DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 1-27 are under examination.
Claim 28 is cancelled.
Withdrawn Claim Objections
The amendment(s) to the claim(s) filed March 13th, 2026 is acknowledged and the previous objection is withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-14 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Muratsu et al. (U.S. PGPub 2020/0227698 A1 as previously cited), hereinafter Muratsu, in view of Fees et al. (U.S. PGPub US 2018/0108955 (A1)), hereinafter Fees.
Regarding claim 1, Muratsu discloses a battery pack comprising: a plurality of battery cells arranged in a plurality of rows extending in a row direction (i.e., at least plurality of batteries ref. 10 arranged in a plurality of rows extending in a row direction such as X-direction as shown in Fig. 1, also see Fig. 2, [0022]),
the plurality of battery cells being arranged such that rows adjacent to each other in a transverse direction crossing the row direction are alternately shifted to forward and backward positions in the row direction (See Annotated Fig. 2);
a busbar extending in the row direction (See Annotated Fig. 1, also see Fig. 2), the busbar comprising: a busbar body portion extending in the row direction over one of the rows of the plurality of battery cells (i.e., at least bus bar main body ref. 21A-B, 30A-B, etc., as shown in Figs. 4A-B and 5A-B and disclosed in [0032] and [0034], also See Annotated Fig. 1, also see Fig. 2, also see [0025]-[0026], [0035]), lacking any further distinction thereof as to said busbar and/or busbar body portion;
a busbar front connection portion protruding from one end of the busbar body portion beyond a first one of the plurality of battery cells in the one of the rows of the plurality of battery cells in the row direction (See Annotated Fig. 1, also see Fig. 2), such that the skilled artisan would appreciate that a first one of the plurality of battery cells may be battery of said battery cells, lacking any further distinction thereof;
and a busbar rear connection portion protruding from an opposite end of the busbar body portion beyond a last one of the plurality of battery cells in the one of the rows of the plurality of battery cells in the row direction (See Annotated Fig. 1, also see Fig. 2), such that the skilled artisan would appreciate that a busbar rear connection portion is broad in scope and may be any portion, lacking any further structural distinction thereof,
the busbar front connection portion and the busbar rear connection portion having different lengths in the row direction (See Annotated Fig. 8, also see Figs. 1-2, also see [0026] with regards to different lengths, etc., and [0035] with respect to thicknesses and widths, etc., also see [0025]-[0026], [0048]), such that the skilled artisan would appreciate that a busbar front connection portion is broad in scope and may be any portion, etc., and levels are also broad in scope and may be that such as a width/thickness, etc., lacking any further structural distinction thereof;
and a case accommodating the plurality of battery cells (i.e., insulation holder(s) refs. 40 and 50 disposed on one end portion side of batteries ref. 10 and holds batteries ref. 10 as disclosed in [0024] is/are at least a case, lacking any further structural distinction thereof as claimed, also see Figs. 1-2, 8, [0025], [0027], [0036], [0038], [0042]),
the case comprising a front wall and a rear wall having complementary shapes and facing each other in the row direction with the plurality of battery cells therebetween (See Annotated Fig. 1, also see Fig. 2 with regards to the shapes at the front/rear walls which are at least complementary so that insulation holder(s) refs. 40 and 50 disposed on one end portion side of batteries ref. 10 holds batteries ref. 10 as disclosed in [0024]),
wherein the busbar front connection portion and the busbar rear connection portion are directly electrically connected to each other via the busbar body portion (See Annotated Fig. 1), such that the skilled artisan would appreciate as disclosed in [0032] positive-electrode bus bar ref. 20A formed of bus bar main body ref. 21A and positive-electrode current collecting plate ref. 22 having a plurality of (five in this exemplary embodiment) positive-electrode connecting pieces ref. 23 connected to the positive-electrode terminals of the respective batteries, such that bus bar main body ref. 21A and positive-electrode current collecting plate ref. 22 are bonded to each other by ultrasonic welding, etc., and as disclosed in [0035] although materials for forming bus bar main bodies (refs. 21A-B, refs. 31A-B) and positive electrode current collecting plate ref. 22 (positive-electrode connecting pieces ref. 23), etc., are not particularly limited, for example, aluminum or the like can be used, such that aluminum materials so as to be current collecting at least necessitates being directly electrically connected to each other, lacking any further distinction thereof.
and wherein at least one of the busbar front connection portion and the busbar rear connection portion protrudes outwardly beyond the respective front wall or rear wall of the case (See Annotated Fig. 8, also see Figs. 1-2).
However, Muratsu is silent as to the busbar front connection portion and the busbar rear connection portion are both farther above the plurality of battery cells than the busbar body portion is, and wherein bottom surfaces of the busbar front connection portion and the busbar rear connection portion facing toward the plurality of battery cells are at different heights above the plurality of battery cells with respect to each other.
Fees teaches a battery module including a heat pipe positioned in proximity to a terminal component at a positive or negative terminal of the battery module (Title). Fees further teaches a busbar front connection portion and a busbar rear connection portion are both farther above the plurality of battery cells than the busbar body portion is (See Annotated Fig. 14), such that the skilled artisan would appreciate that said busbar front/rear connection portion(s) (i.e., at least negative/positive pole contact plate(s)) are at least farther above the plurality of battery cells than the busbar body portion so as to be thicker as shown in Fig. 15A than the busbar body portion(s) in the center (also see Fig. 15B), such that a busbar body portion is broad in scope and may be any portion such as a portion closer to the center of the positive/negative pole contact plate(s), lacking any further distinction thereof (also see [0119]-[0128], [0133], [0136]-[0142]).
Fees further teaches bottom surfaces of the busbar front connection portion and the busbar rear connection portion facing toward the plurality of battery cells (See Annotated Fig. 14).
Fees further teaches in [0136] as shown in Fig. 14, the thicknesses, or the depths, of contact plates ref. 1415, 1420, etc., vary along the length of the hybrid contact plate arrangement ref. 1400, etc., whereby in particular, the “positive pole” contact plate ref. 1420 and “negative pole” contact plate ref. 1415 are configured to be thicker near the respective ends, etc., and further teaches in [0137] regulating the thickness of the respective contact plates, etc., as shown in Figs. 13A-14 may be used to provide a battery modules with a number of benefits, whereby these benefits include (i) a reduction of material costs, and/or weight, (ii) a reduction of inner resistance, (iii) a reduction of design space (height) through the hybrid contact plate arrangement, and/or (iv) an improved relationship between cost of materials and current density, etc., which at least provides bottom surfaces of the busbar front connection portion and the busbar rear connection portion facing toward the plurality of battery cells are at different heights above the plurality of battery cells with respect to each other (also see [0119]-[0128], [0133], [0136]-[0142]), such that the skilled artisan would appreciate that by regulating the thickness of the respective contact plates, etc., that this at least embodies different heights so as to improve the relationship between cost of materials and current density, etc. (also see Figs. 13D-E with regards to different heights of the positive/negative pole contact plate(s))
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified Muratsu with the teachings of Fees, whereby the battery pack comprising the busbar front connection portion, busbar rear connection portion, battery cells, busbar body portion, etc., as disclosed by Muratsu further includes the busbar front connection portion and the busbar rear connection portion are both farther above the plurality of battery cells than the busbar body portion is, and wherein bottom surfaces of the busbar front connection portion and the busbar rear connection portion facing toward the plurality of battery cells are at different heights above the plurality of battery cells with respect to each other as taught by Fees so as to provide (i) a reduction of material costs, and/or weight, (ii) a reduction of inner resistance, (iii) a reduction of design space (height) through the hybrid contact plate arrangement, and/or (iv) an improved relationship between cost of materials and current density, etc.
Furthermore, the skilled artisan would appreciate the combined teachings of Muratsu and Fees such that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to perform routine experimentation to optimize the heights of the front/rear busbar connection portion(s) so as to provide (i) a reduction of material costs, and/or weight, (ii) a reduction of inner resistance, (iii) a reduction of design space (height) through the hybrid contact plate arrangement, and/or (iv) an improved relationship between cost of materials and current density, etc. (See MPEP 2144.05(11.), 2144.05 7) ROUTINE OPTIMIZATION, “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 288, 285 (CCPA 1955)) (also see [0353]-[0362]).
Annotated Figure 1 (Muratsu)
Annotated Figure 2 (Muratsu)
Annotated Figure 8 (Muratsu)
Annotated Figure 14 (Fees)
Regarding claim 2, Muratsu discloses the battery pack as discussed above in claim 1. Muratsu further discloses the front wall comprises: a first convex portion protruding forwardly in accordance with a row shifted to a forward position (See Annotated Fig. 8 above in claim 1, also see Figs. 1-2);
and a first concave portion concave toward a front side in accordance with a row shifted to a backward position (See Annotated Fig. 8 above in claim 1, also see Figs. 1-2).
Regarding claim 3, Muratsu discloses the battery pack as discussed above in claim 2. Muratsu discloses the rear wall comprises: a second convex portion protruding backwardly in accordance with the row shifted to the backward position See Annotated Fig. 8 above in claim 1, also see Figs. 1-2;
and a second concave portion concave toward a rear side in accordance with the row shifted to the forward position (See Annotated Fig. 8 above in claim 1, also see Figs. 1-2).
Regarding claim 4, Muratsu discloses the battery pack as discussed above in claim 3. Muratsu further discloses wherein the first convex portion of the front wall and the second concave portion of the rear wall are at the same row positions and have complementary shapes (See Annotated Fig. 8 above in claim 1, also see Figs. 1-2).
Muratsu further discloses the first concave portion of the front wall and the second convex portion of the rear wall are at the same row positions and have complementary shapes (See Annotated Fig. 8 above in claim 1, also see Figs. 1-2)
Since Muratsu discloses an identical and/or substantially identical product as claimed, properties and/or functions such as fittable to each other are presumed inherent (MPEP 2112.01, I.), lacking any further structural distinction thereof.
Regarding claim 5, Muratsu discloses the battery pack as discussed above in claim 1. Muratsu further discloses the busbar is shifted to a forward position or a backward position in the row direction (See Annotated Fig. 8 above in claim 1, also see Figs. 1-2), such that the skilled artisan would appreciate that said busbar (i.e., at least as discussed above in claim 1) is at least shifted, whereby as disclosed in [0032] positive-electrode bus bar ref. 20A formed of bus bar main body ref. 21A and positive-electrode current collecting plate ref. 22 having a plurality of (five in this exemplary embodiment) positive-electrode connecting pieces ref. 23 connected to the positive-electrode terminals of the respective batteries and said positions of positive-electrode connecting pieces ref. 23 are shifted as shown in at least Fig. 8, etc., and lacking any further distinction thereof as to said busbar(s).
Regarding claim 6, Muratsu discloses the battery pack as discussed above in claim 5. Muratsu further discloses a plurality of busbars arranged in the transverse direction (See Annotated Fig. 8 above in claim 1, also see Figs. 1-2), and wherein the busbars are shifted together equally to forward positions or backward positions (See Annotated Fig. 8 above in claim 1, also see Figs. 1-2), such that the skilled artisan would appreciate that said busbar (i.e., at least as discussed above in claim 1) is at least shifted, whereby as disclosed in [0032] positive-electrode bus bar ref. 20A formed of bus bar main body ref. 21A and positive-electrode current collecting plate ref. 22 having a plurality of (five in this exemplary embodiment) positive-electrode connecting pieces ref. 23 connected to the positive-electrode terminals of the respective batteries and said positions of positive-electrode connecting pieces ref. 23 are shifted as shown in at least Fig. 8, etc., and lacking any further distinction thereof as to said busbar(s).
Regarding claim 7, Muratsu discloses the battery pack as discussed above in claim 6. Muratsu further discloses the busbars are shifted to the forward positions (See Annotated Fig. 8, also see Figs. 1-2).
Although Muratsu appears silent as to the busbar front connection portions of the busbars protrude a longer distance than the busbar rear connection portions of the busbars, since Muratsu discloses in [0058] two kinds of positive-electrode bus bars ref. 20A-B which differ from each other in length and two kinds of negative-electrode bus bars refs. 30A-B which differ in length are used, etc., (also see [0026]), and further discloses in [0007] it is a main object of the present invention to provide a battery block formed of a plurality of batteries which are connected parallel to each other, and can reduce a manufacturing cost and a material cost, one having ordinary skill in the art would appreciate providing busbar front/rear connection portion(s) of different lengths so as to provide a battery block formed of a plurality of batteries which are connected parallel to each other, and can reduce a manufacturing cost and a material cost.
Furthermore, since Muratsu discloses a busbar front/rear connection portion(s) which are identical and/or substantially identical to that claimed, changing the size and/or shape would be a matter of obvious design choice, such that the skilled artisan would reasonably be able to determine the size and/or shape of said front/rear connection portion(s) without undue experimentation, and lacking criticality as to said lengths of said busbar front/rear connection portion(s) (MPEP 2144.04, IV., A., B.).
Regarding claim 8, Muratsu discloses the battery pack as discussed above in claim 1. Muratsu further discloses the busbar front connection portions and the busbar rear connection portions are stepped from the corresponding busbar body portion and are above outside walls of the case in a height direction crossing the row direction and the transverse direction (See Annotated Fig. 1 above in claim 1 and Annotated Fig. 4A-B below, also see Figs. 2, 5A-B and 8, also see [0026] with regards to different lengths, etc., and [0035] with respect to thicknesses and widths, etc., also see [0025]-[0026], [0048]), such that the skilled artisan would appreciate that a busbar front connection portion is broad in scope and may be any portion, etc., and since the busbars as shown in Fig. 1 are above the insulation holder ref. 40, this at least provides said portion(s) are outside walls of the case in a height direction, lacking any further distinction thereof.
In the alternative, the combined teachings of Muratsu and Fees discloses the battery pack as discussed above in claim 1. Fees further teaches the busbar front connection portion(s) and the busbar rear connection portions are stepped from the corresponding busbar body portion and are above outside walls of the case in a height direction crossing the row direction and the transverse direction (See Annotated Fig. 14 above in claim 1), such that the skilled artisan would appreciate that change in thickness from the center to being thicker near the respective ends at least provides said front/rear connection portion(s) are at least stepped, (also see [0119]-[0128], [0133], [0136]-[0142]), such that the skilled artisan would appreciate that by regulating the thickness of the respective contact plates, etc., that this at least embodies different heights (step) so as to improve the relationship between cost of materials and current density, etc. (also see Figs. 13D-E with regards to different heights/step, etc., of the positive/negative pole contact plate(s)).
Fees further teaches in [0136] as shown in Fig. 14, the thicknesses, or the depths, of contact plates ref. 1415, 1420, etc., vary along the length of the hybrid contact plate arrangement ref. 1400, etc., whereby in particular, the “positive pole” contact plate ref. 1420 and “negative pole” contact plate ref. 1415 are configured to be thicker near the respective ends, etc., and further teaches in [0137] regulating the thickness of the respective contact plates, etc., as shown in Figs. 13A-14 may be used to provide a battery modules with a number of benefits, whereby these benefits include (i) a reduction of material costs, and/or weight, (ii) a reduction of inner resistance, (iii) a reduction of design space (height) through the hybrid contact plate arrangement, and/or (iv) an improved relationship between cost of materials and current density, etc., (also see [0119]-[0128], [0133], [0136]-[0142], Figs. 13D-E).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified Muratsu with the teachings of Fees, whereby the battery pack comprising the busbar front connection portion, busbar rear connection portion, battery cells, busbar body portion, etc., as disclosed by Muratsu further includes the busbar front connection portion(s) and the busbar rear connection portions are stepped from the corresponding busbar body portion and are above outside walls of the case in a height direction crossing the row direction and the transverse direction as taught by Fees so as to provide (i) a reduction of material costs, and/or weight, (ii) a reduction of inner resistance, (iii) a reduction of design space (height) through the hybrid contact plate arrangement, and/or (iv) an improved relationship between cost of materials and current density, etc.
Furthermore, the skilled artisan would appreciate the combined teachings of Muratsu and Fees such that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to perform routine experimentation to optimize the heights (e.g., step) of the front/rear busbar connection portion(s) so as to provide (i) a reduction of material costs, and/or weight, (ii) a reduction of inner resistance, (iii) a reduction of design space (height) through the hybrid contact plate arrangement, and/or (iv) an improved relationship between cost of materials and current density, etc. (See MPEP 2144.05(11.), 2144.05 7) ROUTINE OPTIMIZATION, “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 288, 285 (CCPA 1955)) (also see [0353]-[0362]).
Annotated Figure 4A-B (Muratsu)
Regarding claim 9, Muratsu discloses the battery pack as discussed above in claim 8. Muratsu further discloses the busbar front connection portion extends toward an outside of the front wall above the front wall (See Annotated Fig. 8 above in claim 1, also see Figs. 1-2),
and wherein the busbar rear connection portion extends outside of the rear wall above the rear wall (See Annotated Fig. 8 above in claim 1, also see Figs. 1-2).
In the alternative, the combined teachings of Muratsu and Fees discloses the battery pack as discussed above in claim 1. Fees further the busbar front connection portion extends outside of the front wall above the front wall, and wherein the busbar rear connection portion extends outside of the rear wall above the rear wall (See Annotated Fig. 14 above in claim 1), (also see [0119]-[0128], [0133], [0136]-[0142], Figs. 13D-E).
Fees further teaches in [0136] as shown in Fig. 14, the thicknesses, or the depths, of contact plates ref. 1415, 1420, etc., vary along the length of the hybrid contact plate arrangement ref. 1400, etc., whereby in particular, the “positive pole” contact plate ref. 1420 and “negative pole” contact plate ref. 1415 are configured to be thicker near the respective ends, etc., and further teaches in [0137] regulating the thickness of the respective contact plates, etc., as shown in Figs. 13A-14 may be used to provide a battery modules with a number of benefits, whereby these benefits include (i) a reduction of material costs, and/or weight, (ii) a reduction of inner resistance, (iii) a reduction of design space (height) through the hybrid contact plate arrangement, and/or (iv) an improved relationship between cost of materials and current density, etc., (also see [0119]-[0128], [0133], [0136]-[0142], also see Figs. 13D-E)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified Muratsu with the teachings of Fees, whereby the battery pack comprising the busbar front connection portion, busbar rear connection portion, battery cells, busbar body portion, etc., as disclosed by Muratsu further includes the busbar front connection portion extends outside of the front wall above the front wall, and wherein the busbar rear connection portion extends outside of the rear wall above the rear wall as taught by Fees so as to provide (i) a reduction of material costs, and/or weight, (ii) a reduction of inner resistance, (iii) a reduction of design space (height) through the hybrid contact plate arrangement, and/or (iv) an improved relationship between cost of materials and current density, etc.
Regarding claim 10, Muratsu discloses the battery pack as discussed above in claim 8. However, Muratsu is silent as to the busbar front connection portion and the busbar rear connection portion are at different heights for overlapping each other.
The combined teachings of Muratsu and Fees discloses the battery pack as discussed above in claim 8. Fees further teaches in [0136] as shown in Fig. 14, the thicknesses, or the depths, of contact plates ref. 1415, 1420, etc., vary along the length of the hybrid contact plate arrangement ref. 1400, etc., whereby in particular, the “positive pole” contact plate ref. 1420 and “negative pole” contact plate ref. 1415 are configured to be thicker near the respective ends, etc., and further teaches in [0137] regulating the thickness of the respective contact plates, etc., as shown in Figs. 13A-14 may be used to provide a battery modules with a number of benefits, whereby these benefits include (i) a reduction of material costs, and/or weight, (ii) a reduction of inner resistance, (iii) a reduction of design space (height) through the hybrid contact plate arrangement, and/or (iv) an improved relationship between cost of materials and current density, etc., which at least provides the busbar front connection portion and the busbar rear connection portion are at different heights (also see [0119]-[0128], [0133], [0136]-[0142]), such that the skilled artisan would appreciate that by regulating the thickness of the respective contact plates, etc., that this at least embodies different heights so as to improve the relationship between cost of materials and current density, etc. (also see Figs. 13D-E with regards to different heights of the positive/negative pole contact plate(s))
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified Muratsu with the teachings of Fees, whereby the battery pack comprising the busbar front connection portion, busbar rear connection portion, battery cells, busbar body portion, etc., as disclosed by Muratsu further includes the busbar front connection portion and the busbar rear connection portion are at different heights as taught by Fees so as to provide (i) a reduction of material costs, and/or weight, (ii) a reduction of inner resistance, (iii) a reduction of design space (height) through the hybrid contact plate arrangement, and/or (iv) an improved relationship between cost of materials and current density, etc.
Furthermore, the skilled artisan would appreciate the combined teachings of Muratsu and Fees such that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to perform routine experimentation to optimize the heights of the front/rear busbar connection portion(s) so as to provide (i) a reduction of material costs, and/or weight, (ii) a reduction of inner resistance, (iii) a reduction of design space (height) through the hybrid contact plate arrangement, and/or (iv) an improved relationship between cost of materials and current density, etc. (See MPEP 2144.05(11.), 2144.05 7) ROUTINE OPTIMIZATION, “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 288, 285 (CCPA 1955)) (also see [0353]-[0362]).
Furthermore, since the combined teachings of Muratsu and Fees discloses the busbar front connection portion and the busbar rear connection portion are at different heights, which is an identical and/or substantially identical product to that claimed, properties and/or functions such as for overlapping each other are presumed inherent (MPEP 2112.01, I.), lacking any further structural distinction thereof.
Regarding claim 11, Muratsu discloses the battery pack as discussed above in claim 1. Muratsu further discloses wherein the busbar body portion extends between the adjacent rows and electrically connects the plurality of battery cells in the adjacent rows to each other (See Annotated Fig. 8 above in claim 1, also see Figs. 1-2), such that the skilled artisan would appreciate as disclosed in [0032] positive-electrode bus bar ref. 20A formed of bus bar main body ref. 21A and positive-electrode current collecting plate ref. 22 having a plurality of (five in this exemplary embodiment) positive-electrode connecting pieces ref. 23 connected to the positive-electrode terminals of the respective batteries, such that bus bar main body ref. 21A and positive-electrode current collecting plate ref. 22 are bonded to each other by ultrasonic welding, etc., and as disclosed in [0035] although materials for forming bus bar main bodies (refs. 21A-B, refs. 31A-B) and positive electrode current collecting plate ref. 22 (positive-electrode connecting pieces ref. 23), etc., are not particularly limited, for example, aluminum or the like can be used, such that aluminum materials so as to be current collecting at least necessitates being directly electrically connected to each other, and whereby since as disclosed in [0046] positive-electrode bus bars, etc., can be connected in parallel using connecting bus bars refs. 60, 70, which are arranged in a direction (Y direction) perpendicular to the arrangement direction (X direction), etc., this at least provides the busbar body portion extends between the adjacent rows and electrically connects the plurality of battery cells in the adjacent rows to each other, lacking any further distinction thereof.
Regarding claim 12, Muratsu discloses the battery pack as discussed above in claim 11. Muratsu further discloses the busbar front connection portion is between a first convex portion and a first concave portion of the front wall that are formed corresponding to positions of the adjacent rows (See Annotated Fig. 8 above in claim 1, also see Figs. 1-2, also see claim 2 with regards to said first convex/concave portion(s)),
and wherein the busbar rear connection portion is between a second convex portion and a second concave portion of the rear wall that are formed corresponding to the positions of the adjacent rows (See Annotated Fig. 8 above in claim 1, also see Figs. 1-2, also see claim 3 with regards to said second convex/concave portion(s)).
Regarding claim 13, Muratsu discloses the battery pack as discussed above in claim 1. Muratsu further discloses a connection bar connected to an outermost row in the transverse direction (i.e., at least connecting bus bars refs. 60,70 connected to an outermost row in the transverse direction (i.e., at least Y-direction) as shown in Fig. 8 and disclosed in [0046], also see Figs. 1-2 and 8),
wherein the busbar is between the adjacent rows that are adjacent to each other in the transverse direction (Figs. 1-2 and 8 for busbars such as ref. 20A, 20B, 30A, 30B that are between rows adjacent to each other in the transverse direction (i.e., Y direction as shown in Fig. 8)).
Regarding claim 14, Muratsu discloses the battery pack as discussed above in claim 13. Muratsu further discloses the busbar is shifted to the forward position (See Annotated Fig. 8, also see Figs. 1-2).
Although Muratsu is silent as to the connection bar is shifted to a forward position, or wherein, when the busbar is shifted to the backward position, the connection bar is shifted to a backward position since Muratsu discloses the connecting bus bars refs. 60, 70 which are arranged in a direction (Y direction) perpendicular to the arrangement direction (X direction) of the plurality of batteries ref. 10, etc., and connecting bus bars refs. 60, 70 can be bonded to each other by laser welding, for example, and further discloses in [0058] two kinds of positive-electrode bus bars ref. 20A-B which differ from each other in length and two kinds of negative-electrode bus bars refs. 30A-B which differ in length are used, etc., (also see [0026]), and further discloses in [0007] it is a main object of the present invention to provide a battery block formed of a plurality of batteries which are connected parallel to each other, and can reduce a manufacturing cost and a material cost, one having ordinary skill in the art would appreciate providing busbar front/rear connection portion(s) of different lengths, such that said connection bar(s) are at least shifted to a forward position, or wherein, when the busbar is shifted to the backward position, the connection bar is shifted to a backward position so as to provide length capable to welding thereto, and so as to provide a battery block formed of a plurality of batteries which are connected parallel to each other, and can reduce a manufacturing cost and a material cost.
Furthermore, since Muratsu discloses a busbar front/rear connection portion(s) which are identical and/or substantially identical to that claimed, changing the size and/or shape would be a matter of obvious design choice, such that the skilled artisan would reasonably be able to determine the size and/or shape of said front/rear connection portion(s) without undue experimentation, and lacking criticality as to said lengths of said busbar front/rear connection portion(s) (MPEP 2144.04, IV., A., B.).
Regarding claim 24, Muratsu discloses the battery pack as discussed above in claim 1. Muratsu further discloses a cover on the case (i.e., at least lid body ref. 80 as disclosed in [0052] and shown in Fig. 9, also see [0053]), lacking any further structural distinction thereof,
the cover comprising: a front edge portion and a rear edge portion facing each other in the row direction (See Annotated Fig. 9);
and first and second lateral edge portions facing each other in the transverse direction (See Annotated Fig. 9).
Annotated Figure 9 (Muratsu)
Claims 15-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Muratsu and Fees as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of Sim et al. (U.S. PGPub US 2017/0062789 A1), hereinafter Sim.
Regarding claim 15, Muratsu discloses the battery pack as discussed above in claim 13. Muratsu further discloses a connection-bar body portion (See Annotated Fig. 8 above in claim 1), and Muratsu further discloses a connection-bar front connection portion at one end of the connection bar (See Annotated Fig. 8 above in claim 1), and Muratsu further discloses a connection-bar rear connection portion at another end of the connection bar (See Annotated Fig. 8 above in claim 1), lacking any further distinction thereof as to said portion(s).
However, Muratsu is silent as to the connection bar comprises:
a connection-bar body portion extending in the row direction and connected to the plurality of battery cells in the outermost row in the transverse direction;
a connection-bar front connection portion and the connection-bar rear connection portion protruding from the connection-bar body portion in the row direction; and
a transverse connection portion protruding from the connection-bar body portion in the transverse direction toward an outside of the battery pack.
The combined teachings of Muratsu and Fees disclose the battery pack as discussed above in at least claims 1 and 13. Sim teaches a battery pack (Title). Sim further teaches a connection-bar body portion extending in the row direction and connected to the plurality of battery cells in the outermost row in the transverse direction (See Annotated Fig. 11, such that the transverse direction is a direction perpendicular to the row direction as shown in Annotated Fig. 11);
the connection-bar front connection portion and the connection-bar rear connection portion protruding from the connection-bar body portion in the row direction (See Annotated Fig. 11); and
a transverse connection portion protruding from the connection-bar body portion in the transverse direction toward an outside of the battery pack (See Annotated Fig. 11).
Sim further teaches in [0099] exemplary embodiments are directed to a battery pack including a bus bar which flexibly responds to an external impact and has improved contact resistance, whereby an external impact is absorbed by a bent portion of the bus bar, thereby improving durability of the battery pack, and further, contact resistance of the bus bar is decreased, thereby improving durability of the battery pack. Although Sim teaches a bus bar in embodiments, the skilled artisan would appreciate that said connection-bar is at least a bus bar, lacking any further distinction thereof as to said connection-bar.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the combined teachings of Muratsu and Fees with the teachings of Sim, whereby the battery pack as disclosed by the combined teachings of Muratsu and Fees further includes the connection-bar (i.e., at least bus bar) as taught by Sim so as to provide a battery pack including a bus bar bus bar which flexibly responds to an external impact and has improved contact resistance, whereby an external impact is absorbed by a bent portion of the bus bar, thereby improving durability of the battery pack, and further, contact resistance of the bus bar is decreased, thereby improving durability of the battery pack.
Annotated Figure 11 (Sim)
Regarding claim 16, Muratsu discloses the battery pack as discussed above in claim 15. However, Muratsu is silent as to the connection-bar front connection portion and the connection-bar rear connection portion protrude different lengths from the connection-bar body portion in the row direction.
The combined teachings of Muratsu and Fees and Sim disclose the battery pack as discussed above in claims 15. Sim further teaches the connection-bar front connection portion and the connection-bar rear connection portion protrude different lengths from the connection-bar body portion in the row direction (See Annotated Fig. 11 above in claim 15).
Sim further teaches in [0099] exemplary embodiments are directed to a battery pack including a bus bar which flexibly responds to an external impact and has improved contact resistance, whereby an external impact is absorbed by a bent portion of the bus bar, thereby improving durability of the battery pack, and further, contact resistance of the bus bar is decreased, thereby improving durability of the battery pack. Although Sim teaches a bus bar in embodiments, the skilled artisan would appreciate that said connection-bar is at least a bus bar, lacking any further distinction thereof as to said connection-bar.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the combined teachings of Muratsu and Fees and Sim further with the teachings of Sim, whereby the battery pack as disclosed by the combined teachings of Muratsu and Fees and Sim further includes the connection-bar (i.e., at least bus bar) as taught by Sim so as to provide a battery pack including a bus bar bus bar which flexibly responds to an external impact and has improved contact resistance, whereby an external impact is absorbed by a bent portion of the bus bar, thereby improving durability of the battery pack, and further, contact resistance of the bus bar is decreased, thereby improving durability of the battery pack.
Furthermore, since the combined teachings Muratsu and Fees and Sim disclose an identical and/or substantially identical product as that claimed, the skilled artisan would expect that simply changing the length of the busbar in the front/rear portion would not provide a product that performs differently than that disclosed in the prior art, such that changes in size/shape are merely a matter of obvious engineering design choice (MPEP 2144.04, IV., A., B.), lacking any further distinction thereof.
Regarding claim 17, Muratsu discloses the battery pack as discussed above in claim 15. Muratsu further discloses the connection-bar body portion is inside walls of the case (See Annotated Fig. 8 above in claim 1), such that is at least inside walls such as portions that are convex as shown in Annotated Fig. 8, and lacking any further distinction thereof.
However, Muratsu is silent as to the connection-bar front connection portion, the connection-bar rear connection portion, and the transverse connection portion are stepped from the connection-bar body portion and are above the walls of the case in a height direction crossing the row direction and the transverse direction.
The combined teachings of Muratsu and Fees and Sim disclose the battery pack as discussed above in claims 15. Sim further teaches the connection-bar front connection portion, the connection-bar rear connection portion, and the transverse connection portion are stepped from the connection-bar body portion and are above the walls of the case in a height direction crossing the row direction and the transverse direction (See Annotated Fig. 11 above in claim 15) (e.g., above walls of ref. 420 battery frame as disclosed in [0096]), etc., lacking any further structural distinction thereof.
Sim further teaches in [0099] exemplary embodiments are directed to a battery pack including a bus bar which flexibly responds to an external impact and has improved contact resistance, whereby an external impact is absorbed by a bent portion of the bus bar, thereby improving durability of the battery pack, and further, contact resistance of the bus bar is decreased, thereby improving durability of the battery pack. Although Sim teaches a bus bar in embodiments, the skilled artisan would appreciate that said connection-bar is at least a bus bar, lacking any further distinction thereof as to said connection-bar.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the combined teachings of Muratsu and Fees and Sim further with the teachings of Sim, whereby the battery pack as disclosed by the combined teachings of Muratsu and Fees and Sim further includes the connection-bar (i.e., at least bus bar) as taught by Sim so as to provide a battery pack including a bus bar bus bar which flexibly responds to an external impact and has improved contact resistance, whereby an external impact is absorbed by a bent portion of the bus bar, thereby improving durability of the battery pack, and further, contact resistance of the bus bar is decreased, thereby improving durability of the battery pack.
Regarding claim 18, Muratsu discloses the battery pack as discussed above in claim 15. However, Muratsu is silent as to the transverse connection portion comprises a plurality of transverse connection portions protruding in the transverse direction from intermittent positions of the connection-bar body portion extending in the row direction.
The combined teachings of Muratsu and Fees and Sim disclose the battery pack as discussed above in claims 15. Sim further teaches the transverse connection portion comprises a plurality of transverse connection portions protruding in the transverse direction from intermittent positions of the connection-bar body portion extending in the row direction (See Annotated Fig. 11 above in claim 15).
Sim further teaches in [0099] exemplary embodiments are directed to a battery pack including a bus bar which flexibly responds to an external impact and has improved contact resistance, whereby an external impact is absorbed by a bent portion of the bus bar, thereby improving durability of the battery pack, and further, contact resistance of the bus bar is decreased, thereby improving durability of the battery pack. Although Sim teaches a bus bar in embodiments, the skilled artisan would appreciate that said connection-bar is at least a bus bar, lacking any further distinction thereof as to said connection-bar.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the combined teachings of Muratsu and Fees and Sim further with the teachings of Sim, whereby the battery pack as disclosed by the combined teachings of Muratsu and Fees and Sim further includes the connection-bar (i.e., at least bus bar) as taught by Sim so as to provide a battery pack including a bus bar bus bar which flexibly responds to an external impact and has improved contact resistance, whereby an external impact is absorbed by a bent portion of the bus bar, thereby improving durability of the battery pack, and further, contact resistance of the bus bar is decreased, thereby improving durability of the battery pack.
Regarding claim 19, Muratsu discloses the battery pack as discussed above in claim 15. Muratsu further discloses first and second ones of the connection bars respectively connected to different outermost rows (See Annotated Fig. 8 above in claim 1).
The combined teachings of Muratsu and Fees and Sim disclose the battery pack as discussed above in claims 15. Sim further teaches in [0099] exemplary embodiments are directed to a battery pack including a bus bar which flexibly responds to an external impact and has improved contact resistance, whereby an external impact is absorbed by a bent portion of the bus bar, thereby improving durability of the battery pack, and further, contact resistance of the bus bar is decreased, thereby improving durability of the battery pack. Although Sim teaches a bus bar in embodiments, the skilled artisan would appreciate that said connection-bar is at least a bus bar, lacking any further distinction thereof as to said connection-bar.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the combined teachings of Muratsu and Fees and Sim further with the teachings of Sim, whereby the battery pack as disclosed by the combined teachings of Muratsu and Fees and Sim further includes the connection-bar (i.e., at least bus bar) as taught by Sim so as to provide a battery pack including a bus bar bus bar which flexibly responds to an external impact and has improved contact resistance, whereby an external impact is absorbed by a bent portion of the bus bar, thereby improving durability of the battery pack, and further, contact resistance of the bus bar is decreased, thereby improving durability of the battery pack.
Regarding claim 20, Muratsu discloses the battery pack as discussed above in claim 19. However, Muratsu is silent as to the transverse connection portion comprises: a first transverse connection portion protruding from the first one of the connection bars toward the outside of the battery pack; and a second transverse connection portion protruding from the second one of the connection bars toward the outside of the battery pack.
The combined teachings of Muratsu and Fees and Sim disclose the battery pack as discussed above in claims 15 and 19. Sim further teaches the transverse connection portion comprises: a first transverse connection portion protruding from the first one of the connection bars toward the outside of the battery pack; and a second transverse connection portion protruding from the second one of the connection bars toward the outside of the battery pack (See Annotated Fig. 11 above in claim 15).
Sim further teaches in [0099] exemplary embodiments are directed to a battery pack including a bus bar which flexibly responds to an external impact and has improved contact resistance, whereby an external impact is absorbed by a bent portion of the bus bar, thereby improving durability of the battery pack, and further, contact resistance of the bus bar is decreased, thereby improving durability of the battery pack. Although Sim teaches a bus bar in embodiments, the skilled artisan would appreciate that said connection-bar is at least a bus bar, lacking any further distinction thereof as to said connection-bar.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the combined teachings of Muratsu and Fees and Sim with the teachings of Sim, whereby the battery pack as disclosed by the combined teachings of Muratsu and Fees and Sim further includes the connection-bar (i.e., at least bus bar) as taught by Sim so as to provide a battery pack including a bus bar bus bar which flexibly responds to an external impact and has improved contact resistance, whereby an external impact is absorbed by a bent portion of the bus bar, thereby improving durability of the battery pack, and further, contact resistance of the bus bar is decreased, thereby improving durability of the battery pack.
Furthermore, the skilled artisan would appreciate that simply duplicating said transverse connection portions and/or said connection-bars would be obvious to one having ordinary skill so as to provide a battery pack including a bus bar bus bar which flexibly responds to an external impact and has improved contact resistance, whereby an external impact is absorbed by a bent portion of the bus bar, thereby improving durability of the battery pack, and further, contact resistance of the bus bar is decreased, thereby improving durability of the battery pack, lacking any new and/or unexpected result (MPEP 2144.04, VI., B.).
Regarding claim 21, Muratsu discloses the battery pack as discussed above in claim 20. However, Muratsu is silent as to the first and second transverse connection portions protrude different lengths respectively from the connection-bar body portions of the first and second ones of the connection bars.
The combined teachings Muratsu and Fees and Sim disclose the battery pack as discussed above in claims 15 and 19-20. Sim further teaches in [0099] exemplary embodiments are directed to a battery pack including a bus bar which flexibly responds to an external impact and has improved contact resistance, whereby an external impact is absorbed by a bent portion of the bus bar, thereby improving durability of the battery pack, and further, contact resistance of the bus bar is decreased, thereby improving durability of the battery pack. Although Sim teaches a bus bar in embodiments, the skilled artisan would appreciate that said connection-bar is at least a bus bar, lacking any further distinction thereof as to said connection-bar.
Although the combined teachings of Muratsu and Fees and Sim are silent as to the first and second transverse connection portions protrude different lengths respectively from the connection-bar body portions of the first and second ones of the connection bars, the skilled artisan would appreciate that the relative dimensions of the length of said connection portions of the claimed transverse connection portions and that as disclosed by the combined teachings of Muratsu and Fees and Sim would not perform differently so as to be patentably distinct (MPEP 2144.04, IV., A.), lacking any further structural distinction thereof.
Regarding claim 22, Muratsu discloses the battery pack as discussed above in claim 20. However, Muratsu is silent as to the first and second transverse connection portions are at different heights for overlapping each other.
The combined teachings of and Muratsu and Fees and Sim disclose the battery pack as discussed above in claims 15 and 19-20. Sim further teaches in [0064] the first group terminal connection tab 217A is bent and extends toward the second electrode terminal 117A of the first unit cell, so that the inclined surface 215A is formed, etc., whereby in [0065] the inclined surface 215A is shaped such that the first group terminal connection tab 217A has elasticity, so that even when an external impact is applied, a connection state by the bus bar 210 may be maintained, etc., such that as taught in [0066] the inclined surface 215A of the first group terminal connection tab is not limited to the illustrated shape, and the first group terminal connection tab 217A may have various shapes having elasticity, whereby for example, the inclined surface 215A may not be an inclined surface having one inclination, but may be formed as a curved surface, in which a cross section is bent at least two times in an “S” shape, etc. Therefore, since Sim teaches inclined surface 215A is shaped such that the first group terminal connection tab 217A has elasticity, etc., and further teaches the inclined surface 215A of the first group terminal connection tab is not limited to the illustrated shape, and the first group terminal connection tab 217A may have various shapes having elasticity, etc., the skilled artisan would appreciate that different shapes having elasticity at least encompasses the first and second transverse connection portions with heights so as to be bent and/or “S-shaped”, for example, etc. Sim further teaches in [0099] exemplary embodiments are directed to a battery pack including a bus bar which flexibly responds to an external impact and has improved contact resistance, whereby an external impact is absorbed by a bent portion of the bus bar, thereby improving durability of the battery pack, and further, contact resistance of the bus bar is decreased, thereby improving durability of the battery pack. Although Sim teaches a bus bar in embodiments, the skilled artisan would appreciate that said connection-bar is at least a bus bar, lacking any further distinction thereof as to said connection-bar.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the combined teachings of Muratsu and Fees and Sim further with the teachings of Sim, whereby the battery pack as disclosed by the combined teachings of Muratsu and Fees and Sim further includes the connection-bar (i.e., at least bus bar) and transverse connection portions so that even when an external impact is applied, a connection state by the bus bar may be maintained as taught by Sim so as to provide a battery pack including a bus bar bus bar which flexibly responds to an external impact and has improved contact resistance, whereby an external impact is absorbed by a bent portion of the bus bar, thereby improving durability of the battery pack, and further, contact resistance of the bus bar is decreased, thereby improving durability of the battery pack.
Furthermore, although the combined teachings of Muratsu and Fees and Sim are silent as to the first and second transverse connection portions are at different heights for overlapping each other, the skilled artisan would expect the first and second transverse connection portions perform similar at the same and/or different heights, such that since the combined teachings of Muratsu and Fees and Sim provides said transverse portions are not limited in shape so as to have elasticity and/or are bent and/or “S-shaped”, etc., that this at least encompasses the first and second transverse connection portions with different heights, such that since an identical and/or substantially identical product is provided one would expect this would also at least allow overlapping each other, such that said functions and/or properties are presumed inherent (MPEP 2112.01, I.).
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Muratsu and Fees as applied to claim 1, or in the alternative, and further in view of Lee et al. (WO2020/067665A1 and using U.S. PGPub 2021/0050635 A1 with Foreign Application Priority Date of September 28th, 2018 as English version as cited in IDS), hereinafter Lee.
Regarding claim 23, Muratsu discloses the battery pack as discussed above in claim 1. Muratsu further discloses the case further comprises first and second sidewalls facing each other in the transverse direction (See Annotated Fig. 1 above in claim 1, also see Figs. 2 and 8),
wherein the front wall and the rear wall face each other in the row direction (See Annotated Fig. 1 above in claim 1, also see Figs. 2 and 8).
Although Muratsu is silent as to first and second sidewalls are flat, changing the size and/or shape would be a matter of obvious design choice, lacking criticality as to said lengths of said busbar front/rear connection portion(s) (MPEP 2144.04, IV., A., B.).
In the alternative, the combined teachings of Muratsu and Fees disclose the battery pack as discussed above in claim 1. Lee further teaches a battery cell assembly, battery module including the same battery cell assembly, battery pack including same battery module, and automobile including same battery pack (Title). Lee further teaches the first and second sidewalls are flat (See Annotated Fig. 6, also see Fig. 8), such that since the sidewalls are broad in scope as claimed, the skilled artisan would appreciate that Lee at least provides a first and second sidewall that is flat (i.e., flat at specific portions as shown in Annotated Fig. 6, also see Fig. 8), lacking any further distinction thereof.
Lee further teaches in [0020] it is possible to provide a battery cell assembly for common application, a battery module including the battery cell assembly, a battery pack including the battery module, and a vehicle including the battery pack.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the combined teachings of Muratsu and Fees with the teachings of Lee, whereby the battery pack including the case including the first and second sidewall(s) as disclosed by the combined teachings of Muratsu and Fees further includes a first and second sidewall that is flat as taught by Lee so as to provide a battery cell assembly for common application, a battery module including the battery cell assembly, a battery pack including the battery module, and a vehicle including the battery pack.
Annotated Figure 6 (Lee)
Claims 25-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Muratsu and Fees as applied to claim 24 above, and further in view of Lee et al. (WO2020/067665A1 and using U.S. PGPub 2021/0050635 A1 with Foreign Application Priority Date of September 28th, 2018 as English version as cited in IDS), hereinafter Lee.
Regarding claim 25, Muratsu discloses the battery pack as discussed above in claim 24. However, Muratsu is silent as to the front edge portion, the rear edge portion, and the first and second lateral edge portions comprise concave-convex patterns.
The combined teachings of Muratsu and Fees disclose the battery pack as discussed above in claim 24. Lee further teaches a battery cell assembly, battery module including the same battery cell assembly, battery pack including same battery module, and automobile including same battery pack (Title). Lee further teaches the front edge portion, the rear edge portion, and the first and second lateral edge portions comprise concave-convex patterns (i.e., see refs. 52 and 56 as shown in Annotated Fig. 8).
Lee further teaches in [0020] it is possible to provide a battery cell assembly for common application, a battery module including the battery cell assembly, a battery pack including the battery module, and a vehicle including the battery pack.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the combined teachings of Muratsu and Fees with the teachings of Lee, whereby the battery pack including the cover on the case as disclosed by the combined teachings of Muratsu and Fees further includes the front edge portion, the rear edge portion, and the first and second lateral edge portions comprise concave-convex patterns as taught by Lee so as to provide a battery cell assembly for common application, a battery module including the battery cell assembly, a battery pack including the battery module, and a vehicle including the battery pack.
Annotated Figure 8 (Lee)
Regarding claim 26, Muratsu discloses the battery pack as discussed above in claim 25. Muratsu discloses the busbar front connection portion (as discussed above in claim 1) and a connection-bar front connection portion are exposed (See Annotated Fig. 9 above in claim 24 and Fig. 8), the busbar rear connection portion and a connection-bar rear connection portion are exposed (See Annotated Fig. 9 above in claim 24), the first transverse connection portions are exposed (See Annotated Fig. 9 above in claim 24), and the second transverse connection portions are exposed (See Annotated Fig. 9 above in claim 24), such that since Muratsu teaches in [0052] a predetermined space is defined by lid body (ref. 80) and side walls of positive-electrode bus bars (refs. 20A-B) and negative-electrode bus bars (refs. 30A-B), this at least provides said busbar front connection portion, connection-bar front connection portion, busbar rear connection portion, connection-bar rear connection portion, first transverse connection portions, and second transverse connection portions are exposed since such a configuration as shown in Fig. 9, even when a gas is generated in battery ref. 10 due to the generation of heat caused by an internal short circuit or the like and a high-temperature gas is ejected from battery ref. 10, the high-temperature gas can be discharged to the outside of battery block ref. 100 toward a direction indicated by arrows through the exhaust duct as discussed in [0053], lacking any further structural information thereof as to said exposed.
However, Muratsu is silent as to the concave-convex pattern of the front edge portion comprises concave portions through which the busbar front connection portion and a connection-bar front connection portion are exposed and a convex portion between the concave portions, wherein the concave-convex pattern of the rear edge portion comprises concave portions through which the busbar rear connection portion and a connection-bar rear connection portion are exposed and a convex portion between the concave portions, wherein the concave-convex pattern of the first lateral edge portion comprises concave portions through which first transverse connection portions are exposed and a convex portion between the concave portions, and wherein the concave-convex pattern of the second lateral edge portion comprises concave portions through which second transverse connection portions are exposed and a convex portion between the concave portions.
The combined teachings of Muratsu and Fees and Lee disclose the battery pack as discussed above in claim 25. Lee teaches the front edge portion, the rear edge portion, and the first and second lateral edge portions comprise concave-convex patterns as discussed above in claim 25.
Lee further teaches in [0020] it is possible to provide a battery cell assembly for common application, a battery module including the battery cell assembly, a battery pack including the battery module, and a vehicle including the battery pack.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the combined teachings of Muratsu and Fees and Lee further with the teachings of Lee, whereby the battery pack including the cover on the case, the cover comprising: a front edge portion, rear edge portion, first and second lateral edge portions, etc., through which busbar front/rear/transverse connection portion(s) are exposed as disclosed by the combined teachings of Muratsu and Fees and Lee further includes the front edge portion, the rear edge portion, and the first and second lateral edge portions comprise concave-convex patterns as taught by Lee so as to provide a battery cell assembly for common application, a battery module including the battery cell assembly, a battery pack including the battery module, and a vehicle including the battery pack.
Regarding claim 27, Muratsu discloses the battery pack as discussed above in claim 26. However, Muratsu is silent as to the concave-convex pattern of the front edge portion is fitted to the busbar front connection portion and the connection-bar front connection portion, wherein the concave-convex pattern of the rear edge portion is fitted to the busbar rear connection portion and the connection-bar rear connection portion, wherein the concave-convex pattern of the first lateral edge portion is fitted to the first transverse connection portions, and wherein the concave-convex pattern of the second lateral edge portion is fitted to the second transverse connection portions.
The combined teachings of Muratsu and Fees and Lee disclose the battery pack including the cover on the case, the cover comprising: a front edge portion, rear edge portion, first and second lateral edge portions, etc. as discussed above in claim 26.
Although the combined teachings of Muratsu and Fees and Lee are silent as to the concave-convex pattern of the front edge portion is fitted to the busbar front connection portion and the connection-bar front connection portion, wherein the concave-convex pattern of the rear edge portion is fitted to the busbar rear connection portion and the connection-bar rear connection portion, wherein the concave-convex pattern of the first lateral edge portion is fitted to the first transverse connection portions, and wherein the concave-convex pattern of the second lateral edge portion is fitted to the second transverse connection portions, since the combined teachings of Muratsu and Fees and Lee disclose the concave-convex pattern of the front edge portion, the busbar front connection portion, the connection bar front connection portion, the concave-convex pattern of the rear edge portion, the busbar rear connection, the connection-bar rear connection portion, the concave-convex pattern of the first lateral edge portion, the first transverse connection portion(s), the concave-convex pattern of the second lateral edge portion, the second transverse connection portion(s), etc., as discussed above at least claim 26, etc., which is an identical and/or substantially identical product to that claimed, the skilled artisan would appreciate that the combined teachings would be expected to perform identical to that claimed so as to be fitted thereby providing a functioning battery so that when a gas is generated in battery due to the generation of heat caused by an internal short circuit or the like and a high-temperature gas is ejected from battery, the high-temperature gas can be discharged to the outside of battery block, lacking any further structural distinction thereof.
Furthermore, since the combined teachings of Muratsu and Fees and Lee disclose a product that is identical and/or substantially identical to that claimed, properties and/or functions such as the concave-convex pattern of the front edge portion is fitted to the busbar front connection portion and the connection-bar front connection portion, wherein the concave-convex pattern of the rear edge portion is fitted to the busbar rear connection portion and the connection-bar rear connection portion, wherein the concave-convex pattern of the first lateral edge portion is fitted to the first transverse connection portions, and wherein the concave-convex pattern of the second lateral edge portion is fitted to the second transverse connection portions are presumed inherent (MPEP 2112.01, I.), lacking any further structural distinction thereof.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed March 13th, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicants argue Page 10, “The Office action appears to rely on, generally, Figures 14 and 15 as allegedly teaching the above-quoted features of claim 1. See Office action, page 6. Applicant respectfully traverses as follows.” Applicants further argue Page 10, “As best understood, the Office action appears to equate the contact plates 1415 and 1420 of Fees with the busbar front connection portion and the busbar rear connection portion. It is unclear what component of Fees the Office action equate with the recited busbar body portion. See generally Office action, pages 5-11. Nevertheless, as can be seen at least in Figure 14 of Fees (reproduced below), the busbar front and rear connection portions [1415/1420] are not both farther above the plurality of battery cells than the busbar body portion [unclear, but considered to be at least the center of the overall hybrid contact place arrangement 1400] is. As can be seen below, the "center" contact plate 1430 [which may correspond to the busbar body portion] is shown as being on top of the contact plates 1415/1420 such that it would necessarily be farther above (not below as claimed) the contact plates 1415/1420.”
The examiner respectfully disagrees, whereby as put forth in the prior 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection of record, Muratsu discloses the busbar front connection portion and the busbar rear connection portion are directly electrically connected to each other via the busbar body portion (See Annotated Fig. 1 above), such that the skilled artisan would appreciate as disclosed in [0032] positive-electrode bus bar ref. 20A formed of bus bar main body ref. 21A and positive-electrode current collecting plate ref. 22 having a plurality of (five in this exemplary embodiment) positive-electrode connecting pieces ref. 23 connected to the positive-electrode terminals of the respective batteries, such that bus bar main body ref. 21A and positive-electrode current collecting plate ref. 22 are bonded to each other by ultrasonic welding, etc., and as disclosed in [0035] although materials for forming bus bar main bodies (refs. 21A-B, refs. 31A-B) and positive electrode current collecting plate ref. 22 (positive-electrode connecting pieces ref. 23), etc., are not particularly limited, for example, aluminum or the like can be used, such that aluminum materials so as to be current collecting at least necessitates being directly electrically connected to each other, lacking any further distinction thereof.
Therefore, the examiner asserts that Muratsu is silent as to the busbar front connection portion and the busbar rear connection portion are both farther above the plurality of battery cells than the busbar body portion is, and wherein bottom surfaces of the busbar front connection portion and the busbar rear connection portion facing toward the plurality of battery cells are at different heights above the plurality of battery cells with respect to each other.
Furthermore, the examiner asserts that the skilled artisan would appreciate the combined teachings of Muratsu and Fees, whereby the battery pack comprising the busbar front connection portion, busbar rear connection portion, battery cells, busbar body portion, etc., as disclosed by Muratsu further includes the busbar front connection portion and the busbar rear connection portion are both farther above the plurality of battery cells than the busbar body portion is, and wherein bottom surfaces of the busbar front connection portion and the busbar rear connection portion facing toward the plurality of battery cells are at different heights above the plurality of battery cells with respect to each other as taught by Fees so as to provide (i) a reduction of material costs, and/or weight, (ii) a reduction of inner resistance, (iii) a reduction of design space (height) through the hybrid contact plate arrangement, and/or (iv) an improved relationship between cost of materials and current density, etc.
Therefore, in response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Furthermore, the skilled artisan would appreciate the combined teachings of Muratsu and Fees such that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to perform routine experimentation to optimize the heights of the front/rear busbar connection portion(s) so as to provide (i) a reduction of material costs, and/or weight, (ii) a reduction of inner resistance, (iii) a reduction of design space (height) through the hybrid contact plate arrangement, and/or (iv) an improved relationship between cost of materials and current density, etc. (See MPEP 2144.05(11.), 2144.05 7) ROUTINE OPTIMIZATION, “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 288, 285 (CCPA 1955)) (also see [0353]-[0362]).
For further clarification, and in the interest of compact prosecution, the examiner asserts that Fees teaches a busbar front connection portion and a busbar rear connection portion are both farther above the plurality of battery cells than the busbar body portion is (See Annotated Fig. 14), such that the skilled artisan would appreciate that said busbar front/rear connection portion(s) (i.e., at least negative/positive pole contact plate(s)) are at least farther above the plurality of battery cells than the busbar body portion so as to be thicker as shown in Fig. 15A than the busbar body portion(s) in the center (also see Fig. 15B), such that a busbar body portion is broad in scope and may be any portion such as a portion closer to the center of the positive/negative pole contact plate(s), lacking any further distinction thereof (also see [0119]-[0128], [0133], [0136]-[0142]).
Fees further teaches in [0136] as shown in Fig. 14, the thicknesses, or the depths, of contact plates ref. 1415, 1420, etc., vary along the length of the hybrid contact plate arrangement ref. 1400, etc., whereby in particular, the “positive pole” contact plate ref. 1420 and “negative pole” contact plate ref. 1415 are configured to be thicker near the respective ends, etc., and further teaches in [0137] regulating the thickness of the respective contact plates, etc., as shown in Figs. 13A-14 may be used to provide a battery modules with a number of benefits, whereby these benefits include (i) a reduction of material costs, and/or weight, (ii) a reduction of inner resistance, (iii) a reduction of design space (height) through the hybrid contact plate arrangement, and/or (iv) an improved relationship between cost of materials and current density, etc., which at least provides bottom surfaces of the busbar front connection portion and the busbar rear connection portion facing toward the plurality of battery cells are at different heights above the plurality of battery cells with respect to each other (also see [0119]-[0128], [0133], [0136]-[0142]), such that the skilled artisan would appreciate that by regulating the thickness of the respective contact plates, etc., that this at least embodies different heights so as to improve the relationship between cost of materials and current density, etc. (also see Figs. 13D-E with regards to different heights of the positive/negative pole contact plate(s))
Therefore, in one or more embodiments, Fees at least provides the busbar front connection portion and the busbar rear connection portion are both farther above the plurality of battery cells than the busbar body portion is, such that the busbar body portion is broad in scope and, for example, may be a bottom portion of the "center" contact plate ref. 1430 that is shown to fit with the contact plates 1415/1420 such that it would necessarily be below the busbar front/rear connection portion(s) of said contact plates 1415/1420, lacking any further structural distinction as to said portion(s).
Applicants further argue Page 11, “The Office action alleges that the "busbar body portion is broad in scope and may be any portion such as a portion closer to the center of the positive/negative pole contact plate(s)" but fails to explain what, if any, structure is below the contact plates 1415/1420 and closer to the battery cells 1405. While the housing 1410 is shown as being below the contact plates 1415/1420, it is "made from plastic for high insulation" and, thus, is not properly considered part of a busbar. Fees, para. [0134].”
As discussed above, the examiner asserts that the skilled artisan would appreciate the combined teachings of Muratsu and Fees, whereby the battery pack comprising the busbar front connection portion, busbar rear connection portion, battery cells, busbar body portion, etc., as disclosed by Muratsu further includes the busbar front connection portion and the busbar rear connection portion are both farther above the plurality of battery cells than the busbar body portion is, and wherein bottom surfaces of the busbar front connection portion and the busbar rear connection portion facing toward the plurality of battery cells are at different heights above the plurality of battery cells with respect to each other as taught by Fees so as to provide (i) a reduction of material costs, and/or weight, (ii) a reduction of inner resistance, (iii) a reduction of design space (height) through the hybrid contact plate arrangement, and/or (iv) an improved relationship between cost of materials and current density, etc.
Therefore, in response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Furthermore, the skilled artisan would appreciate the combined teachings of Muratsu and Fees such that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to perform routine experimentation to optimize the heights of the front/rear busbar connection portion(s) so as to provide (i) a reduction of material costs, and/or weight, (ii) a reduction of inner resistance, (iii) a reduction of design space (height) through the hybrid contact plate arrangement, and/or (iv) an improved relationship between cost of materials and current density, etc. (See MPEP 2144.05(11.), 2144.05 7) ROUTINE OPTIMIZATION, “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 288, 285 (CCPA 1955)) (also see [0353]-[0362]).
For further clarification, and in the interest of compact prosecution, the examiner asserts that Fees teaches a busbar front connection portion and a busbar rear connection portion are both farther above the plurality of battery cells than the busbar body portion is (See Annotated Fig. 14), such that the skilled artisan would appreciate that said busbar front/rear connection portion(s) (i.e., at least negative/positive pole contact plate(s)) are at least farther above the plurality of battery cells than the busbar body portion so as to be thicker as shown in Fig. 15A than the busbar body portion(s) in the center (also see Fig. 15B), such that a busbar body portion is broad in scope and may be any portion such as a portion closer to the center of the positive/negative pole contact plate(s), lacking any further distinction thereof (also see [0119]-[0128], [0133], [0136]-[0142]).
Fees further teaches in [0136] as shown in Fig. 14, the thicknesses, or the depths, of contact plates ref. 1415, 1420, etc., vary along the length of the hybrid contact plate arrangement ref. 1400, etc., whereby in particular, the “positive pole” contact plate ref. 1420 and “negative pole” contact plate ref. 1415 are configured to be thicker near the respective ends, etc., and further teaches in [0137] regulating the thickness of the respective contact plates, etc., as shown in Figs. 13A-14 may be used to provide a battery modules with a number of benefits, whereby these benefits include (i) a reduction of material costs, and/or weight, (ii) a reduction of inner resistance, (iii) a reduction of design space (height) through the hybrid contact plate arrangement, and/or (iv) an improved relationship between cost of materials and current density, etc., which at least provides bottom surfaces of the busbar front connection portion and the busbar rear connection portion facing toward the plurality of battery cells are at different heights above the plurality of battery cells with respect to each other (also see [0119]-[0128], [0133], [0136]-[0142]), such that the skilled artisan would appreciate that by regulating the thickness of the respective contact plates, etc., that this at least embodies different heights so as to improve the relationship between cost of materials and current density, etc. (also see Figs. 13D-E with regards to different heights of the positive/negative pole contact plate(s))
Therefore, in one or more embodiments, Fees at least provides the busbar front connection portion and the busbar rear connection portion are both farther above the plurality of battery cells than the busbar body portion is, such that the busbar body portion is broad in scope and, for example, may be a bottom portion of the "center" contact plate ref. 1430 that is shown to fit with the contact plates 1415/1420 such that it would necessarily be below the busbar front/rear connection portion(s) of said contact plates 1415/1420, lacking any further structural distinction as to said portion(s).
Applicants further argue Page 11, “Moreover, the bottom surfaces of the contact plates 1415/1420 are apparently shown as being at the same (not different, as claimed) heights above the plurality of battery cells with respect to each other. In other words, Fees does not disclose or suggest that the contact plates 1415/1420 are at different heights with respect to each other, and the Office action only alludes to the contact plate 1415/1420 "[being] configured to be thicker near the respective ends." Office action, page 6. The Office action also appears to allege that this feature would have been obvious in view of Fees, but Fees is silent on this feature. To the extent Fees addresses varying the thickness, it does not do so in the context of varying the thickness of the contact plates 1415/1420 with respect to each other. Rather, Fees only discusses varying the thickness of the contact plates 1415/1420 consistently between each other. See Fees, para. [0136] ("In particular, the "positive pole" contact plate 1420 and "negative pole" contact plate 1415 are configured to be thicker near the respective ends of the hybrid contact plate arrangement 1400....").”
The examiner respectfully disagrees, whereby as put forth in the prior 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection of record, Fees teaches in [0136] as shown in Fig. 14, the thicknesses, or the depths, of contact plates ref. 1415, 1420, etc., vary along the length of the hybrid contact plate arrangement ref. 1400, etc., whereby in particular, the “positive pole” contact plate ref. 1420 and “negative pole” contact plate ref. 1415 are configured to be thicker near the respective ends, etc., and further teaches in [0137] regulating the thickness of the respective contact plates, etc., as shown in Figs. 13A-14 may be used to provide a battery modules with a number of benefits, whereby these benefits include (i) a reduction of material costs, and/or weight, (ii) a reduction of inner resistance, (iii) a reduction of design space (height) through the hybrid contact plate arrangement, and/or (iv) an improved relationship between cost of materials and current density, etc., which at least provides bottom surfaces of the busbar front connection portion and the busbar rear connection portion facing toward the plurality of battery cells are at different heights above the plurality of battery cells with respect to each other (also see [0119]-[0128], [0133], [0136]-[0142]), such that the skilled artisan would appreciate that by regulating the thickness of the respective contact plates, etc., that this at least embodies different heights so as to improve the relationship between cost of materials and current density, etc. (also see Figs. 13D-E with regards to different heights of the positive/negative pole contact plate(s))
For example, and in the interest of compact prosecution, the examiner asserts as relied upon in the prior office action that Figs. 13D-E provide various embodiments of different heights of the positive/negative pole contact plate(s), etc. For example, see Annotated Fig. 13E below:
Annotated Figure 13E (Fees)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Omura et al. (U.S. PGPub US 2020/0168883 A1) discloses a cell laminate (Title), whereby as disclosed in [0035] a height of busbar-side second structure 30 are different from each other by difference H3 along an axis along which busbar 4 is disposed on batteries 2. Difference H3 is a difference between first height H1 and second height H2.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOSHUA P MCCLURE/Examiner, Art Unit 1727
/BARBARA L GILLIAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1727