DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed January 12, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues the combination of Ghadi and Wang fails to disclose the amended claimed features of “an encoding task associated with repeatedly encoding primary content” and lack motivation to be combined. The primary content in question is video content, thus any encoding task associated therewith is performed repeatedly (for each displayed frame of video). Further, the motivation to combine was stated previously by the examiner, wherein it was shown that Wang teaches the benefit of identifying time gaps in content, said gaps providing opportunity to insert additional advertising.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9-14 and 29-36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ghadi et al. (2016/0205443, of record) [Ghadi] in view of Wang et al. (2011/0154389, of record) [Wang].
Regarding claims 9, 29, and 35-36, Ghadi discloses a method comprising:
determining, by a content distribution device, based on an indication in a content stream, that an encoding task associated with repeatedly encoding primary content satisfies an encoding resource requirement (ad break showing available bandwidth for content insertion, figs. 6-8 and paragraphs 0040 and 0067);
based on the encoding task satisfying the encoding resource requirement, causing an encoding device to store a secondary content segment and cease an encoding operation (replacement of static ad with live ad, paragraphs 0057 and 0086, by ad stitching, paragraphs 0040-0041 and 0061);
causing the encoding device to send, based on receiving a request for the primary content, the secondary content segment toa media device with instructions; and causing, based on the instructions and the request, the media device to output the secondary content segment (instructing new requests to join particular streams, paragraph 0071).
Ghadi fails to disclose that the resource requirement is a threshold value.
In an analogous art, Wang teaches identifying breaks in the display of primary content that are at least large enough to insert additional content which both enhances the presentation of secondary content and eliminates what would otherwise be "dead" air time of a presentation (paragraph 0045).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the method of Ghadi to include the encoding resource requirement is a threshold value, as suggested by Wang, for the benefit of dynamically inserting enhancement contents to eliminate dead air time otherwise found in content presentations.
Regarding claims 10 and 30, Ghadi and Wang disclose the method and apparatus of claims 9 and 29, wherein the encoding resource requirement threshold is associated with a bandwidth availability (enough room to place advertisement content, Wang paragraph 0045).
Regarding claims 11 and 31, Ghadi and Wang disclose the method and apparatus of claims 9 and 29, wherein the content distribution device comprises a head end, wherein the encoding device comprises an encoder/transcoder, and wherein the media device comprises at least one of: a set top box, a smart phone, or a computer (Ghadi fig. 1).
Regarding claims 12 and 32, Ghadi and Wang disclose the method and apparatus of claims 9 and 29, but fail to disclose causing the media device to output the secondary content segment comprises causing the media device to store and repeatedly output the secondary content segment.
Examiner takes official notice that storing targeted advertisements at a media device for later reuse according to a predefined advertisement campaign was notoriously well known in the art at the time of effective filing, providing a means for reducing network bandwidth requirements by reusing content that has been previously broadcast rather than rebroadcasting said content each time.
It would have been obvious at the time of effective filing to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method and apparatus of Ghadi and Wang to include the instructions are further configured to cause the media device to store the secondary content segment and repeatedly output the stored secondary content. This provides the benefit reducing overall network bandwidth requirements by reusing content that has been previously broadcast rather than rebroadcasting said content each time.
Regarding claims 13 and 33, Ghadi and Wang disclose the method and apparatus of claims 9 and 29, wherein the instructions are further configured to cause the media device to store the secondary content segment (Ghadi paragraph 0075).
Regarding claims 14 and 34, Ghadi and Wang disclose the method and apparatus of claims 13 and 29, further comprising: receiving, by the content distribution device, a request for different primary content; and causing, based on the request, the media device to cease output of the secondary content segment (Ghadi teaches dynamic changes to content provided are based on a changing audience, paragraphs 0011 and 0053, such as channel changes, paragraph 0071).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-8 and 21-28 are allowed. As previously stated, said claims are directed towards identifying a substantial time duration of at least a minimum length between broadcasts to serve as the trigger event that determines whether secondary content is stored. This feature does not appear to be taught or reasonably suggested in the prior art at the time of effective filing.
Conclusion
All claims are identical to or patentably indistinct from, or have unity of invention with claims in the application prior to the entry of the submission under 37 CFR 1.114 (that is, restriction (including a lack of unity of invention) would not be proper) and all claims could have been finally rejected on the grounds and art of record in the next Office action if they had been entered in the application prior to entry under 37 CFR 1.114. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL even though it is a first action after the filing of a request for continued examination and the submission under 37 CFR 1.114. See MPEP § 706.07(b). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DOMINIC D SALTARELLI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2421