for permitting multi-hop routing of messages between nodes along the piping infrastructure.
However, Song teaches for communication between communication nodes, the first set of transducers 256 and the second set of transducers 258 may be configured to convert acoustical energy to electrical energy (or vice-versa) and are acoustically coupled with outer wall 260 on the side attached to the tubular member…the first and second sets of transducers 256 and 258 provide a mechanism for acoustic signals to be transmitted and received from node-to-node, along the tubular members (e.g., either up the wellbore or down the wellbore or up a subsea pipe or down a subsea pipe)…a signal generated in one of the transducers, such as the second set of transducers 258, passes through the housing 252 to the tubular member, and propagates along the tubular member to other communication nodes (see ¶ 0092; The physical connections may include one or more cables, one or more electrical conductors and/or one or more fiber optic cables, which may be secured to a tubular member and used to evaluate subsurface conditions…The physical connection provides a hard wire connection that may provide concurrent or real-time exchange of data packets within the wellbore. In addition, the physical connection may be used to provide power directly to communication nodes, see ¶ 0122).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Song to teach communicating with the nodes for permitting multi-hop routing of messages between nodes along the piping infrastructure. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to transmit the signal along the tubular member in two directions (see ¶ 0096).
As to Claim 35, Song depending on Claim 34, Song teaches wherein the multi-hop routing is characterized by nodes using other nodes as relays in a daisy chain topology (for communication between communication nodes, the first set of transducers 256 and the second set of transducers 258 may be configured to convert acoustical energy to electrical energy (or vice-versa) and are acoustically coupled with outer wall 260 on the side attached to the tubular member…the first and second sets of transducers 256 and 258 provide a mechanism for acoustic signals to be transmitted and received from node-to-node [daisy chain topology], along the tubular members (e.g., either up the wellbore or down the wellbore or up a subsea pipe or down a subsea pipe)…a signal generated in one of the transducers, such as the second set of transducers 258, passes through the housing 252 to the tubular member, and propagates along the tubular member to other communication nodes, see ¶ 0092; The physical connections may include one or more cables, one or more electrical conductors and/or one or more fiber optic cables, which may be secured to a tubular member and used to evaluate subsurface conditions…The physical connection provides a hard wire connection that may provide concurrent or real-time exchange of data packets within the wellbore. In addition, the physical connection may be used to provide power directly to communication nodes, see ¶ 0122).
Claim(s) 3, 4, 7, 10, 18, 27, 29, 30, 36-38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication 2019/0112919 to Song et al (“Song”) in view of European Patent Publication 2,819,332 to Sang et al (“Sang”).
As to Claim 3, Song depending on Claim 1, Song does not expressly disclose wherein the messages comprise: commands for activating valves along the piping infrastructure; and/or sensed information collected from devices positioned along the piping infrastructure. Sang teaches wherein the messages comprise: commands for activating valves along the piping infrastructure; and/or sensed information collected from devices positioned along the piping infrastructure (the network node 120 may be linked to the leak detection sensor nodes 110 at a maximum distance (e.g., 500 meters) with the first communication protocol to receive the sound pressure of the pipe 10 measured by the leak detection sensor nodes 110 [sensed information collected from devices positioned along the infrastructure], or to transmit a command received from the leak detection control node 140 to the sensor nodes 110. The first communication protocol may be a RF (Radio Frequency) communication, see ¶ 0050).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Song with Sang to teach wherein the messages comprise: commands for activating valves along the piping infrastructure; and/or sensed information collected from devices positioned along the piping infrastructure. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to receive sound pressure of the pipe measured by the leak detection sensor nodes (see ¶ 0050).
As to Claim 4, Song and Sang depending on Claim 3, Sang teaches wherein said devices are comprised in nodes (the network node 120 may be linked to the leak detection sensor nodes 110 at a maximum distance (e.g., 500 meters) with the first communication protocol to receive the sound pressure of the pipe 10 measured by the leak detection sensor nodes 110, or to transmit a command received from the leak detection control node 140 to the sensor nodes 110, see ¶ 0050).
As to Claim 7, Song depending on Claim 1, Song do not expressly disclose wherein: the nodes are configured to be in an inactive sleep mode until being activated by an incoming message comprising a wakeup signal. Sang teaches wherein: the nodes are configured to be in an inactive sleep mode until being activated by an incoming message comprising a wakeup signal (the leak detection sensor nodes 110 switch from the sleep mode to the standby mode at a specific period time as determined by the leak detection control node 140, and can then check whether the command measuring the sound pressure of the underground pipe 10 occurs from the leak detection control node 140, see ¶ 0077).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Song with Sang to teach wherein: the nodes are configured to be in an inactive sleep mode until being activated by an incoming message comprising a wakeup signal. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to switch from the sleep mode to the standby mode at a specific period time as determined by the leak detection control node (see ¶ 0077).
As to Claim 10, Song and Sang depending on Claim 7, Sang teaches wherein: the nodes are configured to return to the substantial inactive sleep mode after completing one or more tasks performed in response to the incoming message (the leak detection sensor nodes 110 switch from the sleep mode to the standby mode at a specific period time as determined by the leak detection control node 140, and can then check whether the command measuring the sound pressure of the underground pipe 10 occurs from the leak detection control node 140. The leak detection sensor nodes 110 may switch from the standby mode to the operation mode when the command measuring the sound pressure was received to measure the sound pressure of the pipe 10 and may restore the standby mode to the sleep mode otherwise, see ¶ 0077).
As to Claim 18, Song depending on Claim 1, Song does not expressly disclose wherein: at least some of the nodes each comprises at least one intermediate component (IC); messages communicated towards and/or away from said each node must first pass through said at least one intermediate component. Sang teaches wherein: at least some of the nodes each comprises at least one intermediate component (IC); messages communicated towards and/or away from said each node must first pass through said at least one intermediate component (the leak detection control node 140 may form a plurality of AD-HOC networks (e.g., a plurality of AD-HOC networks may correspond to a first, second and third AD-HOC networks) to perform a communication with the gateway 130 and the network node 120… the leak detection control node 140 may form a first AD-HOC network with a plurality of gateways 130-1,130 -2,..., 130 -N to perform communication and may form a second AD-HOC network with a plurality of network nodes 120-1,120-2,..., 120-N linked with the plurality of the gateways 130-1,130 -2,..., 130 -N to perform communication, see ¶ 0063).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Song with Sang to teach wherein: at least some of the nodes each comprises at least one intermediate component (IC); messages communicated towards and/or away from said each node must first pass through said at least one intermediate component. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to switch from the sleep mode to the standby mode at a specific period time as determined by the leak detection control node (see ¶ 0077).
As to Claim 27, Song depending on Claim 23, Song does not expressly disclose spacing apart adjacent nodes along the piping infrastructure by about 100 meters. Sang teaches spacing apart adjacent nodes along the piping infrastructure by about 100 meters (the gateway 130 may transceiver data with the network node 120 in a maximum distance of 100m, see ¶ 0061).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Song with Sang to teach spacing apart adjacent nodes along the piping infrastructure by about 100 meters. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to receive sound pressure of the pipe measured by the leak detection sensor nodes (see ¶ 0050).
As to Claim 29, Song depending on Claim 23, Song does not expressly disclose wherein each message communicated along the communication network comprises less than about 4000 bits of information. Sang teaches wherein each message communicated along the communication network comprises less than about 4000 bits of information (When the distance between the at least one network node 120 is about 100, the number of a hopping between the at least one network node 120 through the MULTI-HOP may be about 2 and the number of the at least one network node 120 linked by the MULTI-HOP may be about 10, the instant throughput [bits of information] at a current time may correspond to 5000, see ¶ 0084; when the number of the hopping between the at least one network node 120 through the MULTI-HOP is the same with about 5, assuming that the transmission speed of the at least one network node 120 is about 10, the distance between the at least one network node 120 is about 100 and the number of the at least one network node 120 linked by the MULTI-HOP is about 10, the instant throughput [bits of information] at a current time may correspond to 2000, see ¶ 0086).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Song with Sang to teach wherein each message communicated along the communication network comprises less than about 4000 bits of information. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to receive sound pressure of the pipe measured by the leak detection sensor nodes (see ¶ 0050).
As to Claim 30, Song depending on Claim 23, Song does not expressly disclose multi-hopping no more than 20 message per day. Sang teaches multi-hopping no more than 20 message per day (When the distance between the at least one network node 120 is about 100, the number of a hopping between the at least one network node 120 through the MULTI-HOP may be about 2 and the number of the at least one network node 120 linked by the MULTI-HOP may be about 10, the instant throughput at a current time may correspond to 5000, see ¶ 0084; when the number of the hopping between the at least one network node 120 through the MULTI-HOP is the same with about 5, assuming that the transmission speed of the at least one network node 120 is about 10, the distance between the at least one network node 120 is about 100 and the number of the at least one network node 120 linked by the MULTI-HOP is about 10, the instant throughput at a current time may correspond to 2000, see ¶ 0086).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Song with Sang to teach multi-hopping no more than 20 message per day. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to receive sound pressure of the pipe measured by the leak detection sensor nodes (see ¶ 0050).
As to Claim 36, Song depending on Claim 34, Song does not expressly disclose wherein the messages comprise: commands for activating valves along the infrastructure; and/or sensed information collected from devices positioned along the piping infrastructure. Sang teaches wherein the messages comprise: commands for activating valves along the infrastructure; and/or sensed information collected from devices positioned along the piping infrastructure (the network node 120 may be linked to the leak detection sensor nodes 110 at a maximum distance (e.g., 500 meters) with the first communication protocol to receive the sound pressure of the pipe 10 measured by the leak detection sensor nodes 110 [sensed information collected from devices positioned along the infrastructure], or to transmit a command received from the leak detection control node 140 to the sensor nodes 110. The first communication protocol may be a RF (Radio Frequency) communication, see ¶ 0050).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Song with Sang to teach wherein the messages comprise: commands for activating valves along the infrastructure; and/or sensed information collected from devices positioned along the piping infrastructure. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to receive sound pressure of the pipe measured by the leak detection sensor nodes (see ¶ 0050).
As to Claim 37, Song and Sang depending on Claim 36, Sang teaches wherein the devices are located at the nodes (the network node 120 may be linked to the leak detection sensor nodes 110 at a maximum distance (e.g., 500 meters) with the first communication protocol to receive the sound pressure of the pipe 10 measured by the leak detection sensor nodes 110 [sensed information collected from devices positioned along the infrastructure], or to transmit a command received from the leak detection control node 140 to the sensor nodes 110, see ¶ 0050).
As to Claim 38, Song depending on Claim 34, Song does not expressly disclose wherein the longitudinally extending piping infrastructure is part of an irrigation system. Sang teaches wherein the longitudinally extending piping infrastructure is part of an irrigation system (the plurality of the leak detection sensor nodes 110 [plurality of nodes] are installed on the underground pipe 10, see ¶ 0041; Fig. 1: 10, 110-1 to 110-N).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Song with Sang to teach wherein the longitudinally extending piping infrastructure is part of an irrigation system. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to receive sound pressure of the pipe measured by the leak detection sensor nodes (see ¶ 0050).
Claim(s) 8, 9, 21, 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication 2019/0112919 to Song et al (“Song”) in view of European Patent Publication 2,819,332 to Sang et al (“Sang”) in further view of U.S. Patent 8,862,277 to Campbell et al (“Campbell”).
As to Claim 8, Song and Sang depending on Claim 7, Song and Sang do not expressly disclose wherein: the wakeup signal is characterized by an incoming message exceeding a minimum threshold level and/or complying with a pre-defined pattern. Campbell teaches wherein: the wakeup signal is characterized by an incoming message exceeding a minimum threshold level and/or complying with a pre-defined pattern (An operational mode that allows the wireless soil sensor 21 to wake up, measure soil moisture, and if a change in soil moisture from the last wirelessly reported measurement does not exceed a settable threshold, return to a sleep mode without sending data, see Col. 11, lines 53-57).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Song and Sang with Campbell to teach wherein: the wakeup signal is characterized by an incoming message exceeding a minimum threshold level and/or complying with a pre-defined pattern. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to measure a change in soil moisture from the last wirelessly reported measurement (see Col. 11, lines 55-56).
As to Claim 9, Song and Sang depending on Claim 7, Song and Sang do not expressly disclose wherein: the wakeup signal is comprised in a preamble of the incoming message. Campbell teaches wherein: the wakeup signal is comprised in a preamble of the incoming message (it can be through a programming header in the battery or by some other wireless programming option, see Col. 11, lines 27-28).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Song and Sang with Campbell to teach wherein: the wakeup signal is comprised in a preamble of the incoming message. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to measure a change in soil moisture from the last wirelessly reported measurement (see Col. 11, lines 55-56).
As to Claim 21, Song and Sang depending on Claim 18, Sang teaches when in said inactive sleep mode, said each node is triggered into an active mode in response to such a wakeup signal received at said at least one intermediate component (IC) (the leak detection sensor nodes 110 switch from the sleep mode to the standby mode at a specific period time as determined by the leak detection control node 140, and can then check whether the command measuring the sound pressure of the underground pipe 10 occurs from the leak detection control node 140, see ¶ 0077).
Song and Sang do not expressly disclose wherein: said each node is configured to be in an inactive sleep mode until being activated by an incoming message comprising a wakeup signal, the wakeup signal comprising a minimum threshold level and/or a pre-defined pattern.
Campbell teaches wherein: said each node is configured to be in an inactive sleep mode until being activated by an incoming message comprising a wakeup signal, the wakeup signal comprising a minimum threshold level and/or a pre-defined pattern (An operational mode that allows the wireless soil sensor 21 to wake up, measure soil moisture, and if a change in soil moisture from the last wirelessly reported measurement does not exceed a settable threshold, return to a sleep mode without sending data, see Col. 11, lines 53-57).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Song and Sang with Campbell to teach wherein: said each node is configured to be in an inactive sleep mode until being activated by an incoming message comprising a wakeup signal, the wakeup signal comprising a minimum threshold level and/or a pre-defined pattern. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to measure a change in soil moisture from the last wirelessly reported measurement (see Col. 11, lines 55-56).
As to Claim 22, Song, Sang and Campbell depending on Claim 21, Campbell teaches wherein: the wakeup signal embedded in a preamble of an incoming message arriving at said at least one intermediate component (IC) (it can be through a programming header [preamble] in the battery or by some other wireless programming option, see Col. 11, lines 27-28).
Claim(s) 11-13, 28, 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication 2019/0112919 to Song et al (“Song”) in view of U.S. Patent Publication 2013/0085619 to Howard.
As to Claim 11, Song depending on Claim 1, Song does not expressly disclose wherein: the system is an irrigation system; and the piping infrastructure comprises at least one irrigation pipe configured to deliver irrigation liquid. Howard teaches wherein: the system is an irrigation system; and the piping infrastructure comprises at least one irrigation pipe configured to deliver irrigation liquid (The solenoid valves 220 are electromechanical valves coupled to distributed water pipes or watermain 240 The solenoid valves 220 can be activated by the controller 210 to provide water to certain irrigation devices 250, see ¶ 0040).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Song with Howard to teach wherein: the system is an irrigation system; and the pipe infrastructure comprises at least one irrigation pipe configured to deliver irrigation liquid. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to provide water to certain irrigation devices 250 (see ¶ 0040).
As to Claim 12, Song and Howard depending on Claim 11, Howard teaches wherein: the at least one irrigation pipe is a header pipe from which irrigation lines branch off, and at least some of the nodes are arranged to control flow of liquid from the header pipe towards the irrigation lines (The solenoid valves 220 are electromechanical valves coupled to distributed water pipes or watermain 240. The solenoid valves 220 [nodes] can be activated by the controller 210 to provide water to certain irrigation devices 250, see ¶ 0040).
As to Claim 13, Song and Howard depending on Claim 12, Howard teaches wherein: each node is associated with a respective one of the irrigation lines and is arranged to control liquid flow from the header pipe to its associated irrigation line (The solenoid valves 220 are electromechanical valves coupled to distributed water pipes or watermain 240. The solenoid valves 220 [nodes] can be activated by the controller 210 to provide water to certain irrigation devices 250, see ¶ 0040).
As to Claim 28, Song depending from Claim 23, Song does not expressly disclose wherein at least certain nodes along the piping infrastructure comprise latch valves. Howard teaches wherein at least certain nodes along the piping infrastructure comprise latch valves (The controller 210 may also receive instructions to activate or deactivate (i.e., open or close) certain or all solenoid valves 220, see ¶ 0038).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Song with Howard to teach wherein at least certain nodes along the piping infrastructure comprise latch valves. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to provide water to certain irrigation devices 250 (see ¶ 0040).
As to Claim 31, Song teaches an irrigation system comprising: a longitudinally extending header pipe; a plurality of nodes located along the header pipe (a well 100 configured that utilizes a communication network having the proposed configuration of communication nodes…the wellbore 102 may include a plurality of tubular sections, see ¶ 0075; Well 100 also includes an acoustic wireless communication network. The acoustic wireless communication network also may be referred to herein as a downhole network or communication network that includes various communication nodes 114 and a topside communication node and/or control unit 132. The communication nodes 114 may be spaced-apart along a drilling string 112 that extends along a length of wellbore 102, see ¶ 0076; In addition to the tubular member as an acoustic communication media, the fluids associated with the tubular member may also be used as an acoustic communication media, see ¶ 0061);
Song teaches communication channels comprising optical fibers that extend along the header pipe for communicating with the nodes, wherein: communication with the nodes is in downstream and/or upstream directions along the optical fibers (For communication between communication nodes, the first set of transducers 256 and the second set of transducers 258 may be configured to convert acoustical energy to electrical energy (or vice-versa) and are acoustically coupled with outer wall 260 on the side attached to the tubular member. As an example, the first set of transducers 256, which may be configured to receive acoustic signals, and a second set of transducers 258, which may be configured to transmit acoustic signals (e.g., transmitter), are disposed in the cavity 262 of the housing 252. The first and second sets of transducers 256 and 258 provide a mechanism for acoustic signals to be transmitted and received from node-to-node, along the tubular members (e.g., either up the wellbore [upstream optical fiber arrangement] or down the wellbore [downstream optical fiber arrangement] or up a subsea pipe or down a subsea pipe), see ¶ 0092; The physical connections may include one or more cables, one or more electrical conductors and/or one or more fiber optic cables, which may be secured to a tubular member and used to evaluate subsurface conditions. The physical connection may be secured to an inner portion of the tubular member and/or an outer portion of the tubular member. The physical connection provides a hard wire connection that may provide concurrent or real-time exchange of data packets within the wellbore. In addition, the physical connection may be used to provide power directly to communication nodes, see ¶ 0122).
Song does not expressly disclose irrigation lines that branch off from the header pipe; and at least some of the nodes are arranged to control flow of liquid from the header pipe towards the irrigation lines.
Howard teaches irrigation lines that branch off from the header pipe; and at least some of the nodes are arranged to control flow of liquid from the header pipe towards the irrigation lines (The solenoid valves 220 are electromechanical valves coupled to distributed water pipes or watermain 240. The solenoid valves 220 [nodes] can be activated by the controller 210 to provide water to certain irrigation devices 250, see ¶ 0040).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Song with Howard to teach irrigation lines that branch off from the header pipe; and at least some of the nodes are arranged to control flow of liquid from the header pipe towards the irrigation lines. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to provide water to certain irrigation devices 250 (see ¶ 0040).
Claim(s) 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication 2019/0112919 to Song et al (“Song”) in view of U.S. Patent Publication 2013/0085619 to Howard in further view of WIPO Publication 2013/184382 to Pitchford et al (“Pitchford”).
As to Claim 14, Song and Howard depending on Claim 11, Howard teaches wherein: the piping infrastructure comprises at least one conducting tube and a plurality of emitting line segments associated with each conducting tube (The solenoid valves 220 are electromechanical valves coupled to distributed water pipes or watermain 240. The solenoid valves 220 can be activated by the controller 210 to provide water to certain irrigation devices 250, see ¶ 0040);
at least one node is connected to: an upstream end of a first emitting line segment located directly downstream of said at least one node (the controller may transmit acquired parameters measured by the sensors 230 to the system 130, see ¶ 0038); and
a downstream end of a second emitting line segment located directly upstream of said at least one node (The controller 210 may also receive instructions to activate or deactivate (i.e., open or close) certain or all solenoid valves 220, see ¶ 0038); and
Song and Howard do not expressly disclose the at least one node is configured to open or close a liquid passage between the conducting tube and said first and/or second emitting line segment, in response to a message received over the optical fibers.
Pitchford teaches the at least one node is configured to open or close a liquid passage between the conducting tube and said first and/or second emitting line segment, in response to a message received over the optical fibers (each node 230 also comprises a wireless ad hoc network transceiver unit that is operable to wirelessly transmit water meter reading information to a bridge device 210, which, in turn, passes the information to one or more server computer systems associated with the water service provider 110, see ¶ 0057; node 230 also comprises a wireless ad hoc network transceiver unit that is operable to wirelessly transmit water meter reading information to a bridge device 210, which, in turn, passes the information to one or more server computer systems associated with the water service provider 110 The bridge device 210 may communicate with the one or more server computer systems (not shown) via a land line, a wireless cellular connection, a wireless 802.1 lx connection, WiFi, (including municipal WiFi and WiMAX), fiber optic connection, see ¶ 0058; Alternatively, and/or in combination therewith, an electronically controllable shut off valve may be incorporated into the water chamber 260, or attached pipe, 215, thereby permitting remote water shut off, as will be discussed in greater detail herein. This electronically controllable shut off valve may comprise a spring loaded valve. In various embodiments, this valve may be manually tensioned into an open position with an external switch or valve control. A solenoid may be used to release the shut off valve based on a remote command received by the control module 300 of the meter system 250. More specifically, a solenoid, motor or other device may be used to open or close a shut off valve based on a remote command received by the control module 300 of the meter system 250, see ¶ 0089).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Song and Howard with Pritchford to teach the at least one node is configured to open or close a liquid passage between the conducting tube and said first and/or second emitting line segment, in response to a message received over the optical fibers. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to release the shut off valve based on a remote command received by the control module of the meter system (see ¶ 0089).
As to Claim 15, Song, Howard and Pritchford depending on Claim 14, Howard teaches wherein said at least one node further comprises: a controller; and a valve actuator connected to the controller and configured to selectively open or close said liquid passage (The solenoid valves 220 are electromechanical valves coupled to distributed water pipes or watermain 240. The solenoid valves 220 can be activated by the controller 210 to provide water to certain irrigation devices 250, see ¶ 0040).
As to Claim 16, Song, Howard and Pritchford depending on Claim 15, Howard teaches wherein: the valve actuator includes two valve members, a first valve member associated with said upstream end of the first emitting segment and a second valve member associated with said downstream end of the second emitting segment (the controller may transmit acquired parameters measured by the sensors 230 to the system 130. The controller 210 may also receive instructions to activate or deactivate (i.e., open or close) certain or all solenoid valves 220, see ¶ 0038).
Claim(s) 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication 2019/0112919 to Song et al (“Song”) in view of U.S. Patent Publication 2013/0085619 to Howard in further view of WIPO Publication 2013/184382 to Pitchford et al (“Pitchford”) and in further view of U.S. Patent 11,080,982 to Ennaifar et al (“Ennaifar”).
As to Claim 17, Song, Howard and Pitchford depending on Claim 14, Song, Howard and Pitchford do not expressly disclose wherein: the conducting tube has a diameter greater than that of an emitting line segment. Enniafar teaches wherein: the conducting tube has a diameter greater than that of an emitting line segment (A primary network has the largest diameter of the pipe and distributes the largest flow of liquid in the irrigation network. A secondary network is derived from primary network, and usually has a lower diameter of pipe than the primary network and distributes a lower flow of liquid than the primary network, see Col. 2, lines 45-50).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Song, Howard and Pitchford with Enniafar to teach wherein: the conducting tube has a diameter greater than that of an emitting line segment. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to distribute water through a network of valves, pipes, tubing and emitters (see Col. 1, lines 16-17).
Claim(s) 19, 20, 42 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication 2019/0112919 to Song et al (“Song”) in view of European Patent Publication 2,819,332 to Sang et al (“Sang”) in further view of U.S. Patent Publication 2020/0404866 to Thatcher et al (“Thatcher”).
As to Claim 19, Song and Sang depending on Claim 18, Song and Sang do not expressly disclose wherein said least one intermediate component (IC) includes: an optical receiver and an optical transceiver on a downstream side of said each node; and an optical receiver and an optical transceiver on an upstream side of said each node. Thatcher teaches wherein said least one intermediate component (IC) includes: an optical receiver and an optical transceiver on a downstream side of said each node; and an optical receiver and an optical transceiver on an upstream side of said each node (fiber optic signals from the first fiber optic component 141 [optical receiver and optical transceiver on downstream side] are preferably further transmitted to at least one downstream fiber optic cable 138. The signal is then routed to a second fiber optic component 143 [optical receiver and optical transceiver on upstream side] which preferably splits the signal between a second fiber optical converter box 123 and at least one downstream fiber optic cable 140, see ¶ 0034).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Song and Sang with Thatcher to teach wherein said least one intermediate component (IC) includes: an optical receiver and an optical transceiver on a downstream side of said each node; and an optical receiver and an optical transceiver on an upstream side of said each node. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to provide a fiber-optic communication system that allows high-bandwidth communications between components of an irrigation machine (see ¶ 0007).
As to Claim 20, Song and Sang depending on Claim 18, Song and Sang do not expressly disclose a bi-directional transceiver on both a downstream side and an upstream side, of said each node. Thatcher teaches a bi-directional transceiver on both a downstream side and an upstream side, of said each node (fiber optic signals from the first fiber optic component 141 [optical receiver and optical transceiver on downstream side] are preferably further transmitted to at least one downstream fiber optic cable 138. The signal is then routed to a second fiber optic component 143 [optical receiver and optical transceiver on upstream side] which preferably splits the signal between a second fiber optical converter box 123 and at least one downstream fiber optic cable 140, see ¶ 0034).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Song and Sang with Thatcher to teach a bi-directional transceiver on both a downstream side and an upstream side, of said each node. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to provide a fiber-optic communication system that allows high-bandwidth communications between components of an irrigation machine (see ¶ 0007).
As to Claim 42, Song teaches a fluid distribution system comprising: a longitudinally extending piping infrastructure; a plurality of nodes located along the infrastructure (a well 100 configured that utilizes a communication network having the proposed configuration of communication nodes…the wellbore 102 may include a plurality of tubular sections, see ¶ 0075; Well 100 also includes an acoustic wireless communication network. The acoustic wireless communication network also may be referred to herein as a downhole network or communication network that includes various communication nodes 114 and a topside communication node and/or control unit 132. The communication nodes 114 may be spaced-apart along a drilling string 112 that extends along a length of wellbore 102, see ¶ 0076; In addition to the tubular member as an acoustic communication media, the fluids associated with the tubular member may also be used as an acoustic communication media, see ¶ 0061);
communication channels comprising optical fibers that extend along the piping infrastructure and communicating with the nodes (For communication between communication nodes, the first set of transducers 256 and the second set of transducers 258 may be configured to convert acoustical energy to electrical energy (or vice-versa) and are acoustically coupled with outer wall 260 on the side attached to the tubular member. As an example, the first set of transducers 256, which may be configured to receive acoustic signals, and a second set of transducers 258, which may be configured to transmit acoustic signals (e.g., transmitter), are disposed in the cavity 262 of the housing 252. The first and second sets of transducers 256 and 258 provide a mechanism for acoustic signals to be transmitted and received from node-to-node, along the tubular members (e.g., either up the wellbore [upstream optical fiber arrangement] or down the wellbore [downstream optical fiber arrangement] or up a subsea pipe or down a subsea pipe), see ¶ 0092; The physical connections may include one or more cables, one or more electrical conductors and/or one or more fiber optic cables, which may be secured to a tubular member and used to evaluate subsurface conditions. The physical connection may be secured to an inner portion of the tubular member and/or an outer portion of the tubular member. The physical connection provides a hard wire connection that may provide concurrent or real-time exchange of data packets within the wellbore. In addition, the physical connection may be used to provide power directly to communication nodes, see ¶ 0122).
Song does not explicitly disclose the communication channels and nodes configured to permit multi-hop routing of messages between nodes along the infrastructure.
However, Song teaches for communication between communication nodes, the first set of transducers 256 and the second set of transducers 258 may be configured to convert acoustical energy to electrical energy (or vice-versa) and are acoustically coupled with outer wall 260 on the side attached to the tubular member…the first and second sets of transducers 256 and 258 provide a mechanism for acoustic signals to be transmitted and received from node-to-node, along the tubular members (e.g., either up the wellbore or down the wellbore or up a subsea pipe or down a subsea pipe)…a signal generated in one of the transducers, such as the second set of transducers 258, passes through the housing 252 to the tubular member, and propagates along the tubular member to other communication nodes (see ¶ 0092; The physical connections may include one or more cables, one or more electrical conductors and/or one or more fiber optic cables, which may be secured to a tubular member and used to evaluate subsurface conditions…The physical connection provides a hard wire connection that may provide concurrent or real-time exchange of data packets within the wellbore. In addition, the physical connection may be used to provide power directly to communication nodes, see ¶ 0122).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Song to teach the communication channels and nodes configured to permit multi-hop routing of messages between nodes along the infrastructure. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to transmit the signal along the tubular member in two directions (see ¶ 0096).
Song does not expressly disclose wherein: at least some of the nodes each comprises at least one intermediate component (IC); messages communicated towards and/or away from said each node must first pass through said at least one intermediate component.
Sang teaches wherein: at least some of the nodes each comprises at least one intermediate component (IC); messages communicated towards and/or away from said each node must first pass through said at least one intermediate component (the leak detection control node 140 may form a plurality of AD-HOC networks (e.g., a plurality of AD-HOC networks may correspond to a first, second and third AD-HOC networks) to perform a communication with the gateway 130 and the network node 120… the leak detection control node 140 may form a first AD-HOC network with a plurality of gateways 130-1,130 -2,..., 130 -N [intermediate component] to perform communication and may form a second AD-HOC network with a plurality of network nodes 120-1,120-2,..., 120-N linked with the plurality of the gateways 130-1,130 -2,..., 130 -N to perform communication, see ¶ 0063).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Song with Sang to teach wherein: at least some of the nodes each comprises at least one intermediate component (IC); messages communicated towards and/or away from said each node must first pass through said at least one intermediate component. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to switch from the sleep mode to the standby mode at a specific period time as determined by the leak detection control node (see ¶ 0077).
Song and Sang do not expressly disclose the at least one intermediate component comprises an optical receiver.
Thatcher teaches the at least one intermediate component comprises an optical receiver (a fiber optic system including fiber optic cables and fiber optic components for transmitting signals throughout the irrigation system, see ¶ 0027).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Song and Sang with Thatcher to teach the at least one intermediate component comprises an optical receiver.
The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to provide a fiber-optic communication system that allows high-bandwidth communications between components of an irrigation machine (see ¶ 0007).
Claim(s) 25, 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication 2019/0112919 to Song et al (“Song”) in view of U.S. Patent Publication 2020/0404866 to Thatcher et al (“Thatcher”).
As to Claim 25, Song depending on Claim 24, Song do not expressly disclose a given message communicated downstream and arriving at the downstream end of the communication network triggers formation of a return message that is communicated back upstream. Thatcher teaches a given message communicated downstream and arriving at the downstream end of the communication network triggers formation of a return message that is communicated back upstream (fiber optic signals from the first fiber optic component 141 [optical receiver and optical transceiver on downstream side] are preferably further transmitted to at least one downstream fiber optic cable 138. The signal is then routed to a second fiber optic component 143 [optical receiver and optical transceiver on upstream side] which preferably splits the signal between a second fiber optical converter box 123 and at least one downstream fiber optic cable 140, see ¶ 0034).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Song with Thatcher to teach a given message communicated downstream and arriving at the downstream end of the communication network triggers formation of a return message that is communicated back upstream. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to provide a fiber-optic communication system that allows high-bandwidth communications between components of an irrigation machine (see ¶ 0007).
As to Claim 26, Song and Thatcher depending on Claim 25, Thatcher teaches wherein: an information capacity of the given message communicated downstream as measured at least adjacent the downstream end of the communication network is substantially equal to or less than an information capacity of the returning message as measured at least adjacent the upstream end of the communication network (fiber optic signals from the first fiber optic component 141 are preferably further transmitted to at least one downstream fiber optic cable 138. The signal is then routed to a second fiber optic component 143 which preferably splits the signal between a second fiber optical converter box 123 and at least one downstream fiber optic cable 140, see ¶ 0034).
Claim(s) 32 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication 2019/0112919 to Song et al (“Song”) in view of U.S. Patent Publication 2013/0085619 to Howard in further view of European Patent Publication 2,819,332 to Sang et al (“Sang”).
As to Claim 32, Song and Howard depending on Claim 31, Song and Howard do not expressly disclose wherein communication along the communication channels is by multi-hop routing of messages between nodes along the infrastructure. Sang teaches wherein communication along the communication channels is by multi-hop routing of messages between nodes along the infrastructure (The network node 120 may perform a MULTI-HOP communication between a specific leak detection sensor node 110 and the leak detection control node 140 to determine a next node based on path reliability or an instant throughput at a current time, see ¶ 0056).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Song and Howard with Sang to teach wherein communication along the communication channels is by multi-hop routing of messages between nodes along the infrastructure. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to receive sound pressure of the pipe measured by the leak detection sensor nodes (see ¶ 0050).
Claim(s) 33 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication 2019/0112919 to Song et al (“Song”) in view of U.S. Patent Publication 2013/0085619 to Howard in further view of U.S. Patent 9,258,952 to Walker et al (“Walker”).
As to Claim 33, Song and Howard depending on Claim 31, Song and Hooward do not expressly disclose wherein the irrigation lines are drip irrigation lines. Walker teaches wherein the irrigation lines are drip irrigation lines (restrictions relative to a type of water delivery device 134 in the zone (e.g., one or more zones may be available to deliver water on a given day because of the type of water delivery device(s) 134 within that zone (e.g., drip lines), see Col. 8, lines 17-21).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Song and Howard with Walker to teach wherein the irrigation lines are drip irrigation lines. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to control irrigation (see Abstract).
Claim(s) 39-41 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication 2019/0112919 to Song et al (“Song”) in view of European Patent Publication 2,819,332 to Sang et al (“Sang”) in further view of U.S. Patent Publication 2013/0085619 to Howard and in further view of U.S. Patent 11,080,982 to Ennaifar et al (“Ennaifar”).
As to Claim 39, Song and Sang depending on Claim 38, Song and Sang do not expressly disclose wherein the irrigation system comprises: a header pipe; and irrigation lines branching off from the header pipe. Howard teaches wherein the irrigation system comprises: a header pipe; and irrigation lines branching off from the header pipe (The solenoid valves 220 are electromechanical valves coupled to distributed water pipes or watermain 240. The solenoid valves 220 [nodes] can be activated by the controller 210 to provide water to certain irrigation devices 250, see ¶ 0040).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Song and Sang with Howard to teach wherein the irrigation system comprises: a header pipe; and irrigation lines branching off from the header pipe. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to provide water to certain irrigation devices 250 (see ¶ 0040).
Song, Sang and Howard do not expressly disclose the irrigation lines comprising drip emitters.
Enniafar teaches the irrigation lines comprising drip emitters (to distribute water through a network of valves, pipes, tubing and emitters (see Col. 1, lines 16-17).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Song, Sang and Howard with Enniafar to teach the irrigation lines comprising drip emitters. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to distribute water through a network of valves, pipes, tubing and emitters (see Col. 1, lines 16-17).
As to Claim 40, Song, Sang, Howard and Enniafar depending on Claim 39, Howard teaches wherein the nodes are located along the header pipe for controlling flow of liquid from the header pipe towards the irrigation lines (The solenoid valves 220 are electromechanical valves coupled to distributed water pipes or watermain 240. The solenoid valves 220 [nodes] can be activated by the controller 210 to provide water to certain irrigation devices 250, see ¶ 0040).
As to Claim 41, Song, Sang, Howard and Enniafar depending on Claim 39, Howard teaches wherein the nodes are located along the irrigation lines for controlling drip irrigation along distinct sections of the irrigation lines (The solenoid valves 220 are electromechanical valves coupled to distributed water pipes or watermain 240. The solenoid valves 220 [nodes] can be activated by the controller 210 to provide water to certain irrigation devices 250, see ¶ 0040).
Claim(s) 43-46 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication 2019/0112919 to Song et al (“Song”) in view of European Patent Publication 2,819,332 to Sang et al (“Sang”) in further view of U.S. Patent Publication 2020/0404866 to Thatcher et al (“Thatcher”) and in further view of U.S. Patent Publication 2013/0085619 to Howard.
As to Claim 43, Song, Sang and Thatcher depending on Claim 42, Song, Sang and Thatcher do not expressly disclose wherein: the system is an irrigation system; and the pipe infrastructure comprises at least one irrigation pipe configured to deliver irrigation liquid. Howard teaches wherein: the system is an irrigation system; and the piping infrastructure comprises at least one irrigation pipe configured to deliver irrigation liquid (The solenoid valves 220 are electromechanical valves coupled to distributed water pipes or watermain 240 The solenoid valves 220 can be activated by the controller 210 to provide water to certain irrigation devices 250, see ¶ 0040).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Song, Sang and Thatcher with Howard to teach wherein: the system is an irrigation system; and the pipe infrastructure comprises at least one irrigation pipe configured to deliver irrigation liquid. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to provide water to certain irrigation devices 250 (see ¶ 0040).
As to Claim 44, Song, Sang, Thatcher and Howard depending on Claim 43, Howard teaches wherein: the piping infrastructure comprises at least one conducting tube and a plurality of emitting line segments associated with each conducting tube (The solenoid valves 220 are electromechanical valves coupled to distributed water pipes or watermain 240. The solenoid valves 220 can be activated by the controller 210 to provide water to certain irrigation devices 250, see ¶ 0040);
at least one node is connected to: an upstream end of a first emitting line segment located directly downstream of said at least one node (the controller may transmit acquired parameters measured by the sensors 230 to the system 130, see ¶ 0038); and
a downstream end of a second emitting line segment located directly upstream of said at least one node (The controller 210 may also receive instructions to activate or deactivate (i.e., open or close) certain or all solenoid valves 220, see ¶ 0038); and
the at least one node is configured to open or close a liquid passage between the conducting tube and said first and/or second emitting line segment, in response to a message received over the communication channels (the controller may transmit acquired parameters measured by the sensors 230 to the system 130. The controller 210 may also receive instructions to activate or deactivate (i.e., open or close) certain or all solenoid valves 220, see ¶ 0038).
As to Claim 45, Song, Sang, Thatcher and Howard depending on Claim 44, Sang teaches wherein: at least one node further comprises: a controller which is reached by optical signals arriving from neighboring nodes only after passing through said at least one intermediate component (the leak detection control node 140 may form a plurality of AD-HOC networks (e.g., a plurality of AD-HOC networks may correspond to a first, second and third AD-HOC networks) to perform a communication with the gateway 130 and the network node 120… the leak detection control node 140 may form a first AD-HOC network with a plurality of gateways 130-1,130 -2,..., 130 -N [intermediate component] to perform communication and may form a second AD-HOC network with a plurality of network nodes 120-1,120-2,..., 120-N linked with the plurality of the gateways 130-1,130 -2,..., 130 -N to perform communication, see ¶ 0063).
Howard teaches a valve actuator connected to the controller and configured to selectively open or close said liquid passage (The solenoid valves 220 are electromechanical valves coupled to distributed water pipes or watermain 240. The solenoid valves 220 can be activated by the controller 210 to provide water to certain irrigation devices 250, see ¶ 0040).
As to Claim 46, Song, Sang, Thatcher and Howard depending on Claim 45, Howard teaches wherein: the valve actuator includes two valve members, a first valve member associated with said upstream end of the first emitting segment and a second valve member associated with said downstream end of the second emitting segment (the controller may transmit acquired parameters measured by the sensors 230 to the system 130. The controller 210 may also receive instructions to activate or deactivate (i.e., open or close) certain or all solenoid valves 220, see ¶ 0038).
Claim(s) 47 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication 2019/0112919 to Song et al (“Song”) in view of Chinese Patent Publication 108981855 to Li et al (“Li”) (relied upon English Translation).
As to Claim 47, Song depending on Claim 1, Song do not expressly disclose wherein: the communication channels comprise plastic optical fibers (POFs). Li teaches wherein: the communication channels comprise plastic optical fibers (POFs) (light pulse enters the plastic optical fiber through the optical direction coupler, and then enters the spiral plastic optical fiber probe to be scattered, see ¶ 0055).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Song with Li to teach wherein: the communication channels comprise plastic optical fibers (POFs). The suggestion/motivation would have been in order for real-time online monitoring of reservoir water levels (see ¶ 0004).
Conclusion
/EBONI N GILES/Examiner, Art Unit 2622
/PATRICK N EDOUARD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2622