DETAILED ACTION
Status of Application
Claims 1 and 19-20 are amended with claims 19-20 remaining withdrawn, submitted on 10/31/2025. Claims 1, 3-12, and 16-18 are presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
2. Claims 1, 3-12 and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 recites limitations of “an edge of a second electrode sheet’s winding closing end exceeds an edge of a first electrode sheet’s winding closing end;” and “an inner side of the first electrode sheet and an outer side of the second electrode sheet are separated by a first membrane, and an outer side of the first electrode sheet and an inner side of the second electrode sheet are separated by a second membrane, a length of the first membrane and the second membrane is larger than a length of the first electrode sheet and the second electrode sheet respectively,” which includes elements without support in the original disclosure with respect to the two combined limitations.
Examiner notes that there is no description in the instant specification or in the drawings to support the above two limitations combined. The instant disclosure only provides FIG. 16 to support the first cited limitation “an edge of a second electrode sheet’s winding closing end exceeds an edge of a first electrode sheet’s winding closing end” without showing two membranes, namely, “a (the) first membrane” and “a (the) second membrane”. While FIGs. 21 and 22 of the instant disclosure seem support the second cited limitation “an inner side of the first electrode sheet and an outer side of the second electrode sheet are separated by a first membrane, and an outer side of the first electrode sheet and an inner side of the second electrode sheet are separated by a second membrane, a length of the first membrane and the second membrane is larger than a length of the first electrode sheet and the second electrode sheet respectively”, FIGs. 21 and 22 do not have the first cited limitation “an edge of a second electrode sheet’s winding closing end exceeds an edge of a first electrode sheet’s winding closing end”.
Therefore, the amended claim is interpreted as introducing new matter for being without support from the instant disclosure.
Claims 3-12 and 16-18 dependent from claim 1, are each rejected for incorporating new matter from the base claim, respectively.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claims 1, 3-12, and 16-18, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cn (CN 206076410 U, IDS of 12/30/2021, see machine translation for citation), in view of Du (CN 209217030 U, IDS of 4/5/2022, see machine translation for citation), further in view of Wang (US 20190393558 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Cn discloses a battery cell (lithium-ion button battery, [0039] and FIG. 1), comprising: a housing (5-cell sleeve, ([0040]) with a cylindrical accommodating cavity ([0062] and FIG. 3C); and an electrode assembly, arranged in the accommodating cavity, and a projection of the electrode assembly along a height direction of the battery cell is a polygon (FIG. 3D). Cn further discloses the size of the cylindrical cavity is just suitable for inserting the battery core (13) ([0062]), and when the battery cell expands, the sleeve restrains the battery cell, and the centripetal radial force applied to the battery cell prompts the battery cell to release deformation towards the axial cavity ([0032] FIG. 3C and 3D). Therefore, Cn inherently discloses a remaining space (the axial cavity, [0032] FIG. 3C and 3D) is provided between the electrode assembly and an inner wall of the housing to allow the electrode assembly to expand.
Cn further discloses a binding layer (10-battery core tape, [0042]) configured to wrap the electrode assembly (wrapped with a termination tape 10 ([0050] and [0060]) and inherently discloses there is an interval between the binding layer and an inner wall of the housing, because to enable the battery core (13) being inserted into the cylindrical cavity which corresponds to an inner wall of the housing of the instant claim, an interval between the binding layer (battery core tape 10) and an inner wall of the housing is necessarily inherent in light of the shape of the battery core is a regular octagonal prism battery cell ([0060]) while the inner wall of the housing is a cylindrical shape (FIGs. 3A and 3B).
Cn further discloses the problem of the tightly stacked battery cells expand radially causing the positive and negative stainless steel shells to deform ([0007]) and the desire to cope with and solve the problem caused by the change of the battery core during the charging and discharging of the lithium ion button battery ([0010]), and the sleeve (corresponding to the housing in the claim) (Examiner-added emphasis) may be made of a thermoplastic elastomer ([0028-0029]) and prompts the battery cell to release deformation towards the axial cavity when the battery cell expands ([0032]). However, Cn does not explicitly disclose the binding layer (10-battery core tape, [0042]) has elasticity to allow the electrode assembly to expand.
Du teaches a battery which can slow down the expansion and deformation speed of a bare battery cell ([0006]), the battery comprises a bare cell, a packaging film and an elastic insulating film, wherein the elastic insulating film and the battery cell are located within the packaging film, and the elastic insulating film is wrapped around the bare cell ([0007]); and by wrapping an elastic insulating film around the outside of the bare battery cell, when the battery expands and deforms, the elastic insulating film is subject to the force of the expansion of the bare battery cell, which increases the elastic force of the elastic insulating film ([0030]). Therefore, Du teaches the binding layer has elasticity (the elastic insulating film, [0007]) to allow the electrode assembly to expand.
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to replace the battery core tape 10 of Cn with an elastic insulating film as taught by Du, and arrive at the claimed “the binding layer has elasticity”, in order to allow some expansion but further would slow down the expansion and deformation speed of a battery cell due to the increased elastic force inherently generated form the elastic binding layer due to its elasticity.
Since modified Cn has adopted an elastic insulating film being wrapped around the bare cell taught by (Du [0007]), the claimed “the binding layer is a sleeve, and the binding layer is sleeved on the outside of the electrode assembly” is naturally met because the insulating film being wrapped around the cell forms essentially a sleeve on the outside of the electrode assembly.
Modified Cn further discloses the electrode assembly comprises a first electrode sheet (6-positive electrode, [0040]) and a second electrode sheet (7-negative electrode, [0041]) with an opposite electrical polarity to the first electrode sheet, and the first electrode sheet and the second electrode sheet are wound to form the electrode assembly (FIGs. 2A and 3A).
While modified Cn further discloses problems of internal short circuit etc. ([0007]), and the desire of lithium-ion button batteries with high capacity and high rate discharge characteristics ([0008]), modified Cn does not explicitly disclose the innermost layer of the electrode assembly is the second electrode sheet, and the outermost layer is the first electrode sheet, an outer side of the first electrode sheet which is at least not covered with the second electrode sheet is provided without a coating layer, and an edge of a second electrode sheet’s winding closing end exceeds an edge of a first electrode sheet’s winding closing end; an inner side of the first electrode sheet and an outer side of the second electrode sheet are separated by a first membrane, and an outer side of the first electrode sheet and an inner side of the second electrode sheet are separated by a second membrane, a length of the first membrane and the second membrane is larger than a length of the first electrode sheet and the second electrode sheet respectively, an edge of the first electrode sheet's winding initial end exceeds an edge of the second electrode sheet's winding initial end, and an edge of the winding initial end of the first membrane and an edge of the winding initial end of the second membrane exceed an edge of the first electrode sheet's winding initial end, respectively.
Wang in the same filed of endeavor teaches similar challenges regarding energy density of polymer-lithium-ion batteries ([0003]), and also for an improved safety performance of the cell ([0081]) Wang further teaches in FIG. 11 that the innermost layer of the electrode assembly is the second electrode sheet (electrode sheet 10, [0081]), and the outermost layer is the first electrode sheet (electrode sheet 20, [0081]), an outer side of the first electrode sheet which is at least not covered with the second electrode sheet is provided without a coating layer (first uncoated region 107, [0081]), and an edge of a second electrode sheet’s winding closing end exceeds an edge of a first electrode sheet’s winding closing end (FIG. 11); an inner side of the first electrode sheet and an outer side of the second electrode sheet are separated by a first membrane, and an outer side of the first electrode sheet and an inner side of the second electrode sheet are separated by a second membrane (two membranes shown as two dashed lines, FIG. 11), a length of the first membrane and the second membrane is larger than a length of the first electrode sheet and the second electrode sheet respectively (FIG. 11), an edge of the first electrode sheet's winding initial end exceeds an edge of the second electrode sheet's winding initial end (FIG. 11), and an edge of the winding initial end of the first membrane and an edge of the winding initial end of the second membrane exceed an edge of the first electrode sheet's winding initial end, respectively (FIG. 11).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to prepare the electrode assembly of modified Cn in such a manner as claimed “the innermost layer of the electrode assembly is the second electrode sheet, and the outermost layer is the first electrode sheet, an outer side of the first electrode sheet which is at least not covered with the second electrode sheet is provided without a coating layer, and an edge of a second electrode sheet’s winding closing end exceeds an edge of a first electrode sheet’s winding closing end; an inner side of the first electrode sheet and an outer side of the second electrode sheet are separated by a first membrane, and an outer side of the first electrode sheet and an inner side of the second electrode sheet are separated by a second membrane, a length of the first membrane and the second membrane is larger than a length of the first electrode sheet and the second electrode sheet respectively, an edge of the first electrode sheet's winding initial end exceeds an edge of the second electrode sheet's winding initial end, and an edge of the winding initial end of the first membrane and an edge of the winding initial end of the second membrane exceed an edge of the first electrode sheet's winding initial end, respectively”, as taught by Wang, in order to improve both of the energy density and the safety performance of the cell, as desired by Cn, without undue experimentation and with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 3, modified Cn discloses all of the limitations as set forth above. Modified Cn discloses a shape of any cross section of the electrode assembly perpendicular to the height direction of the battery cell is the polygon (FIG. 3D).
Regarding claims 4 and 5, modified Cn discloses all of the limitations as set forth above. Modified Cn discloses preferably the three-dimensional configuration of the wound battery cell is a regular prism with no less than 6 side edges ([0017]) and the electrode assembly is wound into a regular octagonal prism battery cell ([0060] and FIG. 3B), which reads on the claimed “a three-dimensional shape of the electrode assembly is a prism” (claim 4); and “a three-dimensional shape of the electrode assembly is a regular prism” (claim 5).
Regarding claim 6, modified Cn discloses all of the limitations as set forth above. Modified Cn further discloses the outer layers of the electrode assembly as shown in FIGs. 2A and 3A seem possessing smooth transition for two adjacent edges, which inherently discloses the claimed “two adjacent edges of the projection of the electrode assembly possess a smooth transition to make the vertex of the polygon a fillet”.
Regarding claims 7 and 8, modified Cn discloses all of the limitations as set forth above. Modified Cn discloses the size of the cylindrical cavity is just suitable for inserting the battery core (13) ([0062]), and the inner cavity of the sleeve facilitates the smooth insertion of the battery cell , and the battery cell is effectively fixed by the friction between the two side walls ([0025] and FIG. 2D), which inherently discloses the diameter of a circumscribed circle of the projection of the electrode assembly is about the same or very close to a diameter of the accommodation cavity, and the claimed limitations “a ratio of a diameter of a circumscribed circle of the projection of the electrode assembly to a diameter of the accommodating cavity is 90%-100%” (claim 7); and “the ratio of the diameter of the circumscribed circle of the projection of the electrode assembly to the diameter of the accommodating cavity is 95%-100%” (claim 8), are met.
Regarding claims 9 and 10, modified Cn discloses all of the limitations as set forth above. Modified Cn (Annotated FIG. 3A) further discloses the claim limitations “a connecting line between any vertex of the projection of the electrode assembly and a center of the circumscribed circle of the projection of the electrode assembly is defined as a first straight line, a projection of an edge of the first electrode sheet's winding closing end along the height direction of the battery cell is not on any first straight line, and a projection of the second electrode sheet's winding closing end along the height direction of the battery cell is not on any first straight line” (claim 9); and “a connecting line between any vertex of the projection of the electrode assembly and a center of the circumscribed circle of the projection of the electrode assembly is defined as a first straight line, a projection of an edge of the first electrode sheet's winding initial end along the height direction of the battery cell is not on any first straight line, and a projection of an edge of the second electrode sheet's winding initial end along the height direction of the battery cell is not on any first straight line” (claim 10).
Regarding claims 11 and 12, modified Cn discloses all of the limitations as set forth above. Modified Cn (Annotated FIG. 3A) further discloses the claim limitations “a connecting line between any vertex of the projection of the electrode assembly and a center of the circumscribed circle of the projection of the electrode assembly is defined as a first straight line, the projection of the electrode assembly is divided into a plurality of areas by a plurality of first straight lines, and a difference between a number of layers of the electrode sheet in any two areas is less than or equal to 1” (claim 11); and “wherein the projection of an edge of the first electrode sheet's winding initial end along the height direction of the battery cell and the projection of an edge of a winding closing end of the first electrode sheet along the height direction of the battery cell are located in two adjacent areas, and the projection of an edge of the second electrode sheet's winding initial end along the height direction of the battery cell and the projection of an edge of a winding closing end of the second electrode sheet along the height direction of the battery cell are located in two adjacent areas” (claim 12).
Regarding claim 16, modified Cn discloses all of the limitations as set forth above. Modified Cn discloses a three-dimensional shape formed by the binding layer sleeved on the outside of the electrode assembly is the same as the three-dimensional shape of the electrode assembly (FIG. 2D).
Regarding claim 17, modified Cn discloses all of the limitations as set forth above. Modified Cn discloses a battery ([0006]), comprising the battery cell according to claim 1.
Regarding claim 18, modified Cn discloses all of the limitations as set forth above. Modified Cn discloses a power consumption device (consumer electronic products, [0006]), comprising the battery according to claim 17.
7. Claim 6 is further rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cn (CN 206076410 U, IDS of 12/30/2021, see machine translation for citation) in view of Du (CN 209217030 U, IDS of 4/5/2022, see machine translation for citation), further in view of Wang (US 20190393558 A1), as applied to claim 1, further in view of Xu (CN 110190338 A, see machine translation for citation).
Regarding claim 6, modified Cn discloses all of the limitations as set forth above. Modified Cn further discloses the outer layers of the electrode assembly as shown in FIGs 2A and 3A seem possessing smooth transition for two adjacent edges, which inherently discloses the claimed “two adjacent edges of the projection of the electrode assembly possess a smooth transition to make the vertex of the polygon a fillet”.
Assuming, arguendo, that modified Cn, for some reason, is not considered to teach the claim limitation as set forth above, the following obviousness rejections are also presented.
Regarding claim 6, modified Cn discloses all of the limitations as set forth above. While modified Cn discloses the problem of the tightly stacked battery cells expand radially causing the positive and negative stainless steel shells to deform and leakage channels to appear at the contact points between the positive and negative electrodes and the sealing rubber rings ([0007]) and the desire to cope with and solve the problem caused by the change of the battery core during the charging and discharging of the lithium ion button battery ([0010]), and preferably the three-dimensional configuration of the wound battery cell is a regular prism with no less than 6 side edges ([0017]), modified Cn does not explicitly disclose that two adjacent edges of the projection of the electrode assembly possess a smooth transition to make the vertex of the polygon a fillet.
Xu teaches similar concerns about the expansion of electrodes during charge and discharge process of secondary batteries, and if the expansion stress is not effectively released, it will cause the wound electrode assembly to twist and deform. In particular, in the corner area formed by winding the electrode assembly, the expansion stress is most concentrated, and the distortion and deformation of the electrode assembly is more likely to occur ([0004]). Xu further teaches an electrode assembly and a secondary battery which can release expansion stress, avoid electrode fracture, and ensure the consistency of dynamic performance ([0006]) with the first pole piece, the second pole piece and the diaphragm wound into a flat structure and the flat structure includes a main body area and a corner area, and the corner area is arranged at two end of the main body area along the width direction ([0008]) and the corner area 15 is generally arc-shaped ([0053]), which teaches the claimed “two adjacent edges of the projection of the electrode assembly possess a smooth transition to make the vertex of the polygon a fillet” because the arc-shaped corner area corresponds to a smooth transition of two adjacent edges and makes the vertex of the polygon a fillet.
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to further modify the corner area of the electrode assembly of modified Cn with an arc-shape as taught by Xu, and thus arrive at the claimed “two adjacent edges of the projection of the electrode assembly possess a smooth transition to make the vertex of the polygon a fillet” in order to release expansion stress, avoid electrode fracture, and ensure the consistency of dynamic performance.
Response to Arguments
8. Applicant’s arguments regarding the amended claim 1 filed on 10/31/2025 have been fully considered but are not found persuasive and moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Conclusion
9. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/K. L./Examiner, Art Unit 1751 11/20/2025
/JONATHAN G LEONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1751 11/25/2025