DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1-3 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the one other one" in the second last line of the claim. It is unclear what the limitation indicates.
Claims 2, 3 and 6 are rejected because they depend on the rejected claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Huang et al. (US 20190393382 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Huang et al. teach a method (the method of making LED 10; Figs. 1A-1B, [0019]) comprising: forming a first semiconductor region (100; Figs. 1A-1B, [0019]) of a light emitting diode (10; Figs. 1A-1B; [0019]) doped with a first dopant concentration (the dopant concentration of 100); and forming a second semiconductor region (300; Figs. 1A-1B, [0019]) of the light emitting diode (10) doped with a second dopant concentration (the dopant concentration of 300) coupled to the first semiconductor region (100; see Figs. 1A-1B); wherein the forming the first semiconductor region (100) or the forming the second semiconductor region (300) further comprises forming a volume of the first semiconductor region (the volume of 100) or another volume of the second semiconductor region (the volume of 300) based on a calculation (the calculation of the electron concentration and the hole concentration assuming all dopants are ionized) so that an electron concentration in one of the first semiconductor region or the second semiconductor region (the electron concentration of 100, 1015 cm−3 assuming all dopants are ionized) substantially matches within a first set percentage (100%) a hole concentration (the hole concentration of 300, 5×1016 cm−3 assuming all dopants are ionized) in the one other one of the first semiconductor region or the second semiconductor region (300).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang et al. as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kang (US 20110198664 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Huang et al. teach the method as set forth in claim 1 further comprising: forming at least one intermediate region (200; Figs. 1A-1B; [0019]) between the first semiconductor region (100) and the second semiconductor region (300); wherein the first semiconductor region (100) comprises one of a p-type or an n-type layer (n-type layer; [0019]), the second semiconductor region (300) comprises the other one of the p-type or the n-type layer (p-type layer; [0019]).
Huang et al. do not teach the intermediate region comprises a multiple quantum wells region.
In the same field of endeavor of LEDs, Kang teaches intermediate region (140; Fig. 12, [0049]) comprises a multiple quantum wells region ([0049]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the inventions of Huang et al. and Kang, and to use the multiple quantum wells region of Kang as the intermediate region of Huang et al., because Huang et al. teach the intermediate region to be a light emitting layer (200; Figs. 1A-1B, [0019]), but is silent about the detail of the light emitting layer, while Kang teaches that multiple quantum well region is one of the common types of the light emitting layer ([0049]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments, filed 11/14/2025, overcome the objections to the drawings. The objections to the drawings have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s amendments, filed 11/14/2025, partially overcome the rejections to claims 1-3 and 6 under 35 U.S.C. 112. The rejections to claims 1-3 and 6 under 35 U.S.C. 112 have been partially withdrawn. Please see the 112 rejections above for details.
On page 8 of Applicant' s Response, Applicant argues that Huang fails to teach or suggest, "wherein the forming the first semiconductor region or the forming the second semiconductor region further comprises forming a volume of the first semiconductor region or another volume of the second semiconductor region based on a calculation so that an electron concentration in one of the first semiconductor region or the second semiconductor region substantially matches within a first set percentage a hole concentration in the one other one of the first semiconductor region or the second semiconductor region" as recited in claim 1, based on that Huang fails to teach or suggest intentionally forming volumes based on calculations to achieve the specific matching of carrier concentrations as recited in claim 1.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., “intentionally forming volumes based on calculations to achieve the specific matching of carrier concentrations”) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Hartensveld et al. (US 2020/0066786 A1) teach a LED having an active layer between a top semiconductor layer and a bottom semiconductor layer, where the width of the top semiconductor layer is wider than the width of the bottom semiconductor layer.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HSIN YI HSIEH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2899 2/25/2026